Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

San Diego Christian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/09/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    On fire for God.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your detemined on staying strong for your faith then this is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    don't let money stop you from getting an education.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's right in the middle of everything, beaches, town, shops,etc.

    Will learn a lot

    This school seems to be willing to give you the advantages and help you need and want.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Expensive but a good school

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BEACH! Beaches around us are about half an hour away not too bad! A few people go to a mountain behind our school and hike every now n then!

    Food and Dining

    We get three meals a day! Caf food is great!

    Dorm Life

    For girls there will always be drama, you will never be free of it! But for guys it is really chill! Do not think you will be getting to bed at a decent hour people are up wayyy tooo late!

    Academic Rigor

    SDCC is probably THE most relaxed school. Not too strict in classes, but more strict about not having shoes on, or not allowed to wear hats in chapel. Not bad at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect having amazing professors, the english and science professors are not great. Bible professors are amazing! The Psychology advisor is wonderful too! If you want your faith in God to grow this is definitely the place for you!!

    In three sentences

    San Diego Christian College has a great Christian environment, loving people and great community.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Online Student

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Christian who put Jesus Christ above everything in your life, and is willing to incorporate bible teaching into your major of study, then this is the best undergrad school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Online Student

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    Online Student

    Food and Dining

    Online Student

    Dorm Life

    Online Student

    Academic Rigor

    Thus far I've managed to keep my GPA at a 4.0 range. However, that does not mean the class material is a walk in the park. At SDCC you may find some courses to be easy, while others quite challenging. Be prepared to read large sums of material, participate in weekly discussions boards, complete essays, take online test, and type numerous pages in APA format.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great Christian college trust me when I say, you have found the right one. SDCC is a bible based college that not only teach the love of God, but also live by its principles.

    In three sentences

    Currently I'm a Human Development APS student at San Diego Christian College. I have nothing but good things to report. To sum it up I will use the word, Outstanding!

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many fun activities around campus throughout the week and weekend, so its easy to get involved and go out and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly believe that the food could be better somedays but for the most part it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very nice, and it is also veery family oriented.

    Academic Rigor

    The only academic challenge with in the school would be that we need a bigger I library.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend taking a campus tour of the school, and sitting in one or two classes to get a fell of the school.

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student, I transfered in as a junior, and so far it has been a great experience. I would have to rate this school at a 9 ten being highest because, they have a loving passion for there students and proving a great education.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security staff!

    Clubs and Activities

    Downtown San Diego.

    What to do for fun

    Sea World, San Diego Zoo, the beaches, and many other attractions are only 15-20 minutes away from the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining for the most part is above average, but at times it can be excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I hear that student life in the dorms is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but at the same time very rewarding!

    Tips for prospective students

    If your are looking for smaller classes were you can interact with your professors and classmates then this is your school. Classes are small, but yet very informative with professors who are dedicated to your success!

    In three sentences

    Outstanding faculty and a great environment!

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although there is not much in El Cajon specifically, there is much to do in the neighboring cities such as San Diego, Santee and Point Loma. It is around a fifteen minute drive to Mission Beach.

    Food and Dining

    In all honesty it just depends on the day of the week whether the food is good or not. A good rule of thumb is that lunch is by far the best meal of the day, meals on the weekend are usually not worth eating. A great suggestion would be to grocery shop so if the food is not up to your standards that night you have an alternative

    Dorm Life

    Living with other students brings about a set of challenges, but the school tries to make the transition as smooth as possible. As of now there are community bathrooms that are not cleaned by students. A standard room would be a double but single rooms are available upon request.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the professors expect each student to remain truthful, ethical and they expect them to put in effort. The courses are designed to challenge a student but not overwhelm them so much they cannot cope.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upon arrival do not be nervous, each person you pass in the hall is always pleasant to speak with. Be sure to do all the work required by professors and you will never be on their bad sides and school will be simple.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at San Diego Christian is very friendly, it is easy to forget a professor is a teacher and view them as a friend. The professors at the school are very interested in each student and love to go and get coffee with them. In all honesty it is easy to forget that San Diego Christian is a college and not a community or a family; each event at the school, whether it be sports games or a theatrical performance, is accepted and widely attended by both the student body and the faculty

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is awesome for students who get along with others and enjoy close-knit groups. The small size of classes and the student population in general creates an atmosphere of family. It is also good for those who really want to apply themselves to their work; teachers can tend to be biased when it comes to their students, and slackers instantly end up on the bottom of their lists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to involve yourself in the community and its various events! No matter how stupid an activity might sound, you will be surprised how much of a bonding experience every single activity is! Also, be sure to keep up with your studies. This new found freedom and independence is not an excuse to slack off! Scholarships are very important, and your grades will help a great deal with those. Don't be afraid to approach your teachers with any kind of problem; they are there to help you, and not just with your classes. Enjoy life, and enjoy learning!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, yet well worth the cost. I am learning a lot about myself and other people as I attend, besides the required learning that I do in my classes.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of the campus is wonderful! Many teachers are willing to help you achieve your goals as much as possible, and the student body is welcoming and interactive. The dorms are pleasant and safe.

