Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Xavier University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Xavier is nationally known for producing great Nurses, Teaches, Music majors and so much more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Xavier, I believe care about you, like I said you are not just a number. The counsellors work with you to find out what your strengths are to better guide you in the right direction for a major. You make a lot of good friends here. The academics are wonderful for whatever you choose to major in.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone knows each other and I am not a number but I have a name. We have campus buses that will take you to several locations in the area for shopping and to public transportation. We have security all over the campus grounds for your safety.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy living on the campus. Our dorm room are larger than a lot of Universities which is very good especially if you have roommates. There are is lot of extra curriculum activities. People are diverse here.

    Am learning a lot

    I like Saint Xavier because the classes are smaller and it is easy access to get in touch with the teacher. They help you if you have questions and it is more intimate where you can get that one on one needed sometimes.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a nursing student so I am here for their nursing program. They have an EXCELLENT nursing program. The passing rate on the NCLEX in 2009 was 100% and that was the main reason why I decided to transfer to this school. I am also currently in the program and the courses really prepare you for thinking and analyzing as a nurse would. The professors are also very friendly and helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a bit pricey because it is a private university but to me it is worth it. Even though it is on the higher end a lot of the students are awarded with scholarships and if you are an in-state student many receive grants from the state. I was quite pleased with my financial aid award letter because it did cut down on some of the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and always well kept. I am a recent transfer and a commuter so I am still new and adjusting. I have not experienced their dorms but I did have a tour and the newer dorms are fantastic. The older dorms are quite small but I heard from a friend that the mentors on the floor tries to do various activities to get everyone on the floor involved and familiar with each other. As for the class sizes, I enjoy the smaller class sizes compared to the other university that I transferred from. It seems more personal and the professors really try to make sure you understand the material. I did transfer from a much larger university so I am used to the various activities that they have, but I was impressed by how many different groups and organizations were available.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I have started attending Saint Xavier I have been exposed to new ways of thinking. The professors challenge you to be the best student you can be. For example, I took a philosophy class and the professor was always excited about each discussion that we had. I learned various philosophical points of views that made me evaluate my philosophical views.

  • 04/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one who doesn't want to go to a big school and wants to be known by their name not a number. It is a close knit environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a high ACT score because the higher it is the more scholarship opportunities will be given to you!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school which means more money,but they give out great scholarships! It is worth it!

    Will enjoy being here

    When I went to go visit the school, I realized that this is where I belonged. The campus tour I took was amazing and loved it there!

    Academic Rigor

    They have wonderful teachers and a great curriculum.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus safety cars that I see drive around the campus all the time when I'm walking to and from my classes that are held in separate buildings. Also, before anyone can enter the dorms, your friend that lives there has to insert their card into the card slot to unlock the door. When you enter, there's also a person that sits behind the desk that checks the visitor(s) in/out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs. Some of them are created by the students because we have the privilege of starting our own clubs. It's so easy to start one too. Furthermore, there are so many fun activities that take place here. What I love most about them is the chance to get a free t-shirt.

    Great for these types of students

    Almost anything but the most common majors are nursing and biology. One of the only types of career associated students this school is not great for is acting and maybe singing.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, on the weekends it's dead in the dormitories and on the campus. On the other hand, people also throw PARTIES every weekend in the nearby SXU apartments. There's also a grande saloon owned by the University called Gilhooley's where you can throw parties, food is served, events take place there, and there's a bar!

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion, the food is good. Unfortunately, not everybody thinks that and it depends on what YOU like. Pasta is served a lot and the food is expensive but you don't have to buy food every single day. There are also various snacks served including ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I've been inside the dorms quite a few times to see my friends. Honestly, the freshman dorms are not that good because they're freshman. They're not dirty though! It's just, the upperclassmen dorms are so nice! They look like expensive condos. Also, the dormitories have a lot of fun activities. The games usually involve a prize and you get to meet other people. I know this because they're posters around school, events on Facebook, and I've seen one before while driving past the dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really hard, but it's a University and the teachers are there to challenge you to the best of your ability. I've learned so much about myself and I'm never afraid to ask my teachers for help or go to their office before/after class to ask a question.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on going to professional school after your undergraduate, try to take some teachers more than once so they'll get to know you. More often than not, you'll want a letter of recommendation from them. It won't work well if they don't know you. In addition, Saint Xavier University not only has a library to study, but a silent room, and an additional floor in the library that has group study rooms with flat screen TVs in them to plug your laptop into.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here including students, teachers, and staff are so nice and helpful. Saint Xavier University also provides its students with a pleasant and learning atmosphere. Finally, it's a small school with small classes, and a lot more attention is given to each student.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is EVERYWHERE! If a building is open, there is at least one campus officer inside. All dorms have ID swipes to gain entry. It can be slightly annoying, but it is for our safety. A campus officer is always a phone call away. The campus is lit nicely at night. If you ever feel unsafe, you can call the campus police and they will come get you and bring you back to your dorm or to another school building.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    The BEST activity on campus is Midnight Breakfast. During finals week, campus life holds a free breakfast for all SXU students. It is great to be around a lot of people, eating free food, complaining about finals. It is a wonderful, welcome break from drowning in books. There are a lot of clubs on campus for many different interests. It is also pretty easy to start a club as long as you have a sponsoring teacher. Activities mostly revolve around sports. Other activities are random or go with the season. There are free trips to Millennium Park, Lincoln Park Zoo, and ice skating in the winter. Intermural sports are also pretty popular with trips to different fields/courts/alleys...

