Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Santa Clara University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 out of 27 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing Social Desire an active college experience Desire smaller classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you're a commuter or a resident of the dorms, try to get involved on campus. The people are nice and interesting enough to get to know you, and there's literally something for everybody.

    Bang for the buck

    As they say, you get what you pay for. As a private university it assures high quality service, and Santa Clara does not disappoint at all. If you can afford it, or if you're riding on merit money (kinda like me), then I would definitely put this college on your list.

    Am enjoying being here

    Work hard, play hard. That age-old saying applies very heavily here, since it's so easy to get sucked into all kinds of activities on campus. The classrooms and multiple buildings are all in great condition, and there's enough time and space to have an enjoyable social life and a stimulating classroom life. Campus is also very clean, so it's always a nice day.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty offer much more than what textbooks can do. Not only that, but just seeing all different types of people from different backgrounds builds the social aspect as well as the classroom aspect. It's also very easy to get to know people since the campus and size isn't obscenely huge. With that said, class sizes are also small, so there's many chances to, you know, get to remember people?

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if you love having a core group of friends and want to slowly burst out of your comfort zone and meet new people. I came to this school not knowing anyone but really quickly made best friends that I know I will keep in touch with for the rest of my life. The size of the school allowed me to easily stay connected with my core group of friends as well as make new friends when I am feeling adventurous.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip for prospective students is to visit the school for yourself and see what all the fuss is about.

    Bang for the buck

    Santa Clara University is quite expensive but I believe that the whole experience makes up for every single penny. Also, the financial aid department is quite giving even in these times of economic downfall.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the Santa Clara College experience. I have friends that go to colleges all over the country and I have visited them and am glad that I go to such a great school. First, I am in California, the state with the best weather. Second, because it is a smaller school I see my friends all over campus all the time and do things such as meet for lunch before or after class at the local cafeteria, Benson, which serves pretty good food and is in the center of campus. Lastly, although it is a smaller school, I surprisingly still meet new people everyday.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently going into my second year of college here at Santa Clara and we are on a quarter system so classes go by fast and therefore I have already taken about 12 different classes. You can take up to 18 units per semester and most classes are 4 - 5 units each. The best thing about Santa Clara's educational management system is that once you apply in a direction of a certain major, it is required for some upperclassmen to volunteer to guide all freshmen in picking all these classes and organizing what you will be doing for the year. So, the stress of picking classes is greatly decreased.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you spend almost all day, every day with a smile on your face, enjoy the sunshine and the casual attitude of the West Coast, consider yourself a friendly and outgoing person, you will love Santa Clara. If you don't want to spend all of your time, or even half of your time, in college studying, this is a great place to have fun for four years and a great place for those who enjoy being a big fish in a small pond!

    Tips for prospective students

    As an incoming student, try your best to relinquish all your expectations of what college life is supposed to be like as you will most likely be let down or else very surprised. This advice holds true no matter where you choose to attend school. Additionally, try lots of new activities and consider rushing for a sorority or fraternity (even if you don't join, the process is a great way to meet new people at the beginning of the year). Santa Clara is a small school, but you can make it bigger by getting involved with campus life. Also, be sure to communicate boundaries and rules with your roommate at the beginning of the school year to prevent any disagreements.

    Bang for the buck

    Make no mistakes, this school is expensive. However, you can easily see where your money is going when you look at our pristine facilities, small class sizes, distinguished faculty and the job offers students receive upon graduation. The school offers many scholarships and grants which makes the experience more affordable. While there are times when I see money spent unnecessarily, I believe the pros far outweigh the cons of this institution.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus can be described by the adage Work hard, play hard. Almost everyone at SCU will tell you that they love every second of being here. The combination of year-round sunshine, friendly people, beautiful campus and San Francisco and the beaches of Santa Cruz within easy reach makes it difficult to not have a good time here. On the weekends, as well as many days of the week, there is always a party or various other social events to attend. Partying is very big on campus and, while there are other events planned, they are not well-attended and parties become your only option if you wish to socialize with others.

    Am learning a lot

    They say life is what you make it. This statement is especially true of the learning environment and curriculum at Santa Clara. You will learn as much or as little as you would like. The homework, papers and exams are not exceptionally difficult and, if you put in a decent amount of effort, you would have no problem earning at least a B in all of your classes and learn some new and valuable information. However, if you are coming to college with the intent of learning as much as you possibly can, the teachers are extremely accessible and willing to share their knowledge with you. If you visit professors during their office hours, spend a lot of time on assignments and participate often, there is no reason why you would not learn a great deal during your time here.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you work hard, you do well in your classes by virtue of effort, and you understand the meaning of patience and learning, then you'd do well here. SCU is not the right place for antisocial people; the community here is too close-knit at just over 5000 students. Everyone knows everyone, so if you're a moderately social person who knows how to work but also how to play and enjoy yourself, you'll succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Santa Clara, while not a party school, still does have a bit of a party life. Greek life is very present; while it's a great way to get to know people, don't get too caught up in it. Form a support network of close friends so that you have the freedom to explore, but still stay within the bounds of reason. Find someone (hopefully many someones) that you can depend on, and make sure that they can depend on you as well. Form personal relationships with your teachers, and most importantly, use office hours. They're invaluable. I speak from past experience. And, although I do advise being careful and making sure you leave time for school and good friends, it's also okay to take some time for you, enjoy yourself, and be a college student. That's what it's all about, after all; just don't overdo it and don't lose sight of that diploma. SCU and other colleges provides exemplary services to help you out for all four years, and regardless of what college you go to, you should use those to their fullest capacity.

