Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Salem State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When applying to different colleges, make sure you actually go visit them. What you see on the internet may be completely different than how you see the school. It may take longer to get there, or may be closer than you thought. It is important to know what the class size is like, how far (or close) each campus is to one another, and the rules and regulations in the dorm rooms (curfews, security in the dorms, etc.) When you find a school that you like, it's O.K. to visit it more than once. If you known someone that you're close with that goes to that school, ask to stay over so you can get a feel for what the dorms are like, as well as the meal plans and living situation. Before you commit yourself to a school, make sure it is what you want.

    Bang for the buck

    Just because Salem State College is a state school, doesn't mean that you aren't going to learn anything. Although the tuition is cheaper than other colleges, it is not cheap. Salem State makes sure that you get more than your money's worth. It allows students to be themselves and take different classes that may interest them, until they find out what major they want to pursue. Salem State offers many different types of majors, including education, nursing, business, and criminal justice. There is something for everyone. At Salem State College, you get your money's worth for your education.

    Am enjoying being here

    At Salem State College, so far I have made a lot of friends. Although I miss being home and being away from my family, the people I meet here help me forget about it. There is always something to do on the weekends, even though it is a commuter school. The college sets up different shows, and hires different comedians, magicians and entertainers to help make your time spent at Salem State college memorable, as well as enjoyable. When I was applying for school, I heard the same things from everyone - make new friends, branch out, try new things, and most importantly... get involved! I have done just that; I tried out for Salem State's intramural Hockey Cheerleading team (I made it!) and have met some amazing girls. Getting involved and going to different activities that the school has set up is a great way to enjoy your time in college.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my classes at Salem State teach me the basics of the subject, as well as things I will use in my every day life. This past semester in my Child Growth class, my professor gave us everyday examples of how we will use what we have learned. We talked about everything in life, starting from the early stages of pregnancy to adolescence. We talked about the APGAR test once you have a child, and the psychology of children with Autism. We talked about birth order and how it effects the personality and cognitive/physical development of children, as well as the pros and cons of being or having an over-scheduled child. In my Math for Elementary Teachers class, I learned the basics of mathematics, as well as made some great friends. In this class, the teacher taught us how to teach our students the easiest and most effective techniques for learning addition, subtraction, fractions, decimals, percentages, and everything in between. Salem State makes sure that you are learning what you want and need to be.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is not a party school, although it isn't one hundred percent clean of people that come stumbling in at two in the morning drunk or high either. However, if you're looking to party every night of the week, this school is NOT for you. All buildings are pretty strict about quiet hours and Resident Assistants will not hesitate to report you if you're caught with alcohol or drugs within the building. So if you're coming to this school in hopes of partying every night, you're better off going to U Mass. This school is PERFECT for students that actually want to learn and aren't big on the party crowd, as except for Halloween week/night there aren't many places to party in the sense that you're used to down town or anywhere in the city either unless you go over to a neighboring city. If you're a student who enjoys learning and meeting friends and being able to hang around in your dorm lounge until two AM playing Apples to Apples and watching Hey Arnold on the television, then this school is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Study! I cannot stress this enough. Many of the professors won't overload you with paper after project after paper, but will give you many reading assignments. If you don't do the reading assignments because you're used to being able to slide by them in high school, that would be your biggest mistake. Much of the material that is covered in the reading assignments/books is seen on your mid terms and finals as well as in classroom tests and discussions, and discussions are often times a big part of your grade. - Get involved! Salem State offers so many opportunities for scholarships and being involved in big projects for those students who step up and get involved in any of our student leadership programs/honor societies/Gay-Straight-Alliance/etc. - Make sure you have an alarm, and make sure you wake up to it. I can not stress how big of a grade attendance is at least 60% of the time in classes. I know in all of my classes attendance was at least 25% of my grade, so if you're one of the people who ignores your alarm clock most of the time, I'd invest in two or three alarm clocks and make sure they're all set up extremely high so you don't sleep through your classes all of the time. You'll regret it in the long run if you do. - Get your application in as soon as possible. While Salem State is based on a rolling admission, some of the majors are difficult and challenging to get into (like nursing, for example) and if you apply too late, you'll be rejected or wait listed simply because you waited too long. - Get your financial aid application in on time or better yet, early! Salem State College as I mentioned before offers SUCH good financial aid if you get your application for it in on time before the dead line, and unless you're independently wealthy through your parents, that makes such a big difference in whether you're struggling to get through the semesters or not. - Visit the campus. Make sure that it's what you want. Don't just look at the pictures on the website and be like oh, okay. There is a lot of construction going on, on North Campus that will wake you up at obnoxious hours in the morning if you don't have an early class if it's still going on next year which I'm sure it will be. Make sure you understand that the campuses are a good 10 (Central) to 20 (South) walk apart from each other and sometimes you will have to tough out the rain/wind/etc. to walk there if you miss the shuttle/the shuttle decides to take forever to show up and you don't want to be late.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the biggest things that drew me to Salem State was it's price and very richly awarding financial aid. The school is fairly cheap for a state school and isn't going to run you into the ground with hundreds of thousands dollars in debt when you graduate. The financial aid packages are very large as long as you apply for them on time, and I personally only have had to pay a maximum of 600 a semester from my own pocket. Considering that the staff is very helpful and the atmosphere of the campus is so nice and friendly, I find that this school is really a bang for the buck. They also have the 'Rent-A-Text' program with their school books, so a majority of your books you can rent so you're not paying $1000 and up every semester for books alone. The only complaint I have is that, at least in Peabody Hall (a freshmen dormitory), some of the Resident Assistants are very unhelpful when you need help with a problem you're having and it's very difficult to get to the right people if you're having a situation with your room mate that needs to be handled by one of the authorities of the building. Also, there has been constant construction going on right outside of Peabody Hall so if you're in Peabody, you're usually woken up at seven in the morning by loud, headache-inducing jack hammering outside of your window. The only other problem is that the campuses are far away from each other. If you're a freshman, you will be on North Campus in either Peabody or Bowditch hall, and if you get classes on South Campus - that's a good 15 to 20 minute walk away which seems even longer in the freezing cold/rain. Salem State offers shuttle services to get between North, Central, and South campuses but they are not anywhere near 100% reliable and sometimes you'll be out waiting for a shuttle for over a half hour and end up late to your class because the shuttle took forever to show up.

