Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Mary's College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Choosing a college is not an easy thing. If school size is important, Saint Mary's has the best of both worlds by being small sized yet closely tied with Notre Dame University. On top of that, it is a spectacular female liberal arts college. Art majors; Literature majors; Engineering majors; Nursing majors; Math majors; Science majors; Saint Mary's College will help you reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip is always try to at least visit the school you are considering. If your heart is set on Notre Dame University, Saint Mary's College is a great alternative. An all girls college may seem out-of-date but the level of academic excellence here is incomparable. You will not be disappointed!

    Bang for the buck

    With the opportunities that one has, the money is well worth it. Not to mention the financial aid office is there to help to make sure every student gets the aid they need. There are also scholarships available for academics and sports.

    Am enjoying being here

    I know it is an all girls school but I have met some really awesome friends here. And I have also met a lot of people from Notre Dame University and Holy Cross College. Watching Notre Dame football on Saturdays is always awesome. If you are not into sports there are intramural teams you can join with your friends to just play for fun. Winter seems to take forever but I have never had so much fun in the snow. The professors and classes are great. Some of the general education classes can feel slow and dumb but they are included to help you. You will learn more than you expect. If you organize your time well you can have good grades and a social life too!

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small so one can ask questions and get one-on-one help. And it is not true that professors do not care about academic progress. They do and will even go out of their way to make sure you understand the class concepts and succeed.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who love to excel in school, but also for those students who need a little extra help in the classroom. Professors are really nice. Make sure to get their email though because that is the best way to get a hold of them. The small class sizes make it easy to talk amongst the class and since it is mainly girls, some feel more comfortable. Plus, you get to go to class in your pajamas!!

    Tips for prospective students

    I was a freshman last year and lived in Le Mans Hall, which is a dorm for any age student. To first year students I would recommend living in McCandless since it is primarily freshmen living there. You get to meet a whole bunch of freshman and it makes it easier. I regret not choosing to live there because I felt like I would have made a lot more friends. I know, I know, all the other dorms are so much more lovely, but in the end you will agree that you think it was one of the best decisions you could ever make. As for the classes, they are tough! Make sure you do your assigned reading. Don't be afraid to ask a professor for help either. They are more than willing to work with you on whatever issue you may be having.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is awesome. Not only did I learn a ton while being there, I made friends that will be there for me whenever I need them. It is totally worth the money and they offer many scholarships, along with grants and loans. Financial Aid is so helpful, and even if you don't think you need any aid, check it out!

    Am enjoying being here

    South Bend is not the most exciting town to live in. Football weekends here seem to be the most fun. There are a lot of things to do off campus, you just have to try really hard to find stuff. I recommend going to ND to eat a few nights a week. You meet some cool people and therefore, you have more connections as to what to do on weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are tough, but to be honest, I learned more in the first year of college than I did my whole high school career. It is totally worth it!! Do not skip class a lot, especially math classes, because on the day you think you won't be doing anything special, it turns out to be the worst day in the world to skip! No joke.

  • 11/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students. I have met all different types of students here. There's introvert, extrovert, drama, education, serious, fun, etc people here. Don't think you can live without boys? Notre Dame! My best friend here is one who tends to hang out with guys more than girls, and she spends a good amount of her time at Notre Dame but loves to be able to come back to the sanctuary of St. Mary's and see her other friends. Yes the atmosphere and experience is different from that of a co-ed school, but I believe it's worth it. The education, the connections, the people, everything is worth it and it certainly shows. St. Mary's accepts all, because here, we are all sisters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. St. Mary's isn't for everyone, like guys for example, but just visiting this beautiful campus takes one's breath away. St. Mary's takes care of not only her current students, but also her prospective students. My first visit was during the summer for a week long retreat and I instantly fell in love. Then quite some time passed before I visited again and I had sort of fallen out of love. But then my next visit was during the school year and I attended some classes, the students and the professors during the time showed me that this is a good place to go, this is the place where I'm meant to be. Doubts? Skepticism? Fears? Visit. Visit. Visit. St. Mary's will take care of them for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Like with any education, you get what you put into it. Going to class, keeping up with the homework and studying and anyone will get their bang for their buck. However, St. Mary's class size, good food service, wide variety of programs offered, and quality of education definitely put them ahead of other colleges. It may seem weird but St. Mary's actually cares about their students and knows about the sacrifices many are making to attend this school. For me, St. Mary's has been a good investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only are the professors excellent, but the students are wonderful. It is an all girl school and here we are all sisters. And life couldn't be better than having the best of both worlds with Notre Dame right across the street. St. Mary's has many programs available, but if something doesn't catch one's eye she can always go over to Notre Dame where St. Mary's students are more than welcome. Life on, and off campus, is really enjoyable. I am a St. Mary's Woman and I am loving it.

    Am learning a lot

    My current intended major is Nursing, but I'm learning so many other great things that I feel more informed about the world than ever before. Not only is St. Mary's good at teaching her students about the past, but also on keeping us updated about current issues. St. Mary's has taught me so much more than just how to be a good student, the school has taught me to be a well rounded, strong individual. The professors are always willing to help and set aside office hours, and more, for students to talk to them. The class sizes are small which makes for a more intimate environment where learning, interpreting, and using information is always happening. I'm only a sophomore and I feel as if I've learned years and years worth of valuable information.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is safe, we have round the clock security, as well as a shuttle between University of Notre Dame and here! There is also a different kind of shuttle that can pick you up anywhere you are on Notre Dames campus without question, after the regular shuttle hours end.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life, we are one community!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone at Saint Marys and if there isn't we fully encourage new development of clubs that interest the girls here.

    Great for these types of students

    Any young women would feel comfortable at SMC!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bridge on campus over a little pond, it is said that the man you walk over this bridge with will be your husband! Another place is the Holy Cross Convent, doesn't sound too appealing but it is a very rewarding place to have a nun as a friend!

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Marys College is prestigious, and when you encounter a graduate you know this. So the bang for your buck is very good. It is expensive but most private institutions are, here you get a very well rounded education, great place to live and sharing it with amazing women!

    What to do for fun

    For fun usually we just hang with friends in our rooms or in the lounge (vendoland) down stairs on week days! Then on weekends because we are in such close proximity to University of Notre Dame, most girls go there for extracurricular activities, sporting events, and/or parties.

    Food and Dining

    Food here isn't bad. There are not as many healthy, low fat Items as I would like, but still not terrible!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best! I love my dorm, LeMans hall! It's is absolutely gorgeous, and located in the middle of campus! Only downside to my dorm is expense of laundry and no air conditioning, but really the beauty of campus makes up for the luxury of air.

    Academic Rigor

    My courses are tough! The new gen-Ed program allows us to be well rounded students when we graduate. We get a lot of work but don't let that intimidate you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want! Visit campus, have an overnight! Ask tons of questions not just of tour guides but of other students.

    In three sentences

    Saint Marys, is a wonderful liberal arts college, ranked among the best in the country! I love it here! Saint Marys has an amazing atmosphere to be in and around.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who do their best even if they are not the smartest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work really hard in your last years of high school, your admission process will only be all that much better if you do! You don't have to be in the top of your class or have a perfect SAT/ACT score to get into Saint Mary's. All they ask is that you do your best! No matter where you end up going, do your best to become friends with your roommate. You don't have to be best friends but it is always nice to have someone to talk to. Get involved as much as possible!

