Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Vincent College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Vincent is a great school for motivated and involved students. Everyone accepts everyone and it is an all around great environment to learn, relax and have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying early is key. St. Vincent only accepts about 425 freshman per year and the competition for acceptance and for their grants and awards is high and on a first come, first serve basis.

    Bang for the buck

    Although St. Vincent is a private school, they hand out a lot of grants and awards for students in order to make their school affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    From the moment that I stepped onto campus I knew that this was the school for me. The people here are welcoming and kind and there are always things to do. Even as a commuter I feel so integrated and welcome on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I chose to come to St. Vincent because I knew that I wanted to major in the sciences. They have a new state of the art science center and the teachers here really know what they are talking about.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Making friends early helps you feel more at home on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is beautiful, but it can get annoying having to walk the long distance from the dorms to the buildings where the classes are, especially in the rain.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do on campus, whether it's a dance, a game or some other activity going on.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are there to help you if you need help in a class. Most of them are willing to meet with you outside of class to help you understand the course more.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals are popular as is bingo and other small activities planned.

    Great for these types of students

    Many Catholic oriented students enjoy going to the Basilica for mass and there are many religious activities one can take part in. There is no pressure to take part in these activities though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People like to visit sauerkraut tower or the gristmill which have much history. There are monks living on campus and the campus is very old so there are some landmarks that hold history and often ghost stories.

    What to do for fun

    There is an activities programing board that organizes events such as bingo, movie nights, karaoke, etc. There is also intramurals offered.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food, just like any, can get old. On the weekdays there is a special offered for lunch and dinner that spices things up a bit. There is a place called The Shack that makes sandwiches and fried foods offered all hours and accepts meal plan. This is a great alternate option to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorm building is very socially oriented and it makes it easier to become acquainted with one another. However, it being a catholic school, the pods and floors are gender specific.

    Academic Rigor

    The school wants to see their students succeed but the courses are rather challenging. The teachers all have available office hours and tutoring is offered for most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that this is not a big party school, but it is very possible to become involved and find things to do. Classes are small and attendance is required but it all pays off and is very much worth it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great, small school. The teachers and staff are very personable and actually care about you and your education. It is very easy to be successful at this school.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! There is a check in booth that checks as you enter. Campus security is very visible. I locked my keys in the car and they opened it for me free of charge.

    Greek Life

    I didn't participate but there are many opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and sports to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to learn you have come to the right place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Steeler Camp is my favorite!

    Bang for the buck

    I have the personal experience to compare and there is no comparison. I strongly recommended that my daughter attend Saint Vincent College and was pleased that she did. I want her to be more than ready for her career and I know she will be successful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities, clubs and sports. Bus and vans are often used to transport students to out of town events and activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food choices and you don't have to leave campus to find something you like. My husband wanted to enroll just for the food choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are many activities scheduled on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I attended a total of 2 state schools and 1 community college for my undergraduate studies. I attended 1 other state school for my graduate studies. Saint Vincent is academically more rigorous but that is why employers hire Saint Vincent graduates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the cost scare you there are many scholarships, work-study and grants available. Don't make your choice on cost until you see what it will cost after financial aid.

    In three sentences

    This was an excellent choice for me. I would strongly recommend this college for anyone who wants to be prepared for their career. The faculty are helpful, knowledgeable and care about the success of the students.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Vincent College seems like a great school for students who are highly motivated to learn and acquire success in their future. Saint Vincent is good for students looking for a small school, a nice campus, and the ability to get to know your professors.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is much nicer than some schools. There seems to be a nice variety of quality food and healthy options. If you need a change there is the Shack on campus and restaurants closeby.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are a nice size and seem really nice. An added bonus is the heating and air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics seem challenging but with hard work will be manageable. Students are held accountable for their learning.

