Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

School of the Art Institute of Chicago Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    artists, film students, fashion designers, architects

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for as much scholarships as possible to help out with art supplies, tuition, food, etc. You can not get enough free money to go to school and do exactly what you love! Also, find your inspiration, run with it, never be to crazy, and NEVER stop creating!

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs a fortune and a half, but you can not get anything better for you money. I can not tell you how many times I have heard a transfer student say that they wished they hadn't wasted all their money on the art school they went before because they hated it or weren't learning anything. I have not heard one person complain about SAIC. Students and faculty enjoy SAIC and Chicago. It is offering everything you need to succeed in the art school once you are done with your education!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being around people with your same interests is key and you get that at SAIC. But you also get involved with people who have completely different interests than you as well. I am meeting so many different types of people everyday. There is never a dull moment on my floor because someone is always doing something! We cook together all the time and have feasts in our lounge. Not only are the classes exactly what I want, but the people are exactly who I need to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    If there is anything I am learning about the art world at SAIC, its everything! Experimenting in different mediums and art types is daily routine. Film, sculpture, plaster, and sound are just a few things that I have dipped my hands into since being here. The best thing is that I can take all different types of classes and never have to define a major. For example, I can take shoe design and figure drawing. I create my own plan and degree based on what I am interested in and want to create. The main thing I am learning though, is exactly what kind of artist I am going to turn into and what my favorite materials/subject matters are. I am learning more about myself as an artist then anything else!

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists Writers Fashion Designers Students who never excelled in math Students looking for new ways to express themselves

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come into this school thinking that because it's an art school, and because it goes by credit/no-credit that you can slack off or not really try. This school is TOUGH. Five hundred freshman enter, and by the end of the year there are usually about two hundred left. The workload is heavy, but if your heart is really in it, and you have ambition as well as drive, you're sure to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Let's not kid ourselves. SAIC is not cheap. But the quality of education, as well as all the perks included in the cost (the laptop with nearly every program an artist could ever need, the downtown living, the free public transportation pass, etc.) you really are getting a bang for your buck. Look up as many scholarships as you can, as well as appealing to the financial aid office. It's worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    SAIC offers lots of opportunities that other colleges don't. Students get free admission to the Art Institute of Chicago, as well as the Museum of Modern Art! They also enjoy discounts on nearly every other museum admission as well! Living in downtown Chicago is another perk. Everything that a student could need is located minutes away. The dorms are spacious, giving students room to work AND live. The kitchens and bathrooms are spacious as well, with each room having its own private bath! After experiencing SAIC, any other college would definitely seem like a downgrade.

    Am learning a lot

    I came into SAIC knowing very little about the modern art world. I was afraid of being surrounded by snobs who knew everything. I couldn't have been more wrong. Sure, the people who inhabit this small but renowned school have a fairly extensive knowledge of art, but they are happy to share and educate as long as the student is willing to learn. My eyes were opened to the kind of things considered art in today's world. The knowledge I have gained in only my first year will inform all other projects that I choose to create.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about going to the Art Institute of Chicago make sure that you have a creative sprit and passion for art. Without this you will not thirve at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not know how much it costs to go to this school. But yes, it seems that you could be getting what you paid for.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, you will enjoy being in this school if, I had the tuition to go to this school myself personally. I would fill out an application. Myself like others enjoy playing video games. However, myself personally does not own any kind of video games or, video game systems. I also love drawing maga cartoons and want to be a animation drawer. If you love playing cartoons and drawing and art is also your passion then this is the school for you. This is the best school to be going to.

    Will learn a lot

    yes,this school is a great school. A pass repersentive from this school once came to my highschool in my senior year to my French class. The repersentive was nice, the information given sounded very helpful and interesting and looked like fun. I have snice graduated in 2008 and is now attending Kennedy king College. If only, I had the money to afford to go there I would surely attend.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated artists and spoiled children who don't want to go to real school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most people would probably be better served in their personal and intellectual development by going to a real school and working hard at a discipline more closely related to what is generally considered practical. You should face the fact that it is extremely unlikely that you will ever be a professional artist, and that you will be lucky to find a job that truly utilizes the visual skills you learn at SAIC. Many graduates have this hammered home to them only after they graduate and find out that the world won't cater to their narcissistic tendencies. You will likely have a considerable amount of debt and be challenged in finding a way to pay it off comfortably. With that in mind, you could still get a lot out of going here. Just don't expect to be pampered forever:)

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but adequate financial aid is available.

    Am enjoying being here

    The main flaw with the School is that it is located downtown in a high rent district, so it has no extra space. It has no student center or hang-out space other than a small cafeteria. Its studio space is taken up by classes from 9am to 9pm, so there is little opportunity to just work alongside fellow students during these hours without being enrolled in a class, unless you are accepted into the Advanced _ class in a particular discipline, in which case you get a small personal space among others like you. It is easy to be lonely at SAIC. I would recommend living in the dorms for at least a year to help you make friends, although this did me little good as a somewhat reclusive and older student. There are few social glue personalities at SAIC, and they are often obnoxious. If you are a social misfit when you enter SAIC, you will most likely be a social misfit when you come out. That said, most people seem to find enough friends to make the experience tolerable, at least after the (usually painful) freshman year.

    Am learning a lot

    I have attended SAIC for two years in my 30's after working for about 10 years. Originally I went to Berkeley for an 80% verbal- 20% quantitative/scientific education. My Berkeley education was heavily dependent upon my own ambition and initiative and my SAIC education was doubly so. The cliche it is what you make of it is something that all successful SAIC students learn to their marrow. You can easily coast through this school on a flood of bullshit if you so desire, and take only the least demanding classes. You can also work so hard and get so much from the teachers that you won't have to do anything but art all your waking hours. The teachers can't make you a good artist, but by and large they say very helpful things and are very good at tailoring their feedback to your skill and motivation level. They are generally just what they should be- very good at talking about art. By and large they are not great artists themselves, but rarely are they complete frauds. As someone who was trained in verbal analysis, I have often marveled at how adept many of my teachers are at talking intelligently. Yes, they will find something nice to say about crappy work just to socially lubricate a critique, but this is exactly what is called for, in my opinion. Perhaps they should remind everyone at the beginning of every class that it is very unlikely that any one of the students will ever be a professional artist. This is so blindingly obvious that it rarely gets acknowledged.

