Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Salve Regina University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small classrooms with the availability of personal assistance from the professor if needed, beautiful location, small student body, those who are interested in getting involved in student government, clubs, sports and other activitites

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe on campus. Campus safety makes sure that everyone knows how to contact them. Plus all of the secuirty guards are really nice.

    Greek Life

    We are not associated with Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres so many clubs at Salve they're hard to count. Plus, there are always some sort of activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is laid back and loves the outdoors. Or anyone who wants to live in a mini mansion!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    From some of your classes you can view the ocean, so it's always a good time to walk down to the ocean after class to relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Some people may think Salve is a little pricey, which it is, but the fact that we are ocean front has a lot to do with it. We also have a unique personalized education, so I feel that Salve is definitely bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Being on such a beautiful campus, it isn't that hard to find things to do. Plus, downtown Newport is only a 3 minute drive away from campus. Newport is a beautiful town with an exciting nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    Salve's food could use a little fine tuning. The meals in Miley are not that tasty. Sometimes they will have good dinners, but most of the time I'll either eat cereal or salad. I gave food a three star rating because of the fact that we also have a burger restaurant. It's pretty good but I wouldn't want to eat burgers all the time.

    Dorm Life

    A top reason to go to Salve would be the dorm life. The dorms and campus are extremely beautiful. Most dorms are in renovated mansions with beautiful views. Since freshman year, I've been able to have my own bathroom in my room. That was a big plus for me because the thought of community bathrooms scared me.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, classes can be extremely difficult. There are smaller class sizes and attendance usually counts for some grade points. With that being said, I have loved all of my teachers at Salve. Even though some of my classes were extremely difficult, that's what college is about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Salve is a great college if you would like to have closer relationships with teachers and classmates. You receive a unique learning experience because of how small the class sizes are.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is a very unique college. Newport is an amazing town and Salve has a beautiful campus. Any student should feel lucky to go here.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe walking around at night on campus. we have safety and security always driving around and there are blue buttons that you can press and they'll come and pick you and bring you where ever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    salve has a whole range of different clubs and activities. all the clubs are very active and are always doing something around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are from a small community and a small school where you like to have a core group of friends rather than a lot of acquaintances.

    What to do for fun

    salve does a lot of free activities for students on-campus throughout the week. the shops downtown are fun to walk through. also, roger williams and providence are only a free bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not that good, but all the restaurants around us deliver for free.

    Dorm Life

    all of our dorms are nicer than any other college i looked at. everyone on your floor becomes your friend because everyone just keeps their door open.

    Academic Rigor

    the core classes that all students have to take are on the easier side, but depending on your major is where it varies. being a double major in education my classes take a lot of my time to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    salve really looks at the well-rounded student. they don't believe that academics is the only thing that makes a good, quality student.

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love everything about salve. the classes you're in are small so your teacher knows who you are and you know your classmates. we go to school in the most beautiful place i think in the world.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I thought Newport especially Salve would be really safe, but this year we had multiple adduction attempts and one shooting not far from campus.

    Greek Life

    Non -existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety to choose from but a lot of them don't meet regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    Rich students who love spending money and partying while looking classy, don't be surprised to see BMWs, Porsches, Hummer etc in the student parking lots.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Supposedly haunted in a lot of the dorm rooms look up Newport/Salve ghost hauntings.

    Bang for the buck

    I was not impressed with what cost me almost $50,000 a year if I could I'd give it 0 stars.

    What to do for fun

    Cliff walk,beach,downtown,the few parties they have, going into Providence for clubs/night life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really evaluate if you want to go to a SMALL mainly rich/well off Catholic school with a lot of involvement from RA's and staff.