    In three sentences

    The staff and students at Saint Vincent College are a very welcoming to prospective students. They answer any possible questions and are consistently friendly and inviting. Saint Vincent is highly focused on academics, yet seems to lend itself for an enjoyable experience.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Activities Programming Board is generally pretty good about having some sort of student event each week, but not every event is appealing to each person. There is usually a good assortment of activities, though, ranging from comedians to bingo, to movies, to karaoke, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not particular bad, but it is not particularly good, either. The cafeteria is rather hit or miss on whether or not you will have a godd dining experience on any given day, and the shack offers quick, but rather unhealthy and expensive food.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, you can have a very party-like atmosphere or a very quite atmosphere. The freshmen dorm and senior dorm are by far the nicest dorm options on campus, but the other buildings offer something that suites everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program, academics can be rather easy or they can be difficult and time consuming. Communications majors tend to have the least number of requirements, and the natural sciences tend to have the most requirements and the hardest class schedules. The college offers several honors programs, as well as secondary certifications in substance abuse (for psychology) and education, both of which have rather rigorous schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Vincent College is predominately a business, natural science, and theology college. Most other programs tend to be less funded and smaller in size. The new science center that is nearing completion with renovations is now an up-to-date lab and classroom environment which should tailor well to students interested in pursuing biology, chemistry, and biology.

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent is a rather quiet, rural college. The professors are generally pretty good and with the small class sizes it is easy to meet with professors on a regular basis. Overall, Saint Vincent is a good college and a good place to receive an education.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, trips, its all in what you make of it.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not a fan of cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    You have many opportunities to participate in clubs and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not an easy college, it pushes you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to college and think it is a breeze. It's not summer camp. Do your work.

    In three sentences

    I think Saint Vincent is a 9 out of 10. It is a family here and the classes push you. I just wish there was more to do on and around campus.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Mr. Rodgers, from Mr. Rodger's Neighborhood on PBS network, donated his puppets, sweaters, shoes, and other props to the college and they are displayed inside the Fred Rodger's Center. The education offered at Saint Vincent is fa nominal and the educators or excellent. The dorm life and dining services are a 7 out of 10, however, improvements are being carried out yearly.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Vincent College has many clubs and organizations for students to interact with one another from athletics to languages. Saint Vincent College is also home to the Pittsburgh Steelers' summer training camp. The campus also includes a well-cared and yearly updated gym, basketball courts, tennis courts, football fields, soccer fields, indoor pool, and wildlife reserve walking trails.

    Food and Dining

    Saint Vincent College has a main dining service located in the cafeteria which serves 3 meals weekly and 2 meals a day on the weekend. The array of food choices provide something for everyone, whether they be vegetarian or culture-specific. There is also an eatery located in the Carey Center called The Shack, which is open from morning till night and offers students the opportunity to exchange meals from the cafeteria, but also accepts cash/credit purchases.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Saint Vincent College is nothing like staying at the Hilton or living in Beverly Hills. You are provided with a roof over your head and a maintenance staff that works their best to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and safe environment to live during your stay at the college. The layout of the dorm rooms create an atmosphere of friendship, even with those who you may be unfamiliar with.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Vincent College prides itself in being in the top rank of many colleges in Pennsylvania and or the United States of America. However, the professors do not hand out As, but grade papers, participation, test, quizzes, etc. off of personal insights and examples, and course material. Some days could have a test in every class, but the professors do their best to prepare you ahead of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a big step-up from high school, but you will be ready for it. Saint Vincent, although it is a small college, offers the same education as the main stream state colleges. It's quality that is important, not quantity of students.

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent offers its students the opportunity to showcase their ingenuity, creativity, self-confidence, charisma, etc. whether its inside the classroom or on the athletic courts, fields, ice, etc.. The classes are small, and teachers will learn to know your name without having to look at a roster, making you feel welcomed and acknowledged. The Benedictine Community of monks offer their insights into the Catholic religion and its traditions, but one does not need to be Catholic or Christian to attend.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    hardly an altercations on this campus mostly everyone gets along

    Greek Life

    none we do not have that

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs you choose what suits you

    Great for these types of students

    yeah the students are amazing here a good portion of the students tutor as well

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we don't really have one of those

    Bang for the buck

    school is expensive so you have to watch where and how you spend your money

    What to do for fun

    You can go out with friends to near by schools go to the city or just hang out around campus

    Food and Dining

    there's a great selection of food to choose from if you don't like the cafe there is a snack places also

    Dorm Life

    the people are real friendly and nice so is easy to gel with one another

    Academic Rigor

    Class all test you and prepare you for real life you not just learn out of a book but taught how to apply it also

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you work on your time management skills that is the key to success here

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent is a fun loving place i like the way people are friendly and open minded

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This College celebrates the day St. Vincent College was founded and this is a great time to get together with friends and professors to share this experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Vincent College is filled with great academic programs, athletics, and activities for students of all sorts. You even have a chance to find great friends who have same interest as you and to receive a top notch education.

