Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Scottsdale Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students pursuing a Jazz Instrumental degree or Vocal performance degree, this college is great. The programs at SCC are wonderful, as long as you have experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would avoid the Jazz Improvisation class taught by Justin. I had no previous Jazz experience, just classical and was told by another teacher I would be alright, but this was wrong. He was condescending, rude, and not a teacher at all. He would push the students who were new up to the front of the class to do things they said they did not know how to do and embarrass them on purpose. He was one of the worst teachers I have ever had, if you can even call him that, because he did not teach at all. He was arrogant and did not seem to be trying to teach the inexperienced students just tried to get them to drop his class.

    Bang for the buck

    If you test high enough on the placement test you can get a scholarship and entrance into the honors college. This scholarship is the presidential scholarship and covers fifteen credits. Because of this scholarship I have received 15 free credits and pay very little. It has been great.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people and teachers are very friendly. The campus is beautiful and I am very much enjoying being there.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently attending Scottsdale Community College and love it. The teachers I have experienced in the Music program are passionate, helpful, and motivational. My English teach Professor Eric Loring has been an amazing teacher, he loves his work and spreads that passion to us. I have learned so much in this past semester.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to attend a university in arizona.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to score high on the placement test so you can apply for the honors program. The honors program gives you a two year scholarship at $1080 a semester for this school. I ended up paying very little for school.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before the classes are taught well and I have gotten much out of them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Except for a few problems with registration my time at this college has been enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    So far all of my teachers have been very knowledgeable and helpful. The subjects are taught effectively and interestingly. I especially enjoyed Anthropology with Lisa Cole and Honors Forum with Suzanne Schlapkohl.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every 2-3 weeks there is an event set up by the Language/Communication building which allows students to perform any skills which they may have. This can be something as simple as reciting one of your favorite poems or one you have created, to playing guitar or beatboxing for an audience that cheers you on. In addition, there is always free pizza, drinks, and desserts offered to all students during this event.

    Bang for the buck

    As with any community college, you are allowed to continue earning quality education and credits for a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Scottsdale offers so many beautiful attractions. Fashion Square mall is the most beautiful mall in Scottsdale and is located about three minutes away from the SCC campus. On campus, there are recreational activities such as basketball, football, weight lifting, and track. As previously mentioned, there is beautiful scenery available to you anywhere on campus that soothes and relaxes you.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few nice places to dine on campus. Like any other campus, there is a cafe area and various snack-shack areas which serve anything you would find at a convenient store, along with a grill that serves foods such as hamburgers, quesadillas, fries, etc. The culinary institute also handles a few restaurants on campus: (1) The Artichoke Grill, (2) Desert Oasis, and (3) Special Occasions which offer anything from elegant luncheons to five-course dinners served and prepared by talented Culinary Arts Student Chefs.

    Dorm Life

    Scottsdale Community does not offer dorms. N/A.

    Academic Rigor

    As you will find on any campus, there are instructors that have their own separate policies on classwork, attendance, late work, etc. I have found that most instructors at SCC are very caring and understanding as long as you demonstrate that you care about the class and put forth effort into informing the teacher about any special needs and/or inconveniences. I have had many teachers tell me Its okay, life happens and I understand that, when I was unable to make it to time on a test because of personal conflicts I was dealing with. Most teachers will allow you to make-up a test in the Testing Center. In this center, you are monitored by cameras to make sure no one cheats but it is a great opportunity to allow you to retake a test rather than getting a zero (depending on the teachers make-up policy).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to transfer to a 4 year university as most students do, please make sure that all of the classes that you take are University transferrable courses. You can find a list of all of the courses that are university transferrable in the advisement office. I know many students who felt like they were obligated to take a specific course because they were suggested to do so during orientation. Make sure you are not simply wasting your time by taking courses that you use your hard-earned money and won't even benefit your Bachelor degree requirements. I advise this to all of my friends who ask me about how I know so much or how I became such good friends with my professors: stay after class to say hi to the professor. Professors are old, wise, and know SO much more than they are allowed to and/or have time to teach during class. Pick their brain after class and befriend them in the process, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain. There are great opportunities through ASU, NAU, and UA which are offered to Scottsdale Community College students. For example, ASU can guarantee you a spot in their school and offer scholarships for transfers students, NAU offers a program known as the 90-30 which allows you to take 90 credits at Scottsdale Community College, and 30 at ANY NAU campus (including the one that is ON SCC) and graduate with a 4-year Bachelors degree without ever having to step foot off of the Scottsdale Community College perimeters.

