Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Santa Ana College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/15/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I like learn

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Santa Ana College is in the RSCCD district and a sister school to Santiago. I was registered at Santiago and because of it, I was also eligible for classes with Santa Ana. This was great because there was a class I needed but the time at Santiago clashed with my schedule, so I was able to find it at Santa Ana.

  • 09/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a parking pass-and ask for help if you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not terrible, and the financial aid office really helps with a lot of questions

    Will enjoy being here

    Probably, although it is bigger than the school I am at and the parking is sometimes a little crazy.

    Will learn a lot

    I hope so since it has classes I need for my major. This school does have a lot of specialized classes for different majors, which helps with the transfer requirements for most 4-year schools.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fall behind!!!!

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The camous safety is good, the security people are always goirn aroud campus even at night. They make you feel safe at any time of the day.

    What to do for fun

    At Santa Ana college there is a game place that is open for any one who wants to go and distract their minds for a while. the cafeteria is also a good place to meet up with friends and talk, eat, meet people and more. There is also an art galery on the art building where you can go and see the pieces of work that other students have done.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning room is not that big but its a friendly place where you can go and eat and buy food. The place gets full with students there you can enjoy your time with other students while feeding yourself. The food varies there are hamburgers, pizza, salads, soup, and other things also the book store is down stairs the cafeteria in case you dont want to buy upsatairs the option of buying other sutff at the book store.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life I have no idea what to say.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the teacher and the class, some classes require not much of time to study such as fitness classes, but classes like Biology, mathematics, English, etc are classes with a high academic rigor. Science classes are the toughest followed by Math but as long as one works hard and do the work on time the class will not be that hard as it seems.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that i have for peopl;e on thinking to attend to this college are to get to know new people that are in the campus, they can help you decide what teacchers to take classes with. Second get to know your teachers, and meet their expectitives in the classroom. At last be involve in the different programs at the college and use all the resources there are in order to do good in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a friendly campus, the ambient is peacefull. The services at the college are good every one treats you as you should be treated. Also it has a lot of places where you can sit and sutdy whithout any one disturbing you.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sac is a safe campus. The security office there is always open 24 hours. Security is constantly roaming around the campus to make sure everything is secure and well. There are also call boxes in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sac is a very active school. There are a lot of clubs students can join, and programs students can get into to become a more successful student.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun at SAC. The Spot is one place students can hang out play some pool, video games, and air hokey. You can also go right across the street to the bristol market place.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria located on the campus. The food there is satisfying. If you do not prefer eating on campus there are other options. Since the campus is very local, it is surrounded by a market place and other food places.

    Dorm Life

    Since Santa Ana College is a local community college it does not provide a dorm life for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very rigorous. It depends on the student if they want to fail or pass. There is a wide rage of courses one can take toward general ed as well as major prep courses for transferring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community College may not seem all that prestigious as all the UC's, Cal States, and Private school out there; however, it is still important to furthering your education. Always work hard for what you want and in the end all the hard work definitely pays off.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a well rounded diverse school. The teachers and the rest of the faculty there are very friendly and hard working. It is a very homy campus.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, they have security cameras and securities roaming around and they are willing to help you and even assist you to your car and even help you find your car. Isn't that cool?

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from and you can join as you please. These clubs are so involved in school and that's a plus because you get to know the school better and get so involved in the activities that go on.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student, anyone who wants an education and who does not take it for granted! Everyone who goes here are ready to learn and that amazes me. Theres adults who has gone back to persue or continue their own dreams and educate themselves and its great to have Santa Ana let them in and continue on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would not say unsual but this college you get Ceasar Chavez day off, and thats cool!

    Bang for the buck

    $46.00 per unit and you do have to pay for the health fees which is $19.00, so its not to bad.

    What to do for fun

    They provide many activities and it depends what you like. Theres a computer lab, gaming center, clubs and much more.

    Food and Dining

    College food yum! Everything is cheap, the snacks are just as great. But the best part is that there is so many restuarant and fast food around this college. Theres In & Out, Starbucks, Subway, Carl's Jr., Taco Bell, McDonald's and much more. Whats plus is that, it is near by so the walk is not long.

    Dorm Life

    For dorming, well theres no need for dorming because everyone who usually goes there is living at home or with a friend.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great because the professors know what they are talking about and are very into what they are teaching. Eveything is all easy, you just have to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip is, use every bit of what the campus offers because it is there for the students to use. Theres no need to be scared of asking anyone around because everyone is willing to help you find a building or assist you with any problems.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great community college. All the professors and anyone who works there are amazing and are willing to help you with any situation you need and they are here for you. Also this college is so friendly and everything is there for you and anything you need they got it!

