Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Santa Fe Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to live in a college town but also want to have the option of attending an intimate class setting rather than those held in a University. Students who also are interested in nursing, construction, auto mechanics, and digital design would be very pleases with the classes they can obtain here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your professor’s office hours and use ratemyprofessor when selecting your classes. I know using a website such as ratemyprofessor seems a bit unorthodox but many students leave an accurate description of the professor’s method of teaching and their personality.

    Bang for the buck

    Santa Fe is now a state college and many of classes that you can attend here are the same as those in the University of Florida, but a more pocket-friendly price.

    Am learning a lot

    The high school that I graduated from was not the best school for academics and I found that I did not possess many of the skills needed for succeeding in college. Thankfully, many of my professors spent time making sure that I understood my classes and assisted me in my assignments. I learned a lot of new things and even elevated my vocabulary an exceptional amount. I’m truly gratefully for my professors and their interest in all their students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I read books and mostly hang out with my friends. writing stories and studying for my classes knowing that an A is upcoming

    Academic Rigor

    awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Working hard is the only thing that makes a good student. Good grades don't just come to you, you have to work hard for them.

    In three sentences

    Santa fe Community College is an amazing school. I have grown on an intellectual level. The instructors pay extra attention to every student in the class and that helps a lot of students to pass with good grades.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    great

    Clubs and Activities

    honor societies.

    Great for these types of students

    those who are not sure what they want to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    green chili

    Bang for the buck

    quality education at reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    not much.

    Food and Dining

    food is okay.

    Academic Rigor

    the course content is intense and well taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    pay close attention to your syllabus and your instructor's instructions. make sure you have your instructor's contact informaiton. keep in close contact with your advisor.

    In three sentences

    this school is small and you can relate to the professors personally. they are interested in your success and show you many options. the instructors are excellent and tutors are readily available if you need them.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Santa Fe Place is nearby, which is the local mall. SFCC also recently updated their cafeteria, there is always something going on in the main lunch area.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to come to get an associates degree or certified in a certain trade.

    In three sentences

    My time at Santa Fe community college has been amazing. I not only have come across some of the most knowledgeable people, but also very friendly people. The staff and students seem to be happy to be here.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never known of any campus safety issues.

    Greek Life

    Active involvement in the honor society has opened many doors for me.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rates are low and financial aid is helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student organizations that are fun and will offer you an opportunity to dig deeper into your field.

    Food and Dining

    Typical fast food is available.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors in the math and engineering classes are committed to seeing good products from their students. They expect a lot, but also provide a lot of guidance. Grades are non negotiable and you will earn your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay close attention to the syllabus and ask questions if you are not clear on an assignment. Be up front with your professors and let them know if you are having difficulty. Give your instructors as much time as possible to respond to you, rather than contacting them when you are in crisis and expecting an immediate response.

    In three sentences

    This is a warm and caring community college with staff in offices who are invested in helping students. No matter what the circumstances a student is dealing with, someone has a suggestion or help. The instructors are caring and interested in you, the student, not just their subject.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a low-cost school with courses that will transfer to bigger universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs offered but I do not participate in them.

    Food and Dining

    The school is currently undergoing several renovations. There is a cafeteria with a lot of different options and two cafes that offer coffee and pastries.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is top-notch. The courses are difficult and challenging. The academic staff is always willing to help and accomodate most situations for hard-working students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with a counselor is essential in meeting academic goals. They help guide you and offer encouragement.

    In three sentences

    Santa Fe Community College is rich in diversity. I am a married mother of four children and I fit right in with all the other students. Great facility and instructors.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very, very secure. The security guards will escort you to your car if you feel unsafe, and I have even seen them help a student fix a flat.

    Greek Life

    PTK is the only one I am aware of on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from PTK to Gay and Lesbian Alliance....we have it all!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! Hetero, trans, handicapped.....they are all welcomed, and become a part of, the student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SFCC has a 'Spring Fling' outing in the main quad....lots of booths and fun; the money is used for the school, helping out less fortunate students. How cool is that?

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper to do your pre-reqs here instead of doing them all at UNM...and most of them transfer anyway, so save your $$$.

    What to do for fun

    Duh! It's Santa Fe, New Mexico!

    Food and Dining

    The newly refurbished cafeteria serves pretty decent food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges are placed in front of you...it is up to you to step up to the plate and study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brush up on your mathematics, English grammar and sciences before applying.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty. A wonderful learning environment. A great place to be!

