Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St. Thomas University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    STU is great for the leader type. There are so many opportunities for leadership, be it student government, clubs and organizations, or research with faculty. It hard to not get involved in something because the faculty are so easy to get along with and the students are so fun and energetic. Aside from its diversity, STU is known to build leaders for life and you really will leave St Thomas a leader.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small size of the university. Faculty are so helpful and it is obvious they love their job, so dont be afraid to go to someone with a question or a problem. You will soon find yourself with a few professors-- even outside of your area of study-- that you connect with on a more personal level (and this will make going to class that much easier).

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of scholarship opportunities and again, the small class sizes ensure a personalized education, something targeted at where you need it to be. Plus, the small class sizes gives professors a chance to get to know you personally and come recommendation time for grad school, this will pay off big!

    Am enjoying being here

    How can you not? Its south Florida! the campus is small and beautiful with trees providing shade and ponds that add to the open, fresh, and invigorating sense of the campus. The people are friendly and you will meet students from all over the world, STU prides itself on its diversity.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are great. Whats best is the same class sizes; they allow for a more personalized education. Plenty of areas of study to choose from, however, the classes in less demand are on rotation so you might have to wait a semester to take a class you want. On the bright side, if the class you need is not being offered faculty are so nice and willing to work with you.

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply early.

    Bang for the buck

    How can you put a price on your education?

    Will enjoy being here

    Possibly.

    Will learn a lot

    Amazing school.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are around 24/7

    Greek Life

    none (not allowed)

    Clubs and Activities

    there are 2 to 3 active clubs, the other clubs come and go.

    Great for these types of students

    students that wish to get personal attention from their professors where they can establish a relationship and possibly engage in research and other leadership opportunities with your professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i can't think of any.

    What to do for fun

    join a club on campus! other than that, campus life is practically non-existent. so if you are looking to be at a party school, this one is not it! if you are looking to have lots of quiet time to study then this is the perfect school for you!

    Food and Dining

    you have the cafeteria that offers a buffet style and you have the rathskeller that offers fried foods.

    Dorm Life

    lived on campus one year and left. there are too many rules and too little fun activities. the affordable facilities are worn down and old. the un-affordable facilities are crammed with 3 people to a room.

    Academic Rigor

    rigor is dependent on your major. unfortunately you have professors that will give you an easy a, and you have professors that care for your education and make you earn the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the university and the programs they offer. if you can't afford a private school tuition at first, make sure you come in as a transfer student. sit in on classes as well as meet your prospective professors.

    In three sentences

    st. thomas university is a small, private university where it is possible to know the names of all the professors on campus. this university gives you the opportunity to stand out among your classmates. you are able to establish relationships that will last a lifetime.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated with security at the gate checking ID's.

    Clubs and Activities

    The leaders of clubs and activities are usually invited to the class rooms to speak. The leaders are very nice, open and convincing. Freshmens are required to take university prep so that information will be provided.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, non religious, women, catholic, future leaders of the world and almost every major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ministry. Catholic or non catholic people can attend the church morning, afternoon or late in the day. Emails are sent on the hours and church meetings.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore buys back the books. Most books can be rented. The teachers are very leinent with late work. The teachers constantly remind you when assignments are due. You can check online for the work and syllabus.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Thomas University offers many groups and clubs to join which is helpful in meeting new people. The university also messages the students informing you on all events and meetings occuring on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    Most schools will not get a 5 star rating from me because I dont like going into cafeteria's, however saint thomas university recieves a 4 out of 5 because they offer a variety of foods, sauces and the nutrition facts are posted at every food window.

    Dorm Life

    Though I dont stay on campus because I cant afford it, I've heard from many of the students that the dorms are very nice. I havent gotten a bad complaint so far.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is pretty easy as long as you're self motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should meet with financial and academic advisors on a regular basis. Prospective students should apply for scholarships and grants at least 2-3 times a week. Lastly getting involved in a sport or club boosts the chances of success.

    In three sentences

    Saint Thomas university is a great Catholic private university. I rate the university a 5 out of 5 for the nice enthusiastic teachers and advisors. The employees at Saint Thomas University work accurately, really hard and fast informing, helping and satisfying parents, future and current students.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Partying with classmates.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious

    Dorm Life

    I'm not living in dorm. But, I can see how fun it is.