    Bang for the buck

    Santa Clara University is on the pricier side of California schools, due to its Jesuit history and status as a private university. However, it's worth every dollar. San Jose State is cheaper, it's true; with about $7000 to $10000 a year, the price tag looks quite attractive. But, what they won't tell you is that at SJSU your engineering lectures can have up to 600 students (I kid you not, I attended some of them while looking for colleges), and SCU lectures are generally capped at 50. I've never had a class larger than 40 students here, and most of my classes have less than 30 students. The quality of education is so much higher than other less expensive schools that I know I'm going to be well prepared after graduation thanks to the direct, personal style of teaching encouraged here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorm life is amazing. Living away from home is an eye-opening experience; it really helps to learn how I can live better with other people my own age and diplomatically work out problems without argument. The only downside is that in some dorms (luckily not mine) there's a bit of a party life during the weekdays. I'm not a drinker and don't attend parties, and don't mind or look down on those that do, and for the most part people are responsible and respectful. We work hard, and we play hard, but we do work hard. On the weekends, the loud parties and students are normally off campus, so campus is quiet, peaceful, and beautiful on the weekends just as it is during the weekdays. The food is absolutely amazing, with a wide variety of choices for all preferences and needs. My fellow students are, while occasionally low on sleep from studying, very happy, friendly, and accepting of anyone and everyone

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really do go the extra mile to make sure that I know the material and am comfortable demonstrating my knowledge on tests, in essays, and in presentations. Classes here are intense, fast-paced, and professors ask a lot of you, but that's all because the professors know that the students can put out as much as they're asked for and more.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students that want to succeed in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most popular way to getting around, after walking, is skateboarding so if you can bring a long board. If you want to save money take AP Test and Community College classes before your first fall quater, if you do your research it can save you up to a year. Fill the Fafsa and Cal Grant too if it applies, the 10 hours pay off. Join ALPHA it's the best RLC : ).

    Bang for the buck

    There's been renovation going on for a few years and it's continuing. The new business building has U shaped classrooms with really comfortable chairs. The gym is fantastic and there's a salt water pool. The library is new with PC/Mac computers. The campus is gorgeous: gardens with roses, fountains, and perfect green grass are everywhere. The teachers are professionals and can be reached by the students easily. There's also so many resources that are easily available.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's so many opportunities here and because the university is so small it's easier to find out about them. The weather is nice, maybe a little bit chilly sometimes, but never too cold and hardly ever too hot. People are accepting and nice. Going to mass for the first time was cool and it didn't matter what religion you are.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers that I have had so far put in relavent personal experiences into the lectures to make them more interesting. But the limit on units makes it hard to take more classes. Very unpredictable grading system. I think the learning experience differs depending on the major.

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    stay on top of deadlines and requirements!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! that is the best tip I can give! it shows santa clara that you want to come here! i know people who had higher GPAs then me, but applied after I did and did not get it! Let Santa Clara know you are interested and apply early!

    Bang for the buck

    Santa Clara is expensive, but it is worth the money. I have friends at state schools who just aren't getting the same attention from professors or the school. We get great academic and career guidance. Also, having a Santa Clara degree will help in finding a job because of Santa Clara's great reputation!

    Am enjoying being here

    Great weather, awesome people, I love my residence hall! There is so much to do on and off campus! And everyone can find a place where they can fit in!

    Am learning a lot

    We have amazing professors who put the time and effort into all of their students not only just learning their names but meeting with them one on one. We are also not impacted, so there is no problem getting the classes needed and being in control of your schedule!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Santa Clara is a great school for anyone that likes a calm, small campus to focus on their studies, while also getting the benefit of a busy social scene by night. Because it is a Jesuit school, Santa Clara also has a strong foundation of compassionate values that will help make the world a better place. Thus, SCU is a great place for students looking to help make the world a better place.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that a big tip for prospective students is to be sure that they balance everything out, especially in the beginning. The thrill of a new environment, new friends, lots of parties, etc. often leads students to pay less attention to school than is necessary to really make a smooth transition from high school classes to college classes. I recommend that they still get involved in different activities, but that they do not get so caught up in the social frenzy that they neglect the main reason they are at Santa Clara, their education. In addition, I would suggest that they pay attention to deadlines and especially when ordering books. do it early, because the best deals go really fast. So sign up with the bookstore and get books early, because they are not cheap!

