Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Samford University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Especially if you love help, a pretty campus, and being a leader.

    Will learn a lot

    From the standards of the admissions as well as the partnerships that Samford holds, I really do believe that learning will be taking place, both inside the classrooms and out.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, creative, and smart students would have a fabulous time here at Samford.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to try new things while at Samford. Keep an open mind and make your own college experience memorable by maintaining a good attitude in every situation. Invest in your friendships here, but keep in touch with the ones at home, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford University offers many opportunities to further my spiritual, physical, and intellectual well-being. I love the variety of activities it hosts such as intramurals, theatrical plays and musicals, concerts, university ministries, etc. The courses are hard, but I definitely feel better prepared from an academic standpoint.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being four hours away from my family is hard, but I have some great friends on campus that make it worthwhile. I really enjoy my professors who genuinely care about me and strive to help me succeed. Also, there are many fun activities and organizations on campus that keep me busy.

    Am learning a lot

    Because of the liberal arts education I am receiving, I have learned several ideas and lessons applicable to my life as a college student and future graduate.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who are responsible and willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good attitude and be prepared to be shown lots of southern hospitality.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is worth the money but it is on the expensive side. But where it charges more it makes up for it in financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you enjoy a quiet peaceful campus this is where you want to go. You can lounge out on the green and study or go grab coffee for the food court with your friends.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn a lot inside and outside of the classroom. The teachers try their best to help you in as many ways as possible to make things easier.

  • 02/12/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Despite the high prices, Samford is a school that will strive to help you out financially any way they can. It is a quality school!

    Will enjoy being here

    It is in a great city with a great campus which I have been to any a time. I know I will enjoy the atmosphere here and am very excited! There are also many activities available both on campus and off.

    Will learn a lot

    This is an outstanding college with outstanding professors who intimately care about their students and how much they will learn.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Really get involved your first year, but don't over-commit yourself! If something sparks your interest, try it! By your second semester, you should have a feel for where you want to focus your attention whether it is through SGA or Greek life or UM. Once you find where you fit, put your passion into it and connect with others.

    Bang for the buck

    I will be the first to say that you don't have to be the smartest kid or have the highest ACT/SAT scores. I had a 4.28 GPA in high school, but only made a 25 on my ACT, so I didn't receive any academic money. But Samford worked with me and my family and offered me leadership, a minister dependent, general, and need-based scholarships. Also, departments offer scholarships when you talk to the Dean and tell them what problems you may encounter. The faculty members really do care about you and want to invest in you if you are willing to to work hard and make good grades and make the investment worth while. You may take out loans, but receiving a Samford education is worth it in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Samford. I have grown close to so many wonderful friends that I have developed life-long friendships with that I would have never gotten to experience anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    Growing up a preacher's daughter, I figured Samford would be a generic college where everyone was a Christian and believed the same way and we would all be best friends. I received a pleasant surprise when I learned more about different religions and cultures just in my first semester as a Freshman. Since then, my knowledge has grown and I have come to respect people who believe different from me and it has been a wonderful experience! I am so glad that even though Samford is a Christian college, the professors and faculty members remind us that we are all different and that the world contains people who are going to be different from us. From my experience so far, my closest friends come from different denominations that I do, and it is so refreshing to hear different views which makes me study the Bible more to learn new things as well as strengthen my believes. Even though I am an Elementary Education major, I have loved taking history, cultural perspectives, and religion courses.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are current and retired police that don't play and are now carrying pistols! park where you are supposed to because they will give you a ticket!!!!

    Greek Life

    alphas, kappas, akas, delta, aopi, zetas, sig chi, sig nu, pi kap, lambda chi, adpi

    Clubs and Activities

    samford holds a club fair in the quad and they all come out it's a good number some are just weird though! intramural sports is great!!!

    Great for these types of students

    rich, white, preppy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    church convocation, homecoming bonfire, spring fling, step sing

    Bang for the buck

    if you come here to samford and stay focused you should attain a great job and get your money's worth!

    What to do for fun

    on campus, you can participate in all types of intramural sports, frats, sororities, or church events. although if that's not your style then basically go to a local bar or club!

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria during special events is 5 star, but at times during the school year and towards the end of a semester it's disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the food court and chick-fil-a won't let you down though!

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are nice, but others are ancient!!!!!!!!!!!!! as long as you have great friends it should still be great because of dorm activities and dorm participation in intramural sports!

    Academic Rigor

    academically, i would refer samford hands down! when you leave here, company will be chasing you long as you have did everything right on your behalf!

    Tips for prospective students

    i would just say stay focused and remember what you are here for and that's an education. it will get boring at times, but you just have to stay focused and make friends that will help!

    In three sentences

    samford is a great school academically. the campus is beautiful and well maintained. although, i wouldn't suggest it if you're looking for a fun school!

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a gate...just like heaven. It's a campus wide church.