    Great for these types of students

    -Want teachers to know your name -Do not want to be lost in a crowd -Want a small campus -Do not want teachers assistants -Want to be able to email your teacher and get a relatively quick response -Do not want to walk 2 miles to get food

    Bang for the buck

    Any private university is expensive. SXU has great programs and great teachers. Especially for nurses, SXU is a great investment!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs around campus with activities you can get involved in. There is usually some kind of little activity going on during lunch time in the diner.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SXU is pretty good; there is just not a lot of variety. We have an on-campus Subway and Starbucks. Our main food places are our diner and mini grocery store. The diner has a sandwich station, salad bar, carvery (different food every meal), and grill. For lunch we also have a pizza station. There is also a restaurant, Gilhouley's, that our meal plan works at. There is not a big variety of food and the service sucks. It is a nice change sometimes though.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm is the oldest. It is still quite nice though. The layout is odd I think. You share a room with one other person. Freshman rooms have a walk-in closet, beds, desks, dressers, and a sink. The rest of the dorms are new and wonderful!!!! Each upperclassman dorm room has 2 bedrooms and a common area with a kitchenette. Two students share a bedroom (you pick your suite mates or you get stuck with whoever did not get placed); four to a suite. Each bedroom has its own bathroom with shower.

    Academic Rigor

    Since classes are small, teachers adapt their lessons and speed depending on the class. If the majority of the class understands/knows a topic, the teachers spend less time on it. If you are one that does not understand/know, the teachers are available outside of class to help you one-on-one. Gen Eds are quite mellow while major classes are much more rigorous. Elective classes depend on the subject. With most gen eds and electives, if the teacher sees you genuinely trying and asking for help, they will cut you some slack. Do NOT be lazy and pretend you don't get it; they know what you are doing. Genuinely trying and asking for help is always MUCH better than saying Forget this! I don't get it

    Tips for prospective students

    FILL OUT THE FAFSA!!! Financial aid can be a huge help! Do not overlook it! APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS!!! As with all private institutions, tuition is higher than with state schools. SXU offers great financial aid and scholarships to all students who apply for them. VISIT THE CAMPUS!!! Not all college campuses are the same. Some are beyond huge while some are quite small. SXU is quite small. We have a beautiful campus with many lovely outside areas to work or just hang out. EAT THE FOOD!!! If you do not eat the food when you visit, you are missing out on a deal breaker. Try the food and see your options. If you don't like the food, chances are you might not be very happy living there.

    In three sentences

    SXU is a catholic institution, although all are welcome, that has small classes and great teachers. On campus we have a gym, our own lake, a chapel, great dorms, and a beautiful, small campus. The classes are personal with teachers that are extremely approachable and available.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Come to this School!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school!!!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always there to help, even if your car needs a jump. also they can be reached at any time by dialing the school phone number.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs, activities, and student organizations on campus, many of which are recently started by new students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the quad hall is a great place to relax outside right in the middle of the quad halls where in nice weather it is the perfect spot to relax and meditate.

    What to do for fun

    there are various activities that people can do for fun in and around campus. there is a bowling alley close by, a theater, and in school there is a gym, fitness center, and student organization events ran by people on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the school offers a variety of different locations where students can find food. for instance, like any other school, we have a cafeteria, subway, starbucks, small grocery store called rhubarbs, and a nice restaurant called gilhooley's. all of these places are part of the meal plan money for students who choose to get it, or if it is part of the housing plan.

    Dorm Life

    personally, i have been living in the dorms of this school for almost 3 years and every year differs. the first year, students get stuck in the old and small dorm rooms. do not let that discourage you because it pays off during and afterwards. although the first year dormitories are not that great, you build great relationships with other first year students. the four halls open to any student on their sophomore year or higher get to live in ample rooms with their private bathroom, closet, and a shared kitchen and living room. there is furniture already given, but you are more than welcomed to bring your own. after the two years, a student has the opportunity to live in the apartments or condos.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has an excellent academic program for all of their majors, with advisers for every major. although some classes may be very challenging, the teachers i've encountered have always been willing to give an extra hand and spend extra time to help out. if for some reason the teacher is not available, there is a student tutor center that one can always go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    to an incoming student, what i have to say would be to let the school sink in, and give it time. sometimes students are not used to the type of environment that the school has at first, but then it grows on them.

    In three sentences

    although this school is rather small, there is always something to do. the atmosphere is great, and somehow everyone learns to know one another little by little. moreover, this school strives for academic excellence for their students in a unique and personal fashion.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i have visited st. xavier several times and i really love the atmosphere on the campus. i felt really welcomed. also, the honors program seems really rewarding.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Saint Xavier there are plenty of things to do for fun, one of my favorites is to go to church.

    Food and Dining

    At Saint Xavier their food and dining is one of the best diners that is given to us compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors and doctors are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply online and get started ASAP!!!

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University is a wonderful school with so many resources that are available on campus for example their library has the most resources in the Chicago land area. Saint Xavier is all equipped and up to date with the latest equipment such as Ipads and computers for students; which is available to students at all times . Saint Xavier also has a warm and welcoming feeling when going there everyday all the professors and staff are all so nice.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Xavier has Public Safety security which is on the clock 24 hours a day seven days a week. Each student is required to swipe in at each dorm and must sign in guest. There are desk workers to monitor the access to each hall. Public safety cars patrol the campus periodically keeping life on campus and in the area safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Saint Xavier offers many different clubs to join and meetings to attend. Each club has a board where you learn general information about them. If you have a new idea you want to promote you can fill out the proper paper work and start your own student organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Xavier is great for students transitioning from high school into college because of its small setting you still get the one on one attention with professors and you can easily make and keep friends. Saint Xavier is a great place for students who are more introverted and extroverted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Saint Xavier has its on lake, Lake Marion where in the spring you can find ducks, geese, and even turtles at time.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Xavier offers a lot to do in a small college setting but I personally feel the tuition is a bit overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Xavier has many clubs and student organizations that students can join or attend meeting to have fun. Their are monthly improve shows held as well as a formal dance each semester. Saint Xavier also offers sport intramural for students to form teams and participate in sport competitions.