  • 01/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, self motivated artists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into the clubs early if you want to feel apart of the community. Also, the housing is expensive and keeps you too secluded on one area of the city, look into apartments in the city it'll save you money and get you out of the downtown area.

    Bang for the buck

    It is incredibly expensive. But it is one of the best art schools in the country and having that name on your degree will help open doors in the art world.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the classes and the facilities. Being in Chicago is also a plus. The city is amazing and so is the school. The only drawback is that if you are looking for a college community, than you'll have to work a little harder to find it, but its not impossible.

    Am learning a lot

    SAIC gives you access to facilities and artists that give you the skills to be a great artist and to succeed in the art world.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creators, artists, lovers of art, critical thinkers

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships. Don't live in student housing if you can avoid it, it's nice but overly expensive. Finical aid is a pain in the a*s, they will try to withhold your money for months. Have fun, ask questions, and learn.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive. If you don't have a scholarship of at least 10K you are probably paying way too much to come to this school. It's a fabulous school and you are getting an education you pay for if you want it. But a lot of kids are trust fund babies and will spend four years just messing around because they don't understand what a great resource this school is.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've never loved school more than here. Yeah I've had a bad teacher or two, which made me loathe going to that class. But it doesn't mean the school sucks or I regret taking that class. I love my school.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has pushed me to work my butt off. I attended 2 years in a regular big campus university before transferring to SAIC, and I have never been so challenged or exhausted by my classes. It's beautiful, and exactly what I need as a growing artist.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is security present at all times, and card entry required for every single building.

    Greek Life

    none that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    saic provides lots of opportunities to mingle with other students. nearly every country is represented and every social group. from the humanitarian group to salsa dancing, there's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    saic makes the uncool kids popular.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the art school is associated with the art institute of chicago, which every student has free admission to. and there are plenty of unusual locations in the museum.

    Bang for the buck

    there are cheap places to eat and drink, as well as expensive ones. if you're over 21, there's a bar called big joe's that has live turtle racing, and pitchers of beer for $8.

    What to do for fun

    fun is subjective, but chicago has an exciting nightlife. if you're under 21, there are gallery openings all over town every friday night. if you're over 21, there is even more to do. kingston mines has blues every single night, with many exciting legends making an appearance.

    Food and Dining

    aside from being in the loop, which has lots of delicious options, the columbus building has a full cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are clean and beautiful. i lived at 162 north state street, and met wonderful people on all floors. security is always present.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic environment is challenging, but also driven by self-motivation. you're only going to get what you put into it. expect to spend a lot of time in the studio and doing a lot of personal research.

    Tips for prospective students

    saic doesn't make it's students choose a discipline to focus on, which has it's pros and cons. it's very easy to get unfocused. i would recommend sitting down with an adviser, who will help you pick classes that with sharpen the skills you have and spark new ones.

    In three sentences

    saic provides a challenging and creative environment to sharpen your artistic skills. the staff is well equipped with experience and knowledge to give practical and helpful direction. the school is also located in one of the most exciting cities in the world, with a vibrant history and many opportunities to make your voice heard.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for the artiest of art nerds. You really have to be a conceptual thinker. If you aren't ready to spend up to six hours a week PER studio class this is not the school for you. Make no mistake, SAIC is not an easy art school. We may have a pass/fail grading system, but project Critiques can make or break you as a student, and more importantly, as an artist.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first year drop out rate is almost 80 percent. Before you come here, I would encourage you to really be certain art is the career path you wish to take. And if it is, be prepared to work for it. Also, don't become isolated. This is a competitive school, and I have seen students cut themselves off from classmates and friends to focus solely on their work. I strongly recommend finding a student group, or establishing some form of community when you get here. You will need people you can go to when the stress levels are driving you insane.

    Bang for the buck

    It is true that SAIC is a huge expense. I will be honest, in a lot of ways coming here is a gamble. But there is financial aid available, there are scholarships, (shout out to Cappex.com!) and it isn't hard to get a job. Especially when you can put on your resume you went to such an influential conceptual school. There really is no other accredited school like SAIC out there, and having successful working contemporary artists as your instructors is an advantage that would be hard to pass up, especially when they are all so willing to give you advice!

    Am enjoying being here

    I honestly love it here. At first the artistic community was a little intimidating, but if you're a creative intuitive person you will have no trouble fitting in. Every class is a new opportunity for artistic expression. SAIC's campus is downtown Chicago, but our city playground is the West Loop, the Northside, Logan Square, and all of Chicago is available at our fingertips. Around every corner there are new adventures to explore. The school is definitely an interesting and unique college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    SAIC is an interdisciplinary school. This fancy phrase just means they encourage students to explore a wide assortment of media in their work. You can pick and choose what skills or areas of study you want to experiment with. The unique perspectives of my fellow students and professors have had a huge impact on how I understand and relate to conceptual art.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are completely dedicated to their art, who want to have their boundaries pushed and are looking to expand themselves into new realms, whether by incorporating new media or exploring a different side of conceptualism, will flourish here. You will see your work improve in amazing, unprecedented ways if you really want it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT come here if art is a hobby, or if you are unsure if art (of any kind; you can always change majors!) is what you want to do; if you're going to pay this much for an art education, you need to breathe art. You have to need it. Otherwise, you will almost certainly become one of the many people who drop out in the first year (and I do mean many; I lived in the dorms, and the turnover rate got crazy right around midterm critiques).

    Bang for the buck

    One of my best friends here once said that she thought SAIC was halfway worth it, and I'm inclined to agree with her--it comes with a very high price tag, but the skills you learn are absolutely indispensable for the serious career artist.

