Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Paul College-A Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Accounting, Liberal Arts, Culinary, Cosmotology.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are overpaid.

    What to do for fun

    Take classes not in your major for the heck of it!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food costs less than vending machine:) The food is served by culinary school students/staffs. Large Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No school dorms but apartments across school.

    Academic Rigor

    Learn to use the computer. Take a computer class. You will need it to do everything in your class no matter what class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join activity clubs, they keep you active because college is so intense. Cafeteria food costs less than vending machine:)

    In three sentences

    College is about teaching you to be more independent; getting to class without someone waking you up, finding out what your homework is because the instructor's not going to tell you, and sticking it to the end.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is definitely a great place to go to school if you are not in the best financial situation and still want to get a degree or certificate. I love the diversity, the faculty and the students there, so if you are up for meeting new people this is definitely for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early because it fills up quicker than you think.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a money saver.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made so many friends and the atmosphere is just great overall. Everyone is very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here do not only teach you the subjet but how to apply and where to apply the things you learn to everyday situations.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for all types of students, ESL students and even disabled students can be helped to get their degrees in the same amount of time as the other students at Saint Paul College.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to Saint Paul College, just make sure you put yourself in positions to succeed. It isn't high school, the teachers expect you to do the work to the best of your ability and push you to strive for your best. In doing this, a great thing to do is plan out your work on a schedule so you can get things done on a deadline and not stress about doing the assignments the night before.

    Bang for the buck

    The school also is reasonably well priced for the education you receive. You will get a lot more than you bargained for by going to Saint Paul College, the teachers work hard to teach you as best as they can so you can get a quality education for a low, affordable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Saint Paul College brings an enjoyable atmosphere to community based college. The staff and students are quite friendly and are willing to help you find your way if you need help. From helping you finding your way around the school to various departments to help you succeed during college, everyone at Saint Paul College is there to help.

    Am learning a lot

    You can learn a lot from Saint Paul College, the teachers are always on topic and are well versed in their areas of education. They expect you to take the work seriously and work hard, while they, in turn do the same.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    excellent teachers with above average difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    get your financial aid in order ahead of time. slow financial aid office.

    In three sentences

    good for those seeking mntc courses. small class sizes. decent selection of courses.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    okay.

    Greek Life

    none!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    there arent that many that i know of.

    Great for these types of students

    students who can not afford the normal pricing of the big uiversities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there arent any that i can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for. the price really helps a lot of people our like me and my family.

    What to do for fun

    i study, sleep, eat and work. i dont really do anything for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorm. it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    well it depends on the course and the professor that you have. i would rate all of science courses a 4 because the instructor are so good at what they do. overall i would rate the school academic a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend alll of your classes. you would be able to connect with your professor and the lesson if you dont attend class. pay alit of attention to your school work. try not to get distracted with all of the excitment that college can bring.

    In three sentences

    i would say that saint paul college is a good community college. it is very inexpensive. you will always get your money worth.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its cheap!!! the wonderful thing about community college is the cost. You can get your generals done for $2000 a semester.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly there isnt anything fun to do at community colleges. This is a place to get your generals done and transfer or get training you need to get a job.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Its kind of repetitive but you can walk to mcdonald or white castle if you want something else. Also its very close to downtown saint paul where theres more food options.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so its not your real college experience. There are no dorms,parties,or homecoming. Howver they do try to involve students in fun activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others depending on the class. For the most part the teachers and education is really good. Don't think its less than because its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important things are showing up for class and dong the work. Most teachers are nice and if you are in between a grade they may bump you up if you have been showing effort.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has been a very safe place while I have been attending it. Campus police are very nice and willing to walk people to their cars at anytime of the day while the school is open.

    Greek Life

    There is only one and that is for academics.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs offered on campus. Some of the are student life, asian club, and GLBT club.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who are not really sure in what they want to study. It is also great for people who are attending college for the first time or going back to school after years of not attending.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth the money you pay. Very accomidating.

    What to do for fun

    The student life offers different movie nights, ice cream socials. They also get discounted tickets to different sporting events at a very discounted rate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cooked by the Culinary Arts students. They do an amazing job. You have a many different choices including healthy choices. Prices are very responsible.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus only.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is an amazing place to go. People are so friendly and willing to help in all walks through this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when you need it. I always say a close mouth does not get feed. The teachers are here to help you on your journey.