    Am learning a lot

    Much of what I am being taught is review for me. However, I was in advanced classes, so this is to be expected.

  • 12/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes the idea of a small college with a an athmosphere of community; you'll find that here. Especially if you want to keep a God centered education this is the place to be. SDCC is HUGE on missions. So anyone with a heart and desire to work with missions, SDCC offers so many career opportunities, and ministrial opportunities, to be a part of missions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the school with an open mind. Yes, it's a small, Christian college, but you never know what you'll find here. It isn't hard to make friends or get invovled so definitely be open to new frienships and getting involved.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but definitely worth it. Those who work in finance, though, really work hard to help everyone find a way to pay off their schooling. They're willing to help out as much as they can to accomodate every student's needs. Even though it's expensive, I've really learned to manage my money which, in the long run, will benefit anyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am definitely enjoying my time here. Community is a big part of this school and you can definitely see and feel that after only a short few hours on your first day here. The shool is small enough that almost everyone knows everyone, or at least recognizes them, and there's a completely friendly environment.

    Am learning a lot

    There are definitely great teachers here who are willing to take the time to explain things repeatedly and as clearly as possible. The teachers are honest and open and patient. The courses are rigurous and demanding, but because the classes are small there is time to ask questions. You can have one on one help sessions in class. This definitely helps in understanding those tougher classes like pre-cal and biology.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Busy Adult workers...

    Tips for prospective students

    Study well...

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This great for Christian students. They have chapel with worship time and gifted speakers. Most professors begin class with prayer. This is also a good school for students seeking a teaching or aviation career. I have first hand experience of the amazing liberal arts/teachers credential department, and many of the students speak highly of the aviation department.

    Bang for the buck

    For a prospective Christian student it is well worth it. Its a getaway from the totally secularized educational institutes, but also provides excellent academics. Some parts of the school are spiritual in focus, yet other sections of the school are unbiased and purely educational.

    What to do for fun

    They offer a lot of fun opportunities. The college does a lot for its dorm students, but for they also provide special activities and bonuses for those who are commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    There is plenty of work to be had, and challenging exams and quizzes. However, from my experience, if you follow what the professors say and really put effort into your studies and work, you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to speak up, everyone there is ready and willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school. It has understanding and helpful faculty and the overall atmosphere is pleasant. A wonderful place to learn.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security

    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    many things to get envolved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Social and good attitudes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Community games and things to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing .

    What to do for fun

    Go out to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    It's not that great

    Dorm Life

    Its small but loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and faculty care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and push yourself.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. It is a small school. It is Community centered.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    San Diego Christian College is a home away from home. If you are student who is considering living on campus, then San Diego Christian College is the school for you. Most students miss their family when first moving on to campus, but the feel of home is present at San Diego Christian College, which helps the lonely student.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Christian College is a great university for students who are looking to attain a higher education while learning about Christianity. The atmosphere at San Diego Christian College is very welcoming. The professors and students truly share the love of Christ.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government is great

    Great for these types of students

    christian students

    What to do for fun

    hang out

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    great, people are so kind

    Academic Rigor

    you have to have a 2.8 to attend

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study alot

    In three sentences

    San Diego is a great place for a christian to continue their walk with God.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So far my tuition is about the same as it would be at any other school. I believe it would be more if it wasn't on-line.

    What to do for fun

    I attend the school online but I know the San Diego area is wonderful. The weather is beautiful and and so are the beaches.

    Food and Dining

    I attend on-line so I am unable to rate.

    Dorm Life

    I attend online so I am unable to rate.

    Academic Rigor

    I have just started the first class on line and I find it to be very through. There are lots of online support tools to help you succeed. I would give it four stars but I haven't been in the class long enough to really give it a fair rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your thinking about going back to school and need help contract the staff. From day one you get a helpful informative person that will guide you in the process. You don't have to worry to much about contacting different departments for different things. You contact one person and they help you with all your needs.

    In three sentences

    I have just started the Adult program to get my degree on-line. So far the staff at the school have done an excellent job walking me through every step of the process. I would give the school five stars out of five for making the process so easy.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Several Christian groups, missionary groups, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I had lunch here and they had street tacos, which were really good, as of everyday it's catered so I'm sure the rest is also good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the SDCC tour, and be sure to attend chapel :)

    In three sentences

    Really great school, I love the atmosphere of being surrounded by followers of Christ.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every month ASB puts on a event of some sort while the Ra's and Ca's plan fun activities. there also a 2 major bible studies the forge and ester Ruth that meet weekly and a homeless ministry

    Food and Dining

    While the Caff in not the best it gets the job done all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    You have to live on campus your first year at least. You will make all of your friends, and have a fun safe time.

    Academic Rigor

    A few classs will make you ask for more but one your in your major youll love every bit of the late night studing for an exam that next day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know some of the current students visit on visit days, and make sure you pray about it.

    In three sentences

    A great experience for any Christian college student who would like to advance their world view. It is a small nit community of people who car about each other.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food here is not all theat good. The cafe is only open at cerrtain times which at times is a problem. Also there is only one place to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but there is always activties happening. the seperation of men and women allleviates temptation and keeps things drama free. Communal bathrooms but its nit that big of problem.

