Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

San Diego City College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. San Diego City College is one of the most diverse schools around.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor as soon as you can, classes are limited and a student can only sign up for 16 units per semester.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be vigilant when walking at night especially, always walk with someone or make sure you can defend yourself. I have never had any porblems but it is Downtown so don't get too comfortable.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Know what is out there, ask around, make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right in the heart of downtown, lots to see lots to do.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth the investment, but don't waste your time, see a counselor, make an educational plan, get involved and make it count.

    What to do for fun

    Join student clubs and awareness groups, it will help to get a feel for the campus as well as creating a network of fellow students so that you can stay involved an motivated in you courses.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and student store offer a wide variety of food and snacks, stick the the fresh stuff though, the junk food is tempting but it will only slow you down and empty your wallet!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, there is a lot of street parking but you must work to find it, always leave enough time to find parking, even with a parking pass.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's expect that we will transfer to a 4-year university and so they hold at the same standard, be vigilant about assignments and quality of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early! The budget cuts are hitting us hard, complete all necessary admissions and financial aid forms before the beginning of the semester to avoid long lines and over worked clerks.

    In three sentences

    I have attended San Diego City College for two years and in that time I have enjoyed not only the quality of fine professors and staff but also the LRC resources and sense of community that is offered by City's diverse campus life.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to see any criminal activities. I was told that this school likes to fight alot.

    Greek Life

    Hillcrest has a great Greek food restaraunt.

    Clubs and Activities

    San Diego City College has clubs, yet I do not go to any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Many of the students are hispanic and cross the border to take advantage of America's great education system. This just goes to show one of the reason's why America is so great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small yet luscious garden located just outside of the campus library.

    Bang for the buck

    San Diego City College has the best breakfast for only 5 dollars! Also, Balboa Park is known for all of its beautiful museums in which California residents can go to for free on Tuesdays.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is located in downtown, you can eat and shop around the busy streets. You can go to the beach, Sea World, Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, and the Mexican border is only 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    San Diego City College has by far in my opinion, the best breakfast ever! The prices of the food is reasonably affordable. If your looking to eat outside the school complex, you will find many different restaurants available.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at San Diego City College is not provided. However, the college is located in downtown San Diego where many places to live are located.

    Academic Rigor

    I graduated High School in 2007, and joined the Marine Corps for 4 years. Getting back into my previous education patterns from High School was hard. My math teacher showed no mercy for my troubles, and I had to study hard in order to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you feel like you are having trouble passing classes, or financial issues. San Diego City College provides counselors that will support you all the way.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is full of caring teachers, and friendly students. The school provides good educational resources at the library, and personal tutors upon request. Upon graduating my first semester, I realized how much my teachers have positively influenced my way of thinking.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students who wish to learn rather than just attend class and get passing grades

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes ASAP and pay attention to deadlines because space is limited and students are only allowed to take a maximum of 16 units per semester

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive and totally worth the money

    Am enjoying being here

    Very diverse campus with people from all around the world

    Am learning a lot

    Many great teachers who want the students to learn and succeed

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    explore the city

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    show up everyday. learn everything you can. do your best.

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy going to this school. it's helpping reach my goal. i have to rate this school a 10 out of 10.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    from the orientation, it sounds like they aim to make everyone successful in their nursing program.

    In three sentences

    the school is conveniently located near my home. their nursing program has a high success rate in taking the nclex. the teachers seem friendly and available when needed.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have seen school police escort girls to their cars at night. I can only assume they do it for a reason. Its probably not the best idea to walk alone in the city after 10pm.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has plenty of clubs to join and a great athletics program.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for all students looking to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great school for a low price.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the city, go to a museum, park, or maybe watch a baseball game. check out http://www.sandiego.org/discover/downtown.aspx

    Food and Dining

    Downtown San Diego has great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but there are many cheap apartments in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your choice of classes, If you decide to take the best classes you will be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, meet new people and make as many friends as possible. Sign up for classes early, they fill up fast. A good impression with your teachers will help you out immensely.

    In three sentences

    Its a very diverse school with a lot of very nice people. The Teachers genuinely care for the students and want them to succeed. Great education for a very low price.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to learn in an environment that is incredibly versatile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan accordingly!

    In three sentences

    It is a school that's diversity surpasses any of the schools in Southern California. Location makes it a beautiful and convenient place to study. Review your professors online and you will have a great time.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Great for these types of students

    Public transit commuters, those living downtown, and those getting their gen eds done, or those just looking for extra curricular classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Especiallly with a tuition and fee waiver, this college is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do for fun around and on the campus. It's next to downtown San Diego, and also Balboa Park, so the nightlife and daytime activities are almost endless. With just a little travel, by car, or by the extensive public transit, you can also get to other parts of the city, including the beaches.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining are limited to a small cafeteria and coffee shop, with one dining area. The coffee is starbucks, but the food isn't that great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the campus of this san diego college.

    Academic Rigor

    San Diego City isn't particularly tough or easy. Instructors are good and assign a decent amount of homework, though not too much either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting into classes is tough, so register as early as you can. Also, make sure you can get to your classes on time: Because of the architecture and layout of the campus and its terrain, it can be difficult to get from one class to another, and tiring.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is a crowded campus. Getting into classes is tough if you are trying to crash them, too. San Diego Mesa College is nicer.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    students tend to do cultural events every semester. on which the language department serves a variety of food, and cultural dances. students also tend to be very supported on civil right movements, on which we learn a lot about our society, but we also have fun collaborating for a better environment.

    Food and Dining

    the food is adequate, they have some really good burgers. the food prices are a bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor depends on the professor. although in general, the grading method is very adequate for students, because it allows them to have time for themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    before selecting a class consult prospective students about professors that teaches that certain course. don't be afraid to ask question, and always consult your counselor.

    In three sentences

    professors are always willing to help you. the library is the most appropriate place to study. students are always participating on civil right movements.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 star

    Greek Life

    no info on that

    Clubs and Activities

    5 star no wait 6 star

    Great for these types of students

    everyone is welcome here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    just learning myself ill let you know more later

    Bang for the buck

    5 star school is amazing inexpensive with all the financial aid out there. go and get it.

