Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

San Joaquin Delta College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    ALL I WILL LIKE TO SAY IS NEVER EVER GIVE UP ON WHAT YOU WANT. EVEN THOUGH THE LIGHT OF YOUR GOAL SEEM TO BE FAR IT IS MORE CLOSED FROM WHAT YOU THOGHT JUST LOOK FOR IT.NEVER GIVE UP

    Bang for the buck

    IT REALLY HARD ONCE YOU DONT HAVE THE BUCK TO CONTINUE YOUR EDUCATION. THATS EXACLY WHAT IT IS HAPPENING TO ME. I DONT HAVE THE MONEY TO GO TO COLLEGE JUST BECAUSE MY BROTHER AND I ARE GOING TO COLLEGE AT THE SAME TIME AND THAT MAKE US FIGHT EVEN MORE FOR WHAT WE WANT IN LIFE.

    Will enjoy being here

    BEING IN A SMALL COLEGE WILL HELP ME ENJOY MORE NOT JUST THE PEOPLE IN IT BUT ALSO THE GREAT PROGRAMS THAT DELTA IS OFFERING

    Will learn a lot

    I THINK I WILL LEARN ALOT, EVEN THOUGH IS NOT A HUGE COLLEGE.

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that like hands-on teachers and want to save money. Also the mall across the street is a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to get your AA or a transfer to a different college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is truely more bang for the buck. I had wanted to attend a university, but it was way too expensive so I came to Delta and it was a lot cheaper and the same classes. Some teachers at Delta are the same teachers from different universities, but the only difference is the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here because it is a great campus and you meet a lot of new people who are different from one another.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great and know what they are talking about. They allow us to be apart of their teachings and never get me bored in class. Their lectures are always exciting and I learn a lot from them. They are energetic and that is cool in my book.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to spend the day on campus and like to get involved. Shy students will get by but participation is a big part of most of the courses and its good to be able to approach professors to really make the most of this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to show up to classes even when not registered because you'll most likely be added later in the semsester. Its also good to know which courses you need to take and plan out the semesters. Be prepared for really weird scheduals.

    Bang for the buck

    the courses are reasonably priced and the general courses are more expensive then the optional ones . The books are also expensive and there are sudden text book changes. The college is willing to buy back most books and does give the best return prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    the college is small but active and is always having some sort of event. Although finding a parking space is difficult, its right next to a shopping center so weird scheduals are easy to manage and there is no shortage of coffee. The college itself is beautiful with lots of trees and a huge koi pond.

    Am learning a lot

    the instructors are helpful and supportive. They aren't afraid to review and give out extra credit. They are willing to meet with students outside of class but they aren't afraid to really pile on the homework.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe during the day, not safe during the night. there have been crazy scammers found in the parking lot even during the day, and crazy guys who shoot people. so just carry some pepper spray and a taizer if you have one. though i'm just saying this because i'm paranoid. it is relatively safe most of the time.

    Greek Life

    ziltch. we don't have a greek life, but uop does.

    Clubs and Activities

    though i have seen more elsewhere, we actually have a few clubs that are quite interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    those who are unsure of what they want to do in life! there is nothing wrong with starting at a junior college. enjoy it. these are our prime years!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the koi pond. it's such a calming spot compared to the hustle and bustle of the overall campus.

    What to do for fun

    for fun? enjoy the mall across the street. trust me, it sometimes beats the library on campus any day.

    Food and Dining

    although it is not on campus, right around are many food and dining areas such as outback steakhouse. there is also the mall across the street which is a huge plus.

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on your major. i want to say it can be very rigorous. unfortunately with the school budget cuts, we have lost a vast amount of interesting classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    -always have a buddy to walk you to your car when it gets dark out. -don't be afraid to speak up! most teachers appreciate it! -if you want to get into a class, apply for the semester admission early! if you wait too long, you'll get a class you have no need for. -pay attention in the parking lot while you're driving! drivers can be reckless and students tend to walk out in front of you.

    In three sentences

    the campus is quite nice and the koi pond is calming. it gets quite crowded during the day, but is actually rather calmed down during the evening. the parking is horrific during the major part of the beginning of the year, but it will cool down after people start to drop their unwanted classes.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Recently had 2 cases of sexual misconduct.

    Greek Life

    Not much of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and good student govnment organization.

    Great for these types of students

    People who need extra support before going to a rigorous university or high school students who didn't do the best they could have in high school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Delta college has a south campus in mountain house ca near Tracy ca.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to start your 4 year education plan or to earn an associate's degree.

    What to do for fun

    Stockton has two large shopping malls nearby the college. This college has a large proportion of typical stoners.

    Food and Dining

    Stockton has two large shopping malls nearby the college.

    Dorm Life

    The is no dorm life at this community college unless you decide to live into some cheap high crime apartment buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at this institution make it their goal to educate their students and prepare them for a challenging world beyond the academic setting. They prepare students for work towards associates bachelors masters and professional degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best that you can because it is not high school--this is college. Ask the teachers for help and make sure you attend class at least 75% of the time.

    In three sentences

    SN Joaquin delta college is an excellent 2 year community close that serves to educate many people in the central valley. This school, with careful planning and the drive to succeed, can take any individual to the epitome of success.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tons of cars got broken into but thats just the least of it, car break ins are just material things. I know that a few girls were fondled in stairways. That's one thing I would stress to any young ladies going to delta, be aware of your surroundings and try to never walk alone at night.

    Greek Life

    I don't think out campus had anything like that.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always had events trying to get you to join clubs. Usually on fridays in the quad they would set up tables and showcase their clubs. I personally never joined any but wish I would have.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this school for students who are on a budget. I know that at least 90% of the people I knew attending that school lived at home. Go to a Junior College if you aren't to sure what your majoring in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wasn't to involved with any campus traditions. There is always campus tours going on. The one thing every one loves about Delta College is the pond!

