Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

San Juan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Did learn a lot

    SJC is a great school that helped me get back on track and succeed in my education goals.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own security and I've been told and noticed throughout my first year there that it is very peaceful and secure throughout the campus grounds. No one ever gets hurt, no fights ever break out, nothing out of the ordinary happens that could endanger anyone on campus while the few college officers patrol the grounds.

    Great for these types of students

    San Juan College is a great place for fresh out of high school students, students looking from a break from big universities, and for older students looking to go back to school.

    What to do for fun

    While I haven't yet joined into any clubs I've heard and read on the many billboards located across campus that there are dozens of different clubs to join ranging from art, drama, pottery, reading groups, computer clubs, chess clubs, etc. Other than joining a club there is a pool hall for students to go to whenever they have free time to goof off.

    Food and Dining

    The catering service is very delicious and has many choices of food. There is the pizza section, fried foods section, deli section, and the health food section. Each section has it's own cooks and each has it's own menus with a list of different foods to get ranging from cheeseburgers (I'd really recommend those) to chicken wraps to pepperoni pizza.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at the dorm, but from what I've heard it is quite pleasant. I've also heard it is peaceful and quiet and the students there are very friendly and easy to cooperate with. And from what I've seen, the dorm area is very clean and kept that way every day.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't care what anyone else says, the classes here are just as challenging as any state college. They can be frustrating at times, but not too much to keep you lost throughout the course material. I also haven't had one professor yet that I didn't understand or had a problem comprehending when listening to them in my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're ever lost just go to the nearest help desk (which can be located in every building) and they can direct you to the classroom that you're having a hard time finding. The professors are extremely helpful and friendly so don't be afraid to ask for help whenever you need it. I don't know how many times I've been saved thanks to my professors.

    In three sentences

    For a community college it is a very inviting and friendly place to go for fresh out of high school students. The professors are all very friendly and work well with the students in helping them succeed in their classes. The campus isn't too large or too small to be crammed or to get lost in and the classes are just diverse enough to get any students attention in what the college has to offer.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    San Juan College is very affordable for those who do not want to pay University Tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The town offers plenty to do and it is close to the Colorado boarder. So we get to enjoy their perks too!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as of yet. San Juan College is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started! There no such thing as being to old to start a new path!

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is an awesome college to attend. They make it easy to get an academic schedule together to achieve your goals. There are plenty of people that work here to give the students the personal attention they need to achieve these goals.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very proficient. They have emergency call boxes up and a campus security that's on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitly a bang for my buck! The credits are a t a very reasonable price

    What to do for fun

    there are various clubs and activites. They have so many fmily nights as well.

    Food and Dining

    very nice. They offer a wide selection of food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are based on what you need to know for your degree. they dont stray away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Very very helpful in everything i have done. Always trying to give extra help with financial aid and loans. They always answer all of my questions!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security officers are wonderful. They are easily accessible and you always see them walking around and they are very friendly.

    Greek Life

    Geek life is fun! I have several friends who are geeks and they bring fun to everyday life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activites daily that it is hard to tell you about all of them. However I can say you wouldn't be bored!

    Great for these types of students

    All of the resources available for any class one is taking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    San Juan college offers three campuses, the main campus, and two others for students that are looking for night classes or classes closer to their homes.

    Bang for the buck

    A student can't go wrong with San Juan college. It is a very well established college and constantly buildings to further the students. It really is a beautiful college and inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    San Juan college is like my home away from home. They have very nice accommodation's to sit either quietly or a commons area where you can sit and chat with friends. The college every month has social gatherings for the student which is really nice to be involved.

    Food and Dining

    San Juan college offers a bistro for coffee fanatics as well as a full cafeteria with a large variety of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    My home is only twelve miles from the college so I have no experience with any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If a student is serious about their degree than San Juan college is for you. The instructors have high demands in most classes however they are more than willing to help a student become successful as long as that student is willing to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! There is so many people at the college who are more than willing to help a student. The only way you will fail is if you don't seek the resources available to you.

    In three sentences

    What I like the most at SJC is their on-line courses. These classes are nice because you can do the course at your pace. San Juan College is very big on student success and offers every avenue to help students with anything from homework to wonderful advisers. San Juan College also offers three campus locations for students which is a huge help.

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    music

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth going to this school! it's not much and totally affordable and as a bonus they have things that are free that other colleges don't offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    i am loving every bit of my classes as well as my instructors. they are doing there jobs and i'm doing what is expectd of me.