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's amazing to call SAC home, not only because people treat you with respect but because we feel safe like no other place.

    Clubs and Activities

    Santa Ana college has a lot of clubs that are helpful to students depending on their Nationality,Sport,Academic, or Personal situation.

    Great for these types of students

    Every students the goes to SAC feels safe and happy because the environment is mostly positive . This college is the best choice for advancement.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very Delicious and Nutritious , having Highly standards that keeps students healthy .

    Academic Rigor

    Santa Ana college has a reputation for excellence. Whether is for university transfers, preparation, career training or personal Development.

    Tips for prospective students

    Santa Ana college is always willing to help any student not mattering their background ,religion,ethnicity or race.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana is one of the best colleges Academic wise.It has been ranked one of the State leaders to transfer studens:therefore, it helps students to find their career and leads them to a successful life.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many shops around the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with a counselor!

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great school that offers many resources for all different kinds of students.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far there nothing wrong has happened, however there a lot of securities on campus. I guess because there is a bike theft, but other than that that's about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    EOPS, Sports, Clubs, a lot of activites, i'm new so i'm barely knowing what's around.

    Great for these types of students

    I met a lot of nice people, that i became friends with. Trust me you'll find at least one person that is as similar as you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Santa Ana College has 70% hispanics and the rest are mixed including Cacausians, Asians, Filipinos, etc. So sometimes i get confused when i ask someone a question, you may think they speak Spanish, but they either are deaf or can't speak.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is adequate is not too expensive i mean it's a community college so what else can you expect.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Johnson Center where you can hang out with your friends and play. There is ping pong, chess, and many more indoor games.

    Food and Dining

    The food I don't really know because i always take my food, so i haven't had a chance to try the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically i say it's a pretty good college. It has tutor center, job search center, and the campus is big and easy to go around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never miss a class or lecture, because the instructors go by really quick. Everything we learn is done in a small amount of time, so i recomend to always attend class and take good notes.

    In three sentences

    Well Santa Ana College is a pretty good school, so far. This is my first year and it seems to be going well. The instructors are good in explaining and giving their own time to help out after class.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, participate in school events, and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. Just your everyday diner.

    Dorm Life

    Community college. No dorm life. Enough said.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some helpful teachers and there are some bad ones. Go to RateMyProfessors.com to check the teacher before you enroll in one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a major that you enjoy. Don't morph yourself to become something you are not. You will only lose energy that way. Instead, find something that you feel empowered and energized doing. For me, it is helping people and putting a smile on their faces. Find your talent, find your passion, and success will naturally find you.

    In three sentences

    The staff are extremely helpful and nice. Many of the teachers that I enrolled in are professional, engaging, and truly care for us students. I feel by going to this college, it will help me prepare for higher education such as UC or State Universities.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs, volunteer on campus, go to school plays, and see the international festival.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people and get out of your bubble. Ask questions when talking to counselor and or teachers. Get involved and stay on top of your goals.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana is small, yet efficent. The staff is friendly. The environment has a lot of resources.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I'm living off campus. Therefore I have no opinions to express on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    The only thing that keeps you learning is new knowledge. The desire to expand your mind. Taking it to the limit.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not. a matter of how old you are, it's about supporting yourself. Skills which are learned here. Successes that are achieved in life.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed the new student orientation. The counselors were very helpful. All my questions as well as concerns were addressed.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always friendlyt staff & security at nights

    Great for these types of students

    diverse culture and background

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Disable student services, great resource

    What to do for fun

    socialize, surf, bike ride

    Food and Dining

    great & wide variety

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont give up on your dream, use all the resources the college provides.

    In three sentences

    A college I get to pursue my nursing degree. A school full of diversity and opportunity. My home for the next 2 years.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lock up your bikes and check it rountinely as bike theft is big.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs exist and it's a good idea to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    $46 per unit isn't bad.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It wasn't that hard, turn in every assignment and you should pass easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an academic couselor that you like and stick with him/her. This will become vital when you need to get letters of recommendation or you just need someone to talk more personally.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a commuter school. It's easy to make friends with your classmates. The professors are also great.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is mostly save during the day. Theres nothing security cant handle and they are super friendly

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    CHOIR CLUB is cool. There is also chess club, dance club, a christian club and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club rush takes place once a semester in front of the fountain. The library is the greatest resource.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very active campus with classes and teachers than make it worth the tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to starbucks relax by the fountain got to target

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok but its expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class you take

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take math during the summer. Take Speech 102 during the summer with lockwood.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful and clean campus. The people are friendly. The professors are excellent

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school doesn't offer much other than maybe a gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep working hard until you get it! I know sometimes there is a lot of struggle with some classes, but hard work pays off. meet people who have taken same classes before.