    Bang for the buck

    Delta was a really good for what you are paying. I saved tons of money by going to this junior college and I feel it has prepared me well for a state school. Everything is alway cheaper at a junior college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Delta you can go to the baseball games as they usually always have a good team. Hang out with your friends from class. Since the mall is right across the street you can go there and window shop.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options for food of campus. The one thing I would definitely recommend you try from the campus cafeterias are the breakfast burritos. They are Stockton famous among students!

    Dorm Life

    Delta College doesn't offer dorms since it is a community college most people still live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The core 4 classes which are; english, science, math, and history always have really difficult teachers but they are always the most helpful. There is no reason to fail any class. It's up to you to put in the work to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor so you don't end up taking classes you don't need. Check your student email as much as possible. Last but not least make friends with people in your classes to make school more enjoyable and easier too.

    In three sentences

    Overall it was a good school with a few teachers that want to see you move on. The atmosphere there is really laid back and nice. Parking was the worst the first two weeks of school.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our class had a visit from them the campus police the other day and they seemed well-fitted for their job. They handed out whistles for us to use in case of an emergency and informed us on past crimes - and how we could stop it from happening to us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There didn't seem to be that many clubs during club rush.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to transfer to another university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some days in the week, there is free food out in front of the Danner Hall and live music.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for the books and classes aren't that expensive altogether. Financial Aid pays off most of it.

    What to do for fun

    When you have time on your hands, I recommend checking out the koi pond if you haven't. There's also a mall across the DeRicco building you could hangout at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I'd recommend bringing your own lunch to save money.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other class,classes have homework assignments - sometimes even extra credit is given out. But the student is responsible for studying. Everyone should be capable of getting an 'A'.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out of your comfort zone and don't be afraid to ask for help if it's needed.

    In three sentences

    Apart from the very rare criminal acts, this campus isn't all that bad. The Professors are all - for the most part - great teachers. And the staff is helpful in the time of need.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as possible because we are impacted and the classes fill up ridiculously fast.

    Bang for the buck

    I choose to go to community college rather then a university to save some money and then transfer. Going to a community college is saving money seeing as to your basically taking the same classes for a much lower rate.

    Am enjoying being here

    This isn't located in the best of places but you can easily drive to San Francisco or other places.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn a lot here so long as you choose the right classes. Many people choose the wrong classes and they get stuck with horrible professors. Only word of advice is think hard about the classes you choose.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High school students looking for a good transition to University. Students who want to save money and graduate or transfer out within a couple of years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is a great start for students out of high school or going back to school. You receive basically the same education by attending college classes as you would at a 4-year University but at much cheaper tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of any financial aid, scholarships, and resource programs such as MESA and EOPS available to minimize financial troubles as tuition costs continue to rise.

    Am enjoying being here

    Due to fewer classes and overflowing amount of students, many courses are difficult to get into. Campus and classrooms are old and small. The student population and environment is juvenile and unprofessional. There are many crime incidents that occur every semester such as bookstore and armed robberies.

    Am learning a lot

    Pay attention to the classes and instructors you choose. There are some stellar faculty members that are willing to help students learn. In addition, there are many resources and help centers available.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are majoring in chemistry or math

    Am learning a lot

    The professors in the math and science departments are very good. My major is chemistry and, i learned a lot from my professors here.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is a very safe campus. plenty of security.

    Clubs and Activities

    hear that there are plenty of good ones.

    Great for these types of students

    young or old.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a sale every week-end.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a very good college.

    What to do for fun

    go to the sales on the week-ends ! lots of good used stuff.

    Food and Dining

    there is every kind of food and dining in the immediate area. fast food as well as fancy.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a very good college for students of all ages.

    In three sentences

    i have already learned alot especially about myself ! the campus is very nice, they have plenty of parking. always events going on.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really depends if your alert or not in your surroundings. NEVER WALK TO THE PARKING LOTS ALONE! ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT! Be aware of your surroundings at all times and you should be fine. There is also a very helpful text message safety alert system you can sign up for. Just go to http://www.deltacollege.edu/about/contact.html to sign up for text alerts.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many, clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back students or first-time college goers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Koi pond is the focal point for the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    For a basic starting point to get a feel for basic college life and educational expectations I would say this is a good starter community college. Price is definitely competitive and I think pretty reasonable, (with the exception of books.)

    What to do for fun

    There are very limited selections for fun in Stockton, but there are lot of selections if your able to travel outside of the city. I would suggest joining a club and get involved though. Many go on field trips and are involved in interesting activities. On top of that you become more desirable to other 4-year institutions and scholarship opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    We do have many options for food and dining around the vicinity of San Joaquin Delta College and our cafeteria is not to shabby.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your courses and course load you can either have a slow laid back ride or a intense roller-coaster of a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Long lines at financial aid and admissions, get there early or preferably during one of the class periods. Scope out your classrooms before semester begins therefore you don't get locked out. Take an active role in planning your college career span. DO NOT just listen to the counselors! Use assist.org, the college catalog, and csumentor. Try and rent your books from a reputable textbook rental, books are notoriously expensive here and sell back very low.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely stunning natural setting campus. Unprofessional student body. Hit or miss staff selection.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Currently only $36 per unit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to take your time, since budgets cut there is less classes being offered.

    In three sentences

    This college is better than most in regards to the variety of degrees offered.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not sure, since I am attending school online.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure, since I am attending school online.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure, since I am attending school online.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to work while they go to school or have trouble getting into programs at campuses close to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure, since I am attending school online.

    Bang for the buck

    This school definitely fits every one's budget.

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure, since I am attenting school onlinea

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure, since I am attenting school onlinea

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure, since I am attenting school onlinea

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to prospective students to research different schools and compare/contrast what they offer. Make sure you don't compromise on the things that you need to complete your education.

