Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

San Jose City College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SJSU is excellent for students who enjoy diversity and engaging in extracurricular activities. Students who enjoy juggling activities and building personal momentum with fulfilling activities will love SJSU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to manage your time effectively and do not be afraid to try new things. Use rate my professor! Take all your classes seriously, and attend every class!

    Bang for the buck

    With the rising cost of colleges, SJSU is an affordable option for students looking to excel. As a respected university, and California's oldest college, San Jose State university offers programs, clubs, internships, and opportunities of an overwhelming amount. Students only need to take full advantage of this on their own.

    Am enjoying being here

    The diversity at San Jose State is nothing short of overwhelming in the best way possible. Students from all backgrounds, economic, social, religious, sexual orientation, race, and nationality form the student population. This diversity not only exists among students, but is recognized and celebrated by clubs, staff, and the associated student union. There are hundreds of clubs ranging from interests in sports, politics, race, gender, human rights, and activities. Living on campus is a wonderful and priceless experience at San Jose State. Community building activities are held frequently and are at no cost to students. And form a student who has lived on campus, they're fun. The dinning commons is a buffet style, which catalyzes the freshmen fifteen scare, but the free gym membership is a wonderful compliment. Altogether, students looking for an equal balance of diversity and fun should seriously look in to attending SJSU.

    Am learning a lot

    San Jose State offers an immense variation of classes which students can use to fulfill their general education. I myself am enrolled in the humanities honors program which has given me a breadth of art, philosophy, literature, religious studies, and history unparalleled. I never imaged learning as much as I have my first year here at SJSU. In my other courses I've taken, which include sciences, statistics, physical education, and social sciences, I have received a thorough education from passionate professors. San Jose State has the type of learning environment that facilitates a mass potential for learning, if only the students take the initiative to educate themselves on a higher level.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is the only college that will send me texts and emails about anything happening on campus and to lock your car doors...constantly. Although its annoying...its useful to be reminded

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good amount of activities to do at SJCC! Including football, soccer, volleyball, radio, TV etc. Its just hard trying to find the sign up sheets for them! As for activities you have San Jose to explore....so explore!

    Great for these types of students

    Anytime of student would feel welcome here. Its a diverse amount of students including geeks, goth, jocks, retro, hippie, hipster etc. Just be yourself, people will always judge! just ignore them.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for scholarships, financial aid, ask help from family and youll get through college.

    What to do for fun

    Your in San Jose, the third largest city in california!!! Take the lightrail and explore! The best thing to do to clear your mind is to take the lightrail and let your mind wander

    Food and Dining

    Average. I did have a time where i bought some cheese with crackers and grapes from the cafeteria and the cheese was moldy. Although it was disgusting to purchase, the man in the front was willing to let me pick something else from the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Always be ready to question what you learn, and if your not satisfied with the answer, research it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student should have an open mind when attending college. I truely believe that you should save all your finalized work since its a representation of yourself and your opinion! By putting in effort into your opinion in your homework or essays, you'll see yourself developing your mind.

    In three sentences

    San Jose City College has given my the opportunity to be in a diverse student enviorment with countless possibilities since teachers are providing me with interesting material to learn in class. As a student, I have dedicated my time to better myself through achieving a higher education, which i intend to use to better my community through inventing new ideas, establishing a social network with my peers, and creating programs that will benefit those who are willing to put the effort in to search for it. San Jose City College is a great representative of community colleges and I hope it stays successful for many years to come.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    studious, inquisitive, diverse and willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a take it easy environment for the most part. except for around finals. good luck funding people who are not stressed out around that time.

    Bang for the buck

    most colleges are expensive.For a community college its pretty cheap except the food in the cafe! however sometimes you may get a teacher who will cut you a break on books.

    Am enjoying being here

    the campus is pretty small and really intimate. the people are pretty friendly they mostly stay about their business seeing as it is a community college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning way more than i did in high school, so that is a plus

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    San Jose City College has many trade profession program and certificate and degree programs and and you're very likely to find what you need here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need a place start there is no better place than San Jose City College and Evergreen In San Jose California. If you are returning to school this is also the place to build confidence.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe that you get a lot more than what you for by attending San Jose City College and as i mentioned before, the staff here are very knowledgeable and are excellent instructors.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, I do enjoy attending San Jose City and when I transfer I will miss it but am excited to continue with my education plan of earning a B.A. in business and eventually my Masters.