    Academic Rigor

    Smaller class sizes makes it so much easier for one on one with teachers. Teachers offices are always open to students for help. Your expected to complete alot of work but there is always help from the writing lab and english.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have fun and get involved in things around camous. The intermurals are amazing and competitive. MAke sure you get involved.

    In three sentences

    A small but very good school. There is a enormous sense of community and people are always here when needed. The school is in a prime location next to the freeway and places to eat.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always seen roaming around.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey, but has made my college experience more than enjoyable, and i have grown so much.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout at the coffee shop, or sometimes a group of us will drive a short distance to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Always a great variety, I love when I get to eat at the cafe!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely small, but it has a close knit community, so if your looking for a school with 50+ kids in your class and not knowing any of them, than this school is not for you!

    In three sentences

    I love this school! The professors are so kind and willing to help! The student body as a whole is definitely warm and inviting!

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, its San Diego and for being known as having the best weather, the beach is an awesome spot to hangout. Then, there is also downtown San Diego, malls, Sea World, and other places to chill and get away from the hectic college life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the greatest because first of all there is a lot of salt that goes into the food. The variety of food is not the healthiest and the sometimes the dishes are not fully clean. The dinning area is small so when big group of people come it gets crowded fast.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is fun and a great way to meet new people. However, for being an old school the quality of the dorms is not the greatest, but it is still fun to live in the dorms. What is exciting is that the school campus will be moving to Santee and the dorms will be much better.

    Academic Rigor

    For being small as was mentioned before, there are not many professors, but some of the professors at this school may be experts in their subject, but they are not good at teaching their lessons to their students making it difficult for students to learn and actually understand the important concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should get involved as often as they can because this way they feel apart of the school and the other people involved.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Christian College is a good school for students who like small schools. For being a small school, there is more time for students to get help from professors and what is neat is that these professors care about the student's grades as well as there well being. Overall, it is a tight community that want their students to do well, succeed, as well as be apart of a community.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and about to be safer. State of the art architecture is what's in store for the new campus, and it will be located in the newly-reformed city of Santee, with city patrol units circling the streets 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life. This is a private school with a religious based faculty/curriculum.

    Clubs and Activities

    College Division and Intramural sports alike, ASB, and other clubs. Just like any college.

    Great for these types of students

    Wonderful for anyone with a liking of being individualistic. I'm a musician with strong, almost immovable morals, and this place has served me perfectly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really are none when you take into account that we are a private, Christian school. Chapel and prayer.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the only problem I've run into. While I am completely certain that my mind is growing in a proper manner, but the education I am receiving is not worth the debt I'll be in. However, I am a man led by faith, not by dollars, so I am submitting my future to God with the belief that He will instill peace in my financial struggles. But, I digress. The school is far too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    This might be the most fun campus I've ever been on. Pool tables, a private theater, ping-pong, pianos all over the place, et cetera. Very fun campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am judging this rating based on what I have heard, as I have never actually eaten a meal from there.

    Dorm Life

    I am basing my ratings off of what the FUTURE dorms will look like. The current dorms are adequate, however the new campus/dorms are becoming increasingly necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    The only reason I short it one star is the amount of leniency between individual teachers. The academic work is obviously strenuous, but certain professors could be stricter in order to ensure maximum educational saturation.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a big university and I can assure you that you will not receive the same collegiate experience as most other colleges. With a small student body centered around building lives around Christ, this school welcomes anyone with a relationship with God, or almost more importantly, anyone who wants one.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Christian College is a beautiful institution. The academia is that of a liberal arts college, but it is distinctive with its motivational faculty. It is unlike any school I've heard of, and its unique, albeit unorthodox, methodology is refreshing, constructive, and revolutionary.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school always puts on a lot of activities. Unfortunately I am never around to participate but a lot of people tell me that they are fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food to me is decent. A little pricey for a meal plan and what you get.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is alright. I never really stayed in the dorms because I was a transferring junior.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers. They are always there for you when you need help. For athletes they are great with understanding that you have games and practices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus first to see if you like it. The campus is fairly small and all the classes are withing walking distance. Its a great atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    This school practices good Christian values. It allows for growth as a Christian and welcomes new Christians. The school as a welcoming staff members and students.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty set back away from the public, but there are no gates or fences. Not sure if they have security or not

    Clubs and Activities

    Music, Drama, other stuff

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want a God-centered education.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a beautiful campus, and they seem pretty serious about schoolwork. Excellent as far as private schools go.

    What to do for fun

    Well, it's in San Diego, so plenty! Beaches, the world famous San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Belmont Park, Old Town, surfing, kayaking, and quite a few other things.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten there, so I really can't say. It's in Santee though, home of Phil's BBQ, Chick-Fil-A, Buffalo Wild Wings, and many other great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I assume it's good. It is, however, about a mile or two off campus. So if you have a car, it shouldn't be an issue, but if you don't, they run shuttles all day to and from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They seem pretty serious about academics.

    In three sentences

    Great Christian atmosphere, very friendly people, and a beautiful brand new campus. I can't wait to start going here.