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is really expensive but it is completely worth it! I am learning so much in my classes! Being here is a great experience! There are so many privileges that come with being here! You can stay on campus, go to Notre Dame, or Holy Cross just about anytime you would like.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being here! I know that I made the right decision coming to Saint Mary's College! I can honestly say that it is my favorite place to be! I am so at home here! I found my group of friends and I am having a great time! One of the best parts of being here is that there are so many different kinds of people and everyone can find something they are interested in. Notre Dame and Holy Cross are also great to have around the area! There is always something fun to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn so many new things every day!! Whether it is in class, sports, or just hanging out with my friends, every day is a new experience! Meeting so many new people and doing so many new things has really helped me to grow in the short time I have been here!

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Mary's is a great place for women who want to get a good education and a strong degree, but also love to meet new people and have fun. Learning leadership skills, independence, and the skill of balancing everything in a great environment is what makes Saint Mary's special. Those searching for these things should definitely consider becoming a Belle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved with activities on campus is one of the most important things to do. Meeting new people is beneficial, both during school and after graduation. Finding the balance between going out and studying should be a main priority. Sometimes, taking a study break works wonders for students, but students have to remember why they are at school.

    Bang for the buck

    The strong education combined with the variety of opportunities at Saint Mary's is a big benefit. Each class gives a strong intellectual experience. I feel challenged in my classes and know that I am getting my money's worth. In addition, Saint Mary's has the Career Crossings Office to help find jobs after graduation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being in South Bend. Saint Mary's offers a variety of activities to get involved and meet new people. I can honestly say that I have made some great friends. The unique clubs, activities, and organizations provide something for everyone to enjoy. I was also lucky to find a job on campus that allowed me to make great friends. Furthermore, the close proximity of Notre Dame contributes to the social scene.

    Am learning a lot

    I just finished my first year at SMC, and I am pleased to say that I have learned a great deal. The professors really care about my progress and how much I truly understand the material. They offer multiple opportunities for tutoring when necessary and a wide variety of office hours; I never have to worry about going to talk to one either because they are friendly and accommodating. I was also happy to see many things I learned applied in my life, including during everyday conversations with people at work. I am excited to return to Saint Mary's to continue learning.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take advantage of Notre Dame being right across the street!

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty high tuition, but they give you really good financial aid packages! I would say it is worth the money because of all the opportunities they provide for the students.

    Did enjoy being here

    All the girls here are so nice and inviting!

    Did learn a lot

    Most of the class sizes are small, so you can get one on one help easily! The professors are also very good about making themselves available for their students.

  • 09/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is a female of course! Outgoing, wanting to learn more about themselves, friendly, charismatic, hard working, easy going, social, dedicated, and can enjoy Notre Dame football.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for any high school senior is to make sure this is your decision. Your parents might be paying your tuition but your the one attending the classes and getting an education. You don't want their money to go to waste. Whenever possible, go visit the schools you're interested in. Make sure that college is a place you can see yourself in for the next couple of years.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not going to lie, going to any college, especially Saint Mary's, is very expensive. My mother is a single parent so you can image how I felt coming to SMC. The one thing I do like to tell prospective students is that if you really want to come here, financial aid will work with you to do as much as possible to make sure you can afford to come. Whatever the price tag is, you will never feel like you are wasting money. We have access to great professors, many who have hold the highest degree possible for their subject, wonder staff, and plenty of resources. The one thing I love the most is that we have complete access to Notre Dame. We can use their library, take classes over there, attend sporting events, and many other things. We call it the best of both worlds.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I do get homesick every now and then, Saint Mary's really does feel like a second home. The young women you begin to call your friends act just like your sisters. We say that Saint Mary's is just a big sorority and we really mean it. From the teachers to the student body you never feel out of place.

    Am learning a lot

    They say college is the best time of your life and they don't lie. Saint Mary's you to grow as a strong, independent woman. You get to figure out who you want to be and how you can go about being that person. The school allows several different opportunities to get a feel for who you are without being controlling. I have learned a lot about myself over the past two years then I ever thought I would.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    saint mary's offers a variety of student activities and athletic clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    there's a huge variety of what you can eat here at the dining area.

    Dorm Life

    i live off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    there is always some type of school work to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your work on time and do not get behind on homework.

    In three sentences

    i love the atmosphere here. the campus is beautiful and safe. my classmates and professors are very friendly.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sign up for all the activities on campus. They're worth it.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best, but it's healthy.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on where you're dorming. All dorms are different. I was in Holy Cross and I was very content with it.

    Academic Rigor

    The work course is not difficult, but it's tedious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely sign up for classes that sound appealing to you, and get along well with your professors, they will help you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is an excellent school, it has a welcoming environment and provides wonderful education by friendly professors. I am very happy in choosing this school because it provides so many opportunities and I made so many great friends. These next three years will be full of experiences, and I will be looking forward to them.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus, and security patrols often, and is close and available at all hours

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent at Saint Mary's.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid is pretty good. I mean, we all wish there was more, but as far as colleges go...

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do! I never understand the girls who say that they are bored. There are a million clubs and activities, and always lectures and special events going on every week, most nights. And if there isn't enough here, we have access to all of the clubs and activities over at Notre Dame!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so great. It is SODEXO, a fairly common college food supplier. As far as most college food goes, it's good, but if you get permission to eat a few days at Notre Dame, you might start to complain some more. Like any dining hall, I'd imagine, the food choice gets monotonous and boring after a while, but it is all edible and nice quality.

    Dorm Life

    A very warm community! Some rooms can be pretty small, especially singles, and especially in the Regina building. The hallways are almost always active, though, and you will almost definitely be friends with your neighbors!

    Academic Rigor

    Not necessarily a difficult school, although it can be as challenging as you make it. If you work and apply yourself, it can really prepare your for life after graduation. One thing that girls complain about and tend to have difficulties with, though, is the required W class- a special writing requirement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you value a close relationship with your professors and academic advisor, this is definitely a good place for you. If you are an elementary education or nursing major, especially, YOU WILL NOT BE ALONE. Also, the science program just received a large endowment, so if you are interested in that, look for big improvements in offered facilities.

    In three sentences

    A very warm and supportive atmosphere. A small campus, with very involved faculty and a close community. Comes with most of the benefits of the larger school, Notre Dame, across the way, but also with the drawbacks of stereotypes from Domers.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students can call campus security for rides when the buses have stopped running late at night. There is a van called Blinky that runs between the campuses after the buses to pick up Saint Mary's students and bring them back to campus so they don't have to walk. If you have been assaulted, we have an entire office devoted to helping you out. The only thing I'm ever worried about on campus is the old men that take jogs during the day. I assume they are rich and looking for a young, beautiful bimbo, so they really aren't any harm.