    Greek Life

    This is the sole basis of any social interactions at Samford University.

    Clubs and Activities

    None that I am interested in joining.

    Great for these types of students

    People who do not value their education or their lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Overwhelming boredom.

    Bang for the buck

    At excess of $30,000 a year, this experience is not worth my PARENTS' money or my time.

    What to do for fun

    If your not part of a sorority or fraternity the social life on campus is non-existent. Be prepared to put forth more money to join one or have no friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is only slightly acceptable if you really like American cuisine. Some acquaintances of mine have suffered from food poisoning multiple times in their first semester. This is not the place to eat if you value variety in any way ,shape, or form.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Samford are far, less acceptable as compared to other schools in the area. Even the upperclassman dorms are of worst quality than freshman dorms at other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is very biased and your degree depends on your attendance of church.

    Tips for prospective students

    You cannot have a career with a Samford degree unless it is ministry based. Take tours of other schools in the area so you are aware of Samford's shortcomings as a four-year institution.

    In three sentences

    Upon juxtaposition of Samford University with other four year institutions in the Birmingham metropolitan area, I have found this campus to be of significantly inferior quality for the following reasons : the people are homogeneous in nature and very close minded as a collective group. Many of the residents seem very pretentious even though they are willing to pay in excess of $30,000 a year to attend a less than quality school. As a on-campus resident of Samford University the students are treated as though they are in a middle school and not capable of making competent life decisions (this may or may not be the case); This is proven in the case of my prodigal best friend, who feels right at home in the suffocating nest that is this hive of faith based mores that is socially unacceptable in a world of gender and race equality.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Christian students who love the atmosphere of the South.

    Bang for the buck

    I am extremely impressed with every aspect of Samford University. Although, it is more expensive than your typical public state school, many scholarships - both need and merit based - are awarded that help lower the overall cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. Everyone I have encountered at or through Samford is genuinely kind. The Birmingham area has a lot to offer as far as music, shopping, and entertainment.

    Will learn a lot

    The liberal arts curriculum is challenging and enjoyable. Students need to focus on their studies to maintain high grades but will also enjoy their coursework.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider Samford! The people are so nice and the campus is beautiful! The professors are very helpful, as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Samford is very expensive, the campus, people, and academics help give more bang for the buck.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is SO beautiful and peaceful! The people are all very friendly, as well.

    Will learn a lot

    The academic standards required to attain scholarships help prove the academic rigor of the university.

  • 11/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want smaller classes. The average class is 15-30 people, BUT there are some big classes (around 75 people). Students looking for community involvement and extracurricular things. There are A LOT of ministries and outreach groups, as well as community service groups and greek organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money! There is so much you will want to do here, so a comfortable cushion would be nice. Don't worry about Samford being a small school. Although it may be considered as such, it feels bigger than it is because many people from all over the country (and other countries) study here.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is incredibly expensive (although they do give very good financial aid packages). However, I believe it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is AMAZING. Although I do not live on campus this semester, I plan on doing so next year. There are also so many things offered. There are tons of clubs, bible study groups, events and activities for any given day of the week!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here at Samford are great! Most classes are small-medium sized (15-30 people on average), so the professors are able to spend more time focusing on student needs. The professors are great as well. Some are serious and to the point and others are laid back with a dry sense of humor.

  • 12/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Altogether, I love Samford! It has proven to be the perfect school for me, personally--from having great academics and a beautiful campus, to creating a great Christian environment for spiritual growth.

    Am enjoying being here

    Samford provides an excellent amount of opportunities to get involved. Intramurals are very popular and fun here and there are so many clubs and organizations that take one step at a time to change the world.

    Am learning a lot

    While being at Samford, I have learned so much spiritually and intellectually. Samford also has wonderful staff members! I am extremely impressed with the education I have been provided while I've been here. Almost every professor wants to help you be the best you can be--there are no professors that force you to do everything on your own. And if they do, you've got plenty of opportunities to get help, such as the CRC (which helps with papers, speeches, etc.), as well as department tutors.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is superb. i have never felt unsafe on campus. it is a small, gated, well-lit community, and our public safety officers are always aware of happenings on campus.

    Greek Life

    we have numerous greek organizations who are involved in a number of great philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have numerous political clubs, ministry outlets, student publications, student activities organizations, honor societies, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are motivated and seeking to expand on their physical, spiritual, and intellectual well-being.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    each year students participate in step sing, a huge performing arts show where we divide into teams and put on song and dance numbers. people from all over the community seek tickets, which usually sell out within the first few days of sales.