    Did enjoy being here

    I'm from a strong liberal arts background, so at times the art school attitude (yes, be ready for some artsy pretension, folks) was a bit jarring for me.. But in general, SAIC offered me an environment and art community like no other, and my practice grew in leaps and bounds.

    Did learn a lot

    SAIC, if anything should be said, provides its students with a toolkit. It shows you how to build your practice, giving you practical lessons on doing so as well as technical knowledge.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards, especially at the dorms, are very friendly. I never feel unsafe, even living in the heart of a big city.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. However, during my second year my friends and I formed an unofficial sorority. We don't get the special treatment of an official organization, but we had a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for self-motivated hard working students who are determined to succeed in something they're passionate about. Also great for those with a wide range of talents.

    Bang for the buck

    You get out what you put in. This school is too expensive to go to just to party and take easy classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs at SAIC, they're just a little tricky to find. It's also tricky to find time to attend meetings since class times are kind of all over the place. You're better off visiting one of the neighborhoods to find your own things you're interested in.

    Food and Dining

    The school just painstakingly selected a caterer for the new meal plan and the food is amazing. You are never hard pressed to find events featuring free food. Outside the school is a whole city of an amazing range of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Reslife is helpful and friendly, even if they don't always answer your phone calls. The dorms are beautiful and unique, and living in the heart of Chicago is the experience of a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    To do well at this school requires an agonizing amount of work. However, it is possible to get by doing almost no work. You will get out of this what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take an interior architecture class as a throwaway elective just to see what it's like. Architecture classes are not cheap and they are not easy.

    In three sentences

    This is an interdisciplinary school and they will make sure you know it. The first year program focuses almost exclusively on the interdisciplinary aspect of the bachelor of fine arts track. However, once you get out of that first year they definitely take care of you.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Expect to get a lot of emails about students being robbed.

    Greek Life

    I don't think that exists here

    Clubs and Activities

    I've never been.

    Great for these types of students

    conceptual

    Bang for the buck

    Strong program if you know what you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    I would recommend you avoid it.

    Dorm Life

    It is really god for the first year but the loop is a strange place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    It tends to depend of the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school that works best if you're driven, if you aren't going to work hard its not for you.

    In three sentences

    It has a strong program but students who aren't self motivated can get lost easily. Sometimes I think it is the kind of program that is best for students who already have a degree. It is great for being conceptual but you don't learn a lot of basic skills.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rich, very wealthy students. The school is great for people who are very interdisciplinary

    Tips for prospective students

    You better make a plan for financial cost and apply to all the scholarships you possibly can, or you will end up having to take out loans for about $26k a year and will be in debt for the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition cost at SAIC is absolutely ridiculous. For someone whose only parent makes less than $40,000, it is absolutely impossible to be able to afford the school. I have no family contribution, as proved by FAFSA, but I only received about $23,000 for financial aid when tuition and housing is about $50,000. The classes are great, but the school is way too overpriced.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is really fantastic with great choices for classes. Teachers such as Richard Deutsch have really encouraged me and supported me when I am very critical of myself. However, there are many students and teachers who aren't very encouraging or supportive, which makes it difficult. Also, there are so many projects to do constantly and no spring break, etc so it is really difficult to get through a semester. Chicago is a great city, so the school is in a great location. The school has a really great interdisciplinary program, which is fantastic if you want to work in a variety of media.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot about artists, but not so much about myself or technique. The first-year program forces you to create project after project, without really giving you enough advice or knowledge on how to do the next project. They just want you to create as much as possible and not necessarily gain anything from it. My painting class was probably the most useful because Richard Deutsch is a fantastic teacher. He helped me a lot with developing my technique and learning about myself and how to be better at what I do and develop myself as an artist.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    chicago is one of the cheapest cities when it comes to food, drink and entertainment. so while the school is a pretty penny, you are not at loss.

    What to do for fun

    gallery openings are a must for young artists as a way to meet people and get exposed to the commercial scene.

    Food and Dining

    there are kitchens in all the dorm rooms, but there is no meal plan as of now. there is a meal plan in the works for 2013.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun freshman year. the dorms are in downtown chicago and all your friends are in one building. after one year most people move out and live in various neighborhoods around the city.

    Academic Rigor

    its a pass/fail grading system because one cannot grade art like a spelling test. there is no wrong or right answer. that being said, you get out of the experience what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    when is comes to the art institute, the hardest part is not getting accepted, but staying pass freshman year. something like 45-50% of freshman drop out because they are not used to the level of freedom the teachers give them, which in turn causes them to not do their homework.

    In three sentences

    the art institute has a lot going for it as far as educating the artist. the faculty are all knowledgeable and working in the fields in which they teach. the administration is somewhat disorganized, however.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Campus cafeterias are currently being upgraded.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think outside of the box. Be original and embrance your strange side. Nothing can shock this university.

    In three sentences

    A very multidisciplinary education that opens doors to creativity. SAIC offers a large campus downtown in the vented of Chicago's loop and as a student every education has opportunities to explore the urban landscape. Most of the teachers are accomplished artists and active in contemporary work practices.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Love it or hate it, it's in the middle of downtown. there are bound to be a slew of thefts and robberies, especially if you are haphazard about smartphone-use and neglect to lock your bike up before class. Most often, students report iPhone and bike theft, along with battery. The chance of this happening to you can be greatly reduced by simply walking tall and looking confident, and being smart about when and where you pull out your ten-thousand dollar phone.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant. As well as any sports program.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally haven't joined any clubs, so I don't feel that I am an authority on the matter.

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters (I won't try to deny it), those interested in being multidisciplinary students (although I must say that I wasn't one of those types of students initially, and many students also stick to one department, so don't be too worried if you aren't), and finally, people who love big cities. Because some people actually hate them.

    Bang for the buck

    SAIC is expensive. That being said, the chance for a group of strangers to sit down with your art and give their straightforward opinion is not an experience that you could have at many places elsewhere. The ability to have constant free access to the second-largest museum in the US is also nothing to scoff at. And the location is superb. On the flip side, many people opt to go to less expensive, local universities for their BFA, and go to an expensive, prestigious school like SAIC for their MFA, which is absolutely nothing to frown upon.