    In three sentences

    As applicable to most community colleges, Scottsdale Community College offers very informative courses with caring, high-quality teachers whom are able to individually attend to all students in the classroom because the class sizes are significantly smaller than those that one would find at a University. As a freshman at Scottsdale Community College, I was very ambitious and chose to take 24 credits in one semester that caused me unbearable amounts of stress. However, using the ten minutes of free time I had between classes to sit down at a nearby bench and stare at all of the greenery, listen to the calming sound of the waterfall along with the chirping of various species of birds that inhabit campus, and seeing rabbits roaming these fields of green grass allowed me to quickly relieve stress and re-coup my focus at moments during which I felt I was going to break down.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    with the one on one time from instructors and helpful staff you get what you paid for

    Am enjoying being here

    the environment is very friendly and everyone is so nice here

    Am learning a lot

    the teachers are very helpful and want you to succeed

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a friendly atmosphere with lots of trees and grass and a very open campus. SCC is definitely for you. However, the courtyard area is currently being renovated so you won't know what I'm talking about until next semester!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes! Go to class everyday! Be responsible and organized with your coursework! Study for tests, even if you think you know everything!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are an in state student, than SCC's rates are comparable to that of most other Maricopa community colleges in the Phoenix metropolitan area. If you are out of state, I am pretty sure that it is still comparable to that of other Maricopa community colleges. There really is not a lot of difference between the cost from say, PVCC to SCC to MCC because they all fall under the Maricopa Community College leadership.

    Am enjoying being here

    I cannot even begin to describe how much I have enjoyed attending SCC. I love the big open grassy area in the middle of the school. I love the student center where you can meet people day after day and still not know everyone. I love that everyone here is so friendly. I love SCC!

    Am learning a lot

    I learned more here in my first year than I did all through high school. It helps that SCC has fairly small class sizes, so you get all the help and attention from the teachers that you could need or want!

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The campus is currently under a major renovation. You can tell they take pride in the presentation of the school and go through great lengths to take care of it. Also, new, faster computers were just purchased. This assists students in completing their assignments quickly and accurately.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed my experience at Scottsdale Community College. The teachers were friendly and always willing to help. I never had any problems getting assistance when it was needed.

    Did learn a lot

    Overall, I learned a lot while attending Scottsdale Community College. The teachers are very knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects. The school also provides many opportunities to get help, when needed.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to complete their associates degree for less expensive than a university and with smaller and more personalized classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sports and recreational classes.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria and snack bar

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up teachers on rate my professor.com, get signed up for classes early and take advantage of tutoring and office hours.

    In three sentences

    An over all good college. SCC has a nice campus, a variety of activities, a pretty good selection of classes for a community college and 8 out of 10 teachers are very good.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First time students that like in class interaction.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of outside seating for fresh air.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is not bad tasting or priced.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Try your best and do your homework on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all your options and if credits are transferable. Plus best prices for your time.

    In three sentences

    from my experience at this school it is a great choice for firtst time students. The prices are amazing and the credits are transferable. The classes are offered in class for comfort or online as well.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Scottsdale Community College

    Academic Rigor

    Scottsdale Community College is not easy, but it is not too hard either.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring to a university from Scottsdale Community College, make sure to meet with an advisor to map out plan.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College offers small classes that are taught by great teachers. They also have a very supportive administration and leadership opportunities. The education I received at Scottsdale Community College is the better than any other.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security around, and there are cameras everywhere, but SCC is secluded. It is not surrounded by other buildings, but by a freeway, and fields. It also has huge parking lots, which means you will never want for a place to park, but you may be in the middle of nowhere on your own at the end of the evening. There was an assault last semester. They sent out emails to students and did everything possible to protect and inform their students, however the fact remains it is impossible for them to patrol everywhere at all times. Routine precautions such as being walked to your car in the middle of nowhere at 9pm may be appropriate. In addition, the security is so friendly I would bet that if no one else trustworthy is available to walk you they would give you a ride in their golf carts.

    Greek Life

    Does not really exist on campus to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not seen much in the way of activities happening on campus, although there is always a plethora of clubs making their presence known at the beginning of the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students looking to lower their overall school cost by getting as many credits as possible out of the way at a lower cost high quality school before transferring to another university. In it is a great school for anyone looking at the culinary arts and a number of other transfer programs that are done in concert with NAU. If NAU is in your future you should inquire about your program of study, because they have an extensive presence on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are into baseball or softball there are many many diamonds on the north side of the campus. I had a lot of time between two finals once and wondered them all. There is also some sort of agriculture or gardening setup on the north eastern corner that I know little about, but always thought was an interesting feature.

    Bang for the buck

    This school would be a 5 star bang for the buck but for a few things. Tuition is low as compared to most places, even for out of state or out of county residents, it is a nice campus to be at with grass and trees, and some of the staff is of a quality I would never have expected. If it were not for the occasional professor that is below par, and the often times odd scheduling of due dates I would rate it 5 star. If the location is unimportant to you, you may want to look at the reviews for some of the other Maricopa Community Colleges. I have friends at one other who have not experienced the difficulties with professors, nor the scheduling of due dates outside class and school times. Iâ??ve been to a couple, and donâ??t think any are as nice a campus as SCC, but those two things might make for a little better value.

