Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Schenectady County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is not just for kids just out of high school. There are adults of all ages attending this school. Some have been going part time there for many years because they have kids and full time jobs, just trying to get their 2 year degree. Others do it for fun because they have the time. Most of these people are very friendly. So are most of the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going for baking, you'll find that the first year of school is mostly cooking classes. The second year you get into the more advanced baking.

    Bang for the buck

    Also, in terms of Culinary Arts, my education here is just as good or better than a college where their cost is 30k+ a year. There are plenty of internship opportunities where SCCC kids are recommended for placement first before other schools.

    Am learning a lot

    Human Resources Mgt. may be boring but I've learned extremely useful information that I'll use for the rest of my career. It applies to any job. I've found that all the classes are very useful. You may think you're definitely back of the house but when you take dining room and banquet (both required) you may find that front of the house isn't too bad either. I liked it very much and so have others that used to think they just preferred back of the house.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You will find that SCCC has all types of students: students who are straight out of high school, students who have careers, students who are older and going to college for the first time.. SCCC is for everyone. Although I was a little wary of this being straight out of high school and from a totally different state, I have had the opportunity to meet to many great and interesting people!

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel as if many students mistakenly judge community college as the 13th grade or high school with professors. It definitely is not that way. You should not go to community college thinking that it's going to be a breeze or that you can cruise your way through. Although there may be some pretty easy classes and professors, many of them can also be very tough. Many of my professors have had PHD's and know so much about the subjects they are teaching and expect a lot from their students.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college is a great way to save money! Although I am having to pay out of state tuition fees, I am still saving loads more money than I would have if I had gone to a four-year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am student that likes to be involved in my school. I don't like to just go to class and go home. SCCC has so much to be involved in. They even have a college hour where various clubs meet throughout the campus. Being involved is a great way to meet new people and build relationships with your peers around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Like most of my friends, I planned on attending a four-year university. I had registered for required courses like Fitness, Health, and the infamous Freshman Experience. For $30,000 a year I was about to spend my Freshman year learning almost nothing. At Schenectady courses like this are not required! By the end of my first year I will have completed courses like Environmental Science, Psychology, Sociology, Spanish, and Art History. I have learned so much in these courses, they are so interesting, and they are completely relevant to what I want to major in when I transfer to a four-year school. Courses like Freshman Experience and health may not transfer to any other school. Although you may plan to spend all four years at one school, plans can change and having spent time learning nothing in classes like these can set you back.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    expensive go to wendys its like a 15 min walk

    Dorm Life

    new dorms will be built eventually

    Tips for prospective students

    simply put: 1. some professors care and others could careless 2. you need to know what your doing 3. unless you step up your game your first 2 weeks are going to be exactly what your final score will be for that class in that semester

    In three sentences

    overall 2.5 /5 stars its a community college you get what you pay for its located in the city that once was, again you get what you pay for

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning adult learners. Part-time students.

    Bang for the buck

    Let's face it: it's a state-run community college. Cheap, as long as you're a NYS resident. The bookstore is a bit expensive though. I did better on Amazon

    Did enjoy being here

    SCCC has a lot of extracirricular activities. I served on the Student Government Association executive board as Secretary, and on the Senate as a Senior Senator. I also participatex in the drama club,'and RESTART, a club for returning adult learners

    Did learn a lot

    I graduated with an AAS in Emergency Management and an AAS in Fire Protection in 2011. SCCC is a great school, with great professors. They have a top-notch Fire Science program, taught by folks with 20 years of experience under their belts.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a security personnel driving around the parking lot all day. there are security personnel also walking the halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything in s.c.c.c.

    Great for these types of students

    great for hardworking, motivated students that might not be entirely sure of what they want to do in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    concerts in the front courtyard.

    Bang for the buck

    it was totally worth my money. you get an education that is just as good as other universities at more than half the cost.

    What to do for fun

    proctors theater is right down the road! proctors always has the best shows going on!

    Food and Dining

    great made to order food!

    Dorm Life

    there is no housing yet.

    Academic Rigor

    the work load can get stressful at times but it is worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and stay on top of your homework.

    In three sentences

    i would give schenectady county community college a 10 out of 10. the educators at this college are very helpful, and caring about the education of the students. they are the best.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends. Walk around historic neighborhood.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food but the same daily.