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I did not get to try any food on campus but there are several good restaurants very close by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that this school is pretty much on par with the other schools in the area.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nice variety of food. Breakfast burritos are great and well priced.

    Tips for prospective students

    The advisors at SFCC are incredibly helpful and are on a walk in or appointment basis- whichever is preferred. Take advantage of this opportunity as often as needed!

    In three sentences

    I have been to many different colleges in the past and this college is the only one I have continued my education with. This school has been helpful, understanding, and have pushed me to fulfill my potential. I have enjoyed every class and especially enjoyed the small classrooms that allow me more one on one time with the instructors.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there is a lot of clubs you can join for example there is the dancing club and the math club.

    Food and Dining

    There is different options for food there is a cafeteria where you can buy good food. There is also a bakery stand and there is vending machines allover the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorms in Santa Fe Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are at a good academical level its challenging enough to make you struggle but it doesn't set you of to failure.

    In three sentences

    Santa Fe Community College is perfect for students looking to start or continue there education close to home. For some students is good because they can get their basics to transfer to a university.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    R.A always on patrol and so are security.

    Clubs and Activities

    They fund clubs if you get it started and they support you always.

    Great for these types of students

    All artistic students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prairie dog holes!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the cost!

    What to do for fun

    See the town. Go to the mountains and art people!

    Food and Dining

    One of the best catering companies out there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Absolutely thrilling! The teachers can get things out of you that you never knew you had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to always be busy. Do your work first and play afterwards. If you want a true home and friends, come join me.

    In three sentences

    I was quickly plunged into many events and was barely spending any time at home. The teachers were always pushing for better than perfect and were getting wonderful results. I've never felt so at home and free.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Snacks are available in the book store and from vending machines. There is also the East Wing Eatery and a Cafeteria open during reasonable hours easily accommodating almost any student's schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    The material that has been presented to me has been well explained and I have always been encouraged to ask questions. Help is available in class and at the tutoring center during reasonable hours that should accommodate almost every schedule. My professors have been flexible to an extent but I expect to have earned the grade I get, good grades aren't given away.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could give any helpful tips, it would be these three: See an academic advisor right away, be polite and agreeable whenever possible so that people want to help you, and take advantage of the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    For those prospective students who might be nervous or in any way anxious about returning to school, SFCC sets the stage for a smooth and easy transition into school. All of the staff I've come across have been so helpful, I haven't had to figure anything out on my own because there has always been some friendly person to help me. My professors and counselors keep an attitude that says that they want me to succeed and that they are there to help me.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love this community college. I'm someone who is shy and have to feel good in my environment; and at SFCC i feel great. I always feel safe. I've never had a bad experience with anything, and if there was a problem, the staff right away fixed it or helped me out. The furniture is all new and very stylish. I really do love this college. I've never felt uncomfotable at SFCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    SFCC has over 30 active student clubs and organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think its super cool how in the front of the school they show how many tons they recycle, on earth day. There are recycle bins everywhere on campus. Ive heard about a lot of cool things on campus, I just haven't seen them yet because I'm pretty new to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has good instate prices. They also have good prices for out of state compared to a University.

    What to do for fun

    Library Planetarium Bookstore Cafeteria Outside patios Dance club (Video game Dancing) Lots of clubs I don't know about Ive seen bbqs for the students Belly dancers dance outside If you're registered in a fitness class then you are opened to: Swimming pool Work out room Basketball courts Tennis courts and more.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little pricey, but there is free coffee downstairs, and you can also buy snacks in the bookstore that you wont find in the cafeteria. Cafeteria is very nice, but fills up fast, but you can also eat on other nice areas on campus. Food is good. They have chefs who can cook you food on the spot or you can buy food made earlier that is packaged. You can also eat at the delicious East Wing Eatery, which is new and ran by the SFCC culinary students and the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for SFCC.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first college, but for me it's challenging but also do-able. As long as you stay on top with all of your work you should do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign Up for you classes as soon as possible because classes fill up very fast. Buy your books early so you're not left with buying expensive new books. Don't be afraid to ask anyone for help; everyone there is super nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Great and clean atmosphere. Very welcoming with great staff willing to help. Very nice teachers with a good curriculum.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I took some classes in the evening and during the winter months when it got dark early it was a little creepy and eerie having to walk in the parking lot alone. There are a few people out at that time but I never saw any security guards. The lighting in the parking lots could be improved drastically.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall you can get a good education without deeply going into debt.