    Am enjoying being here

    I come from a very busy, crowded city where there's always something to do whether it's clubs, parties, malls, and other acclaimed hang-out spots so having fun was something I was concerned about when coming to Salem. Salem is known for it's historic content, and you'll see that as soon as you wander outside of campus (which is very easy to do). The school provides shuttle services on the weekends for those of you planning to live on campus which will bring you to either the North Shore Mall or the Liberty Tree Mall, Vinnen Square (which is in Swampscott but still has plenty of places to shop), Downtown, and the Train Station (if you want to head out to Boston or a more populated city for the weekend). These shuttles run until 1am on the weekends so you'll always have something to do. As for during the week days, down town is only a 20 or so minute walk away from campus. You can catch movies down town, and there are several places to eat including a pizza place and a few Chinese food places; these are all places that will take your clipper card so you don't even have to fork up cash or your debit card. Your clipper card is your student ID where you have a set number of what are called flex dollars that you can use both on and off campus. There are also many places to visit including museums (which we get into a few of them for free, being students), stores that sell pretty interesting witchery-related merchandise, and in general a few very nice 'commons' areas where you can sit and relax if the weather's nice and just talk with your friends. If you don't want to leave campus, there are always a lot of events going on at night on campus whether it's art shows/movie productions/dance recitals/speeches.

    Am learning a lot

    Salem State has to be one of the best state schools. Every single one of my professors were willing and able to help me if I didn't understand a particular subject, or if I needed help on exactly what we were assigned to be doing. The courses are taught at a steady pace and the professors are willing to answer any and all questions about the material they are covering. Anything that you might think is too difficult can actually be made very understandable because most if not all of the staff from my own experience will be able to help you. They propose very thought-provoking questions (at least in my experience with certain professors in the Sociology/Philosophy/Psychology departments) that give you a deeper insight on the material being covered so you walk out of class with more thoughts that you had when you went into class, for sure. A few of the history professors aren't too top notch and while they know what they are talking about, in my experience they haven't been able to capture the attention of the class and project what they are saying throughout the entire class very well. The class sizes are also considerably small compared to larger schools like U Mass, which helps a lot when the professor knows you by name since there's only 20 or so people in your class as compared to over 100. Salem State College also offers many computer labs where you can go to print your papers for free if you don't have money for printing at the library. The school also offers a Writing Center if you want to get your paper edited and revised before you turn it in so if it's a big part of your grade and you're not confident about it, the people who work at the Writing Center are a HUGE help.

  • 11/27/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in as soon as possible!

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Salem has an amazing nursing program and the facilities for the program are state of the art. If you are a nursing major this is a great school to look at and also, our theater department is nationally accredited and those who graduate from the program go on to some of the most prestigious institutes in the world. Our marine biology program is also amazing. An entire campus is dedicated solely to marine bio majors. It is right on the water and is filled with real labs with ongoing experiments dealing with every aspect of the marine and aquaculture world. Also, any student coming from a small town that is looking for a city feel without being thrown in the middle of Boston. Salem is a 15 minute train ride outside of the city and it is the perfect mix of suburban and city life, especially for those who are not used to living in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone who is thinking of attending Salem my tips to you would have to be, tour. Make sure you come and look at the campus and try to truly picture yourself here. Every college looks identical online, it is only when you actually are there that you can decide what you want. Also remember the cost of college. Salem makes sure that every student can get an education for a reasonable price and when choosing a college to attend that may even be the deciding factor.

    Bang for the buck

    When I was applying to colleges I was not quite aware of the huge expense that it was going to be. I started out by applying and touring all private out of state schools and then soon realized that it just was not worth the inevitable lifetime of debt that I would be placing myself in. When I heard of Salem and the great academics I immediately was interested in touring. The campus is really nice and everything that I have experienced here is nothing short of what my friends are experiencing at their private schools. The difference however will come out after we graduate when I do not have tons of loans to pay off and they all do. I am receiving a great education at a wonderful university and am not paying an insane amount of money to do so.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone at Salem State University are extremely friendly and welcoming. I was at first very nervous and to be perfectly honest did not want to even attend Salem. However, after my first week here I knew it was the perfect fit for me. My parents ended having to beg me to come home for visits because I love it so much that I never want to go home. I have found the most amazing friends here and there is always so much to do. I am part of the Repertory Dance Theatre here at Salem and have met so many people through that program that share my same love for dance. Salem is just a fun and exciting place to be and geographically is the perfect balance of suburban and city life.

    Am learning a lot

    Salem State allows me to grow as a student and explore all of my interests. I am a Marine Biology major with a chemistry minor and until I came to Salem I hated all sciences. I had a terrible experience in high school with all of my science courses and now am excelling in all of my classes, making the dean's list each semester. The professors here make sure that every student gets the help they need and make sure that every student feels comfortable with the material. I have a great relationship with all of my professors and they all go above and beyond for me. Salem is right on the water which is great for a Marine Bio major and all of my professors actually hold their labs at the beach. The hands on work that I have been introduced to here at Salem has given me such a better understanding of biology and I have come to love the subject and I know that when I graduate I am going to be greatly prepared for graduate school or a career because of my education here at Salem.

  • 11/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Salem State is good for students who prefer a smaller school setting, an urban environment, and an encouraging team of professors. Salem State is definitely not a party school, so if you're into that it's best to head elsewhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to see the campus and talk to current students and professors. Everyone here is very friendly, and they'll be sure to help you as best they can. Be sure to bring an Ethernet cord if you become a resident student because the wireless internet network in the freshmen dorms occasionally acts up.

    Bang for the buck

    Salem State is very affordable, and they offer great financial aid packages for a state school. The classes are informative and thorough. You definitely get your money's worth with the classes here, and they don't charge you more if you take extra classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being a student at Salem State. The professors definitely want to see you succeed, the other students are very kind, and the city is amazing. The dorm staff are very nice, and take good care of the students.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the classes, especially the general education courses, are very informative and thorough. The staff here genuinely wants you to be prepared for the future.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Salem is great for someone that wants to be close to a big city such as Boston, but doesn't want to pay the astronomical tuition involved with being directly in the city itself.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is affordable, however some of the dorms could seek some more attention.

    What to do for fun

    Salem is probably the most exciting in the autumn. Being in a city as such for Halloween is an amazing experience.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegetarian, choices for me at school are extremely limited. I would like to see an improvement in the selections at all meals of the day, not just dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exceptional. The staff is amazing and makes you feel like you're right at home. If anything, more residents would be encouraged. Salem is a 70% commuter school, and tends to be a ghost town once classes are out.

