Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Schreiner University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for those who like a lot of interation with the professor and don't mind the small town setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take into consideration the size of the school. The classes are small and personal.

  • 01/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are wanting to go into the fields: Business, Graphic Design, Music/ Theatre, Science/medical, and Exercise Sciences; Schreiner has outstanding performances in all of these. Also if you don't know just what you want at the momemt SU is a good place to start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. You will truly be amazed of how many new people and friends you will meet here at Schreiner. Be prepared to get the ball rolling once you start classes. Also just be yourself no one knows you so you don't have to act like someone else.

    Bang for the buck

    Schreiner has one of the best Financial Aid programs I came across when researching different colleges and universities. Majority of the students at Schreiner University has in some shape or form a type of financial aid whether it be through scholarships, grants, or loans. Besides the bang for the buck on education, SU actively exercises healthier living. For this reason, SU has a complete fitness center that holds anything from dance classes, full access gym, raquet ball and tennis courts, and several fitness classes all free to the students. Along with all these fitness and healthy living classes and resources, Schreiner offers medical/clinical services (they have a nurse and doctor who are always happy to help when you are feeling ill and under the weather). What else could you ask for?

    Am enjoying being here

    I could not ask for a better university. Everyone on the campus, the students, professors, deans, and administration, are friendly. Schreiner's slogan, Learning by Heart is only half of what SU offers you; it offers you not just friends but a family. You not only grow by educational means but as well as socially, through Greek Life, Volunteer opportunities, Campus events and even dorm hall activities. I truly is amazing the kind of people that you will find here at Schreiner University, it's like no where else.

    Am learning a lot

    Schreiner University has offered me everything I can ask for in a college or university. The faculty on campus make it their mission that you understand the course work and they will personally assist you in any way they can. SU has taught me so much in the short time that I have been a student. I cannot even express how much the school has helped me grow in my personal goals.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students wanting to have a one-on-one attention from professor. Remember, you pay for your education so it need to be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to do your own work at your own time. It's a competition out there even if they don't say it. Study as much as you can. Don't delay it because you will end up with a low GPA. Don't be surprise not achieving an A because for some class you are lucky to get a C!

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey for this university compare to some other colleges, but 90% of incoming students gets scholarship, including myself. The price is worth it because you get the extra help from professors and one-on-one attention; you are not just a number. When you come up to professor they know exactly who you are and how they can help you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I grew up in California a big difference from this school. I knew if I want to success I have to exclude myself from all the partying. It gets lonely at times, but there's always groups to join or activities to do. We have a midnight dinner before finals: that's when the professor cooks for the students.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learn that professor does negotiate here on not only assignments, but also exam dates. For example, I was suppose to have 3 finals on the same day, but I'd email my professor and he was able to let me take it early. There are help if you are struggling in school. At Schreiner we have the writing center to help with essay; the peer tutoring to help with any other subjects and best of all we have tutoring for the specific class.

  • 12/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who thrive in small group settings. Students who enjoy being connected to other people. Students who value a quality education while still being able to accomplish more than theories. Schreiner is great for students who are committed to education and value a quality school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at SU, consider yourself as a person. Do you enjoy one on one attention? Do you enjoy being a part of a group? If you want to receive an education that will really take you places then SU is perfect for you. It's small enough to have personalized attention, yet large enough to have the college experience, with it's sports teams, and it's academia.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are personalized. They're too the point, and really do try to prepare you for whatever field you plan to on pursuing. Many professors hold the title of Doctor in their field. Using real life experiences in place of theories. Schreiner's offers whatever they can to their students to make sure they recieve the education, students pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at SU, there are so many things to do, and be part of. Greek life, Theatre, Art, all sorts of clubs to join. There really is something for every type of person here on campus. If there's not, the best thing about it, you can always suggest something, and even start up your own group. No one feels like an outsider, SU is really like having a family. A home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    Schreiner is very hands-on in it's learning, it really is, learning by the heart, as their slogan reads. Classes are small and designed to help each student as an individual, not as a number as some other larger schools would.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is extremely safe, because it is a small private university and there is security that helps maintain the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    alpha sigma alpha and delta phi epsilon are the wonderful sororities at schreiner, and chi phi and phi delta theta are the amazing fraternities at schreiner.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are way to many clubs to even try to list, but all clubs and activities are outstanding!