    What to do for fun

    get involved with everything you like they offer so much your sure to find something. getting involved leads you to the next journey. good luck!!

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food never tasted or looked so good 5 stars.

    Dorm Life

    im not staying at a dorm so no info for you there

    Academic Rigor

    i would say 5 star cause they want the best for you

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early for everything so you dont have wait on anything. its too easy to get it done and still make changes later if you need to. dont let not knowing exactly what you want keep you from getting started.

    In three sentences

    amazingly easy to get started even if you have not attended in a long time. way easier processing for student needs and financial aid assistance than 30 years ago (when i last went) dont wait any longer go to school.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many as you can!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of people it is a school filled up with a diversity type of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SOME religions like to pray on any grassy areas and kneel down on the flag.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very cheap community college! No more than 5,000 dollars per year or way much less depending on how may units you get. Out of state students pay about triple the amount though so watch out!

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of things to do for fun but some are running, joining clubs, sports or extracurricular activities. Some groups of friends like to hang out and dance for people to watch. It's amazing how well they dance!

    Food and Dining

    Great food everyday something different you can eat. School is located in a very touristic are so you can also go to almost any fast food, restaurant or even grocery store!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All the staff is always willing to help and make your college experience more fun. Teachers are very nice but keep their personal life distance away from students. Tutors willing to help you out but don't do the work for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important things to do before formally attending this college would be to come visit and explore the different buildings and classrooms to help get an idea of where your classes are located. Also learn about the different programs that you can join and benefit from them. Finally learning to communicate with others of different ethnicity's and cultures.

    In three sentences

    A school containing friendly people with a variety of cultures religions and styles. Nice but strict teachers of which explain their lectures more than well. Recycling and clean environment located close to a beautiful ocean view!

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Your right next to downtown san diego

    Food and Dining

    havent tried it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get the classes you want. leave your house early to find parking.

    In three sentences

    I love it! its only getting better with construction or new buildings. The teachers are great!

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some incidents on campus, such a student deaths, despite the fact that downtown San Diego is the most patrolled police area in San Diego.

    Great for these types of students

    Lower income students, Veterans, and those who would like to improve upon not so great high school grades before transfering.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the cost of attending state and UC nowadays, this is a really good option for those who cannot afford 4 years at a big university. The school has a contract with San Diego state and UCSD, so if you complete the AA degree requirements you're almost guaranteed admission.

    What to do for fun

    It's San Diego, so there is beaches and the night life. Especially in the gas lamp area.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown and next a lot of expensive restaurants. Better off bringing your own lunch from home

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are what can be expected at any Cal-state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan. Talk to a counselor. Don't stay here for more than 2 years.

    In three sentences

    A decent school. Provides the essentials. Does what it's intended to do.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Don't sell your books to the bookstore, they don't pay much- sell them on e-bay or something. Enroll and buy your books early from somewhere cheap, like Amazon. The bookstore is expensive. They reserve a large portion of your student aid in a bookstore account, but don't use it. All the money left in that account will be disbursed to you by check or direct deposit in a couple months.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends, students are friendly.

    Food and Dining

    It's certainly convenient, it's right there, but it is not cheaper. I've also got some weird food here. I remember getting a quesadilla from the cafeteria- it had black olives, broccoli and carrots, or a teriyaki rice bowl with vegetables still frozen. You never know.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at San Diego City College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the orientation; classes are already full months before school begins; the English and Math classes fill first and fast; You must apply for an enrollment appointment, which takes weeks to receive; If you need help, go to the tutorial (or learning) center Mon-Thurs. 9-6p.m., Fri 9-1; even if you are on the roster, many online classes mandate an orientation, and you will be dropped if you don't attend. If you wait to do things at school until one or two weeks before school begins you will probably regret it. Procedures and schedules change.

    In three sentences

    I really appreciated the Mon-Fri., 9-6 p.m. tutoring, I only wish there were more tutors at times. Enrolling was frustrating and and the system is so fragmented, I just wish I attended the orientation. I have met many of the counselor, especially the first semester, and still have not found them to be very helpful.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good safety because the campus works directly with the police.Also, it has an emergency service for sick students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities on the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is inter-school league that students have funny in different ways such as Football, basketball,music etc...

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria in which student buy food and drink. All students get discount when they purchase something. Their service are well organized.

    Dorm Life

    All student live off campus. But the office of students service are open all five business days. There are some office like, Transfer center: This help student with the application for a four years college or university, it also help student choosing the right class before they submit their transfer application. Student affair, is assisting student in many different service, like scholarship, joining club etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    There is an office for all first year college student which provides support to all students who are in their first year at San Diego City College. After applying to City College all new students are required to contact the that office to schedule their mandatory Math and English assessments, New Student Orientation and first semester planning sessions.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is a multicultural institution committed to providing open access to all who can benefit from instruction and to meeting the diverse and ever-changing educational, cultural, and economic needs of the urban core and surrounding communities of San Diego. It also has a good freshmen service.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    San Deigo City College being a diversed campus, recognizes and celebrates just about every event you could think of. It is fun and festive.

    Bang for the buck

    Since San Diego City College is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, I suggest the little mom's and pop's joints because the food is cheap and delicious.

    What to do for fun

    San Diego City College is centrally located in beautiful downtown San Diego, where there are unlimited places to go and things to do. You can Google anthing you're in the mood for, and sure enough, your destination is minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has an excellent selection of food and is reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, so I don't think I'm qualified to answer this.

    Academic Rigor

    It's simple... Responsibility and conduct are the key to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor. They will help you map out your educational goal.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is the best way to jump start your educational goals. It's diverse population, is a welcoming mat to all students from all walks of life. My life is on track, and San Diego City College has made this experience one I will never forget.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Living in San Diego, CA there is no shortage of fun things to do. The beach, park, and surround attraction will live you very busy.