    Academic Rigor

    It's more hard, than how expensive it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to tutoring. Ask questions. Don't give up.

    In three sentences

    Saint-Thomas University is one of the most amazing school. At Saint-Thomas success is possible. Saint-Thomas can make of you a professional.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security Staffs are really concerned about your safety. No Serious infringement has been recorded.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are all around campus, fit yourself. Normally, freshmen are not allowed to launch their own club but they are free to be part of one.

    Bang for the buck

    The School is little bit expensive, but there are scholarships available based on various aspects. Also, the prize is worth the education you are getting.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things you may do for your enjoyment. The Gym is appropriate to various sports. Some parties are organized in order to help students relax. The Library is equipped with tremendous resources for those who enjoy reading.

    Food and Dining

    For some reasons, University has never been the right place to look for the best regarding food. Well, there have been complaints concerning the diversity of the foods. The staffs have taken notes and promised to act on it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quiet, spacious, and organized enough to facilitate students in their studies. You may not appreciate the boredom if you are leaning toward party activities. But, some activities such as Battle of the halls where students from different dorms will have to compete in some amazing games, vivify the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is at the top academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to learn, explore academically, you will find your place. Be reading to interact with diverse nationalities. This is a Catholic University, don't expect to party on a regular basis.

    In three sentences

    Saint Thomas University is a small great university. It has the necessary to provide to its students, the Academic Enhancement Center is pleased to help you develop your skills and potentials in any discipline. The social interaction between students and faculties contributes also to its well functionality.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young and older in life. I went back to school later in life and I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early and attend all meetings that they offer.

    In three sentences

    I love the school, they guide you through the whole enrollment process and it gets better from there with the care and attention that our instructors give us.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is small, very cute, looks really nice. it's the neighborhood around it that i had a problem with. it's fenced in, surrounded by very close-together houses that are all gated in and have barred windows. seems really seedy.

    Greek Life

    none.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Before anyone can get through those gates we have top of the line security team there who do rounds at night and during the day, so it's a very safe school to attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs at STU such as criminal justice club, psychology club and lots of other clubs for you to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to meet new people and explore STU is the right place for you. Also if you are a little shy, everyone is so welcoming you'll feel right at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    STU is only a few minutes away from about 2 or 3 beaches. And the one everyone knows about South Beach, is only a short drive away.

    Bang for the buck

    Although STU is a bit expensive it pays off in the long run. You get what you pay for and you are paying for a top notch education.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something interesting going on at the school whether it's sport events or a talent show you can always stay busy.

    Food and Dining

    At St. Thomas we are given 3 meals a day and we have something called Rat-Bucks which allow us to go and get things such as hamburgers, salads and other delicious food, if we don't want to eat at the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are very beautiful, they make you feel right at home. The scenery is also amazing we have beautiful palm trees throughout the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is challenging but the teachers will take their time and tell you what you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for plenty of scholarships, grants and any other monetary programs. And just have fun while learning something new everyday.

    In three sentences

    St. Thomas is a very good school. the one on one attention that you receive is extremely helpful for incoming students. Everyone at the school is kind and are willing to help you with anything you may need.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good cost for private institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to different schools, do not hope on just one option. Study very hard during undergraduate GPA or study very hard for LSAT scores. Acceptance varies depending on each.

    In three sentences

    Private institution. Currently holds strong academic and opportunity recognitions for law students. Competitive and prestigious.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great school. It's small and quite which makes it easier to concentrate and study more. Plus, it's a private University so it's very prestige.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chill with friends nothing really fun to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Gross most of the time. Rathskeller food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Its get live if you have a good group of friends and they are comfy if you have a good roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Can somethings become a drag because i spent money on books we never read in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention when teacher lectures you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is great because the classes are small. The campus becomes fun if you are social. No curfew!!!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn where the library is; you will be there a lot. Become good associates with your professors and do not lose focus.

    In three sentences

    St. Thomas university is a quiet and beautiful school. The professor are all there to help you and see you succeed. Also, there have never been any problems with school issues on campus, everything gets solved easily.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    St. Thomas University's food is AMAZING!

