Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Salish Kootenai College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think it's perfect for all kinds of students. Especially one's that want to learn more cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try it out. Don't be scared to talk to people, they will help of find someone to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Get the same kind of education for less money. For me that is a plus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most everyone is helpful. Easy to be there.

    Am learning a lot

    Love the professors. They are very helpful and want to see you succeed.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The world needs more nurses and by going to Salish kootenai college you will be a very successful nurse. I have been told that this college is hands on, and everyone looks for that in graduating students from the nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college if you are going to become a nurse. It is hard to get into the nursing program but once you are in then you are in for a great opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    I am still trying to get scholarships but the college offers a-lot of websites to go and apply for one. If it weren't for the college I would not have know where to began.

    Will enjoy being here

    For the past five months I have been going to the college to apply for scholarships and get ready for college and everyone there is very helpful and I am eager to start. I am excited about meeting new people and having the opportunity to get a degree.

    Will learn a lot

    This will be my first year at Salish kootenai college, I have heard nothing but good things about this college, especially from the nursing program.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes ABIL

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Native cultural

    Bang for the buck

    None

    What to do for fun

    Listen to music

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria there is good.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to orientation and follow all instructions and you should be able to pass.

    In three sentences

    Salish Kootenai College is a great junior college for individuals who are seeking college experience. While at Salish I have maintained above a 3.0 gpa because of the great staff there. Salish Kootenai is a safe and friendly environment.

  • 10/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    they'll sure take your money and then you are on your own.

    In three sentences

    Salish Kootenai College is Unproffesional and unorganized. Most of the staff at this school act as if you are bothering them. Not enough useful resources.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a single father so I don't have time for a life of my own other than school.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not overwhelming, but you should apply yourself as much as you can in order to be more prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resource made available to you. Attending every class is critical. You can gain a wealth of knowledge from every teacher, so use them as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    My experience with this school has been very enriching. I've gained a great amount of confidence from the work and effort I have put forth. I have enjoyed the curriculum that has been presented to me in my classes.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here is very small and in my opinion needs more options for the students.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program has some very difficult classes that you have to be well prepared for. Despite their difficulty the teachers are more than willing to help you succeed in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for scholarships available to you as soon as you enroll, you never know what is out there.

    In three sentences

    Salish Kootenai College offers smaller classes and more one-on-one time with the professors which is more beneficial than a larger university. The teachers in the nursing program are extremely helpful and want you to succeed; they will do whatever you need to do so. Salish Kootenai College is a very open campus and the smaller atmosphere is an excellent learning environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is small, but the food is excellent. Everything is made to order and made when you order it.

    Dorm Life

    I did not experience dorm life at Salish, but have heard great things about the housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program at Salish is difficult, but well worth it. Working hard will pay off in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to apply to the nursing program, plan on working hard. By applying yourself prior to applying to the program, you will imporve your grades and thus your chances of being accepted.

    In three sentences

    Salish Kootenai is a great place to start your college career or to pursue a specialty. Local employers claim the nursing students that graduate from Salish Kootenai are top notch.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting a good experience at college while getting a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many different traditions on the campus because it's a tribal school, they have so much for everyone to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    I felt very comfortable going to this school because it was small and the staff was very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the theatre on the weekends and watch a free movie and go to the many sporting events that they offer. They also have their own golf course so that's always an option.

    Food and Dining

    Three Wolves Deli is an amazing place to eat, they have delicious foods and great people to be around. You get what you pay for and you really need that when trying to learn.

    Dorm Life

    Was not part of the dorm life, lived off campus and drove everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the instructers are very eager to teach you and want you to succeed. The campus offers free tuturing and makes sure that you are doing the best that you possilby can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become very good friends with your advisor because they are the true key to the campus and making sure you get all your ducks in a row. Also if you find a good advisor then you will also find a lot of loop holes that will make registaring and what not a lot quicker.

    In three sentences

    Salish Kootenai College has a beautiful campus with very friendly people. It's small and just right for someone wanting to go to college and not deal with all the people that big university have to offer. It has a warm and cozy feeling to it's buildings and surroundings.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IT has 24hour security on campus, It has not had any incidents in the past. I have been here for two years and found that all the people around here are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of student clubs, and sports. to many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    It has one of the best nursing programs in the country, and it also has a great computer program, both Engineering, and IT.

    Bang for the buck

    The salish kootenai college has been rated 3rd has one of the best colleges in Montana to attend. the tuition costs are great.

    What to do for fun

    We have a very large lake nearby to go swimming, boating, water skiing. we have snow skiing just a short drive, we also have a golf course if your in to golfing.

    Food and Dining

    they have very fare prices, and good dining.

    Dorm Life

    not to sure on dorm life, I don't live in the dorms. I have my own place.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this college to anyone who wants to start college, It's very friendly and the staff are the best at what they do. They go beyond there duties

    In three sentences

    I did a little research on different schools and found this one and when I started here I found out that the classes are not too full so you get more learning time with the instructor.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities such as free bowling, free movies, and carnivals and such the clubs put on, coffee on Fridays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not ask just anyone questions I would advise if you have a question go straight to the person who is in charge of what you are asking about. Also to try to learn the system so you can help yourself a lot more.

    In three sentences

    Misinformed staff. A lot of activities. Nice professors.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always explore your options, know what classes you want to take and take the time to prepeare your schedule before going to see your advisor. It will save you a lot of time and you will know in advance if the classes you choose are going to conflict, making it easier to find adjustments. Also, never be afraid to ask for help! We are all here for an education, so in that, we have a common goal, help is out there, you just have to be willing to accept it. Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    The professors are knowledgeable, their lessons are accurate, and they teach with precision. If I have had questions, they have had the answer, I feel that I have learned a lot of relevant information this quarter. This College offers many forms of assistance in the form of study groups, tutors and aides all available for the students at no cost.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus itself doesn't have much to offer for fun, but the town of Polson is extremely close and there are many fun things to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Three Wolves Deli has everything to cure your appetite. Whether it is chicken taco salads, or a tasty cheeseburger, they have everything.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in the dorms, but what I have seen and talked to classmates about, they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give to students looking to transfer here or first time college students, would be, don't be afraid to ask questions. There are many advisors and all the faculty are very skilled at what they, which is helping you through every step of your degree.

    In three sentences

    The Salish Kootenai College has had much to offer me as far as my degree program goes. For example, the teaching staff as well as my fellow students are very helpful and want nothing but the best for me. Also the facilities that are offered are amazing and I have more than the appropriate space to study, do homework, or work out.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many offered and lots of events take place on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that prefer smaller campuses and a connection to the instructors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a tribal college so they have many cultural based classes offered and other events that take place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the tuition is good, its not outrageously expensive and that helps. Many things are offered on campus along with services so i think its worth the while.

    What to do for fun

    Gym available on campus, you could go to work out or play basketball with time off. Also many groups on campus are always looking for new members.

    Food and Dining

    The Three Wolves is pretty decent, reasonable prices and good food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so i do not know about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Good classes not to hard to take or follow instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of what is offered to you and invest in yourself as well as other around you.

    In three sentences

    It's a small college but wonderful, you get a better chance to work closer with the instructors. Adding new things every quarter and many cultural classes offered.