    What to do for fun

    birmingham has plenty of activities to offer. it offers all the shopping and other benefits of city life, but the outdoor lover will enjoy our numerous parks.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining opportunities are excellent. our food court is great, and the cafeteria offers something for everyone. they even have special offerings from time to time, such as make-your-own cupcake days and sundae bars.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is great at samford. they provide easy access to all the buildings, so there's never any rush! plus, several of the dorms are currently undergoing or have undergone renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes offered at samford will make you think. they offer a challenge and prepare you for critical thinking you will encounter in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    buy a rain jacket, because you're going to need it! i learned this during the first week of class. try to live on campus if you can; it makes becoming involved and making friends so much easier. always sit at the front of the class and contribute to discussions, and your professors will love you!

    In three sentences

    samford is a great place to learn in a christian environment. there is a great student to faculty ratio, giving students plenty of opportunity to seek individual help. the faculty are warm and inviting, and always willing to help students improve and reach their goals.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    if you find the right crowd, everything here is fun. but i feel like many students find the campus boring.

    Food and Dining

    the caf is alright. it's cafeteria food so it could be much worse.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are small and hard to live in when you don't like your roommate. be prepared to have no privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned so much from my wonderful professors. the classes are tough but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're looking for a spiritual haven, this is the place for you. for those who aren't used to overly-religious people, samford takes some getting used to.

    In three sentences

    samford is exactly where i needed to be. classes are tough but i've learned more than i ever expected. it takes some getting used to but this university is wonderful.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You aways feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life won't make or break your college experience at Samford. Many people have half greek and half independent friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs to chose from, especially for the size of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    School is a private school with Baptist affiliation. But people from all denomination and lack thereof are welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    High price, but worth it for the atmosphere, education, and life long friends you will make here.

    What to do for fun

    Minutes away from shopping and Birmingham.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good compared to other colleges I visited, but cafeteria food is cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Guys dorms are decent. Most of Smith Hall has suite style bathrooms, which is a definite plus!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but you are coming to get a good education and it will be worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and imagine if you can see yourself living there for four years.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. The people are some of the nicest you will ever meet. One of the best schools in the Southeast.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Its not 5-star dining but its good with variety.

    Dorm Life

    Better living on-campus as long as you get a good roommate!

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough but you learn so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard!

    In three sentences

    Great academics! Hard but definitely worth it all. Loved being apart of this institution.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Campus safety is always patrolling and the campus is pretty well lit at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type. Samford has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Samford's Step Sing. Youtube it.

    Bang for the buck

    With all the free stuff that Samford gives back to their students with, every penny is worth it. From concerts, to free Samford gear, to coupons and crazy discounts, and free food in Ben Brown and free events thrown for Samford students, it's really all worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at Samford and around the Birmingham area. Whether it's the Crawfish Boil with artists like Wiz Khalifa and Lupe Fiasco, or a free Switchfoot concert on Samford's campus (all of which happened this past semester Spring 2012), there's a lot of fun things to do that are super close in distance if not on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is full of southern cooking and usually has a lot of options, including salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Vail Hall was great. I was on 4th East East and those girls were the girls I knew I could always turn to.

    Tips for prospective students

    -get involved - don't down the university you choose and say it sucks if you're not willing to atleast try to get involved with what that school has to offer. -enjoy it - four years goes by faster than you know it.

    In three sentences

    Samford is a great school with really caring teachers and professors. The class environment is always less than 30 people for most classes so you get the help you need/want. For a Christian school, I can probably say that 50% of the students act like Christians and the rest claim to be Christians but party a bit too hard; but honestly, that will be any school you go to. The faith foundation is pretty strong at Samford so students can choose to grow in their faith or do their own thing, like any other school. But all in all, Samford's wonderful.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SU's in a pretty safe neighborhood- Homewood's a white collar middle class town just minutes from downtown Birmingham, so while it's nice and family oriented- there's still a fun night life close by.

    Greek Life

    Greek life's the best decision you could possibly make for yourself here at SU. It opens your doors socially and gives you a close sense of community that you're not going to find elsewhere.

    Great for these types of students

    White upper-middle class conservative Christians, typically from the south.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight yell- during exam week students gather at the bell tower and scream at midnight to relieve stress. This is usually followed with a trip to sonic. This past year SU's started a new tradition of tailgating in the quad before football games. Lighting of the Way- To kick off the holiday season Dr. Westmoreland reads the Christmas story aloud to the students and theres usually a band who performs. It's also when they finally light up the Christmas tree in the middle of the quad that they put up over thanksgiving break.

    Bang for the buck

    They have lots of scholarships and the finanical aid office is super helpful.

    What to do for fun

    This varies greatly depending on the group you hang out with. If you're Greek or an athlete, you spend your weekends at house parties and the bars down in lakeview- (tip: Rare Martini is great on thursday nights. They have no cover and $1 wells until midnight. Everyone and their dog is always there). Moe's is also a big meeting place, but if you're over 21 chances are you'll be spending time at Tin Roof, Innisfree or Nana Funk's. If you're on a budget or wanna do something low key, the dollar theater is always a fun choice. Other cool things around Birmingham include the Boulder Fields, Oak Mountain State Park, The Vulcan, Five Points South, Pepper's Place Farmer's Market every weekend during the summer.