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus but I had a lot of friends that did and I was always their for their activities! They were so much fun!

    Academic Rigor

    I love their academic programs, I graduated in Communication Arts and I LOVED my program. We are a hands on school.

    Tips for prospective students

    In St. Thomas University the best tip to remember is to do ALL of the homework, everything else is on you if you study for a test or not.

    In three sentences

    St. Thomas University has been one of my best experiences in my life so far. All of the professors are warm-hearted, caring, and supportive of everything you do. I recommend St. Thomas University to everyone.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Because Saint Thomas university is in Miami, there are several activities to do at any hour. On campus, there is the pool, basketball courts, several pick up games are played outside. Outside of the school, you have clubs you can attend, extremely nice restaurants, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that excellent. I wish I could report the food but I can't.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming my first year i made so many new friends and that truly made my year. It's hard getting use to living on your own, but its got to be done.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Thomas is typically very easy. If you do your work, go to class, and pay attention you will succeed. The work is not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not mess up your first semester of college. You may be tempted as a freshman to miss classes, but in the end it bites you in the butt. Stay on top of your grades.

    In three sentences

    Saint Thomas is a very diverse and great school. I wouldn't be able to attend here without playing soccer. The students, professors, and faculty truly make the school.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe, not much going on here.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a couple of clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It could be depending on the student and what your studying.

    What to do for fun

    I try to come up with plans with friends to do stuff OFF campus. I like going to the movies down the street, the different malls, the beach, going to other schools or anything going on like concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to eat on campus. Not that much variety and your typical fast food kind of eating in one of them. The cafeteria isn't that great but then again what cafeteria is.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not that great except one but its very expensive and the rooms are small. It's pretty quiet on campus as the day goes on. There are some activities that the RA's try to put together. Sometimes there are trips available for students to go on like Busch Gardens, Mall trips, Wal-Mart trips, and a couple others.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate the academics here between 3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in anything other than law or sports, I would suggest some place else. Also they might or might not be very generous with money and the staff here is mediocre, but there are some amazing professors here. Also there is not much to do on campus sometimes.

    In three sentences

    I would rate St. Thomas University as a whole a C-. It has a great Law program and Sports Administration program but that's about it. Not that great but not that bad, just mediocre.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's alright I feel safer because our campus has a gate, not because of the security officers.

    Greek Life

    I believe we might have one sorority/fraternity, but I'm not sure I haven't heard much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very many unless you are a resident or want to go to a business seminar. Which nothing is wrong with always having different business seminars however fun stress free activities available to ALL STUDENTS are nice to have every once in a while.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students that want a small class ratio learning environment. Doesn't mind giving up the true college life. Student-Athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really I have heard of.

    Bang for the buck

    I understand we pay more because we are a private school however, I don't really see that many perks besides free printing in the library. The only interesting trips or activates on campus are for residents only, and most of the time they have to either pay for it through their dorm fees and or pay in addition when the time comes.

    What to do for fun

    Not much if you are not a resident on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty normal school cafeteria food, no brand name stuff, which kind of sucks because most universities have at least one brand name food such as subway.

    Dorm Life

    On campus activities can be fun, however it is better to have a car to be able to get off campus, because the school is not located in the best area.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are tough, but you WILL learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind it is a small school. Class ratios are awesome, however it is not a true college experience. (Ex. No Football Team)

    In three sentences

    Small classes are the best to be able to actually learn and ask questions in class. The people on campus are very friendly. However, since the school is so small you don't really get the full college experience.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security monitoring the campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is always apart of each college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and events that everyone can be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria and dining is on campus and the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are right on campus where you'll be able to make life long friends for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is the school to go to if you want a small intimate setting where you will get all the financial aid you need to survive in school and where professors really care.

    In three sentences

    St. Thomas University is a private school that provide a small class environment which will give you a much greater opportunity to ask questions, participate in discussion, and have a professor who actually knows who you are. You are not just a nameless spectator in the crowd of a large university. Teaching is often the main criteria or standard for advancement, so the professors will put more effort into preparing their classes and, often, into developing new classes, not into research like so many large universities require. St. Thomas definitely stands firm on their mission and that is developing leaders for life.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security have become much more vigilant in recent years, they even installed some type of warning device in the classrooms in case of an emergency. They also do regular checks on the emergency sound system.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs on campus including SGA(student Government Association) CSA(Carribbean students association) GSA(Gay-straight Alliance) Student Senate as well as many other clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year, there is a multicultural event behind the chapel where, in the weeks prior, the student senate would vote on which countries to introduce that year. students from those countries would bring food, and cultural items and talk about their country with other students, and promoting diversity.

