Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Michael's College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller class sizes and a more personalized learning experience. Students who desire to know their professors on a personal as well as professional basis. Students who enjoy cold weather and lots of snow. Students who love winter sports. Students who want a well rounded education taught by top of the line professors in a warm environment. Students who want to feel at home. :]

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, it's your best bet for getting in. Get good grades and take challenging classes! Every college loves a kid with some brains in their head.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so it is a bit pricey, but they take great care of their students, staff, and campus. The food is awesome, all areas are clean, the campus is beautiful, there are activities for every type of student. They have extraordinary professors who love what they do, incredible Study Abroad program, as well as an extremely helpful Financial Aid office.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful; there's mountains everywhere. The campus is impeccably clean, well kept, and well lit, and it also appears very safe. There are tons of fun activities planned every weekend and plenty of things to do around campus during the week. You will never be bored.

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers and other staff members really love what they do, and all of the students enjoy being there. It is a wonderful learning environment and everybody is excited to learn and willing to help you learn.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who wants a small classroom, being a name and a face rather than a number in a huge lecture hall _ Saint Mikes is for you! If you are an athlete who wants to be on the good side of the professors, St. Mikes is for you!!! So many of the professors follow along with the sports teams, and love to have them in class (even if they do tease you!) If you are an 'outdoors person then Saint Michael's is DEFINITELY the place for you... We are close to Lake Champlain, Smugglers Notch Ski Resort, Stowe Resort and manyyyy other mountains and hiking trails! For those girls who love to shop:: Public Transit takes you right down to Church Street where the best little boutiques and mall is! Saint Michael's is an all-around school that has something for everyone to fall in love with!

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T BE AFRAID! If you think you wouldn't fit in at a small school do not be alarmed! Saint Mike's is such an accepting school to all sorts of students! Don't let the cost bug you down! Even though college is getting pricier these days, this school is worth it! Just think of the opportunities you will receive from St. Mikes and the amazing opportunities you will attain from being a Saint Michael's College graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from a small town, and public high school the thought of a small private, Catholic college was intimidating! With the prices of a private education being quite a bit more risky then a public, SMC is by far the place to be! With the thought of being in debt, I am still so happy that I chose to come here with this loving and accepting environment!

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE IT! Being a skier the mountains are WONDERFUL! Campus gets a lot of snow, and so many different people are always on campus! Ever since I arrived on Orientation Weekend a year and a half ago I have felt like I've been at home! Everyone is so welcoming and it truly feels that these new faces are welcoming you to your new home you'll be spending the next four years!

    Am learning a lot

    Being a Sophomore at St. Mikes I LOVE IT! Here I can be an athlete and still get a high level of academic achievement! Even if your schedule does not fit your sports schedule these teachers love their job soooo much that they will bend over to help you! As long as you show your interest and involvement in the classroom they will come in before/after their office hours to help you make sure that you understand/know/ and can use the knowledge from class outside of the classroom! I have by far paid more attention in my classes the past two years just as much, if not more then in some of my high school classes!

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whether you like shopping in downtown Burlington, a day at the beach, or a day at the mountain, smc is for you. You are a person, rather than a number. If you're a goal oriented person with never ending ideas smc could be for you, but it's also for laid back dreamers or even up tight over achievers; I've seen just about every type of person at this school and I'm sure everyone loves, loved, or will love it the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax! This college is the best of the college experience, there is something for everyone and definitely don't be afraid to be yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, I have student loans and a lot of them! However, I plan on staying all four years and have no doubts about it, it's worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it. There is never a dull moment & the friends you make are for a lifetime.

    Am learning a lot

    Even though I haven't declared a major yet, with the broad liberal studies requirements, you learn much more than you think you will.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though I am naturally a safety-conscious person, I have never once felt unsafe on the Saint Michael's Campus. Our campus security are friendly and are only looking to keep up safe, not get us into trouble. People often walk around campus late at night but don't have to worry because of the patrolling security officers and well-lit campus. Security is also very receptive and helpful if you do have an issue with safety.

