Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Scripps College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a couple of groups of Scripps students. If you like to work out, party hard, and wear cute clothes, you'll find that crowd here for sure. Also the quieter but still interesting group of students who like things like Doctor Who and staying in to watch movies. There's a strong LGBTQ community here as well. And no matter what kind of woman you are, you definitely have to be a hard working student who likes to engage with course material and is okay with hanging out with girls almost all the time! Really, even though we're surrounded by four co-ed schools, Scripps women hang out a lot with other Scripps women.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before I came to college, I expected it to be the perfect fantasy world wistfully recalled by middle aged nonfiction writers and illustrated in an Asher Roth music video. But college is real life too, there are ups and downs and individual unique people who define your experience. With Scripps as with any college, things are never perfect. Just remember to get involved with 5C activities, be open to new experiences and people, and have fun! Take advantage of everything, you're paying for the five star gym and the advanced College and Career center, so go there!

    Bang for the buck

    I was awarded a merit scholarship (the James E. Scripps Scholarship) which covers half of my tuition plus room and board with a no loan guarantee. I am currently receiving almost $18,000 in grants from the college on top of the ~$24,000 scholarship because my particular need is high. If you're a good high school student, apply early for this opportunity! College is surprisingly affordable for me and my large family because of it! Even if you aren't awarded scholarships, they still do a very good job with financial aid. It's easy to write a letter to David Levy and explain extraneous circumstances that might not show up on paperwork, and after my family did they adjusted our award accordingly.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small community where you really get to meet a lot of people (for example, I know almost all of the other women who posted here on Cappex to review Scripps!) within the larger consortium that offers a greater veil of privacy. My classes are challenging, engaging, and fascinating. I don't give Scripps a perfect five stars because I sometimes wish I knew more boys and occasionally feel like I don't come from enough money to participate in the dominant Claremont culture. There are, however, great extracurricular and work opportunities on campus that are ripe for the picking!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes at Scripps (and all of the Claremont Colleges) are definitely a lot of work and require thoughtfulness and dedication. You will spend a considerable amount of time studying, reading, writing papers, and getting to know professors in office hours. The Core program is particularly challenging but in a fabulous mind opening way!

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety patrols campuses all the time. The most common crime is bicycle theft (lock your bikes), but I've heard of people leaving their laptops unattended in the library and finding them untouched upon returning.

    Greek Life

    There is a joke that says that Scripps is one big sorority, but there is not actually any Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    CLORGs range from Challah for Hunger and Women in Science to the Fine Cheese Club and Babes and Blankets.

    Great for these types of students

    nerdy, open minded, interested in learning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wednesday afternoon, Scripps students and faculty come out for afternoon tea. Another food tradition is Evening Snack (as opposed to midnight snack) on Tuesday nights. Other traditions include birthday (or half-birthday/quarter-birthday/your-friends-felt-like-it) fountainings and sunbathing on the quad whenever it hits about 70, which is often in Southern California.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but the Financial Aid department is wonderful and merit aid is available.

    What to do for fun

    The Claremont Village is just a 15-minute walk away, and has restaurants, shops, a movie theater, several frozen yogurt places, and a weekly Farmers' Market. There is rarely a lack of activity on campus, though. We have several a capella groups and comedy groups (Without a Box is my favorite) that put on regular shows. Big names (LMFAO, Taylor Swift, and John Legend come to mind) occasionally perform on campus as well. The Motley also often has local musicians playing. There are also a ton of CLORGs (Clubs and Organizations). I recommend joining the Dirigible Plums, the Claremont Colleges Quidditch Team. :)

    Food and Dining

    7 dining halls on 5 campuses. Competition definitely benefits the students. Check out Taco Tuesday at Pitzer, Muddgolian at Harvey Mudd, and sushi night at Scripps.

    Dorm Life

    Scripps routinely makes it on lists of colleges with dorms like palaces, and with good reason. Several of our dorms are historic landmarks, and our newest dorm is even more gorgeous. Over 90% of Scripps students live on campus all 4 years. That said, dorm bonding doesn't happen beyond your first year (if it happens then), so you might have to go out of your way to make friends with your neighbors. Still, Scripps is known as the quiet campus of the 5C's which makes getting some sleep before midterms a definite possibility.

