Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Sauk Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Athletic, Intelligent, Creative, Organized and Unorganized, because Sauk Valley Community College is for everyone who wants to get a great education and enjoy their college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Compare SVCC and other colleges for their educational reputations, prices to attend, campus's, faculty, support services, clubs, sports and activities, and you'll find that SVCC has everything at an affordable rate. 2) If you can't come visit the campus(s), make sure you call and speak with a counselor, admissions, financial aid, and even talk with a student aid to ask all the questions you have. Call back several times if necessary, they don't mind. 3) The college you choose has to fit your lifestyle and goals, so do not bite off more than you can handle; sometimes starting smaller actually adds up to be more in the long run. 4) Once you have all your information, I'm sure you'll see why SVCC is a great educational experience, for the money.

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely recommend SVCC! Since relocating to the area, the cost to attend is reasonable, plus you get all the sports, clubs and services as a Division I or II University without the costs and distractions of big campus life. Don't get me wrong, SVCC is definitely not a boring campus, it's just the right mixture.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sauk Valley Community College as a whole is Great! The campus is big enough to feel different from any 4A high school, yet small enough so you can get the one on one help when you need it. It has all the advanced equipment and books to provide top notch education for degrees and transfers, plus the resources to help students with services to cope with college life, grades, interests, and educational goals. The sports and coaches are awesome Go Skyhawks and the college puts on events, like dances, bonfires, etc. to bring the students together for some safe fun and to help our community.

    Am learning a lot

    I am extremely impressed with the effort the teachers and faculty put into all of us students to succeed! After my first semester, my SVCC GPA is 3.14, with help from tools at programs and clubs, like the Student Support Services/Trio, that assists students (at no cost) with tutors, laptops, learning centers, calculators and book lending; along with workshops and other services that are interesting and motivating towards our futures. When ever I need to speak to one of my teachers or a faculty member about a test, my grade, financial information, my classes, or just to ask a question, I have always felt like they were interested and happy to take the time to help me. Therefore, I'd say Sauk Valley Community College is definitely an 9 out of 10, but it's not the fault of the college that the winter weather gets so cold!

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Greek Life

    i don't believe they have greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty, you should join!

    Great for these types of students

    great college experience!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i like visiting the library.

    Bang for the buck

    very well priced

    What to do for fun

    hang out downstairs with friends around the tables or nice chairs.

    Food and Dining

    have snacks there to buy, and i've seen kids walking around with other bought foods from there that look very good.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live there, but i have seen the inside of the dorms. very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    amazing school!

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard for your future. you can never dream too high, and community colleges like sauk can help you reach them!

    In three sentences

    wonderful teachers, and other staff. i'm looking forward to taking more classes there this summer. thank you!

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at SVCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone that is looking to save money by living at home, or isn't ready for a large campus yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I have saved so much money by attending SVCC. I'm able now to not feel so guilty about attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually an intramural sport going on during lunch hours that is open to everyone. Along with that is the stress-reveling ping-pong tables, Foosball table, a piano, walking by the river, and the gym. If being active isn't your thing, there are multiple computer rooms available. About once a month there is a dance or other activity being held on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    It's expensive, and not always that great. There is never a deli sandwich available. Which, I would rather eat for my lunch than something heavy in grease. The ladies working are really great though. I found it was cheaper to drive to a local restaurant or pack my own lunch if I had time.

    Dorm Life

    The Commons is no longer owned by the school, but is still available for students. I enjoyed my life at the commons for the semester I lived there. People can be intrusive though, and would suggest keeping personal items secure.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always room for improvement. They have professors that can be completely difficult and disrespectful, but there are so many more that are overly helpfully and extremely intelligent. The LAC (Learning Assistance Center) has amazing people that are stupendous help with many, if not all subjects. If they don't know what it is you are trying to figure out, they will find someone who does.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sauk Valley is what you make of it. I feel like I made it great. I joined a club, learned about things I loved, worked hard for grades, meet new friends, found some inspiring teachers, received my EMT certificate. It's not only a community college, it's time to open your world to what you have dreamed for yourself by giving your full effort.