    Food and Dining

    the food is wonderful! there are so many options that you can select to eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is excellent, and it is a great way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is pretty normal.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, but still have fun. get to know your professors, because it helps! get involved, it makes things go a lot quicker, and it helps you enjoy your college experience.

    In three sentences

    schreiner university is a great college to not only get an excellent education,but also become acquainted with other students and professors. the professors really care about your education and will do everything possible to help you along your road to success. you will truly enter with hope and leave with achievement when attending schreiner university!

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't ever any real danger most of the time. Although, if you do feel unsafe walking around anywhere, you could call campus security to escort you somewhere.

    Greek Life

    2 fraternities and 2 sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different sports like clubs and evening classes (for those who chose to attend), a campus ministry group, you can rent a canoe and go canoeing along a local river...there are several other student led groups on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that don't mind small towns and not having massive amounts of things to do. Also those who feel they could benefit from having support in area's that are often not offered in bigger schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the oldest buildings on campus, Delaney Hall, is supposed to be haunted, although most people haven't really ever had much encounters with the resedent ghosts.

    What to do for fun

    I'll go to events that are happening on campus. There are Resident Assistent (RA) events and Student Activites Bored (SAB) events. One of the big things I like to go to when I can is the bingo games SAB hold throughout the year. You can win prizes at a number of events.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright. I wouldn't call it the best food in the world, but it's better than cafateria food in most high schools. What gets offered does get kind of repetative after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on what dorm you live in. Most of the dorms or on campus apartments don't really have as much of a family style thing going on that you might see in some dorms on other campuses, but it isn't necissarily a bad thing. It's just that you don't see as many people as often.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say it's about normal for college, at least as far as what I know of college. Some of it depends on the professor, as it usually would.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think you could highly benefit from having better contact with your professors and you don't mind having the small town and school thing, this is the place for you. If you don't want to go to the professor for help in course work, there's other options for you also.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school, especially if you prefer having smaller classes and your professors knowing who you are. There are so many ways you can get help here if you need it that you don't necissarily find in larger schools. Schreiner has a lot going for it.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pretty economical for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Parks, campus activities, drive to nearby major cities.

    Food and Dining

    Diner on campus with changing menu and other option that is open till 11:00pm with a fresh grill.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty friendly and relaxed, mostly clean.

    Academic Rigor

    It's small but will challenge you enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and register early, class sizes are small so therefore limited in how many they can take.

    In three sentences

    Small, quiet community with small classes and friendly staff. Pretty campus, good food, nice dorms. Within short driving distance from major cities (Austin and San Antonio are both about an hour and a half away) and there are nice parks and rivers w/ free equipment check out.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are always new events to attend and organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    the food is always fresh and delicious. i haven't been disappointed all year. the meal plans offered are great and work with your schedule so you won't worry about starving.

    Dorm Life

    the hall i live at is friendly and we feel like a family. i like my dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a private liberal art school that the expectations are higher than average with stricter academic policies. so it's important to keep a certain gpa to maintain your scholarships provided by the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should get involved in activities on and off campus. use your winter break or even weekends to volunteer or work. it'll make you become a better person and help your resume look good.

    In three sentences

    i've enjoyed my freshman year here at schreiner university. schreiner university is a private school with small classes, i love that because i recieve a better learning experience. schreiner offers so many organizatons and events you'll never get bored.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Schreiner is the safest place I know in Kerrville.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is fun from what i here. I am not able to join because of volleyball but the Greek life on campus is always hosting something fun on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on. If you are an athlete then your experience is so much greater.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are and Art or nursing major this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have no weird traditions but we have a rec center and sand volleyball courts that are used often.