    In three sentences

    Basically reminds everyone of a private Catholic high school or boarding school. It has a beautiful location, right near the ocean and mansions but it rains a lot and I didn't get to enjoy the beauty as much as I would've thought with all my studying. Id only recommend coming here if you're a nursing student, that is it's main major and even for non-nursing classes they cater a lot to the nursing students.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from sports, dance, and music to clubs specific to your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small close-knit but fun-loving campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They're ALWAYS giving away free stuff and planning great events on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the beach, go on the cliff walk, take advantage of museums and mansion tours in Newport or go to Providence not too far away if you want to find fun in a bit bigger city.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options and there are little places around campus on the meal plan aside from the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    You live in mansions... pretty awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain majors and academic programs are more demanding than others. May professors are accommodating and willing to work with you though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key!

    In three sentences

    Salve is not only located on a beautiful campus but offers a well-rounded educational experience. The honors program is rigorous enough to encourage a good work ethic while lax enough to allow students to enjoy their scheduling choices. There are a number of activities and clubs for students to join.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Carey Mansion is nearby. It is SUPER creepy and adds on to the historic feel of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus. Events like Things for Thursdays, Friday Night Live, and Saturday Mash-Ups ensure that people have great weekends. Concerts are held every semester, along with comedy shows and different opportunities to meet more students.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options of places to go, and with the new remodeling of the main dining hall, it could only get better!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here get better as you get older, and there is variety, from traditional college housing to living in huge historic homes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't super easy, meaning the professors give the students enough of a challenge in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on campus, the weather gets a bit crazy, so pack rain gear!

    In three sentences

    Salve is a place where students can grow into compassionate people. The professors are a large part in this development, because all of them want the students to succeed. There is a great amount of opportunity to do what you love here!

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that do like to work hard, but have fun too

    Tips for prospective students

    Get invloved in every activity possible

    Bang for the buck

    If you get scholarship money yes.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy a safe feel to their campus with friendly students. Salve is fairly mellow campus environment with a small-town feel. Everyone becomes familiar faces, including professors. Everyone works to help each other succeed, which makes for a great living and learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain a balance between fun and work. Take advantage of everything offered at Salve and it all pays off. This is definitely an environment for growing and becoming the future you.

    Bang for the buck

    Salve seems to be expensive. Salve does offer a lot though, such as trips off-campus and crafts and entertainment weekly on-campus. Although upperclassmen dorms are typically in mansion-style buildings, they are fairly old and reconstruction seems to always be underway.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's great being apart of the Salve community. Contrary to the beliefs that there are mainly rich and snobbish students attending Salve, I have only met kind and friendly people. Together we form a strong community who helps each other succeed and be happy. This makes adapting to college life away from home easier. Also, Newport offers close downtown entertainment and fun off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are amazing and are very passionate about what they teach. This makes all the difference when learning the material. Most courses, especially the sciences, are challenging in all the right ways. Also, Salve has great tutors which helps to connect students from different graduating years in the same majors. As a biology major I have found a support group through tutoring that connects me to other bio majors. We are like a family.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus. Whenever I'm walking the campus whether it be night or day I always pass a security car driving by. Salve also has the usual blue box system. Salve also has a very handy alert system which delivers news of any potentially dangerous happenings in the city to all Salve students (and their parents) via text and phone call.

    Greek Life

    Salve does not have a Greek system which turned me off to the school at first, but I've found many other clubs to substitute the qualities I was looking for such as unity and philanthropy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Salve has a variety of clubs to keep students occupied if you choose to be involved.I myself am a member of Big brothers/Big sisters, the environmental club,The Mercy Center, Positive Role Models, and coordinator of trips to a local food shelter.

    Great for these types of students

    Proactive students will fit in great at Salve. If you are interested in volunteer opportunities, clubs, and your academics then you will find that there is always something to do.Also, Salve has a lot of events on Campus over the weekend for those who choose not to go out. Students who are looking to party will quickly find it boring here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Salve has a very strong religious community which is fantastic for those students looking to enhance their faith. However, the rare quality that Salve offers is that religion is not forced upon anyone who does not seek it.