    Food and Dining

    Saint Xavier offers a diner for a variety of selections. There is also a sit down restaurant called Gihooley's and there is a subway where students can use their meal plan to purchase food.

    Dorm Life

    Life on campus at Saint Xavier is awesome. There are plenty of on campus activities and social events to mingle and get to know your fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Saint Xavier are not the hardest but they do challenge students and if you are having trouble you can always meet with the professor for more assistance

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are applying to Saint Xavier make sure you have enough financial aid because this school is expensive. Prepare for to be in a small peaceful college setting.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University offers a small college at top quality. This University is small enough for students to have great one on one help from professors. Saint Xavier really takes care of their students academically and socially.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Xavier is well protected. There are multiple security officers driving through the campus patrolling the area. They travel and protect every piece of land that Saint Xavier owns, including off campus apartments.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations to join. They have clubs such as BSU (Black Student Union) as well as MSPJ (Mercy Sisters of Peace and Justice). Saint Xavier has bible study once a week and Mass twice on Sundays. There are many activities to join in and are not limited to the ones listed above.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Xavier always have activities for students to get involved in. They organize bowling trips, trips downtown, as well as parties, movie nights, and improvement shows.

    Food and Dining

    At Saint Xavier the food is delicious. The dining area was just remodeled a couple of months ago and looks nice. The dining area serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is open from 7am-7pm Monday-Friday. They have different selections such as a hamburger station and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Saint Xavier is nice. There are two different buildings you are allowed to stay in your first year. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean when you arrive. The RA's often plan activities to help bring the building together, making it easier to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Xavier University is a great school academically. The classes are not big which provides a better teacher-student relationship. The faculty is friendly and always willing to help. The work does challenge you but what good is an education if you aren't being challenged right?

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do attend Saint Xavier University be sure to go there with an open mind. You are going to meet a ton of new people from all over the world and experience new things as well. Having an open mind can help to easily adjust to the new environment.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a great private college to attend. They have a variety of majors and minors to choose from. The school is well diverse and have a lot of activities to get involved in.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has public safety and university police that are clock 24 hours circling around the university making sure everything is safe and students are behaving. Also each dorm complex has a security system where only students in that live in the complex can allow access into the building with their ID cards.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different clubs and activities that students can join. Students are allowed the chance to make their own clubs and/or activities if they're not satisfied with the ones already provided.

    What to do for fun

    St. Xavier has a Shannon Center which is our athletic center. Students are able to workout, play basketball, and join classes such as zumba, etc.. The campus also provides activities for the students to attend such as a foam party, going bowling or rollerskating and many more. St. Xavier has sports to so students and enjoy themselves and attend these events.

    Food and Dining

    Each student has a meal plan to use on campus for the diner, subway, Starbucks and small grocery store provided on campus. There is a restaurant across the street of the university where students can also use their meal plans. So there are many places where students can get delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Students get to meet other students and attend activities together. Students receive good amount of furniture to use and each room has an air conditioner and sink. Housekeeping makes sure to keep the living areas clean as well.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Xavier is a school of education, nursing, arts and sciences, Graham School of Management and Continuing and Professional Studies. Teachers are here to help the students succeed in their majors and/or minors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If attending St. Xavier University, don't be afraid to speak to others or teachers for help. They're willing to help. Manage your time wisely as well and just have fun.

    In three sentences

    St. Xavier University is a small diverse community where everyone is friendly and knows everyone. Teachers and staff are very helpful and want to see the students succeed. St. Xavier provide wonderful activities to keep students busy as well.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, participate in campus activities, attend sporting events, and make your own fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to lots of different people about activities that you want to get involved in. If we don't have it, you can probably get enough support to start it.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a very hospitable community. It is a small university with a beautiful campus. Everyone is involved and friendly.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is really safe. Security and Public Safety are always on the watch.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life here, which would probably make the school alot more interesting. However, it is rumored that they are trying to bring greek organizations in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs here for all types of people. Since the school is so diverse, there is a club for just about every type of person. There are activities that go on all the time, whether or not they are always fun and exciting to the majority is a different story.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for commuters who want to stay close to home, great for nursing, teaching, and biology majors, and great for anyone that values studying more than having the full college experience with tons of parites to go to and greek organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome Week, CougarPolooza, Foam Party, Yoga room, Zumba classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Xavier is very costly. Yes, its a great school but there are other schools that can offer the same experience and cost alot less. You get for what you pay for but I feel as if more should be provided to the student with the cost of the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that go on at Saint Xavier. There are various groups/student organizations that throw parties and events all year round so there is alway something to go to. There are also musical performances and improv shows that students can be a part of or attend. However, alot of students that live on campus do complain about not having enough fun events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a varitety of food here at Saint Xavier...from hummus wraps to pizza there is something here for everyone. There is also a Subway on campus which is perfect for the health- conscious person.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter but I have friends who dorm here and I see alot of the activities and events they promote for students who live on campus. I've also seen the dorms. The freshman dorms are okay, but the upper classmen dorms are spacious and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Xavier is known for its outstanding nursing program as well as its many other programs including those for biology majors and teaching majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    While Saint Xavier provides scholarships to most of their students, it is important that students look into other outside scholarships to help out with the rising cost of tuition. Cappex.com is a really good scholarship site to start at in your search for more scholarship money.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a very diverse and culturally excepting university. The environment is very friendly. The teachers and staff here genuinely care about the best possible welfare of the student.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes, hard work, and a nice, cozy environment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, really overpriced and sometimes not cooked well enough. Be prepared to spend almost $10 every time you go into the diner.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say it's the toughest school around, but I was completely unprepared for just how difficult it would be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study and spend a LOT of money on books! Purchase your books online well before your classes begin, you will save a TON. AVOID THE BOOKSTORE AT ALL COSTS!