    Academic Rigor

    Scripps is no Harvey Mudd on the rigor scale, but academics are far from easy. This is definitely a college to which one goes for learning, not for partying. I made most of my best friends while bonding over homework assignments and hanging out in office hours. Professors make themselves available for help and encourage group work. As one of my professors pointed out, very few papers are published by a single individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't discount Scripps just because it is a women's college. We do have students who identify as male and Harvey Mudd, CMC, Pitzer, and Pomona are just a short walk away if you still find the need for more testosterone. Definitely plan a visit. Take a tour. Spend a night in a dorm room. Sip on a Mexican Chai from the Motley in Seal Court. Eat an orange, or a kumquat, or a loquat off a tree. Talk to students. Really, come up to any Scrippsie and ask about Scripps. We love to chat with prospies and I promise that we'll be open and honest about our experience.

    In three sentences

    There is definitely a specific type of student who does well at Scripps College. This student is nerdy (and not necessarily in the Big Bang Theory sense), curious, and--most importantly--open to new ideas and new experiences. The required courses, such as those that fall under Core and Breath of Study, ensure that Scripps students are exposed to such ideas and experiences, and the involved and interested faculty are there to lead the way.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working Intellectual Cross-Disciplined

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax. The acceptance rate is low, but if you belong here, you'll end up here.

    Bang for the buck

    According to some big hats as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    How could you not?

    Am learning a lot

    Is there such a thing as learning too much?

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress yourself out about getting in, because if you are applying you are smart enough to get in! Make sure you keep up your academic drive once you are here.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is generously given at Scripps and they are very understanding of every situation and try to accommodate you accordingly.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here, even though I am really far away from home. I have made my own home and family of friends who are here to support me.

    Am learning a lot

    It is definitely challenging here, but they offer you help every step of the way if you fall behind such as free tutors, mentors, and helpful professors.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I became more outgoing after I came to Scripps. I was always pretty focused, but I learned how to follow through on my ambitions more when I got here. So, if you are already the outgoing/ambitious type, then I think you are golden and should definitely look into Scripps!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. The college process is competitive, but know that you are more than your academics and SAT scores. Share as much about who you are as you can. Be a person and not just an applicant.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you make your college experience what you want it to be, regardless of its financial cost. Scripps provides many useful tools to aid you in building this experience. I recommend taking advantage of all its opportunities. Join a club, apply for a research grant, become a peer mentor or tutor--whatever you want, make it happen.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are always activities and events that bring us together as a community, whether its the weekly tradition of Scripps Tea in Seal Court or listening to a live-band performance at the Motley Coffeehouse. The Scripps environment is definitely an open and welcoming one.

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred to Scripps in my second year of college not entirely knowing what I wanted to study. After dabbling in some introductory courses in subjects of interest, I finally found a major that worked for me--Media Studies. The department is an intercollegiate one, which granted me access to the media professors at the other Claremont Colleges. I appreciate that Scripps allows you to pursue your interests on its campus and beyond--it is truly an awesome opportunity.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a serious student, but also like to have fun, Scripps is the place for you. Everyone here seems to know how to balance work and play fairly well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the college. It may sway your mind, and at the very least, it's a VERY pretty place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Scripps ended up being cheaper than the state university I was accepted to. The classes are also fantastic, so I am very satisfied.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous, the classes & professors are great, and the students are friendly. I'm not the best people person, and I've made plenty of friends. My group of friends here is actually larger than it was in high school. We may not be as close as I am with my friends from high school, but it's only 2 months into my freshman year.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A young woman who loves to be nerdy, vibrant, or basically herself, is ideal for Scripps College. She is one who cannot necessarily make up her mind about what she wants to study, but she knows she loves to do a lot (let's face it many Scrippsies are known to be overachievers!) and she knows she wants to make a difference in the world. At Scripps, those wants become tangible realities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I visited the website when I was a prospie, and I was intrigued. But to truly experience Scripps, you must visit the physical campus. The moment I stepped on that campus, I fell in love.

    Bang for the buck

    The Scripps College environment, from the beauty of the landscaping and architecture to the vast diversity of the people you meet, is worth so much more than you'd ever dream.