    Greek Life

    None. However, Saint Mary's is known as one big sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can see a full list of the clubs and organizations on Saint Mary's website. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Mary's is an excellent place for students who fall within the upper middle class. If you are among the lower middle class or the working class, you tend to feel a little out of place, however coming to the college is still a great opportunity. There are certain types of girls that usually attend the school, but you really have to visit to see if you are one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a labyrinth on the campus as well as a cemetry. Interesting fact, in the cemetry they have the graves marked of all the nuns that were nurses in the Civil war by a second tombstone. As for traditions, freshmen from Notre Dame, Saint Mary's, and Holy Cross are invited to Domerfest over at Notre Dame to get to know each other. Soon after, there is another all school event for all the students at Saint Mary's called Belle's Bash. Saint Mary's also has a yearly event called Tostal. If you want to know what these are, come to the school. Or just look them up on the website.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is a very expensive college from my perspective. However, the education is very worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a large variety of clubs or organizations that you could become involved in. There are also many events that take place throughout the year. One weekly event is Sundaes on Sunday. They have an ice cream bar open and show movies in one of the theatres for this event. You can also become involved in clubs and organizations over at Notre Dame.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall is located in the Student Center, where you can also find the Cyber Cafe. The dining hall food is pretty average for a college. It is better than the food at Holy Cross, but not as good as the food at Notre Dame. Favorite things in the dining hall are personalized pizza on Friday nights and make your own waffle station, open mornings and all weekend. We also have a salad bar and a sandwich bar, a grill station, a vegetarian station, an international station, a bistro station, cereal that is always available, ice cream and frozen yogurt machine, and various microwavable foods availble. And if you miss a meal, are hungry when the dining hall isn't open, or just don't want to eat at the dining hall, you can walk next door to the Cyber Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Saint Mary's vary greatly. Some of the rooms now used as dorms originally had other purposes, so there are rooms with sinks, bathrooms, walk-in closets, high ceilings, or all of the above. In the newer buildings, the rooms are much more consistent. There is one building, which is also one of the newer ones, that is mostly freshmen. The other newer building is split into three sections. One section has classrooms, another is for senior housing, and the third is general housing. The oldest building is known for it's high ceilings and for having the largest variation in what you will have in your room. The most popular building has the most housing and has the administrative buildings located on the first floor. As a general rule for Saint Mary's girls, you do not throw a party in your dorm, you go over to Notre Dame for this. Let the boys make a mess of their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses at Saint Mary's are very challenging and demanding. The professors expect a lot out of their students because they want them to go far. If you are struggling in a course, there are different centers around campus to help. Your professors will also be happy to help you, most of them care for you as if you are their own child (a great perk of being at a small school).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of coming to Saint Mary's, I would definitely suggest visiting the campus first. On different visit days, you have the opportunity to meet the other women that already attend the school or also plan on attending. This is a great way to see if you fit the environment of the school. If you do come to Saint Mary's as a student, get involved. There are a variety of clubs and organizations. This is an excellent way to meet people with similar interests and at the beginning being involved can help you get over any homesickness you may be feeling.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is a beautiful all-women's Catholic college located across the street for Notre Dame University and next door to Holy Cross College. There are currently around 1600 students, so the class sizes are small and the professors know their students. The school provides many opportunities for the women, such as a variety of majors, a large network to aid in job applications, and a chance to take classes at the other two schools.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, but security will not hesitate to ticket your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some on campus stuff, and plenty to do at ND

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a lot more for the over $41,000 that it will cost you to attend per year. It really all depends on how much of a scholarship you get, but (in general) does the tuition/fees/board price tag match the quality of education and experience? No.

    What to do for fun

    Students just go to ND. Many students are overly boy-crazy, and are not positively perceived in the community. This is not all students at the institution, but it is a reputation that at least impacts ALL students at SMC.

    Food and Dining

    Very average food, but decent hours. Thanksgiving dinner is good!

    Dorm Life

    If you get Le Mans or Holy Cross you are fine, but Regina is a pit.

    Academic Rigor

    Very average difficultly. I expect more from a college that would like to be perceived as a prestigious Women's College. It may have been difficult at some point in history, but not now.

  • 12/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for girls who want to get the most out of an education without worrying about being judged. It's for girls who will work hard in a really tight knit community.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get the benefits of both Saint Mary's and Notre Dame's campuses while only paying for one school. You can do clubs and classes at both schools and can easily get to ND. Although Saint Mary's doesn't have much going on over the weekends, you can still go to ND and participate in activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being at SMC. Everyone is always nice and there's a really good atmosphere here. It's like a sisterhood.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are really small, so the professors really get to know each student as an individual. They really care about how you do in their class and will go out of their way to make sure that you get the help you need in classes. Although classes can be challenging, you really learn a lot in them.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Notre Dame. Join a club. Hang out with friends. Go to a movie,

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to meet as many people as possible and join as many clubs/get involved in as many groups as possible your freshman year.

    In three sentences

    An amazingly beautiful campus. Wonderful teachers who know how to listen, teach and guide students. Great people and great education.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An island is in the middle of Lake Marion on campus and is only reachable by going across a bridge. The tradition says that the first boy you cross the bridge with is the boy you're going to marry. There are trees on the island with the couples names carved on them. Saint Mary's girls are also known for being proposed to on the island/bridge before their spring semester senior year (their ring before spring)

    What to do for fun

    We have a big event called the Toastal each year where a popular singer/band comes and does a concert at Saint Mary's. This year we had Samual Adams and the year before Sean Kingston. Also about once a month a big movie screen is set up outside featuring a recent, popular movie and free popcorn and other snacks are set up.

    Food and Dining

    There is one main dining hall (cafeteria style) which has a variety of different kinds of food to choose from each day. There is also a Cyber Cafe right next door that you can grab food quickly. Dalloways is another smaller cafe where some food is available along with coffee drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Choose your roommate carefully it will determine how your first year of college goes. Each dorm floor is divided into sections and you have a section meeting about once a month discussing things coming up. The dorms are pretty relaxed you don't have to check in overnight guests or visitors and can come and go as you please. You're an adult and they treat you like one. Since this is an all girls school, guys can only go in the dorms until midnight during the week, and until 2am on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are serious here, especially in the Medical fields like nursing, biology, and chemistry. If you are taking any classes in any of those fields don't take other difficult classes, you will get overwhelmed quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what you want your major to be and if you will actually enjoy the classes. Don't overwhelm yourself with too many classes too quickly. Go to the events on campus, even if they sound boring they always turn out to be fun!

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's combines old traditions with new traditions. The history and stories of the college make it a great place to be. Saint Mary's inspires you to be the best person you can be and to open yourself up to all of the experiences the world has to offer.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, we always have security people driving around, we have safety lights or buzzers and we even have blinkie, a name we call a van that that hauls students around from Notre Dame back to Saint Mary's.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many!

    Great for these types of students

    You will have some interesting adventures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is very haunted... Enough said.

    What to do for fun

    Well it is college so there are always parties to go to, there are always dances, clubs, musicals. My friends and I would always walk over to Notre Dame and eat over there and hang out and join in on some of their activities. The Notre Dame games are the best!