    Bang for the buck

    Salve is an extremely expensive school. They do however offer various scholarships and are very attentive in the business office/ financial aid offices. Part of what you pay for at Salve is the atmosphere and that's not really a secret. Salve has one of the most beautiful campus' in the country. The water can be seen from almost any classroom and the Cliff Walk is a frequent adventure for Salve students as soon as the weather is warm.

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friends and I often take trips to Providence, RI as the bus system is free with just a swipe of our Salve ID (anywhere in RI is free for Salve students to travel). I also volunteer frequently, use the gym, go for walks on the Cliff Walk, and attend the movie nights & event nights.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Salve is average. The saving grace in the dining hall is the fact that there is always a salad bar as a back-up.

    Dorm Life

    Salve has typical freshman dorms that are normal sized and focus on strong community bonding.The dorms become much better than average starting sophomore year. Every housing system beyond freshman year is gorgeous.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers at Salve are interested in what they do and care about their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and activities, especially volunteering through out the community. Getting involved will leave you feeling fulfilled and give you a sense of unity amongst your peers.

    In three sentences

    Salve is a great school to attend if you are focused on your academics, seeking a deeper spiritual life (or not), plan to get involved in the community, and wish to be by the ocean.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who like smaller schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the freshmen boys on the baseball team must all wear their batting gloves the day of their first game. after their first game they must also serve the upper classmen baseball players in the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    downtown newport, the cliff walk and the beaches are all great places to go if you are looking for something to do!

    Food and Dining

    the food is good at first, but it gets old fast! some nights it seems there is nothing to eat, but the workers are constantly trying to improve the meals in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    miley and new res are where most freshmen live. new res is loud and sometimes a bit unruly. miley is a little quieter, although since the two are attached you sometimes get some of the new res excitement in your dorm. freshmen can also live in hunt/reefe. these dorms are typically triples or quad with their own bathroom. the rooms are nice, but the dorm is pretty far from the cafe and the rest of the freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    if you are a biology or nursing major, it can be a bit challenging, but some of the other majors are not as difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to get involved freshmen year, not only will you meet many different people, but you will also help you with the next three years of college. freshmen should also get to know newport because there are so many amazing things to do downtown. in the off season, you get to take advantage of all of the fun activities the tourists do during the summer. the beaches are also great! at salve you have to find your fun, because it won't find you. in other words, be sure to put yourself out there!

    In three sentences

    salve regina has a beautiful campus and community that every student should take advantage of. the professors are all very personable and get to know you, so you are more than just another face in the crowd. at salve, people are there to help you succeed.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids whose parents pay for everything.

    What to do for fun

    Nice beaches, good surf, cool bars.

    Food and Dining

    Awful.

    Dorm Life

    Awful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are over 24, do not go here!

    In three sentences

    Salve is an extremely beautiful campus. The professors are amazing. The overall attitude of the students is very immature and uninspired.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards driving around and there is a very low crime rate in the surrounding area.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs and if there's not one, its relatively easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who don't want the atmosphere of a state school. It's much quieter and classes are smaller.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many different places to go on campus since the campus is in Newport.

    Bang for the buck

    Salve gives a lot of financial aid many times.

    What to do for fun

    There are beaches nearby and a lot of shops and restaurants downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There's always a lot of choices for food.

    Dorm Life

    There are very nice dorms, many of them are Newport mansions.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain areas of study are undoubtedly harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only advice would be to look at different types of schools to be sure what you think you want really is what you want.

    In three sentences

    Salve has a small, relatively quiet campus. It is located in a beautiful area. The classes are very small and any extra attention needed will be accessible.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being in Newport there are always plenty of things for students to do. Newport is a tourist town so there are always fairs and activities going on in town. Also, on campus there are activities every other Thursday as well as Friday nights and Saturday nights. These activities range from outdoor movies to free food to arts and crafts and even dances. There are also discounted trips that Salve offers in which students are allowed to buy tickets for.

