Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Salem College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Salem is great for a young lady who wants to gain confidence and is driven to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out Salem and stay overnight for fall visit and scholarship weekend. It's an amazing place to be. I love Salem and I know you will too :)

    Bang for the buck

    Salem is a bit expensive, but they offer finanical aid to everyone which is how I'm actually here. The name carries a reputation so it will be earlier to get a job over someone who just went to another public university.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Salem. I'm so glad I chose to go here. The campus is beautiful and the students and staff are friendly. It's a very inspiring environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Because it's a small classroom setting the teachers can give you all the help and attention you need to really learn the material

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not mind attending a women's college and who love to be challenged. Salem is easy to get into but do not be fooled. The curriculum is just as difficult as many other top schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely prepare yourself for an intense workout just living on campus - the school was built on a steep hill and doesn't tend to believe in elevators!

    Bang for the buck

    Salem is pretty expensive and I wish I received more financial aid. However, a degree from this school will definitely pay for itself!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Salem's campus and enjoy the great student facilities!

    Am learning a lot

    Salem has so many great professors and I have already learned so much.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Do not respond in a timely manner. Are ineffective at their job

    Food and Dining

    Very poor. Do not listen to the guides, they will tell you differently.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and dirty. They have recently been adding new furniture to some dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly moderate. Also depends on the classes you take

    In three sentences

    More like a boarding school than a college

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind attending and all women's college. Students who have good work ethic and are ready to take the time to do the work. Students who are ready to try something knew and learn about themselves!

    Tips for prospective students

    Perspective students should go to all the events that are sponsored and they should definitely join clubs and go for leadership positions.

    Bang for the buck

    Salem college is worth all of the money that is put into tuition. The campus is gorgeous and with all of the services provided to the students it is really helpful!

    Am enjoying being here

    Salem allows for students to make a tremendous amount of friends. I know I have. The small community allows for students to build personal relationships that will last a life time. The Big sis/little sis program is extremely helpful for students to get to know upperclassman.

    Am learning a lot

    Salem is an academically excellent school. I have been blessed enough to learn tremendous amounts of information. It is based on the small classroom sizes and the great experience of the professors. Also,professors are available almost anytime you need them and they work with you one on one if you need them to!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    - I don't need a security. I walk in the middle of the night just fine.

    Greek Life

    WE have no greek life. We are all the same.

    Clubs and Activities

    -International Club -Rotaract Club -Drama Club

    Great for these types of students

    -Students that likes socializing and talking. -Competitive with academics and sports -Students that like traditions and the ancient history. -Feminists or (Anti-Man)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Visiting Sister O's grave and giving her daisies. There's moravian traditions.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown= rock the block, Fiesta, and International day. Also, biking on the Salem Trail to the lake because there are pretty lavenders and they smell good especially in the Fall.

    Food and Dining

    Only good on special occasions.

    Dorm Life

    If you're lucky, you'll have a fatabulous Residential Assistant. Know your roommate really well or else things will be stressful, but you always have the option of moving out to a different room. There are curfews for guys in some dorms. In others, it is 24/7.

    Academic Rigor

    Too much homework and assignments, but some professors are great, and some are not. School is mostly focused on academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Don't give in to what admission counselors say. -If you're looking for a fun event, downtown is one of the only places you'll find. -Bother the financial aid office because they won't tell you if you have a bill or not. They like to surprise you.

    In three sentences

    Dining is great on great days.Social life depends on you.There is rarely diversity.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everybody takes care of everybody. Security is competent, but not as necessary as it is at many other colleges.

    Greek Life

    Thankfully, none. Salem College is, in a sense, one all-inclusive sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything and everything. If Salem does not have it, find a few other students and form it yourselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Women! There is coed graduate school for adults 23 and older in the Fleer Center. You must not want a place to hide. Be involved and get close to everyone. Enjoy being part of a family. Your graduating class will be just over one hundred women.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honor code, leadership curriculum and Lovefeast (a Moravian celebration with special food).

    Bang for the buck

    Average tuition, higher than average room and board. Good financial aid available. School is well run and according to Forbes magazine in very good financial shape.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the beautiful landscaping, walk four blocks into the arts and restaurant section of downtown Winston Salem. Many events available on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Better than average food. Brand new student center opening in May, 2014. I believe there will be a snack bar/cafe there.

    Dorm Life

    Many fellow sisters to become friends with. Evertyhing is nearby as campus is compact.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors want you to get A s. If you are not doing well, someone will be available to help. 4, 1, 4 semester schedule gives you January to take one course only. Choose either something you love or something you need to concentrate on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take honors and AP courses, do a lot of community service, write a great essay and get excellent recommendations. Rigorous coursework here, not for students looking to coast or party hearty.