    Food and Dining

    I liked my food for about the first maybe 3 months of school. Then got so sick of it, I swear it seemed like I had the same thing each day for lunch and dinner, a ceasar salad with grilled chicken.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living on campus! In fact I cannot wait to come back to school. I met some great people and had some fun times. The independence is great as well, I loved being able to leave when I wanted to and not have to answer to someone. dorm life is so great, it is such a good experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Mary's is a very challenging school. I certainly learned that the hard way. You have to stay focused and always study, because they move at such a fast pace and some professors have very high expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focused, study study study, and try to get as much sleep as you can. Sleep is very hard to come by when your in college. Just also try to enjoy college as much as possible because it does fly by. Try to also get a head start on your assignments, it will make things a lot easier and less stressful.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College has given me so many opportunities, not only have I come to learn more about myself but I have also found who I am as a women. Saint Mary's is small and there is always one on one attention with your professors. It is a great place to be and everyone is so helpful and wants you to succeed.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They make sure you are safe, it is the number one priority.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    They have anything and everything and if they don't you can start it!

    Great for these types of students

    For empowered students, or students trying to find their voice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are all sorts of traditions, including serenading, running through fountains, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    I love campus, its absolutely great, I can't imagine going anywhere else. The professors are fantastic, personal and helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are always great activities, Notre Dame is across the street and the football games are so fun! Saint Marys has great sports as well! Eddy Street commons is full of restaurants and shops and is a ten minute walk from campus.

    Food and Dining

    THe dining hall is okay, lots of options but not always great. Cyber Cafe is great, very convenient, and great food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great, they always have different activities, and the school is great at matching up random roommates!

    Academic Rigor

    THe classes are hard, but thats part of college, if it wasn't challenging, it wouldn't be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Campus, you will never know where you are truly meant to be until you are on the campus, among the students, and talking to the professors. If you can picture yourself there for the next four years, you know that you have found the right place!

    In three sentences

    Saint Marys is a great place, its quiet and beautiful. Campus is captivatingly beautiful and a great place to study. The dorms and buildings are full of history and a great place to live.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security consistently makes rounds of the residence halls and answers the phone immediately when they are called. I feel very safe here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a very large convent on campus! It is possible to join clubs which spend time with the sisters.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I would suggest taking a short ride (bus or car) to Eddy Street Commons at Notre Dame for food, drinks, and shopping!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is small and can be a bit repetitive in the food they serve; however, I am pleased that they keep a portion of their breakfast choices out in the open for the whole day to be enjoyed. They Cyber Cafe (right next to the dining hall) has hot food at very reasonable prices but their convenience store products are grossly overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Those who try to make friends with dormmates do so, but those who don't try lead pretty solitary lives but the dorms host parties and events regularly for those who are interested. McCandless Hall is sometimes conducive to doing homework and studying but also can be a bit loud at night. There is always somebody at the front desk to help guests if they get locked out of their rooms or the building.

    Academic Rigor

    The English classes require much reading and writing, but there is lots of guidance available for those who schedule appointments. The more effort invested in the foreign language classes, the more benefits are reaped! There is a sizeable difference in the toughness of a chemistry test depending on the teacher who concocted the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    ~The dining hall's atmosphere is geared not only for students who are eating with a group of friends but also for people who are eating alone. ~There are plenty of vegetarian choices at the dining hall. Don't worry about that! ~Regina seems very hotelesque in both the noise (or lack thereof) and layout! ~The McCandless study carrells are extremely useful.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is a very hands-on, all-girls school with a variety of clubs; however, the clubs in which I have tried to participate aren't as organized as should be expected! The college partners with Notre Dame University for clubs, classes, and other opportunities (such as football tickets), and it is not unlikely to hear frequent talk about SMC girls going to parties at Notre Dame! Finally, everybody who visits and attends Saint Mary's would describe the campus as being beautiful and teeming with nature--and squirrels.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Saint Mary's offers many opportunities. We are able to join clubs on campus, as well as the clubs at Notre Dame since we are the sister school. Furthermore, we are elgible for Notre Dame student tickets to pretty much every student event which Notre Dame offers. Saint Mary's offers a concert yearly to the students which has a big name preformer (We had Shaun Kingston). They also getting interesting speakers to come to campus. Last year they had the famous actress Sigourney Weaver.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat on campus. Noble dining is the main cafeteria, and it had a decent amount of food options. I think the food is good. The campus offers both healthy options, and non-healthy options which I like as its not hard to find a food that you're in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are decent sized when compared to alot of other colleges. Since it's an all girls school it's nice because the dorms are very relaxed. It's no big deal to leave your room looking like a mess.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Mary's College is challenging academic wise. Most teachers tests are fill in the blank and essay questions, which is good as it really makes you learn the material. Although the courses are challenging, they are an appropriate challenge that are doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend taking advantage of teachers office hours when having trouble in a class. The teachers at Saint Mary's really want to see you succeed, so they are always really helpful. Also, I suggest getting active within the school. Saint Mary's is the sister school of Notre Dame, so a good way might be to buy football tickets in the student section.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is an all girls school which prides itself on being like a sisterhood. The curriculum is challenging, thus giving an excellent education. The campus is beautiful.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to Notre Dame for parties is always fun! And what is awesome is that Saint Mary's girls can join clubs at Notre Dame, so it is definitely the best of both worlds. Also all the clubs you can join here can be so much fun. And the mall is not so far from here, and if you go by bus, the bus is free for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not great, but it is edible! There are few varieties but trust me, you can make it though. The greatest meal of the day is always breakfast because there are so many options! I just love breakfast in Saint Mary's.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old, but they mostly all have sinks. The rooms are a good size whether they are double, triple, quad, or single. They are expensive but living in dorms is requirement for three years, yes you must live here until you are a senior. It seemed like crazy, but they do it for a reason-it's because living here makes it easier to adapt to college life, and more likely to join the campus activities, it's all part of becoming a closer sisterhood.

    Academic Rigor

    Science courses are intense and of course required, and the English department is strong as well. Both of these are general requirements but they really do make you ready for the courses you want to major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get prepared for anything thrown at you-get ready to be tested hard and make sure you have a pace of how fast to read. Here you will seriously read all six books required for the class and learn how to manage time. There's so many things going on around campus, you won't be able to do them if you are behind reading, homework, and lab work.

    In three sentences

    I give Saint Mary's on a scale of 1-10 an 8.5. The professors are amazing, and so helpful but the dinner meal plans are very expensive and not much variety on food! Also financially students are give plenty of scholarships and grants from the school which is great!

