Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

San Diego Miramar College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very affordable and the environment is just like being in highschool but more mature since afterall you are picking your own schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Miramar has an on-site Police Department that does everything a regular police department would do. Though I have yet to use any of the services (besides parking lot security) they offer, I did an interview with a Police Sergeant there who made me aware of how the services they offer ARE what we would expect from any police department. They have a Health Department as well that will help you with any injuries/illness or even check-ups as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different clubs on campus, but of course not as much as at a university. There is the Phi Thetta Kappa society (a.k.a Honor Society) that will give you Financial Aid opportunities but will also look very well on your transcript if you plan to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Will save you a lot of money compared to taking General Ed courses at a university. Do NOT forget to take advantage of Financial Aid opportunities for a more FREE'er education.

    What to do for fun

    Though only a community college, Miramar, along with the other colleges in the San Diego Community College District, has a gymnasium, swimming pool, weight room, and many more recreational resources.

    Food and Dining

    Currently the cafeteria offers mediocre and fast-food type meals. In the Fall of 2013, a new building is going to be opened up with multiple floors. There will be many improvements including an increase in Library/Research resources as well as dining options and an indoor Starbucks cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Community colleges don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It definitely does not have the competition as the universities do but will prepare your life and how you organize it much more than teenagers that go straight from high school to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save the costs of the first two years at a university and transfer instead, choose from one of the community colleges. Each college is more associated with their own colleges but ultimately help you get to where you want to be. Also remember to take advantage of all the counseling/career planning resources they offer!

    In three sentences

    Great community college. Many resources available for continuing education. Save that money!

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There's a lot of construction going on which makes the campus less appealing.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am glad a picked a school in San Diego. You can't beat the weather and I'm not spending a too much money on great quality learning.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors I have had so far are pretty amazing at what they do.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are two police offices and a police academy in the college. there are rarely any gangsters on campus, as police make sure no unauthorized individual enters the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    -not ready for a university, need a steady transition going step by step -not enough money to go to a university but need to complete general education requirements -cannot dedicate too much time to school (they have online classes) -returning from a long period of being absent from education

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you want to take from it. the college professors will give you what you paid for, an education. it is up to you if you wish to accept it or not. they are there for you, if you have questions ask them and they will gladly answer it. if you want help finding ways to start your career, most professors will have the answers and will provide you with ways to research your future.

    What to do for fun

    there is a movie theater one street down from the college, as well as plenty of places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    there is a big mall right next to the college that has plenty of fast-food places, such as rubio's, jamba juice, starbucks, chopstix, inn-n-out, and other popular food joints.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, however there are apartments all around the town of mira mesa.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here understand where you are right now, and what you are going through. they are human, they understand that sometimes the worst situation comes up and you can't make it to class sometimes, or that you don't understand the subject and you need more clarification. they will provide you with answers, support, and advice. college professors are not there to give you a grade, they are there to give you knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    the most important thing a new student attending college should remember is that they are now attending a college. falling asleep in class is not an option, and dedication to school is definitely needed. a student without a positive motivation to go to school will eventually start hating school, which could possibly lead to hatred towards his or her future career. nobody wishes for a job they don't like. a prospective student should definitely have at least a remote idea of what they want to become in the future, and build up towards that. a key misconception is that it is not okay for a student to be unsure of their major. the future has always been scary to mankind, and spending a semester or two trying to figure out what they want to do in the future is okay. however loitering around during college doing nothing to figure out their future is not okay. actively search for something you love, and when you find it hold onto it tight, find your resolve and pursue it as your career. the last advice i have to a student is that the more learn to love your education, the easier and more fun college will be. many of my friends complain that they are stressed about school. saying that you're stressed over something is the same as saying that you can't handle it. breathe, don't let it get to you. the more clear and relaxed you are the better you can tackle problems and overcome the. good luck to you future students, and i hope that reading this helps you in the future.

    In three sentences

    miramar college is a small community college, however it has a beautiful campus and is very well maintained. there isn't as many courses as compared to other community colleges, but the professors who teach the course are fully engaged with the students and love their job. parking was a pain in previous years, but with the recent addition of a parking structure finding parking is now easy!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a station where police are located and can be reached easily by the new parking structure but always make sure to keep the campus police number in your phone in case you are there during night classes, just for safety.

