Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

San Francisco Art Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do. I have a bucket list of things.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best food in the world

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a strong portfolio that is unique

    In three sentences

    This college has incredibly talented teachers that are still working in their field. There has also been many famous artists that have graduated from this school.

  • 03/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Think positive and if you put your head into it you will reach for what you want.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at every door. they check your ID upon entering, and recently they have started checking bags.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is actually a variety to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, fun, energetic, hard working people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club fair is every quarter.

    Bang for the buck

    ugh...The school is very very expensive. A lot of people are taking loans and such things.

    What to do for fun

    Oh! There are many things! You can check out the club fair that the school offers, where you can get a henna tattoo, free pizza and drinks, play video games and even dance. the school invites you to many creative events in which helps you take a little bit of a break away from classes.

    Food and Dining

    The school unfortunately does not have a cafeteria. It was closed down about 6 months ago. Therefore you will have to provide for your own food.

    Dorm Life

    I currently don't dorm, but I have a few friends that do, they say that it is really nice. The apartments are fully furnishes and there is plenty of room to do work and call it home

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, you must bring your A game! Just try your best and take advantage of all the services that the school has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and be creative. Put a lot of time into assignments. This school can be fun, but it is also academically challenging.

    In three sentences

    Even though the school is very expensive, they offer a lot, such as housing, tutorials, and counseling. I personally have to say that the free tutorial sessions that they provide are absolutely so very helpful! There is always something fun happening on campus.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Programs are in place to safe guard the students.

    Greek Life

    None sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great support system

    Great for these types of students

    Some one that went to an art enriched high school program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has an infamous tower that is a huge part of the arctitecture and the folk lore surrounding the college.

    Bang for the buck

    SFAI compares to any major art program in the US as far as cost. It is actually cheaper than some schools that don't neccessarily provide a better program.

    What to do for fun

    San Francisco provide an amazing art and culture experience. There is never a shortage of things to do in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has great food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms provide great housing, I just wish they were a little closer to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic teachers are serious professionals that take their subjects seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Art school is much more work than most people think.

    In three sentences

    The school is a very inspiring, creative environment.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The 360 degree View

    Bang for the buck

    tons of thrift shop in a bit of an expensive city...try SCRAP

    Food and Dining

    Pretty healthy

    Dorm Life

    18 blocks south of school...long but motivating walk

    In three sentences

    Inspirational faculty, interpersonal friendships and brilliant location are my first three thoughts about SFAI. A little pricey, but what art school isn't. Well worth the experience.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around downtown San Francisco with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing but vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the School Sponsored Housing but each person has to pay around $900 per month if they live in the School Sponsored Housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of how much you'll be spending.

    In three sentences

    The school is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The students are extremely friendly. The school is expensive.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security around the clock to protect you from rabbid homeless people. the security guards are very nice and keep it light. make small talk with them sometime. they're cool guys

    Clubs and Activities

    great fun, parties and free food!

    Great for these types of students

    art fist, money issues later

    Bang for the buck

    way too overpriced

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and make art

    Food and Dining

    culinary has their oen resturaunt in the building. the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    very awesome people. but it is way too expensive

    Academic Rigor

    worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    do not buy any of the textbooks, you do not need them. the teachers do not use the books that the school sells to you. also do not buy the art supplies they sell at the school, they are cheap quality and very expensive. there is a blick art store doen the street, shop there. do not get the 600$ art kit, they will give you when you enroll. its a waste of money.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing. if it wasn't for them i would have dropped out a long time ago. the classes are so much fun and you learn alot. unfortunately the company is a cheap b####$@$%^ that only wants your money.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The SFAI campus is open 24/7 for students. Security guards are always around making sure that the campus stays safe, and they are very friendly too. I say with confidence that the campus is very safe and home-like.

    Great for these types of students

    SFAI is best for any type of fine arts student, but it is also an excellent school for New Genres, Film, and Photography.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I find it to be special going to the campus and always walk by the Diego Rivera gallery where a Diego Rivera mural looks back at you.