    Bang for the buck

    Schreiner is an expensive school, but if you engage yourself in everything it has to offer then it is more then worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Kerrville is small but the main thing to do is go out to movies or bowling, Unless you want to drive 30minutes to San Antonio. On campus the have many activities such as sports and other activities that very in your housing unit.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at Schreiner is fairly good. The food has never been gross to me. Also Schreiner is always accepting new ideas to improve dining and actually takes steps in implementing them

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life for me was great. If your outgoing and willing to meet new people you will have a great time living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Schreiner can be challenging academically. However, if you are willing to work hard or use the student services for academic help, you are more then likely to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you were to attend Schreiner I suggest you get involved with something on campus. Whether it is a sports team, sorority or fraternity, or any other social groups on campus. Also creating a good relationship with your professors will help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is an excellent school for those students who enjoy a small community feeling. The professors are amazing and more then willing to help students succeed. People at Schreiner are very nice and i have yet to have a problem.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safty is a priority and is well maintained.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and or different sports! There is always something to do. Perhaps a coffehouse or a paint war.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and the staff is caring and willing to hear concern and comments regarding improvent!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Schreiner is difficult, but a way to achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Become a Leader! Do not procastinate!

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is a well designed small University. The University strives for student learning and care! It is easy to succeed if time and studying is well spent.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    30% of students are athletes.

    Great for these types of students

    Country people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountaineer Days!

    Bang for the buck

    99% of students get finanacial aid help.

    What to do for fun

    Join a group. Drive around the Texas Hill Country. Go out and dance at Criders.

    Food and Dining

    Good food.

    Dorm Life

    People are so awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing! Teachers are so helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Becoem friends with me!

    In three sentences

    Schreiner is the perfect setting for small town people.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the new fitness center, and in the CCAC, there is a movie theatre and a pool table. There is also a pool and you can have fun in the surrounding town.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of food and try to make what everyone likes.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Students learn a lot and can put what they learn to use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    So far, the school is a very good school. I feel that I belong here, but I need more money to go here. Excellent teachers and campus.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pictures of a professors Metal Pig in worried locations.

    Bang for the buck

    All the support you receive from the teachers is completely worth the cost of the school.

    Food and Dining

    If you do attend make sure to get the Flex meal, the food in the den is a lot better than in the diner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand the type of school at Schreiner University is before attending it.

    In three sentences

    This school has the most caring and supporting teachers you could every fun. Completely an academic school with no miss conduct at all.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have to say, this is very important. Become familiar with the campus security office and it's location. Most of them have a 24 hour number you can call if anything happens. Save that number in your phone and get comfortable with it quick.

    Greek Life

    This is not an important part of college but if interested, it will allow in some situations networking opportunities with employers which you'd like to work for. Greek life gives you an opportunity to do community servce activities and bond with one another. However, if not recruited for a greek organization, it is not the end of the world, and you can succeed in college just as much as a greek peer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activities Board is a great organization to join. At my school you can get paid to be a part of it as a work study. You can brain storm on all types of events to host at school and always be well known around school. If you're a science major, join the science club or medical careers club, it provides opportunities and tips on advancing your science career.

    What to do for fun

    When you and your friends are done with an exam, go out and see a movie. Visit a friend down the hall and watch a scary movie and order a pizza from Pizza Hut. It's always fun. Listen to music and workout together. However, everyone tries to have a great time i college, but always be careful and awareof the consequences if something goes wrong. Don't begin drinking if you've never thought about it before. A lot of college students engage in these acts their freshmen year and it always leads to more problems. There are indeed other things, such as events on campus you and a group of friends can attend. For example, my college always host a bingo night, UNO night, and comedy night prediodically throughout the year. Your resident assistants will also host small events in the dorm which you reside in.

    Food and Dining

    In college, the food is probably not the best thing to look forward to. But you're paying for it so take advantage of it! All colleges have both a cafeteria where the semi delicious meals are served and a type of den or lounge where students can come after a certain time to order burgers, pizza, hot dogs, etc. Be sure to remain healthy, and to stay away from the freshmen 15. We all want to go grab a bite to eat, fries, burger, etc while late night studying is taking place. Be aware of healthy food choices.