    In three sentences

    I like my shool for it offer pretty good clases. On the other hand is getting very expensive to keep enrolled. I would like that that were more flexible when it comes to payment.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not the best food but not the worst either.

    Dorm Life

    No doorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Not that hard if you do your work, study, stay on task, and ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and don't slack off. Teachers don't care if you are passing or failing so be independent and don't rely for them to be telling you your failing, so just study and do the best you can.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I'm glad i made the decision to come here. I get a lot of help and I already have plans on when and where I am going to transfer.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt very safe at school, there are security staff throughout the campus anytime classes are in session and if requested, you can also get an escort to your car from your class.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not get involved in Clubs & Activities since I was working full time during my time at SAC, but I recommend getting involved whenever you can, especially if you plan to transfer to a UC school.

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student, the school offers excellent services for ESL, students with disabilities (both physical and learning), and has students from many different cultural backgrounds and countries.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the rates of community college. Many of the professors that teach at SAC also teach at Chapman (a private university with a very high price tag). You are getting the same education for a small fraction of the price! For math courses, take Krystal Meiers, for Econ, take Gus Montes, for Life Science, I recommend Anthro with Mario Robertson. All great professors!

    What to do for fun

    I took a class for exercising which allowed me to use the gym facilities at the gym and concurrently get unit credits towards my education.

    Food and Dining

    Not a huge selection of food available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are more than manageable, especially because many students attending community college (particularly night classes) work full time and most professors are aware of this and make reasonable requests of the students

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, ask questions and explore every option to get help, utilize the resources available to you, especially the free ones and get to know your professors. Most of the professors are extremely nice and accomodating if you show interest in the course work and attend class. Participate in class discussions, it helps reinforce the material. Apply yourself, I've had experience applying myself and not applying myself, when I apply myself I get all A's. Determine what your priorities are early on and don't bite off more than you can chew.

    In three sentences

    Extremely supportive staff, tries to make all students aware of the resources available to make the college experience as rewarding and beneficial as possible. My favorite professors I've had throughout my educational career teach here. School offers a variety of services for little to no cost, they will help anyone to the very best of their ability.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no in campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate! See teachers at their office hours and ask for help even if it is just a small problem. Get to know the teacher, you might need a recommendation letter from them.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great school to start with. Teachers are very good teachers except for higher math classes.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of robberies happen in the locker rooms.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports team are very well coordinated but not funded well enough.

    Great for these types of students

    The library is a great asset for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountain is a location the students go to relax and do some studying outside.

    What to do for fun

    For Fun I go to The Spot. It's a place to relax, play video games, and play pool on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food could use an improvement. The dining area isn't great either.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on or around this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will tell you once what to do. They aren't there to baby you. They are very strict about homework and what the expect from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never procrastinate in reading and homework. Make sure to always check your email. Don't be late to class.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy a small campus like Santa Ana College. The people are friendly and helpful. There are many programs for help if students are struggling in a certain subject.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, I feel safe at this campus

    Greek Life

    no opinion

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir is great!

    Great for these types of students

    freshmen

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none, still new to college

    Bang for the buck

    Yes its affordable here

    What to do for fun

    They have live theatre. They have choir too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms there

    Academic Rigor

    no opinion

    Tips for prospective students

    Nice school to start off in and complete your GE courses

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana is a well maintained school that offers enjoyable classes. Staff that works there are friendly and helpful. The course here are affordable.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location of the college is not great. There have been incidents of theft and burglary around here. A majority of the reports that I have heard about during my five years here at SAC have been about bike theft. If you have a bike, make sure it's locked up well. If you take night classes, my advice is to walk with someone to your car - try not to go alone but even if you are, ALWAYS be aware of your surroundings. You can call security to escort you to your car so that you're safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Not bad for $46 per unit. There is also a health fee of $19 but it's all worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's a place on campus called The Spot located below the cafeteria which offers pool, air hockey and a game system (forgot if it's X-Box or Wii) hooked up to a big-screen tv. It's a cool place to just hangout.