    Greek Life

    there is only phi theta kappa that is offered but it is not a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    food and culture club rocks. the club goes to different exotic food restaurants and tries new cuisines together.

    Great for these types of students

    those who want academic rigor and working with small groups of people. and people who want teachers who are always available and make class interesting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    twice a year there is the spring and fall festival which clubs promote themselves. it's very fun if you are in a club.

    Bang for the buck

    credits are expensive but way cheaper than universities. universities get to hundreds of dollars a credit where this college is at about $47 per credit.

    What to do for fun

    there is a movie theatre, barnes and noble, ross, bath and body works nearby, and also reastaurants. those would be handy on a day where you have several hours between two classes because they are within a 5 minutes walking distance. on campus there is of course a library to study but i recommend joining a club on campus or taking an honors course which adds work load but is fun with the groups you form for your projects.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria and some vending machines. the cafeteria's food is basically any snack you can get at a drug store plus some prepared meals. if i were to recommend someone somewhere to get food, i would go outside of campus and go to the surrounding restaurants near by such as rubio's, panera bread, and pick up stix.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are tough like any college class but since it is a community college, teachers are aware of students other lives outside of school which makes the work not as bountiful, but just as academically challenging as any 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    with the parking structure still under construction, either find parking early or skip out on the parking pass and park at the home depot clsoe by and walk to the camp which takes about 5 minutes.

    In three sentences

    miramar college has fantastic teachers and staff. the new campus, which is still in progress, is convenient with most classes in the same building. also the classes are not packed.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the movie theatres near by, theres also jamba juice, starbucks or some shopping centers too...

    Food and Dining

    its in mira mesa, which is filled with shopping and cheap places to eat near by.

    Dorm Life

    not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    so far, it hasn't been the best learning experience due to lack of teaching ability... the one professor i have currently is horrible. very unorganized, and confusing. doesn't teach. it is basically a teach yourself course.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to register as soon as possible, because the classes do fill up fast. also, buy a parking pass or come early before class to park on the street! and a good tip i use is to research the professors on ratemyprofessor.com . it really helps you find the right teacher.

    In three sentences

    not as crowded as other campuses, including mesa college. the parking is a pain, unless you're going to buy the parking pass or risk getting a ticket for $53!!! this was my first semester at this college, and so far it hasn't been the best in terms of learning.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go watch a soccer game.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor as soon as you know what major you want to complete.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College is a wonderful school. The classrooms are new, the teachers are well informed and the library is top notch. I love the atmosphere and enjoy walking around campus.

  • 10/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    maybe I don't this one as well

    Tips for prospective students

    I think I will be prospective student in that college

    Bang for the buck

    this one I don't really know about

    Will enjoy being here

    yes I think I will like it their

    Will learn a lot

    i might it will be first day their so don't know yet

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i find miramar college to be a great value.

    What to do for fun

    san diego is full of opportuunities to have fun. the beach is in one direction in the summer and the mountains are in the other direction for winter snow boarding.

    Food and Dining

    there are many eateries in this area of town.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus as do most students.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is standard among community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for classes as early as possible and read everything you possibly can.

    In three sentences

    miramar college is a wonderful school for the busy individual. the class options and support is superb. whether you are student straight out of highschool or a returning student like me, you will benefit from attending miramar college.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many activities or clubs are seen at this school, with little school spirit. There is a recently created Science Club, and a few other clubs focused on academic growth.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are focused solely on schoolwork as there are little school social activities. A great school for students who are looking to attend a smaller populated school with an eye-catching campus.

    What to do for fun

    The school is next to an Edwards Cinema Movie Theater that is always a hang-out spot, or if one is the exercising type, Miramar Lake is located just on the other side of the 15 freeway, behind the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the small cafeteria isn't much to dine for; however, the school is conveniently placed next to a variety of restaurants including a Starbucks and Jamba Juice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at San Diego Miramar College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to checkout the website: RateMyProfessor.com as there are always professors who aren't up to one's expectations.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College is a beautiful, smaller open-plan campus, that has a few large construction projects underway. Most of the professors are good at their professions, with a few exceptions; especially in the math related departments. There is also always extra tutoring help if students need it.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, and always has campus police around to protect the school.