    What to do for fun

    Their are a lot of activities that go on during the week on and off campus that you can get involved in. There is never a boring moment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. I love being able to go to the cafe and eat what ever I want with my friends.

    Dorm Life

    You will begin to make friends who you know will last forever. Surveys for dorm rooms really play a big part in who you find for a roommate. The best advice would be to be yourself and not be someone else

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Saint Vincent College provide professors who are their not only for money but also to help students reach their goals. At Saint Vincent College your professors will get to know you.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going on visits keep an open mind. Try not to compare schools as the visit is taking place. Really try to find out if it is the right place for you

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent College is filled with opportunities that allow one to grow and reach their highest potential. This college is not like most; at Saint Vincent College your professors know you. You are not a number at Saint Vincent College

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a check-in booth and the Public Safety officers patrolling campus. Also in a small town. All-in-all, pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Saint Vincent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a pretty diverse amount of groups on campus in which to be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ambitious, hard-working students who love life and know how to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In November, the school celebrates Founder's Day where we celebrate the founder of Saint Vincent College, Boniface Wimmer. Classes are cancelled in the evening and there is a huge dinner in celebration of Boniface as well as the lighting of the campus for Christmas, fireworks, and the band playing Christmas carols.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a spiritual campus, Saint Vincent is a good one. You also have academically challenging classes and the best classmates.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall and bowling alley minutes from the campus, but you can almost always find an activity going on on campus as well. It is also a beautiful and safe campus which is perfect for a walk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty typical cafeteria/college food but they have their days when the food is pretty exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    Pod life at Saint Vincent is great. It is a wonderful way to build community and to become close to about 15 other people attending the same college.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the small classes, professors grade essays more thoroughly and give more in-depth tests than other colleges may. One will find it academically challenging but not too overbearing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your RA is there to help you! If you have any questions always go to him/her first; that is their job! Professors are also very willing to help so if you are struggling in a class or looking for an extra credit opportunity set up an appointment to talk with them.

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent College is a wonderful school with a diverse group of people. Everyone is very friendly and kind, including students and staff. There are so many opportunities for Catholics and other Christian denominations to practice their faith.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and intermural sports one can join. There is an APB event every week and trips such as the Mystery trip.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a good enough variety of options. A vegetable bar would be really nice because the salad bar does not always look appealing. Also, the fruit could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good for college dorms, although the heat could be turned down.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major I have a demanded schedule with challenging but informing classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can cover the financial aspect and GET INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent College has a friendly environment with many pleasant employees. Some of the food service could be better. Dorms are good though and science building is exceptional.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This school has over 50 sports and extracurricular activities for you to choose from. There seemed to be something to do for just about everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food looked and tasted quite excellent while I was there, however, I wish that there was just a little bit more variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept very clean and they are set up in a way that is almost like having a small community of friends right outside your door whenever you might need them.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I observed during my visit as well as from the proffessor that I spoke to, I can conclude that this school will not only challenge you academically but help you to explore who you are as a student and an individual.

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent College can be described as a diamond in the rough because when you first visit Latrobe, you automatically assume its a party school since its in a localized urban area. However, it is anything but with its beautiful campus, friendly staff and students, and overall sense of enjoyment and peace. This school might not be for everyone but it is for those select few.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join an extracurricular group or go to the Mall or Olive Garden or Barnes and Noble with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    Even though students complain about the food, I have researched the Parkhurst Dining Services, and they make really great food and do a lot for the community.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and if you are one to make use of the space given to you, then you will do fine. Make the space how you want it to be

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are everything. Do your work, stay on top of your classes, make sure you work hard for your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the Liberal Arts Program, it is a wonderful major. Whatever you decide to do, make sure that you focus on your work and not get sucked into the hooplah of student drama. Whatever you do is your business, but make sure you graduate with your degree in your hand.

    In three sentences

    SVC is a good institution filled with wonderful teachers, faculty and staff. As an international student they really make you feel at home. The monks also play a great part in the SVC community and are open to new cultures and people.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There were so many clubs and activities in which I could participate. How could I get bored on campus?