    Food and Dining

    Bring your own food or go to one of the restaurant in Downtown San Diego.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing. Its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    People think that because they are going to a community college that the course work will be easier. At City College their education standard are high. This is what makes them one of the leading community colleges in the country. Work hard, study hard, and you will see improvements in your educational ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources that the college has to offer. They have remedly self pace course in math and english for those that need refresher course. They also have a tutoral center with tutors that can help you in any course. They also have an english center to help with writing papers. If you use all the resource available to you, it will help you succeed while at City College and whatever your next endeavor is.

    In three sentences

    The professor at this school have the students well-being as their top priority. The educational standards are top notch with the school routinely winning national educational awards. I worked my way up from receiving my GED, Associate Degree in Science, and was accepted into four CSU school because the help and education I received here gave me the ability to succeed.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a safe place i didn't have any problem and i also didn't here about a huge problem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always do events in the quad and the give the opportunity to students to express their though about the theme of the event.

    What to do for fun

    you can enroll in the ASB and many clubs they are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    they encourage you to study and pass all your clasees.

    Tips for prospective students

    i you have any questions please feel free to ask the staff will always help you don't be to shy they would not do anything to you they just care about you. enroll in many programs you like they will help you a lot.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is a great school i totally recommended. the 3 years that i spend there i was so happy i felt like i was in home. the staff is very respectful and caring they always help me with any problem or question i had.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe because there are always cops and public safety circling around downtown. Just try not to be out walking by yourself at night time...it is down town after all.

    Clubs and Activities

    The girl's basketball team is where it's at!

    What to do for fun

    Beaches, night clubs, baseball games....there are endless possibilities.

    Food and Dining

    Being in the heart of downtown, there is great food everywhere!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you take, but most classes are pretty fun and easy to work through. All you have to do is show up for class, read the material, and pass the test!

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip is do NOT drive if you don't have to. It is so easy to get a parking ticket downtown and there is hardly ever any parking, but luckily the trolley and the buses stop right in front of the school.

    In three sentences

    SDCC is a great school, found right in the heart of downtown; it offers diversity and a real world education right in your own back yard! I love the school, the professors, the people in my classes, and how convenient it is to get to school.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is near downtown, but overall it's pretty safe. It can seem a little scary at night walking to the parking garage however...

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do offer the usual amount of clubs, however I didn't participate in any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    SD City is great for agriculture students because of their urban agriculture program. But mostly just your general student looking to get their GEs out of the way in a timely manner.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    There prices are getting steeper and steeper, but still a whole lot better than a university.

    What to do for fun

    There is Balboa Park right down the street, which has tons of activities such as museums, frisbee golf, dog parks, boccie ball, and much more. Then downtown San Diego has a lot of restaurant and clubs to choose from. Ocean Beach also has a number of music venues and just an awesome community overall. There's the zoo and the water park, and of course, the beach!!

    Food and Dining

    It's in downtown San Diego so your options are endless. Their dining hall has a good selection as well.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    I only went for a single semester, and I took 15 units, but I found that I was absolutely overwhelmed with the amount of work I had to do. Luckily, a lot of their teachers are helpful, and they have a really sweet math lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible. Because of budget cuts class options are quickly dwindling, and more students are choosing community colleges for their first two years, so enroll ASAP because they fill up super fast.

    In three sentences

    SD City is in a prime location, right off the 5 in San Diego, and has a very well designed/compact campus that is easy to navigate. They recently added a parking garage, and they have an urban agriculture program complete with a garden on campus. As with any school, some of the professors aren't too great, but some are absolutely phenomenal!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that has the drive to do it!

    Bang for the buck

    2 yr college that offers all sorts of resources and helps you achieve your degree, transfer, certificate, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Its in downtown there is sooooo much to do, if you ask around you'll find your scene. If you can't find something to do in SD you're a boring person.

    Food and Dining

    Havent eaten there since Summer classes had to be cancelled and they have a lot of construction going on so high hopes!

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    NA I start in Fall 2012

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be honest in what you need to get done and what you want to do for the future--you are in charge and they can't read minds!

    In three sentences

    I feel they go above and beyond t reach out to the community to assist in educating, orffereing education, and resources. They make you feel at home in a sense I really dont feel like a number and they always have a suggestion or at least let me vent so I am not as frustrated. I hope they get more funding again because this Summer 2012 they could not offer any classes!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food of cafeteria is not that good, is better to go to restaurants near the college, there is a variety of places you can choose from, since it's in Downtown.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Put effort in your classes, don't slack off or you'll suffer the consequences.

    In three sentences

    It is a community college that has a lot of diversity, classes aren't that hard if you put effort.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its in downtown, really close to the mall and other places to eat.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap food. Expensive bookstore. Hard to find parking in the morning.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and things to do around every week.

    Food and Dining

    Cheap, fast, and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm available.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professor , checking ratemyprofessor.com has helped me receive the best education by going with the professors that will challenge me the most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check your class locations before hand, it can be a bit tricky because on the floors. The cafeteria food is awesome and cheap.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean. The students and teachers are very friendly. The overall atmosphere all around campus is very comfortable area to be successful in your education.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    believe me you feel safe with the cops on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres a club for EVERYONE

    Great for these types of students

    For ALL types of students

    Bang for the buck

    its fun

    What to do for fun

    Its in Downtown zoo is like 5 min away beach is like 10 min possibilities are endless

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty cheap and good!! especially the grilled cheese sandwich and loaded fries =)

    Dorm Life

    You live at home

    Academic Rigor

    The always have opportunities for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus focus focus

    In three sentences

    I actually feel Appreciated here. School is very low key but awesome. The teachers care about your education not your outfit.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have stepped up the security measures here because they are in downtown

    Clubs and Activities

    student government, sports

    Great for these types of students

    There are counselors available to guide you, but if you are self-disciplined and can pull your own weight this is a good school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value for a community college. Professors are very passionate about what they teach.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few sports teams, but other than that there isn't much on campus..but they are in downtown so there is a lot to do just down the street.