    Academic Rigor

    Salem isn't the type of place where you feel like academics are cut throat, but doing well is encouraged and you will be reminded if you ever fall into a less than passing zone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I were to tip a prospective student, I would tell them to prepare themselves for the big changes ahead. College is like a whole new world, and you have to keep an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is an incredibly diverse and well-rounded community. Staff focuses on the general well being of their students, as well as their prospective aspirations for the future. Above all, the residence life is out of this world.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My whole year at Salem State I never felt unsafe once.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is new to campus but the sorority Phi Sigma Sigma has some great girls involved and the group has done alot on campus in the year that they have been there.

    Clubs and Activities

    The RDT or Repertory Dance Theater is and awesome club for anyone interested in dance. The club has awesome members and puts on two amazing shows a year.

    Great for these types of students

    The school has a very laid back atmosphere. It is very easy to find fun things to do but also can be a great place to just relax or find a quite place to study and get work done. Not the best place for people who like a constant party atmosphere but the school is never boring.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Salem is of course fun in October but is fun all year. There are great restaurants and fun shops. The North Shore Mall is close by, and Boston is just a twenty minute ride on the commuter rail away. The school has events and parties all the time as long as you look you can find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is set up really nice and is very spacious, but the food quality varies a lot. Depending on the day the food can be great with lots of awesome options and then the next day there isn't much and then what is left is cold and gross.

    Dorm Life

    There are always lots of activities going on in the dorms. The RAs are great and each dorm has academic mentors around to help you with school work. The rooms are a good size and it is easy to have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough but manageable as long as you are good at managing your time. Keep on top of the work and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, it makes it so much easier to make lots of friends and helps you really get connected with the school.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is an awesome school. There are lots of different clubs and organizations to join. The school has a very laid back and fun atmosphere.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    salem is a fantastic city to live in. there are fantastic museums, restaurants, and bars within walking distance or via public transportation. boston is about 20 minutes away, and there are beaches, parks, and forests within a 30 minute drive or train ride.

    Food and Dining

    the food is standard cafeteria food, but with your clipper card you can also dine at local restaurants. there's a sushi place and a sub shop right across from the school that are fantastic, and mediterranean food at the white dove is cheap and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    there are always activities to become involved with and the ras are great.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses vary in difficulty, but each class i have taken at salem state has broadened my mind on the subject being studied and required extensive studying and research outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early, especially for any online courses. meet with your advisor as often as you need to, and utilize any resources (such as writing lab or math lab) that will help you live up to your true potential.

    In three sentences

    salem state is a growing school with facilities being updated every year. the course offerings are vast, although some are only offered at certain times of the year or certain times of day. the student body is very diverse and welcoming.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    professional, some are understanding. parking rates have increased, there is a noted change with the new police chief with regards to how the campus police behave. they're quicker to tow than they use to.

    Greek Life

    i'm not a part of it. i already pledged a fraternity at another college.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs to keep you organized.

    Great for these types of students

    those working, not sure of what they want to do, former dropouts looking to come back.

    Bang for the buck

    still one of the lowest-costing schools, and it's on-par with the u-mass'.

    What to do for fun

    there is downtown salem. there's shops, tours, a cinema; keep in mind salem is the halloween capital of the world. usually a huge crowd halloween night w/ live entertainment and people in costume. worth going to at least once in a lifetime. for those over 21, plenty of watering holes both in salem and beverly.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok, nothing to write home about.

    Academic Rigor

    professors will be understanding if you have a job outside of school. less so if you're a twenty-something living on campus and not working. most classes are evenly paced and suitable to what the requirements are, but professors are usually pretty clear on what they want out of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to do all your homework regarding school policies, and what needs to be done for applications. if you apply for fafsa, periodically check in since they will not tell you if anything was wrong with it. i spent two hours there since financial aid couldn't figure out if my last name was indeed, my first name. also, parking is an issue. o'keefe center's parking lot becomes a pond during a bad storm. multiple cars have been totaled due to water damage in the past.

    In three sentences

    great professors, unfitting for an administration which seems so incompetent. the faculty seems to be the only ones who care about the high turn-around rate.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are located on Central campus and make frequent rounds around campus. Off-campus issues are dealt with by Salem Police which also frequently patrol the streets around campus. I have always felt secure while in attendance.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek groups are those that are academically based. There are no Greek houses on campus to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are student run and underfunded but the people that you meet are worthwhile and wonderful. There is a club for just about every interest so you're sure to find something that interests you here at SSU.

    Great for these types of students

    SSU is ideal for science students and has a wonderful Biology, Chemistry, and Physics department. Of course there are other majors including Business, Art, English, History, etc. The school is a former educators institution and as such as a very diverse education program for those looking to teach in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SSU takes part in an annual Darwin Festival which is held during the week of Darwin's birth. During this time most, if not all, biology classes are put on hold in order for students to attend. The festival includes movies and talks that have to do with evolution and new medical advances often given by professors and professionals from all over the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Throughout my experience I have enjoyed attending SSU. There are always options available for clubs, activities, etc to be involved in but never extreme pressure to become involved. Scheduling is relatively easy though the time to get from class to class leaves a little something to be desired. The staff does their best to work with you and ensure you finish with as little a headache as possible.

    What to do for fun

    SSU is located in historic Salem, MA, home of the famous witch trials. Downtown there are many sights to see from the Witch House to the House of Seven Gables, Winter Island, and more. On campus SSU also has a plethora of clubs and sports to involve yourself with, a free on-campus gym, pool, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The school is supported by Chartwells and supplies decent food to the school. The school's main campus cafeteria has a Burger King, Sandellas, Hershey's Ice Cream kiosk, and more. Soups, sandwiches, salads, and breakfast food is also available. Downstairs is a kitchen where more food is available such as pizza, burgers, lasagna, and stir fry.

    Dorm Life

    Though I have not stayed in any of the dorms, the overall feel from those who have told me about their experiences is positive.

    Academic Rigor

    For the money you pay to attend you are sure to be challenged. It is not an ivy league education by any means but you are going to learn and be challenged by professors who expect nothing less than your best. I've learned more than my money's worth in my experiences at SSU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Commuting to the school is fairly difficult but possible. During bad weather students tend to be warned too late that classes are cancelled or postponed. All in all most students are happy with dorm life though it is not something I've experienced and cannot comment on.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is both a commuter and resident school. The education you receive it worthwhile and you are challenged on a daily basis without feeling overwhelmed. As a current student I really enjoy the time spent and SSU.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is awesome! They are a fully functioning police station, where all of the officers had to go through the police academy! They are located right on campus and are just a call away! On every campus there are blue safety buttons that when pushed are automatically linked to dispatch. At every residence hall, there is a 24 hour front desk where student staff make sure that people that do not live in the building are not granted access. Also, at 10 pm the front doors lock and the student staff member has to buzz everyone in.