    Food and Dining

    We have one dining hall- the caf along with a food court which (other than the mini Chick-fila) is operated by the University. You can get your own custom pizza, sandwich or burrito made there, and they have other specialty items ranging from parfait to sushi. You can essentially get whatever you want. The University gives you $130 a semester to spend in the food court, which never seems to be enough. The Caf isn't terrible but when you're a freshmen you have to buy a full plan- 19 meals a week which can be annoying. After that you can buy less and less depending on how many credits you've earned. Another annoying thing about the caf is the hours. On weekdays breakfast and lunch are from 7-930 am and then 1045-3. These aren't so bad, but if you want dinner it needs to be early. Sun-Thurs dinner is from 5-730, but if you want to eat in on the weekend you only have from 5-6 to eat, and they're not afraid to kick you out once they're closed.

    Dorm Life

    You have to live on campus until you're 21- so unless you're from b'ham you're gonna live in Vail or Pittman (aim for Pittman) if you're a freshmen girl or Smith (on occasion Mountain View) if you're a boy. These are all located in the center of campus and aside from Pittman they're all pretty worn down. Sophomore year people live in Greek housing over on west campus or in suites in one of the 13 buildings in Beeson Woods- which is on the east end of campus past the science building and is a good walk from central campus.

    Academic Rigor

    We're known for our excellent nursing and pharmacy programs, but what people also don't realize is that Samford has a terrific business school and fine arts program as well. The people

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take Samford for what it is at the surface. There's plenty of people who fit the straight-edge SU mold, but there's also plenty of chill people who like to have a good time. You just need to know where to look (in Greek life).

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel so safe on campus! Besides the rattlesnakes (I'm serious...)

    Greek Life

    SO excited about Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know from personal experience, but I have heard that they have many activities and clubs to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect for Christians who want a safe environment that is serious about academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Step Sing is a huge deal! They also love their statues :)

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little bit expensive, but I believe that they do offer generous scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Play games or study on the quad, go to the gym, hang out in the coffee shop, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Samford has the BEST food!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit small and most of them have community bathrooms, but they are in gorgeous buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    You MUST visit this campus!!

    In three sentences

    Outstanding Academics and Professors Gorgeous Campus Christian Enviroment

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have five social sororities and are in the process of adding another, and four social fraternities (there are also service, academic, and professional sororities and fraternities on campus). The great think about Samford Greek life is that it's cool to be Greek OR independent--there's not some imaginary barrier that means that you can't be friends with indies if you're Greek, or vice versa. My circle of friends is made up of indies, people from my own organization, and people from other Greek organizations. About a third of undergraduates are Greek.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every February, we have a campus-wide performance called Step Sing, which involves about 13 groups of about 70 people, who pick a theme and create a show (about seven minutes long) to go along with it. Past themes have been gold rushers, fairy tales, nightmares, Robin Hood, Harry Potter, and skeletons. It's so much fun! During exam weeks, there's a tradition of going outside the library at midnight and yelling for as long and as loud as possible, appropriately known as the Midnight Yell. People, especially seniors, like to jump into the fountains the night before graduation or sometime during exam week.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is one of the cheapest private schools in America, and considering the fantastic professors, state-of-the-art facilities, beauty of the campus, small classes, and research opportunities, among many other things, you get a LOT of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do here! There's a lot going on in Birmingham, especially with live music and theater, and there are also good museums and parks as well as a dollar movie theater. On campus, there are sorority and fraternity dances and parties throughout the year, raves, plays and musicals, football and other sports games, tailgating on the Quad, clubs, service sororities and fraternities, and a million other activities.

    Food and Dining

    As college cafeterias go, ours is good. After a while, the food gets old and you miss your mom's cooking, but you'd also get tired of your favorite restaurant if you ate there for 2+ meals per day. Their grilled cheeses are to die for. There's always a lot of different kinds of food, so you have lots of choices. With a meal plan, you get $130 worth of Bulldog Bucks which you can use in the food court and coffee shop, and you can always add more money to your card. The food court has a Chik-fil-A and several other mini-restaurants, including an Italian one and a sub sandwich one, and there are of course a bunch of individually-sized snacks and drinks as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, and they're in the process of building new dorms which will have four single rooms in a suite with a small kitchen and living room. Freshman dorms aren't the greatest, but there have been a lot of renovations done on them in the last few years, so as freshman dorms go, they're pretty nice too. Freshman halls have sister and brother halls, which makes it a little easier to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends some on your major--some are more academically difficult than others. That said, the vast majority of professors here do expect you to do your best work and to study, so don't expect to slack off and not to come to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to campus at least once. Stay with a student overnight and go to at least one class--in your prospective major or in the university's core curriculum, or both. Eat in the Caf (our cafeteria).