    Bang for the buck

    San Diego Miramar College is apart of the San Diego Community College District, and out of all three community colleges in this district, Miramar is the best. It has a beautiful campus with new buildings, great professors, and lots of diversity with the people that attend. The tuition is state regulated so it is the same at every junior college in CA, and it is good for the education you recieve. Find out if you can recieve any resources available to you like Financial Aid, EOPS, BOG, etc. Any student would be lucky to attend Miramar College.

    What to do for fun

    Miramar College occasionally has campus events that benefit all students. They introduce clubs on campus, companies advertise their products, or universities visit to recruit students. These resources are great to get to know your school better, to experience new things, and broaden your knowledge of what is available to you.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a life-saver when you need a quick snack between classes. There is even a coffee-bar that has computers just in case you need to get some homework done.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Miramar is lighter, yet challenging. Depending on your class, you will find work is never light. With every class you need to put a good effort and try your best to get all assignments and assessments done. Most use blackboard to help you get handouts, or important papers needed for the course. Use your resources, and you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always study for your exams and tests. Ask questions if you need to. Always try your best, and never give up, even when it seems impossible to get things done. Make sure to stay organized, and use your classmates and peers as support for help and study sessions. Manage your time wisely, stay focused on your goals and you will succeed. Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College is a culturally diverse campus. It has all resources needed to succeed. It has amazing professors, faculty, and adminstration to guide you with your academic career.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe on this campus, though I have heard horror stories from other San Diego campuses, like the downtown one. So I'd prefer this one over the other two!

    Bang for the buck

    The fees per credit are not bad, especially if you're eligible for the governor's grant! :]

    Food and Dining

    Their little cafeteria isn't that great. But what can you expect from a community college? Gourmet food?

    Academic Rigor

    Not so bad - I've definitely had worse. But they do make an attempt to prepare you for universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely use ratemyprofessor.com when picking classes. Keep attending, even if you don't get all your classes! The more you attend, the better your registration date will be the next semester!

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College is currently being renovated, which is both nice and annoying. There are not nearly enough classes for how many students attend. But they do have some exceptional professors who are very passionate about the subject(s) they teach.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are usually not that many crimes committed but you can never be too sure. The campus police is towards the parking structure so don't be afraid to ask for help.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a club for honors study which benefit transferring.

    Clubs and Activities

    Look into as many clubs as you can on the school website! Some are very fun which keeps your mind off school work stress.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quiet study room in the library is a benefit when studying for midterms, finals, and tests. One of my favorite places to be in except it's easy to fall asleep.

    Bang for the buck

    Scantrons. Always buy extra scantrons because you never know when you'll need it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the ILC which is in the I building to use the computers. The internet is fast! Don't forget to bring headphones.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pricey but if you walk out of the campus there are some good and cheap food stores. My favorite is the Bale French Bakery which sells Vietnamese sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Always read, do homework, and study. I admit some classes are easy and some are very difficult. Do not underestimate community college and never slack off. Always stay ahead of the game and be prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely research about the majors and schools you would like to transfer to. If you are unsure you can always talk to counselors, ambassadors, financial aid workers, and transfer workers. They are always available and are friendly.

    In three sentences

    Miramar college has greatly improved since I enrolled. The campus is currently under construction but the buildings that are finished look beautiful. I can't wait to see the final outcome!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of great food places in walking distance. A new library will be opening very soon and there is a great gym on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class and teacher; as it is for any college. I have had great experiences with all of the teachers I have had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, try different kinds of classes, stay focused and enjoy the journey!

    In three sentences

    I am so glad I chose this college to start off my college career! The counselors are so helpful and are always available to talk to. Miramar has helped me get closer to my educational goals with less stress and for less money!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips i have for prospective students is that to have a good time and dont get too flusted. Miramar college is a great place to meet new people and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    I give San Diego Miramar College 7.5 out of 10. SDMC is a great college and has many well educated teachers. Everyone is very energetic and spontaneous.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There sport center is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor about everything that has to do with you & your career.