    Food and Dining

    not many options, but it's located in downtown SD so there are many options on surrounding streets.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead!! Do your research, it will pay off in the long run and may save you time and money.

    In three sentences

    Great vocational school with a well established reputation in several college majors like broadcast journalism and graphic design. Excellent value for the money.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's in downtown, which has a lot of places to eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid long lines at the main offices, such as the financial aide office by taking care of your stuff weeks before school starts.

    In three sentences

    The professors in the nursing department are great! Classes are an okay size. The library is a great resource.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High density location makes it safe -- always lots of people around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Extremely multicultural here, so there's a fascinating variety of activities. Since it's a Mexican-American majority campus, there's Chicano movement group.

    Great for these types of students

    Chicano Studies! ESL!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dia de la Muerte is incredible!

    Bang for the buck

    California has the lowest public tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    Computer labs.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes Mexican food stands set up near the cafeteria during lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are fantastically challenging, but others are just babysitting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan way ahead and get first in line -- competition is fierce and classes close fast.

    In three sentences

    Incredible location -- it's right downtown by a public transport center, and next door to Balboa Park! Because of its large ESL student population, there's an English Center that provides tutoring at all levels. Chicano Studies is a specialty.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SDCC has affordable tuition fees and the education you receive at San Diego City College is comparable to other community college campuses.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sites to see in downtown San Diego. The Horton Plaza Mall is a place where students can purchase clothing for reasonable prices. Sea Port village is the spot for a romantic excursion with your significant other. The club scene offers a variety of cultural music and dancing

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve in the cafeteria is freshly prepared,flavorful,satisfying, and they serve large portions. In addition there are various eating establishments.

    Dorm Life

    I am not familiar with life in the dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    Concerning academic rigor SDCC requires an adequate mix of written assignments, lectures, discussions, and assessments to help studuents succeed in learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who plan to attend SDCC should file a timely FASFA application and attend any availabe student orientation and campus tours.

    In three sentences

    Overall in general, I think San Diego City College (SDCC) is an excellent college. SDCC is conviently located in downtown San Diego and is accessible by three different public transport systems. It's location offers students various extra curricular activities.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much one can do since it is a community college but there are things around the area that you can do since it is in downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good. I've had it about once or twice.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't too bad, it's just a little bit more strenuous than high school so expect that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your work! This is still college and there's still a lot of work to be done.

    In three sentences

    The school is pretty good. I have absolutely no complaints thus far. The teachers are helpful and nice and they generally do care about our success.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can join a sport or a club that you enjoy

    Food and Dining

    i haven't dine in here

    Dorm Life

    i don not stay at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    overall I did have some problems. The course I wanted to take, some were not available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future student all I can say is Welcome to San Diego city college. I hope you have a good experience as I have.

    In three sentences

    my experience at San Diego city college has been great. Not only are my classes great, but at this point I cannot complain. Staff have been help helpful, from the admissions office to the bookstore staff.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We had a fatal stabbing in the Men's bathroom two years ago. I would also never go on campus after dark.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not very many.

    Great for these types of students

    Multicultural, low income, adult learners.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't a lot of student body cohesion, because this is a commuter campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I would do it again if I had to. It was affordable, and I got the classes I needed.

    What to do for fun

    Walk, walk, walk. From some of the buildings, you can see the bay of San Diego. Walk around downtown. It's beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very, very basic and is very old. They serve things like hard boiled eggs and top Ramen.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't SDSU. The professors can be hit of miss here. Do your research ahead of time, ask around before you register for a course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting into courses can be tricky. Don't take our your frustrations on the instructors. Don't try and park around campus, you'll just get a fat ticket.

    In three sentences

    City College is urban, a little grungy, and can get sketchy after dark. It's a functional school, not a fancy private university. Get in, get out, get the job done.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to school

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not ready for a university straight out of high school go to a community college especially city college.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City college is the best junior college in the state in my eyes. It was a good choice of me going here.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 70

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I feel like San Diego City College is a good college with good professors and students. This college makes me feel like I will be able to expand my knowledge. The environment of this school is relaxing and very urban and I like that.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is an organization called SIFE that assists in selling snacks, coffee, and sports drinks so that theres no hassle of looking for snacks between classes. They are located in the center of the quad on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into sports check out the men's and women's basketball team! They are very good.

    Bang for the buck

    The food is very cheap at the cafeteria!

    What to do for fun

    The mall is literally 5 minutes from campus if you are driving so during your class breaks go ahead and check out Horton Plaza! Maybe stroll around for exercise!

    Food and Dining

    Once again, try the loaded fries at the cafeteria! So good and very affordable!

    Dorm Life

    I dont think there are any dorms since it is a community college but I did commute; other than rush hour in the morning and evening driving there wasn't a hassle.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes there do require studying so do not take them lightly. As long as you do the required readings assigned and review the material you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    San Diego City College has professors that truly care about a student's education so feel free to ask them any questions about assignments or concepts misunderstood in class. Utilize their office hours, they are there for you! Lastly, try the loaded fries in the cafeteria! So good!

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is vastly diverse. The counselors are willing to help in academic plans. Lastly, the cafeteria food is very good.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout at the gym and write.

    In three sentences

    I am amazingly excited and looking forward to attend school there. I'm part of the FYE program and they are supporting me to go through college step by step. They are very helpful and the campus is nice.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap!

    What to do for fun

    The gym is nice and a great place to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Very yummy affordable food, anything you can ask for.

    Dorm Life

    Dont live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very helpful teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its great and cheap. come check it out!

    In three sentences

    Very friendly staff and teachers. Laid back atmosphere which makes me able to focus on my studies. Very pretty campus with lots of trees!