    Great for these types of students

    I am in the honors program at Salem State and it is a wonderful organization! If you meet the requirements I highly suggest joining! Each semester they give out scholarships and amazing opportunities. Also by joining the honors program, I have met so many more people than I would've if I didn't join!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. Resident Assistants are require to put on at least two programs a month. They are social programs, informational programs, or programs just for fun! All the groups on campus put on programs every month, also. There are dances, movies that are just out of theaters or free movies in the theaters, laser tag games, and recently Gym Class Heroes put on a concert!

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls on campus, one on north and one on central campus. The one on north is a dining hall downstairs and upstairs there is a burger king, sandellas, hersheys ice cream, and a salad bar. In the brand new dining hall on central campus, there is a burger station, a pizza station, a specials station, a sandwich station, and a salad bar. All the food is catered by Chartwells. There cookies are to die for!

    Dorm Life

    I have to say the dorm life at Salem State is amazing! This is where I have met the friends I am going to have for life! We all lived on the same floor freshman year. Our freshmen year dorms are the largest in Massachusetts, and you can really tell the difference. The maintenance are wonderful and are there to clean the lounges and bathrooms everyday. We have two freshman buildings, a sophomore building, and two upperclassmen buildings. Our sophomore building is brand new! It is only two years old and it is gorgeous, and is environmentally green! The two upperclassmen buildings are apartment style and have a full kitchen, living room, and two bathrooms a piece.

    Academic Rigor

    Salem State takes academics very seriously. When you are on a team, involved with a club, or departments like residence life there are checks to make sure that you are doing well in your classes. If you are not, your advisers in these areas are there to help you do well. The classes are tough and require you to work for your grades, but they are not too hard that you won't be able to have a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    During freshmen year, get out and socialize! These will be your go to friends for the next four years... and the rest of your life! I am now a senior at Salem State and the people I met freshmen year are now my best friends, and I can not imagine my life without them!

    In three sentences

    I think Salem State University is a great four year institution, and I am extremely happy that I chose to go here out of all the schools I applied to. The class are small and the professors really care about how you are doing and are really there for you. The school is not too small, but not to big either; you can not go somewhere on campus without knowing someone from either a class or club.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I only enjoy my department. I don't enjoy living on campus and I don't like attending my general education classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot in my field, not so much in my general education classes.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Obsessive about safety

    Greek Life

    Just began here on campus, only have one fraternity and one sorority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, don't hide in your room, make friends, go to events, have fun, don't die.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, there are emergency boxes installed all over campus, and at the push of a button police officers will surround you within a minute. The school has their own separate police force. There are also buttons like these in dorms, which you can press and speak to the front desk directly to let them know of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    I know there are fraternities and sororities on campus. They advertise by spray painting their insignia on the sidewalk all over campus. The frats and sororities are great, however they are just starting out and don't have a lot of history.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to join already. If you don't find one you like, you can actually start one yourself. They have basically every club known to man.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a state school in Massachusetts that will give them a great education at a low price. The town of Salem has a lot of history. Halloween is a blast, and you can find people from everywhere just coming to visit Salem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is supposed to be dry and smoke free, however the rules say you may smoke or drink somewhere off campus. There is a bike path that runs through the center of campus, but is owned by the time, so everyone goes there to hang out, take a walk, or do these substances. Also when Halloween rolls around, the town celebrates throughout the month of October.

    Bang for the buck

    Salem is a state school, so it is cheap compared to private schools. They award scholarships and grants to a lot of the students, whether you have a 4.0 GPA or not. If you are looking for a good education at a low price, go here or another state school in your state.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events going on at Salem State, during the week and the weekend. A group called Weekend Warriors organizes trips to places as close as the mall or movies and as far away as New York or Florida. If you particpate in clubs and activities going on, you will meet a lot of awesome people.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the company that runs the dining hall and their food is not going to be winning a Phantom Gourmet award any time soon. There is a program however, that gives you both dining dollars to spend at things like Burger King on campus, and clipper cash, where you can spend at any location that excepts it. There is a convenience store at the school called White Dove which has a grill too and they are exceptional, while across the street from the school is a liquor store for older students.

    Dorm Life

    The administration running the dorms isn't as great as it could be. There are things such as the guest policy that are taken so extremely that you must wait outside the bathroom for any guest you sign into your building. Students should try their best to meet everyone on their floor, as it enhances the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here as mainly like any other college. Most professors give you a challenge. They find new creative ways to teach, instead of just the standard notes and testing routine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should try to participate in school activities and meet new people through them. Many people say the weekends at Salem are boring, but that is because everyone goes home! When attending Salem as a full time student, you should try and take 15 credits a semester, though the minimum is 12.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is a nice school located in a town that is often called a tourist trap. It's history will have you wondering whether or not there was real witches in the town all those years ago. The academic side of Salem is amazing and you will learn a lot, however it is better to commute if you can.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take care of finances regarding the school as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Salem State university is a cheaper yet very good alternative to other universities. Salem State University has a diverse environment, and very friendly people. The school is currently looking to expand and are currently in construction building a new library, and gymnasium. I like the direction the school is going in.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is many things taken into consideration to keep people safe.

    What to do for fun

    From what i heard, there is many different programs and clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    It's typical college food.

    Dorm Life

    Many options depending on what individuals want.

    Academic Rigor

    Many programs offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's an amazing place.

    In three sentences

    It's great, it has small classes, helpful proffesors, and nice people. It has many options on what to study and an amazing nursing program. A great place to study.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but it get to be repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun for students to get to know each other. As you progress through your academic years you will be able to choose the person or people who you want to dorm with.

    Academic Rigor

    All students are required to maintain a gpa of 2.5 or higher due to the University standards

    In three sentences

    A good place for student diversity. Salem State is a small school so it is easy to get to know people. The classrooms are also smaller so there is more time for student/teacher interaction.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life just started up again at Salem. There's not much to say since there is only one sorority and fraternity. They don't have housing, so it's sort of like they're just another group or club.