    Dorm Life

    This is where you learn to live with different people. We have all had good and bad experiences, but they both help us as we grow older. Here lies a healthy environment with friends and resident assistants. A community environment which will help brighten your academic career in college. However, it's very important not to become easily distracted, because every college student has.

    Academic Rigor

    This is very important and it's always good to be challenged in college. It will allow you to want to advance your academic career into something bigger such as medical school, graduate school, etc. Yes, your college career may be difficult, but when it's all said and done, when you begin professional school, it will be a repeat of college. Which benefits you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers, they are there to help you, not intimidate you. Stay organized, it will make a difference in how we you study and what grades you earn. Always attend tutoring, even if you don't need it. It always helps. Become well known on campus, join organizations, it makes your college career go by faster and makes it worth while. Always be willing to get together a study group.

    In three sentences

    Small classes which will allow easy contact with faculty. Easy access to get resources such as tutoring. Very challenging degree plans which will prepare you for professional degrees, I.E.: graduate, medicine, MBA, and doctorate.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I know that my friends that are in Greek life love it. I know that they do a lot of community work on and off campus and they build a very strong support network from within. They love their brothers and sisters very much, and they do not discriminate against non-Greeks, they are inclusive of everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Schreiner is great for students that are driven and have an idea of what they want out of life. Also, if a student has a learning disability, Schreiner is great for them. Schreiner has Learning Support Services, and LSS tutors students that need the extra attention. There they can take tests at their own pace, and are provided notes that another student takes for them to make sure that they have all the material given by the professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition that the Thursday before Thanksgiving and Christmas they have a turkey dinner for lunch in the diner. Also the night before finals start, every semester they have a Mid-night breakfast. The professors and even the President of the school get together in the diner to cook breakfast for the students!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Schreiner has a great bang for the buck because of the quality of the faculty and staff and the great job they do on promoting an atmosphere that is welcoming and great for learning. They also are great about finding scholarships and internships to help on the financial side of things.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of things to do on campus! There are different intra-mural sports each semester, such as flag football, a racquetball tournament, and dodge ball. We have a pool that is open in the warmer months, a really cool gym with two racquetball courts, tennis courts, soccer and baseball fields. We also have four Greek organizations on campus, and they are very involved in the community on and off campus. There are also several recognised student organizations that exist and there is an opportunity to start one if you desire a group that hasn't been started yet. The student activities board has a calender that has all the events that are happening on campus for the current month, and they also host events. A fun event to go to is called Comedy and Chocolate, it's a comedy show and they have a ton of different chocolate things to choose from to eat!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Schreiner is better than your average high school cafeteria. There is a grill line that stays the same everyday, an entree line that changes daily, a pizza bar, salad bar, pasta bar, and they set out different desserts everyday. I like the food, and I eat there for lunch and dinner everyday of the week and am happy with the selections. Thursdays are chicken fried steak day, yum!

    Dorm Life

    There are two freshman dorms on campus and the rest are for the upperclassmen. One of the freshman dorms is known for the residents being very friendly and social, and the freshmen that live in the other tend to be more studious than social. Every dorm has events for us to get together that are a lot of fun, and a great way to meet the other residents. I love to attend the events because they are a lot of fun, and as a perk the resident assistants generally bring food. There are opportunities to have your own room and bathroom, or to share a bathroom. All of the apartments on campus have fairly sized rooms, living rooms, kitchens, and depending on the complex one or two bathrooms. Lots of room to share.