    In three sentences

    Samford has been a breath of fresh air to me. There's so much to do here so there's something for everyone. I've found an absolutely fantastic group of friends and have amazing, helpful professors.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say Samford is great for all students as long as they offer what you want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have these 100 steps that you take a picture at when you are a freshman and then you walk all 100 steps to commission and then when you are a senior you have your last commission and walk down all 100 steps.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford seems to have it all. Its inviting, the people are friendly, it has many oppurtunities, and there are plenty of new people to meet.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out with friends by the fountain or play frisbee in the quad area.

    Tips for prospective students

    To visit the campus and get the feel of what it would really be like to go there.

    In three sentences

    The community is nice and inviting. The campus is beautiful. It feels like some place I could see myself living at for the next four years of my life.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe, alcohol and drug free campus 99.99% of the time.

    Greek Life

    Still developing, very small in number.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club/group for literally just about anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Faithful Christians, hard workers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The food court is amazing. It's where you will live freshman year.

    What to do for fun

    Live concerts monthly on campus, downtown birmingham museums, sports team (amateur and experienced), art clubs, choirs, orchestras, a jazz band, wind ensemble, hiking, you name it.

    Food and Dining

    Great meal plans, otherwise, meals can be pricy on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Decent dorms, even better student apartments for upperclassman.

    Academic Rigor

    Try out one of Samford's many elective courses even if it's not in your major. You may very well discover something you really enjoy that would have never found otherwise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and be a sociable as possible freshman year with everyone, teachers included. It will make your whole experience easier and more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Great school, filled with serious, caring, thorough professors. Classes can be difficult, but highly rewarding. It's easy for non christians to feel a little out of place since it is a southern baptist school, but the general population is very happy.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Can't wait to learn more at the local preview day here soon!

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus Life and Greek Life provide lots of on campus events, lots of great restaurants and events in birmingham such as concerts and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the car is pretty repetitive and not the best but the food court offers more options and as does the O Henrys coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    Vail Hall the freshman girl's dorm has great fellowship and wonderful RA's who really invest in the girls and help build relationships within the halls. Quiet and visiting hours are strict but appreciated when trying to sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging work but the teachers are there to support you if needed, making it possible to be successful with hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tips would be to try the food in the caf, and also to talk to your academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus filled with wonderful people. Teachers who truly care about there students and a great learning environment. There are also many opportunities to get involved in the birmingham area.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    serious students who want a safe and semi-religious atmosphere

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bulldog walk before football games

    What to do for fun

    Frisbee on the Quad and Bulldog Football!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and be willing to try new things!

    In three sentences

    At Samford, the professors care about you and they are very accessible. Everyone here cares about my academics and integrity. As a bonus, the campus setting is beautiful!

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Climbing Reid Chapel! Do it at least once. And bring a Sharpie so you can write your name on it. Also, jump in the fountain at some point. You're not supposed to, but again.. just do it for the experience. Get lost in the music building too. The music majors get enjoyment out of people having no clue where they are.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is expensive. I know. But it is wonderful. The relationships I have with people and with teachers here is completely worth it. Leaving for the winter and summer is one of the hardest things to do. You get used to the super close environment.

    What to do for fun

    Samford is in Birmingham. We have 3 or 4 malls, clubs (if that is your thing), Yogurt Mountain (the best place ever), and of course just the awesomeness of Samford's campus.

    Food and Dining

    People say the caf food is not good. Granted, the caf food is not anything like your home cooking you normally get. However, compared to most schools, I feel like our caf is good. Yes, you will get tired of chicken and pizza. Yes, the salad bar lady will probably scare you. However, on average, it is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    If you have the right roommate, any dorm is fine. I had Vail as a Freshman and am now in Beeson Woods (specifically Ethel). I have loved both environments, but have heard positive and negatives about any dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, this can vary. As a Music Education major, I am in 11 classes and am constantly going. I know some people with just 5 classes who don't have it nearly as bad. I love my classes, because I know they are preparing me for my major. However, that does not make them less difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get your convocation credits as soon as possible! They are a drag to get after your Freshman year. Don't do stupid things just because you are away from home, keep in mind you go to a religiously affiliated school. Put yourself out there! It is easy to find a close group of friends if you find people who are interested in what you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Samford University is a beautiful school. The classes are challenging, but you can tell the professors care for each student. The curriculum is designed to get you the most prepared for your major that you can be.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The mission of the Samford University Department of Public Safety and Emergency Management is to protect the life and property of all people of the Samford University community. Our goal is to enhance the quality of life of the University by providing a safe and secure campus through professional service and proactive crime prevention. To create an environment where students, faculty, and staff can conduct their daily business without the threat of physical or psychological harm. These responsibilities are to be met with the integrity and demeanor consistent with the Christian values of the University. We hope to promote an atmosphere of safety, peace, and tranquility enabling the University community to focus on providing and attaining an education of the highest quality