    Food and Dining

    SAC has a cafeteria although it doesn't carry the healthiest of foods... There are more dining options across the street from the campus in the shopping center (i.e. Subway, Denny's, Chinese food, Carl's Jr., Taco Bell, etc). Vending machines are all around the campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to put in the work to get good grades and succeed through college. Make sure you're on top of everything. Don't be afraid to ask questions! Your professors are there to help you and want you to pass their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to you are: Register for your classes early! Parking is awful for the first two weeks of the semester so make sure to give yourself at least 45 minutes ahead of time to find parking. DO NOT park across the street in the shopping center or else they will ticket you. Most students don't know this but they DO NOT ticket you for the first two weeks for not having a parking pass. Also, if you ever need to contact security, there are call boxes around the parking lots and there is a phone number located on the back of your parking pass. You can call anytime to report anything, get your car jump-started if it's dead or even to open your car if you accidentally locked your keys in.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great community college full of opportunity and great resources. The teachers and staff are friendly and helpful. It's easy to make new friends here.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are working they have night classes but they fill up quick.

    Bang for the buck

    Get the fee waver.

    What to do for fun

    everything there are tuns of stuff to do even a game room.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad but its getting better.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms but very nice campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard and you will do fine.

    In three sentences

    They are friendly and helpful. The teachers truly want to help you succeed. They also have great job opportunities for those who need it.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't really seen much going on, but they did recently install security cameras because of a recent bike burglary...so if you do come here, be careful where you leave your bikes and other belongings. Pretty much, it's your responsibility.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe there are any fraternities here but I do think other four-years that do recruit here...so yeah...that's about all I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs?! Man, I feel like there are so many that they never end. (Infinite clubs? I think so...). But if you are into the feminist movement, this school does have a club for that as well as any other interests that you might be into. The engineering club is currently creating a pumpkin launcher. (Sick as heck.)

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who is paying for school yourself and didn't qualify for financial aid, any of the schools like this one is recommended. Currently tuition is $46 per unit which is a lot cheaper than a four-year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a building (I forget which one...I wanna say it's the Art Gallery) where if you walk into it at night and you can't really see that well (I can't...need glasses) if you look up onto the balcony you'll see two statues standing there staring at you. If you're like me and have a hard time seeing you'll probably be creeped out because one of the statues looks like Michael Meyers...just saying. He creeped me out the first time I saw him.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I love the school. The classes are great, I love the fact that so far the professors seem like they are willing to push you and guide you through your education career and the overall campus is great because it's not too big and it's not too small that it just feels like you're not even on a college campus.

    What to do for fun

    The SPOT has a lot to offer: pool tables, video games, a microwave (POP Tart it up ya'll), music, and just a cool spot to kick it. If you like playing with trading cards (Yu-Gi-Oh, Pokemon, Magic, etc.) a lot of students play at The SPOT but they also gather outside of the library if you like that kind of stuff. (I do).My personal favorite spot is the Starbucks across the street, but that's just me.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent here. They offer a different type of healthy food that I personally was not acquainted with. I have a vegan friend that attends SAC as well and the dining hall offers food that would fit her food preferences - yes, even Vegans can eat here.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms or on-campus housings offered because it is a two-year, but the apartments around are available for rent. Some students that I've talked to have gone the rent-a-room route for a lower cost than an apartment for one person. Consider that if you don't live around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the rigor. Currently, I am only taking two classes, so it frees me up for work as well as extracurricular activities; however, these two classes have a lot involved in them (consider how a lot can be relative to your level of effort and how much you consider to be a lot). The load is not burdensome unless you as a college student allow that to happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for anyone planning on a Community College to go to or even those looking to go into a four-year, consider the Community College route first. It helps save on money because essentially (if you're planning on transferring to a four-year) the classes that you have to take at those higher expense four-years are worth somewhat the same credit as the lower expense two-years; so I suggest considering the lower payments at a community college rather than forking up loads of cash at a four-year. Santa Ana is an excellent school, but I would suggest (in general) to get as much as you can from the school as possible that would help you down the road in your career. There are lots of resources available for you at Santa Ana college, as around and the college life should run a little smoother for you.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is overall a pretty good school. I have three different schools under my belt so I have a few places to compare it to. One thing I noticed that I figured was great about the school was the community aspect involved with it. You get a sense that there are many opportunities for you as a college student to impact the community around you as well as be cultured by the different cultures brought to the school through clubs as well as the different types of classes offered. It's a great school overall.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big deal at Santa Ana College. There are security always walking throughout the campus so that if anyone is having a problem they may approach them or if something is going on, they are available to help. In the evening when it gets dark, one could also call the security to accompany them back to their vehicle if one feels uncomfortable going into the parking lot alone, and/or feels at risk or in danger.