    Academic Rigor

    In all of the classes you will need to keep on top of your work and pay attention, but while some classes are difficult, they also have a study group that meets to go over the material. For example, the organic chemistry professor holds at least one extra class a week to review material. All the professors are very willing to work with students to help us understand the material or work around scheduling difficulties.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest to incoming students to keep focused on class work and studies before social life, it can be very easy to become sidetracked and fall behind. On the other hand, DO get involved in the Schreiner community and Kerrville community, it is a great place to be. Find a physical activity that you can do, that way you can network and have fun at the same time.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is a great school to attend because the atmosphere between teachers and students is extremely helpful and engaging. Teachers know their students name and face, and will seek out students to engage them in discussion. The fantastic atmosphere is not limited to teacher-student relations, there is a great support network among the students as well.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. You can look up at anytime and campus security will be in your line of sight. Schreiner also has an emergency alert system that students can sign up for, the messages can be sent to a cell phone or email.

    Food and Dining

    Schreiner has two areas for dining. The Lion's Den, and the Cafeteria. The food is great in both. The faculty are open to student suggestions for the menu. If I don't get to have lunch with my friends one day, I feel like I've missed an important part of the day. I love that the atmosphere is nothing like high school!

    Dorm Life

    There are numerous dorms on campus. Each dorm has a student resident attendant to assist the students and ensure safety. The room sizes are nice, and it's easy to feel at home!

    Academic Rigor

    Learning by Heart means you are expected to learn the material, not memorize it for testing. Knowledge is power and you will be empowered when attending Schreiner. The material isn't overly difficult, but the expectation to learn, and be responsible for you education, is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schreiner professors,and faculty, care about each student. Their doors are always open, and the topic can be over anything. Communicating is extremely important in life, be ready and willing to do it, and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner's motto, Learning by Heart, is more than a motto; it's a way of life. We learn for life, not for exams. The student-teacher ratio makes learning a reality, not a possibility.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of campus police!

    Greek Life

    2 Sororities and 2 frats

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, committed and focused.

    What to do for fun

    Theres plenty of activities to do on and off campus like going to the river or karaoke night!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. There is a brand new freshmen dorm and new apartments for upper classmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a great academic school. The teachers are very understanding and are willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Schreiner! Its a great school. Brand new dorms and after freshmen year you get your own apartment on campus! The teachers are great and even though the classes are challenging, its so worth the hard work.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is great, it is a small community and you never see a face that you do not know. It is a close knit community and my professors actually know me by my first name! The classes are small enough for one on one time, its awesome.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe! There is security all over the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fun stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    Country people or people that just enjoy beautiful weather and scenery.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I saw a baby deer on the steps in front of my class once.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the extra money!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus, and enjoy the fresh air and beautiful atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the dining yet since I attended summer school.

    Dorm Life

    Love Pecan Grove!

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes, but teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose this school, great housing, classes, and people!

    In three sentences

    Best college I have been to. I love it here!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling and hanging out with friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends.

    In three sentences

    Great small atmosphere!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bicycle around Kerrville, go to the symphony, play in the river

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    It's a small school so it's easy to fit in. I like where it's located and that it attracts students from all over TX.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go check out a movie, go horseback riding, take a jog through the park, or shop at any of the local stores. Just being outside is fun in itself.

    Food and Dining

    Eat, eat, and eat some more.

    Dorm Life

    Half the fun of college lies within the people you meet, who are usually in the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    If your school isn't challenging you enough, challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your college is what you want, but also make sure it wants you. Take your time in deciding and don't be afraid of taking risks.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is completely inviting. It has the best foreground for any dreamer. Overall, the university is home.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around, and does notify your class when something is amiss. Quite on the ball.

    Greek Life

    I'm 58 years old and have no idea what that means.

    Clubs and Activities

    In the What to do for fun box.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to learn!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth in education.