    In three sentences

    It's a good beginning if one is still wishing to transfer, or even receive a certificate. Professors can be hard to handle, but there are also some that are very, very helpful. I would rate it over all a 3 on a 1 to 5 scale because it has room to improve for keeping students active and current with the school.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study. You wont have too much time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have a wonderful cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not live in the Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There school is like many other Community Colleges. Grades are based on 4.0 GPA's

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the counslers out there. They are wondering and will guide you on your journey.

    In three sentences

    I think Sauk Valley Community College is a school with many opportunities. Sauk has one of the best Nursing Programs in the Northern area. I am excited to be attending Sauk Valley Community College.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus does have cameras set up and a security force. However, I did not always feel safe there. The main thing that made me feel safe was the student body. Most of the students are really decent people. Many are involved in different organizations (which allows for a sense of community, which, in turn, creates a satisfactory feeling, which leads to less violent incidents), but there were some incidents. While I attended SVCC, there was an incident with a male student pulling a knife on his girlfriend (which was caught on camera and taken care of relatively quickly), a stalker (who was asked to leave the school premises), and a dancer who got out of control (and was also asked to leave without further incident). These are not bad incidents, however, one would feel safer with TRAINED, armed security guards as the nearest police station is over 10 minutes away.

    Greek Life

    The closest thing to Greek life is what I lovingly refer to as Geek life. Phi Theta Kappa, an international honors society, helped me to earn scholarships, feel a sense of community, provide community services, and motivate myself to become better at everything. I highly recommend joining this organization if you meet the qualifications.

    Clubs and Activities

    Where to begin. There are clubs for promoting diversity and acceptance, academic excellence, student government, the arts (such as literature, art zine creation, photography and more), geek culture (such as anime and magic club), and criminal justice to name a few. There are activities created to inspire, help, and learn. Activities are created to help de-stress and blow off steam. Different athletic teams are open to males and females.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, hard working, athletic (We also have great sports teams and there are a variety of athletic scholarships many of our student body receive.), artistic (as we have a great fine arts program), opinionated, active, diverse, and those interested in research as well as trade students, and nursing students. I also recommend this school for single parents who need to boost their education and income (not to mention, parents furthering their education teach their children some great life lessons and the importance of a good education).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus sits between a prairie and a river. There is an astronomy club which sets up in a large field to view astronomical occurrences. We also have a two-headed beaver...ask Brad Smith.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is one of the cheaper in Illinois. The faculty definitely prepares students for moving on to university, or earning a certification. The instructors, for the most part, are inspiring to students who actually care about their education.

    What to do for fun

    I cannot say it enough, JOIN THE ORGANIZATIONS. There is something for everyone. On top of that, the fine arts department tends to host open mic nights, various theatrical performances, concerts and art exhibits. The school, itself, tries to host at least two performances (comedy, music or otherwise), and workshops a month. There are also fun days each semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is sub-par and over priced. The only reason I gave it two stars is due to the kindness of the staff, and the available recreational sections in the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are extremely well thought out. Many teachers push the students to succeed, but do not allow them to slack. I have had more rigorous courses offered at this community college than at a four year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join different organizations! There is a vast number of organizations to become involved in. The more you are an active member of the school, the more scholarships are available to you and the more connected you feel within the college.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Supremely safe. They are security around 24/7, and alarms to push should something go wrong.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the only one, I believe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs for anime or criminal law enthusiasts, but I do not gather they are too popular.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who work, are parents, or need flexible scheduling. Great for people who just want to show up and go home, not wanting the college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college sits in front of a lake. It is very beautiful to take your books by the bank and study.