    Clubs and Activities

    The Office of Student Activities and Campus Events is dedicated to providing a diverse calendar of campus activities and programs to provide all students with opportunities to engage in socially fulfilling experiences that offer opportunities for leadership, campus involvement, and personal development that ultimately result in a sense of value and belonging within the Samford community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Samford University family is proud of our history and tradition as the 87th oldest university in the United States. From large university-wide celebrations like Homecoming and the fierce competition of Step Sing to small personal traditions like rubbing Major Davisâ?? nose for luck; we cling to our red and blue and cheer for our Bulldogs.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is a very expensive private school to attend but I believe that with all things in life, the better quality you buy, the longer it will last. That's why I believe that it will pay off in the end because the education that I gain from this experience will last the rest of my life and Samford's atmosphere will shine through me.

    What to do for fun

    There are many athletic sports to be involved with, may clubs in general to be a member of, and a beautiful campus to explore.

    Food and Dining

    Their food services are exceptional compared to other colleges. They have a wide variety, its fresh and hot, and their checkout line is fast. They offer Chick-fil-A, which is superb. They are definitely at the top of the list for colleges that serve good food and have a lot of options!!

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally had the experience of living in a Samford dorm, but I have heard from other students that they are clean, have well kept maintenance, and very enjoyable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Samford does expect students to maintain certain, rather high, GPAs and scored to be accepted into their programs. You can be accepted unconditionally or conditionally, meaning that if you are unconditionally accepted- you must meet a certain GPA to stay in the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you log into your Bulldog mail account daily to get update and emails from teachers. Make sure that you take advantage of their financial aid specialists.

    In three sentences

    Samford is a beautiful, well kept, student friendly, christian atmosphere that is very welcoming. Their teachers make themselves more than available and willing to help all students. The school is highly recommended for education advancement and is an accredited private school.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 campus safety watch. Although there have been incidents in the past, Samford is constantly working to improve it's flaws and students these days have an overall sense of safety.

    Greek Life

    Great, but not as active with independents as wanted, although the fraternities and sororities are like family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a fairly vast amount of things to do on campus (Step-Sing time aside).

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, individual, typically more artsy students go to Samford (athletes aside) but there is a great mix of character on the university's campus. All the more freeing to be yourself!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanging of the Green, Lighting of the Way, and Step-Sing (ESP Step-Sing) are Samford's main traditions. If you're more of a homecoming person, I'd wait a few years because we haven't figured that one out just yet, although the sports family is close-knit and games are great!

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is a very expensive school with many perks like the caf and the beautiful landscaping of the property but it goes without saying, that $40,000 a year hurts!

    What to do for fun

    Once again, there are SOOO many things to do on campus and nearby. Just look around for signs, ask someone, or go on the university website and you'll find tons of things to do!

    Food and Dining

    The caf is great and so are the staff! Be sure to be friendly and they'll treat you like family!

    Dorm Life

    Some halls are close knit but honestly there is somewhat of a diversity issue. Be the one to change that!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but rewarding classes with some great teachers when you choose the right one!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study every day! Samford is a school bent on challenging and broadening students' minds- be prepared!

    In three sentences

    Student activities are great; there are lots of things to do on and around campus. Room and board is not-so-great; sometimes things can get... complicated. The caf and food court are also great, along with many of the staff and teachers here; overall, Samford is a small, close-knit, great school, just not for everyone.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Samford is definitely pricey. That being said, Samford is worth every penny you spend. The faculty and students are simply one of a kind.

    What to do for fun

    Birmingham, Alabama offers many different things to do for fun. My favorite thing to do is run, and there are multiple running trails withing a few miles of campus. There are also many restaurants nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall at Samford. The food is all prepared from scratch by Chef Chris Vizzina. Chef Vizzina has worked in multiple well-known restaurants around the country and truly loves working for Samford. He has a passion for cooking that is very evident. The food is really good compared to many other universities.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Samford are not near as bad as many other colleges and universities. They are inviting and are located in beautiful buildings!

    Academic Rigor

    Samford is a very academically challenging university. It is so important to learn how to balance your academic and extracurricular activities. As a student athlete, I have definitely learned the value of time-management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Samford University has so many awesome opportunities for getting involved, so keep an eye out! Don't take your senior year in high school for granted and work super hard. It will definitely pay off when you get to college. Upon visiting Samford, take an hour to walk around the campus. I promise you will fall in love with it!

    In three sentences

    Samford University is an absolutely wonderful school. I have been so blessed to go here for three years now. The professors truly strive for their students to succeed in and out of the classroom!

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic!

    In three sentences

    Samford has a great campus, beautiful buildings, and a wonderful open courtyard. I always feel welcome! The admissions recruiters are all very helpful!