    Bang for the buck

    While Santa Clara University is a private university and thus has a higher cost of attendance than state schools and other colleges, I believe its worth the money we are paying. Aside from the beautifully maintained campus, Santa Clara allows for its students to really make the most of their educational experience. They do so by providing relatively small class sizes, so that students are given more attention than classes with hundreds of kids. In this way, it is also much easier to communicate with professors, as one does not have to compete with 300 other kids to have their questions answered. The professors are always available, whether it is in person or by email, and they are extremely happy to help and in fact urge us to ask them questions. In addition, it is much easier to sign up for classes at Santa Clara than at bigger state schools because it is a private school, and thus has much more flexibility in opening up new classes. The university does all it can to ensure the students get the classes they need, though it can't always guarantee they will get the desired times. But overall, Santa Clara University provides its students with numerous resources, top quality professors, easily accessible facilities and various food choices that make it well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Santa Clara University has an absolutely beautiful campus, and the environment is really suitable for anyone who wants to make the most of their college experience. While there are many social events happening both on and off campus, during the day, one can really focus on their studies. Whether it is on a quiet bench found all throughout campus, on the huge green lawn, or in the large library, it is guaranteed that one will find a quiet place to focus and work. In addition, everyone is open and friendly and the staff is most helpful. The workers at both the bookstore and in the Benson Center, where all the delicious food is, are always ready to assist students, as are the multiple library workers. If you get tired of sitting in your dorm room between classes, you can take a walk along campus under the warm California sun and enjoy all the tall palm trees that you are bound to come across. If you are hungry, you have several food choices, as well as several accessible stores across the street. And if you just need a place to sit and relax if it is cold outside, grab a hot chocolate from Benson and head into the Alumni Science Building and find yourself amidst several comfy couches. In short, no matter what you are looking for, whether it is a social environment, a nice place to study, an enjoyable and hospitable environment, or a beautiful and cozy campus, Santa Clara will have it for you. I am enjoying all SCU has to offer without a doubt.

    Am learning a lot

    Santa Clara University is committed to educating their students in great depth, and it is apparent that they want to ensure that we gain a very well-rounded education. All of my professors so far seem extensively trained and knowledgeable in their areas of expertise, and as a result of their high qualifications and their effective teaching techniques, I feel that I have already learned quite a lot. Because each of my professors is so good at passing down their own knowledge, I feel that I take away worthwhile information from each one of my classes. Thus, I'm overall gaining a very well-rounded education, whether in my science classes, in English, or even in my dance class. I feel that in high school, I was able to really learn how to learn and utilize my time, and since I came to Santa Clara knowing how to manage my time and how to study, I was able to really focus on learning as much as possible. All the ideas that I was exposed to in high school have been solidified at Santa Clara thus far, and both of my science professors helped me understand the material in greater depth, as well as helping me relate what I learned to the rest of the surrounding world.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 14 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but they can be generous with financial aid.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    scu promotes diversity, and so has a multitude of ethnic clubs that are open to all. they even have a multi-cultural center (commonly known as the mcc) built specifically for these clubs to meet. sccap (santa clara community action program) is a student-run volunteer organization that regularly works with over 20 different community service programs within the bay area. you can also find major-specific clubs that provide resources such as internship and job fairs just for your major.

    Great for these types of students

    -social -desire small class sizes -want to build relationships both with peers and faculty -like teamwork

    What to do for fun

    whether it's attending a social hosted by an rlc, or a lecture by esteemed professors, there is always something to do at santa clara university. scu is located across from a vta bus station, and is nearby a train station, making any recreational destination possible.

    Food and Dining

    the dining commons offers plenty of options, and rotates their menus often. scu strives to make responsible choices even when making food. they choose ingredients from reliable sources that promote sustainabe and ethical eating. of course, eating at the same place can get boring. santa clara has many restaurants located just outside of scu within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    at scu, we don't have dorms, we have residential learning communities (rlcs) because each building is a community in itself. every rlc has its own values, special events, and atmosphere when you enter. no matter what, there is an rlc where you will feel most comfortably fits your personality.

    Academic Rigor

    as with everything, you can choose how much effort to put into your studies and that will reflect your performance. if you want to do well in your courses, learn quickly to manage your time properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the office hours that your professors offer you. they can be a great help and, should you need them, can be a system of support. they are there to help you as a student and as a person.

    In three sentences

    santa clara university is a school where staff and faculty care about you. the school focuses on enriching both the mind and spirit. in any class you take, you will learn the course material along with the impact that ethical decision-making has in the field.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So many great programs in place to protect our students. Safety lights all around campus, protecting students when they are out at night. Program now in place that will walk with a student baqck from the library or across campus at night to keep them safe. Over 75% of campus is covered by cameras keeping our students protected

    Greek Life

    Although the Greek Life at SCU is not officially tied to the school, we still have 5 wonderful sororities and 4 great fraternities. Wonderful way to find your place, make friends and get involved!

    Clubs and Activities

    Leadership, intramurals, honors program, a club for EVERYONE'S interests, if you cannot find one you like, create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students! Anyone can find their place here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library is the most advanced and wonderful one around! New dorms are great! Gym! RLC tradition is so great for new students

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    So many extracurriculars! Dorm activities! Get involved! Each dorm has a social once a week to gather the community together!

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful salad bar! Fresh food! Yes, it may be redundant, but this is the best food on a college campus I have experienced. Sandwich bar is great too!

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely amazing experience. You meet your best friends here!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are so helpful, so eager to assist their students. If you are confused, go to their office hours, get to know them. They are there to help. That is the difference between going to a big state school, and going to a wonderful school like SCU; here your teachers are ready and willing to educate you, to give you the best experience and education that is possible. Yes SCU is difficult, but it is so much better when you turn to the resources that are offered to you (student tutoring, office hours,. writing center).

    Tips for prospective students

    The best piece of advice I received as a high school senior touring colleges actually came from an SCU tour guide. He said to me really what it comes down to is choosing the best fit for you. I can talk to you all day about how much I love Santa Clara, but if you cannot imagine yourself here, walking the campus grounds, in our cafeteria, and spending four years of your life here, than it is not for you. However, if you can imagine yourself as a student here, then we welcome you to become a Bronco. This advice has stuck with me, today, I too offer this advice to students. Choose what makes you happy. But surely, it is going to be Santa Clara University.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school! I would not attend any other university. Santa Clara offers a plethora of resources, making it the best school around.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    serious academic kids, laid back mellow kids, and everyone in between

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit campus, spend the night with someone you know who goes there. That's what sold it for me.