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a good school and you will definitely get your education for your money. I love the small classes and the fact that my professors know my name and even stop me in the hallways just to ask me how I'm doing. Overall, I'm very content with this school.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Especially Who wish to major in English, Education, Creative Writing.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend students visiting at least three times before the semester starts to learn about the resources the school offers.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be a bit pricey, but the school is well worth it. Plus, there are many scholarships out there!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here for many reasons. I like the area it sides in and I enjoy the student atmosphere. The people are very friendly and caring, but at the same time, you have your privacy.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very interesting and intelligent. Many are interested in their students and want to help them succeed. They also know their student's name!

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    oak lawn isn't in downtown chicago, but there are a few malls in the vicinity. along with movie theaters, ice skating, bowling, and other such activities. saint xavier also will host trips to the shedd aquarium and other places on the weekends sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    figaro's just closed, but the diner has made up for it by renovating and adding smashburger and quite a few new options to their deli and salad bar. subway and starbucks were also added in the fall. the food is good quality, but just like with everything else can get pretty bland eventually. luckily, there is gilhooley's which you can use your meal plan money for, and wojo's, portillo's, bacci's, and quite a few other places not even 5 minutes away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice, and the ra's are friendly and helpful. they are mainly quiet so it's easy to do homework and just hang out with friends in your room. the only problem is that 3/4 of the students go home every weekend so the weekends get pretty dull.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has a variety of different majors, but the only major the school is really known for is nursing. general eds are fine to take here, but a few of them don't transfer. i would recommend that if you are really looking to pursue a career in a different field, then to try and get into a different school.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get involved with groups and make sure to make connections with the faculty. the campus is small so there should be no problems making friends. also, the professors are always willing to help (at least the ones i have had) so there should be no worries about failing courses.

    In three sentences

    saint xavier university is a small private college located in oak lawn. the staff-to-student ratio is very good with classes being around 20 students except for a few lecture hall classes. the student body is very friendly and the campus is pretty quiet.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at saint xavier campus security is very visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    many choices. clubs for about anything you can think of,

    Great for these types of students

    young adults.

    Bang for the buck

    great education.

    What to do for fun

    there is many opportunities to do fun things with others.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria has great food selections. this year cafeteria was updated. making more room for available space.

    Academic Rigor

    alot is expected. figuring out how to balance school and social life is a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to ask alot of questions. explore wqhat the university has to offer

    In three sentences

    saint xavier university is very family friendly. they are very informative, concise, helpful. i have felt very welcomed from the start. they included my family in alot of the decision making process. professors are very good about explaining requirements.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Greek Life

    we dont have it here.

    Clubs and Activities

    recreational activities

    Great for these types of students

    students who are solely focused on education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive

    What to do for fun

    not much on campus activities that are fun.

    Food and Dining

    okay

    Dorm Life

    live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    hard

    Tips for prospective students

    study

    In three sentences

    its okay but i may transfer

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always driving around and there are student workers at the entrance of each hall. you have to swipe at each door for safety.

    Great for these types of students

    young adults

    Bang for the buck

    expensive, but scholarships are given out to students for their hard work in high school.

    What to do for fun

    the dorms sometimes set up fun activities that involve the residence. downtown is close, just take the cta and spend the day enjoying the city.

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent. it is like any other cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    everyone in the dorm is friendly. people leave their doors open and some pop in to introduce themselves. the dorm life is different than at home. you have to learn to look after yourself and take care of any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    managing between school work and a social life is easy if you know how to. if you don't know how to and spend all your time with friends you will have a hard time in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, do the homework what is assigned so you are prepared for class. ask the professors questions if you don't understand something.

    In three sentences

    i felt very welcomed to the university the first time i went to visit. the campus is small and you are able to find your way around. it's in chicago and close to downtown, so trips with friends are east to plan to visit the city.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food and dining options for this school are VERY limited. The diner hours are awful, choices of food are plain and repetitive, and overall, the food is not good. It has room for a lot of improvement.

    Dorm Life

    The upperclassman dorms are very nice, and the residents are friendly. The freshman dorms are very old therefore you may run into some problems with plumbing and heating but, all in all, a good place to live. The residents, RAs, and RPMs are generally very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult; but that is to be expected of college level courses. What makes them difficult is the fact that the size of the classes are very small. It is important maintain attendance, pay attention in class, and make a good impression on your professors. At the same time, smaller classes means the opportunity for more one on one time with the professors, thus, you are able to get more help in areas that you may not understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academically speaking, Saint Xavier is a great school. If you are considering commuting I would say that this school is a great option. However, if you plan to live on campus, I would advise against this. It is very expensive and also the food options are very limiting.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is definitely expensive but most people receive some type of financial aid. Plus you pay for what you get:a good educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are places within walking distance and the school is so close to Chicago. The transportation services are very accommodating for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There are many choices to eat and even restaurants within walking distance. In the main building there is a Starbucks if you need a morning pick me up.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect of the school is amazing. The teachers want you to reach your full potential and are understanding of any situations. At the end of the semester, you get to grade the teachers for improvements.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Saint Xavier, my first tip would be to schedule a visit to the school in order to get a feel for it. Make sure that this is what you want and no one else's decision.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a very well organized school that is helpful through the application process all of the way until graduation. They are always willing to make any task easier and actually care about the well being of the students.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During finals, I once saw a girl have an anxiety attack on campus and an ambulance quickly came with medical personnel to take care of her.