    Food and Dining

    Salve's food is wonderful! They offer a variety of different foods everyday. The also have vegetarian meals at all dining hours so there is plenty for you to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    Who wouldn't want to live in a mansion? Freshman dorms are a traditional dorm style living but they are spacious. Upperclassmen dorms are in the mansions on campus. They have your own kitchen and are beautiful with plenty of living space

    Academic Rigor

    The courses aren't easy but they allow you to work to the best of your ability and learn the material that needs to be learned. The professors always have available hours to meet with them and Salve offers tutoring for all of the courses on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy smaller classrooms and a close community environment then Salve is the place for you! The professors always make time for their students and everything on campus is within a short walking distance. There are also plenty of activitites for students so be sure to get involved!

    In three sentences

    Salve is a beautiful campus that creates a community style living environment for all students. Being a smaller campus the students receive more time to work with professors in order to get help for classes. Also, the faculty, staff and students are all kind and considerate of the others on campus.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So much to see and do in Newport

    Food and Dining

    Variety of meal plans to choose from and locations.

    Tips for prospective students

    One visit to the campus will make your decision easy.

    In three sentences

    The best choice I could have ever made. The professors are caring and make it interesting to learn. The University has the same moral standards that I believe in.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a better job with parking tickets than anything else. There have been two attacks on female students so far this semester.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is non-existent on SRU's campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A fair number of clubs are offered but that doesnt mean that they are always going to actually happen. They offer an equestrian club but they wont offer it unless a certain number of people attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have money and know it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing special.

    Bang for the buck

    I could have stayed home and gone to my local state school and gotten the same education. ITS FAR TO EXPENSIVE! $48,000/ year!

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING ON THE WEEKENDS UNLESS YOU GO TO PROVIDENCE. The only school sponsored events are on Thursdays and Fridays. A lot of the students, being RI residents, go home on the weekends making it quiet and boring. Newport, is great during the summer, but everything closes early at night and close to everything shuts down after tourist season (May- October).

    Food and Dining

    The food here is a bit above average here at Salve. They have a really nice salad bar, and their breakfasts are fantastic. However they have the same food all the time...

    Dorm Life

    I live in New Res. Its always dirty and LOUD. I love my room. For a single its massive. However the room is apart of a suite that I share with 8 other freshman (I am a transfer sophomore). The bathroom is extremely small with one toilet, one shower and one sink (ones in the hall but that's not convienient). All I hear at night is doors slamming, people yelling, and constant dubstep (which I hate). My room is on the garden level, which is fancy talk for BASEMENT! I have no view at all. Im also under the exterior staircase, so I have no natural light in my room what so ever!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm currently taking 7 courses and I hate HATE, 4 out of the seven of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the campus is breathtaking, it sure is boring...if you want a great social and educational experience don't come here unless you are snobby, stuck up, or are interested in being apart of a D3 school.

    In three sentences

    Located in Newport, Rhode Island, Salve Regina University has a campus like no other. Bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, the school takes residence in the beautiful mansions of the Gilded Age giving students the chance of a life time, to live in the estates where the rich and famous once resided. Salve Regina University is a private Catholic Liberal Arts university, and is one of only ten schools in the country to offer Historic and Cultural Preservation as a major.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good on campus, I feel safe a majority of the time. During the school year there is a shuttle that runs at night to take you around campus. Security is always a call away.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities at this campus. You name it, we have it, and if we don't, you can get it started.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller schools and a pretty campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Make your own traditions. Make new friends and start traditions with them, make memories, do something fun. Don't follow in the path of others. College is about forging your own path and meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive and sometimes I feel as if I don't know what my money is going toward. I see them paving driveways when it is unnecessary, and yet the electricity in that very same building goes out every other day.