    Greek Life

    None! Though some of the houses where sports teams live feel a little bit like fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are great volunteer organizations like MOVE and DREAM, as well as environmental and social activist clubs, science clubs, wilderness clubs, numerous singing groups, and a great theater club. There is a very strong sense of community and participation, and most people join a club at one point during their stay at Saint Mike's.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes, knowing their professor well; also, those who love the outdoors, the mountains, and all things nature. Anyone who wants to see 20 people they know well just on the walk to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    P Day is the last Saturday before finals and to celebrate one last hurray, there are free local food vendors, live music, events and even inflatable bouncy houses and more! Its the one day of the year that everybody on campus looks forward to and participates in.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the school is a private college, they offer many scholarship and work study opportunities, as well as tutoring jobs, and jobs on campus. There are many benefits of paying a little more to go to ski here, such as the extremely inexpensive ski pass, numerous free events, and unlimited meal plan for those living in dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! Go hiking, skiing, mountain climbing, visit downtown Burlington, attend a concert, see a play, volunteer, enjoy outside, and just hang out with all of the great friends you'll definitely make.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is pretty good, and the servers are very friendly. The only downsides are the limited dining hall hours and there isn't a huge variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept and huge compared to many state schools. The suites and townhouses are great places to live as an upperclassman.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes are challenging, even liberal studies requirements, but the workload is very manageable and teachers are very willing to be flexible. In my time at Saint Mike's, I have learned very valuable lessons about subjects I didn't even know I'd be interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Join clubs, attend talks and performances, and in general, make a lot of friends because you'll know get to see them all the time. And definitely buy a season pass to Smuggler's Notch mountain!

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's College has proved to be the perfect college for me. The small class sizes, friendly students, and caring & involved professors have made the transition to college life very easy and enjoyable. Living in the beautiful

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! Tons of security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of activities like video game club, swimming club, yoga classes, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Micheal's is great for Catholic students. You can attend mass and the priest are awesome and can really entertain the young crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Micheal's is up there for what they charge for tuition but you get what you pay for. Definitely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    They host movies in Cheray Hall once a week at 8, free bus all over Burlington - your knight card is your pass. There are a lot of clubs. There is always a quad cookout from 11-1am on weekends for those who don't go home. They host activities in dorm halls as well....I can go on and on. Love it here!

    Food and Dining

    Great food choices!

    Dorm Life

    Awesome. I am an Honors student and they put us on a quieter floor. It's nice and there is not a lot of distractions.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be very challenging depending on who you have for professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with your student financial adviser to square up any financial aid you may receive. Sometimes things get lost in the shuffle and it's best to have everything set. If you get a room mate - get ahold of them ahead of time to prevent duplicate items. Especially big items like TV, Microwave and dorm fridge. :)

    In three sentences

    The professors are really awesome! The dorms are not bad at all and if you are an Honors Student - the housing is amazing! The food is pretty good too. I love it here!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall very safe feel

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Community service focused activities and organizations are really fun

    Great for these types of students

    -Not exactly sure what you want to do -Want a small college

    What to do for fun

    -Parties and activities on campus -Explore Burlington area

    Food and Dining

    Compared to other colleges, really good. Also great food in the area

    Dorm Life

    Could be improved, but upperclassmen have it good

    Academic Rigor

    Rigorous curricula

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit the campus before deciding to go there -Check out curriculum requirements and make sure they have what you want to do specifically

    In three sentences

    St. Mikes is in an ideal location. Professors are really nice and classes are good. The price is high.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've walked across campus by myself at night and I feel perfectly safe. The small campus is well lit and uses the blue light system. I never once felt unsafe at school last year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday and Saturday night the school grills burgers and hot dogs in the quad. This is a great way to bring people together and can be a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school but they give out lots of scholarships and it is easy to make it through the year without spending too much extra money. Other than tuition last year I had to buy book and pay for laundry and for other activities, clothes, or food that I bought and I only spent roughly 500$ all year. There are always things to do through the school that save money. The school offers free bowling nights and a 30$ season pass to Smuggler's Notch, for example.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus on the weekends and it is also very easy to take the bus (for free) to Burlington to go shopping or walk around or to the movies, or even to The University of Vermont. Although the campus is tucked away, it is not completely secluded.