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus so you can always see the campus police cars rolling around every few minutes. Each girl is given Security's phone number during move in week. All entrances and exits to buildings are covered by cameras and each dorm has strict 'parietals'.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek sororities on campus. The campus itself is very small so traditionally it has been viewed that every girl at Saint Mary's College is part of the sigma mu chi sorority. Sigma mu and chi are just the letter SMC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few service clubs on campus, but most of the strange interest based clubs are offered to Saint Mary's girls from Notre Dame. We can take part in them, but sometimes it is a hassle to get to Notre Dame and back around your normal schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all dedicated students can find a place on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Public transportation is offered between Saint Mary's and Notre Dame as well as to the mall and popular shops surrounding the campuses. The route between SMC and ND is called the sweep. If you can't make the sweep or are afraid at night you can call for Blinky. Blinky is the SMC security van that has a yellow flashing light on top of it. On campus there is a graveyard as well as a convent of Holy Cross nuns who love to talk to students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive. However, the small classes allows you to have more one-on-one experience with your instructors. The programs are excellent and the campus itself is beautiful. Whenever you feel the need to escape the small community feeling, Notre Dame and South Bend are right there for you to escape to. There are many scholarship and financial aid awards offered and with Saint Mary's has a high job placement rating after you graduate so it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Notre Dame is across the street and the Saint Joseph river separates Saint Mary's campu from Holy Cross, so there are a lot of kids your age in the area to meet and hang out with. Every week there are activities hosted by the colleges such as concerts, intermural or varsity sports, or just theme nights in the dorms or restaurants on campus. Not to mention that South Bend is open for you to go to. Where you go and what you do are really up to you. Movies, parties, restaurants, sporting events, going to the mall, etc. are all options that are open to you.

    Food and Dining

    Some days it's really good; other days, not so much. The meals during the week are generally really good with the main entrees changing everyday at the specialty stations. There is pizza and pasta everyday, but there are specific days of the week where there is pork chops, vegetarian chili, or chicken nuggets served. Weekends are usually leftovers and not all of the stations are open, so don't expect the dining hall to have exactly what you want from earlier in the week.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm your first year can be tough, but it's definately worth it. At Saint Mary's everyone on your floor is really close. You learn who your neighbors are pretty quickly. Everyone greets you in the hallways and there is a sense of community. That being said, remember that this is a lot like an apartment. If you have stuff you don't want taken, lock your door. If you don't mind striking up short conversations with people who walk by, leave your door open when you are in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything you have heard about college is true. It is challenging. You have to stay on top of your course work and pay attention, especially if you are taking a heavier course load. Just like in high school, there are classes that are more difficult than others. For instance, you are going to have to spend more time on a math or science class than a general music or histories class. Overall though, each class pushes you to use your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to know what you are capable of. If you can handle an 18 credit hour semester go for it. If you aren't sure, don't be afraid to start with less. The transition from high school to college is difficult so be aware of what you can handle. Also, learn time management skills. Classes are not going to be one after another all everyday from seven to 3 like it is now. Make sure that you can set aside time for homework, activities, and most importantly to eat. Knowing what you can handle and the time management skills that help you to manage it are going to be vital for a successful college life.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is an all girls college in Notre Dame, Indiana on the northern outskirts of South Bend, IN. It is the sister college to both the University of Notre Dame as well as to Holy Cross College. With small class sizes, actually small total student population overall, and excellent academic programs, Saint Mary's really helps personalizing secondary education and helping you to pursue your interests.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security that can transport you at night time from here to Notre Dame if you have things to do and we also have a van (called blinkie) that can take you there or just around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of interesting clubs for all types of things. We have clubs for your class subjects, drama club, language clubs, and many other fun clubs. Among these clubs there are a variety of community service clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is really a great place for those that like to get an all around school experience. We don't just focus on our majors, we also take a lot of other interesting courses that will make us well-rounded people for the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because we are a traditionally Catholic school, we have different breaks than most other universities or colleges (easter break or a week long fall break).

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places in the South Bend area that you can explore. We also have small events like dances, picnics, and decorating things within the different dorms. A lot of people like to enjoy our scenery by going for runs or taking a walk around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. We try to incorporate a lot of different cultures from time to time. The food is always fresh and there is quite a variety of food to choose from. Our school has been trying to have healthier food and we have a selection of food for gluten free eaters.

    Dorm Life

    The people here are very nice and there is always help available to students either at the front desk or the resident advisor on each floor. There are also quiet hours for those students that have things to study for.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are very insightful and they are not easy but they are very fun to take. The students and the teachers are focused about the subjects they are in/ teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hide in a shell. Just try and be yourself and make lots of connections because they carry on with you even if you decide not to attend this college.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's is a great school that promotes the education of women and helps them along their journey as a person. The professors are very passionate about the subjects they teach and each teacher wants to help you do your best. The campus is absolutely gorgeous and the area around it is full of great things (malls, restaurants, other universities,etc.).

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard! Saint Mary's is a fantastic school and you'll love it! So do your best.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. Teachers are great and really help you and want you to succeed. Small school environment, but Notre Dame is right across the street if you want to experience a big campus every once in a while.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe. There is a bus that takes students to Notre Dame and a bus that drives around St. Mary's to pick up students anywhere.

    Greek Life

    No greek life but Notre Dame dorms are like Greek Life. The whole school feels like a sorority.

    What to do for fun

    Notre Dame football! Football weekends are the best.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall could use a tune up but it's not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    Great for girls who want to focus on studying during the week and then relax and party on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but intellectually stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! You will know if Saint Mary's is for you if you visit. It's a place that feels like home in your heart.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's is a great academic environment. The faculty is very supportive and interesting in the progress of their students. While the courses are challenging, it is a great intellectual environment that provides women with great skills for the future.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and usually pretty safe. Security are always available to pick you up from somewhere if you are drunk, lost, or simply scared to walk alone.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not exist at Saint Mary's, and it really is a blessing in disguise!

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities on campus are decent, but the majority of the bigger events are held on Notre Dame's campus.

    Great for these types of students

    FEMALES. Seriously, all types of people are here, so come and discover yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First off, there is an old rivalry between Notre Dame girls and SMC girls vying for the love of Notre Dame boys. Make of it what you will. One special location that everyone must know about on campus is Lake Marian. It is a pond located in the southeast part of campus, and there is a famous bridge on Lake Marian. It is believed that if one crosses the Lake with a boy, the two are destined to be engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    What you see at Saint Mary's is pretty much what you get. I would recommend staying the night on campus and getting a tour from a current student to really know what to expect.

    What to do for fun

    SMC does not really have parties on campus, as most of those are held at Notre Dame. However, there are always little events going on, including movie nights, musical performances, plays, guest speaker presentations, etc. Also, each class has a formal dance held every year, so you will have an excuse to invite a crush over to your side of the lake.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food really is not that great, but the cafe has good meals and snacks, and across the street there is a Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Starbucks, Subway, Burger King, etc. Also, many food places in the area deliver, so if it comes down to it, you always have the option of staying in and having the food brought to you.

    Dorm Life

    There are only four dorms on campus, but each has its own style and charm. Le Mans looks a bit like any dorm at Hogwarts, McCandless is loud and hectic (since only freshmen live there), Holy Cross has long beautiful walls and the health center is located downstairs, and Regina has the worst reputation but it is actually really nice (and the first floor has the only dorm rooms on campus where air conditioning is available!).