    Am learning a lot

    i have learned and really boosted my abilities here at this college it is the best. i very great start for those who are barely going to college.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    high

    Great for these types of students

    Any type

    What to do for fun

    Study and read

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard,be smart and plan your future.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is awesome. Their services are very nice. They are very helpful.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    SJC is a great community college located not too far from many outdoor things to do. Staff and students are very helpful and friendly. You will love it!

    In three sentences

    I love this college! The staff is very professional and great! The prices and location are nice too!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and because the campus is small, it is easy to keep an eye on. Security guards are on duty 24 hours a day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    San Juan College is steeped in southwestern culture. At least once per semester, the college hosts Native American pow wow dances. The college is surrounded by sandstone hills and has a walking/nature trail around campus that is great place to check out local plants and wildlife.

    Bang for the buck

    I've been impressed with San Juan College. It is very well priced and I feel like I get more out of my education than I have to pay for it.

    Food and Dining

    San Juan College has an awesome little coffee shop near the library with great drinks. The cafeteria has good food at very reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    San Juan College does not have a dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    While the professors are laid back, some classes are tough. I gave the rating of 3 stars because it really depends on the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    San Juan College is a small school, but the professors still expect the best. Come ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    San Juan is a small college in a beautiful southwest landscape. The professors have passion for their subjects and have a wealth of knowledge. I love my little college!

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is definately worth it. Fees are lower than expected and from what Ive seen thusly well worth it!

    In three sentences

    Very friendly, accomodating, and knowledgable staff. I was having difficulty figuring out which school to attend but after the conversations I've had with staff I am definately choosing SJC!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at San Juan College is great. There are little vehicles that drive around the parking lots to keep the students safe and if students need an escort to their vehicle at night, they can just call the security office and ask for and escort. I feel safe at San Juan College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities, their are varieties of them and many to pick from.

    Great for these types of students

    San Juan College is great for all types of students!

    Bang for the buck

    At San Juan College they have work-study for students who want to work part-time and still go to school. The good thing about work-study is you can do it all on the campus and still study and keep in touch with your instructors.

    What to do for fun

    What I like to do for fun, is to sit on the grass and wait for my next class to start. Another thing I like to do is go to the gym to workout/run and play basketball with some students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at San Juan College is very descent and comfortable to conversate with other fellow students while eating.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise due to San Juan College is all up to the instructor, but since the students and the staff are one on one, the students work can be cut down short with the help of the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students deciding to go to San Juan College, I would prefer them to ask their advisers if they picked the right classes, and if the students is financially stable, and for them to get their students I.D's for them to have access to the library and other buildings on campus.

    In three sentences

    I would rate San Juan College on a scale from 1 to 10, a 7. I say a 7 because you get the education you want/need, but need money and transportation to get to the college. All in all, the San Juan College campus is very nice, tuition is fair, diverse students and staff and a friendly environment place to learn.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you work full-time or just want an online program for Veterinary Technology, this is your school. You have to be a high responsibility person. If you fall behind, it is hard to catch up.

    In three sentences

    Amazing Veterinary Technology program for an online distance learning. If you need any help, they are there for you. Understanding with life's schedule i.e work, baby, and etc.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem here. I'm not sure how safe it is in general.

    Greek Life

    I'm not aware of any frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not sure what clubs are available. But I have seen pools tables in a building downstairs from the library.

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school. Long distance students (they have a good online system).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable. It's small campus.

    What to do for fun

    The school holds occasional activities. I've never participated in any. But I have read about a family movie showing.

    Food and Dining

    Mary's Kitchen is available on site. They serve burgers, pizza, sandwiches. Prices are average.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study hard, you should make the grades you want. It doesn't have terribly hard courses to pass, but you better be prepared to put effort into your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to utilize the services the college offers. Try looking on craigslist for low-cost, used books. A few people sell their books online.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a small, but helpful college. The atmosphere of the school is comfortable. Classes aren't outrageously large.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone feels safe and respected, esp if you have a late class you can have sercurity escourt you to your vehicle.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everyone. No matter your interest and major you can always find on that you can join. Activies are held through out the year, examples are ice cream social, pow wows, and intermeral sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the idea of small classes and getting help with just about anything from about every falculty member on campus. Also great for those who want to have the feel for college life before moving up to a bigger one.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheapers than most universities but you get the same amount of education as you would anywhere else. you can knock out as many courses as you want and transfer to a bigger school after your done. Plus you get one on one help and tutoring when you need it for free!! They offer as much as a university but for a cheaper price.