    What to do for fun

    It's Chicago, not some hokey little college town in the middle of Nebraska! See shows, go to gallery openings, go to any of the surrounding art museums (most often, for free) go to parties, try good food.

    Food and Dining

    A new installment at SAIC is the meal plan, which will be required for all incoming freshmen. Campus food is good-quality and considerably inexpensive, though many students opt to dine at any of the multitude of surrounding cafes and fast food joints in the downtown area.

    Dorm Life

    Though many students decide to leave the dorms after their first year (often due to the fact that they're very expensive) living in the SAIC dorms is an opportunity that shouldn't be missed. Both buildings are located (in one case, quite literally) in the center of the Loop. If you have a State St. facing window in the 162 building, you can even see the Macy's Day Parade on Thanksgiving from your dorm window. Each room has a kitchenette (complete with stovetop, microwave, fridge and sink) and full bathroom, and each floor has a common area with a large flatscreen TV. The best perk of dorm life is probably the huge, sunlight studio that dominates the top floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Because SAIC is graded with a pass/fail system, many people can get through the ranks even if they've only averaged a C-. Once again, you only get back what you put in. If you'd like to pay tens of thousands of dollars just to end up making the same caliber of work you did in high school, then good for you. If you like to grow intellectually and artistically, you'll find yourself right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that a good critique means that you've done good. If it's obvious that you've just made your sculpture the night before, then you may be surprised by a very mellow and agreeable critique that's over in two minutes. Don't think for a second that you've accomplished anything. Your teacher and fellow students can simply see that you didn't put much effort into your project, and would rather not put much effort into your crit. Do the best work you can possibly do. That's how you'll grow.

    In three sentences

    Yes, SAIC is an expensive school, but for good reason: the resources available here are better than most art schools in the country, let alone the art programs at big universities that are better known for their research studies. However, if your only ambition to become the best technical painter there ever was, think twice. SAIC is a very conceptual school, and your work has to do more than look good. The best aspect of the school is certainly the amount of freedom it gives to allow students to study multiple artistic disciplines. It's common (and encouraged) for one student to take courses in Sound, Designed Objects, Painting, etc.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Reasonable. Don't flash your electronics, money, or expensive bikes and you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many. It's difficult to participate if you work also. The club I was interested in had 1 (one) other person... lame.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have talent and a good work ethic, it's a good place to find yourself. I see a lot of rich kids transfer out after a couple of semesters because It's more work than they thought it would be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is connected to the Art Institute, which you can go to for free. Across the street is Millennium Park. Three blocks away is Lake Michigan: so large that one can not see to the other side. Etc. Etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is really high, but the facilities are amazing. Love the various tool-shops, but don't need the fancy fountain that they just repaired to impress the rich parents of prospective students... wish that expense wasn't about to raise next year's tuition for this decidedly not rich student.

    What to do for fun

    The whole city is a playground, depending on what you like to do. Some rides are more expensive than others. Get a cheap looking bike and a big chain.

    Food and Dining

    The new student center just recently opened in addition to the cafe that was already on campus. The food is decent. Some things are reasonably priced, some things are cheaper at the 7-Eleven across the street. Elsewhere in the city is the best food in the country, though NYC people may want to argue with that.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, I've always lived off campus (so I shouldn't rate it, but a star rating is required for some reason). Most students I've spoken to don't live in the dorms for more than a year or two because it's cheaper and better to find an apartment with a few friends. Some people say it's like living in a brothel there, so check yourself and be careful.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, others are difficult.There are many resources available to help you out. Some teachers are great and some not so much. Though, I had a very low opinion of one of my teachers, but came to see her as one of the best eventually.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Always- compete for the merit scholarship because you might get something. Find out the deadlines and start to prepare at least a month in advance. There are many workshops at SAIC on how to put together a good merit scholarship portfolio: utilize these or win less money! Be friendly with the people in Admissions and stop by often to ask them for advice. Make sure your portfolio matches your declared degree course in order to improve your chance at a scholarship. If your financial aid is too short, you can file an appeal online. If you still need more help, the school may give you an assistance grant at their discretion if you ask for it in person. Find out what extra state or federal grants are due to you and remind the FA people about it, because like they forgot to add mine, they may overlook yours too. And once you get into SAIC, you get out what you put in: Work hard if you want a good education or go home. Additional scholarships are awarded to students during sophomore seminar, a class you must take even if you transfer in as a junior. Compete, compete, compete.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school where you don't have to move in a straight line through a single department toward a degree: you can jump to different cars on the train. Substantial merit scholarships are available even to older returning students through merit competition; a rarity amongst art schools. Community college credits transfer here very well.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, i mostly go to the 17th floor, a floor that is well accommodated for every type of artist. There's a graffiti, a dry-medium, painting, and an study room.

    Food and Dining

    From what I know, next semester (fall 2012) there's going to be a meal plan. I don't know much about it since there wasn't one before

    Dorm Life

    Even though the people here are very friendly, the security guards keep a close eye on you. It helps you to stay on track. The 17th floor is a dedicated for every type of artist, as well as the 16th floor, I find them great places to be with friends and get some homework done.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are quite challenging, but isn't that was you're looking for?It's a pass/fail system and that allows you to experiment without being afraid of failing. Art doesn't need to be graded since we have different perspectives.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a conceptual artist, this' the place where you need to be. As one gets out of high school, most of the work that its done is quite realistic, but this school lets you think, it lets you be the artist you wanna be.

    In three sentences

    As I was coming to this school, I was quite worried about some of the harsh reviews I heard. However, I turned out loving everything about it, the setting and vibe it reflects is incredible.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chicago has many things to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure art is what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    The school if very conceptual. You will learn a lot about yourself. If you can afford it go.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I will have more to tell when I have had a sample of the college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Yet to find out

    Food and Dining

    Yet to find out.

    Dorm Life

    I am yet to find out.

    Academic Rigor

    I am yet to find out.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think the taste of the pudding is in the eating.