    Academic Rigor

    The college is overall challenging, but everyone is challenged in different ways, so you are not expected to keep up with your genius roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a winter coat, an open mind, and a love for yourself as an independent woman before you dare approach those Notre Dame boys (or girls!) across the street. No matter what college you go to, love yourself for who you are above all things.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's is like a community of the sisters you always wanted. The classes can be challenging, but they are also small enough that every professor knows you well and is willing to help. All in all, being an SMC Belle is an experience you cannot get at a large or coed school, and not even at every women's college.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a good college but there's nothing that really stands out. I would like to have more activities offered on the actual campus instead of feeling like I have to go over to another college on the weekend. Saint Mary's has one small convenient store which has a ok coffee shop inside. I would like to have maybe a Starbucks or one fast food restaurant located on campus to have some other options available and not have to take a trip to ND to get Taco Bell. Other than that, the class sizes are great and the professors are always available to help!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Notre Dame, or take a bus to the local mall.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best but it's not the worst either. Probably similar to every other college campus dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Not much to do on campus. Most weekends are spent either going over to Notre Dame or staying in with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Always homework and studying to get done, but if you're having trouble in any of your classes, your professor is almost always available and there are student tutoring sessions as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're coming from a big city, then you might be in for a shock. There are not many off-campus activities available. Notre Dame and Holy Cross are the 2 colleges that are also in the area. You can take a 10-15min walk over to Notre Dame or wait for the school provided bus to get there, which goes around every 30 mins. Notre Dame has a few different fast food restaurants and a bigger convenient store selection.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is an academically challenging school in the small city of South Bend. It has small class sizes so getting one-on-one time with your professor is easy. It is an expensive all women's college but most girls I know here have all received large scholarships.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friends and I like to hang out and watch movies. We also enjoy going over to Notre Dame to participate in activities as well. There are movie theaters and tons of restaurants to go to that are close as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Dinning Hall is good. However, if you don't want to eat at the dinning hall there is Cyber Cafe, Spes Unica cafe and Dolloways.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is amazing! I live on campus in Holy Cross Hall and I love it. You get to make tons of new friends when living on campus. Also there are activities your sections does together, for example my sections just did spa night last night.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here at Saint Mary's are very vigorous. However you have small class sizes so you know all of your professors really well. The professors are very helpful in and out of class if you have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give prospective students to any college is when you visit the campus make sure to asks a ton of questions and get to see as much of campus as you can. Also if your able to, see if you can sit in on a class. It is a great way to see if you are comfortable academic wise.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College makes everyone here feel like family. They are very welcoming and loving.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is definitely big here. There are always people at the front desks of each dorm, and you need an ID card to get into side doors. Also, Blinkie drives between Notre Dame and Saint Mary's until 2 a.m.

    Greek Life

    The entire campus is basically a relaxed sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of variety and even more options at Notre Dame. You can join ALL the clubs! (This is not advisable.)

    Great for these types of students

    Female.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Lake, a Labyrinth, and a breathtakingly beautiful campus. We also have a convent that acts as a retirement home, a beautiful church (and chapels in each dorm).

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is prestigious and the Notre Dame connection doesn't hurt. Also, alumni are very open to helping you with shadowing, internship, or job connections.

    What to do for fun

    Dorm parties are the usual for freshman. Also, Notre Dame brings in a lot of entertainment that SMC chicks have access to for free! Also, football games are a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not fantastic. Like all school food, it gets old quickly. However, there is always the option of eating at Notre Dame where there are a lot more options.

    Dorm Life

    It is very easy to make friends in the dorms. There is a very relaxed atmosphere on campus. The rooms themselves vary, but are all reasonable, if not spacious. There are parietals which means boys are supposed to leave before 2 am. However, seniors can live in a dorm with their dog or cat or bunny!

    Academic Rigor

    This is college; you're going to have to study... a lot... no matter what you do. Saint Mary's is particularly strong in the sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, we're an all girls' school. Don't let that scare you. Embrace your inner strong, independent woman. Also, Notre Dame is right across the street...

    In three sentences

    We are the Belles of Saint Mary's. Our mascot is literally a classy lady. How adorable is that?!

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most students do not even feel the need to lock their rooms or bikes. Security is always reachable by phone and there are several call-stations around campus in case of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    D3 sports, faith-based clubs, major-based clubs, quidditch, friends with sisters

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic, nursing students, elementary education students...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions between Notre Dame and Saint Mary's and events that the two schools join in together.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very satisfied with the education and services I receive based on the amount we pay for tuition. In addition, Saint Mary's College is good about providing financial aid and scholarships for those in need.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are usually events to attend on Saint Mary's campus. However, there are also several other colleges and universities in the area, including Notre Dame. Saint Mary's students are allowed to participate in most activities and events at Notre Dame. This includes sporting events, clubs and organizations, parties and several others.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall staff is dedicated to meeting the needs of the students, especially those with dietary needs. As someone with an intolerance to gluten, I was nervous about finding enough to eat in a dining hall. However, they have done an amazing job to make sure that we are all well-fed.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older buildings that, unfortunately, do not have air-conditioning. However, there is wireless internet in all of the buildings and they have a very homey, unique feeling to them

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough, but the professors are all dedicated to ensuring that the students understand the material and will go above and beyond to provide help to students who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not immediately rule Saint Mary's out based on the all-girls community. I have heard from many people that they never intended on attending Saint Mary's, but now that they do, they couldn't be happier. The University of Notre Dame and Holy Cross College are very close by and the three schools make up a close, intertwined community.

    In three sentences

    I love Saint Mary's College. It is truly the best of both worlds; it provides the small, tight-knit community on campus with the large, well-known university, Notre Dame, across the road that also provides the big sporting events.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a VERY safe environment. Because Notre Dame, Saint Mary's and Holy Cross College are so close, the institutions understand how often students travel amongst the three schools. Therefore, they offer a bus system that runs about every 15 minutes throughout Saint Mary's and Notre Dame's campuses. If the bus is no longer running when you are ready to come home, Saint Mary's security will come pick you up- they are just a quick phone call away! There is never a reason you would have to walk home alone, especially at night.

    Bang for the buck

    DON'T just look at the ticket price! I will admit it is a costly institution, but this is for a reason. They truly do what they can to make this school affordable for you and your family, so speak with someone in the Office of Financial Aid before booting Saint Mary's College to the side. They offer fantastic financial aid in the form of academic scholarships. They also offer grants for certain families based on income. I would not trade my education at Saint Mary's College for the world. I feel that all faculty at Saint Mary's truly care about their students. Alumnae keep close ties to the school and do everything they can to get new graduates jobs. Although I am only one year in, I am confident I will be successful thanks to Saint Mary's College and their amazing alumnae network.

    What to do for fun

    Notre Dame being right across the street offers many social activities and benefits. I recommend going to the football games, or at least just the tailgates, in the fall. Legends is a great place for freshmen. Legends is a restaurant/night club free of cost for students. They also have movies, speed dating, concerts and various other activities here. Saint Mary's has a couple dances each year which are very fun and I strongly recommend joining clubs to give you more events to attend! Notre Dame also hosts dances which Saint Mary's girls often attend. You can also join clubs at Notre Dame and attend many of their sporting events for free (I believe everything besides football and basketball is free of cost).