    Am enjoying being here

    There truly is no place quite like the Claremont Colleges. Yes, Scripps College is a women's college, but it is like no other. Scripps College is one of five undergraduate liberal arts colleges in the Claremont Consortium. Scripps student life blends together with each of the other college campuses: Harvey Mudd, Pitzer, Claremont McKenna, and Pomona. While you are nurtured and empowered at a small women's college, you simultaneously get the experience and resources that come with a large university.

    Am learning a lot

    Scripps College has a three semester Core program in which first years and sophomores learn about the limitations of definitions, debate about human nature and difference, and question the terms of modern society. The core program unites the freshWOmen class through intellectual and philosophical discussions that continue even beyond the classroom walls. Scripps College is also part of the Joint Science Department in which students from Claremont McKenna, Scripps, and Pitzer Colleges attend science lectures and labs, engage in collaborative study, and get the opportunity to research with faculty members. All professors I have had the pleasure to learn from have been friendly, approachable, passionate about their field, and always willing to make themselves available during office hours.

  • 10/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It’s hard to pin down a Scripps student, because such diverse personalities thrive within these walls. If I had to: A Scripps student is someone who excels at academics, but is interested too in the practical and compassionate application of knowledge (often through community service and activism). Scrippsies are multi-talented individuals who seek to take advantage of the myriad of opportunities available (about 65% study abroad, and many apply for prestigious awards, like Fulbright, many complete internships on and off-campus, some even teach zumba and pilates at the field house!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be passionate! Find the things you love, and cultivate those interests. It’s your passion that will make you stand out from other high-achieving students and mark you as someone who will benefit from Scripps’ energy. Remember- it’s ok to hold two vastly different passions within yourself. Scripps can appreciate a student that is interested in pre-med and dance, or language and studio art, or athletics and gender studies.

    Bang for the buck

    With the amount of financial aid I received from Scripps (both merit and need-based), the college became more affordable than my state flagship universities. While our aid is notable, Scripps also offers amazing resources through our Career Planning & Resources office, so that students graduate with the confidence, skills and resumes to find jobs with our fabulous liberal arts degrees.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming back to Scripps after being abroad for a semester and away for the summer, I really felt as if I were coming back home. I love living in the dorms, because I get the sense that I’m living with my best friends. I can walk to the dining hall alone, and 90% of the time I will just happen to find friends with whom to eat. Having the other campuses around for social events on the weekend is great, and I really enjoy the dance parties at Harvey Mudd and Pomona, but I also am glad to have the amazing women’s college environment at Scripps—a space where I can critically analyze institutions of privilege and power over tea… and then talk about the latest episode of Glee.

    Am learning a lot

    There are so many opportunities to learn at Scripps—inside my classes, at the many workshops and speaker events, and through my jobs and internships. There are so many interesting classes here, and as a senior I lament the fact that I’m running out of time to take them! I wound up with two minors purely by accident. I took classes that interested me and, voila, I found myself steps away from two different minors in addition to my self-designed major! The chance to study outside of Scripps, in Copenhagen, Denmark, had me learning 24/7 as I lived with a host-family.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none, but i love that.

    Bang for the buck

    i've had a great experience at scripps.

    What to do for fun

    scripps is what you make of it. there are hundreds of on-campus organizations to get involved in, movie theaters, small shops around the claremont village, parties every weekend at one of the 5 colleges, and all the big southern california attractions within a few hours' drive: disneyland, hollywood,santa monica pier, etc.

    Food and Dining

    when i was in high school i toured a lot of colleges and i can fairly say that scripps' food is by far the best dining hall food i've ever had, followed closely by wellesley and ucla:-)

    Dorm Life

    scripps isn't crackin when it comes to the social aspect of dorm life, but that's something that our hall directors are working on. it's definitely a great place to study and live (it's always quiet) and oh so very beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    i have friends at ivy leagues whose classes aren't nearly as rigorous as ours are. the classes will challenge you intellectually, but the professors and students create a supportive community that makes the rigor a little more bearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and ask to do an overnight stay, there's no better way to get a feeling of the college. if you book an overnight stay, the admissions office will provide you with free meals, coupons to the motley coffeehouse (our very own student run coffeehouse, where all the cool kids go) and oh so much love.