    In three sentences

    I believe it is a great school. I am sure I will get a good music education there. I believe it produces first rate scholars

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's all about the work you put in. Make the commitment to your work, and you will do great. Really, you are paying for the name of the school. SAIC is a great school, with a big reputation. So you've got that no matter what. As stated before, you can choose to coast, or you can choose to submit yourself to academic rigor.

    What to do for fun

    Everything.

    Food and Dining

    Chicago has it all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are stupid expensive, get out of the Loop and get an apartment in Chicago.

    Academic Rigor

    You choose your classes, so you can choose to coast through your degree if that is your style. BUT for the amount you are paying, I recommend taking advanced classes that kick your butt and that weed out B.S.ing. outside of class, I probably spend 20 to 25 hours per week doing work for school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask the stupid questions. Don't let yourself be intimidated by people who seem smarter or more talented than you are. Challenge opinions presented to you, and your own opinions. Take lots and lots of risks.

    In three sentences

    I love my school. There are no limits to what classes you can take, but you have to choose the best classes for your individual artistic practice. If you work hard, you will reap the benefits.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards are great. i feel safe on campus at all hours. once, my parents couldn't find me and the security guard spent time looking for my car in the parking lot to make sure i was safe.

    Greek Life

    non existent

    Food and Dining

    the vending machines are cool, but the schaumburg campus shares a parking lot with panera, chevys, and unos pizza.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    the gen-ed classes are not too horrible, but the art classes can be intense. the projects require a lot of work, but the teachers give you creative freedom and a bit of structure to guide you through the processes.

    In three sentences

    i go to the schaumburg campus. i absolutely love the size of the campus. the teachers and students are great to be around.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have not lived in Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    I hope, have not been there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I hope, have not been there yet.

    Academic Rigor

    reputation

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't have any, except work hard.

    In three sentences

    Look forward to attend, It's reputation is incredible.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Founded in 1866, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) is one of the nation's most influential art and design schools. As a nationally and regionally accredited private art and design college, SAIC is annually ranked as one of America's leading institutes of graduate study in the visual arts. SAIC has welcomed students from every state in the United States and 48 nations, and is legendary for the extraordinary success of its alumni, including artists, designers, scholars, filmmakers, and writers, whose work is renowned for shaping our visual and cultural landscape.

    Dorm Life

    Founded in 1866, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) is one of the nation's most influential art and design schools. As a nationally and regionally accredited private art and design college, SAIC is annually ranked as one of America's leading institutes of graduate study in the visual arts. SAIC has welcomed students from every state in the United States and 48 nations, and is legendary for the extraordinary success of its alumni, including artists, designers, scholars, filmmakers, and writers, whose work is renowned for shaping our visual and cultural landscape.

    Academic Rigor

    Founded in 1866, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) is one of the nation's most influential art and design schools. As a nationally and regionally accredited private art and design college, SAIC is annually ranked as one of America's leading institutes of graduate study in the visual arts. SAIC has welcomed students from every state in the United States and 48 nations, and is legendary for the extraordinary success of its alumni, including artists, designers, scholars, filmmakers, and writers, whose work is renowned for shaping our visual and cultural landscape.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at both locations and there is always campus security around if I need them. Also the campuses are located downtown Chicago, so you're never really alone.

    Greek Life

    There's an honor society, but that's about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have different clubs for each of the majors offered and you get chances to meet potential clients through them.

    Great for these types of students

    If your artistic and have a passion for one of the degrees offered, you'll fit right in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Loop campus is located next to The Chicago Theater, where Conan O'Brien just filmed his show. Also the main campus is located next to The Chicago River, which they dye green for St. Patty's Day.

    Bang for the buck

    May be expensive, but the quality of teaching and the skills you learn are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts movie night and offer awesome deals for tickets to broadway shows. Totally worth doing as often as you can!

    Food and Dining

    They have a student lounge at both campuses with vending machines. If you want real food tons of restaurants are just a step away.

    Dorm Life

    Too expensive, just avoid!

    Academic Rigor

    They do a fair job of grading on your skills depending on your major and have a high standard for the general education classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't do student housing! Just gat an apartment, it'll be cheaper and you can avoid a stressful first year.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers willing to help you push a step further. In a location that has access to just about anything you could ask for. Expensive, but worth the investment

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit museums, drink coffee, walk by the lake, go to the beach, site see around the city, eat.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee always flows. There are healthy choices, as well as strictly vegetarian options. They cater to all.

    Dorm Life

    The community within the dorms is very welcoming. The oppertunity to stay in the dorms assists in making stronger bonds with peers. There is also a studio to work in, (the best part).

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to graduate with an amazing portfolio and well rounded skills in the resources offered and media, then only you can activate that.

    Tips for prospective students

    The education offered is exactly what you make it. Freshman year here is very structured toward what you would like to be making. The concept follows.

    In three sentences

    School of the Art Institute is not only very prestigious, it is located in an art mecca. The resources available are beyond count and the professors help direct you in the use of your media. The community is beneficial to your social networking as well as your work through critique.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a series of thievery's as of late, but inside of classrooms and dorms it's pretty safe. careful of surroundings and exercise common sense.

    Great for these types of students

    Devoted artists who are looking to explore themselves and learn techniques they may not be comfortable with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some buildings have more than one name. The Sharp building is also the Neiman Center. The Maclean is also the Michigan building, and so on.

    Bang for the buck

    You get soo many opertunities and events and such, but buying supplies for homework will drain your funds very quickly. be prepared to spend at least 200$ per semester on art alone.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of events organized by Campus Life and the Student Union, as well as art exhibitions and performances to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Not much variety, but the meal plan was just developed, so there's plenty room for trial and error.