    What to do for fun

    Full exercise room, showers, tennis court, pool. Has own movie theater, auditorium, pool room, table tennis, shuffle board, all on campus. Has off campus concerts, events like Relay For Life programs.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had a bad experience yet in either cafeteria. Very friendly staff and will cook you what you want on or off the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The LVN program also helps you ready for RN program. Very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious in what you want to do, and study as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Caring, compliant, and compassionate instructors help you in as many ways as they can. Medical field is ever changing, and Schreiner changes teachings appropriately. Instructors try to answer all medical inquiries.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is off and on, like the eggs on normal breakfast days usually taste awesome but then brunch days I didn't even want to eat them but even if they don't make the thing you normally like that day right they have a wide variety of food choices so that you can usually find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    They are like always doing some sort of get together so that it is easy to meet the people in your dorm and to make friends.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can call campus security and they will walk you anywhere you need to go, day or night. I am afraid of the dark, but I feel so safe in on campus that I have not yet used the luxury of having a security officer walk with me back to my dormitory.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life here at Schreiner University. It is not, however, like most greek life. It helps students to prosper socially, academically, and spiritually.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus that it would be difficult to list them all. However, the university makes it simple for freshmen by having a day that each recognized club sets up a table and you are able to shop for what clubs you would like to join and be a part of. Join EXODUS PROJECT if you feel like you want to belong to something.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student coming from a smaller high school, this is definitely the place for you! I graduated from a class of 49 students including myself and I absolutely love it here! My freshmen class here is about the size of my whole school (kinder-12). It is just enough people that you COULD get lost in the crowd if you wanted to, but not enough that you WOULD get lost in the crowd unless you make that effort. A lot of kids come from big high schools and felt it was important to have their professors know their name. I know, for me, that was very important.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first semester here on campus. I am unaware of any strange things yet... Key word: Yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Schreiner University does cost a lot of money. I feel that it is very worth it for the knowledge I am gaining. Plus, with entrance into Schreiner, you get the opportunity to have tutoring for practically any subject.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, attend comedy sessions, slam poetry, movie nights. MAKE YOUR OWN FUN.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't eat much of the food from the dining hall. I do like the food from the Lion's Den, however.

    Dorm Life

    I got the new dorms this year called Faulkner. They are about 3 years old now. It is built like a hotel. I have an awesome roommate and cool suitemates. Faulkner is very nice, however, if you are looking for a tight knit community within your dormitory, I suggest you choose Trull. These two building are freshmen dorms. Trull is really old. REALLY old... But, people are so close over there because they are physically SO CLOSE. People in Faulkner have it spread out and luxorious, thus we don't feel the need to keep our doors open to feel like we have more space. One tip: LEAVE YOUR ROOM. DON'T STAY IN THERE. GO MAKE FRIENDS! (No matter what dorm you choose.)

    Academic Rigor

    If a professor is tough, you will find someone who knows just how to work their class and probably has notes already written. Schreiner is so close as a family and is so close knit that everyone wants to see everyone pass and succeed in life. If the classes get tough, someone will be there to support you and encourage you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in coming here, I suggest you walk the campus and sit in on a class. Most students say that once they walked the campus they knew this was where God was calling them to be. Sitting in class each day, hanging out with friends, and praising God I know that Schreiner University is where I need to be!

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is an amazing place to find yourself, better yourself, and keep your faith. Walking around campus, I find that every face is familiar and friendship gleams from one another's eyes. Professors are more than willing to help you and most know you by name as well as your classmates.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively small campus, friendly students and security officers. Around 24/7/365.

    Greek Life

    Two fraternities and two sororities. If Greek Life is your main focus, you may want to visit our chapters to see if you could see yourself a part of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost any type of student, from photography clubs to science clubs, anyone can find their niche here.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts wanting to become more extroverted. Extroverts wanting to find more extroverts. Introverts wanting to find other introverts to become extroverts with. Pretty much every type of student can be happy at Schreiner. It's what you make it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Loop. A circular road that wraps around the entire campus, measuring out to about a mile. Used by students, faculty, and even the Kerrville community for jogging, pet-walking, and star gazing alike. One can see all of the aspects of Schreiner by walking one loop.