    In three sentences

    Saint Paul College stands up to what they believe in. They hear what students have to say. The teachers support students in various was with disabilities and difficulties that students have.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good use of the academic centers because they have the best tutors

    In three sentences

    the Students really are the priority in the the school.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on their toes and keeping the students safe. I never question my safety at Saint Paul College.

    Bang for the buck

    I am all about thriftiness and Saint Paul College has the best bang for the buck! It is one of the cheapest colleges in the state of Minnesota and they don't cut any corners in your education to make it that way. They just are that great!

    What to do for fun

    It is fun to walk around town and check the sights. Being just minutes away from the capital and downtown Saint Paul makes this college right in the center of the city's hot spot. The view from the upper level of Saint Paul College is breathtaking.

    Food and Dining

    The students training in the culinary arts handle all of the food in the cafeteria and it is simply superb! I feel like I am dining five star every time I pick up a snack to eat there. The culinary art teachers make sure that their students keep high standards in preparing food. It feels more like going to a restaurant than a school lunch room!

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Saint Paul College it at the top of community and technical two-year schools. However, in comparison to some four year colleges the academic rigor is not comparably challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Paul College is a great place to get some real-world experience. You interact with students from all types of backgrounds, age groups, and diverse cultures. Make sure to take classes on campus and get a feel for the great atmosphere. Now Saint Paul College even offers weekend college making it easier for the working adult!

    In three sentences

    Saint Paul College is a great place to start earning a degree. The teachers and all the faculty are very welcoming and really put your mind at ease. The location is gorgeous too!

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Protect your belongings because things get stolen....and that includes vehicles.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that some classes are overpriced but welcome to college life!!

    What to do for fun

    I volunteer with my kids sports.

    Food and Dining

    Even though the majority of food is cooked by student's, it's actually pretty good. The variety is great.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended this college for over a year and it's great. Some classes are harder than others but if you work at it and with your instructors, you will be able to get through it all.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Be sure that you want to make the committment to college before you apply. 2) When you plan your schedule, make sure it's the courses you want and don't overload your schedule. Don't have the, I'll just drop a class attitude.

    In three sentences

    The classes are have been great as far as fitting around my schedule. Some of the teachers I have had have been very helpful with working around a working student schedule. The office staff could use a little customer service training.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I have visited I have seen a Security Officer in the building and outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    About 28 are in action now with room for more.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a military area where veterans and people who support our veterans can congregate.

    Bang for the buck

    I previously went to a private school and paid double what I will be paying here. I feel more financially comfortable continuing my education at Saint Paul College.

    What to do for fun

    There are about 28 activity clubs already started but if you can't find one you like, you have the opportunity to start your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions when you have them. This school has a great reputation but you will have to take your studies seriously.

    In three sentences

    I haven't started yet, but they have been more than helpful with their resources and any questions I have had so far. During orientation they explained how many resources are available to All of the students who attend this school and to use any and all of the available options. So far I am very impressed.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security always on site.

    Greek Life

    not a member

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs and activities are available for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who want to get skills training without the heavy cost of private or University costs.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Paul College offers affordable classes and schedules to fit just about everyones needs. From campus learning to online classes and even a hybrid of both.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in downtown St. Paul. There is lots to do and see from eating, to night life and concerts

    Food and Dining

    Good food and clean dining areas

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my Husband and Children.

    Academic Rigor

    As easy or difficult as you choose to make it. There is alot of opportunities to get the help you need for any of the classes that you register for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions about anything or everything you need to continue with your education. The only wrong answer is the question not asked.

    In three sentences

    I have found the staff to be very helpful in providing me with all the information I need to continue my higher education goals.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is filled with security officers and cameras. I defiantly feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs , and theater.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about school and want to continue your education I would start with Saint Paul Technical And Community College

    Bang for the buck

    Very exceptional. Nice instructions. Good coursework.

    What to do for fun

    They have several events throughout the year. They have theater and clubs anyone can join.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Department is AMAZING. The Culinary students learn a lot and it shows in the cafeteria and the schools restaurant.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Paul College has classes for everyone. They help when needed and push you farther when they know you can do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask questions. This is a big school. There is more help when you ask for it.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college I have went to so far. I graduate soon. I don't want to leave.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe and friendly enviorment to be in and great people to be around. I've never had a problem here.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's awesome they have a school salon and people can go and get their hair cuts, they also have fitness classes etc

    What to do for fun

    I love to relax and dance and sing. Hanging with my friends and studying.