    Bang for the buck

    The university is very expensive for undergrads (about $50000/yr) but with that you are receiving an education that is invaluable and an experience you will cherish for the rest of your life. Also, it can be a challenge to get financial aid, but the office there will do their best to help you out.

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere of the school is bright, warm, and inviting. Everywhere you look on campus you see a smiling face, and everyone is so happy to be there. The school has a very laid back, mellow feel, allowing for fun times and serious learning.

    Will learn a lot

    The academics are very rigorous and with hard work, it is possible to do very well. The faculty is also very involved in your academic life, and will support you as you work towards your major.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can call for an escort at any time of the night and there are emergency phones placed all over campus. I have never felt threatened or unsafe. Also, I lost my phone and all I had to do was go to Campus Safety and someone had turned it in. That's the kind of good samaritan stuff that happens at a Jesuit college.

    Greek Life

    About 20% of our students are involved in Greek life. Technically Santa Clara does not have Greek Life but that just means that the school itself is not funding the institutions.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said intramural teams are awesome. Our club sports are also really good and lots of fun to watch

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into good weather and a great time this is the place you want to be. I also love the fact that home isn't too far away and I still get amazing weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a Ruff Rider is a must. $60 for unlimited access to tailgating and sports events for all 4 years. Also, you get free SCU gear and food at events at least once a month.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the price of tuition is worth the education. Safety. Fun. Exceptional teachers. What more do you want for your college experience?

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is a good option if you are all about the party scene. If you are kind of into it then you don't need to be in a sorority or a frat to go out on Friday nights. Our intramural program is also a big deal since we have almost every sport and you can play coed or all girls/boys. The Caltrain also takes you to San Fran in under an hour and buses run every 20 minutes to places like Sky High, laser tag, and the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Benson is food court style, with different areas of the building selling different kinds of food. Assuming you are not picky I think Benson has plenty of options but just like everywhere else the food does get old. Thankfully, there are plenty of eateries off campus within walking distance that are reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I live in McLaughlin and everyone said that I was going to have it the worse. However, my room has a sink and two mirrors and is plenty big for me to throw my clothes all over the place. I had a random roommate and she has become one of my closest friends, in fact, I'm driving to Seattle this summer to visit her!

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone said engineering would be hard but I never really believed it. However, since the class sizes are around 20 people the teachers get to know you personally and are always available for questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour! I guarantee you will feel safe and secure as you walk across the beautiful campus. Yes, we are a private institution but religion is not forced on you, it is a topic that is more discussed than taught in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara's campus has the same feeling my high school did, one of community, love, passion, and drive. Not only are the students here hard working and actively involved, they love what they do. Being surrounded by people with such passion inspires me to do my best--Santa Clara breeds leaders.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, although campus safety people can be uptight.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic students

    What to do for fun

    partying, hiking, sports (soccer is big, basketball, volleyball)

    Food and Dining

    after a while the food in benson seems to get old but it's way better than other schools I visited (westmont, st. mary's)

    Dorm Life

    cool, chill people.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are hard but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to office hours.

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful school, lovely atmosphere but could use a bit more spirit.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Catered by BonAppetit, the dining services at Santa Clara University are some of the best in the nation. This is the same dining organization that caters for companies like Google and Yahoo, and they pride themselves on supporting local farmers and organic produce. Besides that, the food options are numerous, from Asian Fusion to Mexican, to a Pasta/Salad bar, to a Deli and more, and they are all delicious. The quality and availability of the food at Santa Clara is exceptional compared to most other universities in the country. They were also just the second university to integrate Tapingo, a dining services organization that utilizes a smartphone app and website to allow students to order their food from mobile devices so that it is ready to pick up when they arrive.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Life at Santa Clara University is exceptional and one of its defining features. With the unique Residential Learning Communities system, Santa Clara's on-campus housing is sorted by themed living communities as opposed to by year in school, field of study, or other demographic factors. This opportunity exposes students to a wider variety of peers who share similar interests with them and allows students to become part of a more diverse community. At the same time, students will also take at least one course that is linked to their RLC so that they will be taking it with other students in their Residence Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Santa Clara University is an extremely competitive school in all areas of study. Students are notorious for utilizing the library and other study spaces across campus because of the challenging nature of the courses, regardless of whether they are major-related or fulfilling Core requirements. While certain fields have the potential to be more robust, the trend in most of the majors and minors offered at Santa Clara University is the academic challenge that students need to be successful in their professional lives after they graduate.

    In three sentences

    Located in the heart of the Silicon Valley, Santa Clara University is a holistic and well-rounded institution grounded in the Jesuit philosophy of education. Supporting students in all their endeavors, from academic to extracurricular to post-grad, Santa Clara does its part to provide an excellent college experience while preparing students for the next step in their academic or professional lives. Santa Clara's rigor in all areas of study and the resources it provides its students ensure every student's opportunity for academic success and achievement.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrolled by campus safety personnel with the police and fire departments nearby. Not to mention the fellow students who will have your back.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of options for clubs, and you can even create your own clubs if you'd life. In addition, high quality sporting facilities are at your disposal as well, from large multi-purpose fields to full length basketball courts. You really can't complain of being bored at SCU.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone willing to pursue their academic desires with dedication and persistence. And definitely for those who want to meet incredible people and have a lot of fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can never be bored at Santa Clara. There is something always going on whether right on campus or close by.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the high costs of college these days, you truly do receive everything you need for the money you pay at Santa Clara. If financial troubles worry you, Santa Clara will definitely go out of its way to help you with regards to paying for college.