    Am learning a lot

    I enrolled in San Jose City College for the Fall 2009 Semester, part time with thoughts of pursuing a major in construction Technology. The reason for starting as a part time student was to avoid overwhelming myself, and to give myself time to adapt to my studies since I have not been in a school setting for such a long time. As I started to pick up more classes on my schedule, I began to get more confident and switched my major to Business Administration and this confidence was due to the professors and staff of San Jose City who were very helpful and made this experience much less intimidating. Am I learning A Lot? yes, and my confidence is still growing.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's present, but not a trend

    Bang for the buck

    Some teachers I had, had all their required reading material online

    Food and Dining

    Burgers in the cafeteria are a must!

    Dorm Life

    there's no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    learn to manage your time effectively and do not be afraid to try new things. Use rate my professor! Take all your classes seriously, and attend every class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to know what you want to do, so you can quickly finish your general education requirements, and then transfer to a four year university.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are 2 cafeterias. lunch is the best time of food serving.

    Dorm Life

    san jose city college does not provide dormitories.

    Tips for prospective students

    international students planning to attend san jose city college should personally admit himself or herself to the financial office. staff members there will work with you to get everything done.

    In three sentences

    it has great teachers that will provide assistance to any student. campus is easy to get around so you will quickly find your way in and out. it has great cosmetic classes.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i rarely attended dining room.

    Dorm Life

    i'm lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    there is a good level of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard! be smart in choosing your teachers!

    In three sentences

    sjcc is a good college. here, i acquired my english, and here i hope to reach soon my aa in business administration and as in accounting and to transfer successfully to san jose state university. i'm grateful for good start!

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the police department right inside as well as a hotline to call them on in any kind of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Easy to start one up, and a lot to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Geeks Disabled Jocks Average

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual

    Bang for the buck

    The classes do help you get startyed, and the career programs help to get your first experience in the workforce

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and athletics programs to sign-up, and we even hold a few cultural events.

    Food and Dining

    The best food you can imagine! The cooks serve a different special everyday, but you can also get the usual.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    There are quite a lot of classes that help you recieve not just your general ed, but your major as well. The school even offers tutoring for any students having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Student Center services; they offer a lot of ways to get scholarships, loans, and counsiling.

    In three sentences

    Great if you are looking to transfer to a university. Great teachers who will work with you when you need it. Student Center offers a variety of information that helps you prepare for college.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    since i have been studying as San Jose City College i have not heard of any accident on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    San Jose City College is big on Traditions. They are always acknowledging different cultures and holidays ect.

    Bang for the buck

    even though tuition keeps on rising at community colleges right now as of spring 2012 it is only 46 dollars a unit. a huge difference from a university

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at San Jose city college and sports.

    Food and Dining

    the food provided at San Jose City College is Great. they have multiple selections from Mexican food too Chinese food

    Academic Rigor

    This will all depend on how active the student. Teachers are most willing to help out any student if he or she asks. also as i mentioned before, there are many programs being offered at San Jose City College. some programs will contact the student, but it is up to the student to go to them for help

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give is to get active in the college. universities look into students who get involved. look for help at the universities. There is many programs in the college that help u with books if needed. Tutoring is offered as well

    In three sentences

    San Jose City College is a great college to attend to get a head start to a four year university. San Jose City College offers many programs; for example, Puente. Puente is a program helps students on transferring to a four year university

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always police officers walking around so, don't worry you are always protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Cross country team is such a supporting team for newbies.

    What to do for fun

    Usually there is events in the schools, you just have to be aware when, and watch for posters around the school to tell you more information.

    Food and Dining

    The sushi is the best in San Jose City college.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you enter the school join clubs because they are fun to be in, and you get a good review from them for future colleges;that is if you want to transfer. Also see your counselor 3 times a semester to see if your on track or for anything.

    In three sentences

    San Jose City college has been a very resourceful school for me, due to the help I get there. For example, tutors, help in economic issues, and the people there are very kind. I believe that being in this school you get a taste of a real college and it prepares you to your future goals.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. There are policemen on duty at all times. In addition to that, the teachers are excellent in noticing danger and alerting the authorities.

    Greek Life

    Since this is a community college, I believe that there is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs and activities on campus! There is something for just about anybody. The clubs and activities are not hard to find because there are always people walking around campus promoting their club/activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student who is willing to learn! It is fun and full of a variety of people that are extremely nice but at the same time very focused on their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Due to just finishing my freshman year, I am unaware of any unusual traditions or locations on campus. However, just because I do not know of any does not mean that there aren't. I was emerged in m academics and sports all year so I did not have free time to explore the unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that going to a community college is well worth it! Attending community college enables the student to save money on general ed courses and prepares the student mentally for a four year institution. It is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    If you are not involved in a sport, I suggest you go watch the San Jose City College Softball team, or any other sport. The athletics are very entertaining to watch; there is never a dull moment!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is extraordinary! You can choose to have something prepared right in front of you or you can choose to buy something pre made. Whatever you choice, the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I live at home but some of my friends live in apartments down the street from the school. From what I hear, they love it. Unfortunately, San Jose City does not offer dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, San Jose City College's courses are challenging. However, it is nothing too hard. The teachers are great so I believe anyone can complete a course with an A; that is, if you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for the counselor named Veronica. She is extremely helpful in helping you pick out transferable college courses. It will be worth the time!