    In three sentences

    The guidance counselors are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I was able to tell within 15 minutes that this college provided everything i required and things I didn't realized I would need. I am excited to start my college education here.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with campus.

    In three sentences

    Alright sized campus. So far the teachers I've had have been really helpful. If you want good parking, get there early.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ITS VERY SAFE, THERE ARE COPS ALL OVER THE CAMPOSE, THEY ALSO HAVE THAT BUTTON THAT YOU PRESS IF YOU FEEL UNSAFE AN THE COPS WILL SHOW UP AT LOCATION.

    Clubs and Activities

    THEY HAVE ALOT OF CLUBS AND ACTIVITIES SUCH AS WEIGHT ROOM, POOL, MOST OF THE SPORTS, ITS GRREAT.

    Great for these types of students

    STUDENTS WHO WANTS TO LEARN AN HAVE FUN AT THE SAME TIME.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THEY HAVE ALOT OF BUILDING AND THE NAMES ARE KIND OF COPILICATED.

    What to do for fun

    GO TO THE LIBRARY, TO THE WEIGHT ROOM, WALK WITH FRIENDS AROUND, ITS A VERY BEAUTIFUL CAMPUSE.

    Food and Dining

    THEY HAVE ALL THE FOOD YOU WANT, THEY ALSO HAVE A RESTRANT IN THERE, THEY HAVE AN ATM MECHINE TOO.

    Dorm Life

    FANTASTIC

    Academic Rigor

    VERY GOOD.

    Tips for prospective students

    BEHAVE, BE ACTIVE, RESPECT OTHERS.

    In three sentences

    SAN JOAQUIN DELTA COLLEGE IS PROBELBLY A GOOD COLLEGE AS WHAT I HEARD FROM OTHER STUDENTS, THEY HAVE ALOT OF APPORTUINTIES FOR STUDENTS. HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE A FIRST GREAT YEAR FOR ME.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are unsure about what field to get into or for students that could not afford other colleges. Delta College also has a great nursing program for anyone that is looking into that field. Delta College can pave the way to your future in any field of study that your heart desires.

    Bang for the buck

    You are definitely going to get your moneys worth at Delta College. You are going to pay a fraction of the cost, compared to university or other colleges around.

    What to do for fun

    Delta College has some great sports teams, along with a great theater program. One can enjoy watching soccer one day, then watch a breath-taking performance the next.

    Food and Dining

    Delta College has a great dining hall that serves an assortment of food. In addition, there is a lovely cafe on campus for your coffee fix.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life does not exist, however you can find an affordable apartment near by.

    Academic Rigor

    The overall work can be quite grueling, but with great teachers and sources, it is a piece of cake. Some classes are easier than others, but you will gain the knowledge of all your classes, either way.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about attending San Joaquin Delta College, keep in mind of all the opportunities and experiences that you will endure. Delta College will open doors for you on your life path and will lead you to a happy life.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great school for students that can not pay for university or is still figuring out a major. The teachers and staff are willing to work around your schedule and helps out with people of all types.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a dedicated staff of officers that look after the campus through being on campus as well as having a few cameras in key locations. They even have an alert system through both email and text to inform students of any incidents that may have happened.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    As previously mentioned, the clubs and activities on campus are excellent. Having the opportunity to build lasting friendships are what clubs can offer each community college student.

    Great for these types of students

    This is college is great for everyone. Whether you are fresh out of high school or you are returning to college after having a few kids, SJDC can accommodate for many different lifestyles.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Be aware that there is some of construction on campus because of a major revamping of all the buildings. They are almost done with the new science and math center. Likely, the building that was the primary science and math center will be torn down because of some remaining asbestos in the building materials.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a California resident, you can't get much cheaper than to go to a community college. It would even better if you qualify for any sort of financial aid or the Boggs fee waiver. For what is gained through the classes and relationships built with fellow classmates and instructors, SJDC is very worth the time, effort, and money.

    What to do for fun

    I encourage getting involved with club activities. The various clubs on campus are a wealth of great experiences from writing with the Writers' Guild to helping causes with Generation 4 Change to watching films with Delta Psi. Also, the Associated Student Body Government is constantly putting on events throughout the semester, such as games, concerts, and free lunches.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is decent, but what makes lunch special is the Student Chef. You can either get the to-go soups and sandwiches or you can sit down in their restaurant full of delectable menu items. Also, the baked breads that the student chefs prepare are absolutely aromatic and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes that I have personally taken have been subjects that have expanded my understanding, challenged me to increase my proficiency, and taught me how to better approach the tasks that are before me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes as quickly as possible. Pay attention to the IGETC program to know what classes are necessary and what classes are not required for your major. Look into developing relationships with teachers in your major so that you can go to them for advice and, perhaps, a recommendation letter for when you transfer out to a university.

    In three sentences

    Most of the instructors that teach at SJDC genuinely care for the success of their students and are willing to take the time to encourage students in the areas that need growth. Because class sizes are not excessively large, it is easy to develop good relationships with both your classmates and teachers. SJDC is a college for many people because of the great variety of degrees that they offer.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join Clubs on Campus

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs on campus

    Food and Dining

    the Food is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    the Academic is great an San Joaquin Delta College

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure u see a counselor.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta College is a great school for Communications and Sports. And there known for Culinary Arts Program. And known for a Great sports Program.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Stockton. Try to stay away at night and do not be alone.

    What to do for fun

    Stockton loves jazz, not to mention that UOP's Brubeck School is nearby, so the nighttime jazz scene is amazing! Also, there are two malls and the Miracle Mile has a ton of places to go!