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone just stay to themselves and enjoy their own company, and there is always police campus in case anything happens

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs available, but i never got into them because of my time schedule

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to experience a multi-cultural student life

    Bang for the buck

    I advise anyone who goes to any college to take care of all their paperwork ahead of time and not wait till the last minute

    What to do for fun

    The classes are fun themselves once you get yourself emerged in them

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a nice variety of food, and range of prices that cant go wrong

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The classes range from standard to challenging classes, but in truth something is only difficult if you don't want to learn it, and there are many sources to help you through tough subjects

    Tips for prospective students

    If any future students are going to apply for city college make sure you have a way of getting to city, and home because parking is the only problem, but everything else is great, and new college students should use ratemyprofessor.com to help them find good teachers

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is an excellent school with a good diverse student body. The professors are absolutely amazing, and actually show that learning is serious business, but also an enjoying one The campus makes you feel relaxed, and you can feel good anywhere on the beautiful campus

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I personally like to ready as many books as I can as well as interacting with fellow students. in my spare time i am dedicating myself to losing weight as well as getting healthy and being surrounded by those i love.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students be eager to learn.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is an outstanding school where the professors take the time in making sure you learn the material as well as caring for your success. There is a great student body in which students help one another and bring a great interactions. There is nothing better than attending a college where the professors actually care about their students.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus, the school police is always around and it's a really small campus so it's easy to get a hold of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't have many.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who have inconvenient schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any, really.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap, financial aid covers most of it for me. Including transportation, food and books. There are also many programs for people who have low income.

    What to do for fun

    I wanted to join a club but there aren't as many clubs as I was expecting. I usually just go to the mall when i have long breaks between classes because it's pretty close by.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria with okay food (Chinese food, mexican food and subs) , a starbucks stand and a small snacks and drinks store. But the school is in downtown so there are many other options nearby that aren't in school.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so there aren't any.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your financial aid as early as you can and ask for help if you don't know exactly how to do it because the lines are extremely long and you will have to wait about a month to correct any mistakes. Also go to rateyourprofessor.org before picking classes.

    In three sentences

    Most students are laid back and keep to themselves, there isn't much of a social environment. Most of the professors I have had have been helpful and accessible and the classrooms are small so you get the chance to talk to your professors.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown isn't far. I like to walk there. There are also tons of clubs to join!!

    Food and Dining

    Not too bad. But downtown isnt far, walking around between classes is fun!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too difficult to keep up with

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of older people going to school just like the younger people. It's nice to be at a school full of people who are all going to school because they want to!

    In three sentences

    The professors at SDCC are amazing. They're credible and keep you interested. I Love this school!

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I study for fun, there is nothing more rewarding than receiving good grades when you earn them, and are able to take the information you learned with you even after the semester is over.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of food places near campus, and plenty of places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms :(

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you like. know what you are here for. Don't allow anyone to discourage you, and if you need help don't be afraid to ask for it.

    In three sentences

    I love City's teachers so far this semester all my teacher really seem to love what they do. My math teacher has given me a new lease on math, and I actually love math now. I use to not want to go to school because i hated high school, but coming to city has made me wish I would have got started a long time ago, Thank you City College staff.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education for your dollar.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, but if you are taking night classes, the choices are limited.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your classes, and your level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your classes as soon as you can, due to budget cuts most schools are offering less classes.

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome college to attend. The campus is lovely and they are adding to it. I have had a great experience there so far.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not really sure about the food here in the cafeteria since there is different commercial food chains real near to the campus, so I just go there.

    Dorm Life

    This campus has no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to push yourself more if you want to exceed past just doing well.

    In three sentences

    I really like my fitness classes, the teachers know what they're doing and feels more like actual training then just a class. As for my music classes, some of the equipment you have to come during lab hours and practice and learn hands on. But other than that I give this college a 8.5 out of 10.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take dance class or attend some of the theater events

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not miss a class. Ask professor's question. Study before and after class.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is very good and interesting college that anyone will like to attend. Our professor make sure that students' understand and learn what they teach. What make City college unique is that all class student must attend class or the student will have a low participation grade for missing a class.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located downtown, which some people may find a little concerning at night. I have not seen any issues though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple cultural clubs which offer programs and all take part in Culture Day, which is a fair style event with performances.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Due to its location, students have instant access to Downtown San Diego and just a bike ride or uphill walk away from Balboa Park.

    What to do for fun

    Balboa Park is just an uphill walk away, which offers numerous museums, gardens, trails, beautiful architecture, cultural buildings, and the world famous San Diego Zoo.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten in the school cafeteria but the campus is located just blocks away from numerous places to eat of varying prices downtown. This downtown location is a huge plus for food options.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Of the classes I have taken here, the academic courses are mildly challenging but taught in an engaging manner that truly encourages learning. As long as you study and pay attention in class, they really are not difficult. If you are not interested in the class you are taking, however, the curriculum will be much more difficult to keep up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college offers a wide array of excellent courses with good teachers and resources. However, if San Diego Mesa College offers the same courses you are choosing to enroll in, I would recommend their campus and teachers over those at San Diego City College.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe. there are police officers at night and can walk you to the trolley or wherever you want to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many of clubs that you can be interested on and that are really fun.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that are willing to learn and to start to build their future.

    What to do for fun

    my friends and i always meet at the cafeteria and plan where to go after classes. we go to the movies, we go and find for new places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    the food of the cafeteria is the best.

    Academic Rigor

    love my classes, the teachers, the staff, the programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involve on programs that the school offer, there are a lot of them. if you need help on anything, you can ask a counselor. make sure to make friends that will benefit your time in college.

    In three sentences

    San Diego city college is a great place where you can start to construct your future. the campus is so big and beautiful where you can feel like you are home. the campus staff are so helpful, they are great and willing to help you.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous nursing progarm

    In three sentences

    one of the best nursing programs

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The mall is about 10 minutes away and the zoo and museums like 20 min walking. there is lots of things to do around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good a little expensive but you get what you pay for. Besides there is now Starbucks in two buildings. and if you don't like the cafeteria food there is always across the street there is fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically City college is really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class prepared and ready to learn. ask questions all the time because that is how professors know if your paying attention.

    In three sentences

    This school is really good. The campus is growing bigger and is offering more classes. this doesn't look like a community college anymore . also the professors are really good and are passionate about their job.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are respectable and don't harm others because they are focused on school and other activities. There is school police that help protect students from harm.