    What to do for fun

    Salve tries to provide all sorts of events for its students so there is usually always something going on. If not, downtown Newport is always a nice place to go exploring. In general it is fairly easy to keep yourself entertained

    Food and Dining

    The food is not terrible. However, there aren't many dining options. There is only one main dining hall with the same few options over and over again. I would have liked for a second option, but I will take what I can get.

    Dorm Life

    While many of the dorms are nice, the fact that they are made from old mansions can also be a drawback. This is because they are older and are not up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken here have all been quite challenging but with hard work and effort it is possible to excel at them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a smaller campus and smaller classes this is a great school. There is usually always something to do and it is a nice location. If you want a bigger school with more teachers and a more college-like campus then this probably isn't a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is a good school for those who like a smaller student body and a best student to teacher relationship. It is easy to get help when needed because the teachers are very flexible and willing to help. Also there are many opportunities available to students.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the school has a great nursing program, and the pell center is amazing. they are really friendly and the view of the ocean does not hurt either.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    GET INVOLVED

    What to do for fun

    Explore Newport!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Winters can be cold 2. You will love Newport so much you will want to stay the summer 3. Get close to professors

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is one of the most beautiful campuses around! You are not just a number at Salve, all Professors learn your names. You will get a great education in a city you will never want to leave!

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Newport has great restaurants and great shops but, if you're living the poor college life like most of us, another good thing about Newport is lounging at the beach and strolling the cliff walk is free. Also, throughout the year, Salve offers free activities both on an off campus. My favorite is free iceskating days during the wintertime.

    Food and Dining

    Two words: Miley sucks. However, late night snacks at Wakehurst are great. Get the mozzarella sticks, eat them with your grilled cheese sandwich, and thank me later.

    Dorm Life

    I was in the honors program, which means I had to live in honors housing. It would be better if they did not separate honors from non-honors (as far as dorms go), but the people are very friendly. Plus RAs are required to set up activities in the dorms from time to time, so there is always something going on. Who wouldn't love a free carnival in their dorm parking lot?!

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing major, I have to say academics is really challenging. However, the professors and advisors are very helpful so it's very unlikely you'll fail anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free services offered. Even if you think your writing is impeccable, give your essays to some of the students at the Writing Center who are available and willing to read them. I mean, hey, it's free!

    In three sentences

    Hard but fun.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are in Newport, go shopping, running, swimming, or see a mansion.

    Food and Dining

    It is improving as we speak. This upcoming year (2013) Salve will have a new and improved dining system.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is perfect at Salve. Freshman year you will live in typical style dorms, but the next few years you are living in old mansions, it is unlike any other University.

    Academic Rigor

    You do not have to take the hard classes, if you do not want to learn. There are many easy professors and mant challenging professors, and there are some that are very difficult but you will never learn from. Make sure you challenge yourself, and learn the most you can you are paying for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Salve, you will not regret it. It is a small school with big heart, if you want a college experience with getting to know your professors and staff members, Salve is the perfect place to do it. However, when you get here make sure you get involved.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina University is the perfect University for students that want to make a name for themselves. The Salve faculty and staff make sure that each student will leave the University a culturally and globably aware citizen. This University is the stepping stone to a bright future.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security 24/7. The cars are constantly patrolling and because campus is so small, security will be wherever you need them to be within minutes. Of course, downtown Newport has a city-life, so caution is required. As long as YOU know how to be safe, YOU will be safe and the community will be safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are essential to Salve Regina life. It is how you get to know everyone. Most people are involved in more than one thing on campus, even working gets you new contacts! Being involved lets people know who you are and gives you new opportunities to mingle! If you don't have a club you like, MAKE ONE. Last year, my friend started a Study Abroad Association that my roommates and I are now a part of!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be part of a community. You will get to know your classmates, your teachers, and the staff at the dining hall, dorm, and even the housekeepers! Teachers care about you, since classes never get bigger than 35 students. If you like that, YOU would love college life at Salve Regina.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our biggest event on campus is MONSTER BINGO! Almost the entire school shows up to this event, every semester, to play bingo! The prizes are always incredible and the winners are always random! My roommate won plane tickets last year! Definitely the highlight of the year. The entire campus is beautiful and right on the ocean - students and staff enjoy every corner of Salve Regina University.