    Bang for the buck

    $90/credit hour is not a lot in the state of Illinois.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really a ton to do besides study. The library is a goood place to kill time.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria that is usually closed in the summer, and when it is open, and it tremendously overpriced. There are vending machines conveniently located, but contain nothing healthy.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, it hasn't proven to be too tough. I maintain a 4.0 without to much effort. If you are willing to put in the work, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't set the bar too high on what to expect from other students. Remember that it is a community college, and you will be setting in class with a lot of single mothers on financial aid who drop out by the third week.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All of them, honestly! There is such a socially diverse student body that one could find their place in Sauk very easily. For the most art, Sauk students are very accepting and friendly and make it easy to feel a part of the school!

    Bang for the buck

    The amount of money saved by attending Sauk is absolutely incredible. Up to almost eight times less than some private universities, it is certainly a value not worth overlooking.

    What to do for fun

    So much! There are free events almost every single week usually sponsored by the student government (which I am president of). Some events last year included Nelly's Echo, a contestant on The Voice this season. There is also an event at the beginning and end of the year with free food and inflatables to celebrate the coming and going of the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent! They have a wonderful range of choices, from vegetarian dishes to several staples you will find anywhere (I recommend the chicken strips!). The only shortcoming is the price. The menu is rather expensive (compared to other campuses) and this is mostly due to their ability to charge this much. Not many students are going to take the 10-15 minute drive back to town to pick up lunch and come back, unless they have the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not actually owned by Sauk Valley Community College, which i believe is the reason for the dissatisfaction with them. They are in large part at the mercy of the students that live there, and it is largely up to them how the dorms are treated. I'm not here to just gush about everything the school has to offer, this is an honest review and honesty is not always convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Very engaging and challenging. One thing i noticed is that you get out of Sauk what you put in. There are so many doors to be opened to those that look for them here. Including Phi Theta Kappa, an enthusiasm driven honors program, and challenging but surmountable curriculum. I have friends attending four year universities that transferred from Sauk that tell me their classes now are a ton easier, thanks to Sauk's challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an excellent college for the transition from high school to university, this is your number one choice. An engaging curriculum, plus support from teachers and an incredible student body make for a stimulating environment to further your education.

    In three sentences

    Simply one of the best two-year colleges in the United States. I feel absolutely prepared to transfer to a four-year university come next Fall. It also costs astronomically less than going straight to a university.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sauk has many clubs and activities. There are always things happening at Sauk. People come and speak about drug and violences or performers will come and sing, which is always fun and interesting to watch. Clubs they have are interesting; from a club that relates to your major or just ones to have fun with such as magic club or film and Lit club, and criminal justice club. There are many more but those are just examples. Some clubs are even developed by students themselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Sauk is a great place for students who aren't able to afford to attend a University at first. It's also for students who are undecided with their major. If you are unable to afford it they make sure you are able to get as much Limey as possible to attend classes. I you're undecided counsellors are there to guide you through classes. Because of the variety of classes you may find your interests and what you would want to major in.

    What to do for fun

    To have fun I usually hang out with a group of friends and go to lunch or we'll get together on the weekends and just relax from a long week of school.

    Food and Dining

    I normally don't eat food from the school but some of the things they have always look like real food. The baked goods they have there are always delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure how the dorm life is because I don't live in a dorm. The dorm rooms or Commons as some call them are right next to the school so I guess it makes them easily accessible for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great academic rigour. Although they're a small school classes are still tough. The teachers are well educated and the work they give us is fair in difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're wanting to attend Sauk I wouldn't tell you no. If you we're to don't be afraid to talk to people. You're there to take classes but also meet some great people. As well as the teachers. They're there to help you in anything you have trouble with. Sauk has many clubs and organisations to get involved in so get involved with them.