    Clubs and Activities

    San Diego City College has a wide range of school clubs and activities! Students are welcome to make new clubs, which is really cool!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want an affordable education Students who live in San Diego Students who want to expand their education Students who want to have better career options

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has alphabetical letters to distinguish different buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    San Diego City College is worth your effort and money ; it is centrally located in San Diego, it has good academics, has fun school activities, has great programs, the school has a gym for it's students, and the school has awesome classes!

    What to do for fun

    Attend school club, join sports, go to the school gym, go to a school concert, sign up for community service, etc.

    Food and Dining

    San Diego City College does not have restaurants/common fast foods but, it does have a mini buffet, snack machines, and food lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    San Diego City College's academic rigor isn't as difficult as a UC, but it prepares it's student's for the big transfer to a UC. San Diego City College still challenges it's students and students are able to gain UC credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give your best in all that you do, whether that be making the honor roll, or becoming a star athlete. Respect and appreciate your parents and your teachers; they are there to help you each step of the way. Astray from bad temptations, don't lose focus on the real important things in life, always keep your chin up.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is conveniently neighboring; MTS Trolley, Horton Plaza Mall, Businesses, and many social gatherings. San Diego City College advocates students, encourages students, and provides knowledge to it's students. San Diego City College is the college that is going to impact my life by, gaining the education I need to succeed.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is Downtown, there is a lot of activities and people are always coming and going. I do not think it is more dangerous that any other campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Visionary Feminist Socialist Club Education For All FYE Club SAME IDEAS BEAT

    Great for these types of students

    Chicano Studies Nursing Graphic Design Activist Sustainability

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Free Parking on Balboa Park, over the bridge.

    Bang for the buck

    $46 per unit...can't beat that.

    What to do for fun

    Meet great people from around the world. Next to Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo. Near many great beaches and not to mention the downtown life.

    Food and Dining

    It is Downtown San Diego, there is great food from around the globe only foot steps away.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living, but is a lot of affordable housing all around.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that will prepare you to transfer anywhere you want to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with anything contact the Outreach Office (L116) and check out the FYE program.

    In three sentences

    City College is a Vvery active campus that gets you involved. Great professors who are way over qualified. There are many resources waiting to lend a hand.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have all kinds of after school activities paint, Agurculture and basketball

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your home work

    In three sentences

    It is good for getting your basic collage done. I would say they shold be alittle more strict on homework. Overall they are good.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has proved to be dutiful from what I've seen. Campus security is always around but not to the point where you feel Big Brother is watching.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is in Downtown San Diego, so there are many fun things to do off campus. There's E Street Alley which is a bowling alley about 5 minutes away from the college. There is also Horton Plaza, an outdoor mall that would provide more dining choices and movies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty good fry/grill cook. Eating in the cafeteria is like meeting up on a Sunday with friends at a park and catching up on the latest. The menu selection isn't a Ruth's Chris menu, however, their selection is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I stay live off campus. It's a junior college, they don't provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic success at City College isn't any different from a 4 year university. The counselors and instructors do care about your success. Counselors take the time out to ensure that you only take the classes you need to take to ensure academic success

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace the campus. Be dedicated to yourself and the campus. Have fun with it.

    In three sentences

    The campus has a warm nostalgic vibe to it. It's alive. It is a cozy campus.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's near to downtown San Diego, mall and different stores.

    What to do for fun

    Just hang out

    Tips for prospective students

    You should go.

    In three sentences

    It's a big campus with many places to hang out and it seems to be a good place, the gym it's pretty good I had been already there and I would like to play basketball there.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a team, join clubs and talk to people in your classes because fun is usually found with people.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the college's cafeteria since it is in the city and there are numerous places around it.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future students would be to focus. To Think about their experience as a step by step process that is over after 4 months each semester, but that while the semester is going to give it the time it requires.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is a great bridge to further on educational goals to a university.It has very professional and dedicated professors.It gives you what you put in it.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and a police station down the street, San Diego City College is a really safe place to learn and obtain your dreams

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a festival every semester, though i havnt joined any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dont want the college experience to be like High School, City college give you the taste of the college life. Its really great for students who actually wan tot learn as well and not just come for the student life. Those who apply themselves here will do great.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are espensive but they always are, its good to get used or shop around online. They offer health and mental health services for a one time fee of 20$ and Ive used the health services and they are amazing! They also have other various resorces that Im in and they are also great.

    What to do for fun

    I listen to Kpop and other music, read and look forward to my future as a spoken english teacher in a foreign country. I hang out with friends who have my common interests and I take one class that Im interested in each semester for the fun so i dont overwhelm myself with classes that I need that could potentially burn me out because the more fun a class is the easier it is.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria that serves good food, really glad its open late and love that they have starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life, its a community college

    Academic Rigor

    I work a part time job 25+ hours a week and always a full time student, the professors are there to encourage and help and are quite understanding. Class is Class you get what you put into it, so study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for some of the resources they offer to low income students, apply for financial aid but keep in mind about transferring. You can easily get classes if you try!

    In three sentences

    Many of classes with dedicated caring professors. They will help you reach whatever your goal is and has many resources that can help any student, classes are easily attainable.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are daily around the downtown area and the campus police are regularly active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whatever you are looking for, its there. If not, you can make a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Every Color, Every Background, Every Age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    2014 will be 100 years of San Diego City College.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable classes.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown. (:

    Food and Dining

    Fast food restaurants all around the school.

    Dorm Life

    Though there are no dorms, this school is located in Downtown San Diego which is very convenient for many people.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are very prepared and have a hunger for Education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know someone in San Diego City College.

    In three sentences

    Very Diverse, many people from all over the world attend this college. This is the school of second chances. This school accepts students even though they have never been in school for many years.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its downtown, so you will see homeless people. Dont be disrespectful.