    In three sentences

    Warm, welcoming, friendly and filled with history. Are some of the buildings really haunted? I did not see any ghosts. Salem is organized and focused on providing a world class education in a nurturing environment. The city of Winston Salem is officially titled as City of Arts and Technology. Reciprocal courses are available at Wake Forest College.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    salem is considered a sorority. we are gamma kappa delta. some girls on campus are really into greek life, while others are not. because salem is not a traditional sorority, there are not any initiations or huge parties. we do have big sis/little sis, which is one of the most anticipated events of the fall. juniors look for their little sister in the first year class, and vice versa. it's a really fun experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared to go to an all women's college. if that's where your heart is, then go for it. salem is very, very small. it is like a miniature town, everybody will know you. if that is what you are looking for then it will be a good match. make sure that salem has what you are looking for in academics. research everything! salem has great jan-term opportunities where students can study abroad, take fun classes, or do an internship. this is something that most schools don't offer.

    Bang for the buck

    salem college is very proud of our history and traditions. every year we have a thanksgiving and christmas dinner as if the whole school is a family. the traditional christmas candle light ceremony is the most beautiful tradition salem has, and definitely not one to miss. once a student on campus, you will learn of many odd places around salem that need to be explored before you graduate. with a school 240 years old, there's bound to be a secret and hidden location somewhere on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Salem is an all women's institution. It was created to cultivate strong, intelligent women. Its environment is strictly for learning and leadership opportunities through a student-run campus and small classrooms. The women are friendly and engaging. There is a place for everyone, whether it be the arts, sports, or academia.

    Academic Rigor

    the dorms at salem are really nice and pretty clean in comparison to most colleges. both the first-year dorms have brand new furniture and big rooms. most of the time girls aren't too loud, so students can do their homework in their room without being distracted. if a student is from out of state then laundry can get expensive, and most of the campus leaves during the weekends. this is not a large university so the weekends can get pretty boring and the dorms may feel empty.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is incredibly safe, thanks to Public Safety. If you ever feel unsafe, even just walking from your car to your dorm room, public safety will come and pick you up and escort you back.

    Greek Life

    The entire campus is essentially one big sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Salem is full of clubs and activities to choose from. Each fall, Salem will host a club fair for new students to sign up and learn about all the clubs Salem offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Women looking for a college with strong sisterhood ties and amazing learning opportunities, both on campus and abroad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Self-scheduled exams. Walk to Sister O's Grave for the honor code signing.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though I get my full money's worth from my time here at Salem already. Whenever we leave, we all can't wait to get back. We love Salem.

    What to do for fun

    Located in the heart of Winston-Salem, you can find many fun activities to do on or off campus. Salem typically hosts parties and dances every month for fun, and downtown is always alive with clubs, restaurants, and shops. Salem also hosts a free shuttle to take students to the mall/wal-mart/target when needed.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is BEAUTIFUL, however the meals aren't always too appealing. However, I believe this is just about the same with any college.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are without air conditioning, except for the hallways, but leaving your door open/windows up creates a nice atmosphere in the rooms. Most of the dorm halls have nice, new furnished rooms. Occasionally, there will be a bug or two.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes never overload you with work, but each student typically stays busy. Some degree requirements are more rigorous than others and require more dedication and motivation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that no college is perfect. There will be things you like and things you dislike about Salem. However, keep an open mind and you'll find it very enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    With a warm and welcoming environment, all students are sure to feel right at home in the Salem community. A strong sense of sisterhood forms inseparable bonds between the girls and an encouraging staff creates opportunities for excellent grades.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're everywhere, and are actually really friendly. They do their job well, and are super helpful. Funny story is that my roommates friend called them around 2 in the morning to kill a bug and they came.

    Greek Life

    The school is just one big sorority, and that is to help with everyone being one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot. I wish I could have done a lot more than what I am apart of, but that would be impossible. It also helps that they allow you to do activities at Wake Forest Uni. which is how I got into marching band.

    Great for these types of students

    Well, you have to be female, and you have to be willing for these people to become your family, because they'll become that eventually. That's why we're called the Salem Sisters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moravian Lovefeast is the only one I can think of. I went to it, and all the food was so delicious.

    Bang for the buck

    They help you in any way possible, and are so personable. Plus, Salem allows you to take classes at Wake Forest so you are definitely benefiting. They also help you get advantages in internships, trips to other countries, and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are some cool places to go to off-campus, or you could explore around the school seeing as it is historic. There are also a lot of vintage stores with the best buys!

    Food and Dining

    The Refectory always has healthy choices, and tries to tailor to the needs of students, such as, by having a Vegan bar, and gluten free food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't had any problems, but that's because I like my roommate, and my hall-mates. Not everyone can be as lucky as I am.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what you're taking. I'm going to be a double major in biology and chemistry, and I've heard that the teachers are great I just won't have a life with all the work and studying that I'll have to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school that you have to see in-person to see if it's a place that you belong.

    In three sentences

    This school has small class sizes which allows you to get to know everyone in your class, and for the teacher to know you. The campus isn't overly large allowing you just enough to get lost if needed, but be easily available, and it doesn't hurt that it's gorgeous with a lot of places within walking distance. The events and traditions the school holds makes it a school of sisters.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Again, not being on-campus, I'm out of the loop on activities available but I have heard about dances, trips to the mountains, weekly shopping shuttles. Winston-Salem the city has stuff going on, you just have to look for it. There is a vibrant arts and food industry. Overall, it is pretty family friendly.