    Clubs and Activities

    SSU has a ton of groups and clubs to join. There's something for everybody.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to attend for a full year, if you're an in-state resident, is still under 20k. It's not much more expensive for an out-of-state resident. I think SSU is hands down the most affordable four-year school in the state. For all of the services provided, you definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Salem is about a 15-20 minute walk. There are a lot of great restaurants. The museums give student discounts, and some even let SSU students in for free if you show your ID. Halloween is Salem is always a ton of fun, but things seem to die down after that. The movie theatres and malls are about a 20 minute drive, but since freshman aren't allowed to have cars they need to rely on taxis or the bus to get to and from there.

    Food and Dining

    There's a good variety of food, but it can get a bit boring after the first semester. There will occasionally be things like Nacho Night, Make your own taco bar night, or *insert country here* night which don't disappoint. The Upper Dining Commons on North Campus has the most variety, you can't use your meal plan points so it can get expensive. The cafe on South Campus also has a good variety and is a great place to eat if you have a lot of classes or live there.

    Dorm Life

    Since the school is still working on transitioning into becoming more of a residential campus, the dorm life is so-so. A lot residents seem to disappear on the weekends for various reasons. The school is working on having more things to do on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not saying Salem State is easy because it's a state school, but the rigor in some majors are different from other majors. That aside, make sure to study hard and get any tutoring or extra help that you need. SSU has recently changed their academic performance policies, so if you have fewer opportunities to get your grades up should you find yourself not getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school during the fall. The campus is absolutely beautiful when there's foliage. Try an aim for 500 scores in each of the SAT areas; if your scores are high enough, you will be able to test out of some general education requirements.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is a great school. Its campus life, academic programs, and quality of education have improved vastly in the past decade. It remains one of the most affordable public universities in the area.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Salem State has their own Police force.

    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    Lots of shopping centers nearby, and also Salem Willows is just down the road.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your courses for the years to come so that you know what classes you will need to take and when they will be offered. Some courses are not offered every semester.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is a beautiful campus. It also is easy to get to. There also are many great places to hang out with friends in the area.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach , there's a mall around the corner and also a Walmart and a Target.

    Food and Dining

    Marsh Hall food is wonderful. The others are decent.

    Dorm Life

    Small but comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect alot out of these students. So it is difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit on a real tour before actually attending the school. Just to see if its the right match for you.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is a big diverse campus. The staff members and professors are very lively and friendly. The campus is a smoke free campus. And i love it here.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The residence halls, at least the first year halls, hold a Halloween door decorating contest. The best door on each floor wins a prize, and the best door in the building also wins a bigger prize.

    What to do for fun

    Residence life is always planning events to keep students entertained, plus downtown Salem isn't too far and there is so much to do there.

    Dorm Life

    My first year experience wasn't ideal. I was placed in a quad with 3 other girls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for advising meetings as soon as they are open. Classes go quickly and, especially as freshman, the longer you wait the less likely you will get what you need.

    In three sentences

    Salem State is very diverse and welcoming of diversity. Students are friendly and the faculty is helpful and caring. They really want students to excel and they make sure each student is given the opportunity to succeed.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's new and blooming!

    Great for these types of students

    Rural kids who just want to hang out with friends.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown or just hang out with friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to make friends and be a part of something great!

    In three sentences

    Great school with small class sizes and teachers who care. Night and weekend college life is a little dead, but there's always things to do and friends to make. I would definitely recommend!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take the train into Boston. Check out what events are happening in Salem or at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Okay food. It gets old after months of eating the same thing.

    Dorm Life

    You can either pick your own roommate before you go into college or you will be set up randomly. Be prepared to deal with some stress. Dorm life is for some, but not others. Same sex floors are the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are nice and teachers are very willing to help you when you need it. Most of the classes you take are useful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have an idea of what major you'd like. Don't be afraid to ask professors for extra help. Also don't be afraid to go in undeclared.

    In three sentences

    Salem State has a small and friendly campus. The professors are very willing to help. The class sizes are small enough to have one on one time with the professors.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun at SSU we walk around campus and we also party.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I wish there were more options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious and the student are quite friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    From what i have heard the teachers are very helpful and willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    AS a student at SSU you should be able to focus because the availablity of the library, staf and tutors.

    In three sentences

    I believe SSU is a very open campus. It is very diverse compared to my last school. It also has many more options on things you can do to succeed.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police as well as student leaders and professors keeping it safe.

    Greek Life

    They are starting and having good outcomes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome!!!! Always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Really outgoing students are going to have a good time. As well as shy people can easily find places to fit in end enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Very nice state school and one can definitely go the extra mile with their buck.

    What to do for fun

    Many events available and good opportunities to meet or join an e-board as well to better communicate and create your own events.

    Academic Rigor

    No said college was easy but its not impossible with the various tutors and help around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and play hard and you will definitely have a fun time.

    In three sentences

    Friendly students making it easy to meet new people from diverse backgrounds. Great and helpful professors that assist in any situation. Just an awesome place to be having many things to do and attend.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown is always hopping.

    Food and Dining

    Many choices. Not mom's cooking but tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Stuck in a forced-3 too crowded especially for females.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful campus with a diversified group of energetic students. Many choices here.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    well there are a lot of places around salem you could go and the campus is not too far from downtown

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be a good student and believe in you and everything will go super

    In three sentences

    it is so fun. It is interesting. It is worth it :)

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Salem is known for Halloween, and October is the busiest time of year here. There are great costume parties all around the area that I would highly reccommenf. Even walking downtown is a sight to see!

    Food and Dining

    If you are a vegan or vegetarian, there will be next to nothing you can eat here.

    Dorm Life

    Aside from the typical mess in the dorm bathrooms, the dorms are rather nice. Freshman have much more space in their dorm rooms compared to other schools and there are common rooms on every floor that are great for being social too.

    Academic Rigor

    If you come from a great school system, did average on the SAT's, or ever took AP classes, Salem State will be too easy for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take several tours of the campus before coming here and compare it to other schools you visit. Some schools are better than others. Understand that when you come to Salem State, you get what you pay for.

    In three sentences

    There is a new library and gym under construction. The food is college food, mostly fried and starchy; if you eat here, you will gain weight. The school is mostly known for the nursing and criminal justice programs, all other programs here don't offer as much opportunities as other schools.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's very affordable here.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown salem is only a walk down the street with plenty of sights, attractions, restaurants, and the like. The beach is also a few blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    A fantastic variety of places to eat from Dining commons to Dunkin' Donuts.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms a little hectic since there's so many comparatively to other years, but all in all, it's not too bad. The freshman dorms are spacious and provide plenty of storage.