    Food and Dining

    The food could be a little better, but again, it is what you make of it. The dining hall offers a fair variety, but students typically get bored of the food after a while. However, this is bound to happen at any college or university. The Cyber Cafe also offers other options if the dining hall is closed or if you're bored of the food in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are community style and feel like living in one big hotel with all of your friends. Students are very friendly and neighborly toward each other, leaving doors open so that people feel free to stop by and say hi, lounges for homework, late night chats, etc. Lobbies are in each dorm building with vending machines, microwaves, sink, stove & oven. Males are allowed in the dorms until midnight on week days and until 2 a.m. on weekends. Each section has an RA, which are always very friendly, helpful and trustworthy. They are great people to talk to about anything and everything. They also plan section events in order to allow all the girls in the section to meet and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said before, this is what you make it. The first year is mainly general education requirements, so you will be placed into your appropriate level based on high school grades and placement tests. If you find a good balance and stay organized, anything is possible to achieve academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a good balance between work and play- While courses and grades are very important to your future, social skills also play a large role throughout life. Balance is crucial because without fun, students become overwhelmed with constant work and no release. However, with too much fun, students will receive a rude awakening at the end of the semester when course grades are released. Join clubs- Don't be shy. Saint Mary's is such an amazing, welcoming place primarily because most students are in the same boat. Many students come from all over the country and even outside the U.S., rather than coming into college with a whole group of high school friends. Everyone enjoys meeting new people. Also, joining clubs are risk-free. You can sign up for clubs free of cost, and then if you decide to stay in the club, you will pay a club fee which range from free to hundreds of dollars (i.e. snowboarding club). It depends on the club you choose to join. Clubs are a great way to meet new people with similar interests, while giving you the opportunity to try something you've never tried before! *You can also join clubs at Notre Dame, which is a fun way to involve yourself more and meet even more people within the Notre Dame/Saint Mary's family. Find your thing- Clubs are a great way of achieving this one. This is not a requirement, but it helps bring people together and form a tightly knit group of friends. Go to Diane Fox's Academic Success workshops- She's a very inspiring, intelligent woman and will help students in any of their four years at Saint Mary's. She is also a great faculty member to go to for advice.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College is a wonderful school filled with opportunities and great people. Academics are challenging but bearable. Professors act as not only academic mentors, but also as friendly, understanding advisors that truly care about their students.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'd place Saint Mary's at the Bubble Wrap level, but without being suffocating-ly safe. You certainly don't have to be scared on campus.

    Greek Life

    None of that here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't gotten to find out what kinds of clubs and activities Saint Mary's has to offer yet, but I do know that Saint Mary's has a newspaper that is pretty excellent. If you're into journalism, that could be something you'd enjoy. There is also a nice athletic facility if you enjoy sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back as in not much into partying, because I'm going to college for a reason and partying is not that reason. Yet also willing and able to have fun with little things and be easily amused.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I visited, my tour guide, Gina, showed us a chapel inside of one of the residence halls. I thought this was somewhat of an unusual location, because it was so different from the rest of the building. Then Gina told us that the residents of that hall have a tradition of having a milkshake party on Fridays in that very same location. I thought it was simply adorable. Although I wouldn't classify it as unusual, the library is another interesting place. Striped carpet and floral wallpaper never looked so stylish.

    Bang for the buck

    In my experience, Saint Mary's is very generous with its financial aid. I applied to seven colleges before applying to Saint Mary's and was extremely disappointed when I only got accepted to Indiana University, which is a good school but has way too many people for my taste. I thought IU was giving me a great deal, because I would only have had to pay $3,000 for my tuition, but then I applied to Saint Mary's, which has a student body size I was more comfortable with, and found out I would only have to pay half of what I would have had to pay at IU and was ecstatic.

    What to do for fun

    There are buses (student one-month pass on the city bus is 30 dollars) that can take you all over South Bend and into Mishawaka. Mishawaka is where the mall is, if you're into that sort of thing. Notre Dame is close by, and that school is very much into sports, so if you're into that sort of thing, you may enjoy hopping across the street to Notre Dame's campus. Also, Notre Dame has guys if you prefer male company, and so does Holy Cross college, which is also nearby. Notre Dame's campus is the main attraction in South Bend, but there are other things to do. You'll be pretty bored if you like hiking, for there are not any trails around, and if you like biking, you'll be pretty frustrated. South Bend has bike paths but drivers rarely pay attention to bikers. The city bus is probably your best bet for transportation.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall on campus. There are not very many vegetarian options, and the food is not-quite-fresh. There are some impressive things about the dining hall, such as refreshing fruit water and frozen yogurt machines. The building is nice, too, the food is only not so impressive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. Enough said. Each hall is unique, and some of the halls have lots of variety among their rooms. Many of the rooms have sinks or bathrooms, and every room in McCandless Hall has a corresponding study room across the hall so that it is easy for one roommate to sleep while the other studies. All of the halls have a very clever design.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not too difficult. Even the large classes are small (the biology class I visited was considered large and only had about 30 people in it), so it is easy to get personal attention from professors if you need it, and it's hard to fall asleep in class or skip class without anyone noticing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Mary's College is small, but is very open in its admissions process. Test scores are not a big deal, and you aren't expected to have all A's all four years of high school. I applied at the last minute (after the deadline!) and I had a pretty bad score on both the SAT and the ACT, and had some Bs and Cs in subjects like history and literature, yet I was accepted and awarded a generous grant. If you have goals that you are passionate about and intend to pursue, Saint Mary's will definitely give you a chance.

    In three sentences

    Not too big, not too small; not too hot, not too cold; not too hard and not too soft either. Everyone is extremely helpful and treats you like a real person. Campus is lovely and teeming with beech trees.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Mary's has a very secure campus, with lots of security and front desk workers 24-7 at each of our dorms. Saint Mary's also provides a shuttle that runs between Saint Mary's and the University of Notre Dame.

    Greek Life

    At Saint Mary's, we take pride in the fact that we are the largest sorority in the Midwest! . While we do not have sororities at Saint Mary's, as women's college, the sisterhood that is formed here is evident.