    In three sentences

    scripps will challenge you to grow academically, personally and politically. i wouldn't be who i am today if it weren't for the people i met and the education i received here.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very, very few instances of crime at Scripps . They tend to be limited to petty theft or vandalism, and even this is mostly at either Claremont McKenna College or Pomona College. Campus Safety is always surveying the area and there are blue lights all around the 5Cs. If you ever feel unsafe on campus, say at night when walking back from the library, you may use one of the many blue lights to alert Campus Security. They will immediately be notified of your location and will arrive promptly. Theyâ??ll even give you a ride back to your dorm if you want, though people only use this â??serviceâ?? when they are feeling particularly lazy. Also, all the dorms are only accessible via swipe card (your ID card) access and there is always an R.A. on duty in case of an emergency. I personally always feel safe on campus, even when I'm out late at night.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Scripps, though there are some (maybe two?) at Pomona College that are very low key. However, there is generally a 5C party every Saturday, the quality ones being at Harvey Mudd College (quantity at Claremont McKenna College). These are a lot of fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is tradition at the 5Cs called â??fountainingâ??. Many people are â??fountainedâ?? or dunked in one of the 5Csâ?? numerous fountains on their birthdays. This tradition is however not widely practiced at Scripps (mostly at Claremont McKenna College and Pomona College and their respective fountains).

    Food and Dining

    The Claremont Colleges share many facilities amongst themselves, dining halls included. There are seven dining halls in total, one at each of the Claremont Colleges (Pomona College however has three dining halls, one of them being the Oldenborg Center, which also serves as a residence hall.). As a Scripps student, you may eat at any of the seven dining halls, save for Oldenborg, which is only open during the weekdays at lunch (for the residents who live there, to practice their language with their peers; this is required of all Oldenborg residents). All of them are very decent, however, Elizabeth Hubert Malott Commons (Scripps' dining hall) is generally recognized as one of the better dining halls. There is always a fresh salad bar and pizza in the oven at meals (save for at breakfast for obvious reasons). Organic, vegetarian, and vegan options are also always available, but McConnell Bistro (Pitzer's dining hall) tends to have better options. Malott is busiest during its weekly sushi nights and steak nights, which are generally considered its best meals. The sushi and steak are both rather mediocre in my opinion, but very decent considering its dining hall food. I have had friends visit from other colleges, and they told me the food at Malott is amazing in comparison to the food served at their dining halls. What Malott lacks is creativity â?? the food is actually quite alright, but the menu is rather repetitive. You can almost predict the menu sometimes â?? burger and fries, quesadillas and grilled chicken, pizza, sweet potatoes and pork roast, something weird in the â??Internationalâ?? section, cookies and frozen yogurtâ?¦ and etcetera. If you are curious what options are available to 5C students, I recommend checking out the Five-College Menu (it is maintained by a current student, though he does not go to Scripps for obvious reasons): http://www.mikemaltese.com/5cmenu/.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Scripps are considered to be the nicest out of all the dorms at the Claremont Colleges. Most upperclassmen live in either singles or suites (they range from three-person to four-person to five-person to seven-person), and most if not all students live on campus. Scripps takes great pride in maintaining the architectural integrity of the college and the dorms are well kept by the maintenance staff. All dorms have central heating and the newer dorms have central air conditioning as well. The older dorms are Ellen Browning Hall, Susan Miller Dorsey Hall, Grace Scripps Clark Hall, and Eleanor Joy Toll Hall. They are known for their charm and many students prefer to live in them rather than the newer dorms. The newer dorms are Frankel Hall/Mary Routt Hall, Kimberly Hall/Wilbur Hall, and Gabrielle Jungels-Winkler Hall. Kimberly Hall and Gabrielle Jungels-Winkler Hall are generally considered the least and most desirable dorms, respectfully. Where you live depends on an annual event called Hall Draw, a lottery process that is generally a hot mess every year. That said, most students walk away from it happy with their assignments. Some students choose to live off-campus in nearby apartment complexes or even at the other 5Cs via the Five College Exchange. Additionally, a few sophomore students and upperclassmen live in the Oldenborg Center, the foreign language residence hall at Pomona College. The selection process to live in Oldenborg is competitive and applicants must demonstrate knowledge of Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Russian, or Spanish.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is what you make of it. You can take the average course load of four class or you can take five or more classes. The difficulty you will have really depends on how hard your classes are (and also if they come with lab), whether you are committed to extracurricular activities (and also how many), and whether you also have work study. Some students choose to challenge themselves and take four difficult classes (chemistry, etc.). Other students take four easy classes (anthropology, etc.), but choose to engage themselves in a number of extracurricular and outside activities, such as intermural sports or an internship in Los Angeles. Either way, Scripps students are typically overinvolved and I have never met anyone who had a truly â??boringâ?? or â??easyâ?? schedule. Nevertheless, I find that most Scripps students can easily find a good balance between work and play. It should be noted that the professors at Scripps and the Claremont Colleges are excellent. They are always willing to help students, but communication is key. If you take the initiative to attend office hours before exams and send emails when absent, you will get a lot out of the small liberal arts college experience. Classes tend to be small (anywhere from five to twenty-five students, though introductory science classes tend to have more, say about fifty students), so expect to get to know your professors and classmates fairly well. Your participation or lack thereof will be noticed!