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wealthy, of high standards and class, sophisticated, and well rounded students

    Bang for the buck

    Samford has a price tag on it that will make your wallet cry but its well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is available, SGA and many more organizations for all kinds of people.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Caf is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories aren't as modern looking on the outside but once you get in and experience the life of a college student, you wouldn't want to leave.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is one of the best in the South so, as far as academics, Samford doesn't play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head in the books and your heart on God.

    In three sentences

    Samford is a beautiful school with many attractions to be admired by the human eye. It has two chapels for the full Christian experience, many building that have multiple artwork inside and the food there is great. After visiting Samford for a college visit during my junior year in high school, i'm hooked.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the Ham (Birmingham); play Zombies in Brooks; get your picture taken with Mr. Beeson; hammock, read, play frisbee, lay out on the Quad; climb a tree and maybe you'll find one of the nets to lay in while you're up there; go to a coffee shop and just relax; go shopping and eat at the Galleria; or even hike at Oak Mountain 20 or 30 minutes up the road!

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here! I wish they would give us more bulldog bucks though. The Caf doesn't serve breakfast on weekends so that is a little inconvenient. The food court also closes Friday evening around 4:00 and is closed on Sundays.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are closely located to everything but all of the other dorms aren't. The walls are thin so you have to be very respectful of quiet hours and the hot water randomly stops working on occasion. You also have to supply your own toilet paper and soap in non-community bathrooms. Don't get me wrong though, I love dorm life! I've become good friends with some of my hall mates and wouldn't trade this experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect your very best. Some are hard graders, some aren't. Most classes give out 4-credit homework, even if it isn't a 4 credit class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! All freshmen are in the same boat as you. Also, don't stress over CA and CP; remember, every single student has to take those classes.

    In three sentences

    I am so glad I chose to attend college here at Samford University! The students are friendly and the teachers actually care about you and want you to succeed. I love everything about Samford, honestly.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel in danger on campus. They will even come and jump-start your car for you if it dies in the parking deck.

    Greek Life

    They say that 30% of the student population is Greek. Sometimes it feels more, sometimes less, it just depends on if it is Rush week or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Non-Profits, and Clubs just to name a few. There is even a video-game team.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard Working, Out Going, and High Functioning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Step Sing--This song and dance show put on by students in the middle of February. Shows practice for a maximum of 40 hours, and put on hilarious and talented shows for three days. It is truly amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is expensive, but I have never felt like I was paying to much to go to Samford. The campus is beautiful, the professors are wonderful, and I know I am getting my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do on campus, so many in fact, that saying no is extremely hard to do. There are clubs and groups, as well as free activities and concerts all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is an adventure. The staff can be scary, and the food isn't always perfect, but if you are creative, you can always find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Yes, Vail and Smith are the freshmen style dorms, with showers that don't always work, and paint that peels off of the walls. However, I have made more friends surviving in Vail than anywhere else on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Samford has the University Fellows Program, and honors program that focuses on the Socratic Method of learning. It is a prestigious honors program that only 40 out of the 330 applicants are admitted into per year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, Samford is expensive, but look for as many scholarships as possible, and the financial aid office is more than happy to help you.

    In three sentences

    Samford is absolutely an amazing place to get your undergraduate degree. It is a small school community with the amenities and opportunities of a large school. I love Samford, and would rate it as very high quality.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dollar theater, regular theater, go to an event on campus, drive to the beach, bowling, clubbing, drinking, hiking, you can always find stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    I hope you like chicken and potatoes. Sometimes they'll have good options. Not a tone of vegetarian choices but you can ask for soy milk or veggie burgers.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you go to class and pay attention you shouldn't have too much trouble studying for tests and getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grades are really important if you want to keep your scholarships. Don't be stupid and waste a year. Get help learning how to study, get a tutor, actually study, and show up to class.

    In three sentences

    Small, private, baptist college. Not very progressive. Supposedly dry campus, but there is still drinking and some drugs.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Samford is a beautiful campus! Everyone is so nice & friendly when you go to tour the campus!! I love the size of the campus!!

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Quite safe, I have never felt scared or threatened. When you do need campus safety though, they take their time getting to you.

    Clubs and Activities

    sororities and frats are the main clubs and most activities are religious based

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Step Sing. It is a singing/dancing show that happens once a year. People talk about it all the time all year long. Also, there is a statue on the front lawn that your tour guide will likely rave about, but no one actually cares about it.

    Bang for the buck

    You could get just as good of an education at a much cheaper public school. Having Samford on your resume is not going to be terribly impressive.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on campus for fun. There are some good malls, restaurants, and a movie theater within 20 minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Poor. There is only one cafeteria and it has the same food every day. The UC has a a subpar sandwich place, and downright gross Mexican and Italian food. The only good part is the Chik Fil A. The meal plans are a ripoff and the people who work in the caf are rude.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are tiny and have community bathrooms. The upperclassmen dorms are slightly nicer, but only one building has apartment style homes. None of them have much private space.