    Food and Dining

    The food is particularly good in the Bobcat Cafe, Rathskeller, and the Law school cafeteria. Generally the rathskeller is the main place to go if you want fast food -esque meals such as hamburgers and quesadillas , whereas, the law school cafe has more healthier options such as sushi or chicken cesar salads. The Bobcat cafe is basically like an all you can eat; the food is prepared at the school, and can vary from day to day. There is a salad bar with vegetables, for those that are a little more health conscious

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of activities on campus for campus residents, for example, the battle of the halls, battle of the sexes, Bonfire night etc. Most of the events on campus are for campus residents, however they do have some events for commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are very rigorous especially, for the science majors. They have to spend many hours after school to study. If you aren't willing to put in a substantial amount of effort into it, you won't succeed, however, that is with anything you put your put to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, it will only make your life more difficult, especially if you are a science/math major. Study hard. Even though the class sizes are smaller, and its easier to absorb information, it does not mean that you don't have to study. You will have to study to pass your classes especially if you are a science/math major. Pick your major wisely. Find a particular major that plays to your strengths more than your weaknesses, as that will make it more difficult for you.

    In three sentences

    The environment is very friendly and welcoming.The class sizes are smaller, which makes it easier to grasp information.Everything is organized around the students' convenience as far as where things are located on the school grounds.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Your In Miami, what else could you want. Your about a 15 minute drive from Downtown, Miami Beach and South Beach.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is iffy, the Rathskellar is decent bar food. The Law School Café is by far the best food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice, they clean your dorms for you!

    Academic Rigor

    Very good balance of hard and easy classes, always challenging, but nothing to difficult to overcome. Most teachers have high ranking degrees and are always around to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork and classes early, this allows you to pick your teachers and the best possible schedule. Make sure to do Financial aid early, they tend to reward those with early AND complete information with more money.

    In three sentences

    Great school, the classes are challenging, but nothing out of this world. The teacher's for the most part go out of their ways to help their students. The athletics facilities and programs are top-notch and up and coming!

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Thomas University has great security. There are emergency call buttons all over the campus, so no matter where or when you are walking around, you always feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Thomas University holds parties occasionally, and when there are none, there are always games, such as basketball, tennis, baseball etc., being held and everyone is free to attend. Residence Life also keeps it interesting by holding a variety of fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafe is great most of the time. There are even different vendors to choose from if one is a picky eater. On top of that if you do not prefer the food at the cafe, they have a mini restaurant/lounge which serves a variety of other foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Saint Thomas University are amazing. I love them. With my own bed, closet, drawer and work desk I create my own little home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The work at Saint Thomas University is fairly easy once you stay on top of your game, meaning studying hard and giving 100% on every assignment. Lack of studying can cause any college student to find the work exceptionally harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Work hard and study harder and you are sure to pass any class. 2) Do not hesitate to ask for help if you need it, the people are very kind and will have no problem in assisting you. 3) Stay focused and do your best!

    In three sentences

    Saint Thomas University is not only a very peaceful, but also a very interesting university. It is filled with many friendly students and teachers. Whenever help is needed, someone is always there to give assistance.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Up to you, being located in Miami has its benefits.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty Good

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING!!!

    Academic Rigor

    wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends and enjoy yourself

    In three sentences

    so far its been good. hope things stay like this throughout all four years.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a Gated School, so they have security everywhere on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food that they serve. Though it would be better if the lower the cost on some of the food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in the dorm but I had a friend who lived in the dorm and told me it's to crowed in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    It is only tough if you don't prepare yourself and study. The teachers are really nice and care for their students education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare Be motivated Have fun and Expect the unexpected

    In three sentences

    I would rate St. Thomas University a 8/10 stars. I love the school and activity the school has every week. Everyone in the school is friendly and help other students who are new there.