    What to do for fun

    SCC is located on the eastern edge of mid Scottsdale. If you are over 21 you will quickly become familiar with downtown Scottsdale, just a short distance away, and Mill Avenue, not far away, and located in Tempe by ASU. If you are not yet 21 there is still lots to do in a major city. There are all manner of sports complexes and parks, Camelback Mountain is a fun and easy mountain to climb, and basically you are going to have an unlimited number of sunny days to do something or sit by the pool doing nothing. Enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    There is a culinary arts program at SCC that does some three course meals on certain days for a few dollars in order to teach their trade. These are great, but general food and dining is not. Their cafeteria and snack bar get items from Paradise Valley Community College which makes little sense with the culinary arts program they have on campus

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at SCC that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor at SCC is also varied. If you earn a poor grade, you are stuck with it. There is also an extensive effortâ??with most professorsâ??to assist their students with comprehending the subject material, and getting good grades. Some examples include allowing students to correct their own tests for points (not extra credit, but easy points), allowing students to attend the learning centers to correct tests for a few extra credit points, and coming up with creative opportunities to truly earn a few extra points. In addition, because most of the professors are so organized, there is often extensive time where class work is done and emphasis is placed on reviewing material and applying what has been learned to prepare for exams or quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip for prospective students would be to stay in class after the first day if the professor seems difficult or brusque. The best professors I have had here have often seemed abrupt or to indicate an unbelievably high level of expectation from their students. I suspect this is because of their high level of accomplishment in academia or the business world, making what they teach old hat to them so they are simply getting to the point quickly. Without exception, every professor I have had there that gave me that first impression hasâ??with great organization and eloquenceâ??delivered exactly to their students what they needed to succeed. Second, if you show up to the next class and nothing seems better, find another professor quick. It seems to be a mixed bag at this school. Some professors are overly qualified individuals that are top notch. Others are not, and are primarily concerned with justifying their past and present failures. It seems SCC management is just too nice to deal with these individuals when their surveys, drop rates, and complaints pinpoint them as subpar. My last tip for prospective students is to contact your professors early and directly if scheduling is important to you. You may sign up for a class on Wednesday and discover that the professor wants assignments due Monday morning or Sunday night when you distinctly do not remember signing up for class. If you contact them ahead of time it will greatly ease switching of classes to actually accommodate your schedule instead of trying to do so when classes start and you discover 3 professors want you to turn things in at the worst possible time for you each week.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College is a beautiful campus which employs some amazing professors with qualifications and extensive backgrounds in the fields they teach. In addition, they have helpful learning centers for most departments that are professional and helpful when additional tutoring is required. There are a few drawbacks as well, such as professors who use technology to make assignments due during breaks or on weekends, and incompetent professors who may receive less scrutiny because of the general outstanding quality of staff at this school.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    SCC offers culinary degrees so gourmet dining is an option!

    Dorm Life

    On-campus housing is unavailable, but there are many local options to choose from with many houses/apartments within biking distance.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College (SCC) is located in sunny Scottsdale, Arizona, a resort community adjacent to Phoenix. SCC is a pleasant campus with great instructors and friendly students. SCC is a great bargain for obtaining a two-year degree at an affordable price.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school always has events for students.

    Food and Dining

    I would not recommend the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot from there students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and give it your best and you will reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school where you get to know your teachers.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities at SCC. There is a club or organization for any interest you may have.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafeteria and also a snack shack. Around campus there are soda and snack machines. The closest fast food place is Wendy's

    Academic Rigor

    Math, Science and English are hard work. From my experience so far the English and Science teachers are great. The higher level math teachers are not as good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask other students who they recommend as a teacher for a course you are about to take. Buy textbooks online, its cheaper. Stay focused on your goal.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College is a great campus. The teachers for the most part are great. Their focus is on Math, Science and English.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety can be overzealous.

    Greek Life

    Not aware of any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Been too busy to take part in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students planning on transferring to a university but trying to save money on their general eds.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of the great staff! The library has many of the course required textbooks if you're having a hard time paying for book. The technology lab is a great resource as well.

    What to do for fun

    Meet people and network. Most students know how to have a good time. Plan on plenty of pool parties in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't as bad as one might expect from a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to make plenty of time to study.

    In three sentences

    The staff is supportive and I have been inspired by my instructors to strive for excellence.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC is a very safe campus, there are cameras in the parking lot and campus safety officers are constantly walking around, chatting it up with students, trying to get to know every one.

    Clubs and Activities

    SCC makes it easy to get involved with the school because there are many clubs to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SCC has a very beautiful campus, it is the only college in the nation to be on an Indian Reservation it gives spectacular views of the mountains and located on campus a very relaxing pond which attracts a lot of wildlife.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but over priced so most students eat off campus at nearby fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    SCC doesn't have a dorm life, but many students either live at home or rent apartments near the school.