    What to do for fun

    They often have a varitey of events around campus as well as quite a few clubs that anyone can join. They have a student activites area where they have pool tables and other activies that we can join in. Every so often they give students the oppotunity for themselves as well as their family to watch movies and swim for free on family nights.

    Food and Dining

    Mary's kitchen is awesome! they provide a varity of types of food to everyone from a salad bar to a grill with burger and fries to specials every day. There open all day serving breakfast for some time then lunch until most classes have ended.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at San Juan but they do offer a listing of apartments in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes a farily easy and you never really get into an overload with any subject. Falculty makes it easy to comprehend and avaiblitiy is there when its needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, apply for many scholarships avaiable as well as the San Juan Foundation Scholarship.

    In three sentences

    San Juan has so many options of degrees and certificates. many of the students here recieve help from instrustors, tutors, and other students when needed. Class sizes are small allowing students to get one on one time with instructors. Great School!

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Reliable!

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Mainly use your imagination! the local entertainment is pretty okay. Organizations like Institute provide GREAT social fun and learning!

    Food and Dining

    Lunch has good options during the day, so you dont have to leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    There isnt a dorm here, but there are many apartments and othere places for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    Good professors are helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Inexpensive, simple, and a good community! There are many opportunities here.

    In three sentences

    This college in inexpensive and makes getting a degree easy! I am so glad to be attending San Juan as a duel credit student for a second time. You pace yourself at your own learning, provided the resources, that benefit you long term!

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have great campus security. but nothing happens here. no fights or anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of good clubs here from what i see on the walls. i havent joined any yet though

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the library. it just quiet, i think the loudest sound here is the keyboards of the computers. :)

    Food and Dining

    the food here is amazing. you are not forced to eat a certain type. you have a variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms sadly, but there are some great apartments around Farmington.

    Academic Rigor

    its pretty challenging, the classes.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join. Auditions for plays. Movies shown for free every friday.

    In three sentences

    Teachers really help you learn and have a good sense of humor. The tutors are free and take the time to help you. Staff is polite and helpful.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always the Gym for fun and many activities and clubs that go on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. Yet there is always tudors available if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This would be a great college for anyone. The teachers are helpful and caring. There is also so many resources available there.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is non-expensive. Yet it has the values and integrity of a University. It's college spirit is inspiring.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Loads of outdoor recreation opportunities.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes provide one on one with professors with lots of experience in their fields

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a hidden gem in the Four Corners area. Going to this school opens lots of opportunities, and gives a strong foundation for your future. SJC is truly a top notch College.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has so many activities it's hard to keep up. I'm a movie person and a mom so my activities revolve around my family

    Dorm Life

    there aren't dorms at this time

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Don't put college off.

    In three sentences

    I love it. The teachers are awesome. I actually enjoy going to class

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards are constantly making rounds and giving safety escorts as well as keeping folks in the loop

    Clubs and Activities

    If you look you can find a club for anything or start one, but funding is limited and often members contribute to the activities on their own

    Great for these types of students

    people looking for an inexpensive option for the first two years as well as those looking for a good two year program

    Bang for the buck

    A third of the cost of most colleges, double digits acredit hour rather than triple.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, computer labs, and a game hall as well as a fully equipped health center that has a rock wall and gym, not to mention all the campus activites always going on such as movie nights and holiday events.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok, Coffee places are fantastic, one cafeteria and three coffee houses on campus

    Dorm Life

    Non existant

    Academic Rigor

    With resources like free tutoring, professors that have convienient office hours and you can actually speak to them, and study groups its easy to get help when you dont understand them if you reach out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, if you plan on transferring get it worked out BEFORE you start a single class, makes it so much easier and saves you money. If you are joining a program like nursing, keep your gpa HIGH it's very competitive.

    In three sentences

    A good opportunity to get our basic classes done. Friendly, small, and convienient; the instructors here really care about your well being and your dreams for the future. Holds you to a high standard.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much. Farmington is a small town

    Food and Dining

    On campus cafe is good but the hours should be longer

    Dorm Life

    San Juan does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you test into will determine your rigor of your education

    Tips for prospective students

    EDGE program will help you out with your degree planning and success. Free tutors and a computer lab that is always open for you along with free printing

    In three sentences

    Good small classes for one on one teacher interaction, plenty of resources for tutoring and self achievement, easy navigation on online portal website

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    San Juan has round the clock security and emergency centers for help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of sports and drama clubs as well as academic clubs to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    San Juan is located in a Native American area and is great with sharing traditions with the locals.