    Food and Dining

    The one thing that sets the dining apart from dining at other small schools is that you still have the wide variety of options that you would have at a large school. The food certainly isn't your mom's cooking but it is still possible to eat well and with variety.

    Dorm Life

    There is a lot of partying since everyone lives on campus and it is really only shut down if it becomes completely out of control. If this isn't something you want to be involved in it is easy to stay away from as there are many housing options and not everyone partakes in it. The Resident Assistants are very helpful so it is easy to go to them with anything you are dealing with from homesickness to roommate problems.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Biology major I am challenged by the classes, which is actually something I was concerned about because my test scores were well above average when I was applying. The material, however, is in no way impossible to grasp and there are many extra help opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone at Saint Michael's is welcoming so there is no need to be shy when you have questions or need help with anything, from school work to dorm life.

    In three sentences

    The people at Saint Michael's become your second family and you will never want to leave. It is a small school so it is easy to know someone every time you go out and the professors are very approachable. If you like the outdoors then it is a perfect place to be and there is always something going on.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much experience but there are blue light telephones everywhere.

    Greek Life

    None, but the sports teams (especially Rugby which is a club sport) really have a brotherly/sisterly vibe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would give this 6 stars if I could, there are crazy amounts of opportunities for everyone. Coming in a freshman, by the end of the year I was doing a Capella, running my own radio show, in the Video Game Club, doing Chorale, and still have time for school work and relaxing (sometimes).

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, not-so-studious, fun loving, shy (St. Mike's will change that), outgoing, crazy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    P-Day is a day when the school rents bouncy houses, gladiator pits (inflatable ones), mechanical bulls, puts on a tricycle race, and bring in bands and a TON of food from all over the area. It's two weekend before finals and it's all just a really good time meant to relax every one before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    This is totally dependent on scholarships and financial aid but almost everyone I know got great financial aid and is loving it here.

    What to do for fun

    Burlington is a pretty great spot and it's only a 10 minute (free) bus ride. There's freshman bowling (awesome) and movie theaters and such. There's also a lot of concerts around the area and other live performances. Lake Champlain is a short drive off and there's always stuff happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely the low point of St. Michael's, there's only one dining hall and it's only open till 8 on the weekdays and the weekends are absolutely horrible. It's open for an hour for each meal on the weekends with barely any stations open. The only thing that keeps students from starving on the weekends is WingsOver, Domino's, and Papa John's.

    Dorm Life

    They really try hard to make everyone kind of like one big family in the dorms with activities every Friday and Saturday night and really great RA's to hold everyone together. As in all cases you're not going to love everyone you live with but it was very manageable.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficulty, not too easy. I felt challenged but not overworked, and when I did feel a little over my head there were a lot of people there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to a place where you're almost guaranteed to succeed socially and academically (still with effort), then I really recommend finding a place that just feels right. For me hands down it was St. Mike's.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mike's is a great community, with great people. The professors for the most part really do care and want you to succeed. I'm really glad I came here.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely Safe! I've never heard of anyone being in danger while at my college!

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities and sororities at our School. You don't really need one though since you most likely will know someone who knows someone whose hosting a party, and if in you're a club, an upperclassmen in that club will most likely host a party. The closest things we have to a fraternity/sorority here are the Rugby Clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have the stereotypical clubs you find at every college such as a green clubs, biking club, rugby club, drama club, gay rights movement club, and so on. We occasionally have an interesting club such as Irish Stepdancing and volunteering at our very own fire station. We have a phenomenal volunteer Program called MOVE that makes us highly respected by the entire Northern Vermont.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, Upper-Middle Class, Outdoorsy, not very religious people who finished in the top 10% of their class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Be prepared for daily ritual of the cup in the Cafeteria. Basically, if one person drops a crop in the cafeteria, every single person in the cafeteria will drop their cup to so that person who originally dropped their cup doesn't feel awkward.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Michael's is really expensive. ($43,000 per year to be exact.) However they do offer alot of learning experiences such as dance classes, numerous clubs, ski trips, and so on. If you take advantage of it all, then it's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the usual partying, you have millions of outdoor options since you are living in Northern Vermont. There are outdoorsy trips every weekend you can sign up for. You're a five minute free bus ride from Burlington (rated as #10 Best College town in America). You're also 1.5 hours away from Montreal, Canada.