    Academic Rigor

    SCC provides a strong academic rigor which is a great foundation for university transfer. Professors want to see you succeed and are always willing to help students.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College is an awesome place to start your college experience. SCC is the only community college in the nation to be on an Indian Reservation and offers awesome views of mountains on your way to class. Whether you are aiming to advance your career, train for a new one, or simply cultivate your individual interests, SCC has hundreds of courses designed to help you earn an associate's degree, professional certification, or provide a strong foundation for university transfer.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards but definitely don't walk alone at night to the parking lot. They are not always there to make sure you're okay. If you want to be safe, it's mostly your responsibility to make sure the security guards accompany you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a GREAT study abroad program, connected with different colleges in Maricopa county. Definitely check it out! They also have a green club and that is the only club I know of that is SORT of active... Their clubs are alright, honestly. Not the best or most involved and does not encourage the students to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're motivated to do well to get good grades on your transcripts to transfer to the university of your choice, this is a great place to do it. If you're academically strong enough to stay focused and on track, you'll be out in two years with a degree and transferring to the university of your choice. The school also has an Honors program and offers scholarships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is an artichoke.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a bang for your buck. The professors are wonderful, you get attention when you ask for it and you have resources available to you (great library and computer lab). Most classes have a great curriculum and are SO relevant to the real world. That is what I enjoyed the most.

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty good drink selection, if you like a variety of choices. I just drink water so it didn't mean much to me, but a lot of the other students enjoyed the selection. They don't have many healthy options. They have a pile of apples, oranges and bland salads. However, they have a great salad wrap station and a DELICIOUS veggie burger. If you're trying to be healthy, it's kind of hard to find the flexibility and availability here.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends which courses you pick. Most of the classes are surprisingly eye-opening and rigorous in their own ways. I was pleasantly surprised with the wonderful education I got here. The professors always encourage classroom discussions and care what you think. I really transformed here; it was because of the great education and professors' support and teaching styles that changed me. Many of my classmates had the same experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start out if you're undecided about what you want to do, if you want to raise your GPA before transferring to a university (not to say this place is easy...you still have to put in the effort to do well) or if you want to get a taste of college but are not quite ready to start out at a university yet. Beware of the math teachers though... Most of them are not very good. You should do your research (ratemyprofessor.com) before you choose who to take math with. The registration at the school is great; signing up and picking your classes are easy and the advisers lead you through everything if you make the time to meet up with them. Make sure you are CLEAR about what you are/may be interested in (AA or Associate in Applied Science, etc.) so they can lead you on the right path. There are lots of courses to choose from, registration is very easy and simple.

    In three sentences

    The school does not get enough credit. The professors are great and very knowledgeable. You're more likely to get a great professor than not.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    I haven't noticed anything specific about Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs offered here for anything you need, and you can always start a club too.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for film students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is right outside of the city, and there is this little pond right in the middle of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The film program is an excellent opportunity since it offers such great classes at a much lower price than usual film schools.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the scenery of the campus, go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to try the food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't seen the dorms but the campus has a good atmosphere overall.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard many good things about this college's programs offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend the kick-off, and ask about scholarship programs that they may be able to help you with.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very neat and clean. When walking around, it stays quiet and isn't bustling with tons of students. The faculty is extremely helpful and informative.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC has patrol officers on site everyday until 11pm. Also, they have a few phone lines which you can call safety patrol come out and help you in any situations. In addition to that, they have cameras set up in the parking lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Scottsdale Community College is relatively cheap to obtain a AA degree. Also, they provide free tutoring for math, science, technology, computers and English. All these services are Free!

    What to do for fun

    Scottsdale Community College has plenty of clubs and events that would be held in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Scottsdale Community College has a excellent cafeteria area. Also, i restaurant on site. The food services are provided by culinary students in training.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've meet plenty of professors who are passionate about their teachings and show enthusiasm. Also, they explain the subjects in detail instead of being vague.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid and pick out classes early.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community college is a fantastic college to start off with. The teachers are motivated to enhance the student's learning and are committed to help each student reach their personal goal in college.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing. I once left my keys in the ignition of my topless car and the campus security guy took the keys out of my car so no one would take it. How great is that?

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that aren't quite ready to jump into the large classes universities offer and it's a heck of a lot cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    They have these yellow lounge chairs in the courtyard that are so comfortable. It's really nice because if you were up late you can just fall asleep there and no one really bothers you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey, but it tastes really good and they cook right in front of you!

    Dorm Life

    The only bad thing is that there isn't any on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and tutors are fantastic. I really feel like I'm getting the help I need to gain knowledge for the future!

    In three sentences

    This school is great for people transitioning into college from high school! It's small enough for you to get to know your teachers and get the help you need. There are also tutor centers in each department if you need a little extra help.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at the SCC campus there is cameras everywhere and I always see security guards around. Also I once accidentally left my computer at an outside bench and when I realized I went to the security office and there it was!