    In three sentences

    Sauk Valley is a great school to get started at. The counsellors are always there to help young and older students who need assistance with their classes and anything else. It's also a good sized school so you're able to meet new people and get involved.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. Each day, I see security walking through the hallways. I have never felt threatened in this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sauk blossoms with clubs and activities. Get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students although committed students get the best out of the experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is right on a river. Beautiful landscape and benches line the river where students are free to walk, do homework, and eat lunch.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great! Even without a scholarship, the college is 4,000 a year! It's a great way to save before attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! There are so many clubs I have lost track. Each club does different things, according to their interests. For instance, the elementary education club went out to eat and visited the school store the other day, also visiting a nearby college. Each club provides certain aspects to an individuals interest, always giving students the option to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and numerous. Each day there are at least 50 variations of what you can put on your plate! The cafeteria is friendly and welcoming, with ping pong tables right in the middle of it all. Good food and entertainment!

    Dorm Life

    Although dorms are not provided at SVCC, apartments are close to the grounds, allowing students to walk to school. I have never lived in the apartments, but I here that they are clean and spacious. The only issue with these apartments is that they are quite pricy for a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, yet they are manageable due to the helpful professors and the flexible time schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take advantage of the numerous sources that are here to help you achieve at Sauk Valley Community College. I use its free tutoring center every day and it has paid off immensely! I now actually like to study math!

    In three sentences

    Sauk Valley Community College cares about their student's success and accomplishments. Although a small school, Sauk Valley has all of the modern conveniences of a University and more because it possesses smaller classes and one on one attention from professors and tutoring centers that larger schools don't provide. Sauk has made if fun for its students to learn and achieve what they never thought they could.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Need more vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay at the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are taking the classes that are going to really count towards your major. Also, make sure the classes you are taking are going to count as transfer classes at the university you are planning on transferring to.

    In three sentences

    Sauk Valley Community College is a good local community college to go to in order to save money before transferring to a university, or to get a certificate or associate degree. However, I do not think they do the best job at helping students. Students that work at the school are not trained properly in my opinion, but that is something you can get past.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If possible participate in dual enrollment! As a high school student the price per credit hour is half of that of the price paid as a college student. Making each credit hour at Sauk just under 50 dollars! Can not beat that!

    Food and Dining

    Chicken strips are excellent!

    Academic Rigor

    As a high school student participating in dual enrollment the classes have not been very hard. However, they are much more strict than high school which will be noticed on the very first day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let fear of something new hold you back! Walking in to a college class for the first time as a high school student participating in dual enrollment was terrifying for me but well worth it! Also, always study and do homework assigned gen. ed. classes may seem easy but studying guarantees and easy A!

    In three sentences

    Thus far in my experience with Sauk Valley Community College, the staff has been extremely helpful.!Teachers' keep class involved and interesting all while teaching at the same time. The college itself is also very help and understanding in the financial aspect as well.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a more challenging community college, and who plan to transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Sauk is great for students that want to save money. Tuition is around $3500 a year including book fees.

    What to do for fun

    Sauk is in the middle of cornfields. Most students that go to Sauk are from a bunch of small towns in the area. However, there is still stuff to do in the surrounding areas like any other typical town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small, but has a lot of options. Sometimes things are overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms which are actually apartments here. However, the people I know that live in them really enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    I would not say that all my classes are extremely challenging. However, for general education classes I feel they are challenging but definitely can get an A in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a problem with a class talk to the teacher. I have never met a teacher who isn't willing to help a student out.

    In three sentences

    Sauk is a small college, with a great academic program. It is great for transferring to a university as well as getting a certificate or degree in two years. The staff/teachers are very helpful in helping you succeed academically.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at SVCC is very efficient. Guards are always on campus, always walking around and observing. If there is an emergency or questionable happening, the security guards are always there ASAP.

    Clubs and Activities

    I feel as if the clubs are not very well organized and the same people do each of the different types.

    Great for these types of students

    Homebodies, workers, non-outgoing

    Bang for the buck

    With scholarships and financial aid, SVCC is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Be part of the SVCC sports teams. There are various theater productions, comedians, talks, singer/songwriters, but times are often inconvenient (in my opinion).