    Dorm Life

    Always something going on!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you choose there will be very little time for anything aside from your work. The best thing though, is that it's probably going to be something you like or love doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Prepare to be happily broke at all times. 2.Make friends with people who have nothing to do with your concentration, you'll need them. 3.Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    SAIC is amazingly amazing with talented students. Making and meaning are inseparable, it's true! If you're looking for an intense artistic environment where teachers expect you to succeed, this school is for you.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAIC staff and security takes campus safety very, very seriously. The only thing you have to be afraid of while being on campus is getting your belongings stolen by other students. Keep your belongings with you at all times!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several artist talks that are very beneficial to students. There are student-held clubs and activities as well that vary.

    Food and Dining

    The Niemen Center Cafe recently opened (2012) and it is awesome! Big selection of food that is not too expensive compared to the food prices around downtown Chicago in the Loop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are basically studios that you share with one or two people. Expensive, but so much nicer than most dorms at other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    If you try hard to make good art, you'll be keeping yourself extremely busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Conceptual art is pertinent at SAIC, so if you can't think and speak about your art conceptually, this may not be the school for you. If you want a challenge and you want to learn about the latter, then come to SAIC!

    In three sentences

    SAIC is fantastic if you are certain that you want to be an artist or designer. Students can dabble in other art mediums while still staying on track with your primary focus. SAIC is so well-known within the art and design world--being associated with this school is a big plus because of its connections with many employers!

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always in activities if you're not too busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Cultural atmosphere great for artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alot of college student deals.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Everything.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but fun,

    Dorm Life

    Fun if you're social.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and make a lot of work. Its busy and expensive. You need discipline.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic atmosphere with great professors. School is full of students pursuing degrees like you. Opportunities and resources are plentiful.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards at every building, ready to help you or escort you safely to the train or your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Not certain.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student groups for anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, artistic, open, talented, eager, willing and curious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Nieman Center is an awesome place to hang out, eat, watch tv, work, anything!

    Bang for the buck

    You're getting a world-class education from one of the most renowned art schools in the country! The campus is outstandingly beautiful and well-equipped. It's located in the best part of the city right on the lake and you're being taught by highly-recognized, working artists from all over the world. Yes, it's worth it if you're willing to put your effort in.

    What to do for fun

    Make art! Wander the city! Hang out at the beach! Meet new friends! Take photos of the beautiful architecture! Visit the Museum of the Art Institute and the Museum of Contemporary Art for FREE anytime you want!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are excellent - there is a fully stocked cafeteria and coffee bar in all three of the main buildings. There is also a huge, fantastic student union where interesting events are held.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in the heart of downtown, very close to public transportation, beautiful views, very secure buildings with excellent resources at your disposal.

    Academic Rigor

    As a talented artist, you will be expected to think with a much more open mind, in new and innovative ways. You will be challenged but extremely inspired by the core subjects and their respective teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to grow artistically and be challenged more than you thought possible.

    In three sentences

    The School of the Art Institute is a fantastic interdisciplinary art school that will help you take your conceptual skills and fine tune them into superior art making tools. It's a place to explore your interests and develop them under the instruction of some fantastic working artist teachers. The campus is set in the very heart of Chicago, one of the most beautiful and vibrant cities in the world.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adequate amount of security guards at all campus buildings.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated students who are serious about their art/experimentation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of students around the weekends at the beginning of the year tend to round up for parties and events outside of 162, great opportunity to meet people and find things to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your financial situation.

    What to do for fun

    You're are in the city of chicago question is, what is there not to do for fun?

    Food and Dining

    $1000 meal plan, budget wisely

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing at this school

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on teacher classes can range in difficulty but for a most part, most are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely become acquainted with your surroundings and discover where available resources are.

    In three sentences

    Very influential school

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the merchandise mart. Get involved in clubs. Also visit the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food and how our school is connected to a merchandise mart. I have so many options on what I want to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I commute from my home. But I hear the dorm life is enjoyable and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized and stay focused. Don't get on the wrong track.

    In three sentences

    I always knew this school was the school for me. I love that its hands on and that all our teachers have real life experience in the career they're teaching. The teachers aren't just there to do there job, they actually care.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very well organized security/safety service insures a great service.

    Great for these types of students

    SAIC remains very good for students in arts.

    What to do for fun

    Even students can take a rest in the very creative cafeteria space.

    Food and Dining

    Th cafeteria on 2nd floor provides excellent Food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    SAIC consists in a good life space.

    Academic Rigor

    Since the School of the Art Institute of Chicago is a credit / non credit school, it is a well environment for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective student should be award to present an excellent portfolio for to be admitted.

    In three sentences

    The School of the Art Institute of Chicago remains an inspiring institution. My first semester, Spring 2013, in this school is very positive. So I pray to gain enough scholarship to stay on board until my future graduation!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mandatory check in immediately upon entering the building, those without school ID's or visitors passes are not permitted beyond security. Security will drive you from campus building to campus building between the hours of 9pm-7am

    Greek Life

    none whatsoever.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few halfhearted clubs and events, but everyone is so absorbed in their art that they don't have the time for time consuming extra curricular's.

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely great for the outcasts and those uncomfortable in Normal society. There is no normal there, only uniqueness, and the most unique and friendly are the most loved.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount of money you pay is highly worth it considering the faculty and the facilities there. There is almost an unlimited range of work you can do there, from 3-D printing and laser-cutting, to bronze and aluminum casting.

    What to do for fun

    Go to concerts, explore the city, check out the field museum, free access to the art institute of chicago, science and history museums, boys town (a gay culture area) belmont, movies, the L and almost any sort of thing you can think of. Chicago comes alive in the summer with fairs and music festivals, so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is hit or miss, and the meal plan is okay, but there is such a large amount of high quality food in the immediate area that it ends up almost not mattering.

    Dorm Life

    Right in the heart of the loop of chicago, loft styled rooms with kitchenettes and bathrooms for each individual room. Each floor has its own lounge/tv, and each building has large and spacious communal studio areas.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies from teacher to teacher, but almost all teachers expect you to complete weekly studio work, as well as long term projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school accepts a very large amount of students, 50% of whom end up leaving during or after freshman year. It's a very high stress/ high effort environment that is difficult for people to stay in.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is very difficult, and yet simple effort is all that is required to excel there. The good teachers take some time to find, but everyone there will always tell you where to look. The facilities are extremely high quality, with many (such as the wood shops and metal shop) entirely open to the entire student body

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's always fun to take a walk on the shores of Lake Michigan and visit galleries all over the city.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many good places to eat in Chicago, especially on campus. Each building also has its own cafeteria with good, healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located in the center of downtown Chicago and provide a great view along with a huge studio for students to work in.