    Bang for the buck

    There are not many other universities you can go to and run into the president of the university and have a midday chat. There aren't many other universities where you will be able to text your academic adviser whenever you have a question. However, there are tons of universities you can go to if you want to blend into a crowd of 500 students and never meet your professors, and if you prefer the latter over the first two, then Schreiner isn't the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the river, Schreiner is in the middle of the Texas Hill Country, beautiful! Schreiner's Student Activities Board puts on awesome activities weekly. Get involved - campus involvement is not only fun, but a great way for every student to grow.

    Food and Dining

    Like many other school cafeterias, the food is not perfect, but it is more than just edible.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus at Schreiner is life changing. You meet friends here that you will keep for the rest of your life. You also get to let yourself come out, your space is your very own sanctuary.

    Academic Rigor

    It is academically challenging, but it is totally worth the effort. A good, all around liberal arts education is hard to come by, and you've just found a gem.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT!! Visiting colleges is one of the most important aspects of making the right decision. For me, I thought I was dead set on another university, until I stepped foot onto Schreiner University's campus.

    In three sentences

    A great place get a major-specific education and liberal arts, widespread knowledge. Very friendly and homey atmosphere. The faculty and staff here REALLY care, you're not just a number.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is less than five minutes away anywhere on campus and over all the campus is really safe and enclosed. Kerrville has virtually no crime and is a quiet place where people seem to not worry about what could happen.

    Greek Life

    We have two sororities and two fraternities on campus but they live among the other students rather than in their own houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to get involved in on campus too many to even attempt to name any. The only thing we don't have is a football team :( But Basketball is the main sport here.

    Great for these types of students

    Schreiner is composed of a wide variety of students and is very welcoming of anyone and everyone who is willing to help keep it great and even make it a better place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many weird things happen on campus but the freshmen tradition during orientation is the painting of your paws The freshmen dip their hands in maroon paint and put their paws in the air for class pictures and make the class banner. We also have the Cinderfella competition for cystic fibrosis and our annual Shack-a-thon for the less fortunate.

    Bang for the buck

    Schreiner is a private university which can make it more expensive than a normal university, however it makes each student feel like an individual and the campus is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    Schreiner is only an hour away from San Antonio so many students travel there over the weekends to go to the wide assortment of activities found there. Schreiner's Student Activities Board also works extremely hard to put on multiple events throughout the week and month to keep student's entertained. From guess speakers, to dances, and even midnight bingo.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent always looking for and taking suggestions. The Schreiner dinner is all you can eat with many food options where the lions den provides quick and easy meals for on the go. Both provide to-go options

    Dorm Life

    The new freshmen dorms were designed by the architect of the Hilton Hotels, very spacious and great to live in. Best dorms I came across during my college search.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard however professors are willing to help you to the best of there abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to be considered for more scholarships.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful school in the Texas Hill Country. Small classes provide better communication between professors and students. Entire faculty devoted to Schreiner's idea of Learning by Heart.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. We have concerned, caring security officers that are very protective of the students.

    Greek Life

    Schreiner has four greek societies, two fraternities and two sororities. These are service greek organizations and are primarily concerned with community service, but they are all like big families. They host different events throughout the year, including a haunted house at the Kerrville Mall.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have clubs for any sort of thing a student could want and if we don't have a certain club, there is anyways a way to create one. A club most recently created on campus is the Anime Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Schreiner is great for academically driven students and students with learning disabilities. This campus has a wonderful LSS program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are buildings that are very old on campus and some of them are considered haunted. Most notable among these is Delany hall; a student sponsered program actually hired ghost hunters to survey the building.

    Bang for the buck

    Schreiner is definately worth the tuition money for students interested in medical careers. The school has had every student that applied for a medical school accepted.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many activites at Schreiner. We have dances and seasonal attractions along with a pool, racket ball courts, living and learning groups, movie nights, sporting events, and tailgate parties.

    Food and Dining

    There is constantly variety at the Schreiner Diner and the chefs are always ready to take notes for improvement.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are constantly being improved. Trull residence dorm is very social and many students that reside there are known for being social butterflies. It also houses the living and learning community known as Vesalius, which is concerned with medical careers. Faulkner residence dorm is luxurious and houses the living and learning Honors group. This group pursues knowledge for the sake of knowledge.