    What to do for fun

    Students may go to The Spot which is a place in which students may go to relax and or take part in any of the various activities available there such as play air hockey, pool, listen to music, or play video games. Students clubs also run student activities such as movie events and/or dances.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria various of different foods available, but the dining area is limited.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life; it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most college level courses are very rigorous, but given that the student puts in the time and effort to do well, one could succeed in any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest that students become involved in extracurricular activities at the school to make it a more productive and enjoyable environment. Students should always take advantage of professor office hours, and manage your time wisely. I also suggest that students take advantage of all the student facilities available, especially the counseling center and the transfer center, and to network with other students on campus to further their success; you never know who around you can be a helping hand.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is full of diverse ethnicities, a uniquely helpful staff, and largely populated school. Many of the teachers I have encountered at Santa Ana College have been very helpful and resourceful. I highly recommend this community college to any student who is looking to save money, have helpful staff who will provide them with all the information needed to graduate or transfer, and to anyone who is looking for a good and encouraging environment.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see campus safety everywhere pretty much through out the whole day.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy getting involved in the different workshops and networking with other students.

    Food and Dining

    The food equality is not to bad, but there is not a very large selection. They offer dining inside and outside tables and chairs.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there is no dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a campus that you are expected to do all your work and to the best of your ability. They do not allow any type of cheating and if caught you are completely held accountable. Their goal is for the students to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid or embarrassed to ask for help. Get involved in the different programs and seek out all the student services that Santa Ana College offers. Never give up, no matter what comes your way. The most important thing to always remember, is believing in your self.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of resources on campus for students. I enjoy having the one on one counseling when needed. Overall the campus is very friendly easy to use along with great staff.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's often security details placed around the school, but at night, it gets pretty sketchy

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government doesn't seem like it's very active, but I'm hoping to join. There's an active club rush at the beginning of the semester though.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who just want to get their degree without feeling too pressured or stressed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, they're very accepting of the LGBTQ community and often have public seminars in the middle of the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap, and financial aid is usually easy to get. The books are crazy expensive though.

    What to do for fun

    Student Government, student center

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive, but good

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, with the exception of a couple Honors math and english classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off just because the classes seems easy; that kind of attitude is like a plague.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a place where students are willing to help you out, teachers genuinely want you to do well, and the counselors mean well. While the facilities look more run-down and the education isn't as top notch, it is a place I do look forward to going rather than despise.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safety here , from I attended here from spring 2010, nothing happened to students and the security always in the parking lot ,, when I have classes at night , not so scared when I walked out of classes,,

    What to do for fun

    Club with pool and some activities here very helpful

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is neat and clean ,, good for students

    Dorm Life

    I'm out of campus and I don't know the life of dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Overall is good , I will recommend my friends to apply this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to make appt with couselor ASAP when apply for this school , all counselors here are nice and helpful .

    In three sentences

    It's about 7 out of 10, the location is near my home and professors are good , and staff are nice , they are ready to help you to plan your educational plan , especially Test Up of building R , Tammy Camacho is so nice to help me to find out what kind of major matches with my ability . she is a good conselor to understand student and try to help student successful. But some facilities are not good such as restrooms in the building H and R , they are too old and need to remodel them.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the spot, where you can play pool or meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, different variety,

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always schedule an appointment at the counseling center, they will help you in choosing classes that you need for your major.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great school to attend after high school. The teachers and counselors really want the best for the students. I always recommend this school.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    very good

    Dorm Life

    very good

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    very good

    In three sentences

    very good

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have variety of food

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Alot of options

    In three sentences

    They have wonderful deaf services, they provide accurate scheduling classes and plenty of options, I love how they are friendly people

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police is constantly patrolling the campus to assure the students safety. They are very nice people and very knowledgeable on how to keep the environment safe. I feel very comfortable on campus with them around.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Clubs are amazing. Whether they are academic or non-academic they all require much passion, time, and fun. Everyone who is associated with a club is dedicated 1000%+.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, creative, and willing to learn students. This school honestly has it all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The buildings are very different but, in a good sense. They are unique buildings that help give the Santa Ana campus flavor.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no Bang For The Buck at Santa Ana College.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, it is nice to do volunteering hours at Santa Ana College. For every 100 hours they recognize their volunteers with a pin to wear. Also, a nice thing to do is volunteer as a Math Tutor. Some can even be a math tutor as a job. It is very rewarding and fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food on this campus consists of vending machines and coffee stands. Although it does not sound like much, the quality of both foods is very high and very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are spectacular. Many of them have taught at a University before teaching here. They really prepare the students for Universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourselves with the campus map before physically getting on campus. It is a large and gorgeous campus but, a little challenging to understand in the beginning.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana is a beautiful campus. It has a no smoking on campus policy that is rare to find in Orange County nowadays. Santa Ana cares about the health of it's students.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    learn how to fight. dont be a sheep or communist.