    In three sentences

    I love San Jose City College! The teachers and students are phenomenal. The atmosphere makes for a great learning environment; I would recommend this school to anyone!

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    when they are around.. the campus police office has always been closed when i need to go in.. so if you call always giving parket tickets are driving around here and there safe then idk what safe is.. * only giving a start because its required.. they would get no stars

    Greek Life

    none..

    Clubs and Activities

    what clubs? been there a year and every club rush its the same 3 tables.. * only giving a start because its required..they would get no stars

    Great for these types of students

    single parents as everything is offered to them..

    Bang for the buck

    rentals books. they dont carry them all but good to have them.. * only giving a start because its required..

    What to do for fun

    thats funny.. nothing on campus is fun.. they need to do more things for students and not during a set time when people are in class.

    Food and Dining

    with McDonalds, taco bell, subway, wendys, pizza and other food just outside of campus who cares about the bland and high price food on campus when you can go off campus a save and get better food.. * only giving a start because its required..

    Dorm Life

    none.. community college.. find some place to rent. * only giving a start because its required..

    Academic Rigor

    Look at rate my professor first. Most of the teachers are only fair to the sport playing students. The school is also in the process of losing its * only giving a start because its required..

    Tips for prospective students

    try the other community colleges around this area.. Deazna and foothill are great, ohlone and mission are great schools as well..

    In three sentences

    Cut back on classes. longer time to finish school. Not enought parking.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of programs.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    Unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to San Jose State University afterward.

    In three sentences

    Good College

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I took a night class here and I was very scared, but it was well lit and I felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a part of any clubs. Going to look into some this semester though.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't be scared to ask for help!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than most colleges I've sent too. Teachers usually help the students get books for waaaaaaaaay cheaper, which is very nice.

    What to do for fun

    I never stay here for fun, I'm always studying, so I wouldn't know.

    Food and Dining

    We have small cafe next to the tech building. It's good, if you want to pick up a snack or coffee.

    Dorm Life

    San Jose City doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what kind of teacher you have. I took a business class and had about 8 hours of homework every night. I took a science class, and we didn't even get homework assigned and passed with an A. It just depends on who you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a map, with you. Since it's under construction, I did get a bit lost on my first day, but you should be fine. People are also nice if you ask them for help to get you somewhere.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice, not too big and not too small. The library always has space in it, for you to study. Students are usually friendly, also.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the campus is on top of what is going on. San Jose College had to shut the College down to a possible guy with a gun in the area trying to get into the college and they kept the students inside the building and had the police department there right away.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many different clubs and activities for those that are into athletic and wanting to be in sports or join into a club. I am not in a club or into activities due to having to work.

    Great for these types of students

    San Jose City College serves all types of students without any kind of discrimination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not see any unusual traditions as for I only go part-time and then have to work after classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports that are offered to students. You can get together with friends and do homework in the library they provide for us.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine here, as for right after class I go to work and have lunch there.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    To help students know how to create their own meaning out of what they learn, and organize information so they create mental models. They integrate individual skills into whole sets of processes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is a good size, not to big to get lost. The counselors their care about their students and help them with taking right classes. This College has a good rating among other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Since I started San Jose City College, I can say it is a great college to attend. They are very resourceful, helpful and care about their students. I would recommend San Jose City College for new students coming out of high school.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus with its own police department. The police are present and always monitoring the campus and parking facilities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs and sports on campus for every student.

    Great for these types of students

    SJCC is very diverse and anyone will fit in perfectly on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Even without any financial aid, SJCC is extremely affordable and worth any amount of money you pay. The quality of education is very high and the location of the campus is great to its surroundings.

    What to do for fun

    You can get involved in sports, clubs, and student body. The campus is very diverse and there is a corner for everyone to fit in based on their likes and interests.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines and cafe available throughout campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at SJCC

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but very informative. If you choose to take the classes that are only specific to your major or field of study, they are very suiting and always stay on topic with what YOU need to know in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class prepared to learn everyday, being at a community college is no less of an education than that of a major university. The classes are difficult and require critical thinking, hard work, and commitment.

    In three sentences

    The campus is well organized and easy to navigate. The professors are excellent and always willing to help you and see you advance. Counselors remember you by name and are very helpful in planning your future at SJCC.