    What to do for fun

    Santa Clara is situated in a great spot! An hour train ride from San Francisco, a 30 minute ride to Santa Cruz, and a quick bus ride to San Jose and Santana Row truly makes Santa Clara University a great location to have some fun. There are always opportunities to escape the campus on weekends and explore the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is great! The variety truly is amazing and I have yet to get sick of the food. From daily specials to Mexican food, you can truly find anything to sooth your appetite. Food is available early in the morning until late at night, making it accessible for any person with a strange schedule.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Santa Clara is awesome! I truly have felt at home while I have been here. Everyone is always friendly and it truly makes the transition from high school to college much more bearable. Room sizes are great, most residential halls have co-ed floors, and are furnished well.

    Academic Rigor

    Santa Clara University is a college. With that said, you can expect a decent amount of work to be done. Depending on your intended major, work load will vary. However, the work done in classes truly makes you think outside of the box and broadens your mind. Some classes will be harder than others, but the professors are more than willing to help you with any troubles or concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Santa Clara truly prides itself on graduating well-rounded students who can take the lead in their respective fields when they graduate. If you are a well-rounded individual coming out of high school, Santa Clara would be great for you. Don't worry just about your GPA or SAT/ACT scores. The admissions department wants passionate students who are willing to work hard and are inspired to further their minds.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara University is a college where the sky is the limit for any dedicated student. With hundreds of opportunities to get involved in school activities other than school itself, Santa Clara truly allows students to be their own person. If you like the sunshine and a friendly environment full of dedicated professors and loyal friends, Santa Clara is the place for you.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A friend of mine talked to the school and the school is trying to become more prestigious, they are letting fewer students in and offering less money.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Santa Clara is definitely one of the safest college campuses I have seen. It is in a quiet part of town, and there are lots of campus safety employees around. SCU also has a program that sends you texts with any safety concerns on campus so you are the first to know.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities are not supported by the University, but are still part of campus life at SCU. They have houses right next to the campus, and are a pretty big part of social life there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Observatory is hard to get into, but super cool to see if you know someone who has access to it and can show you around. Every time the school does any construction, they have to look for any artifacts that may be underground. These include bones, pieces of glass, and other things that give the archaeologists a peek into the old life at the Santa Clara mission or university. The coolest thing I saw that they had recovered was a full size canoe.

    What to do for fun

    Every RLC has socials once a week to build community. Mine hosts DaVinci Cafe once a week where they will be food from local fast food spots.There is also lots of clubs to get involved in. Off campus nearby is Santana Row, home to lots of stores and dining, and Valley Fair mall.

    Food and Dining

    I have been to the Benson center where the dining hall is, and I was amazed by how many options there are! They have a salad bar, a deli, a taqueria, and a late night diner-type restaurant. The food is reasonably priced and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    My future RLC is Casa Italiana. At orientation, we talked to the supervisors of our dorm and they had so many awesome things to tell us about our new home! I will be living in a suite with seven other freshman, and we will have a living room and our own private bathrooms. I can't wait to live on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken any classes yet, but I have shadowed one class. The class was very thought-provoking and I can't wait to attend classes that interest me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for a campus tour before applying if you can and to preview day if you are accepted. It helps to see where you're going to be studying and living and the student ambassadors are really helpful. Also ask a lot of questions!

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara is a private school that offers everything I could want in a university. The food is delicious, the dorms (RLC's as they are known on campus) are clean and spacious, the professors are easy to talk to, and the campus is beautiful. I am excited to start taking my chosen classes and live there.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit pricey, but it's a private school in California.

    Will enjoy being here

    Location is beautiful. The weather is amazing. The students are intelligent and extremely friendly. What's not to love?

    Will learn a lot

    I attended a boring class at Santa Clara, and found it quite interesting. I learned quite a bit just in one class.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus seems to be very safe and there are not many disturbances that have been reported since i have been a student at scu.

    Greek Life

    i am not involved in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    the gym and the clubs have many classes and activities to offer to students.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to go into law, students who want to go into teaching, and students who want to go into business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a church in the middle of campus and a couple of energy-efficient, solar-powered homes on the way to the gym.

    Bang for the buck

    the campus is really nicely kept and the food and events are very nicely put together but it all comes from the high tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities the gym has set-up from intramural sports to fun workout classes.

    Food and Dining

    there is a new dining area with really good food near the campus bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    i am a graduate student so i don't live in the dorms but they look very nice from the outside.

    Academic Rigor

    as a graduate student, i find the classes to be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    to make sure this private school is the right one for you, make sure the area in which you are interested in studying is available and has a good network of alumni and professors who can help you meet your career goals.

    In three sentences

    santa clara university has a beautiful campus that has the newest technology available for its students. the administrative staff is quick to respond to the questions students have and the professors are very accommodating. the only downside is that scu is a private school so the tuition is pricey and that may cause financial stress.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCU gives off a safe vibe for me. I had a late class, and I feel fine walking in the dark by myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs that meet every week. They have a wide range of activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    SCU is great for those that like quietness, individual attention, leadership.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is probably the most packed place.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think SCU is worth it as an undergraduate unless you're undecided and need one-on-one attention or you're a graduate student that's studying either law or engineering.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall that is a 5-10 minute drive from school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but people seem to like it.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition and food is very expensive.