    Food and Dining

    You are given an unlimited meal plan into our cafeteria that has unlimited amounts of food at good quality. Some people complain... but they're just spoiled.

    Dorm Life

    Like any other campus, freshman dorm parties suck. Besides that, the dorms are fairly nice. If you don't drink, you can sign up for housing where you're placed on a floor with other kids who have agreed not to drink. All the dorms are fairly close so you don't have to worry about long walks from place to place.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are definitely legit, however it does not take a serious amount of effort for you to get really good grades. As long as you do everything given to you, you are guaranteed at least a C+. If you do struggle though, the professors will help you get that grade up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be as Friendly AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN. This will determine whether you will friends or not. This will also determine whether you are generally liked or generally disliked by the public. Just saying hello to people as you walk by them will make all the difference in the world!

    In three sentences

    Happiest school that I know of! Professors are great and everyone here really enjoys what they're taking out of the classroom. I've never met a person who didn't like St. Mikes!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Between Friday Knight Dry, hanging out with friends in Eddie's Lounge,

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple options for dining on campus and they're all pretty decent. Meal plan is all inclusive, unlimited swipes.

    Dorm Life

    They're constantly updating the Dorms. In Summer 2012, they updated all the bathrooms and lighting on the Quad. They're also in the process of building a brand new dorm and student center.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes, but teachers are very passionate about what they teach and willing to work with students who put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the online resources, such as chat rooms, student blogs, and youtube tours! Also, definitely make a trip to campus to take a tour and check out the vibe.

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's College is a great place to receive a liberal arts education. There is a huge focus on the school community and you will never feel like a number. Despite the smaller size, you will be faced with amazing opportunities during your time there.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are fun activities that happen every weekend in the dorms and you can take the bus to historical Church Street to soak in the fun Burlington, VT atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus. And don't be afraid to ask questions. Everyone at SMC will help you answer your toughest questions.

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's has a friendly atmosphere that makes you feel at home. The professors are wonderful and help you learn things you never knew about. And the people who attend Saint Michael's are all people who make you feel welcome; you will make life-long friends here.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    SMC keeps its students busy with a very large amount of clubs and activities offered to the student body. I personally love the music groups, but there are many others such as working with children once a week or even becoming involved with religious life at school.

    Great for these types of students

    Small school lovers. The class are all relativity small, except for courses like chemistry. These max out at around 40. Students will get to know their teachers well, and will be able to work with them one on one whenever its needed.

    What to do for fun

    Burlington is only a bus ride away, along with lots of other fun activites that the school offers almost every weekend such as sporting events, free live music and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Alliot is the one and only dining hall SMC has on campus (minus the schools restaurant located on the Norther Campus). At first the food isn't too bad, but it gets old after a while. There are suggestion boxes though, and the food services is usually pretty good about meeting our needs.

    Dorm Life

    All students usually stay on campus all 4 years. In the beginning the dorms aren't great, but as you get older you are able to move into dorm sweats and eventually town houses.