    Bang for the buck

    I really milked my experience here for all it was worth. The dining plan is really expensive, but if you eat there everyday, you can take things to go. Want a snack? Just take something from the incredible dessert table or a sandwich, etc. Go to every Salve event! You are paying incredible fees for everything that happens on campus, so go to the events! They always have free food, free stuff, coupons, etc! The dorms are beautiful. Even Hunt & Reefe, which were hotels - they have their own bathrooms! That's a big deal! You get to live in beautiful mansions sophomore-senior years (if you wish) and that's definitely worth the money. Salve Regina is also pretty generous with their financial aid and always willing to help the students. I have so much support from so many faculty and staff members. I know that once I have graduated, they will still be there for me. These last 3 years have been the greatest of my whole life. I can't imagine what my last year will be like!

    What to do for fun

    Everything! Go to the beach, walk downtown, eat at one of the vast restaurant and café choices...the choices are endless. There is always something going on downtown, but also at Salve. We have weekend trips, movies, Things for Thursday (every other week), and more!

    Food and Dining

    Desserts at Salve Regina are fabulous. They make the meal. The food isn't BAD, it just has a bland selection. Salads, sandwiches, soups are always reliable. Vegetarian was my main choice, since the food didn't require meat, which was the most iffy part of a meal. Otherwise, the food is pretty okay.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely loved living on campus. There is always so much to do and rooming with 3 people I didn't know the first year, made me grow socially! I still keep in contact with my old roommates and have made many more friends just by living down the hall from them!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, classes are usually pretty rigorous. Required liberal arts courses are not as rigorous as major courses. Education, Nursing, Art, and Science majors all have very crammed course loads. We also have an Honors Program which adds another level of rigor to the student's academic course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that Salve Regina is a small university where teamwork is very important. Being involved is of the utmost importance. The more you are involved and know what's going on, the more you will enrich your college experience and grow to love Salve Regina as a university, but also as a community.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is a small university with an extremely friendly and helpful staff and faculty. It's beautiful and easily-accessible location is its most prominent feature. I've noticed, throughout the years, that Salve Regina students and professors have incredibly open-minds and are on a continuous path of learning and growth.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is EVERYWHERE, all the time and are really good about safety. When anything happens, all of the students receive an e-mail detailing the incident so we can all stay informed.

    Greek Life

    ZERO. As a private Catholic college, we don't have fraternities. I think there is one sorority, but it is off campus and you have to be invited and in an honors program. Our alternative to frat houses are the sports houses-- parties are usually there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS. For students who may be atheist, however, there may not be as many simply because the university is Catholic and very immersed in the faith.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to have close knit groups of friends, that like to know their classmates and professors on more than a first name basis.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say it's pretty expensive, but I would imagine a majority of the price comes from both paying professors and the maintenance of the mansions, which is definitely understandable.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go downtown! There are coffee shops, boutiques, and tattoo/piercing places for those that are trying to celebrate their freedom. Not to mention the marinas and wharfs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it's really hit or miss. I found myself eating the same thing everyday because I rarely liked the main entree, which was kind of annoying.