    Tips for prospective students

    In terms of admissions, Scripps generally does not take in many prospective transfer students. However, prospective first year students with strong academic transcripts and meaningful extracurricular activities are generally seriously considered for admission. I recommend being meticulous when filling out forms and supplements. Also, stellar letters of recommendation from teachers, coaches, and/or peers who know you well should help. The more interest you show in the college, the more likely you will be seriously considered for admission. If you have the option to visit Claremont, do it. If you have the option to schedule an interview, do it. Scripps offers hour-long campus tours five (sometimes six during the fall season when there is an influx of prospective students) days a week, as well as the option to schedule an â??overnightâ?? stay with a student hostess. Additionally, special events such as Preview Week (for prospective students) and Spend a Day in Our Shoes (for admitted students) are also available. Take advantage of these resources that are generally not offered at larger universities! They are a great insight into the academic, dorm, and overall social life at Scripps. A visit, especially an overnight, will help you decide whether Scripps is the right place for you. On the whole, show Scripps that you are truly a perfect fitâ?? â?? a strong young woman who will flourish in a rigorous academic and vibrant social environment.

    In three sentences

    Scripps College is the women's college of the Claremont Colleges, a consortium of five undergraduate colleges and two graduate colleges in southern California. Scripps offers Bachelor of Arts degrees in the liberal arts and sciences, and has a unique Core program in the humanities. The Claremont Colleges share athletic and dining facilities; additionally, cross-enrollment in classes at Pomona College, Claremont McKenna College, Pitzer College, and Harvey Mudd College is common for many Scripps students.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all female students who want to explore their options for a future career.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is expensive, don't worry about the money because most students receive financial aid and scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will learn because the teachers are passionate about what they teach.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that at Scripps College you will learn about because really care about your education.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is of great importance to the college. There are blue light security stations everywhere one goes as well as campus safety officers constantly patrolling the campus, though it is incredibly rare for a student to feel unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is not an official Greek Life on campus yet there is always something fun to do throughout the week as well as the weekend, ranging from a trip to the beach, listening to a concert or attending a party at a neighboring college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of great clubs and activities which are open to students with all interests and hobbies.

    Great for these types of students

    Scripps College is fit for all students because of its understanding and accepting community. As long as one is willing to be open minded then Scripps is the perfect school.

    Bang for the buck

    Though tuition is challenging the support I receive from my professors, tutors, writing support centers and state of the art equipped science laboratories are well worth the financial sacrifices.

    What to do for fun

    When I am not supporting the various athletics, a short walk to the village or sun bathing at the spa-like pool on campus is right on top on my long activities list.

    Food and Dining

    The only thing that makes me late for class is lingering at the dinning hall. The incredible variety makes it difficult for anyone not to linger at the scrumptious daily buffets.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are spacious and beautiful on the inside and out. The historical Spanish architecture and gardens are breathtaking.

    Academic Rigor

    Though classes are strenuous the camaraderie between students and faculty is thoroughly supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting is a must, so one can experience first hand this frequently described paradise.

    In three sentences

    Scripps continues to be an experience I will treasure. After only my first year I feel that I've already been accepted into this diverse and nurturing community. I feel proud and obligated to carry on these traditions I have come to love at this prestigious college.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I live in beautiful GJW and I have a giant walk-in closet, a nice and long sink space, and large floor space where I can do four giant leaps. I'd say it's even nicer than my room back home.