    Academic Rigor

    So long as you organize your time wisely the work should not be too overwhelming (though your major definitely effects the amount of work you will have to do). Teachers are helpful and more than willing to assist a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Saint Michaels College's website to check out all SMC has to offer.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus, filled with the most friendly of people. Saint Michaels College is a community all to itself. If your looking for a small, welcoming school check SMC out.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel super safe on the campus. Of course you should never walk somewhere completely alone, especially at night, but it's not a huge issue. There are blue lights all over campus and if you ever feel unsafe, you just press the button and campus safety will escort you to wherever you're going.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Michael's is great for students who really want an education, but also want to find a community and be involved in it. Everyone I know is involved in some sort of club. There's a lot of school pride here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure you would call this a tradition, but if a person drops a cup in the cafeteria, everyone drops theirs. First you hear the one cup drop and then an awkward silence and all the sudden the room is filled with the clanging of plastic cups. Some people find it annoying, but I think it's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Michael's is expensive, it's true. However, I feel like I'm getting my money's worth. There's always a performance to go to, a speaker to listen to, a club to join or a movie to see. The campus is really pretty too, even with all the construction going on.

    What to do for fun

    Every friday and Saturday night we have a grill going on outside where we can get hamburgers and hotdogs. There are also themed movie parties going on, art projects or games put on by the residential association. Being so close to Burlington, it's super easy to take the bus and go into the city for the day. Throughout the week various clubs are meeting and a sporting event is usually going on.

    Food and Dining

    All the freshmen dorms are super close to the cafeteria, which is great. We also have unlimited swipes, so we can go get food whenever we want. However, it is cafeteria food and it can get a little monotonous. It's easy to get creative though, each station has something yummy, so you just get a little from each.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. At first it was a little strange living with 20 other girls, but in the first few weeks they are your closest friends. My floor mates and I always smile at each other throughout the day and go to dinner together sometimes. Lucky for me, my roommate and I get along very well. We have a lot of the same interest and a similar sense of humor. Dorm life is great because you don't have to go far to find friends. With over 100 people living in one dorm, you're sure to find at least one person to hang out with regularly.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Michael's expects the best from you; that doesn't mean you have to be perfect though. The classes are hard and make you think, but they also have a great atmosphere. You can sit through an Irish Literature class and read poems the entire time, but by the end of class you know the innermost feelings of the author.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing. It sounds cliche, but when making friends is so important, it's good to meet as many people as possible.The more connections you make the easier it will be to create a friend circle later.

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's becomes home. Your friends become your family and it's a tight-knit community. Everyone is connected through someone else and friendly faces are always just around the corner.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school but worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Burlington, watch movies with friends, order Wings Over, go to concerts at Higher Ground.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get liberal studies out of the way

    In three sentences

    The students are incredibly friendly and the staff is easy to get along with. Upper classmen housing is great and the campus is beautiful and well kept up. Classes are challenging and interesting.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. Public safety does a good job.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus such as MOVE, our community service club, Drama, mentoring programs, science club and many others. Also, intramural sports are popular.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do at Saint Mikes. Burlington is only a ten minute bus ride away from Campus. On the weekends every dorm puts on a different activity ranging from tie-dyeing to wings and video games. Also, the library has a large collection of movies that students rent on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Alliot, our dining hall, is not bad. Sometimes the food is really good and sometimes it is questionable. There are plenty of options and the stir-fries are always good.

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm life experience will differ depending on what building you live in and what floor you live on. There are three different types of housing GREAT, honors, and regular. GREAT is for students who choose not to use drugs or alcohol and honors is for students in the honors program on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Saint Mikes are challenging. While we only take four classes a semester unlike many other colleges, the classes are rigorous and the professors have high expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early action and come to the accepted students open houses and academic days. These events give students a good look at what life at Saint Mikes would be like.

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's is a great choice for anybody looking for a small college. The sense of community on campus is unlike any other school. Also the professors are always available and go out of their way to help you.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. Public safety can be seen driving around very often and Colchester Police can also be seen on occasion. I feel very safe at St. Mike's.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs, activities, and teams that you can join or play for at St. Mike's. I happen to play rugby. Before coming to St. Mike's i had never heard of rugby and now i can't wait for the season to begin.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Mike's is great for anyone that enjoys New England weather. However if you do not like the cold than you shouldn't attend. Because Vermont is known for harsh winters. So if you hate the winter, stay away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any unusual traditions on campus. The only unusual location on campus is the current construction. Although there is a park on North Campus where my rugby club and I practice on occasion.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mike's is a great school and there are plenty of things to do at all times. I never feel as though I am bored and have nothing to do. Everyone is friendly and it is easy to make friends. The teachers are excellent. So I do feel like I am getting a lot for my money.