    Dorm Life

    There are no places on campus to live and Santa Fe is an expensive place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    SFCC teachers give enough homework to reinforce the topic/lesson for the class but not enough to be overwhelming. Depending on the class and the professor projects are assigned closer after the previous one while can make the work load hard to manage depending on the hours in your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with an advisor as soon as possible. Make sure you register for class on the exact date at the precise time otherwise you will not register for the classes you need. There are not enough classes offered for the amount of students that need to register and my experience is for classes in the medical field.

    In three sentences

    Santa Fe Community College has a great atmosphere and the employees are extremely nice and helpful. Unless you have been there before or know someone that has attended school at SFCC the campus/buildings can be really confusing. The class size allows enough students to attend without feeling like a number.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not here.....thankfully!

    Clubs and Activities

    Solar Club, Biofuels Club, Environmental Club, Gardening Club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Biofuels lab

    What to do for fun

    Not at the school!

    Academic Rigor

    varies

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes seriously, there is a lot you can get out of them if you apply yourself.

    In three sentences

    Many programs and classes beyond the expected from a Community College. Biofuels Center of Excellence, Water Harvesting, Solar Technology, FIne Arts. Many world-class instructors who choose to live in Santa Fe and want to share their knowledge.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Five stars. Around the clock patrols ensure your safety on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa....yeah! I'm one!

    Clubs and Activities

    Five stars. Almost every club is represented at SFCC---Pride, Nursing Student, Student Leadership to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students (like me!), kids right out of high school....people who are interested in Continuing Education as opposed to regular classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a 'Give-Away Day'. Students and faculty bring items to the school that are given away....it is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Five stars. Beginning your studies at SFCC is a lot cheaper than the university level. Check it out for yourself!

    What to do for fun

    We have a Planetarium right at the school. How cool is that? Santa Fe is our backyard...what's not to love? Camping, skiing, hiking, bike riding...the list is endless. We also have a great pool and exercise facility right on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Four stars. The cafeteria has some great grub!

    Dorm Life

    One star. Does not apply at our school.

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars. Make sure that you make the time for your studies. It is easy to fall behind and think that you can catch up....and you can't. The professors are all willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study hard to get good grades. Don't be afraid to ask for help when you need it--the tutoring center is part of your tuition.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful faculty. A stimulating educational experience. A beautiful school.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The East Side Eatery is excellent!

    In three sentences

    This school offers a quality education to students of all ages. I am particularly proud of how the school gives back to the community and promotes sustainable practices.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe during the day and night. The school staffs lots of security.

    Greek Life

    This is not that type of school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have never attended a club or have been involved in any activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are unsure if they are ready to go to university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good college. I would recommend it for people who are not quite ready for university. This experience helps to get your feet wet before you jump into a hardcore university setting.

    What to do for fun

    I work mostly, so I have little free time to do much of anything else.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the campus, but I hear that the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning experience is always positive. The professors help you to understand the material during the class, as well as during their office hours. It is not hard to reach out for help when you are having trouble with the course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would check to make sure that the classes the students are taking will easily transfer over to other colleges or universities.

    In three sentences

    The community college encourages lots of class participation. The professors are professional, but also integrate fun activities to keep the class fresh. I have found that the professors are very willing to accommodate my specials needs, which provides me with a more positive learning experience.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never needed them but they seem to be on top of things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Currently a Student Ambassador and loving every moment of it. Looking to explore other clubs once the semester starts.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore offers most items at a very responsible cost.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy photography, writing and the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten here a few times but not to bad for college food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will suggest visiting early and get involved with a group. Use the time to meet with those who will or may be your instructors.

    In three sentences

    As a Student Ambassador I have already discovered a group of people that is supportive of who I am and what I do. This group has become like family to me and that feels great. The faulty I have met thus far are great and make me feel welcomed!

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    clean slate since i started last year.

    Greek Life

    one fraternity that ive heard of.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are someone that seeks new and eccentric cultural buffet of shared experience than this is the place to start.

    Bang for the buck

    I most definitely fell i am receiving my moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Great gym.From swimming to weight lifting and all anyone could ask for.( Except a sauna)lol. active clubs and tons of culture from all over the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek the free help and advice that is given. whether it be in this school or any other.

    In three sentences

    Excellent teachers who enjoy teaching. Very friendly students and staff. Overall a great school that i look forward to completing my associates in.