    Food and Dining

    Again, since I don't live on campus, I don't eat on campus very often. When I do, I enjoy the variety and quality of food in the Refectory (or RAT as it is commonly called).

    Dorm Life

    I'm an adult student so I don't like on campus. However, from my classmates who are traditional aged students, they seemed to enjoy dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You are definitely kept on your toes academically at Salem. I have been challenged in every class that I have had but I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, no matter what. It is not easy to do it when you have a lot of things to stay on top of but focus is key. Do not hesitate to get help if you need it for something. Don't forget that you are not alone.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus but that means that community is very important. You will always have someone in your corner cheering you on. History and traditions run deep.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety is amazing and they're very friendly.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to choose from and if you can't find one you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have tons of ghost stories and a long history in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the academics you pay and work for

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with your Salem sisters, trips to wal-mart, gallery hops downtown, and the Hanes mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better. We are currently working on getting better food.

    Dorm Life

    If you live on campus you have easy access to downtown, a mall and and lots of art-related places. You'll make tons of friends with your salem sisters.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is expected from students. The course work is challenging but the professors work with you as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for Scholarship weekend where you get to stay on campus for the weekend and attend classes that interest you on Monday.

    In three sentences

    Salem College is a perfect place to make life-long friends, receive a great education and grow as a person. It is a small school with relatively small classes where the professors learn your name and get to know you as the individuals you are. Salem College has an 85% acceptance rate into medical school and a 95% into law school.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very well lit, pass public safety almost every time you go outside.

    Greek Life

    The entire school is one big sorority, Alpha Lambda Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Able to March with the Wake Forest Marching band

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to work hard and form close friendships. Enjoy small class sizes and befriending professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the day of Fall Fest, classes are cancelled and each class competes in various competitions, including skits which are always hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive, but Salem tends to give out a LOT of Scholarships to those who are willing to work.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Winston-Salem is within walking distance and has tons of little restaurants and shops to go to, not to mention the art district. The mall is close by and Greensboro can be reached in a decent amount of time.

    Food and Dining

    The refectory and cellar are great places to eat and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are quiet and peaceful places to work while also providing a good environment to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Taking the max load is super tough while working two jobs, but is doable. Definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work ahead! The syllabuses are the key to keeping up with work.

    In three sentences

    Salem has a great atmosphere with an intimate learning environment. Classes are small making it easy to form good relationships with professors who actually care! The professors are willing to go far and beyond to make sure you succeed.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Salem has a great environment for those wanting to learn and gain real world experience.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't attend at night. During the day very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities. I am always getting an email for something new going on that I'm invited to attend or join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who need a smaller class size to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but so far I really like it. It was rated most valued education for cost like 10 times in a row or something like that.

    What to do for fun

    Walking, bike trails sports etc. Have a bus that will take you.to run errands go shopping etc.

    Food and Dining

    I ate at 'the rat' just once. It was good. But I was told the food is usually not great. At most colleges it never is tho....

    Dorm Life

    I'm a nontraditional student, don't live in dorm. Haven't heard complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    If you miss class they want to know where you are or what's wrong. They don't want you to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your loans and financial stuff done quickly so you can have your registration done and know where ur classes are.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small which is great. The campus is easy to navigate and get around. The professers and other students seem helpful if you're lost or have questions.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike Greenway is nearby and walking around campus is relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall services are convenient to students as well as the grill for evening hours and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting Fleer Center Student so I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Salem offers Quest tutoring which can help you get through a difficult course or unit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to give your best at Salem. Breathe and have fun so you can work hard when you need to.

    In three sentences

    Salem offers a community that students can belong to. It's academic and support staff work with you to accomplish your goals. The historic atmosphere and grounds of the campus is a huge plus especially when the workload is heavy and a peaceful nature walk is right outside of your classroom.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. If you have a car, then you can drive to other colleges and around town but besides that, the only place for entertainment is downtown Winston-Salem.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You have a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and dirty. Only one of them is presumed to not be haunted.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is high on academics. Current students seem to find it overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not listen to what the guides tell you!! I had been researching Salem for 3 years and was dead-set on attending there. Once I went on the overnight trip and was able to see what the college was truly like and hear from students that go there, my opinion changed. The guides are told what to tell you, so of course they make it sound better than what it is. Also, there is no transferring from Salem. If you do so, your credits and grades will be messed up and you will be forced to repeat classes, which could jeopardize your year of graduation.

    In three sentences

    It is more like a boarding school than a college. If you are interested in greek life, this is not the place for you. You have to pledge at another college, WSSU if you want to do so.

  • 06/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Salem is very diverse and inclusive: be prepared to encounter new and different with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Salem College is a challenging but inviting atmosphere that urges her students to reach for their highest potentials while questioning their past assumptions. Women are the leaders on campus and inspire each other to success in academics, politics, activism, and arts. Each student who truly engages with Salem finds themselves a changed being.