    Food and Dining

    The on campus dining hall (Danner) is over priced and mediocre, but there are a lot ofwonderful restaurants immediately nearby!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very well planned, and therefore teachers help alleviate the stress. But the subjects are still very hard and most teachers pile on a lot of homework. They only want us to succeed, though, and are willing to help every step of the way to make it easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get everything done as early as possible. Apply, register, do homework, etc. as soon as you possibly can, because anything can come along at this school and seriously hurt your progress.

    In three sentences

    The campus feels like an oasis in the middle of a ominous town. Unfortunately the school is very impacted by the budget crisis in California, and therefore is cutting back in many essential areas. But the programs and teachers themselves are top-notch.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college has a fairly large police force with several patrolling the campus daily. They have an alert system that one can sign up for text message alerts.

    Bang for the buck

    Given that this is a community college it is very affordable and a good place to get your general education units completed. Also, with the many certificate programs offered an individual could finish one of those in about two years and be done with school.

    What to do for fun

    Delta College has many clubs to join and those clubs provide the fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is very edible and generally cost effective. The dining hall on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired. There is not enough seating and often times they close the upper part of Danner Hall for events, which leaves very few tables to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I rated this area with three stars for average. The academics are, for the most part, at a junior college level. I would estimate that approximately half of the instructors teach at a higher academic level and require serious study from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered early because the campus is packed and many students are unable to get the classes they need. If you have a disability be sure to get signed up for DSPS services. Also, if you are low income there is an EOPS program that will provide additional funding and/or pay for your books.

    In three sentences

    This community college has a very large number of career specific certificate programs. They are welcoming to the non-traditional and adult re-entry students. The campus is a beautiful, full of trees and greenery, but some of the buildings are old.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    San Joaquin Delta College has two campuses. One that is located in Stockton, CA which is the main campus and the second is located in Mountain House, CA which is a smaller campus. There is Security on campus so it feels safe to attend.

    Greek Life

    Since San Joaquin is a community college there is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is little fast-food chains located on the Stockon Campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at SJDC is acceptable meaning that your in college now so teachers' do there job to teach and it is your choice if you want to accept there knowledge or leave it.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta College is a good school to attend. San Joaquin Delta College is a community college. Since I am currently still in High School they have given me the opportunity to further my education while getting my high school diploma.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't take night classes or late afternoon classes if you can work around it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Your grades are your ticket into the program. Learn and enjoy what you see and hear in your classes.

    In three sentences

    The nursing program here at Delta is the best California has to offer. Everyone in the program wants you to suceed and creates many opportunities to ensure that happens. I am very lucky that I was chosen into the program.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 59

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Will this is my first year here. So far I like it. The only thing that I don't is that you have to bug them about a lot of things to get them done.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 59

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. The staff shows that they care about the students and the classes are widely available.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The mall is right in front, you can go eat or go shopping whenever!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not choose classes that won't help your transfer. Do not waste your time with people that are not focus on the same goal as yours (transferring) Be on point with schedules and your classes.

    In three sentences

    A community college where you can get your education a step higher if you wisely choose your classes, professors, and clubs/ students services you want to apply. There is definitely lots of help in here and positive transfer goals.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty scary. The hallways, stairways and pathways are very poorly lit and there has been a lot of crime on campus but the campus police department is always willing to escort you.

    Bang for the buck

    As any community college goes, it's cheaper to attend than a state school. However, they do keep hiking up fees. Parking just went up by eight dollars!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! You wont regret getting involved!

    Food and Dining

    It's ridiculously expensive and not at all tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are pretty easy-going and lenient but on occasion there are some tough ones or ones who don't even know what they're talking about, as is the case with many colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a goal and a set time to complete set goal. Be determined in completing said goal.

    In three sentences

    Delta gives students the opportunity to learn, no matter who they are. The campus is having a lot of issues with safety lately, but campus police is trying to stay on top of it. I recommend going and being determined to get your credits done and out of the way so you can get your AA or transfer as soon as possible.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is provided with much safety, as students are updated through school emails and text messages of daily crime alerts. We also have police that ride in there cars, patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of different clubs on campus to help others become apart of the community.

    Great for these types of students

    San Joaquin College offers a diverse area, as the tri valley is all about different cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is only thirty six dollars a unit and is well worth the money. A student is learning from some of the most well professioned teachers and is being taught highly skilled knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    If one is on a break from class, hanging out in the courtyard is always fun, as there is music and entertainment at noon.

    Food and Dining

    San Joaquin Delta College has a wonderful cafe full of tasty foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Delta College.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at Delta College are wonderful, as Rate My Professor, comes in handy. This is a website offered to students for classes and to see how teachers are in class. I have made it through fine in all my classes, thanks to this website.

    Tips for prospective students

    I can atest to Delta College as being a great community school to attend before your last two college years. The teachers are well educated, most of them having a doctorate degree and teaching at an upper division level. They helped to prepare me for what is to come in my future.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta College is an outstanding community college with dedicated teachers and resources. The staff is always there to help any student. Free tutoring is available on a daily basis with educated students to help others in need.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    carefree. studious. ambitious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the pond. the old buildings. the new builds. the set up of the parking.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and sports to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should always be early, because early is on time and on time is late. Always use the buddy system. Enroll early to get a good picking of classes.

    In three sentences

    A care free student environment. Helpful teachers are around a lot. The classes are great for a challenging experience.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime alerts aren't something I enjoy receiving. Unfortunately, the school is located in a negatively reputable location, but I wouldn't let that keep you from attending. I haven't had any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs. Radio and Television sounds fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Id recommend this junior college for someone not ready for the huge transition to a four year university, and wants to get a taste of college life while staying close to friends. His school has every ethnicity you can think of, and a really broad age spectrum: 17 year olds to 70!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a great koi pond on campus.

    What to do for fun

    This junior college does offer many clubs and sports to join. From my experience, students enjoy hanging around with friends on the campus. Its located right across the street from a mall, so if you need a little retail therapy in between classes, you can do some shopping!