    In three sentences

    Parking is huge. New cool building. Amazing relaxing areas all over the campus.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great campus safety with our police department building right on campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    We have several diffrent clubs such as,Student Veteran Organization,Science Club,San Diego Miramar College Paralegal Group,Miramar USTA CLub,Food & Culture Club,Filipino American Student Association,EOPS CLub,Asian American Student Association and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great campus for commuters of all ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The center courtyard light patterns match the original Miramar flight paths.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are transfering to a UC or getting a Tradeschool degree you can not make a better choice that a community college. You take the same classes as a freshman and sophamore yet you pay a fraction of the price. If you are not sure of a major this is also a great place to try things on for fit.

    What to do for fun

    The Movie theater is with in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Great! The campus has a small cafe but right down the street is the Mall with everything you could want from Rubios, Bucca, Pat Oscers a Pannera with in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    The Bio department is fast paced and you are expected to know the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared! This is a real college experience and get your life in order to allow you to focus on homework. If you are going to sign up, get all you can from it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school in preparation for transfer to a UC program. The professors are challenging and serious about giving you a quality education which will compete with the Major Universities. I have enjoyed my experience thus far and will be attending the next semester.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take a walk around the campus, and just hang out near the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    There really isn't a dorm other than just apartments near the complex.

    Academic Rigor

    Really great professors once found through ratemyprofessor.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on transferring, make sure you visit the transfer center as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Many would have some bias against Miramar; however, it is one of the best opportunities that can change one's life depending if they are willing to take the first steps. It provides many outstanding professors that are ready to teach once one is ready to learn. Lastly, the campus is beautiful with all the new renovations regarding Library and upcoming cafeteria.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Food and Culture Club- Learn about different cultures by trying the authentic foods they make ! If you love food or to eat, join this club!!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Unless your taking the class in Honors the courses are not impossible. Most teachers are helpful, and there is plenty of on-campus tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT PROCRATINATE, everything from Registration, to parking, to homework to the book store or to the cafeteria.. Don't wait till the last minute. There are many students trying to accomplish the same thing as you, so plan accordinly.

    In three sentences

    A great campus to start your academic career if your not prepared for university quite yet. There are so many resources and great teachers that can help you find your way into a major you may really enjoy. The campus is newly renovated, eco-friendly, and has up-to date technology.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fences around all the construction sites and there own police building, so security is pretty tight i bet.

    Greek Life

    haven't checked on anything Greek.... i'll check if need be.

    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't checked but there are probably a bunch of clubs because of all the events that go on.

    Great for these types of students

    any type, if you wanna be active you can participate in any of the events, and if you wanna just sit in the library all day and study then that's cool too, whatever you like they got it, in terms of school of course.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap, and good.

    What to do for fun

    when i was there for a meeting they were having a costume contest for Halloween, and i know what your thinking, probably a bunch of inappropriate girls dressing up, but it wasn't it was a bunch of funny costumes and what not, and they had food stands looked like high school all over again, so a definite plus plus.

    Food and Dining

    amazing

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very helpful staff that is informative and willing to do just about anything for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early because like every college they are getting full sooner that later.

    In three sentences

    The first time was on campus i got a little lost because of all the construction to make the school even bigger and better. But i found where i needed to go because they have an awesome library terminal that is all touch screen that can give you a variety of info, in my case a interactive map. so high techy looking good kinda school so far.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The college has two cafeteria, each serve healthy food, and any food of your choice for very low prices. The employees are well behaved and they understand the urgency of the student.

    Academic Rigor

    for academic standing Miramar college is among the best in San Diego with competent professors and enough access to learning equipment.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus, classrooms, lab and buildings are one of the bet you can find in San Diego. It is suitable for student who want to pursue any major.

    In three sentences

    Miramar College have proven to be one of the best colleges in San Diego. The building, campus and class are comfortable and a good environment to learn.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police station with alarms for emergencies in every classroom

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    nonethat I am aware of

    Great for these types of students

    All

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    Go to the athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Community College so no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Good but some classes are tough

    Tips for prospective students

    Review the professors using ratemyprofessor.com

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. Some professors are good while others aren't. You have to study a lot.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the safety of the campus is in good shape since there is a police station near the parking lot of the school. I always see some cops looking at cars for their parking permits so I know they are on the job looking out for suspicious people.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life? I'm not sure we have anything related to that in this college...