    Dorm Life

    Seen the dorms but never lived in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to teachers if anything, they will definitely work with you. Always attend because a lot is learned in one class.

    In three sentences

    It is a good environment and the teachers are great. They have many clubs and activities to participate in. It is the only community college in my area that has culinary arts.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's blue phones all around campus and they have campus security driving around all times during the day or night.

    Greek Life

    Its a community college to no Greek like but if your a little geeky you can join IEEE through the school. Its a world wide association for Engeneers and computer science people and the yearly payments are cheaper because your a student.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a slew of clubs. Tech club,Science club, Spanish club so on if you go to the activity page for sccc there's a clubs page to check them out.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who wanna save money but still get the prerec classes done for there major before transferring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's really nothing unusual about the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It was worth every penny especially i got the same education for a lot less by going there before transferring.

    What to do for fun

    The theater department has plays that you can go see the music department has concerts , that have singers come and little things like that. I was a member of the tech club and every semester we would do a game day and bring in systems and set them up for people to come in and play games. Like COD Mario party and so on. If your in to MTG kids play that in the cafeteria all the time to haha.

    Food and Dining

    The foods OK if you like cardboard pizza , you wouldn't expect that from a school top 10 in the eastern portion of the US for culinary.

    Dorm Life

    When i left they were building dorms from what i saw the dorms were spacious but that was from looking at the construction site to that's a TBD.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses wise it all depends on the teacher Ive had teachers who taught easy subjects very complicatedly and teachers who taught hard subjects very easy to understand. ex. Calc 1 i got a C but Calc 2 i got an A so it depends on the teacher and how much work you want to put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stop by your teachers offices during there office hours they like to see students trying rather then not totally getting the material and in my experience it will push you if your on the border of a C+ to a B- or what ever. There is an amazing amount of parking for driving students so you don't have to worry about not finding a spot. Attendance wise try not to miss to many classes because you can FX or fail the class due to absences.

    In three sentences

    SCCC is easy to navigate. The teachers are very open to students questions and encourage them to visit during office hours if they need help with subject material. I thoroughly enjoyed this school.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Private security company. Unarmed, but effective. Local police station is about 5 minutes away.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't want to get driven into massive student debt for a good state school with a great urban atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm paying under 2 grand a year to enroll in a Bachelor's program in criminal justice that SUNY Delhi hosts, as a county resident. I have almost zero student debt, and the average cost for non-county NY residents is just under 3.5k. Bachelor's Programs also come in Hospitality Management, Business & Technology Management, and an Online BSN Program in Nursing

    What to do for fun

    Mohawk river is located directly next to college. several nature trails go through the area. Large park within walking distance. Major movie theater with student discounts also within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    College cafeteria is reasonably priced and is open most of the day. Several fast food and smaller sand which shops, pizza shops, and deli's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are brand new, with common areas. School itself has several lounges and outside recreation areas. Surround the dorms are many local shops, restaurants, and other services.

    Academic Rigor

    Grading policies and attendance policies are rigid but fair. Must maintain a 2.0 or above to be in good academic standing. Grading is usually quick and available online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are very dedicated and will work with you one on one if asked. Dorm rooms are brand new and are directly across the street from the college, and surrounded by downtown. Building layout is fairly easy to figure out, and is stacked into large buildings instead of spread out across giant campuses. One could be out of bed and into class in 5 minutes on foot.

    In three sentences

    Great community based and inexpensive college in the state university system. Small class sizes and excellent professors. Brand new low cost student housing.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of Security. When you first pull into the parking lot you will see a security patrol vehicle. There are emergency phones every 50 feet along the sidewalk. There is a security station right inside one of the main buildings. There are security cameras overlooking the parking lot. It feels safe.

    Bang for the buck

    I am 53 years old, I have an AAS in Accounting. I have decided to return to school because I need to learn and update technology skills. At this school, I can get an AAS in Business Administration and continue going for my Bachelors Degree in Business & Technology through SUNY Delhi. It is incredible that they offer this at a Community College. The cost is much less than attending a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places in the area where you can see movies, ice skate, roller skate, concerts and more. There is plenty to do for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is excellent. There is a Restaurant, Bakery & Cafe on the school property. There are many local diners, restaurants and cafe's in the immediate area also.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a Dorm, so I can't answer this question from my own point of view. But, the student's that I do know that live in the Dorm enjoy brand new rooms, entertainment centers, and convenience of being right across the street from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fast paced, interesting and fun. Yes, it is hard work, but you have to work hard in the real world to accomplish your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    They offer (new) student housing even though they are a Community College. They grow every year, offering new updated courses. Just this year a music wing was added. They have a great Science & Technology wing as well. They offer Cullinary Classes and have a Restaurant and Bakery.