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school, but from what I have observed, it is a typical school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms (The Commons). I do not think they are the best social atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it depends on what degree or field of study a student is pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for diversity and a chance to make friends, Sauk is NOT the best option. Everyone has their groups, and it is comparable to a high school.

    In three sentences

    SVCC is a small school that is sufficient for those wanting to stay close to home. Cost is very reasonable and with financial aid and scholarships, fitting for anyone. If individuals are wanting a school that is small in physical size and class size, Sauk is a honorable choice.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing dangerous or bad ever really happens at Sauk; The campus is always clean, there are always other people helping others, and no one steals anything. Items can be left in hallways, weight rooms, locker rooms, etc., and students will leave them alone. The environment is very respectful and you always feel safe leaving and entering Sauk.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Next Picture show in Dixon is a wonderful little art shop that displays and sells artwork from local artists. Many artists who have work on display there are well known in several large communities around the world, and they started in a small city of Dixon.

    Bang for the buck

    Sauk is definitely the choice to go in cost of tuition. The educational level provided for the price to attend is superb. With all the leftover money, you can go to all of the hot spots of Dixon, Sterling, and Rock falls, all located within 10 miles of Sauk's campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do at Sauk, whether it be attending the fall/spring plays that the theatre does an excellent job doing. There are also art displays, and video game tournaments that occur monthly at and around the area of Sauk. Mostly though, students find the most fun in socializing. Making friends at Sauk is the most fun experience because they are people like you; they already do what you like, and they are as intelligent as you. They want to save money, and have a good time learning in a positive environment.

    Food and Dining

    Sauk offers a cafeteria that is open from 7 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. that serves a wide variety of foods. It's mostly convenience foods, unfortunately, and it is also quite expensive. They do offer a salad bar, but it is limited in choice for greens. There are several vending machines located around Sauk that are mainly for convenience, but as expected, they are convenient. There are several outside dining locations close to Sauk that are very good, however, expensive (not including obvious fast-food restaurants).

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms available at Sauk, known as the Sauk Commons. They are not owned by Sauk, but are only offered to Sauk students. They are furnished, with appliances and two bedrooms with a bathroom in each bedroom. They are quite nice for a community college dorm, but they are a bit pricey. Overall, they are not necessary if commuting is cheaper, but many prospective sports students that come from many areas too far to commute to live there, and it is reasonable and a great experience for them.

    Academic Rigor

    Remember, Sauk is a Community College; you get what you pay for. Some of the professors have been teaching for decades, and some are fresh out of school themselves, or still attending school. The novice teachers are too easy, while those with a serious passion for it will test you to your degree of academic competence. Not to mention the veteran teachers, those who have ten, twenty plus years under their belt; they know how universities work, and they want to prepare you for that the best they can. It's a great opportunity, and a lot can be learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    If attending Sauk, be prepared for a college experience. It's a higher level above high school, and the courses are college level. If they're hard, they're meant to be; the courses are literally designed to make students who are weaker quit. This is how college should be, and at Sauk it's nice because it's so affordable. Don't forget to use financial assistance to your advantage - Sauk has an easy program, and offers many opportunities for work study.

    In three sentences

    Sauk Vally Community College is affordable. It also offers a great education for the price. It is also a great step in preparing for a four year university.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing major has happened that Im aware of, but security is there 24/7 365 days a year. They have a cellphone they carry on them that you can call or text if you need help or are in danger. There are call boxes too in the parking lots. They drive around sauk daily to make sure the outside is safe too. The only thing Im puzzled by is the fact that they do not carry any weapons as a form of protection. The security guards do not need any special training whatsoever which is a little worrysome.

    Clubs and Activities

    SSS, Phi Theta Kappa, chess club, student government, anime/card playing (magic) clubs, math club.... there's a club for anything really.

    Great for these types of students

    Sauks especially good for those looking to pursue a career in nursing, child education, welding, hvac, rad tech, psychology, biology. They also have a newsletter out each year with courses in them like sign language and pharmacy technician where you pay for them fully, take the course, and receive certification or just education at the end!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the tunnel of oppression is held. It is a great event. Sauk has numerous schools come and set up booths a couple times a year where you can get info on them.