    Bang for the buck

    San Juan offers great programs and low tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    San Juan has a great soccer and football field complex and is also very close to the local golf course. It also has a on campus gym complete with a rock wall.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and cafes here are great and always clean.

    Dorm Life

    San Juan does not offer a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    San Juan is always striving for success of their students, me and my family have had great educational experience here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be prepared for challenging classes and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    San Juan has a great learning environment. My teachers have always helped and wanted the best for my education. San Juan is close to home and allows me to schedule my classes to fit my needs.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Guards presence on campus and in kitchen. Feels safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Native American Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Student Help Center, helps students with homework and any other college problems they need to solve.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    illuminaries display in November.

    What to do for fun

    Performance Center.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm at San Juan College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared, and like attending any other college, be prepared to study and to learn !

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a great place to start college. The instructors are well organized and the Admission Office Staff is very helpful.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Living off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living off-campus.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know some of the officers from working high security jobs with them. They are capable and able to perform duties that keep students, visitors and staff safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the EDGE program and it's fantastic. My advisor is honest and caring and pushes me to do my best.

    Great for these types of students

    This offers a variety of courses that can help undecided students what direction they would like to go for a higher degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know. I am a busy mother so I'm in and out of my classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I beleive tuition is reasonably priced. Used books are still too expensive in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    My family and I attend the outdoor movies when the college has them and we have attended the Nutcracker Ballet as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and priced reasonably.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics make you work as a student to grow not only mentally but emotionally too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afriad to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice facility. The gym is awesome. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Financially unprepared, all races, LGBT community, pretty much anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a strong native american culture that they love to infuse with teaching methods.

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously the cheapest school I've ever been to and that alone makes it worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of little clubs to join and friends to be had!

    Food and Dining

    Mary's Kitchen is actually pretty fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm situation currently

    Tips for prospective students

    Look on ratemyprofessor.com so that you don't get stuck with the pretty horrible teachers, even though they don't have many!

    In three sentences

    Surprisingly, San Juan College is a very good school. I have enjoyed my education experience thus far, teachers are very kind, and I love the small class environment. It also has a very large indoor rock wall and a great gym!

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a distance learning student

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep in contact with your adviser they're here to help.

    In three sentences

    Excellent adviser for the distance learning program. Excellent classes and class sizes. Easy to navigate home page customized for each student.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Depends on what you want and who's making it. Overall, the food is pretty good if not a tad more than I like to pay. For the most part finding a table isn't hard to do.

    Dorm Life

    As of yet there is no dorm. There has been talk about expanding for a few years now, but nothing concrete has been said or done.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't too bad, but it will provide a challenge. I have noticed that a lot of the academic rigor depends on the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help! The instructors are more than willing to work with you, but only if you ask and are willing to help yourself.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is an amazing place to start out or even return to school. The instructors and staff are all friendly and go above and beyond to help the students succeed. The tutoring center, career center, and other student resources are there to help the students reach their goals both academically and personally.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many activities and clubs, you will lose your mind

    What to do for fun

    The city of Farmington is a great place to look for adventures.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria, is open to you whenever you need a quick bit to eat. Also there is a Cafe for your morning boost.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    - Great school for finding who you are and what you want to become

    In three sentences

    San Juan college is a great beginning school. Great for not knowing what to do in life. Lastly finding yourself.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are texts they send if there is danger on campus including intruders or if the roads are too bad for school that day! There are also security guards roaming around campus to ensure your safety!

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap but the school is great!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of club activities and movie nights to go to!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has lots of yummy options!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but if you set your mind to it, you can pass with ease.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class a little early, some professors start talking before class starts!

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, so you never get lost. The professors care about your success. The classes are small so you can always get help!

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing! They have so much they can help with from jump starting your vehicle to walking you to your vehicle when you feel unsafe. They also offer this new RAVE alerts, what it is, when there is an important alert that every student and staff need to know, a text message gets sent right to your cell phone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Clock Tower is the most widely known location on campus because its the tallest structure of the college. There you will find Records, Admissions, Financial Aid, Business and Advising.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities center always has something to offer, they show movies for free to college student in the Henderson Performing Arts Center, they also have free swimming for students at the local Aquatic center, and they have occasional socials, i.e. Hot Dog and Ice Cream Social.

    Food and Dining

    Mary's kitchen has a wide variety to offer. They have prepared sandwiches or you can write up your own order. They also have a variety of simple snacks and drinks. There are also many vending machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there are no dorms for students on campus, but the upside to this is, first year freshmen are not required to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many resources and clubs that are willing to help you and make your entire academic experience great. Most teacher's goal is not to just pass you along with a passing grade but to help you gain the soft skills that you will need in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the San Juan Foundation Scholarship the same time you apply, there are a variety of scholarships.