    Food and Dining

    The food looked delicious and there was so much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were average sizes, but it was not too bad. After all, it was a college dorm, not a five star hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I could observe, the rigor was just the right fit for me: not too challenging, but enough to keep me interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the tour and make friends with everyone!

    In three sentences

    When I visited Saint Vincent at Get Aquaintanced Day, I felt as if I was part of the family. The tour was very informative and I would love to apply there. Serene nature surrounding the campus provided an extra benefit to the tour.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take campus safety seriously here!

    What to do for fun

    There are not a lot of on campus parties, but with great friends you can always find something to do. Also, SVC plans numerous activities throughout the year like concerts, wing night, and comedy shows to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Cafe is okay and it is paid for in tuition,but I prefer the Shack (also in tuition) food over the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Again, this is what you make of it. I know plenty of people who just keep to themselves and think dorm life is horrible, but it can be fun. Also, the dorms are quite nice, some have their flaws, but all in all they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are tougher than others, but college is what you make of it. I have work everyday, but on the rare occasion I don't I review previous work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just explore all of your options. Make sure you end up at an institution you would enjoy to call your home.

    In three sentences

    Saint Vincent college is a very small private college. This fact allows for smaller classes and more one on one time with professors. The academics are great and the atmosphere on campus is that of a small community.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it is quiet expensive but I promise you wont regret it. The school is worth all the money with all the attention they provide for each individual student. And the courses offer more then what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activities going on as well as intermural sports or even joining the college clubs. There is always a big crowd at all the varsity sports teams games.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different varieties to chose from like pizza or sandwiches or even steak and shrimp. The cafeteria always has something good to offer.

    Dorm Life

    Great students all very kind and generous. The rooms are big and free air conditioning and the bathrooms are big and clean all the time. Just and overall great dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really demanding of the student so its a school where academics is no joke. Its for students looking to challenge themselves and put themselves in a position to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming from out of state don't worry this school makes great opportunities for you to meet other students and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing school small and catholic great for any students pursing a good well known education in a small friendly campus. Great teachers and even better classmates.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check this school out! I know you'll love it.

    In three sentences

    SVC is an excellent school! I can truly and honestly see myself attending this school.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive, but offers a lot of scholarships. It can be worth it, but it all depends on what you're looking for.

    Food and Dining

    It's not terrible- I've had worse- but it isn't that good either. THere is always pizza and salad, though, and The Shack if you would rather that.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman dorm is fairly nice, with AC, carpet, and neighborhoods, but the rest are not.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not too hard and the professors all have expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just to let you know, much of the campus is supposed to be haunted.

    In three sentences

    Everyone knows each other, including professors and monks, which is great, but can be difficult if you'd rather remain anonymous. The education itself is very good; many students struggle at first, but as long as you do the work, you'll be fine. There is not necessarily a lot to do, but if you really want to, you can find things,

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many at all, it's a small school so the programs are limited

    Great for these types of students

    Those students that are very religious and do not party at all

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it unless you have a full scholarship, otherwise go with your second choice

    What to do for fun

    Very little despite what you hear, there is not much at all to do at all.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible there is nothing else I can say about that

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are alright everyone is cool, kinda sucks if you don't play any sports though

    Academic Rigor

    Incredibly hard, definitely not worth the degree you receive

    Tips for prospective students

    In all honesty there are a few kids that made the right choice to come here. That's it though, everyone else wishes they choose there second choice school

    In three sentences

    If you hate fun, st. Vincent college is the place for you!

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    My rating on Saint Vincent College is very high. Saint Vincent College is a college that you can go to pursue a great education. You also have fun not only learning but with the great people here as well.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always around being protective, but they are often too worried about giving parking tickets.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and plenty of activities. However, more people could actually go to events..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a basilica, seminary, and a general Christian flavor (some of our professors are monks).

    Bang for the buck

    SVC is very costly, but still a great college.

    What to do for fun

    SVC has plenty of clubs, sports events, weekly college events, and opportunities to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Great food...mostly.

    Dorm Life

    The facilities are getting old.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, SVC is a mixed bag...some professors are ridiculously difficult while others are too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work a lot for good grades but don't worry there's plenty of stuff to do!

    In three sentences

    SVC is an old Catholic college with a small class size. The college has a focus on sports and the sciences. While SVC is a great college, the facilities are rather old, and faculty are often unconcerned.