    In three sentences

    Perfect stepping stone for continuing education. Teamed-up with SUNY Delhi to offer higher degrees at a lower price. Offer interesting courses like nanotech, alternative energy, etc.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Accredited National Paralegal program.

    What to do for fun

    As an adult student my priorities are work and my family. There are many clubs to become involved in and onsite activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Paralegal program is great. I would speak to one of the department heads to ensure that prerequisites are known without last minute surprises.

    In three sentences

    A user friendly supportive college for adult returning students. Advisors are always willing and going above to assist their students.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never eat at the dinning room they have.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms they have there.

    In three sentences

    Schenectady is a good college to go to. I love the culinary program.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am apart of the Student Actives Board. We decide on what actives should be brought to the school like with our spring fling. We have brought some speakers to the school that the school and students have loved have them there. There are a lot more different clubs sports and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any types of students. We have many blind students that attend and staff and student are a big help to them when they need it

    Food and Dining

    The food is made by students and we have a deli a bakery and a formal Dining room run by the Culinary department for the out side community

    Dorm Life

    The dorms/ apartments I do not live in but they are very new to the SCCC and they are amazing inside.

    Academic Rigor

    The culinary is mostly hands on and is very fast tempo and if you need to keep up you can always ask for help

    Tips for prospective students

    just don't be afraid to ask for help if you need it

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to go to for Culinary arts. All the Chefs are great to work with they are always there to help you when you need it. The staff is wonderful to talk to and just a great place to go to school.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are awesome

    Greek Life

    met a girl named Athena

    Clubs and Activities

    student government

    Great for these types of students

    nomads

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    river watching the students row

    Bang for the buck

    be social if you like hangouts

    What to do for fun

    meditate

    Food and Dining

    great chefs & bakers

    Dorm Life

    very much a paradise with 4 floors of neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Some tests are huge, and it may be little preparation, due to great class performance

    Tips for prospective students

    keep pushin

    In three sentences

    i love the the bon bons. i love the experiment. it made coming to america worth it

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I could do a better job than the security guards at the college.

    What to do for fun

    There really is nothing beside the good concerts that the school puts on.

    Food and Dining

    There cafeteria is pretty good but very expensive my advice bring your won lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Your better off getting an apartment. It's cheaper and the school does not have a meal plan.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to go make you check to see if you actually need the class. A lot of time the advisers will make you take classes you don't need.

    In three sentences

    They always seemed to care more about the college than my education. It was difficult for me because I still felt like I was in high school and it was even by the teachers there.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Proctors, bowtie movie theater, parks and bombers burrito bar

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Dorm Life

    I don't recommend staying the college suites. It's over priced, drama like crazy, lots of stealing and girls get harassed by male resident and the company doesn't do a thing about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of open tests and professors not caring about the students actually knowing the material.

    In three sentences

    Very up and coming school. I recommend for someone who is looking to just go to school and that's it. You don't get the college experience. And I don't recommend staying the college suites. It's over priced, drama like crazy, lots of stealing and girls get harassed by male resident and the company doesn't do a thing about it.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the campus is very safe. There is always campus security available and there is always campus security driving around the parking lot outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish club is very fun! I love the teacher, it meets once a week and we learn a lot about different cultures.

    What to do for fun

    Theres not really a lot to do for fun, it is a community college so people are not spending a ton of time there so there is not really a lot of activities to do besides go to classes and study.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, its not my favorite, its not very fresh and there is not a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but the dorms are newly built and very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you take but it is rigorous but not to bad, you are not spending your whole time doing work.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I have is to not wait for to enroll in classes, they get filled fast and you want to be able to pick the times of the classes that are most convenient for you.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Schenectady is a great school, with for the most part excellent, intelligent teachers. I have learned so much here and each year I feel more and more prepared for the real world. I feel that going here for my first years of college was a great decision.