    What to do for fun

    The sports teams are great here, there are always different student supported events going on through the semester. There is always something fun to do and people to spend time with.

    Food and Dining

    There are Starbucks scattered about campus which is nice, but they are not run by starbucks employees, but campus employees. The cafe has a large selection - fresh, fried, prepackaged, almost anything you could want. But it's expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take more classes than you want; there are required religion, philosophy and interdisciplinary seminars. Even if you have courses completed with matching descriptions, they will not be accepted.

    In three sentences

    The staff is incredibly supportive, helpful and encouraging. The class variety is broad and interesting. The nursing program is intense.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nothing to rave about.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted but the dorms are exceptional compared to other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. Nursing and Science are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not a party school. Nursing and Education programs are excellent.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University is a great University which is gaining more recognition. It is a small, commuter college with many clubs to join. It will be what you make it.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Xaiver University has the campus security and the chicago police department that also walk around and secure the surroundings. In each dormitory they have cameras to watch and secure the campus.

    Greek Life

    no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many different clubs and organizations to attend. you will never get bored because they're always looking for new members to attend their clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many jobs on and off campus to where you can get a job and earn a little cash for your self. the university students and staff can tell you about work study, where to find the jobs, and who's available which is nice. I recommend that having a job may have its perks but is also great to having your own hard working pay check.

    What to do for fun

    Chicago comes with many fun opportunities to do. The university carries many different activities that will get you involved. The city of Chicago have the lake and Michigan avenue, where all the stores to shop and restaurants to eat are great.

    Food and Dining

    I love the dinning area, classic style to having booths and high tables to sit. all different types of food to choose from and they also have a Starbucks and subway inside the university.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman and transfer will be welcome with arms while attending Saint Xavier. Living in the university style apartments is something to consider when you have reached your junior and or senior year.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Xavier has a lot of majors to consider and job opportunities after graduating from their universities.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University has a very nice neighborhood area to attend school. The students and staff members where very nice, when me and parents took a visit of the school. Being a transfer student this university is very open and welling to help me as student feel welcome and earn a college degree a bachelor's degree.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wonderful

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Food and Dining

    food is ok. There are healthy alternatives as well

    Dorm Life

    don't live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research about this school

    In three sentences

    small class sizes teachers are willing to help nice campus

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security are trained and certified Chicago police officers

    What to do for fun

    Join different organizations

    Food and Dining

    Except to gain the freshmen 15! The food awesome.

    Dorm Life

    The upper-classmen dorms are much better looking. Nonetheless residing on campus offers the real college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    SXUs nursing program is beyond amazing!

    In three sentences

    Very great faculty. Encouraging student body. Beautiful campus.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THe campus is very safe. There are always Campus police on duty at all times. Saint Xavier is also located in a safe neighborhood.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition is very high, Saint Xavier seems very welcoming, but also challenging when it comes to academics.

    What to do for fun

    Any student is welcome to use the fitness center for free. There is also a Subway and Starbucks right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater, and I did not enjoy their food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I stayed in, which are for underclassmen are a bit tiny.

    Academic Rigor

    Their programs seem very rigorous and challenging, which I will like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to a smaller school where the classes will be smaller with less lecture halls.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University is a wonderful school to attend. It is smaller, which I like, and it is close to home. All of the teachers and students I have met so far seem very welcoming.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have not yet tried the food, but at orientation it was nothing less than great quality and a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorm rooms, but good people and nice lounge area in residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    A top school for acedemics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely tour the campus first before attending to see if you like the campus and will be comfortable. And also to see if this campus fits you.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the campus because it's not too big or small, and it is very cozy. Tha class sizes are small and the dorms are comfortable. It's also a beautiful campus and it is easy to find my way around.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety department has a good presence on campus, but sometimes they seem to focus on the insignificant things.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs with a wide range of interests, but not nearly as many as there should be.

    Bang for the buck

    The Cost of Attendance is relatively average for a private university, but tuition has been raised every year during my time here.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of outdoor space and a nice athletic center. There are also many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    We recently gained a Starbucks and Subway on campus that takes meal plan in addition to the diner, coffee stand, and small convenience store. There are not many options and it is overpriced, so save money to buy some real food occasionally.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life department is difficult to deal with but the upperclassmen dorms are nice and the freshman dorms are a great opportunity to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors who should no longer be teaching, but for the most part the professors are invested in your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to explore all of your financial options with an advisor. Also, take advantage of the career and counseling services department.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier has a great location and a beautiful campus. The faculty is helpful and the President is very student-oriented. It is a great place to meet new people and make life-long friends.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to be teachers and nurses.

    What to do for fun

    Football games Sports activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the tour of the campus, it's worth it. Talk to other students who attended or are attending the school. It's convenient for students that live locally.

    In three sentences

    They have excellent professors. Off ice staff members are easy to work with. Lots of activities to do their.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities at SXU are what makes the university in my opinion. Being involved gives you that welcome gesture and makes you feel apart of something.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities scheduled throughout the whole school year. They include: Diversity Week, Homecoming, Commuter Appreciation Week and of course all of the sports games.