    Clubs and Activities

    Scottsdale Community College offers many clubs that you are able to sign up for at the begging of the semesters.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at SCC is great you get excellent professors for low tuition prices. Many of the professors teaching at Scottsdale Community College also teach similar or even the same classes at universities like ASU. So you get the best prices.

    Food and Dining

    Scottsdale Community College has a cafeteria that offers good food and a pleasant atmosphere although it's not too big.

    Academic Rigor

    Scottsdale Community College varies in the types of classes they offer, it caters to those who have not been in school and need more help and also offers honors programs for those who desire a more challenging setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tips for prospective students is to make sure to talk to an adviser in order to get on the right path for your desired career choice and make the most of your experience.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College offers great opportunities whether it is for a specific graduating program or transfer programs to a university. SCC also has excellent professors who provide the best in class and outside class help for success.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Scottsdale Community College charges $76 per credit to Arizona residents, making my 12 credit semester tuition cost (including class fees and registration fees) $955 as opposed to the approximately $8500 it would have cost me at Arizona State University. For my $955, I'm getting smaller classes which means more of my instructor's time and attention, and I have access to the Maricopa Community College Resources to help me get my Associates degree.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Scottsdale Community College does have student dormitories available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at Scottsdale Community College and the teachers who instruct them vary in difficulty, but overall the Academic Rigor has been both stimulating and challenging without being very overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit advisement before the start of every semester, to help you plot a course through your college education and degrees, ESPECIALLY if you plan to transfer credits. Also, never hesitate to ask the Financial Aid Office for any information they have on financial assistance, such as scholarships, federal grants, or sweepstakes opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College has a dedicated and interactive staff with great availability, who are always helpful and friendly. The campus is beautifully designed and maintained, with plenty of areas for students to study, indoors or outdoors. The classes have been well-organized and presented to provide a high-quality of learning.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. Safety call boxes all around if something would happen.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many. As a returning adult student my schedule does not allow for participating.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely take whatever classes you can here before transferring to a unversity. You get a much better bang for your buck per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    It's a great area of town so there is plenty to do nearby.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced food on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out if online or in person classes work better for you. They offer both.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College is a good community college. They offer a wide range of class schedules to fit anyones schedule. Most of my teachers have been great.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a quality education without having to dig yourself deep into student loan debt.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! There are so many!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria on campus with pretty yummy food. If not there are a few restaurants and fast food places near by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging, but now impossible. The professors are also very willing to help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the Community College fool you. You will get a great education here.

    In three sentences

    When I first started attending SCC I did not think I would like it. After I got here I have found that it is a great school, with great programs, and great teachers. I am so glad I chose to come here after high school.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is strong at SCC.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs at SCC to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically centered students, athletic students, and those that are artistically inclined.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has an urban wildlife center. Very unique. It's called toad hall and it's very informative!

    Bang for the buck

    Well SCC is a very good school to study education, media, theater, or dance. The gym is excellent, the sports teams are solid, and it has a lovely campus.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and extras to do at SCC. The gym is wonderfully equipped, in a building with beautiful views of the campus. The theater arts program puts on two or three shows a semester, for free. The poetry cafe is a fun place to hang out and enjoy free food and entertainment between classes as well. There is also toad hall to check out. Also, the are has a large shopping district near it.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a culinary arts program that offers fine dining at very reasonable prices, which should get five stars, but it is only open for lunch and dinner a few days out of the week. But the schools cafeteria can be very expensive for its, at best, average food. Be sure to bring your own snack or lunch to avoid this.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at SCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigorousness of your academics is very dependent on the teachers that you pick. Some teachers, like Professor Mugford, are very helpful and somewhat lenient when it comes to grades. Others, like Dr. Tualla, grade more strictly. If you want to excel, expect to study at least ten to twenty hours a week, depending on your previous skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study, but use all of the help available to you and you should be just fine. The writing center and the math center will become your best friends. Campus food can be expensive so don't buy unless you have to. Bring walking shoes because the campus is large. The school offers a lot of fun extras, like the theater productions and poetry cafes. Take advantage of them!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are helpful and go out of their way to help you succeed. The campus is large for a community college and the options of study are broad. The campus faculty is superb.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there's any Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide variety of clubs and sports to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for film students and anyone willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a fiesta every year held by the Latino club.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd advise everyone to join a club and get involved in the student life because you can miss out on a lot of fun if you don't.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of clubs you can be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    Not a greasy selection.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and ready to learn because the teachers are very wise and can teach you a lot.

    In three sentences

    This school is very clean and pretty. The advisors are very helpful. The teachers are really nice and I've learned a lot from them.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice officers.

    Greek Life

    None. Thank goodness.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm sure they're fun but they aren't incredibly visible on campus. They do have one for nearly every interest and plenty of leadership training.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated, mature, relaxed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is the artichoke because they initially didn't want athletics. However, they now have a football team and other sports teams.