    Food and Dining

    Not extraordinary, but a great place to grab a snack, or even a yummy Starbucks drink. The area is basic, but accommodates a good amount of students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students here seem really determined to transfer to universities. The attitude I get most frequently from other students get in, get out. I give it 3 stars because its not uncommon for students to lose direction, withdraw from classes, or not do very well in them. Stay motivated!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste any time. Take the classes you need for your goal whether it's to transfer or leave with an associates, and keep chuggin ' along. There's no need to waste precious time with laziness and irresponsibility.

    In three sentences

    Although this is my very first semester of college, I'm pleased with my online classes, and the teacher I do have in person is enthusiastic about what he's teaching. Great so far!

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Here at Delta College, our safety is just as important as our education. Our security is always on the prowl for suspicious people that don't belong. No one is perfect, so they can't always get there as a crime happens, but they do there best and notify all faculty and students whenever there happens to be an incident.

    Clubs and Activities

    Delta college hosts many events; plays, symposiums, workshops etc. There is also a diverse club-life. There are; writing clubs, math, cultural, music clubs, Gay-Straight-Alliance, Speech and Debate and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Delta College is a diverse campus in its entirety. There student life is blooming with all sorts of different ethnicity's and age groups; there is even high school and on-campus daycare life. There are many classes offered for almost any major from visual performing arts to automotive or science majors. Another good thing to know is, you don't have to know what your major is right away! there are classes made to help you figure it out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every area of Delta College is fairly unique, but, the coy pond is probably the most unique of all. These fish are so beautiful, colorfully diverse and majestic in their movement. Though there was an incident where some time ago where some of these amazing creatures were murdered, the coy still stand tall. I recommend that anyone visiting the campus should stop by their and to witness their beauty at least once.

    What to do for fun

    Delta college is an open campus, so there's a good amount of tourism walloping about. There are lounges where students can hang-out, play cards and other games. A popular area to hang around is the Quad, which is the center of the campus. In the quad, there lay our famous coy-fish pond; a small relaxing area to sit down and maybe read a book. When events are held, they are generally held in the quad.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality is overall pretty general. There is a small variety of culturally-based meals, as well as snacks, vegetarian meals, and of coarse, a mini-Starbucks. Besides the snacks, all of the food is made in front of the students, as well as drinks at the coffee area.

    Dorm Life

    Delta college is a community college, so typically there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity and pace of classes depends on each individual student and teachers. It is true, not every class is a walk in the park; however, there are teachers that are willing to adjust the pace in which they teach. For students that come across teachers that don't, they can always get help from the many programs offered at Delta College.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to succeed here, you must have perseverance in everything you do. It is a good idea to form study groups or attend tutoring for harder subjects early in the semesters. There are many outreaching programs here, so don't be afraid or too proud to get help.

    In three sentences

    As soon as you step on campus, it's quite clear that you're not in high school anymore. You are your own boss; you make your schedule. The staff is willing to go through great lengths to help all students succeed, you just have to be willing.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Robbing has increased this year.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap

    What to do for fun

    Study basically.

    Food and Dining

    Could be healthier and also cheaper

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, stay on task and transfer as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The school is close to home for me. A student who doesn't receive any aid, the college is affordable. Also, majority of the teacher are nice and helpful.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The mall is right accross the street from the college so in your spare time you can drive across the street or save yourself gas and walk there to hang out or have lunch in the eatery.

    Food and Dining

    I ate out most of the time. The food is no different from cafeteria food in high school. The snacks,candy, and drinks especially in the bookstore are greatly overpriced. A drink that you can go down the street to the 99cent store and buy would be priced at about 2$ in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms i don't believe the school has any its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the classes aren't too dificult as long as you show up to class and study. There is plenty free tutoring on campus for those who need it in various subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a break between classes don't time by hanging out with your friends. 5 minutes turns into an hour and before you know it you'll be late for class or get persuaded into ditching class. DON'T ditch any classes. Every day of class counts. Try your hardest not to procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta College to me is not much different from High School. I see alot of familiar faces and ended up making alot of the same mistakes as i did in high school. Its very easy to get stuck at the college for years but anyone focused and motivated to get out can transfer out in 2 years at most.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delta has its own campus police force in addition to the local law enforcement.

    Greek Life

    Not App.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will find the same selection of clubs and activities as you would at any major university.

    Great for these types of students

    All types will experience a very positive experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Junior college is the best bang for your buck. Tuition is affordable. Making your money go further.

    What to do for fun

    Music. Horses

    Food and Dining

    Not App.

    Dorm Life

    Not App.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be totally responsible for your acedemic achievements, There is no extra credit here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the time to access online and on campus activities prior to enrollment.

    In three sentences

    An excellent community college with diverse programs.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Paying your way to college while working part time. Single parents earning a degree to transfer. Obtaining your AA or transferring to a 4 year college.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to go eat.

    Dorm Life

    Many locations for housing and apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The college has a pretty good academic scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is located across from businesses and shopping malls. A few distance away from the local private college University of the Pacific. Community college cost and fees are cheaper to obtain an AA degree and transfer to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    The campus is locally in town where I live. Delta has great professors on succeeding higher education. The campus offers child care services for those who qualify.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very good way to get yourself out there and meeting new people.

    What to do for fun

    I prefer to enjoy outdoors and meeting new people.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    May good choices when choosing the way to go with your career.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great way to get started on your career. It offers a lot of help in every situation from picking classes to working around your schedule. The student body is very outgoing and friendly.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not great. Be careful.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for just about everyone and and every interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated. Hard working. Determined. Disabled.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dance club does a flash mob every year for Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive for what it is. However, if you are willing to do extra research and a little investigation, you will get more for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of great clubs and sports. There is also a large array of performing arts and music shows to attend. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Pack your own food. The cafeteria closes at 1pm and is not open on Fridays. It is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. There are many near by and affordable apartment complexes. Be aware of your surroundings; Stockton is not known for safety.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes/teachers are more difficult than others. You are in charge of your education here. You will get out what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read your student email daily. Be pro-active in every way. Do not get discouraged by the school's lack of organization.