    Academic Rigor

    The basic, required courses are easy enough. But they progressively become more challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on living on campus, ensure your spot. Once you get in once, they guarantee you housing for all 4 years.

    In three sentences

    The university has a cozy atmosphere where practically everyone is friendly. The Professors put a real effort into helping out their students, showing they care. Also, the course load is manageable.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Awesome collge town, tons to do all year.

    Food and Dining

    dont take adavantage of campus cafe

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be present. Being known makes all the difference.

    In three sentences

    A very welcoming, deverse community. Great educators passionate about what they do. An inspiring place to further my education.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have visited several campuses but Salem State was the safest I've seen. Not only is the Salem Police actively involved in the campus' activity, but Salem State have its own campus police as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless groups and organizations. The residential halls also usually have some type of program going on.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of different locations to eat at and the food selection is very well rounded and diverse.

    Dorm Life

    Salem State have very strict policies that are not always the easiest to deal with. They are a dry campus! Salem was also meant to be a commuter campus so they are now making more changes to better accommodate the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what the student takes and how rigorous their schedule is. All classes I have been in have a large amount of work and require effort, but it is all manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend living on campus to gain the entire college experience. It helps the trasition from high school to college by becoming fully emerged in the campus and its activities. I would also suggest students take full advantage of the tutors and extra help the school offers

    In three sentences

    Salem State was originally designed to be more commuter friendly and is now picking up its pace and growing for those who are residential. It is highly focused on it's student body. The campus is also very diverse and welcoming.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police constantly patrolling and they are always willing to help out. Just make sure you're parked where you're supposed to or you WILL be given a ticket!

    Greek Life

    We do have Greek life but I am not a part of it so I don't know much about it. I do have a few friends that have joined and they seem to enjoy it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Honors program and different clubs and activities for every single interest. I am a part of a Political Science club. Sadly, we don't have our own ROTC program, but we work with the Air Force ROTC at MIT and the Army ROTC (I don't know what school that one is linked too). There are more Army cadets at Salem State and they do carpooling and fitness together. I tried the Air Force one but I was the only cadet from Salem State and it was hard commuting every week to Boston so I had to drop it. On Mondays starting at eleven we have community time which is when most club meetings are so it's easy to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who are sick of being judged and just want to be themselves. It is also for people who embraces diversity because you never know who you will run into on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an underground tunnel connecting Meier Hall and the Sullivan Building which I never knew about. Some of the campuses can be hard to get to (especially going from North Campus to South Campus) but they have a shuttle service. Parking can also be ridiculous.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I am getting a great education for the price that I'm paying (in-state commuter with out needing to pay tuition because I did well on my MCAS tests and I am going to a state school).

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, make friends on campus, get to know your department that you're majoring. For example, I am on a first name basis with the Political Science department and I can always go to the faculty of the department for advice.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different options for food but it's easy to get drawn towards the fried and fatty food. I wish they had more healthy options besides a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I have heard that a lot of the students go home on the weekends and it can be kind of boring. They're planning on building a new dorm though to bring the school to half commuters and half residential students. Maybe, once they get more residents, they will come up with more weekend activities so students will want to stay. If you decide to live on campus, try joining the RHA so you can have an input on what goes on in the resident halls.

    Academic Rigor

    What you put in is what you get out of a class. If you pay attention and take good notes (and actually go to class) you will do just fine. Go on rate your professors to find good professors for the classes you have to take. There will be some who will give out easy A's while others will actually make you work hard for your grade and those are usually the classes where you get something out of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they can offer a lot of advice and help along your educational journey. Also, get to know your flow sheet so when you go into advising, you already know everything you need to know about your path to graduation. There were times where I even knew more about the requirements than my advisor!

    In three sentences

    Salem State University was an excellent choice for me for school. It is close to home and I have met a lot of awesome people and lifelong friends with both students and faculty. There are a lot of majors to choose from so don't worry if you can't decide yet.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus police are actual cops and since I have started here at Salem State I haven't once felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is limited Greek life, but if you want to get involved in that at the beginning of the year they have club fairs and you can sign up to be a part of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs and activities on campus, but you have to seek them out yourself. I personally haven't found a club I liked yet.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for a student who is smart, but couldn't get enough financial aid to go to a fancy school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Me and my roommates don't go to marsh to eat on the weekends, they just don't have good food. Me personally I like walking down the bike path here at Salem state and if you keep walking and cross the street there's this long path that's right by the ocean its really beautiful and just nice to walk along.

    Bang for the buck

    This school does offer quite a large amount of financial aid, but you have to keep track of it because they are very disorganized and your financial aid can get screwed up.

    What to do for fun

    Since it's been cold almost my entire freshman year for fun I chill with friends in my dorm, watch movies, sometimes go downtown to eat, get a tattoo or walk around and see places downtown. There is also a shuttle bus that will take you to the malls around here as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be really good on some days and not so good on others, it's the luck of the draw at the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    I happen to love the dorms here because I lucked out and I got two of the best roommates ever. From other people I've known I have heard they liked their roommates as well. Like I said before people here are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here can be challenging depending on the professor you get, but them ore challenged you are the better because it prepares you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not pay attention to what others around you do. Many people will slack, but that doesn't mean you should be slacking off on your school work that won't get you anywhere.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is average in some ways and above average in others. The people here are very friendly and accepting. The professors for the most part are very helpful, teach well, and are very understanding.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are located in the middle of campus, and are always ensuring students safety.

    Greek Life

    Salem State is new to the Greek life, so its tough to tell how it actually is.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs, but the school is open to any new clubs wanting to start up.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small classes, and want help when available.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the small classes and I wish I had picked Salem State for my first college choice.

    What to do for fun

    Traveling downtown is always a good time, especially during the halloween season.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but the dinning halls are not open as much as I hoped they would be.

    Dorm Life

    There doesn't seem to be much going on around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard but are rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start a relationship with each professor, they are willing to help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    I transfered to Salem State because of the small classes. It's great that the professors make an effort to get to know each student. They actually help when you need it!

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It depends on where you go. Not many Vegetarian options if that's what you are looking for. Central Campus is average. Upper North and North is better.