    Bang for the buck

    This place was well worth it. My FREE tutor for foreign language actually is a professor at the nearby university. I got free counseling, free financial aid coaching, free help with finding a job, and of course I learned more than I ever thought I would.

    What to do for fun

    There are the bars in Scottsdale & Tempe and the mall is only a few miles away. Plus, we have amazing hiking options.

    Food and Dining

    Seriously, the culinary school is AMAZING. Don't eat in the regular cafetertia. I've had beef wellington, grilled snapper, authentic indian & thai curries, steak, gourmet organically grown salads, carpaccio, and other high end items for under $10 including tip. Also, the tips go into the student scholarship fund. Seriously, it's so good that I'll probably drive to campus to eat here during the work day even after I've graduated.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. Maybe that's a good thing though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to get an A in any class in which you try hard. However, if you don't care or don't apply yourself, they will know and they won't have much pity for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    They actually like it when you ask for help here. You really need to actually show up for class because the classes are so small that they'll know when you're missing. Figure out your school email address and payment plan before classes start because they're tricky at first.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College has an amazing collection of faculty who put learning first, expect students to work hard, and treat students with respect. SCC has more FREE tutoring and student success resources than I've ever seen at any other college and the staff are more than qualified. There isn't much going on with campus life but the culinary school has fantastic (and cheap) lunch and Tempe and Scottsdale bars & clubs are very close by.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been some assaults in the parking lots late at night, so girls, get your pepper spray! I've never had anything stolen, and the security just drives around on golf carts, but the cops are close by because sometimes they sit on the road to catch speeders.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge sign up at the beginning of each semester, but I never done it, and still didn't feel like I missed out on too much.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who have lives outside of school but still want to learn and be prepared for a university. As soon as everyone hits the parking lot, school doesn't even matter lol, but there are some very smart people that chose to go here to save money or because they have other obligations. Also, many others attended both here and ASU, so they are some good people to talk to about university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a story about the mascot and school colors that can be told by a few of the professors. Also, traffic is the worse between 10:30-1:30, going and leaving, so if you have a class that ends at 1:15, hang around for a while to avoid traffic.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally. I saved money by attending here, living at home, and working a part time job, and did not feel as stressed as I did while attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    Football Games are free with student ID's on Saturday's if you need something to do. There are always random little events going on that can be found on the website, and in between classes, you can find a computer and just surf the web.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and not too badly priced. They have a value menu in the cafeteria too. There is a Subway and Wendy's across the street by the Walmart if the cafe isn't your thing. The culinary students also have a restaurant they run for experience and their menu is on the website.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is the perfect amount to learn without feeling stressed. There are tutors everywhere and the teachers are so helpful if you just ask. Also, research the different types of classes needed for Global & Humanities Credit, there are so many and you can choose one the most interesting one.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared when you tell people your school mascot is an artichoke and the colors are pink and green.

    In three sentences

    SCC has small class sizes but it doesn't feel like high school because there are so many students. Teachers understand students are tight on money and have lives outside of school. I learned more here than at the university.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus, however someone was sexually assaulted last year in the parking lot after a night class.

    Greek Life

    None at SCC besides Phi Theta Kappa, the Honors Fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent selection of athletics and clubs to choose from and get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcome; it is a very diverse campus. There are many clubs that embrace many of these groups such as a gay/straight alliance, a Latino club, and a Christian club.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable and worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great athletic department and many clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options for food in the cafeteria and vending machines throughout campus, but it is extremely hard to find healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough but not extremely difficult. I took Honors English 101 and 102 in the same semester and it was not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your to do lists regarding admissions, cashier's office, and financial aid. These departments DO NOT communicate and I was once dropped from a class because the cashier's office did not tell admissions that I had paid for my classes, and I lost the opportunity to take the class.

    In three sentences

    Excellent teachers, small class sizes, and very affordable. Lacks the college feel to it, but there are many opportunities to get involved in student organizations. Free tutoring is offered in every subject.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always multiple security guards driving around campus so I feel safe for the most part. It's a little creepier walking around campus at night though.

    Greek Life

    I don't have an opinion on this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've been a part of two different clubs during my time here. Both have been fun and give back to the surrounding community in different ways. I am currently Vice President in one of them.

    Great for these types of students

    To me, this campus is great for any type of student. The college is very diverse. I've made all kinds of new friends here in many different circles of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual tradition I can think of is there is sometimes a giant artichoke walking around campus during special events since that is SCC's mascot.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend going here over a university because you get the same quality education for way less. The classes are smaller so students can get more attention from their teachers.

    What to do for fun

    The classes I take for fun are dancing and kickboxing. It's a more creative way to keep in shape.