    Food and Dining

    The food on and around campus is amazing I love it. It is very affordable and delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect of the college is wonderful. There are so many great possibilities and a variety of classes to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have for students is to stay focused and aim for higher expectations of yourself. Don't just go in with a narrow mind frame. Think outside the box, be bright, be sociable and get involved. You will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is such an outgoing college that welcomes anyone to join the community. The faulty and staff are very warm and helpful with anything you may need. SXU never turns down a student, but only helps out that student that is in need of assistance.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I work for public safety and we always do a very thorough job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that appeal to many different students.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a little too high, but it's expected. The college is a private Catholic university. However, many things around the school could be updated and a few of the hallways could use some new tile and a fresh coat of paint.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live in the area so I'm not really sure what people do for fun but I know that SXU has it's own bar and restaurant that people like going to. There are a lot of clubs and activities for students that are planned by various organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food's a little expensive for what you actually get. There's not a lot of variety but there is a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but most of them are nice. I've only been in actual rooms of a few of the dorms. The freshman dorms aren't the greatest but the upperclassmen dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my professors have pushed me to my intellectual capacity, and I really appreciate that. They made me actually learn about the subject rather than just sit in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a class that actually interests you before it's too late. If you get too far into your major, you're not going to have time to fit in a class that you really want to take. I've always had a passion for photography but with my double majors, I really won't have time for it now that I'm a sophomore.

    In three sentences

    SXU has some fantastic professors. The campus is small and clean; it's a nice place to just walk around. The other buildings apart from the main campus are close enough to walk to.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing serious ever happens here but when something does, everyone knows.

    Greek Life

    There is not one here at Saint Xavier University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs but I just do not have the time to participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for someone seeking a smaller school. Where class room sizes never exceed 20-30 people. Sciences classes are the biggest of 40 people max.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A program I am a part of is the Student Success Program. This program has helped me get through college and given me the opportunity to continue my education here at Saint Xavier University. They are my family away from home a support system I will always have.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel this University is over priced considering it it not the best of the best in Chicago.

    What to do for fun

    Our school is predominantly commuters so there is not much offered during the weekends. During the week there are always activities going. One suggestion I have is getting a group of friends and going to the city.

    Food and Dining

    Saint Xavier has meal plan money for residents. A resident is required to get a certain meal plan that ranges from $800-1,500 worth of money. One can use their money up in any way they wish. We do have a Subway on our school campus but the diner consist of a grill, salad, sandwich, and homemade section. There is plenty of options. As a commuter your not required to get a meal plan but you can buy food on campus. There are a bunch of local restaurants and fast food places near by as well.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus as freshman one gets to know a lot of people but the dorms themselves are not the most appealing. I would highly encourage it in order to get the college life experience and living on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    The point of a higher education is to continue to challenge an individual. Saint Xavier University does that for students especially in the Nursing Program. Overall the classes are interesting and captivating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman year is not a year to slack off. As a freshman you want to start off with a high GPA because over the course of your 4 years here at Saint Xavier your classes will only get harder. Better to begin with an amazing GPA especially for certain majors that you need a high GPA in order to start the program (e.g. Nursing).

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a small school where the Professors get to know an individuals name and are more than willing to help their student

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am in a few clubs and I enjoy my time on campus by participating in those clubs.

    Food and Dining

    SXU has the SXU Diner, Subway, Starbucks, and Gilhooley's. The diner has some good options but it does get tiring when it is the same things over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student and I am unaware of the dorm life here on campus. I live in Chicago so it is much easier for me to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies based off of the major that you will choose. Nursing majors have an intense school work load for example.

    Tips for prospective students

    SXU would be perfect for you if you like a small classroom atmosphere and one on one teacher help. The university has a diverse staff and students which give a broader spectrum of perspective for the university as a whole.

    In three sentences

    SXU is a great small university to attend. It has a very friendly feel and family orientated relation. A student is able to achieve whatever they may because all the resources are accessible.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety there is top notch. Nothing really happens on campus. Public safety always patrols day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are number of clubs and activities anyone can join. The best part is you can create your own club too.

    Great for these types of students

    SXU is great for anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes for the most part. It can be expensive but once you graduate. You can take the degree any where.

    What to do for fun

    There is an athletic center to workout and play sports there. There also intermural sports where anyone can join play such as dodge ball, volley ball, bowling.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is so delicious. The SXU diner has a huge variety of food but it can be a bit pricy if you don't have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter. When I visit the dorms, its a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses there are challenging but they are durable. Every time you go you will learn something new that you never knew before.

    Tips for prospective students

    New coming students should study hard. Finals can be challenging but they can be conquered too. The more you study, the better chances you pass.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University is awesome!. There is so much to do there. It is one of the best universities in Illinois

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang by the pond and feed the birds. go to a home game at SXU , or shoot around in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome. There is also a lot of restaurants surrounding campus, which is off a main street.

    Dorm Life

    Its a small campus with lots of activities. Dorms are fine, but experience SXU outside those 4 walls.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you stay focused on your goals, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and stay calm; anyone is friendly and willing to help. Bring a bike; it'll make it more convenient and its a lovely view.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a small private university that sits in a convenient location in Chicago. I admire its calm pond, which the campus seems to circle around. The people and students walking around its campus are most friendly; its like another city inside the greatest.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Xavier is definitely safe. They have the public safety people and also the Saint Xavier police.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a first-year student induction. They hold a ceremony for all of the incoming freshman. They get medals, a picnic, games, and a dinner. There are also retreats we go one.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the quad's, or even go work out. Go to football games or join groups or sports. Study in the library or hang out in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different restaurants at Saint Xavier. The diner has a variety of food and drinks there. There is a Starbucks and Subway on campus, and also something called Coffee Cats. There is also two campus restaurants named Gihooley's and Rhubarbs.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are smaller but I love the upperclassmen dorms. They have a Starbucks in one of them. Altogether the dorms are nice and clean. Campus life is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    I love their teachers. They are very interactive. For one of the classes I have I need to attend events. They really want you to be social and meet new people. So you're learning and having fun at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be friendly to people and they'll be friendly to you. Pay attention in class and don't be afraid to talk to teachers if you have problems with something.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier has smaller class sized so they are more focused on you. The teachers love meetings with you just so they can get to know you. Also they have a lot of fun events.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's loads of activities that are posted around the school. Throughout my first semester here, they've had a week dedicated to a particular subject, such as 'Welcome Week,' 'Diversity Week,' 'Commuter Week,' and 'Homecoming Week'. During these weeks, there's activities all over the school with chances to win prizes, meet new people, do some fun activities, or free food/snacks!