    Clubs and Activities

    Saint Mary's has a myriad of clubs and activities offered on campus. Since SMC is a small school, there are opportunities for leadership positions and involvement in multiple clubs. If you can't find a club that interests you, you have the ability to create your own. Saint Mary's women are also allowed to join clubs at the University of Notre Dame for more extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, outgoing, and energetic women looking for a school with academic excellence and long-standing traditions. Saint Mary's has a rich history and alumnae network that all Belles cherish.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lake Marian is the source of most of the traditions on campus. During spirit week in the fall, all the belles head out to the lake for canoe races. It is also a SMC tradition that if you walk across the bridge to the island in the middle of Lake Marian with a boy, that you are destined to marry.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Mary's has a lot of activities and clubs that host events throughout the year. Some big events include: Dance Marathon, class formals and all-school formal, Belles Bash, Midnight Madness. There are also a lot of opportunities for fun across the street at Notre Dame. One of Saint Mary's perks is that SMC women are able to purchase Notre Dame football season tickets. So in the fall, football games and tailgating parties are the place to be. Saint Mary's girls are able to attend any of Notre Dame's athletic events, which are always really exciting. There are always events and activities going on at Notre Dame that Saint Mary's girls can usually take part in as well.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo provides pretty good food with lots of variety, you can tell that they have a very well thought-out menu. If you decide to skip out on the dining hall for the day, you can choose to eat in the Cyber Cafe or the Spez Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Saint Mary's has 5 dorms that all have rich history. Each dorm is unique in their own way, and most rooms even have their own personalities throughout the residence hall. Compared to other campuses, Saint Mary's has large rooms, some that have attached bathrooms, fireplaces, and unique architecture. On weekends dorm life is pretty quite, which allows for study time if you decide to stay in for the night.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Mary's offers plenty of challenging and also exciting classes. I truly enjoy all of my classes and professors. Saint Mary's has an excellent student-to-faculty ratio which allows you to get to know your professors on a more personal level, rather than just being considered a face in the crowd. Saint Mary's offers a number of majors with the capability of working with an advisor to personalize a major for your intended career path.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think Saint Mary's may be the college for you, definitely schedule a visit. The college has many visiting days throughout the year, which give you the opportunity to sit in on classes and tour the dorms with a current student. SMC also hosts Meet Me at the Avenue in the spring for prospective students. This is a great opportunity to tour and ask questions with your parents. Along with touring Saint Mary's, I would also suggest to tour the University of Notre Dame. Saint Mary's and Notre Dame have a long history as being brother/sister schools. If you attend Saint Mary's, chances are you will be spending a lot of time at Notre Dame as well, so it is important to get a feel of the atmosphere of both campuses.

    In three sentences

    An amazing Liberal Arts College in the heart of Notre Dame, Indiana. With small class sizes, no teaching assistants, and lots of professor office hours; it is easy to ask questions, personalize your learning experience, and let your voice be heard! Saint Mary's is a wonderful college choice for women looking for a great college experience from a small college with a large University feel.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is expensive! Just realizing the tuition costs of this school can be over-whelming, but don't let that scare you from attending here. Financial aid does an incredible job supporting students of low income. There are plenty of people who do pay the entire amount; however not one of them suggests, the cost of this school for what is is is not worth it. You will succeed, you will learn and you will be challenged.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you can do for fun. The most known way to have fun is going to Notre Dame. Especially on game days! They will rock your weekends. There are also plently of dances available to all students in Notre Dame and also for Saint Mary's and Holy Cross. For example this Halloween the had Salsa-ween and hip-hop night. Students would go in their costumes and dance. There are movie nights, bon-fires, and lantern lighting. You can always join a club. There are so many options. La Fuerza, student government, she's the first, key, swing dancing, choir, social work etc. or joining a sport can also be fun if you enjoy sports. Going out with friends on the weekend. There are buses coming around available for free for students. They go around the hall no need to look for them.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is not the best, but it is not terrible either. It really depends on what type of foods you are used to having and if they were home made. Lasagna is personally one of my favorites as well as the pasta with vegetables. The chefs do an incredible job at making you feel welcomed. To the point where I message some of them. You can also order pizza hut, Chinese food etc delivered right to your hall. If you still don't like the food, Ciber Cafe is also available for all students. It is not just cafe, there are drug store products, food, snacks, gum, chips, etc. and depending on your meal plan you will receive a specific amount of munch money, which you can use to go buy a snack, cafe, or a product.

    Dorm Life

    This all depends on what kind of person you are and what kind of person your roommates are. When adults say communication is key, that is because you need to inform each other on how you want the room, if you will or will not share clothes and/or food, allow boyfriends in the rooms, loud music, quiet hours etc. Remember that you do not need to be best friends with your roommate. If that is the case then even better for you, but feel free to meet other people in other halls. As long as you feel that you are able to communicate any changes or decisions with the other members. Not everyone is welcoming, but there are plenty of people who are.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes are challenging. That does not mean that all classes are hard. They require you to take a couple hours a day and practice practice practice. If staying on task and is not a problem for you then you will be slightly challenged. Do not wait till the last minute to do work. This work demands your attention and requires you to think, be critical and be passionate about what you are studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management WILL save your life! In order to be a successful student at Saint Mary's College and at any school you need to manage your time wisely. Plan out your schedules for the day, the week and the entire semester. On the semester schedule list out projects papers and tests, do no list homework on this one that will cause confusion. The weekly schedule write down everything you need to accomplish. Including meetings, homework, work hours, classes, tutoring, teacher hours, eating, and SELF. For Daily schedules list everything you need to do right now in order to accomplish long term goals. Focus on the short term goals, listing hour by hour how long you think each task will require you to take up.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's College from the scale of one to 10 is a 9. There is unlimited opportunities to get involved in the community as well as feeling right at home. Office hours for teacher student meetings are available for all students in all classes.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe walking around campus, even at night. Security has a van that drives around after dark and it will take you back to your dorm if you need it.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life, but that's okay because the whole school is almost like one big sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different activities and clubs. There are normal ones like intramural sports and writing clubs, but we also have a Quidditch team! (Yes, like in Harry Potter!)

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people go over to Notre Dame on the weekends, but there are events at Saint Mary's too.

    Food and Dining

    It's mass produced food, so it's guaranteed to be kinda awful. There is always something too eat though--and the food could be a lot worse.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are big for college dorm rooms and many of them have sinks in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors make you think, but classes aren't impossible if you keep up with work. All of my instructors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't automatically be turned away by the fact it's all women--Notre Dame is right across the street, and SMC students can do basically anything over there, even take classes. It is a bit weird to not see guys all the time, but it's nice at the same time. Make sure to apply for financial aid--they're really generous in awarding it.

    In three sentences

    My first semester at Saint Mary's College has been really great. My professors are very informative and approachable, and my classes are interesting. I have made good friends; everyone is very welcoming.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to find what makes you happy. If you like to socialize, you'll have no trouble finding things to do. If you like to be involved, there are infinite possibilities for clubs and organizations. If you enjoy nature, the campus provides beautiful seclusion from the chaos of life.

    Dorm Life

    Attending an all women's college teaches you what it means to be a friend and the value of personal relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Mary's challenges students to look beyond what they learn in textbooks in order to see where they fit into the larger world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every experience with a grain of salt. Remember that you get out of every experience what you put into it. If you want a life-changing college experience, you have to be the catalyst for changes in your life.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary's allows young women to grow into determined and knowledgeable leaders in society. The small classes and personal interaction with professors allows students to develop a professional network that provides countless opportunities and connections nationwide. Women leave Saint Mary's College with confidence in themselves, strength of character, and a drive to change the world.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe - never an issue tons of security both at Saint Mary's and if you go to Notre Dame

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons everything you can imagine.

    Great for these types of students

    Small campus environment - but big across the road if your interested. Small works better for me because I need the one on one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love that everywhere I go I'm reminded of my savior. Even on bad days - I feel comfort in this - the whole campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I actually free I'm getting an education compare to my friend at other schools. I love the one and one.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Notre Dame and attend different sporting events

    Food and Dining

    I like especially because I diabetic they give a large variety.

    Dorm Life

    Love it - lots of girl power

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring a lot of cloths. Open yourself up for new things. If you don't have sister you do now.

    In three sentences

    I love it. It's amazing. Couldn't be more happy!