    What to do for fun

    Burlington is a big beautiful city with countless things to do. There are also plenty of places to hike, swim, and there are also several places to ski in the winter.

    Food and Dining

    The dining and food quality is average. There is only one main dining hall and one other hall on North Campus. So the dining options are quite limited.

    Dorm Life

    The school just put in a new building in the middle of the quad to improve the living arrangements for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers give you a lot of work, but they do not overwhelm you. The workload is very well balanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is very small and you will know everyone. If you are looking for a big school, then St. Mike's isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the campus environment and the positive nature and attitude of the students and staff. The professors are very helpful and have your best interest at heart. The campus is beautiful and everyone is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Tuns of clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    Dont like sitting in a room with 300 other students? Then St. Mike's is for you !!! There are (at most) 20 students in a class!

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit expensive, but the admission staff are always willing to help figure out a plan to help pay tuition!

    What to do for fun

    Well St.Mike's isnt far from Downtown Burlington so there are NUMEROUS activities going on all the time!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food isnt bad at all! Its pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty awesome! The dorms/suites are really cozy!

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of challenging but managable courses!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early!

    In three sentences

    Definitely feels like home! The teachers and administrators care about the students soo much and with the small classes, one-on-one time with the professors is a given!

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus, even walking by myself at night. There are lights and emergency phones all over campus, and public safety does a good job about being present on campus and announcing any potential safety concerns via email.

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate, hardworking, motivated, intellectual, creative, athletic

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun on and off campus. On campus, there are many clubs and events. Off campus, there are many things to do as well. In the city of Burlington, there is shopping, dining, and shows at the Flynn Center, Memorial Auditorium, and Higher Ground, among many other things to do. You can go hiking many places around campus. You can go skiing or snowboarding at Smuggler's Notch (you can purchase a ski pass for $30 and even take a bus there), or Stowe, Jay Peak, and Bolton Valley.

    Food and Dining

    Because I didn't live on campus for long, I don't have a lot of experience with the food and dining. However, from what I did experience, the food isn't bad, just bland. I know of several students that keep their own spices with them to add some flavor to the food.

    Dorm Life

    At the beginning of my freshman year, I lived in a dorm, but I had to move back home shortly after, so I can't give a very informed opinion about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and definitely require you to be engaged. As long as you pay attention, take good notes, stay caught up, and communicate with your professors, you should be able to do well and learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades, participate in a variety of extracurricular and volunteer activities, get good recommendations and write a strong essay, and apply early if possible. You can also do an interview if you would like.

    In three sentences

    Saint Michael's is a great place to learn. There are lots of great resources, including professors and other staff members and the library. So many people are helpful and kind, and it really has a community-feel.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every week each dorm residential assistants get together to plan fun activities for the whole weekend, to make sure students have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Its just like any other college food, its nothing like home cooked meals. They do offer allot of variety for those who might be vegan or vegetarian. On special occasions we do get chefs to come and prepare our meals which are really delicious. We even have opportunities to make dinner reservations on North campus where food is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part its nice. You get a chance to really get to know the people you live with. Also, we just finished building a new dorm that connects to most of the dorms which its pretty awesome especially those times when you don't want to walk in weather outside after coming from a friends room. Oh and did I forget to mention it has suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Your classes challenge you to be a responsible young adult. Also, it re-inform to study each day to stay refreshed in your mind. P.S. depending on your major your classes may be harder than any other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you fully research your interests and if any school you're looking into is right for you. Also, make sure you visit before!