    Academic Rigor

    Not academically rigorous at all. Coming from a college prep school, classes are a breeze. 80%+ of applicants get in. It is probably on par with or less rigorous than your local state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the tour, take an overnight visit, visit the campus on your own, go to open houses, talk to current and former students, and read reviews.

    In three sentences

    Not worth the money. Not good for people who consider themselves to be mature or independent in any way. Focus of the school is not academics.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dining and go see a movie.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs offered at Samford are challenging and inspire critical thinking.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Samford is located in a safe neighborhood and has a present campus security force around campus. However, you always need to be aware and smart.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is healthy on campus, but there is a good balance between greeks and independents.

    Clubs and Activities

    Samford has all sorts of clubs, just pick!

    Great for these types of students

    Curious, Serious, Relational, and Spiritual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each Christmas, there is Lighting of the Way, with concerts, food, and all the Christmas lights on the campus get turned on. It's magical.

    Bang for the buck

    Samford is a private university, and thus fairly expensive, but compared to other private universities, I think Samford offers a great education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Birmingham has a lot of fun and interesting activities, and Samford is perfectly located for these. From the iconic Vulcan, to the historic Civil Rights Museum, to the fabulous restaurants in Five Points, to the numerous state parks- Birmingham has got a lot to offer!

    Food and Dining

    Chef Vizzina is fantastic! Caf meals are typically well done and the food court allows many options. O'Henry's Coffee is also great.

    Dorm Life

    Living in Vail freshman year afforded me some great memories and lifelong friendships. I highly recommend going into freshman dorm life with an open mind and enthusiastic outlook. Beeson Woods and Greek housing can be a bit hit or miss. West campus apartments are really nice- and really expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The undergrad business, nursing, education, and music departments are incredibly competitive and rigorous. There are also highly ranked graduate programs at Samford, and the university is adding even more graduate programs in the future. Overall, Samford encourages each student to think critically, but different departments have varying reputations of difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good grades in high school, be a lifelong learner, and be involved in your community- all of these will help you get the most out of Samford.

    In three sentences

    Samford is a great university! It's location, academics, and extracurricular are some of the best in the Southeast. Plus, there is a real sense of community at Samford that is hard to find elsewhere.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My tour guide told me that the biggest safety concern that has occurred in a few years was when a snake was in the middle of a walkway and a police officer was called to remove it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who value their faith and making deep friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nearly everyone I have met from Samford has mentioned Step Sing. Students group together into teams and design sing and dance number along with costumes. This is a huge competition and my tour guide told me that even professors lighten up on the workload during the Step Sing season! Connections is an event in which new students get together and are shown around campus and around the surrounding Birmingham area there is also a concert given on the quad.

    What to do for fun

    I've heard about swing dancing every Friday night on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Chick-fil-A on campus along with a coffee cafe which has been voted by students to surpass Starbucks. I went into the cafeteria and the menu all looked very delicious. There was a salad bar, sandwich bar, and a section devoted to home-style cooking. My guide also told me that if there is a type of food that you really would like to eat, you can make a suggestion and the staff would cook it. She also told me that the pizza was top notch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I visited were very clean and were in a good location on campus. Freshmen are required to live on campus. There are separate men's and women's dorms which I know many parents prefer. This is also not a surprise since it is a college affiliated with the Southern Baptist Church. I am not bothered by this.

    Academic Rigor

    I hear that academics are taken seriously but I cannot give my own opinion. My department of interest, the Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education has been nationally recognized of academic excellency.

    Tips for prospective students

    As I am not yet a college student, I would give generic advice and say to study and try hard in class. Show up for class. Do not skip class.

    In three sentences

    The campus is lovely and staff that I have met so far are very friendly. The atmosphere seems to be very welcoming and accepting. The campus is located in a wonderful part of Birmingham.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural Sports are a really big thing, as is Step-Sing, our yearly musical show performed by many different groups.

    Food and Dining

    The caf offers many different specials in an all you can eat buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    The students are amazing and the dorms are beautiful...if you're not a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be difficult, but know that your professors are here to help you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the teachers. Get to know them. They actually care about you and want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Samford University is fantastic in every way. I love the students that attend it, and the professors genuinely care about the students. It's the best decision I've ever made to attend Samford.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of variety available, just the Caf and the Food Court. The Caf is mediocre institutional dining at best.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a lot of variety of dorms available. They have just built some new apt-style housing, which is a big improvement.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are academically challenging. An A at Samford really is an A, and is hard to get. Samford uses the A,A-,B+,B,B-,C+ etc. grading system.

    In three sentences

    Samford has an excellent reputation all around the state. They offer very good internship and job opportunities. The class sizes are small, so you really get to know your teachers.

  • 08/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!!!!

    In three sentences

    Samford University is a dream school. The environment is breathtakingly encouraging and supportive while maintaining beauty and sophistication. The surrounding area of Birmingham is wonderful for hanging out and getting away for a while. Overall, incredibly impressed with the campus and the people on it.