    In three sentences

    You must be self-motivated and determined. This school and its employees will not seek you out individually to offer help in any way. However, if you are persistent, and demanding, you will be able to navigate the school and its services just fine.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's alright. It's in Stockton, but the campus police are always walking around.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of sports you could join. They offer a lot of fun classes to take as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Unknown.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get in and get out fast and cheap. They have great quality teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are sporting events and extra credit events! Join a sports team or a dance class. There are plenty of fun classes to take.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice cafeteria full of good food and snacks!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta college is a good college because they have really good teachers. The campus might be a little confusing, but once you understand ( which comes easy) you won't have a problem finding your class. This college offers lots of help for students seeking a bright future.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are everywhere and there are alerts on the student email to get students involved in helping when an incident occurs.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for any type of student. wether you r in it to chill or if you want to study hard. the atmosphere is great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a statue of a head outside Holt. It is a pretty unusual statue.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definetly worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the library and use the wifi. there is alot of fun places nearby including the mall across the street.

    Food and Dining

    It always smell so delicious and looks so yummy.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I think Academic rigor depends on the student you talk to

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a counseling appiontment early and always check your email. Also know your qustions before your counseling appointment.

    In three sentences

    So far this is a great school. The campus is gorgeous and the counselors are very helpful and patient. The student discounts are pretty awesome too.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part there have been crimes, but the security handled the problem good!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of people on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends and sometime go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    So far I've ate at the Dinner 3 Times and all times i ate Burritos. I love the food and drinks.

    Academic Rigor

    I think grades should be everything, you want to study and pass all your classes so it can turn out good in the future!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips should be to always be on time to class and be prepared. Do your homework on time, if you have questions ask the professor. Last thing but not least.. ALWAYS STUDY!

    In three sentences

    I like this college and I'm glad i chose to come here. I think it's a great opportunity to explore your options and meet new people. I would recommend to people who are only going to a 2- year then transfer if you want.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several things one can do for fun like visit the stands that are put up from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    I really do not have time to eat around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The acadmeics of the classes are very rigorous. The professors always emphasize the rigor that the class will have and how important it is to attend each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give students would be to be prepared for a mature environment. It is very different from being told what to do. Also to be very attentive and not miss due dates.

    In three sentences

    Delta has been a great learning experience for me and has really helped me mature. It has also prepared me for what I can expect for my future semesters. It has been a real great experience.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Delta has a variety of fun classes, sports, and clubs. Plus, with the library, and different forums it's impossible not to make friends. go enjoy the beauty of the campus, play music on the staircases, or just talk to friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is cooked by culinary arts majors, and smells way better than that of the food i got in high school.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms as far as I know... So seeing as that means I don't have to pay for housing, it's great!

    Academic Rigor

    You will get annoyed at the students who waste money, and teachers who can't teach like any other school. Don't worry about it, and find ways to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never go somewhere alone. Reminder: This is Stockton. Other than that remember, that your here for an education you want, and have fun achieving it.

    In three sentences

    Delta is actually a beautiful campus, despite what people expect. The atmosphere is charged, and it seems that everyone has their own set of personality. Don't worry about fitting in as people would say because it's impossible to not be your own person here.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are dedicated to trying to make the campus a safer place, with text alerts and cameras in the parking lots, and emergency police call boxes placed around campus. They provide seminars for students and staff on how to keep safe in a crime ridden town.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the nursing and Psych Tech programs, as well as for students trying to save money before transferring to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Students may apply for a Fee Waiver, and Federal and State grants through FAFSA.

    What to do for fun

    That is up to you.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is not high quality, although they do have a salad bar and sell Starbucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of the classes are typical for a junior college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourself with the college web page, and see a counselor as soon as possible to help you form an academic plan.

    In three sentences

    The campus is well- kept, and a green refuge in the concrete city of Stockton. I attend the nursing program, and the program is run professionally and competently. The downside to this school is that there is a lot of crime on campus.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus in Stockton has a lot to do

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of food around the city.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy work load in most classes, and yet you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    It often gets very windy, and register as soon as the allow you too.

    In three sentences

    A good school that allows you to take the classes you need when you need them. The teachers are nice and help often with the students. Having two campuses also allows to get different perspectives.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten the lunch of Delta College, but I can assure it's decent.

    Dorm Life

    There is really no dorm near by, it's just a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, things look okay from the view. It really depends on if you want a challenge or a helpful teacher.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not the safest campus. There's been rapes, robberies, and muggings. Some people actually bring their guns to school. So I heard. I use the buddy system. The lady cops are super hot. Especially my baby. <3 <3 <3

    Clubs and Activities

    There's not too many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who haven't left Stockton, but want to. A job has more benefits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have koi fish.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I sit and imagine my professors head exploding and i pass notes.

    Food and Dining

    The mall is right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Aim for the highest grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage students to have a major chosen and stick with that major. It's better to know what you want, rather than attending school just because.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a pretty cool place. The professors are nice and helpful. They have lot of programs to help you leave the place; if you want to leave.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are crimes committed on and around the campus and so there are security and police men/women on campus throughout the day. I don't know about the other students, but I feel safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't much to do on campus for fun. There is a library, a couple computer rooms, a fish pond to admire, and a lot of campus ground to just sit and walk around. The campus is right across from two malls in walking distance so if you are ever bored, you could go there. Also, there are many different stores around the campus that are in walking distance that are somewhat entertaining to just walk around and window shop.