    Food and Dining

    While it is pricey if you don't have a food plan, the food is delicious and there is a wide variety of things to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really push you to make sure you're knowledgable of the subject so that you're not wasting your time. It's up to you to put in the effort as well, of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as you can! It will pay off later on! Talk to your professors. As said before, most if not all want to see you succeed. Before your first day, see if you can walk around the school to look for your classes so that you aren't completely lost..make sure to keep a map of the school handy (you can always save it to your phone)!

    In three sentences

    The faculty here want to see you succeed. There are a lot of events posted all around the school. It's a small school so you get used to seeing similar people as the year progresses.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety vehicles are always on and around campus they make you feel safe even standing at the bus stop.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sxu offers many opportunities to hang out with new people and try new things.

    Great for these types of students

    sxu is filled with people with different personalities and all types of people anyone feels like at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the campus its big and feels really safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Xavier gives out great merit scholarships and has nice staff to help you find sources to get help on the financial part.

    What to do for fun

    You should try and stay in school so you can focus on your work and also so you can make friends and find out about events.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a nice mood to it you come in and its always filled with people. Lunch ladies are really nice and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but the dorms are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged and that's how it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really focus and try not to procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier has a beautiful campus. I love Sxu

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always safety patrol cars driving around campus making sure everyone is safe. In the dorms there are people at the front desk who are checking in every guest and keeping an eye on people going in and out. The Public Safety office is located on campus and is there in case of emergency. Also there are shuttle buses available to transport students to and from different buildings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a lake in the middle of campus!

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion the food is pretty good. To most it might seem nasty or tiring since it's sometimes the same food everyday. But there is breakfast given out on Tuesdays for dinner, everyone sure enjoys that. There is various snacks in the diner as well as a Starbucks, Subway and a small store call Rhubard's.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best when you are a first year student, but the others, which are newer, sure are an upgrade. Aside from the styles of the dorms, there is always something to do on campus. In the first year hall there is a lounge in the entrance in which there is a pool table, a hockey table and a television. You can also check out board games or games for the Wii. Most of the events are hosted there giving you the opportunity to meet new people, you may have not even known lived on campus. You're RAs sure take the time to meet you and make events for everyone to get to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Xavier offers a great curriculum which will help you in you're future. Teachers are very helpful and make themselves available as much as possible for their students. There are also tutoring centers which can help you with any assignment. In all honesty you may not always like your professors, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't give them a chance. The staff makes sure that students have the best educational opportunities. Professors engage with every student, giving them all a chance to bring out their ideas and challenge them to do their very best.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier has a very friendly staff that will get to know you and is looking out for you. The president of the university takes the time to ensure every student is getting the education they deserve and also takes the time to meet students. Aside from having a wonderful campus, it also has friendly former students and current students that can become your friends quickly.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are varieties of food and places to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but many of the people who do seem to like it!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a strong need to be academically prepared

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and come here with an open-mind! If one professor is not helping you out, contact one who will!

    In three sentences

    At SXU, there are helpful staff members, namely people who are willing to help and try to get you the resources you need. They have all types of study rooms and cafeterias and programs to take advantage of! There are all cool events and clubs to attend!

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere. The securities goes around the campus multiple time making sure the students and staff are secured.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for any subject you can think about. We have cultural, honor societies, and activities. What is great about this school is that one has the option of creating new clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Many students for fun go to Downtown Chicago. The university plans a lot of event over the year (fhomecoming games, winter/ spring dance, foam parties, etc). Students go to the gym where their is a basketball court, racquetball room, indoor track, weightlifting room, ZUMBA, yoga classes. and other nutritional classes. Students enjoyed live games. One could rent free movies from the library- DVDs or BLU-RAY. The school offer intramurals- soccer, basketball, ice-skating, bowling, etc.,

    Food and Dining

    Students who stay in campus have a meal plan. For students who commute, one has the option of getting a meal plan or could pay with cash or credit/debit card. The main eating area is the diner where students have many options to choose from. There is a sandwich/Panini station, grilled station (hamburgers, hot-dogs, Philly-cheese steaks, etc,), pizza, salad bar, and the meal/lunch of the day station. The students have the option of buying Subway and Starbucks with their meal plan money in campus. Also, students have the option of going to Gihooley's Pub and Grill and buying comfort food with their meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    If one has the opportunity to dorm go for it, it's a nice college experience. In each room there is 2 beds, 2 dressers, 2 desks, Wi-Fi connection, and cable. Another perk is that one is 5 minutes away from classes and the gym. The campus is about 30 minutes away from Downtown Chicago. The school offer shuttle buses to take students to the nearest mall, and grocery store.