    In three sentences

    The teachers really care for each students and devote their time to them.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Tried the food at the food court, nice to have a choice but it wasn't that great.

    In three sentences

    I visited this campus and I just got this feeling it was a school designed to babysit rich kids who couldn't get into a top line school e.g. Stanford, Berkeley, etc. When I visited with my Dad, the first thing they wanted to know is if we could afford their tuition. It was kind of crass. We flew down to see them and Stanford, you'd think that would be a hint that we might be able to afford their fees. No other school we visited brought this up. Decided to go to U of San Diego instead.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Valley Fair mall.

    Food and Dining

    We have only one dining hall. Sandwiches are pretty good. Bronco is the late night spot and has all the good fried food. Food can get old fast at Santa Clara.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. I would definitely recommend dorming on campus your freshman year. There are the quiet dorms such as San Filippo, Campisi, Sobrato and Casa. The more loud, party dorms are Swig, McGlaughlin, and Dunne.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load is definitely hard at Santa Clara. Professors have high expectations of their students. As Santa Clara is on the quarter system, classes move at a very fast pace. There is a lot of information that you need to learn in a short amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't let partying get the best of you.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara University is a great school academically. Classes are small and students are able to get the help they may need from professors. Santa Clara is a beautiful school with great people.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food & its pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are loud but very exciting. I work as a Community Facilitator, also known as an RA, and it's amazing seeing all of the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, and force you to push past your comfort zone. However, they teach you to be a harder worker and shows your true potential.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the Greek life is not recognized by the university, there is one. And it is hilarious during RUSH session : D

    Clubs and Activities

    SOOOOOO many

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, want a small college town experience, determined, driven, and ready to work hard but have tons of fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmmm there is the senior streak day...

    Bang for the buck

    It's really really pricey. Especially if you decide to live in the dorms. But it's a well known university with many connections and acess to big companies such as google

    What to do for fun

    You have so many things in this area. You can go to SF, Santa Cruz, take a weekend trip to Tahoe or Monterey. I know people who have done an LA trip in a weekend. There is so much to do both outdoors and indoores. Can't list it all. The plus side, if you don't have a car, the cal train AND bus station is right across the street.

    Food and Dining

    Yummy! Better and healthier than I would normally eat. 4 stars because it's pricey.

    Dorm Life

    FUN!

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough sometimes, but the professors are always there.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's hard work, but it is an amazing school. Do your research, make sure you know what you want in a school. This is a smaller school (but not too small) with small class sizes. Research dorm prices and off campus housing (which may be a better/cheaper option)

    In three sentences

    This school is amazingly comfortable, active and engaging. The enviroment is nuturing and inviting, and the stadd genuinely cares for you. I love this school!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Santa Clara is not in the best area, so campus safety always has a strong presence, making the campus a very safe place to be.

    Greek Life

    Although the school does not officially recognize Greek life, there are a few sororities and fraternities off campus, and while it is not necessary to join the greek system, many who do find it an extremely rewarding experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great club atmosphere, if you can imagine a club, you can make it happen. Santa Clara is a perfect school for clubs and events.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love being a part of student government, or any club or organization, you will love Santa Clara. It will provide you will all sorts of ways to get involved, and I guarantee that you will find one that suits you perfectly, be it Rugby club, or even the Associated Student Government.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lawns around the library are perfect for tanning, and the unofficial trip to bay to breakers is an age-old tradition, one that must be seen to be understood.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but an amazing school. The opportunities you will get here are priceless, and i ugre you to take advantage of as many as possible. You won't regret it.

    What to do for fun

    Although Santa Clara is not a college town per se, there are plenty of places near enough that you will never get bored. If you want to go to the beach, Santa Cruz is only half an hour away. But if you crave a trip to the city, San Francisco is only 45 mins, making it an excellent weekend destination.

    Food and Dining

    Here is where Santa Clara falters slightly. although they have a variety of choices available, they get tiring and boring after awhile, and the food is very, very expensive. I would recommend the dining plus plan, which gives you more points per semester.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, every dorm becomes like a family, due to the tight-knit communities Santa Clara cultivates. Living in a dorm on campus has been one of the best experiences of my life.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here are difficult, but not overwhelming. Obviously this can change due to the multitude of majors here, but overall, I have found the coursework to be sufficiently challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stand out in your high school class. Santa Clara University looks for leaders, so being one will greatly improve your chances of admission.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful amazing midsize school in Northern California. I love everything about it, but the best part is the people you will meet.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an amusment park about 10 miles from the school called great america, it has tons of rides and its lots of fun. There is also raging waters which is a water park thats open during the summer. In addition there are several malls and shopping centers around.

    Academic Rigor

    They really challenge you to work your hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can see yourself on campus, everyone is different and some schools are not for everyone so make sure you take time in making your decision.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara offers several ways for students to be involed in the community and have fun. The community is what makes santa clara really great, you just fall in love with the people. But I got to admit the food is pretty good too.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCU is in a super safe area, surrounded by neighborhoods and all that, but they do have a service where both a boy and a girl will come to walk you places (late at night) to make sure you get home safely. There are also emergency towers around campus that you can press to send out alerts. But very safe!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is semi popular at SCU, but it's not make it or break it. The sororities and fraternities aren't affiliated with the school, but they are still tons of fun and a great way to get involved. However, if Greek Life isn't for you, don't worry. You don't need to participate in Greek Life to have a social life, or to be friends with the people who are in Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to do on campus, that it is rare that every person is involved with only one group or club.