    In three sentences

    Saint Mikes have awesome opportunities for internships, study abroad, and other important career and life building experiences. They are deeply interested in making their campus multi-cultivated through their students, staff, events, foods, and classes. Saint Mikes is good for anyone who is interested in making their college experiences like no other.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own Fire and Rescue, with students on duty 24/7. Public Safety also does an excellent job of keeping students safe. Last year two trespassers stole a laptop from the cafeteria, but the school tracked them down and got the laptop returned in only a few days.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If a club doesn't exist, they'll fund it for you. St. Mike's has an excellent Wilderness Program offering extremely cheap outings for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Absolutely everyone at St. Mike's has a place. But it's great for enthusiastic students majoring in Liberal Arts, Science, or Religious studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University of Vermont is right down the road and hosts their own naked mile, which is always exciting. St. Mike's library also has a secret snack room, great for studying if you can't deal with silence.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of opportunities for students to get a little extra exposure to their topics outside of the classroom. St. Mike's also grants its students many discount to local events and areas. Like very cheap Ski Passes and club memberships.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, including inter-murals, or just supporting the Purple Knights. I find myself involved in their great volunteer program M.O.V.E and in their wilderness program. There is also plenty to do in the Burlington area as well as extremely convenient transportation.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo Co. supplies the food, but St. Mike's often tries to add in a little extra. This year we had a lobster dinner in April, and often there is an extremely large cake waiting in the cafeteria. My only complaint is the limited weekend hours, but they make up for this with a free grill in the freshman quad on Friday and Saturday nights. (11pm-1am)

    Dorm Life

    Building kept in great condition and cleaned daily. The housing available to Upperclassmen is excellent, the townhouses and suites are re-done each year and are quite spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Much like any school it entirely depends on the student and the course. For me Organic Chemistry was extremely tough because it had a high demand for memorization. Ultimately there are many resources available to students who need help with more difficult materials.

    Tips for prospective students

    St. Mike's offers great tips and allows incoming students to meet with current students, Alumni, and professors to answer any and all questions. The current students were my personal favorite as they allowed real insight into what was going on around campus and what was fun to get involved in.

    In three sentences

    Great community life, with a close, small campus. Plenty to do in the Burlington area. Most interactive faculty I have EVER encountered.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student I feel completely safe at all times on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Mikes offers everything for all students because of the diversity of the professors and staff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite spots are the hiking trails in the woods by Saint Mikes.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Saint Mikes was the best choice for what I required.

    What to do for fun

    The area offers a fantastic choice of activities from walking along Lake Champlain, shopping and eating at Church Street, to biking, hiking and skiing the local mountains.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has an excellent choice of food and offerings for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. As a first year student I have met other studants from all over the world.

    Academic Rigor

    I find each class challenging and informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and see what this collage really has to offer. Small is powerful.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with Saint Michael's the very first time I visited the campus. All the professors know your name and your capabilities due to the small class sizes. They also care that you succeed not only in class, but in life.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Burlington! Skiing

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, and have more options

    Dorm Life

    awesome dorms, brand new building!

    Academic Rigor

    A relatively challenging school, but you get what you make of it

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I ate lunch there and the food was really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms looked really nice and clean!

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have heard, the work load isn't too stressful, but you learn a lot as well.

    In three sentences

    I am currently a high school student in search of a college, and honestly, I fell in love with St.Mike's at the first visit. The girl who gave me my tour was so nice and she said hi to so many people along the way. St. Mikes looks so amazing, warm, and inviting.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe

    Clubs and Activities

    It is such a small school that there isn't a crazy amount but there are always ways to get involved

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great place for outdoorsmen, including rock climbing, skiing, we have a great outdoor club for snowshoeing, kayaking, ect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Burlington is a great city

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, partying, lots of netflix

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food, not horrible, it just gets boring with not a lot of on campus dining options

    Dorm Life

    Average, most people stay and hang out and party in their dorms. Public safety can be strict

    Academic Rigor

    I personally find it very manageable

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you want a small school in a suburban area. Also keep in mind the weather can be brutal.

    In three sentences

    It's a great little school. It has a unique friendly and welcoming environment that really is something you won't get anywhere else. It's very open and liberal.