    Academic Rigor

    There are no grades, it's either pass or fail, unless you fill out a form and request to have grades given to you for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep a budget of all your expenses because buying supplies and materials can get really expensive.

    In three sentences

    SAIC provides you with great resources and facilities. Every department has the right equipment in order for students to execute a project in any media. The teachers are also working artists in their field and can provide you with excellent critiques and connections to others in your field of study.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you could do in Chicago. It has wonderful dining and other awesome places to go. Like they SAIC said, the whole city is your campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nicely designed and you could see downtown Chicago just from you large windows!

    Academic Rigor

    The photography program is wonderful and I hope that I will become a future student!

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Audio club Culinary club Animation club Fashion club

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary students, graphic designer

    What to do for fun

    Create your own fun

    Food and Dining

    The art institute cafe has a great selection of food

    Dorm Life

    The art institute offers sponsor housing

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is a school you really want to go to. Check out other options first Small campus Hands on school

    In three sentences

    The school is a good school but charge to much to attend. However, coming to the art institute you meet a lot of people and meet connects. Overall I rate this school 8.0 because of the structure of the school

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards have eagle eyes. They don't carry guns though. No need to be Rambo. You HAVE to scan your student ID every single time you enter a SAIC facility. Annoying but necessary.

    Greek Life

    ...not that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are loads of student-driven clubs. Mostly art-oriented.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy. Creative. Motivated. Disciplined. Patient. RICH.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently, it's a thing for the hipsters to hang out in the garden below the dorms, smoke and discuss undiscovered bands every Wednesday after class. Welcome to art school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of bang...but too much buck. You have to use your student ID to pay for your food, art supplies, and printing - which costs actual money. That stuff isn't prepaid or covered by financial aid. Just a heads up!

    What to do for fun

    ...the city is our campus. You will end up having to hop a train to a different college's party. The RA's try to engage us...you know how those things are. -_-

    Food and Dining

    Despite the price, SAIC food can be grouped into 3 categories: Asian cuisine, greasy food or pastries. Period. You are better off with Ramen.

    Dorm Life

    Spectacular views!!! Spacious rooms, private bathrooms and kitchenettes. The building cleaning is on time. Maintenance is provided. Security is taken seriously.

    Academic Rigor

    Work is taken seriously. I have yet to find a slacker. We all pay entirely TOO MUCH to spend our time here counting sheep or partying it up. No one is that loaded. The 2 absences and you fail the course rule helps keep everyone in line.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get 2 jobs: 1 on campus. 1 off-campus. Make use of the free workshops. Learn how to cook (food is expensive). Become acquainted with the Chicago trains and city life. Leave the contraband behind, they will find it; don't be stupid. Bring all your useless art supplies from home - you can thank me later.

    In three sentences

    SAIC gets a 7/10 from me because it has no real campus experience and the cafeterias have no variety. Room, board, and facilities are lovely. Professors and lecturers are well-traveled and more than qualified.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Innovators

    Bang for the buck

    This school is costly. They need to do more to make sure people from all backgrounds can attend without amassing huge debt burdens. This was an issue being openly discussed in the student newspaper when I visited.

    Dorm Life

    The school invests a lot in providing nearby dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate early and often - attend all portfolio days and informational events to show your interest. This school invests a lot in outreach.

    In three sentences

    Prestigious school with amazing faculty within a vibrant urban atmosphere.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events in my school, it's very entertaining. Mostly if there are plays going, the students can get the tickets for cheaper. There are even fun things that celebrate the holidays I absolutely love it.

    Food and Dining

    In my school there is a restaurant that the students in their last year of school cook in. The food there is not too expensive and the experience in my opinion is amazing. If I could I would dine there everyday, because everything there is just that great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't really know much about dorm life, I haven't had the pleasure to experience it yet. But I have heard that it is a lot of fun to room with different people. Also there is always fun events going on in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that if you stay on top of everything you have to, you will make it in this school. Just like any school I believe that studying and paying attention is key. Also attending class is a major part too.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that every student that comes to that school should be ready to work hard and also have lots of fun. Also some classes may seem hard but if you power through it, it will get better. Lastly study hard so that you can be on top of everything.

    In three sentences

    I would give my school a nine out of ten. My reason for this is because of financial aid. They are just a little off to me but other than that the school is Amazing.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It may be a bit pricey but if you are someone who dreams big, this one screams opportunity.

    In three sentences

    This college is my dream school, it has everything I ever would want in an art school. One of my dreams of becoming a successful artist is to live in a loft apartment in a large urban city. This institute gives you a taste of your future dreams and success.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in Chicago is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I only got to be in a dorm for about five minutes, but it was huge.

    In three sentences

    From what I've seen from visiting and from what I've read online, I've come to the consensus that this is the place to be for an art education, which is why I'm working so hard to get there.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring big school expectations to a small school.

    In three sentences

    A good school with small classes. Instructors work in the field, and are not just book knowledgeable.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's about as safe as it can be in the heart of a major city. They have a car that you can ask to come pick you up if it's late and take you from building to building but I've never used it. You just have to be aware of the things around you and pay attention at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    New things to do every weekend in the dorms and always new events happening in the Neiman center. Not many clubs that I know of at least.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, shy, loud, quiet, artistic, booksy. It fits well for everyone if this is what they are into. It depends on the person but this is a great place for me. I can be as involved with other students as I want.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is ridiculously overpriced, however I think I am getting my money's worth or I'm at least not hurt about having to pay it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to gallery openings, hangout in other rooms, in the Nuveen center and watch movies, go to the beach, go explore the city. It depends on what you like!