    Dorm Life

    With a small college, dorm life is always a bit more dramatic. If you fight with someone, you can't really escape them, but the solution to that is to just try and keep the peace. As far as the dorms themselves, they're BEAUTIFUL. Aside from Hunt/Reefe and New Residence, those dorms are pretty average.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, classes are definitely doable. I would say this is an average to slightly above school in terms of academics. One thing to look out for is exams-- departments will knowingly have exams on the same day, and rather than change the dates to give the students more time to focus on studying (like they do in some high schools) they leave it the way it is and let you know you're in for a rough week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you choose your roommate wisely, because at Salve your class is small. Once you have a problem with someone, you will continue to see them daily for the remainder of the year; don't burn bridges and don't stir conflict unless you want to have a hard time. Join clubs to meet upperclassmen, it's an easy way to get away from your peers that you see in the dorms and in class. Don't be afraid to ASK your professors about anything, they definitely know your name. With that being said however, don't be a slacker-- when you miss class, they definitely notice, even if they don't say anything.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is great for students who like to know their classmates and professors, but not for people who don't like to see the same people everyday. Housing is great and the city of Newport is beautiful. Professors are involved and all offices (business, financial aid, etc.) are incredibly nice!

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, great security staff. I know them personally.

    Greek Life

    None, and I'm so glad!

    Clubs and Activities

    Think of a club. We probably have it. If we don't, you can make it and even get a budget.

    Great for these types of students

    Writers, thinkers, artists, poets, biology geeks, geeks in general...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Salve's historical campus has many alcoves and attics that beg to be explored. I've heard students say they feel they are at Hogwarts at times.

    Bang for the buck

    Salve has been very accommodating in terms of financial aid and merit scholarships. Moreover, tuition and fees pays for much more than classes and meal plans. Every week, the school puts of functions for students including free goodies on Thursdays (once we could get free goldfish as dorm pets). Salve is a private school, but the money spent allows you to enter into an extraordinary community.

    What to do for fun

    Newport is a beautiful city that provides beaches, shops, and restaurants enough to last. On campus, there are several student groups that put on weekly events. In addition, we have monthly events such as Monster Bingo where students can win money and prizes such as iPads, etc...

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall is going under renovation this summer and will have many more options when it opens this fall. Our food services is committed to acknowledging students' wants and requests. The food could be better, but I can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    We have the most beautiful dorms out of every college I've looked at. Moreover, students usually keep to themselves or are friendly enough to leave their doors open so you can stop by and visit them.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload required at Salve varies widely based on your major/s. Being a philosophy and english double major, I am slammed with reading and essays, but I'm sure this is typical to every student of my kind. For the sciences and nursing program, the work is heaviest. Otherwise, I rank Salve as a school with a moderate workload, probably more than a State school, but less than somewhere such as BU or Northeastern.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come for sports alone! Salve Regina has so many academic programs and opportunities that can make your college career very successful. If you are coming to Salve, take advantage of small class sizes and committed teachers. You will not find another college that can connect you with professors as well as Salve does. Why is this so important? For one thing, getting recommendation letters for jobs or graduate studies is crucial, and it is far better to have a letter from a professor who knows you and has mentored you than one who has lectured once during the semester.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina University provides an intimate learning environment and academic growth that larger schools cannot provide. The professors are attentive and dedicated. In beautiful Newport, Salve is a hidden gem among the northeast colleges.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is soo safe. There has never been a time where I felt unsafe on campus, even at night. Campus security is always around doing patrols and the blue light buttons can be found all around campus in case of emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and activities on campus. There is something for everyone. If there isn't something on campus, you are able to start your own club with a group of friends and get funding for it! So many ways to get involved and there is always something going on on campus for students to do !

    Great for these types of students

    Salve is really great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an ice skating rink in downtown Newport that opens in the winter that is free for salve students. The shuttle will take you there and it is an amazing way to spend a night. Also, there are always tons of things going on to do.

    Bang for the buck

    The bus service in RI is free for Salve students. This means you can get anywhere in RI for free. helps when you can't have a car on campus as a freshman! Also local restaurants and shops in newport that many students will shop at give you a percentage off for just going to salve!

    What to do for fun

    Theres always tons of things planned on campus for the week and weekend to keep students busy! Also you could go into providence, go to the local hang out spots, or find upper classman to hang out with too!

    Food and Dining

    Its cafeteria food. It has its good days and it has its bad days. However, with the new dining hall opening up in the fall there will be alot more options and the food will definitely be even better! There are also more options and restaurants around town that are very reasonably priced !