    Dorm Life

    For my first year I was put in a forced Triple which made it difficult at times. I felt cramped and there was not a lot of space. Many people were put in forced triples due to not enough housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The computer class is unrealistically hard. The class average for one classes for about 10 years was a C. The Academic Rigor depends on what professor you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Salem State is not organized especially when it comes to the financial stuff such as scholarships and putting holds on your account. They do not transfer credits from others schools well. Look up the professors on ratemyprofessor.com before you register for classes.

    In three sentences

    How the classes are depends on the professors you have, and also how hard you try. The Financial Aid office and Resident Assistant is really unorganized.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was concerned about campus safety at first because you hear horror stories all the time. But Salem States' campus is really well lit and the campus security really do care about the safety of students. I still would recommend walking at least in pairs at night, just common sense stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the expenses for the education

    What to do for fun

    DEFINITELY go down town! Especially in October, the whole month is one big halloween-fest and there are people literally from all over the world. There are always tons of things to do downtown and the campus is actually pretty good about coming up with activities and events for students as well.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't eat red meat or pork, and one of my roommates was a vegetarian so it was a bit more difficult to find both good food and food that was healthy and had variety. But in general there are alot of options for students, especially at breakfast and lunch times.

    Dorm Life

    I personally love the dorm life, I went into a random triple my freshman year and those two girls are now my best friends. While i was very lucky, there were a number of other people on my floor and in my classes who became very close with their roommates as well. The dorms are kept clean and are well cared for.

    Academic Rigor

    The gen ed's aren't bad and the actual major courses are good. They challenge you a reasonable amount without over doing it. Most professors will understand in gen ed's that it's a requirement and will help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore the campus and downtown, don't be afraid to join new clubs and activities just because you don't know anyone in them. Almost everyone going into college is in the same boat as you are.

    In three sentences

    Fun, friendly and open-minded is how I would describe Salem State. Definitely go and visit the campus, talk to students and even the staff before making a snap decision. It's a relatively inexpensive state school and is on par with much more expensive universities.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is Salem, a place so rich with history so they're always something to do around here, especially during the fall months. Being a Salem State student you do get free admission into places such as the Witch museum and the Peabody Essex Museum.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the company that serves the school and some like it and some don't. Personally I think it tolerable although it does get old by the time you're a junior or senior in college but they then the junior and senior housing have kitchen for you to prepare your own food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Salem state is somewhat of a luxury almost. The freshmen dorm may not be the best because of the lack of air conditioning but the friendly atmosphere help a lot when you're trying to make friend your first year at college. each year the housing situation gets better and better and air conditioning is provided with the other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The basic classes that every student needs to take are fairly easy but once you have declared your major thats when school gets tough. Being a biology major I can tell you that attendance and participation is key, missing one class could cause you to have a major step back. It is really important to always make sure you understand what's going on in class and if you don't there are places like the math lab, chem lab, and etc that will help you get through your appropriate courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really get a good tour of the campus because new buildings have been built and the campus looks even prettier than before. If you get involved with the school in terms of on campus jobs such as RA positions, DR positions, and etc. you will save a ton of money and have less college debt to worry about in the future.

    In three sentences

    Salem State has a lot more to offer than what most people think. Their science related majors are very good, with great professors and small classes and labs. Being a student here I would recommend it to all students.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are rarely seen on campus. Sometimes it is difficult to cross the main road since it is a two way. Cars will not stop!

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and many sports on campus

    Food and Dining

    Variety of choices, but quality isn't great. Fruits and veggies are always displayed frozen

    Dorm Life

    commuter

    Academic Rigor

    Science courses are difficult especially labs

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up with assignments, and time management

    In three sentences

    The student life is very active, but professors and academic staff are hard to reach when needed.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good campus police presence at all times. There is never a day where I am on campus that I don't see at least a few officers around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Varying major clubs, sports teams, and other groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a good college experience but not too much partying, and not spending too much money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halloween attractions

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for an inexpensive degree! Tip: RENT TEXTBOOKS ONLINE! - not from bookstore (www.directtextbooks.com)

    What to do for fun

    Salem has tons of sports teams and clubs to join which everyone should take advantage of. October is a great time to be at Salem State as well because Salem is known for their Halloween attractions. Salem is also close by lots of shopping like the Northshore Mall and the campus is fairly active with students hanging out all around.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has okay food, but upstairs they always have varying choices of Burger King, hot meals, and flatbread pizza and wraps. All around campus there are small food places to get chicken nuggets or a burger and fries and other things like sushi and smoothies. Dunkin' Donuts in Meier Hall! Off campus there are many places close by: Bagel World*** Salem Diner McDonalds Tavern In the Square

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm but I have spoken to people who do/have and there is also a variance in dorms as everything else. The new dorms on Central campus are really nice (brand new) and some people really enjoy the apartment-style dorms on South. The two dorms on North campus are fairly typical to any state school or university in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    There is varying difficulty when it comes to professors but if you ask other students about professors in your major, you will be able to figure out which ones will fit best for you. There is also varying opportunities for expanding your education in certain subject areas and challenging classes. Salem State has something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus- commuting is tough and it takes a long time to get from the highway to campus. Plus they are aiming to make it less of a commuter school. Pay attention to where which building-campus your classes are in when making your schedule- If you have a class on North and your next class (in the next class block) is on South, YOU WILL NOT MAKE IT.

    In three sentences

    Salem State has great professors and helpful staff. They are constantly trying to upgrade the facilities and campus as a whole, but the construction can be a bit frustrating at times. In all, the opportunities they provide are great.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't really joined any clubs on campus, none of them really interested me. Maybe there are more clubs but I just haven't found them, but there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of variety there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Halloween you'll see more and more people dressed up in downtown Salem, day and night. By the time Halloween comes around almost everyone is in costumes. Some people hate all the tourists but I think they're fun, and add energy to the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good, th only problem is that it isn't very healthy. There's always fruit, salad, pasta, and the sandwhich bar but those are pretty much your only healthy options. Other than that its fries, onion rings, pizza etc