    Great for these types of students

    SCU is for you if you like California, like other people, like a smaller learning environment, are ready to learn, and want to make the best friends of their whole entire life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SCU is big on family orientated things and love getting alumni involved and getting the students to feel like a close community.

    Bang for the buck

    Although SCU is expensive, you leave it with important knowledge and skills, connections with other people, and a great sense for community.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs to join, intramurals are very popular, the student section is big too. There really is no reason not to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Benson is awesome, all made fresh all delicious.

    Dorm Life

    So many people; open door policy. Swig is the all-freshman dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are amazing. Smaller classes so that you can get that one-on-one learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved on campus, whether it be clubs or sports, do something! Manage your time! There is time to study and then time to be social.. everybody works differently. Use office hours! The professors are so willing and open to helping with any questions and they truly do want you to succeed! DON'T WORRY! SCU is a blast.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Dedicated professors. A community-based college education.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is just like any other place, don't walk around by yourself(that's you ladies!), look both ways before crossing the street etc. There is a department here called Campus Safety and if you ever need to walk somewhere late at night and you need an escort, just call them up and they will walk you wherever you need to go, and get you there safely.

    Clubs and Activities

    A LOT of clubs, A LOT of intramural sports to join. The clubs here are legit, they do many activities and some clubs have events weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, really....I mean it!

    Bang for the buck

    SCU just plain rocks. They give you an equal balance of education and fun, and the retention rate here is fantastic. Being right in the middle of all the action in the Silicon Valley also lays out great opportunities for internships.

    What to do for fun

    The school books plenty of events on campus (Tyga and Blue Scholars did a concert here a couple of weeks into the quarter) plus Santa Cruz is no more than an hour away, maybe less. San Francisco is nearby also, Santana Row which is a great place to go shopping. The amusement park, Great America is less than 20 minutes away. SCU has Zipcars you can borrow for your trips and they also do cheap shuttles to local concerts because the Shoreline Amphitheatre is very close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is incredibly delicious. As a girl speaking, even the salads are good, but for the guys, the portions are more than enough and everything is fresh, they just do NOT mess around with the food here, and the options are practically endless.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student :) but from what I have heard the Communities here do their best to create camaraderie between everyone that lives not only in each building but also on each floor.

    Academic Rigor

    They do not(voluntarily) let you slack off here. You almost want to do you homework and write your papers. It is definitely an environment conducive to learning, especially the library, which is my sanctuary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the tuition throw you off, its worth every cent and I just started here. SCU does everything to make this feel like your home, and most people that I have spoken to that don't live close-by feel like this is their home away from home and even as a commuter student, I feel that way.

    In three sentences

    SCU is pretty amazing, personally, I love it here and even though I don't live on campus I have found it easy to make friends because you can find where you fit in no matter where that may be. From the second you set foot on campus, your options are laid out before you and it is your decision to take them and roll with it. Another thing that is incredibly awesome about SCU is that they won't give you the incentive to say they failed you. Here, you are given every resource possible to do you very best and every teacher is here for YOU, not their research.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is super safe! I've never felt scared. And their are tons of campus safety officers who are super friendly and will help you out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for everything on campus. And if you don't find one, you can start one! But go the club fair the first day of school and you literally can join anything! Clubs are a great way to make friends.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, go meet people and just hang out. Keep your door open in your dorm and people will just walk in and introduce themselves. Make new friends and you can do a variety of things; go to the mall and movie theater close by or just stay on campus and party.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Benson (the main eating area) is good. They have new specials every day and they are really good. Their food is very expensive though, but luckily with dining points its not that bad. If you have to pay out of pocket, its super expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really great, especially ones like Graham, Campisi and San Filippo. The dorm allows you to make friends immediately and really provides a community/homey feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    When I started college, I forgot that everyone has to be smart to get in. Students at SCU are extremely intelligent. The school's motto is work hard party hard. Everyone gets good grades but know how to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do because it helps you take classes that you know you have to do for your major and you can start off checking things off, without wasting money.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara University is the best! You get everything you are looking for: great education, amazing people and the best college experience ever. Apply to Santa Clara University and you will not be let down!

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    While far less than a majority of students are part of the Greek system, Greek life is very prevalent among the student body and around campus. The sororities and fraternities are not recognized by the university, but there are still houses off campus and a large amount of parties throughout the year are hosted at the fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Santa Clara is overall a great school for many different types of students. It has a great academically rigorous program while still providing a social atmosphere for those less motivated.

    What to do for fun

    The party scene at Santa Clara is good. Most nights there are parties off campus that are readily accessible from the dorms. However, there are other options if students are not interested in partying. The CalTrain station is right across the street from campus, which makes it easy to take day trips to Stanford or San Francisco.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is pretty average. The food is good but gets old after a while. There are many options surrounding campus, but with the immense amount of meal points few students will need to eat out using their own money often.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are almost all newly renovated, clean, modern, and work well for creating a social yet still academically inviting environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Santa Clara definitely challenges students to not simply regurgitate and memorize material. Classes are aimed to get students to think and consistently reshape opinions and ideas through discussion and collaboration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be genuine in your application if you decide to apply to Santa Clara. SCU doesn't simply focus on grades and test scores. They want to know who you are as a person and what interests you about Santa Clara. If you can make that clear in your application, why Santa Clara fits with your personality, then the application process should be relatively simple.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara University truly aims to shape students into knowledgeable and well-rounded members of the community. With small class sizes are large availability of office hours, faculty is readily willing and able to answer any questions to ensure students are on the right track, both understanding and comprehending material. SCU consistently challenges the mind while providing a social and inviting atmosphere perfect for both learning and maturing in an ever changing social and technological world.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe! Safety is prime with the entire campus staff.