    What to do for fun

    College is not a party, however there are a couple groups you can join. In my opinion, since I am a full time student and have a full time job, there is no time for anything fun. Its community college and you need to just do what you came there for and get out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that sells hamburgers, fries, some kind of mexican food, salad, etc. (pretty cheap) and there is a small store (kind of like 7 eleven)

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors that you will run into that you will not like. Make the best of it. There will be classmates in your classes that you believe dont do anything. This is college, not high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS use ratemyprofessor.com. It will save you from any surprises about any new professors. Also, always drink water. It is a workout going up stairs, and all the hills. None of the campus is flat! Always be social. We are all trying to make new friends. This is not high school, so dont be in a clique. Welcome new students.

    In three sentences

    City College is very diverse. The campus is full of hills, stairs, and big buildings. Also, there are plenty of classes to chose from.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What we do is cultural performances. We make fundraisers of a variety of topics. We create an environment where its comfortable to everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Great amount of food. Its a perfect place to do your homework.And a perfect place to Socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is basically a little push towards your dreams/goals. It could be usefull to come here because it helps you look for your kind of career. This can make sure you are a Successful person.

    Tips for prospective students

    If this would be your First Semester i would recommend you coming here.Its the perfect place to start. Infact all teachers will give a lot of support.

    In three sentences

    This College is a perfect place to start. It can run very smoothly on your daily schedual. They give a hand full of privileges.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it is not a large campus security is always around. they can even escort you to your car if you take classes at night and feel uneasy to get to your car.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not exist unless you are invited to their honors program.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all types of clubs to join and they are a great place to meet new people and help you network to further your career.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for students that feel too intimidated by large state schools or universities. This school is also for returning adults that want to start or further their higher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad(center of he school) is an area where a lot of the school events take place. this area can be used to protest something, a vigil or a club meet area. There is always something going on in this area.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuiton it is a great school to start off. There is a lot of resources the school offers to help you with financial assistance should you qualify.

    What to do for fun

    You can relax on the open grounds that school has to offer or you can walk to Balboa park, the San Diego Zoo, downtown for a bit of leisure time. I like to go to the movies in downtown or walk around Balboa park and go in to some museums.

    Food and Dining

    You have a lot of options a few blocks from the school because it's so close to downtown. Most of the students preffer to go to McDonalds across the street because the cafeteria food is not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The have great courses that you can either obtain at the school or can be transfered to a state or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recomend student start all of the enrollment process as soon as possible. This would avoid waiting in long lines the closer you get to the start of the semester.

    In three sentences

    Good school to start for the price. A lot of help with resources for students. Easy to get around campus and great location.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    San Diego City College has many clubs ranging from El Coyote-a club committed to the sharing of Chicano/a news, culture and everything in between- to LGBT peer support clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Wide range of photographers. San Diego City College offers many photography courses in both film and digital. Fashion, landscape, you name them. Also great for students who like to explore, with current campus renovations curiosity to explore the new buildings down the street is inevitable.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm satisfied with the combination of difficulty and fun in my classes. Humorous, wise, supportive, and charismatic professors are what makes San Diego City College a pleasure and enjoyable academic experience.

    What to do for fun

    Events are always ocurring on campus, often I see public speakers giving speeches, live music, cultural diversity booths, and ethnic food stands. It's great.

    Food and Dining

    I don't dine on campus I sometimes bring my own lunch, and when I do it's bomb so 5 stars for my vegetarian food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at City? Not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes have been challenging for the most part. That's what I expect from college. Only a few courses have been reltively simple and true-false question easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read books BEFOREHAND. Entering college having read many books will give you an advantageous foundation to the research you will have to dig into soon. Also, ask questions! Don't let a single question slip just because you're afraid of talking in front of eveyone else, ask it!

    In three sentences

    Very flexible class schedules if you apply in time. Wonderful and supportive professors who constantly reiterate their outline of upcoming assignments and schedules to better prepare us. Environment and buildings are becoming very modernized, it's great!

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I personally had no problem paying for school. I practically went for free, thanks to the Board of Governors Fee Waiver and financial aid. If you do not qualify for the BOGW, then you can expect tuition to add up to around $550 minimum for a full-time student.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus events and field trips every week (or so it seems), so there's almost always something fun to do. Since the school is located in Downtown SD, students can also explore the big city.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten food from the cafeteria once at an FYE event, and it was really good. But I'm not sure that all of the food is as good as what was at the event. Also, it's not cheap so you might be better off going to Subway down the street.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at City, so housing is pretty much all up to you.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors really make sure that they challenge their students and give assignments that are usually very intellectually stimulating. Also, the MESA program for science/math/engineering majors keeps you on top of all of your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    You might be advised to join the First Year Experience program but if you plan on majoring in STEM subjects then I do not suggest it. Instead, join MESA. Also, if you qualify, sign up for EOPS as soon as possible. It's difficult to find parking at City College, so try taking the bus/trolley. There is a station right next to the campus so it's pretty convenient for students.

    In three sentences

    SDCC is the best community college in San Diego, hands down. The school offers several amazing programs that help students from all backgrounds and majors. The professors really care about their students' progress and quality of work.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a city, but compared to New York City, Boston and others I have lived in- there is almost no crime. City Campus Police are always out and about. Don't forget to program there number into your phone! The can help with almost anything.

    Greek Life

    In addition to the clubs, you can become a member of Phi Theta Kappa or PSI BETA -both clubs are for honors students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama department is wonderful at city. MESA program has the richest culture of learning, for students taking math, science and engineering classes at SDCCD. Students can also volunteer at the sustainable garden to learn about organic farming in low water conditions. There are sports teams for those trying to get noticed for four year programs.

    Great for these types of students

    City is great for new students who are not ready for a four year university. This is great for older students who need to refresh there academic muscles or dust some math cobwebs. There is a wide range of classes during day or night. It's also great for mothers who need child care.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Cafeteria you can always find people playing card games. There are also pianos to practice on.

    Bang for the buck

    City College is so inexpensive. Classes in Manhattan for junoir colleges are $190 a credit. A student can almost take two classes for that at SDCC. Go to counselling early for a class plan, it will keep the student on track and motivated. Books can be bought from student to student. Donâ??t forget to look on Amazon as soon as you know your schedule.