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Freshman year is sometimes a struggle since problems do arise. However, everything is very central and easy to get to. Also, as you become an upper classman you are able to live in the mansions on campus. There are great opportunities for living and this is one way to make tons of friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult and the teachers are always pushing you. However, it is what you make of it. If you put in the effort you will succeed. Since the class sizes are so small, the teachers are able to get get to know you on a personal level and really push you to your full potential. However, this also means that when you are struggling, they are there to help you and will put in so much extra effort to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. This is your ticket to get into what you love to do and make amazing memories and friends. There are so many opportunities to get involved and do what you love.

    In three sentences

    Salve Regina is a beautiful seaside campus with amazing views and buildings. The faculty and staff at Salve are beyond amazing and they go above and beyond to help you. The small close-nit community really helps you succeed inside and outside of the classroom; also gives you alot more hands on experiences you wouldn't get a a larger university.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kind and friendly, but they take forever to get to you if you actually need them.

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot; most don't do anything though. Only CAB (campus activities board) gets things completed.

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Literally, our school does nothing but party

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely not worth the cost

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Everything is a bar, unless you want to drive/take a bus a million miles away. Your entertainment includes: cheesy school activities, party hardy, your room or hookah.

    Food and Dining

    New renovations have just taken over Miley cafeteria and they are awful. The only good parts about the cafeteria were discarded and we are now left with a beautiful exterior of shitty inards.

    Dorm Life

    Oh goodness; the freshmen dorms are awful. Loud, echoing prison cells. Later on though, you might be able to live in a mansion (which is haunted, but still) or an old asylum! Room Selection, however, is TERRIBLE

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are a joke for most of campus because the school constitutes mainly of boneheaded jocks. But, once in your major classes, you can find some great and amazing professors who will kick your little booty.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED in something right away Freshmen year! Service Plunge is the best way to make friends when you come in to school. Before the end of the first week, everyone will have their cliques and if you don't find a group right away, you're out of luck. I also wouldn't bother trying to be an RA; though the money is tempting and so is the job and the friendships, i's not worth it. The good applicants get screwed and they choose these party-goers that they think they can change into something better. Ha Ha their so funny; let's choose the drunkards and the sex maniacs who won't do their jobs and will quit on us by next year! Despite the terrible process, try to be friends with your RA; if nothing else, 9 times out of 10, they can get you drinks.

    In three sentences

    If you wanted a large, chaotic and involved atmosphere, then you came to the wrong place. Salve is a small and isolated college on the outskirts of a tourist trap, but, hey, it is still pretty chaotic. Don't get me wrong, I love this school, but y'all are crazy; there are much better options.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have I once felt unsafe on campus. The security guards are beyond friendly, and the Newport police officers are always willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    You're paying for location. Salve is one of, if not the most beautiful campus in America. It's right near the Newport mansions, and most class rooms have an ocean view. However, the teachers are fantastic and know what they're doing, so it's a win-win, great campus and good education.

    Food and Dining

    The food, like any other college, is not good. However Jazzman's is fantastic and there is a Starbucks on campus. The dining options in Newport are fantastic too if you're willing to spend a little money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much nicer than most schools I have seen. My freshman dorm is huge and has air conditioning. After freshman year you can live in a mansion... I think that says it all.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes aren't the hardest, but they're interesting. As you advance into the upper classes they get more challenging but never lose their interesting quality. I feel like I'm getting a quality, well rounded education.

    In three sentences

    Salve is a small school with big heart. Despite statistics the student body is very diverse and there are opportunities for everyone. I couldn't imagine going to any other school.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I heard the food was pretty ok, nothing special, but edible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were very nice looking, but a little small.

    Academic Rigor

    The education program that I plan on studying in is one of the best programs on campus. They give a goo amount of work from what I've heard but it's worth it.