    Academic Rigor

    The studies are not the most difficult one will encounter, but the depth and perserverence required of a student is not for the faint of heart. Schreiner's motto is Learning by Heart and this learning is taken very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is always helpful to remember that Schreiner is not only an academic campus, but a small community of its own right. Teachers will know if you miss a class, so it is best not to play hooky. If an absence is necessary, one must be sure to email the teacher before the start of class. Even if the email reaches their inbox a minute before the set class time, the instructor will appreciate the responsibility of the action. Emailing is very important; it is the number one choice for inter-campus communications.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner University is a small, but beautiful campus in the relatively small town of Kerrville, Texas. The teachers care about the success of every individual student and the class sizes are intimate. Schreiner is an important historical part of the community and has many stories connected to its numerous buildings.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isnt much to do. But San Antonio is close enough. Its a chill school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic. the dinning halls are clean. And the service is friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are loud. There is always someone up. The bathrooms are huge.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic life is challenging but do able. Just have to do your work and attend classes for at least a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't expect a party school. Pack extra socks. Don't take naps.

    In three sentences

    its in a small town. Schreiner is very small and friendly. The professors are exceptional.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe campus and good security.

    Greek Life

    2 sororities and 2 fraternities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the typical student or a non traditional student.

    What to do for fun

    Always activities going on campus and surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    It's decent, there are 2 options on campus currently. The university is changing providers for the upcoming school year however.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Classes full up quick and it's best to stay on top of things so you get what you want.

    In three sentences

    Great small town school. Everyone on campus gets to know everyone and you get to form relationships with your professors that you wouldn't get to have at larger universities.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit. I ran at night and felt very safe

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and two Fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities for anything and everything. There are also inner mural sports throughout the year, like volleyball and basketball.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey but the small classes and help that you get make it better.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do and you learn to entertain your self. But the school is close the Guadalupe river so you can go swimming or, free kayaker renting through the school, sand volleyball, the pool, hiking, you can go to Fredericksburg to shop or visit the enchanted rock.

    Food and Dining

    Foods ok, there's the dinner and the lions din. But e are getting a new food supplier that is suppository be really good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome,but it comes down to which dorm you love in. Like trull one of the depress an dorm is more close knit compared to the other freshman dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be putting in the study time.

    In three sentences

    Schreiner is a small university were you get the encouragement and help to succeed. Your professors will know you and care about how you do. And the school has plenty of resources like free tutoring to help you succeed.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall had a variety of foods which was very good by the way. and i like how its so big and spacious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms looked pretty awesome. but i didint see a kitchen in the lobby area of the dorms. there needs to be a kitchen there so that i can coook food.

    Academic Rigor

    Schreiner has a great academic program and i love how in every classroom its small because i would like to be in a school where it is small and it has that teacher student relationship to where they do know me and would be able to help me in the areas that i need help in.

    In three sentences

    I loved the campus and the people who were students of the SU. I am a Graphic Design Major and i bet that SU has a excellent program for it. Go Mountaineers!!!!!

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is outdoor adventures in the local area, a bowling alley and movie theatre, it is only an hour away from San Antonio and the Student Activities Board and RSO's are always putting events on around campus such as Bingo Nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good but it is a college campus. There will always be problems with the cafeteria choices.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the freshman hall. There is a sense of community in all of the dorms and all living areas are clean and acceptable. Faulkner hall is only from 09 so it is very modern.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard but worth it. The professors expect the best work from a college student. There are great opportunities to expand your knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to the professors here because they are here to help you grow as a student. Show up to classes and you will have great rewards. Don't be afraid of the small school environment, it is the best for learning.

    In three sentences

    It is a small, private institution that is geared towards the personal growth of students. The campus is beautiful and full of nature. I love this university for its educational opportunities.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most of the events are very fun on campus.

    In three sentences

    It is very small. The environment is very friendly. Everyone here is very helpful.