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are crazy, people are loud and generally rude but after your first year people calm down and the difference is amazing. I like living on campus now.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes aren't particularly difficult, its balancing all of the work that I find challenging.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Salem State University is one of the most important school I have always been planning to attend. They have good Professors and good educational facilities that help students in their learning.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see the cruisers around and the officers are pretty nice and helpful.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much Greek life; just two fraternities and one sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many clubs to join that you'd never be bored.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Salem is about a 20 minute walk and there's bookstores, stores, cafes, and restaurants. There's also museums about Salem and it' history. It's never boring.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You have quite a few options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms and bathrooms aren't that bad as long as you clean up after yourself. You're neighbors can become your friends. Your whole floor can become friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not slack off on your readings because they'll pile up and you'll end up having to read the whole book the night before the exam. Do what is due first. Do your work bit by bit and make sure to that you have enough time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friends with your professors because they're there to help you. Do not take morning classes if you are not a morning person and can avoid it at all costs. Even if you're shy, talk to someone you don't know because there's the chance that they could become you're best friend.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is a really good school. There is always something to do and somewhere to go and get all your work done. Everyone on campus are not judgmental and it's an overall good environment.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs and activities are great! There's always something going on on campus, and it's just amazing and helpful when it comes to meeting new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Salem State is great for any student who's extremely creative and mostly liberal. Most of the community is outgoing and fun to be around. I've met a lot of music majors, art majors, creative writing majors, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my traditions is having breakfast at dunks before class with a few close friends of mine: we do this at least twice a week. It's cheap, and I get the caffeine I need to start the day! I also have a secret spot to study outside if I want to.

    What to do for fun

    I've joined the GSA, which is a blast, and I hang out with friends a lot. I formed a few study groups, and I go to a lot of sports games whenever I can to support my school.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, but I'm spoiled when it comes to food at home.

    Dorm Life

    My RA has made Dorm Life so much easier. I know almost everyone on my floor, and on other floors, and I'm comfortable with everyone. My roommate and I are great friends, and the only issue is the bathroom on an all girl's floor- yuck!

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged, but I felt as though some teachers didn't want to push me as much as I needed to be pushed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your advisor, they can help you through the transition. Don't be afraid to open up and talk to people. Study with friends. Don't spend all your time on school, join clubs or go out sometimes. Explore all your options, even if you know what you want to do with your lfie. you'd be surprised how much you can learn.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University has helped me so much through the transitional stages of going to college. I joined a Learning Community, and through that I have learned a lot and I've made a lot of close friends. I would suggest going into a Learning Community at Salem State to anyone I know going into college in the near future.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do on campus to get involved in. You can even start your own club if there if something you would like to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halloween is big here at Salem State University. It is a tourist zone during the entire month of October, after all it is known as the town of the witches.

    What to do for fun

    -Downtown Salem -Boston is about 30 mins away - local mall is about 15-20mins away - Check out some college games going on

    Food and Dining

    The food at Salem State I have no complaints, I actually like it.

    Academic Rigor

    Anywhere you go the courses will be hard depending on the professors I guess. Thus it is important to make time for your studies, and get the help if and when you need it. Remember, you get out of school what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get involved! - Time management is key -Check out the library, its peaceful, relaxing, you'll get work done - take breaks, you don't want to overwhelm yourself - be outgoing, break out of your shell

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student into this school, and I love it! If I could redo my college process i would have applied here first and came here. Salem State is a diverse university where the professors genuinely care.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's lot of emergency call boxes, and campus police take their jobs very seriously. I felt very safe when Salem State was on lockdown earlier this year.

    Greek Life

    There's one sorority and two fraternities, but they don't have separate housing. They're not a huge presence on campus, but the people who are a part of them love the experience, which is very close and intimate.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything is well posted (in the dorms, dining halls, academic buildings, etc.) and a lot of trips and other activities are free or low cost. The clubs here are well organized, and there are a lot of different options.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for theatre and nursing students. Great for anyone living close by, since this is a heavy commuter school and a lot of people go home for the weekend. Also great for anyone who struggled a bit with high school, because the classes here tend to be easy.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck depends on your major. As a theatre major, I'm involved in one of the best programs in the country for free due to my financial aid. I would recommend any theatre student seriously consider Salem State.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Salem! It's great (although busy and hard to drive) in October, there's the Peabody Essex Museum downtown, as well as a ton of haunted houses and other tourist attractions, and downtown is only a half an hour walk or you could take the free student shuttle.

    Food and Dining

    The food is about as good as at any university (a bit on the sucky side, mass produced, not very fresh or nutritious). The biggest issue with food is the timing of it. Most freshman live on North Campus, which doesn't offer any food Friday to Sunday night, so it's a bit of a hike to walk anywhere for food on the weekends. I would definitely recommend a microfridge and stalking up on nonperishable foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are always events going on for the whole community to get involved in, and they are well publicized. It tends to get very noisy nights/weekends, and some of the RA's are not that great at enforcing discipline. The guest policy is a bit of a hassle.

    Academic Rigor

    I think my classes here are extremely easy, especially compared to high school. While I think gen eds are a bit of a drag, I'm still learning a lot in all my classes for my major (theatre).

    Tips for prospective students

    Email your department chair (search the website for the information) before orientation to ask what classes you should be in your first semester. Always go to the professors for help. Office hours are always posted, and the staff just wants to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is a great place for those students trying to get a quality education on a state school's tuition. Some of the better majors include geography, nursing, and theatre. The academic standards are on the lower side, but there is a lot of opportunity for students who have the ambition to seek out additional opportunities.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and worthwhile!

    What to do for fun

    Repertory Dance Theatre Salem Dance Ensemble

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I know there are lots of options and the facilities are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I did well in high school and am not very challenged by the standard level classes at this school; but I am in the honors program and feel much more challenged and academically stimulated. There are definitely options when it comes to academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes in a wide range of departments because you never know what may spark your interest! Take advantage of the beautiful new library/learning commons as well as the new Gassett Fitness Center.

    In three sentences

    This university is an affordable option that caters well to both residents and commuters. It is a state school that offers a wide range of degree programs and fields of study. There are plenty of recreational activities, sports, and clubs to get involved in.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Salem State students participate in a month long celebration of Halloween, both on campus and in downtown Salem, Massachusetts which is said to be the home of the Witch Trials.

    Food and Dining

    The newly renovated Salem Diner has some of the best foods that Salem State University could offer.

    Dorm Life

    I prefer commuting, but the dorm life is rather active considering most of the students that attend the school have at least one part-time job.

    Academic Rigor

    Although not rigorous in academics, they do offer challenges based off the individual professor requirements and the classes that they take.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip for future students is to interact inside and outside of the classroom with their professors and other faculty members Making these connections can benefit when the student needs assistance, guidance, and recommendations for homework, classes, and programs.

    In three sentences

    Salem State University is a diverse community that assists all types of students such as students with learning disabilities or alternative lifestyles. The faculty offers future and current students on-site tutoring and mentoring assistance.