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said before, there isn't that much of a variety of clubs at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students who are still figuring out what to do for their career. You can explore different subjects such as Business, Art, Sciences, Creative Writing, Police and Firefighter Training, Aviation, Humanities, and several more. Even though classes are cut down to a smaller amount, you can still find a subject that you are interested in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual on this campus. Seems normal to me.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not really sure what Bang for the buck means, but I'll guess it means making money? Well, there is a small mall close by the school that includes a theatre, a Barnes and Noble Bookstore, some clothing stores, and some restaurants where you can spend money and possibly work for a little extra cash. It is close and convenient for the college area.

    What to do for fun

    Although there are not that many clubs, you can try to join them if they interest you. There is a paralegal club, science club, and Phi Theta Kappa to list a few. Sometimes there are events to attend to that the college will post on the main website. You can also hang out with friends, but other than that, there is not much to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is too far from the main campus area, but fortunately, they are building a new cafeteria near the middle of the campus. I am very excited to see what they offer when it opens. I thought the food was terrible in the old cafeteria so I hope they change it up a bit.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not provided by the college, so you must be able to find a nearby living area or to live with your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Miramar college provides honors for a select number of classes which will help you transfer to a higher level university or may even help your GPA. Other than that, taking a regular class should be fairly easy, depending on the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students is that don't give up. Many students struggle to achieve a good grade because they lack good habits and study skills. I struggle also for the same reasons. Also, make study groups, exchange contacts with people in your class because I realized that talking with others about the class will benefit you as well as the other person.

    In three sentences

    Miramar College is a great place to further develop an individual's education, especially during financial hardships. I have met amazing teachers who are willing to help and teach their students to the best of their ability. There are two problems about the college and that is the amount of classes they offer and the lack of summer sessions, but it is probably only because the school has money problems to keep up their classes and to keep their teachers. I am very optimistic that they will improve this in the near future for upcoming students.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As a California resident, $45 dollars a unit is very affordable. Consider that most states don't have a community college system like california.

    Food and Dining

    nothing really good on campus... Plenty of things located 5-10 mins around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not an aspect of a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a ChemE major, so most of my classes are STEM courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put the time in... Treat it as a real college and not a continuation of high school. The best advice I've gotten, as far as how to approach transferring and choosing a major, came from a casual conversation with a chemistry professors. Make an impression.

    In three sentences

    Nice, clean campus located right off the freeway. Professors are willing to offer career advice. Professors can actually get to know the students.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out the local shopping malls in Mira Mesa.

    Food and Dining

    Very minimal food at this school as it is a community college. However, there is a nice starbucks by the library.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes in general are not to hard and not too easy. This of course depends on the subject and professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan ahead for registration to maximize your chances of getting all your classes. Don't be afraid to waitlist or crash classes.

    In three sentences

    Great option for a community college in San Diego. Newly remodeled with ample parking. However, impacted school and therefore not enough classes available.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is my first year at San Diego Miramar college and I feel safe because the location is in a good area. The campus is small which makes it less dangerous in my opinion.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in clubs and activities due to my job. I have seen people and signs around campus getting students to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around the campus that are walking distance. The choices are different and not typical. For example, Daphne's which is greek fast food instead of McDonalds.

    Dorm Life

    San Diego miramar college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a first time student attending San Diego Miramar college so I have no idea what the academic rigor is like yet. The classes i'm currently taking is not tough at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    San Diego Miramar college is a mellow campus and very small which make first time students less confused about where there classes could be found.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College is very friendly. I'm not around campus during the day, my classes are during night. It's very quiet and less crowded which i like it that way.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is very many clubs, sports, and activities around campus to keep you busy. There is a gym on campus too.

    Food and Dining

    Great Food! They have a chow hall with different kinds of food available at a very reasonable price. They have Pizza, Spanish food, burgers, and salads. There is big seating area to allow study time while you eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Attend your classes, do your work on Black Board, make sure you at least log into Black Board during class days.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a veteran, make sure you ask any question you have to better understand what steps you need to take to get the ball rolling. You are only allowed to miss 3 days per semester. Make sure you do not miss many classes and do all your work on Black Board because if you do not, some professors count that as an absence as well.