    Food and Dining

    School actually has a resturant in it called the city life cafe. Great food and the luches are always different.

    Dorm Life

    It's a two year college so there's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always straight forward right to the point and always accurate about the things they give you. They are very supportive espically if you don't get something they will help you one on one or help find you a tutor so you will never be left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great two year school, small classes and awesome teachers that's willing to teach if your willing to learn.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school with willing teachers and staff that will be there for you 100% of the way to make sure you succeed and become the person you want to be.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great security. When you first walk in to the building, you see enrollment center room and on the other side you see the police.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really sure about this but I always see the signs/posters on wall about this (Greek Life).

    Clubs and Activities

    One think I didn't like about this school/college is that you got to be a member to join the GYM, or pay daily when you get in. I'd really be happy if they had open gym.

    Great for these types of students

    If you live around St. Paul, St. Paul College is a great school to go to. It has great transportation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because this school is a two year college, they often have other four year school come there and present to the students. And if the students have interest in transferring to other for year school, this is a great opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the computer lab and play games or do other things. They have two big open labs - where students go there to do their homework, and do other things. On the highest floor of the school, you can see the whole downtown, so I used go there and just relax - listening to music.

    Food and Dining

    It has great food. At first, I wasn't used of going to the cafeteria to eat. But when I did once, I started to go for for lunch, breakfast and for snacks for often.

    Dorm Life

    St. Paul doesn't have dorms because it's a small college near downtown. So there weren't any dorms but it have great transportation around it (the transportation were public transportation)

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Paul has excellent programs. I took one classes which I wasn't suppose to take it unless I was trying to get my associate degree. Anyways, when I was taking that class, I learned a lot and loved that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most classes fill out so fast so try to register for classes as soon as possible. Also try to join clubs/organizations, there are many of them.

    In three sentences

    St. Paul College is a great school in a great region. It has good/flexible schedules and great classes. It's also good two year college if you're trying to save money.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have been married for 30 years. I have five children and six stepchildren. I have live in three states. I work as a nursing assistant, trained medication aide, patient care assistant, ward clerk, central supplies orderer, medical records and resident counselor. I like houseplant and go to church, sewing, knitting, and crocheting.

    What to do for fun

    Right now nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is fair

    Academic Rigor

    No comment at this time.

    Tips for prospective students

    No comment at this time.

    In three sentences

    I like the computer lab at saint college. I like the fact there are service available you need them. I like the convenience of transfer to another school after completing my program.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, kids with low income and average grades.

    What to do for fun

    There are theater productions, student life discussions and student acheivement days devoted to rounding out the education you get here, its a wonderful tool to utilize to make the most of our studies.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program is working to feed us well, there is a small cafeteria that supplies most of ones nutritional needs. Prices are good, and it beats romen.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is alot, depending on what your doing, but designed to go as fast as it can to get you working toward a better carreer and lifestyle.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have never done this before, its not that difficult. Take it one step at a time, and double check your info for things that should make sense but may not. Everyone is very nice and willing to answer questions if your willing to ask.

    In three sentences

    This college is easy and adaptable for adults who have never been to a higher educational facility before. The teachers are knowledgable and personable. I enjoy the simpllicity and ease with which we can learn while still working and supporting ourselves.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get your generals done or become a transfer student this is the place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are really affordable and the teachers typically teach at other colleges in Minnesota.

    What to do for fun

    Selby and Grand avenue are close by with lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is good food in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do summer classes they are less expensive and less long term time commitment.

    In three sentences

    St. Paul College offers interesting classes with great teachers.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    One of the best restaurants in the entire city of St. Paul.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes were well structured and students knew what instructors expected out of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Professors here expect a lot out of everyone.

    In three sentences

    This is probably one of the best schools I have ever attended.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go downtown!

    Food and Dining

    The food is cooked by students and I heard they have a buffet at the end of the year to show off what they learned. It sounds like a lot of fun!

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms but they have apartments in downtown and across the street

    Academic Rigor

    You can choose what classes you want and you make your schedule what you want.

    In three sentences

    I have a lot of friends that are going to this school and really love it! It's in a good area and diverse. I am planning to attend this school then transfer to a 4-year college which will save me a lot of money!