    Bang for the buck

    Sauk is affordable. I believe it is $99/credit hour if you live close. The classes Ive taken (chem, bio, mat, eng, spe, hum, ped, psy) are top knotch courses with outstanding professors. Some of the professors have doctorate degrees and have taught at big universities. You pay for a good education. The bookstore is WAAAY overpriced so it is better if you get your books off the internet or join SSS and borrow them.

    What to do for fun

    Saukapalooza, college night, plays, clubs, sports, student support services. Sauk also has a musician play once in awhile. Usually it is an acoustic guitar player who also sings. The tunnel of oppression is also a great event they do. Its in the gym and you get a taste of what it would be like being in someone elses shoes. Many different types of people and lifestyles are portrayed. Tears usually fall!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a good selection but it is pricey. Their breakfast sandwiches are the best haha. They have items such as muffins, juice, redbull, soda, water, milk, fruit, salad bar, hot lunch (chicken patty, mozzerella sticks, chicken strips, pizza, nachos, hamburgers, and homemade side dishes too)

    Dorm Life

    I have spent many nights in the dorms with friends and they are very nice. They are simple and televisions can be set up on behalf of sauk!! They are expensive, and people are sometimes loud and wild on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academic standards are fair. Sauk uses a 4.0 scale. The classes I found to be the toughest are the biology and chemistry courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your fafsa as soon as possible to try to get the map grant, and register right away! Sauk is a very friendly environment. The counseling office does skype appointments for those who live far and are interested in talking to a counselor or registering. Student support services (SSS) is amazing. Everyone should join. They let you borrow books each semester (even if you get financial aid) and they also lend out laptops and ipads for the semester too. You can win money through them too. They also have free tutoring and you can become a tutor and get paid for doing it. Its great. In my opinion sauk is a small school but once you get to know people you form tight knit relationships! Ive used many people from sauk as references on scholarships and applications. They do free campus visits every friday as well. You go on a bus and check out schools you might be interested in.

    In three sentences

    Sauk provides everyone with the tools they need to be successful. The people who work out there are very helpful. The school has amazing teachers, and it is very easy to get around!

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security guards walking around the building. If you every feel unsafe walking to your car they will happily escort you to make you feel a bit more safe. I have also heard they help with flat tires if needed.

    Greek Life

    Does Phi Theta Kappa count?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs to join and plenty more activities throughout the semesters.They have an annual Halloween dance, they have brought in a hypnotist a couple of times, free caricatures, and much more. The main activities that are usually the most attended are as follows: They have Saukfest to celebrate a new semester with free food, music, and different activities to do. Sauk-a-palooza is to make the students aware of the different clubs and organizations that are available. There is also free food, music, and various activities to do. College Night is really for anyone, but they have it every year with about 80+ colleges that come in to answer questions. I have gone to this several times over the years and it is so helpful in deciding where you want to go.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely believe that I am getting my bang for the buck here at Sauk. It is very affordable here with the scholarships that are available as well as financial aid. The teachers and staff are great and usually pretty personable. The education I am receiving here is really worth it. I know most do not like that this school is a community college and it has a stigma for that, but I really love it here. You get out of it what you put into it, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really a whole lot to do at Sauk, but most people just hang out with friends for fun here since there are plenty of areas to just relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food has been absolutely delicious every time I've eaten there, but it is definitely expensive. There are also vending machines everywhere that have water, pop, juice, and a variety of snacks to choose from. These are definitely handy from time to time. There are also water fountains around the building.

    Dorm Life

    Sauk doesn't own dorms, but there are dorms available at Sauk Valley Commons next door to the school that can be used if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor at SVCC really depends on your major, in my opinion. Gen. Eds. are fairly easy in my opinion, but each of the classes taken that are required definitely take some hard work.