    Food and Dining

    The food here are so-so. There are many varieties, but they are also overly expensive. Even though it is on the same campus, prices for the same items differ, which I find to be weird. Other than that, the food and dining is adequate.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this community college, therefore attending students have to commute to and from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very straight-forward; they are what they are. As for the available programs for different majors, I believe they are very thorough. I can only be absolutely sure about this for my major, but I believe the rest are the best they can be as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future SJDC students should know that it is very competitive to get into the main general education classes and so make sure you are on the top of the priority registration list by meeting up with your counselor, which will raise your priority. Since this is a smaller campus, get to know your professors, especially if they are the professors of your intended major because it will be helpful for future recommendations. Do not procrastinate in any of the processes of getting enrolled, getting classes, and getting your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta College is a close-knit community college. It provides everything that is required to be able to get in and get out, but not in a short amount of time. The college campus is overcrowded with students who are all fighting for the courses they need and some end up not getting it.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When i got nothing to do i go play piano. They have individual rooms that has a upright piano that is very old but still sounds great. When i'm in there playing the piano the sounds just echos the room and it sounds great.

    Food and Dining

    The foods, i got to say i don't buy much from their but i do know that they are great and the people who are serving the foods are trying their best to get their work study done correctly.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in Delta, if it does then i don't know much about. But i would love Delta to have some if they do. I stay in a dorm and meet new people. Also i will save more gas.

    Academic Rigor

    Students tends to drop a lot because sometimes student can't handle it or maybe they just don't like the class that they picked. But they do keep up with there time by managing it and getting everything done on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students are very outgoing. They plan ahead and choose the direction they want to go. Some student who follow the same major becomes friends and help each other to reach their goals.

    In three sentences

    I will rate San Joaquin Delta college a 4 because this is my first year in it. Although there is more college that is better than Delta but i still love it. There is lots of people who are serious about their education.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great police team on campus, lots of emergency telephones nearby, and the school police station has a text notification system if anything happens, and they regularly email you about safety tips. Unfortunately, there is still the occasional incident, where girls have been grabbed inappropriately in stairwells.

    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs, lots of friendly nice people.

    Great for these types of students

    Medical students, traditional art students, graphic design students, anyone who needs to get their general ed out of the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The koi fish in the pond in the Quad is kind of like everyone's communal school pets. We all love them, and the art students spend lots of time sketching them.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic education level for a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs! Game Design, Art Club, Fencing, Writer's Guild, etc. Lots of great art shows at the Goodwin Gallery. Flea market every saturday in the parking lot.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    None of the classes I have taken are particularly difficult, but I have still learned a ton.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to one of the counselors there, they are super helpful. Go here for the first two years of college and save a ton of money.

    In three sentences

    I love Delta. SJDC gets a bad reputation because it's located in Stockton, but it's great for students who can't afford to go straight to a 4 year college right out of high school. It's a cheaper alternative, with the same education.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems fine.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not at this school

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any clubs

    Great for these types of students

    People in the area of this college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THERES TWO DIFFERENT BATHROOMS

    Bang for the buck

    Standard unit prices.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    no food or dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty laid back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make small goals and slowly conquer them all.

    In three sentences

    This is the first college I have attended so I cannot compare it to others, but it seems like a pretty okay school. Teachers and instructors are pretty cool. The mountain house campus is pretty small though.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually crimes happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are fun and enjoying

    Great for these types of students

    You should stay focused and never give up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many clubs that can help you decide on what you want to do and you can also explore.

    Bang for the buck

    Hopefully you take me into consideration because I will become an asset to this country will all my academic potential.

    What to do for fun

    You can play sports and have fun physical education classes. It is easy to make friends because a lot of students attend.

    Food and Dining

    Great service and good quality food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know much about their dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love their rigor because they care about you and they will never deny you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up and keep on striving for what you want. Delta College is great because you have more time to decide on what you want to be with all their career classes available.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend. Gives you many opportunities and allows you to explore. Recommend this school to everybody who wants to start a career.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many helpful and fun clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Accross the street from the mall and many stores and restaurants, where you can go and relax with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    A cafeteria that sells coffe lunch breaksfast and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Some People rent an apartment or commute everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Many great students as well as teachers that are really intelligent and enjoy what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out of all the great resources delta has on its campus, that can help you get through college.

    In three sentences

    Has an awesome environment. Has many places to have quiet study time. Many great resources like free tutoring in campus, work net. Programs for students with disabilities and great helpful counselors.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I personally fell like Delta's Campus is very safe. It seems like their police staff has almost doubled since i've been here. I always see police staff on different parts of campus throughout the day.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are many clubs people are open to join during club week which is either the first or second week of school. Provided are clubs like different dance genres, orchestra and band, gay pride, french, hispanic, etc. you name it!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are reasonably good but can become expensive especially if done often.There are great staff members serving so there is great customer service here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided by the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Delta College has some of the best programs in this country. For example, it is well known for it's Nursing Program.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future students is NOT to wait last minute to get anything done or you will most likely be left behind. You need to apply and take care of all paper work for financial status way in advance because it will take a while for it to be processed and accepted. If any concerns or questions about a class always feel free to email the instructor for direct contact. This college also offers great sports club opportunities, I too am a student-athlete so I know.

    In three sentences

    Overall, San Joaquin Delta College is a great Community College. They provide great outreach opportunities and programs. I think they should personally work on revising their staff that work in the DeRicco Building for Financial Aid.These staff members have made it difficult to myself and others students attending Delta College. Other than that, I find this college to be very supportive and helpful.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of police officers on campus, as well as emergency phones at every corner that connect you directly to the security office.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to choose from, from art, to fencing, to Japan club.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students, Art majors, computer science, graphic design, history, and any kind of transfer student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a huge koi fish pond right in the center of the Quad, filled with dozens of beautiful fish.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely cheap. Well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of great clubs and organizations in the school, great brand new library, and plenty to do within walking distance. Shopping, dining, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria, and lots of dining options nearby. My friends and I often go to the food court at the mall across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of apartment choices nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not impossible to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your registration finalized quickly, and make sure you are on top of dates for registering for classes. Classes fill up very quickly here.