    Greek Life

    Garbage

    Clubs and Activities

    They are a waste of time for what they are. You get no help and no money.

    Great for these types of students

    like i said i dont waste my time. I came here for so can transfer to a UC after.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't waste my time. Math center can get packed along with the library. Scholars come and go.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap compared to universities.

    What to do for fun

    It all depends on you. what ever you like to do. do it. Even if you like meth. You can smoke meth but the results won't help you. there is 10th planet jiu jitsu if you are not a

    Food and Dining

    Buy organic.

    Dorm Life

    I can't afford to live on my own. Thank you elite.

    Academic Rigor

    Will it depends on the individual. In my major I have seen many students drop like flies because they could not handle the work load. Understand your limits. If you see that you can not handle a certain work load shoot for lower work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay cool, clear headed, calm, and choose a major you will enjoy. Don't request a major that can compromise your health and overall happiness. You don't want to waste your time on a curriculum that is either to difficult or doesn't appeal your ideals.

    In three sentences

    It is a quiet campus good for students looking to complete their general education in a quite environment. It is small but not overcrowded. Poor in teachers and available science classes.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs !

    Food and Dining

    Its Healthy and cost about the same as a big mac combo across the street

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It varies by major Classes are diferent i recomend using rate my professor

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counsaler and set up an appointment. Set up a Ed Plan so that you can transfer withen 2 years

    In three sentences

    Classrooms ratio are small Campus is tobacco free Theft has decreased

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always security walking around on campus and also riding around on their carts.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there's ASB club, student life club, other as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Info your into school clubs there alot of them to do or if your into volunteering there alot of those kinds of things to do also.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always actives going on around campus, such as a booth comes on campus so you can by rings, other jewelry and good sorts of stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    get cheap stuff on campus by find other student selling their books.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout in the student life area, playing pool, other sorts of games, sit around with your friends and talk on the benches.

    Food and Dining

    cheap food in the small cafe area. Good amount of vending machines on campus.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    good counselors who are their to help you. Who are very knowledgeable to help you find a plan to go through school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Super nice teachers, some who would go out of their way to help their student pass the class.Nice campus, all sorts of different kinds of food and good quality staff and admin.

    In three sentences

    I think Santa Ana College is amazing school because, they have big variety of classes.They have good amount of classes where you can find a class that can fit into your schedule either at night or during the day. Highly recommend this school to other people who might not be attending school.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs plus there's a place called the spot There's pool tables, music and video games.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria with a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I think its a great school

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask for help. Professor will help. Attend class and do all your work. Participate and speak up.

    In three sentences

    Professor's are awesome there. They actually care for their students, plus they help you out. I love this school and it has a lot of programs and clubs.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    group learning type of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    fall food carnival, all clubs choose a country to represent and on this day they bring authentic food to share and sale.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs such as environmental club, international club and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep an eye on your registration date an hour makes a difference due to classes being very impacted.

    In three sentences

    the school has great professors that spark an interest in each subject making it enjoyable to learn. hours are very one sided as in early mornings or late nights but doable with a pupils working schedule. overall very interactive with student body through various events on campus both educational events and fun events.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great. They serve different types of food such as salads, hamburgers, pasta, soup, etc. They have snacks and a great place to eat. You can decide to eat either inside or outside.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that strict but requires hard work from the students. The students are required to attend class and do all of their homework. There may be required readings and they are very important. It will be on the tests and maybe even on the quizzes. Working hard will help you survive any class. All of the classes are possible to pass with hard work and a lot of determination.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip would just be to not procrastinate because college requires a lot of hard work and determination. It can be overwhelming at times but hard work will get you through. Make sure to attend class and do not miss too many days or you may miss important dates. There may be pop quizzes given so make sure to attend every single day. Make friends and find another student to work with if the class is too hard. You could both help each other.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing campus filled with wonderful students. The campus is clean and safe for everyone. The students are very friendly and helpful.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is alright. Someone took my phone while I wasn't looking and the campus security helped me find it.