    In three sentences

    SJC has a welcoming environment. There are many resources for students. The campus is also appealing to the eyes.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students on campus never have to worry about any danger to them or their property.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and activities that students can participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are on low budgets or who don't want to spend a lot money.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your money's worth out of classes at San Juan College since the costs are so low.

    What to do for fun

    There is a big library that contains many subjects. There are also many different student clubs covering different kinds of activities that students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different kinds of meals offered which is accompanied with a large eating and hang out area for the students.

    Dorm Life

    I still live at home so I don't know anything about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on what your major is but if you complete and turn in all assignments you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure to take care of financial aid and how you're going to pay for classes 2. Register for classes as soon as possible 3. Know your way around campus 4. Leave home for class early if you want a good parking spot

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is an extremely affordable college for students in San Juan County to start their college career. There are a variety of degree programs spanning many different fields of work. The professors are all nice and extremely helpful to students who need help.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Phones and emails are connected to campus safety through sign up with your student email. It notify's you about emergencies to weather reports on school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and still more clubs to come.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. Each month the campus holds many student activities. They hold free movies for students, games, and they also do celebrations. They also have open mic nights as well,

    Food and Dining

    Campus cafeteria is good and very convenient. It also is very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm but the apartments here are pretty low and close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the tutoring center for help makes a difference in understanding. Labs are available so use it.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is an outstanding school. Tutoring is free and helps a lot of students. Campus is very divers and manages to make it a very welcoming campus.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many community involved activites such as live plays in thier theaters, music, and gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicous but a bit expensive. The cafeteria staff can sometimes be rude.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors aim to help you succeed. I have been through some very rough patches during a semester and the professor refused to let me drop and helped guide me to succeed through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and speak with a San Juan College Advisor. Look up their website at www.sanjuancollege.edu.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a great affordable community college. They have useful resources to guide you through your program of choice. The college has been making advances towards developing better programs enhancing experiences in furhtering education.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is in a very safe part of a normally crime filled town and ther is nothing to worry about.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for all types of students as there is all kinds of programs for everyone/

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is huge for a community college. There are a lot of students but the campus is beautiful and very hard to argue with the level of tuition and the high quality of education that is received.

    What to do for fun

    San Juan College is continuosly hosting events and other types of gatherings for the school, students, and the community all year long. There is never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is high quality with many options and a full size food court. There are more options than expected and the food is kept up very well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging and while the teachers expect you to full your own weight, they are there to help you and push you farther than you realize. Before you know it, you have gained a lot of knowledge and have progressed much in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the cheap tuition. With rates at levels such as 3500 a semester for nursing, you just can not beat San Juan College.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a great school with teachers who have had years of experience in their fields. The education is high end and close to going to a University while giving you practical knowledge as well.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On-Campus security that is available to student who may feel uncomfortable walking to their vehicles at night, plus there are several emergency phone booths placed near the buildings and parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs, general clubs, family movie nights and plenty of activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Any Student starting college, students looking to get some general education courses out of the way, students from an affiliated College or University looking to get some credits towards their major.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly cheap, especially for in state students, although the books are pretty expensive but that's to be expected at college. Fair classes, with a good selection of majors.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, both academic and in general. Family Movie Nights. Special events: if you're a student enrolled here you'll usually get an e-mail detailing the weekly events.

    Food and Dining

    Mary's Kitchen offers up a fairly decent selection of food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Ignore this rating as I don't have a need to look into the dorm situation, nor do I know if SJC has a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, I feel, are fair. What I mean is that they offer up enough of a challenge but never do the courses get overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    San Juan College is a great jumping point for any student wanting to start college.

  • 07/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym at the campus. There are also stargazing nights offered at the college. If you are looking for shopping, the mall is about five minutes away depending on traffic.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus has good food. You select what you want from the menu, write it on a slip of paper, and put the paper on the counter. Within five to ten minutes, you have your meal.

    Dorm Life

    San Juan College doesn't have dorms. It's still a community college at this point.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on when you take the classes and whether or not the classes are honors classes, the academic rigor is like that of a high school ap class. You cover a lot in 15 weeks or 4-6 weeks in the summer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the staff being too busy to answer your questions after class. There is a tutoring center on campus. Don't worry about getting lost because if you ask someone, they will point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    San Juan college is a great community college. The staff is very friendly. The class sizes are small.