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of opportunities for non-academic life

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other like institutions the price is right.

    What to do for fun

    Take the train to San Francisco. Get involved in dorm life

    Food and Dining

    Great food with numerous healthy choices

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun and opportunities in a coed environment

    Academic Rigor

    Tough school however worth every effort

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an academic game plan and follow your plan

    In three sentences

    SCU is a fun and small to college. SCU is a great school to begin your Freshman year. The professors really care about every individual and make time to assist us

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Santa Clara is located in a very nice area with a police station across the street from campus. The school also has their own campus security and EMT available to keep their students safe.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and Sororities are not recognized by the school. We do have Greek Life but only about 20% of the student population participates.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs that allow the majority of the student body to participate in extracurricular activities. Santa Clara makes sure there are many opportunities for students to enrich themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Santa Clara is a pretty pricey school with costs of upward of 50 grand to attend. However they are very generous with their scholarships making sure that everyone who needs aid gets it. That being said Santa Clara is a great value because the majority of its students find a job in their field of study or move onto graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    We can rent a zipcar and drive 30 minutes to Santa Cruz and visit the Boardwalk. We could walk across the street and catch a bus to either Santana Row or Valley Fair mall. Also there many events put on by the university and are a ton of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall provides great food to the entire campus. We have many different options to choose from such as burgers, pizza, Mexican food, pasta, and a salad bar. The food is delicious and is a good deal.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in the dorms and I would have to say that dorm life is one of the best part of Santa Clara. Living in the dorms helps you meet new people and make new friendship. Living in the dorms is the best way to meet and a ton of fun as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Santa Clara University prides themselves on preparing their students for the rigorous requirements in the world after college. All of Santa Clara's schools are ranked very highly in their respective fields. Also Santa Clara's faculty is very well educated and trained. Unlike many other schools Santa Clara's faculty prides themselves on being available to their students and helping them achieve. The academic environment at Santa Clara is very tough but manageable thanks a great faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obviously Santa Clara is looking for good students so maintain a high GPA. Another thing is that Santa Clara really looks for students who were involved with student government in high school. Also just be a well rounded individual.

    In three sentences

    Santa Clara University is an amazing school and I would strongly encourage anyone to apply here. We have a beautiful campus at Santa Clara and great California weather. The academics provided at Santa Clara are top notch and also connect us with many Silicon Valley job opportunities.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They can be very irritating, but if you stay under the radar everything will be okay.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome at SCU. It is not affiliated with the school. It is a great way to make friends and socialize, but you don't have to be apart of greek life to have fun at SCU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great array of clubs on campus and they are very active.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive college to attend, but very worth it and the connections are awesome. SCU is right in the middle of the Silicon Valley, where there are many jobs.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at Santa Clara University. During the day, there are always pick up games in multiple sports. Intramural is a big hit. Night life is great and social.

    Food and Dining

    Better than most schools you visit. Everything is made from organic products.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms are great. Graham is probably the most beautiful dorm in America right now.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard to get good grades! There are some challenging courses.

    In three sentences

    This University flies under the radar. People always think about big name schools, but when you actually come and visit and spend sometime here, it is the most amazing place you could attend college.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus.

    What to do for fun

    The gym! And visiting the beautiful church.

    Food and Dining

    Great choices and quality of food.

    Dorm Life

    Clean and neat dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Ranked #2 in all regional university in the US

    Tips for prospective students

    A must apply college, be confident !

    In three sentences

    Most beautiful campus. Energetic and passionate students. Very safe neighborhood.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pretty much go out, work out, or hang out with friends. Sometimes people venture to SF or to Santa Cruz for the day.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit makes the best food for students daily with the best ingredients possible. A lot of people complain that it gets old, but people obviously have never visited other schools with cafeterias. We have Benson and a legitimate catering service with an entire French pastry chef and his team making all the baked goods in house.

    Dorm Life

    The residential learning community program clusters residents to attend certain core classes together and helps foster community on campus. This is pretty unique to Santa Clara and can create lasting friendships for the duration of your college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a spectrum of amazing, life changing teachers and why were you hired teachers. It really just depends on what department and even what section of class you're in. It's always good to look your teachers up on ratemyprofessors when registering for classes to be safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school beforehand to get a feel of it. There are a lot of shadowing and overnight stay options where you can understand the lifestyle of an SCU student so make use of that.

    In three sentences

    SCU has a beautiful campus with beautiful people. Go here if you're looking for a casual school with good academics and a decent social scene. Don't go here if you're looking for top tier academics or cannot deal with a diverse group of students.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    yoga, reading, meditation

    Food and Dining

    NA I will commute from my home

    Dorm Life

    NA I will commute from my home

    Academic Rigor

    since it's famous in Silicon Valley second to Stanford, easy to find jobs.

    In three sentences

    They have great programs and the professors are friendly.