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One single building so very little outside time wandering between buildings. Very safe. Last year a backpack was stolen and that was about it, so safe indeed.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college so VERY cheap. Perfect for generals because the MNscu systems basically makes other MN schools take your credits. Not sure how transferring out of MN would be though.

    What to do for fun

    There honestly isn't much. Once in awhile they will have small events planned to get the students together, but I often find they are when I am in class so I never attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It is prepared by the culinary arts students. The school is very small so the cafeteria is as well. Not a ton of option but I think it is enough.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college so the work isn't too tough, but occasionally you will get a teacher that really wants to prepare you for transferring to a 4 year, or they just don't like you..

    Tips for prospective students

    When signing up for classes keep checking as the start of the semester gets closer because they often add more classes depending on demand. Also, check ratemyprofessor.com it's great for getting an idea of how tough the material will be as well as the teacher.

    In three sentences

    The entire school is one large building, so not to big, and in my opinion, not too small. The teachers are nice and always helpful and our current president is really nice and understands how important community college is to those who were not given the greatest starting point in life, because he came to the US as a young adult with nothing and is now the president of a college.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is ok don't really eat at the school

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'll have to give the campus a 3.5 star out of 5 because there are still some issue about stolen things but overall they still keep the students n everyone in the school safe!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This kind of campus has the most diverse school in Minnesota that I know of and people in the campus cooperate very well with each other.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Paul College is a great school because they help their students to reach their goals. The teachers are very enthusiastic about their job. Great tutors ob campus and online.

    What to do for fun

    you can hangout near the library or the cafeteria where is these computers and desk to rest!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is vey public, safe,and healthy if u pick the right spot and food.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately their are no dorms but living in the city life near Saint Paul College is fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor seems very acceptable!

    In three sentences

    Saint Paul College has great and cheap cost for general classes. They also provide great tutor. They are also great at taking care of their students needs to succeed.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe knowing that there is always someone there to ensure my safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Still learning whats out there - always something happening

    Bang for the buck

    The cost per semester is affordable!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Saint Paul College was better then I anticipated

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and know that although we all live busy lives out side of school, know there is always someone there to support and assist you in all your needs.

    In three sentences

    Saint Paul College is a inspiration to me after returning back to school after 13 years. Every one I have came in contact with has been above and beyond helpful in making this transition easier. I thought returning to school would be intimidating and scary instead it has been motivational and inspiring.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are always on top. Saint Paul college Public safety are always helpful towards the students/faculties because, when something happened the security(s) come with the speed of light. Other then that, they discuss and fix issues with students more then any other staff members around the school.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life? I am unsure of what the Greek life is in my school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are vary of clubs and activities at Saint Paul College. such as, Asian Student Association (ASA), Phi Khra Peta, environmental society, student senate, student life, and Primes. As you can see, my school do not have a lot of groups, therefore, not a lot of other students actively join them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you come to Saint Paul college, everything is great for students. Learning about others ethnically and also learning about your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Saint Paul College, we have no unusual traditions or locations on campus because I hope my school is an equal school that does not care about what unusual traditions or location is on campus. I mean, it is other's tradition/ location why ask or care.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck? I am unsure what this means. but my guess would that I need this scholarship because, Financial Aid is not helping me pay half of my tuition, so i would have to pay that out of my pocket. I would like to be a part of this scholarship because I am tired of paying when Fasfa was supposed to help pay. I guess my part-time job makes too much. REALLY? it's just 8.00/hours.

    What to do for fun

    At saint Paul College, there are a lot of fun. such as, play showings, events, and a fitness center. sadly the school does not provide or have a gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Saint Paul College are simple. One side of the cafeiteria has a station for hamburgers and french fries only. and then, on the other side are the train chefs that has one or two years left of graduating cooks for us student. I personally think there foods are okay, not the best, but okay.

    Dorm Life

    sadly, there're no housings or dorm, so we as student would not know how the dorm life is like. But when we transfer to a university, we will then learn about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor here are awesome. Everyone here are smart in there own ways and it does show that instructors are improving to help their students to achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be: 1) to come to school prepared 2) College is not like high school anymore 3) study and then do homework AND Finally, 4) remember to have some fun

    In three sentences

    From 1-10, 1 being the worst and 10 being the best. I would rate Saint Paul College a 9 out of 10 because, the instructors are always there when you need them and when students are stuck on for example, math, writing papers, or reading, there're always tutors that loves helping others out, even from different education levels they are willing to stay and help. I love this school.