    Bang for the buck

    Many great artists either taught, or studied at SFAI. It is amazing how much history in names and events this school has to offer, and who knows? you might just be the next great artist that came from SFAI.

    What to do for fun

    This is the city of San Francisco. There are endless things to do. whatever your interests may be, you will always find something to do. There are so many great locations that you can go visit.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is always freshly prepared and cooked by chefs. It is an open kitchen so you see exactly what goes into your food. The food itself is good. The school wouldn't want any starving students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very exciting here at SFAI. No doubt you will make friends, everyone is very friendly and welcoming. It is a world for artists, created by artists. You'll feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important here at SFAl. Be ready to learn because not only will you become a great and skilled artist, but also a well educated and well rounded artist.

    Tips for prospective students

    Doesn't matter what your interests are in art, they will always be supported here at SFAI. This school will really shape you into the artist you are meant to be. Just be open to experimentation in mediums, Ideas, and heart.

    In three sentences

    The San Francisco Art Institute is really an amazing school. I believe that a lot of true artists are created there, with genuine skills and Ideas. However, tuition is rather pricey.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No ID? Security will not let you in. They will call in to check if you're a student. If it's late at night, they will escort you to bart or to your car safely. Security is like family there. They are all very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for all majors there. If you have time, check it out. You can join any club without being in that major. It's great if you want to learn a new skill while you're in school.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic students

    Bang for the buck

    For a better time on a budget I would suggest checking out http://sf.funcheap.com/ It's best place to check before doing anything. Also, check out Blicks or Michaels for art supplies. If you have more time, search for materials online for a cheaper cost.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I would go shopping. They have flash mob dances. There are plenty of musems to check out. Check out China town too. San Francisco is a tourist city. There are theaters to check out. Festivals and parades to join in. There is so much to do. They have parties at our school too.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school. I do eat at the surrounding cafes. Also on Wednesdays and Fridays they have Farmer's Market right outside our buildings. It's expensive to eat in the city. If you're on a budget, I would suggest packing a lunch. They have microwaves in both buildings.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea about dorm life at this school but at CSU East Bay it was good. I stayed in the older dorms aka the projects. It was cheaper and it was much more like an apartment. The newer dorms cost way more and each person had less space. My advice for dorms is to make sure you have rules with your roommates. Each person is different, but if you all set rules in the beginning there won't be as much problems later.

    Academic Rigor

    Be careful of eBooks. Just opening an eBook can be costly. The text books are easy to read. You can buy them online on amazon for a cheaper cost. Most of the time I did not use my books. The books are on access in the Library as well. This can save money. My hardest class was Image Manipulation because I hadn't used Photoshop, InDesign, and other programs before. I got a B but I wanted an A. I tried my best but the A students were already advanced. I love that my fashion teachers actually try to get us to bring out our own creativity, rather than just copy someone's style. They really help us find our talents and actually communicate it effectively. In class, I never felt like just another student like I did at CSU East Bay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have enough money to pay for all of your expenses. A lot of times it's cheaper to live outside of the dorms. Also, do not get kits right away. I'm a Fashion Marketing major. I spent $299 on a kit and I did not use half of my kit. Also the kit doesn't have everything you need. The Kit broke first quarter. It's another way for the school to get money out of you. PLEASE pay attention to what your money is being used for especially if you are taking out loans. Also, have a job. Unexpected expenses come up. I started at this school because my counselor said they could help me get a job to pay for transportation. After I got in there was no help. When I threatened to leave, all of a sudden they came up with a BART ticket for me. Amazing. I like the diversity of the school and the teachers. The teachers are of great quality and they want to see you succeed. I just did not like how they scam people to get in. Education is a business that can get you in debt before your real life begins. Be smart. Ask Questions. Research.

    In three sentences

    Good if you know what you want to do. Bad if you have no idea because it's expensive. Great teachers and resources.