    Academic Rigor

    The university served excellent education where the students are challenge. In some cases depending in one's major have internship opportunities, observation hours (community based learned), clinical, etc. One has fun learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all future students start exploring Saint Xavier University by contacting the Office of Admission to tour the campus, dorms, and talk to a counselor. If you are on of the students who major is undecided don't worry Career Service Department will help you choose a major and guide you to your future career goals. Don't procrastinate because one could miss the opportunity to get scholarships and sign up for classes. Once you began classes, keep in touch with the professors if you don't get a topic. Professors are flexible and are willing to meet up with you to help you. Another wonderful resource for students is the Learning Center where students could get a tutor on almost every subject for FREE.

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier University is Chicago's oldest Catholic educational institution. The university is inspired by the values of Sisters of Mercy, where the 8 core values (Respect, Excellence, Compassion, Service, Hospitality, Integrity, Diversity, and Leaning for Life), are integrated into the student's education and career. Saint Xavier University become part of your family.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is ON IT. All day every day.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, sorry guys.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs, they're kind of small though. Like I said there are mostly commuters so clubs tend to be smaller and less involved. But if you want to make friends joining any clubs is a good way to go though.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, quiet, nerdy (not in a bad way).

    Bang for the buck

    It's a wonderful school academically, but it's too expensive for little to no reason. A lot of the buildings aren't new, stuff malfunctions and break all the time (especially in the dorms), yet the cost to attend rises each year (while your scholarship/grant amount remains pretty much the same). And they charge you for a lot of unneccessary things.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the first week events, I've heard some of the events later in the Spring semester are pretty fun. Like I said, it's a small campus, and there aren't many residents, but Campus Life does try to have events for people to attend. But the mall is down the street, and it doesn't take long to get to downtown Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    We have Starbucks, a mini market called Rhubarb's, one dining hall, Subway, a coffee shop, and Gilhooley's (a restaurant-bar) across the street. It's acceptable, but sometimes you want more options to eat from, especially in the diner. And it's expensive as well.

    Dorm Life

    The only reason it has threestars instead of four is because it is so overpriced. It hasbecause it's totally dead on the weekends and your dining options are fine but limited on the weekends because everything closes SO early. It's a dry campus (obviously, Catholic university) so there are no big parties on campus. Don't expect to see any. But you can appreciate how RA's generally try to have activities in the dorms (at least for freshmen, I know that) so that you can have a sense of a community in your halls.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a school for slackers, although I can say that the rigor isn't terribly awful- unless you're a nursing major. But it's not really going to be a walk in the park in any nursing school! Even in your general courses, the professors really challenge your thinking, and you can tell they really care about their profession because of the passion they put into their teaching and interactions with students. Like I said, it's rigorous, but if you study and inquire with your professors, you'll be perfectly fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work. You won't slide by, even if you are naturally smart. Focus on your work, even though the school isn't big on parties, so I wouldn't say it's terribly difficult to stay focused at Saint Xavier. Don't be afraid to ask for help, because you will need it. Bring that pride down a few notches. Wait on buying books. And if you do, chances are you'll find them much much cheaper online than in the bookstore. If you're a nerd, the school is perfect for you. If you're more the party type, and you like big football games and big crowds of people at school events, be prepared to have to travel to other campuses (if you have friends at the bigger schools like U of I, UIC, or NIU) because everything here is VERY chill. Almost too chill. Especially on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for nursing and education majors, although if you go there in pursuit of other professions you're likely to get a job after graduating anyways. It's overall a great school as far as teachers, it's a small private school so it's pricey, be warned. The professors, for the most part, are easy to get along with, and for students, well- there are more commuters than there are residents, so it's a very commuter-friendly school!

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a variety of clubs and groups you can join on campus, also they have inter-murals going on all year round.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the diner is fine for a couple of weeks maybe even months but then it starts to tire you. Has a subway in the fitness center which is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Other than the really small freshman dorms, it is nice and well maintained

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are fro the most part tough graders but offer a lot of help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely not a university where you cannot slack off the professors are on top of things.if you are looking for the college experience of partying and meeting tons of new people definitely not your school.

    In three sentences

    I would say that SXU is great university for those looking for a more personal experience with their professors. The professors are great and very helpful usually if you need assistance they try and help you around your schedule. Very nice campus with a friendly and welcoming staff.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very good about safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Average

    Bang for the buck

    Not nearly worth it

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the small hall of your dorm. That's about it.

    Food and Dining

    Food looks fine.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very small and quite shabby.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't imagine it is all that rigorous if it accepts just about anyone.

    In three sentences

    Very small, very home-y, and not as great as it is made to seem. Because it is an expensive private school, I expected it would be a very good quality school but it is not up to my standards after visiting. It also is not too good that St. Xavier is one of those schools that accepts just about anyone! Even the kids with quite terrible grades... What does that say about a private school?

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shuttles to take you to and from buildings at night. Safety number is always there to answer!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and meetings and guest speakers to attend. Very informational and interesting

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options in school and around school. However, the food in school is pretty expensive!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but I have heard great things! Lots of things close to campus to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Passionate teachers with a love for teaching their students

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships!! Anything can help

    In three sentences

    Saint Xavier is a very supportive school to their students. They try to do whatever they can to guide the students in the right direction while helping them make the best choices. The teachers and staff overall really want their students to succeed and will do whatever it takes to do so.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel very safe inside and outside of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs!!

    What to do for fun

    Join as many clubs and sports of your interests or not, just to try something new!

    Food and Dining

    Smelled yummy, so I'm guessing its good!

    Dorm Life

    Confortable and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Their are varies of majors, minors and clubs for different interests!

    Tips for prospective students

    You must visit college campus to get the feeling of it. I have gone to other college campuses but SXU just felt like home to me, so I knew that was the college for me.

    In three sentences

    Its really amazing environment and everyone is very nice and willing to help you out.