    Greek Life

    There are clubs that have greek-like titles, if that counts. Other than that your best bet is joining Student Government or a club or two.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our campus is really active we have new clubs added nearly every semester. My four favorite are Equalogy (feminist book club), Book club, I.D.E.A.S (undocumented student support group), and C.A.P.E.S (environmental club). There are so many leadership opportunities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who know how to navigate through the rate my professor website and organize their class schedule according to their life goals. People who are interest in creating change and growing are welcome. Individuals persistent in asking questions to councilors, teacher, and or fellow students. Overall if you are willing to dream and work you will do extremely well here.

    Bang for the buck

    There are tons of opportunities to get book vouchers and school scholarships. Classes are cheaper than Cal State and UC schools. Teachers are also willing to work with students with financial need (some even loan/buy people books)

    What to do for fun

    I reccommend joining a club, sport, student government, a committee, hanging in the student lounge, seeing a school production (play), or volunteering.

    Food and Dining

    I like the Drip, the coffee cart on campus, they have amazing blended drinks. I like that the cafeteria has vegan and vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    People do well here and go to great four year Universities. Join the honors program, work hard, and befriend good teachers and you could easily accomplish your education dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor more than once a semester to make sure you are on the right track and doing well in school. Make friends with hardworking ambitious people because you will gain their good habits. Designate several hours in the school day to work on assignments and schoolwork alone. Go to the library workshops to gain research skills. Get a school map and become extremely with all school resources (Planetarium, health office, EOPS, Scholarship foundation office, etc...). Be proactive and learn from others around you. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    I love SAC because the teachers, students, and atmosphere. It doesn't deserve the bad rap it has. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are numerous and there are the occasional activities and demonstrations, such as culture festivals and whatnot.

    Great for these types of students

    ANY student. LGBTQ? Deaf or hard of hearing? Weird or Eccentric? Academic and studious? Need free tutoring? ETC. Then it has what you need and people you will love!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Counseling as soon as possible so you can take the classes you really need. Whether you are interesting in acting as a career, or are just looking for a fun elective, I strongly recommend the Theater Department, it just keeps getting better!

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a wonderful Community College with a lot of opportunities. I like the Professors and love the people. It is a very accepting and diverse place where you can feel comfortable to be and love who you are.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dia de los Muertos takes place.

    What to do for fun

    You can enjoy a day at the art gallery located in downtown Santa Ana. There is many graffiti galleries that you may visit. Events take place throughout the city and the way you can find them is by reading the OC Weekly where they provide you with the location. Many parks are located throughout the city where you can play basketball or soccer.

    Food and Dining

    There is many places to eat in downtown Santa Ana. Which is not to far from campus only about 10 or 15 minutes depending on traffic. Located down the street is a restaraunt called Tapatia where they sell auethentic mexican food. Across the street from Tapatia is a Big K's where they serve great charboiled burgers.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to rigorous unless you slack off but if you put your mind into it you will have no problem suceeding.

    In three sentences

    The ambiance of this college is very unique. You can find a variety of people that are different, no one is the same. Love the fact that everybody offers help.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    - You will see campus security around the campus all the time. That makes me feel safe. However, you need to lock your bike carefully if you ride one to school because there are bike thieves. A friend of mine locked his bike carefully and when he came out from his class, the seat disappeared and he had to walk his bike home. We laughed a lot about that. - If you lose something, go see the lost and found in the campus safety office. I forgot my iPhone once, I came back to find it but no luck at all. I went to the campus security office and my baby phone was there. Thank God for good people are still around us!

    Greek Life

    - So far I know, they don't have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    - Pick the ones you are interested in and join them. You will make more friends and have fun at the same time.

    Great for these types of students

    - Any type, especially if you want to save some money. Studying at a community college is way cheaper than studying at the university for the first two years, then you can transfer. Teachers care for you more than professors in university, so you can get to know them more.

    Bang for the buck

    - Yes, you can find your recommendation letters for scholarships. If you want to work in campus, they do have jobs for you. Go find one. They pay good salary and you don't have to travel far. Use your free time between classes.

    What to do for fun

    - Many activities around the campus that you can join. A huge room is provided just for students having space to relax.

    Food and Dining

    - The food is acceptable even though it is quite pricey. - You are provided many space to dine in or study. Two areas you can stay are in-door and out-door.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorm and I don't know if they have dorm or not. Sorrry, no info i can give.