    In three sentences

    San Diego Miramar College provide excellent service to Veterans seeking to further their education. The Campus VA office is a one stop solution to any Veteran's needs. They provide counseling services, answer any VA benefits questions, and make transitioning easy.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As previously stated, I'm online student. I have visited all three campuses a time or two but they all seem to be pretty well patrolled with panic boxes throughout. Miramar and Mesa are both building to become pretty large schools and very nice campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Active military, online students, GPA rebuilding, transfer, or some technical degrees. Between the three schools in the district, you can earn almost any 2 yea degree, or take prerequisites for a 4 year school.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, a great experience at this school. I'm about to transfer to a 4 year school and use the SDCCD as a building block to rebuild my GPA and get my education back on track while serving active duty via the online courses.

    What to do for fun

    The district has many things for burning time. The nearby military base holds an airshow (federal spending permitting), the gas lamp district is 20minutes south, as is the bay with plenty of touristy things, tourists themselves (girls?) and nightlife. There's a little something for everyone in SD. If not, Los Angeles is only about an hour north.

    Food and Dining

    Active duty military student; online student

    Dorm Life

    Active duty military; online student only. Cannot rate.

    Academic Rigor

    The SDCCD has pretty decent education programs across the board from what I've seen. While not all professors are 5-star, many professors can also be found teaching simultaneously at schools like SDSU and UCSD.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for school early so that you can get priority registration. I also highly recommend hunting down prospective professors on public websites for your best chance at success.

    In three sentences

    Great school to learn trades, earn an associates, or jump start yourself for a transfer.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here. The structures are sound and well maintained, and trouble makers are scarce since Miramar has a police academy on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here. One could never be bored with all there is to do!

    Great for these types of students

    All students with a desire to learn and an appreciation for beautiful scenery will enjoy Miramar college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school has an aviation area and mechanic's shop since they offer so many different trades. No matter what your major is, there are many walks of life to experience here and I think it is a wonderful place to build a varied base of knowledge about the components of our community.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, Miramar is a great savings for transfer students, They offer many upper division courses, and you can get much of your program done here with out spending university prices. Along with this, the campus is well landscaped with great architecture and many social activities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many film nights put on here, along with a lovely gym.

    Food and Dining

    A state of the art cafeteria was recently installed with beautiful modern design, plenty of seating, great food from several different cultures, and an environment conducive to socialization and study. The only drawback I can see is the pricing. It is not incredibly expensive, but most students don't have a whole lot of extra money. However, there is a microwave available for those who bring their own!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school, however there is student housing; with which I am not familiar.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are taught in a manner that will help anyone willing to learn the subject gain a thorough understanding of the material, but if you do not put in the time, you will not get the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with all colleges, students need to be on top of their own education and finances. There are a lot of resources at Miramar college to make your dreams happen, but no one is going to do it for you. Study hard, and pay attention to deadlines!

    In three sentences

    I think Miramar college is great for a community college. It has a lovely newly renovated campus, plenty of social activities and areas, and a great system for studying and tutoring. Above all of this, the teachers here are almost all a grade above what you would expect to find at a community college; which was the most important factor in my choosing this school.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some pretty decent food. There is a shopping center near-by with a few chain restaurants and an Albertsons.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college, the classes here can be pretty challenging. Don't slack off because you think that community is easy, you still have to transfer with a high GPA!

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe. They have a mini police department equipped with at least 4 police members.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know of any clubs or activities outside of the honor society

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have a major Students who have a job Students who are going back to school after being in the job field

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Evidently, everyone must meet up at the same Starbucks in Mira Mesa to get a coffee of some sort of drink before a morning class

    Bang for the buck

    Cost maybe 2 grand a year to attend, including books. Great price

    What to do for fun

    Go to the computer lab Chat up random people Get a game of football going on in the quad

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten there

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on how well you want to do. If you want to transfer to a good school, then Miramar is as hard a college as they come. If you want to just get by with C's and not really learn the material, well then you're basically back in high school

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend 1 on 1 time with teachers Try to learn as many people's names as possible

    In three sentences

    Affordable Education High Tech campus Teachers are very knowledgeable