    Food and Dining

    I wish they would offer healthier alternatives since I don't like eating greasy food and I have many food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I base this on a full time schedule. Especially if one is enrolled in Honors classes. Teachers will definitely give you a good amount of information and homework but depending on the teacher, it can be fun and creative. They make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy books until after classes have started. Most of the books listed in the curriculum are never used. Start registration early. It can take awhile to complete.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself is very organized and clean. The teachers actually care about the students and will help them in any way they can. The only issue I've had is sometimes I've had to go to multiple people to get a simple answer.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    several safety officers on campus at all times that work in conjunction with the local police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are a number of various clubs on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is an Artichoke

    What to do for fun

    Can't really say that there is to much in the way of fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    personally i never ate on campus however they have a restaurant the Artichoke Grill, a snack shack and the cafeteria for dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For me the work involved was not very difficult, however students should pay attention and take notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class and take notes. the exams are easy so long as you pay attention, some subjects are easier than others.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale CC is a clean campus. They have a dedicated staff, who is both motivated and knowledgeable. curriculum is easy to follow and designed to help students who intend to transfer.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library or the math tutor center because those were my favorite places to wait for friends.

    Food and Dining

    I never had their food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors were all excellent and I understood all of the material they taught me!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to orientation because you can meet potential friends, and also, walk around the campus before you start your first year because it'll help you navigate where certain buildings and classrooms are.

    In three sentences

    For my first year of college I had a lot of fun and learned a lot because my professors were brilliant and they made learning very fun for me. My favorite subject was my math classes for both semesters because I took the same professor but for Pre-Calculus and Calculus. And the campus is very easy to navigate!

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theater productions, poetry reading, art shows.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is fine.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can - this is the cheapest education (unless you're out of state..)

    In three sentences

    Fantastic college for graphic design undergraduate associates degree.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security personnel all over. They drive by throughout the day and night on golf carts and in cars to make sure nobody walks alone. They also respond very quickly to any emergency calls (I have had a few professors accidentally hit the emergency call button on the wall!) Bonus: My freshman year, I had a broken foot, and one of the security guards picked me up and dropped me off to class.

    Greek Life

    We have an honor's society- Phi Theta Kappa. Those involved are encouraged to try their hardest with their studies, and are eligible for a bunch of financial aid.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not expecting so many clubs at such a small school. However, everybody is very passionate and involved, and that makes it so much fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Those of us who work and go to school, and those of us who are on a really tight budget and have a difficult time getting financial aid. This school is also great if you only wish to take a few classes at a time!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is an artichoke. That kind of speaks for itself.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it. I was able to take on 16 credits for under 1,700 in one semester. What's even better is that all of them have transferred to university for me!

    What to do for fun

    Since the campus is smaller, you are able to hang around with more people. You also make plenty of friends! The library is awesome, too; they have so many books, magazines, and digital files there.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus has pretty good food! I'm a bit of a health nut, and they always have vegan and vegetarian options. It is a bit expensive, but it is worth it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! But living at home is pretty sweet, especially once you see how expensive rent is.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes. Every class I have been in has needed a lot of studying and hard work put in, but it is all worth it! You learn so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be ashamed for going to community college! Never be afraid to ask questions, and never be afraid to ask for help. And try to schedule your classes close together!

    In three sentences

    The professors are wonderful- in fact, the entire faculty are wonderful and helpful. The campus is beautiful, and finding your classes is extremely easy. Not only is the school nice, but it is affordable!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of clubs are a bit lacking at SCC, but the people involved make up for it. They're very enthusiastic.

    Great for these types of students

    Figuring it out kids, unsure of what to do next. Lower income students.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering how low the tuition is it's very cost effective. Especially considering the many programs and classes offered.

    What to do for fun

    They have sport teams like any other school; football, baseball, basketball. Also, there are a lot of activities on the quad throughout the semester. Things like blood drives and rallies.

    Food and Dining

    They have a culinary building and classes and students can eat there. It's actually pretty good and also cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Community College. No dorms.

    In three sentences

    Overall it's a very nice stepping stone coming out of high school. Not everyone can afford or has the opportunity to go to a university and SCC is a perfect place to continue your education while planning ahead.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a bunch of emergency buttons everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Arty the Artichoke is their mascot. They have blood drives, baked goods drives, and school pride day in front of the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym, animal center and art gallery hall.

    Food and Dining

    The lines can be long to checkout and long to order tour food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a great advertising art program. Classmates very nice too.

    In three sentences

    Its a beautiful campus. The teachers are great and are very helpful. They also have a free tutoring center.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The college offers amazing campus life, extra-curriculum activities, as well as challenging coursework. Each and every professor in this college challenges and therefore helps their students become an expert at their studies. The campus is diverse and there is always something happening....

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus wide safety is top priority. Safety officers are everywhere when needed and always available whenever you are in need of a hand.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Film/Art students. The theater program is very nourishing and the instructors soon become family in either of these fields in relation to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is an artichoke. Enough Said.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than you every can as an entry level student/freshman. I worked with top of the line equipment under the film track the first semester and the softwares and programs available to you are state of the art and always up to date.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs and make friends for a lifetime. And if you want to read there are countless personal benches scattered about campus under trees for some quiet time.