    What to do for fun

    What ever you want. Well... except snow ski, in fact you won't have much sweater weather at all. Balboa park is a bridge walk away where you can find pick-up games of basketball and Volleyball. There are free running and hiking clubs. Boot camps, dog parks, kayak rentals, free sailboat days, will keep you active. The night club scene is fast approaching any huge city, with Flux and Broadway. Sports bars like Whiskey Girl and sing along at the Shout House piano bar.

    Food and Dining

    Everything! Aside from the school Cafeteria and Coffee Shop, there are 60 resturants within 5 square miles of SDCCD. Indian, suishi, burgers at The Counter-you can find almost anything. Little Italy is mere blocks away for amazing pasta. Deli shops, seafood, Chinese, the list is exhausting. Inside the school, students can find fresh CalMex burritoes, daily soups and fresh rolled suishi.

    Dorm Life

    Even though there are no dormitories, there are lots of housing options in the city. It hasn't rained here since last July- that's 5 months! Lots of students quickly find apartment shares through the campus boards. Even though there is no dormitories, there are lots of housing options in the city. You don't need a car in San Diego. The public transit of trolley and buses are amazing. A discounted transit pass is available through the college each semester. Students can ride a bike year round in San Diego and the buses have bike racks right on the front. There are 16 museums and 40 restaurants within a few blocks of this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The class under the 100 levels are organized to get the student into great habits. Intro level professors teach you useful skills for accessing online research materials, note taking and peer support techniques. If you think that a junior college is an easier way to obtain a required credit, you will be sad. Many of these professors have doctorates and also started at the community college level. They really care that you get the same education they received after they transfer to top universities. I have been flattered to find professors from MIT, Colgate and Yale at City College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a variety of classes to broaden your potential interests. The in-state tuition is only forty six dollars a class, so explore a bit. The mild weather and sophisticated nature of San Diego attracts many professors who have retired here from big name universities. Participating in the college's 'First Year Program, will give you access to free donated books and important direction. For parents there is a child care center and large amounts of online classes.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College offers incredible academic support and brilliant professors for an education equivalent to a prestigious university. The urban campus recently added 350,000 square feet of state of the art facilities and classes available for all schedules. Whether a student is fresh out of high school, or an older adult returning; the school's many programs offers counseling and tutoring to help find the perfect path to a higher education.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    64 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of Alumni activities for students.

    Great for these types of students

    ASB involvement for students who love to help other students.

    What to do for fun

    Eat lunch with other students, and go to some the plays or games, they have basketball games too.

    Food and Dining

    Eat lunch at McDonald's or nearby Mexican Taco shop, or bring your own sack lunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare ahead of time and save plenty of money.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College has a great campus and plenty of successful students. City college has different opportunities to transfer and go to larger Universities. City College gets half of their students get to participate in the classes of their choice.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hard to beat the price per unit. Currently at $46/unit.

    Food and Dining

    City College has a surprisingly good cafeteria. Plenty variety...Sandwiches, Burritos, salads, and bowls.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at City College

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on what you are studying. I've had classes with a lot of busy work, and I've had classes with no homework at all. Work loads usually aren't too bad, but there are some strict professors. Use ratemyprofessor when you are signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    City college is very diverse, has an interesting location, and has surprisingly good facilities. Many new buildings are being built and the whole campus is getting a much needed facelift. The only issue is funding for classes which has a big effect on what is being offered.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    66 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    watch out...

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Uuujama activities and many major programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not at the moment.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and go to the activities.

    Food and Dining

    great....There are a lot of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Fun I guess. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    wow. how would i know?

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your classmates and teachers.

    In three sentences

    It has a lot of programs there to get involved with and to participate in. Save up money before you go there. Attend classes and do your assignments.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 70

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new people!

    Food and Dining

    Just have a few options around the school for convenience stores.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers truly care about their students' success here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You shouldn't have any problems getting in. Once you do, you'll be surprised to find that a lot of the teachers here also teach at four year schools like UCSD or SDSU. All have great passion and credentials!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to transfer from. They offer transfer programs to both the Cal State and UC school systems. They also offer Associate's degrees and certificate programs, which I'm currently taking advantage of after earning my bachelor's degree.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    68 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college, so it is fairly affordable compared to university tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining had plenty of room for improvement but the food court offers some delicious choices, good sandwiches, breakfast burritos, and coffee!

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is based on the program you enter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the college by visiting the website and make an appointment to talk to a counselor to get you started in the direction you want to go.

    In three sentences

    San Diego City College is a beautiful campus in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Renovations are being made to the college, as well as improving the parking situation. They offer many programs and the teachers are great.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is clubs but hiden

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Go to a different college like Mesa nice big and got improvements.

    What to do for fun

    there is no fun on campus

    Food and Dining

    Food is greasy and expensive go eat off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get help with financial stuff someone besides financial aid office. The best counselor on campus is Kelly not sure last name. get good exercise alot of stairs on campus. visit English center for tutoring learn who knows about English who doesn't For English Take Sarah l. Martin best the best teacher very nice.

    In three sentences

    Its an old campus being renovated on friday campus closes at 12pm Fincial aid are rude to students Its an ok school

  • 04/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 70

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good classes for standard community college prices, though the health fees are kind of annoying.

    What to do for fun

    The library is pretty impressive, and there are plenty of places nearby to unwind at (Balboa Park, Seaport village) otherwise I haven't experienced much.

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of places nearby, I've never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure, I live in my own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are spread out well, assignments are fair but challenging enough depending on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in classes THE MOMENT they are open because they will fill up in the blink of an eye, and be sure to get used to their website before the enrollment date because it's arranged pretty oddly.

    In three sentences

    I've attended Mira Costa, Palomar and this is my third community college. While busy, so far it seems as though City College has the best instructors. In terms of enrollment, it can be tough and confusing to get in, but once done everything runs smoothly.