    Food and Dining

    I am a vegetarian and while they do have choices for vegan/vegetarian everyday like they claim, it is often times the same thing for vegan and not a large difference for vegetarian. They have the same sandwiches for lunch and dinner every day and they maybe change once a semester. They have daily changes to the buffet type area, but they are not always vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Very good if you are a partier or a calm, stay in your room type. I got paired up with a roommate who only parties and I know that she likes the dorms, and I am a keep to yourself type who likes quiet time and I am also very pleased. The resources they have in 162 are incredible. Multiple lounges for reading, watching tv, creating, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really understand this question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that this is where you want to go. Look up the classes, the facilities, the teachers and see if there is somewhere else better. It is true that there is a high acceptance and a low graduation rate, but when you survive through the first few months when you see other students falling by the wayside you feel incredibly sure in your art. This is a hard school for people who only consider themselves artists.

    In three sentences

    A very open and welcoming community with lots of engaging activities and things to do. In the best location for an art school - the city is nothing but inspiring. The teachers are the best I have experienced and are endlessly trying to help you achieve the goal you have set for yourself.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People from rich families who can afford it. If you are an ambitious, talented student trying to make your way in life as an artist, forget it. All they want is your tuition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else--you'll get more support and a better education.

    In three sentences

    This school will charge you a fortune, but forget about any help in the future. Professors will say they'll write letters to support your attempts to find work, but they won't follow through. The school is interested in getting tuition only, and that's what students are to them--cash cows.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were some instances of robbery and theft around the school but nothing happened inside of it that I know of. It's hard to rate this because this school is in the loop which is a nice place during the day for the most part but at night it's almost completely empty so it's a little nervewracking. You just have to be aware of your surroundings and not be stupid or distracted. The school also has this thing after 9pm where if you ask the front desk of any of the buildings they have a van that will drive you to any of the other school buildings. I never used it but I felt more comfortable knowing it was there.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I went to almost all the event nights in the Nuveen center in the 162 dorm and loved all of them. They usually have good food and movies. A lot of the activities have free food around campus so if you go there you should make sure you get to those if you're hungry.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, dedicated to their art and fierce. Competitive and focused.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this place called the cancer pit I believe? It's in the back of Columbus in the pit that's meant for sitting and enjoying the fresh air but kids go out there and smoke cigarettes and make it very unpleasant to be there.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I chose the best school for me. It's challenging where I need it and forgiving when I need that too. Some people aren't cut out for the hard work here and the expectations of the teachers. A lot of the success I have had here is because I worked for it. No one is going to hand you gallery shows or notice, you have to prove to people that you deserve it and the rest will come to you.

    What to do for fun

    Gallery openings around the city, events held in the dorms weekly and movie nights in the Nieman center. Mostly people find friends and they hangout together a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Not enough vegetarian options as they claim they do. While it's true that they have a vegetarian/vegan option every day, it is almost always the same sandwich which can get very tiring. It's good, don't get me wrong, their food is pretty tasty, it just is more aimed at meat eaters than anyone else.

    Dorm Life

    I had a very unlucky draw with a roommate. If you can pick someone before you get assigned then I suggest it.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had trouble with the academics at this point, but I know others who have. However, those are the same students who spend their time on other things than their homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very difficult school to most. I have seen many drop out and others transfer/take time off. People seem to come in with the idea that this is art school so it should be easy, but it's hard if you actually care.

    In three sentences

    Easy to find a place you feel comfortable in. Classes and activities for anything you could want. Unlimited opportunities if you work for them and even if you don't, opportunities present themselves to you simply because you have the school title attached to your name.

  • 10/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security in every campus building, there is a safety ride (like taxi) between campus buildings at night, and the Downtown is a pretty safe location.

    Great for these types of students

    -Independent -Individual -Sure that they want to do art in their life

    Bang for the buck

    -Cook for yourself and get out of the Loop for some furniture and groceries! -Buy art materials during the sale time in Blick!

    What to do for fun

    -Make use of you U-Pass (card for unlimited bus&metro rides during the semester) and explore Chicago! It's also good to get out of the Downtown to see some green areas! Neighborhoods are amazing and food (and groceries) outside of the Loop is cheaper and better :). -Art Institute of Chicago, the best art museum according to trip advisor, is free to students every day!!!! We can also attend lectures for members! -Go to free Lincoln Park Zoo! -Go to the Lyric Opera! They have student tickets!

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is OK, but not the best one. And, as food in the Downtown is pretty pricey, I prefer to cook for myself. There are grocery stores easily accessible on foot and via train, and rooms in the dorms have kitchens! Also, every building on campus has a microwave to re-heat up your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are in the center of Chicago, which is a huge pro! You can walk to your classes on foot in 5-10minutes! Every room has a bathroom and a kitchen. Laundry is 1.25$/washing and 1$/drying. There are also common areas, computer labs, common kitchens (with ovens)� everything very comfortable! It's better to find a roommate beforehand, the questionnaire they give you is not very helpful in matching roommates. There is possibility of switching roommates though!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you're taking. With a lot of studios, what you do for the class and how hard you work depends on yourself (and sometimes on a character of the instructor). Now I'm taking a lot of Liberal Arts and Art History classes and I feel a little bit of pressure of exams and essays, but it's not too hard either. The best way not to get overwhelmed is to balance 6hour studio classes is 3hour lecture classes in your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Your portfolio matters in getting scholarships, so prepare it well! -If you're going to live on-campus, try to find roommate beforehand (via Facebook etc) -After the freshman year you get a lot of freedom in choosing your classes, which will make sophomore year awesome! -Work systematically to avoid all-nighters. This is an art school, you actually need time to physically make a project.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best art schools in the country, so be prepared for amazing facilities, hard work, but also a lot of freedom. You have to set your goals and organize your time well to make this experience meaningful. Freedom in choosing studio classes within departments is amazing! The first year is going to expose you to various techniques, so you can experiment, discover more of your talents and try the things you haven't tried before. Then you will have absolute freedom in choosing your classes- you can balance within departments or choose to stay in your specific path.