    Academic Rigor

    - No cheating... Definitely N-O. Don't even think about it. - Full time attendance might give you chances to get extra credit for most of classes. Note taking brings you benefit for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    - If you plan to transfer, make appointment with transfer counselor asap. Regular counselors don't know courses and requirements for the school you want. When you see them, be specific. It will make their job easier, which means you receive more help within a limit time. - Join clubs and programs provided within the campus. With some of them, you can borrow books for free. Who want to pay some hundreds bucks for things that you can use for free, right? :) - Go to Math Center, they have super smart tutors. 80% students spend time there get better grades in their courses.

    In three sentences

    Comparingn between Santa Ana College and Santiago Canyon College, I prefer Santa Ana College because of two reasons. First, it is closer to my house, so it is convenient. Second, the campus is nicer with more trees and shadow, a litttle fountain, and many places around the campus that you can study.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top flight security

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Everywhere best way to meet new people

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Education should be free!

    What to do for fun

    There's a track, pool, students center with many activities to enjoy

    Food and Dining

    Food great but nothing can beat a home cooked meal, helps you save money too.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms unless you live in your car.

    Academic Rigor

    Every school is different and this one is too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and keep your mind on your goals, never lose focus.

    In three sentences

    Great school with lots of diversity and many nice and good people. The staff and professor are very helpful. A very active school with lots of opportunities for everyone.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do the readings and do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    The students and staff are all very friendly, easy to work with and outgoing!

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Thanks SAC.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College have helped me to finish my GE. The professors are nice, and the counselors are very helpful. Summer classes are funny, you'll never be bored.

  • 06/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I mostly used the library to work on important assignments and also to study for my exams.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go to a club called The Spot, which has games and snacks that help me reduced my stress during exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip a would be to prospective students will be to get involved at school, whether is in a program, a club, or an organization. I would also recommend to volunteer while studying because this will open opportunities. This would also help you make contacts that can help you as you make your way up.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College has a large variety of opportunities for all students in general. This college also offers programs such as one in which you can earn a degree in less than two years. Santa Ana College also offers tutoring programs to help you succeed in your academic journey.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security here is great they are always roming around and happy to help when you need it. After late classes they are usually willing to walk you to your car.

    Greek Life

    The great life isnt really heard of around campus most of them are honors students

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government does a great job on trying to do activities for the students in order to keep them engaged through the semester

    Great for these types of students

    Who like to be pushed by instructors in order to get the best out of them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isnt any that i noticed

    Bang for the buck

    the most expensive thing would be the textbooks but there are plenty of students who are willing to self their used textbooks. some classes dont use most of the book so if you find someone who is willing to share their book or even photo copy pages for you you should be fine.

    What to do for fun

    Be involved in student government,,clubs or go to The Spot where students have a game room and most go there to relax after or in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is really small there is fresh food but not a great variety of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms on campus since its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult but there are some which are easy, if you put the work in you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be get involved as much as possible don't be afraid. As well as dont be entimidated by the proffesors they migt look tough but they are always happy to help. Apply before the deadines would be another tip i would give future students of Santa Ana College.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is a great community college, the professors here are really intrested and engaged in the students academic life. Most of the classes here are filled quick but there is always professors trying to do their best to get all those intrested in the class. Overall if your looking for a college in which the professors aren't just intrested in themselves and care more about their students this is a freat college for you.

  • 10/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An attribute of the campus safety is the parking lot security guards who are always on patrol, giving students a better sense of security. However, there has been some bike theft.

    Clubs and Activities

    A specific program I would like to mention is the Adelante Program. Not many students know about this program, but it is a good opportunity for a clearer out-view into what is needed for success. Also, if the GPA requirement (and all other requirements) is met, former Santa Ana Unified School District students are guaranteed admission to the California State University of Fullerton and the University of California-Irvine.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food and dining choices around Santa Ana College. Some of those include: Dennys, Starbucks, Yogurtland, Carls Jr., McDonalds, and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on this campus, so I cannot rate against this.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it can be somewhat more challenging, I believe this college offers a sufficient amount of academic rigor to form adept students. Besides, when focusing on other programs, activities, or working, students need a manageable schedule like the one provided through the academic rigor offered here: it is a good amount for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many resources at Santa Ana College: use them. All it takes to open doors is a small visit to an office or some offices.

    In three sentences

    Santa Ana College is very helpful to students and offers great programs for its community. All the while, it hosts important events that turn into opportunities for students; for example, University visits and such. For this, Santa Ana College deserves a good rating of an 8 on a scale of 1-10.