    In three sentences

    Attending San Joaquin Delta College is not only a smart decision, but also a cheap decision. It is an excellent choice for prospective transfer students, and has an excellent nursing program. It has been invaluable for my education and also my wallet.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright but I recommend bringing your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics aren't that hard if you find the right teachers but some of the teachers make you feel wrong all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like sleep don't take an early class because it gives you an excuse to not go, class is more important than sleep but in a groggy sleepy mood you won't feel that way.

    In three sentences

    This college is really great if you are looking for a smaller school. The Campus is easy to get around but is really busy around noon. The cafeteria food is decent but I would recommend not eating there if you don't have to.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and sports... Very active school.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of shopping centers near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on Major and teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP classes. Know your major. Have a list of schools you would like to transfer to.

    In three sentences

    So far a 4/5

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs! I think it is the best way to meet new people and actually enjoy what Delta college has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Delta has a great food selection. The only downfall is that they close a little bit too early for those students who attend afternoon or evening classes.

    Dorm Life

    Delta does not have any Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good curriculum. Teachers really care about you passing their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to attend class, take real good notes and make friends with your classmates. If you do all these three, you will have a better chance at passing each class and getting a high GPA.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great school because of the scenery. It is also a good beginning school to attend because teachers are there to help and the students are caring. I love Delta because it has a good academic curriculum and the clubs they have are really great to join.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    little dangerous at night

    Greek Life

    nope

    Clubs and Activities

    name it!

    Great for these types of students

    African Americans. not that that much money to go to college. afforest

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lot of african americans. but they cool.

    What to do for fun

    it is next to the mall and lot of fast food places. lot of sports are played there. so many people and they are nice people

    Food and Dining

    vending machines everywhere. next to mall and surrounded with lot of fast food places

    Dorm Life

    no dorms there! but affordable apartments are near by

    Academic Rigor

    alright

    Tips for prospective students

    avoid taking night classes becuase it gets little scary.

    In three sentences

    It is a good college,filled with diversity and lot of good teacher. everybody is so friendly and you could always get into an class you want. overall, i love it there

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is fairly safe. There are always police officers on standby to assist a student when in need. There is also a police station on campus so if a student or students needs to talk with a police officer directly they can. Furthermore, once a student enrolls into Delta college, through their email they are notified of any criminal activity that is being done on campus and will state whether or not they have resulted the problem. Also, in the Student's Store, Delta sells a student pepper spray and tazers to ensure one's safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    Sadly since Delta is a community college we have no sororities, but we do offer Greek clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are wide range of clubs on campus. I myself have attended one of the clubs known on campus as H.H.C ( Hip Hops Congress) where we got to learn the fundamentals of the hip hop culture. Delta makes it a priority every beginning of the semester to have a club rush where clubs like Astronomy Club, Dance Club, Art Club, and many more will be sitting outside in the quad waiting for you to apply to your club/ clubs of choice. These clubs not only strengthen the Delta life on campus, but promotes unity and builds social character.

    Great for these types of students

    Delta college is great for students who want to transfer, students who want to be more involved in their community, and for students who are or aren't sure about their futures. Delta college has a wide range of opportunities that will never let a student leave without knowing what it is that they want to do. Delta college is very patient when it comes to their students and provides them with open doors that will lead them down a good path. Furthermore, Delta college is a very diverse campus where one will began to feel the urge to know more about the Stockton community and all it has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad area is a very popular area for students. The quad host a lot of events like dance showdowns, hip hop conventions, and even just a place to hang out with friends. There are sadly no unusual traditions on campus however, there is plenty of room on campus to make your own traditions and memories and make the Delta experience enjoyable and memorable.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only does Delta have sound academic programs, a diverse student life, and fun activities to participate in but, they also have a vast variety of resources that a student can utilize to help aid them in their college career. Delta has a newly rebuilt library, study lounges, peaceful scenery, and a whole lot more. Thus, these resources helps make daily activities like study sessions and peer gatherings a breeze.

    What to do for fun

    Since there is a mall, a book store, and Starbucks just right across the street from the school, students tend to go there to spend quality time with their friends and relatives. There is also an art gallery on campus with beautiful paintings and pictures that were taken by the students which one can go and visit anytime free of charge. Lastly, I like to attend the performances that Delta hold such as: plays, concerts, improves and etc. which are always a pleasure to watch at very low prices.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Delta College is very rich and contains a lot of variety and most importantly is very inexpensive. Danner Hall is the main cafeteria where it provides a lot of places for one to dine with friends, study, and even contains some social media in the center of the cafeteria. There are also aspiring chefs who make delicious foods for students to try at such a low rate.

    Dorm Life

    There are unfortunately no dorms at the college due to the fact that it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Though it may not seem like the academics at a community college aren't as rigorous as a CSU or University you are dead wrong. The majority of the classes at Delta are academically sound and requires a lot of attention and care. Therefore one should remember that Delta College helps one to prepare the student for the transfer into another college of their choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students would be to have a hunger to learn at San Joaquin Delta college. To stay motivated even when the classes seem really tough just remember that there are great professors who are there to help. Last but not least, make sure to talk with a counselor about any problems or questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    San Joaquin Delta college is a diverse and well educated school. The students that I have encountered all hunger for education and have the willpower to succeed. I would recommend any student who wishes to transfer to attend Delta College before their transfer.