    Food and Dining

    Food is like any other university/college, fast and greasy. But Scottsdale does offer a healthier section with fresh salads and sandwiches.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work varies from instructor to instructor but nothing is ever handed to you so make sure you seize every opportunity to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you don't get it at first. But the moment you find who you are, hold on tight and chase down every opportunity.

    In three sentences

    It is a great environment for students willing to explore. If you don't know what you want to do just yet with your life you will discover that at Scottsdale Community College. The Teachers greet you with open arms and are just as excited about your dreams as you are.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many security guards that roam the campus as well as a Police Officer. They are friendly and knowledgeable about the campus. There are never any dangers on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played football and there are other athletic teams on campus. Many clubs are being formed every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is an Artichoke. Once meant to embarrass the sports teams due to an unathletic dean. The Artichoke has been embraced now.

    Bang for the buck

    It was definitely affordable for in-state tuition. I received financial aid that paid for my classes.

    What to do for fun

    I played on the football team. The players would all hang out in the student center. That is about the only on campus thing that was entertaining. During homecoming week there were plenty of fun events.

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced and not very satisfying.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were as expected. They were not too hard but they were challenging enough to keep my attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a positive environment and small, one-on-one class sizes this College could be right for you. Make sure you know what you want to do, though, because the advisors weren't much help. Call the university you plan on transferring to so you can know what classes to take.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College has been a good experience for me in the two years I have been here. The teachers have all been excellent and willing to work with students. The only downfall was the lack of advisement I received and the classes that transfer to In-State Universities.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college really is the smart option. A smart investment is buying low and selling high. You will get a great education for the lowest price. Scottsdale also has plenty of transfer scholarship options to continue your education on top of their already stellar scholarship opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    My mom makes great dinner! Haha! There is nearby fast food and other restaurants you can stop by in between classes. The cafeteria on campus is kind of overpriced so I try to avoid it when I can.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    i would not call Scottsdale easy or hard. It is fair. You really get out of it what you put into it. There are certainly harder and easier professors as well as harder and easier subjects, but that is all up to the person. The difficulty is relative. If you want to do well, you will succeed. They have many opportunities across campus such as the writing center for help and tutoring. I would say most if not all of my teachers would be more than willing to meet after class to help me out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on in. Take a tour. See the grounds. Talk to the students. Scottsdale offers a fantastic honors scholarship program that I took advantage of as soon as I started. Either by high school rankings or by testing high enough in the placement exams, you can be eligible for the President's scholarship. Study for the placement tests if your high school grades are not indicative of your work ethic. The $1200 two year scholarship can really help you focus your studies.

    In three sentences

    Deciding to go to Scottsdale Community College after I graduated high school was one of the best decisions I have ever made. SCC is not even the closest community college to my house! However, the great honors program, beautiful campus, and dedicated instructors have been more than enough reason to love the journey.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see security around so you do feel safe there. The campus is very open without closed in places.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to choose from to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Definately the cheapest way to go in Arizona.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of athletic events and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a campus student cafeteria which has basic foods like pizza and hamburgers as well as some healthy choices. There is also a Starbucks towards the back of the school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Basic courses like English and Math are very difficult, with lots of homework. There are tutoring labs so there is plenty of help. Be prepared to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to not to take too much your first semester. Get acquainted with the school first, and the teachers.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Scottsdale Community College. The campus is beautiful as well as small and intimate. Everyone has been very helpful from the welcome desk, to career counselors, financial aid and registration.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here even at nights. There are even emergent call buttons located around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club :)

    Food and Dining

    Really expinsive and not that tasty.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to save some fun classes till your last year and take a math every semester so your not stuck with a year of math. When talking to an adviser make sure they know what they are talking about. I highly recommend Fonda.

    In three sentences

    It is a great environment and all of the teachers seem to actually care and want to help you pass.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those that want an artistic career, or a career in sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all your general courses your first year of college. This will not only benefit you, but it will also be a way for you to decide exactly which career path to take. Talk to several counselors, and teachers, they are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    Scottsdale Community College, gives a very hands-on experience. The schedules are rather flexible and allow for a student to pick out classes that will best suit them. The programs are intensive and give leeway for job opportunities after graduation.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What should you do for fun is it up to you. They have a lot of options for you at the college. Many clubs, classes, and activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay here. Nothing too great in the cafeteria. The culinary school food is excellent though I would recommend that.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Scottsdale Community College. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes like math are the things that you have already learned in high with some added information. Many English and communication classes are quite a bit of writing. The biology classes are where I have to focus most of my energy because it is primarily memorization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that just because you get good grades in high school that it is going to come so naturally in college. Make sure you figure out what technique for studying is best for you. Study a lot and study often.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small, which is nice. Many of the staff are very friendly and easily approachable. Not that large of a school so the classes are not very far from each other.