    Academic Rigor

    The humanities classes at Scripps are usually discussion-based with around 12-15 students per class. Sometimes classes like ECON51 or ECON52 may be larger, but usually no more than 25 people. My favorite thing about classes at Scripps is that professors give us space to learn, by letting us facilitate classroom discussions and work on creative projects. I love the individualized attention I get from my professors. Classes are challenging and people do bomb their papers or exams once in a while, but individualized feedback from professors and extra credit opportunities do make up for it. Scripps also has a wonderful tutoring program that pays qualified students to tutor their peers. My econ tutor actually became one of closest friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. It is okay (actually better) to take different kinds of classes before deciding on a major. I took Intro to Legal Studies during my second semester of freshman year and loved it! Now I'm dual-majoring in Economics and Legal studies. 2. Visit all different kinds of colleges. Scripps is a wonderful school, but it is not the school for everyone. Come visit our campus and schedule an interview if possible. Remember, college admission is a mutually-selective process. 3. Join clubs and attend on-campus events! There's always something for everyone at Scripps and the 5Cs, such as Salsa night, speed-dating mixer, movie night, karaoke night, beach volleyball tournament, and CMS (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps) vs PP (Pomona-Pitzer) sports games.

    In three sentences

    At Scripps, we live and learn in a tight-knit community where we share our experiences and make meaningful connections with others. I feel very lucky to be surrounded by not only independent and self-motivated students at Scripps, but also other wonderful students from the 5Cs. I wouldn't trade my academic and social experience at Scripps for anything--it is truly unique and I've learned and grown so much since my first year!

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always on the lookout. their little golf carts are constantly roaming the grounds and keeping us safe. also there are many blue-lit emergency posts all over the place. no matter when or where the emergency, you'll be covered.

    Greek Life

    there isn't a very large sorority/fraternity presence on campus. i'm not even sure if there's one at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club fair where you can go through all the tables of all the groups in the opening months of school. there is everything from skiing to photography to humans vs. zombies to ballroom dancing to charity groups. there's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    studious respectful thoughtful genuine happy students with many interests students who have interests in travel

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in the opening orientation week, each school hosts a party on a separate night so that everyone from every school gets acquainted with their new home. it's wonderful. harvey mudd is the place to be for hangouts, though. they have the craziest courtyards and plenty of fun toys to mess with.

    Bang for the buck

    it certainly gives you all you asked for. a wonderful home, a welcoming part-time family, interesting classes, wonderful teachers, a reasonable work load, a plethora of options, and plenty of convenience and communication within the community. i'm proud to be a scrippsie.

    What to do for fun

    go into the village! there are so many awesome shops to browse around in the village. it's less than a mile walk and well worth it. things close a little early, but plenty to do during the day and many of the shops accept claremont cash, the in-school money system that works off of our school ids.

    Food and Dining

    if you're ever tired of your dining hall, there are four others to choose from! but past that, each campus has school stores and cafes to go to if you need a snack, a hangout spot, or a late-night snack. they've got you covered.

    Dorm Life

    everyone is extremely friendly, pleasant, and courteous. oftentimes i find myself suddenly being invited to tag along with groups of girls i barely know because they see i'm not doing anything. everyone is looking out for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    for the most part work is extremely manageable, so long as you choose classes you enjoy and don't overload yourself. don't worry, you get into the groove of things very easily and teachers are understanding :]

    Tips for prospective students

    ask in-depth about the how the 5 claremont colleges interact with each other and what life is like as part of the 5c's. i would suggest doing an over-night, taking a tour, and sitting in on a class while you are looking at the school. however, if sitting in on a class isn't convenient, then just make sure to encourage your host to take you around to get to know the social life in the dorms. moderate sat scores are okay. you'll do fine. acceptance is all in the essay and how intriguing you are to them. scripps is looking for promising young women, so just emphasize why that describes you.

    In three sentences

    scripps is an incredibly engaging and inspirational place. the people are intriguing and the landscape and architecture is awe-worthy. when i walked onto the campus for the first time, i already felt like i was home.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Normally, there's nothing to worry about in the safe town of Claremont.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Great for these types of students

    - both liberals and conservatives - those who enjoy peace and quiet - those who can afford the bill - those who aren't super picky - those who enjoy learning - artsy folks

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wednesday tea. ^.^ (fair trade coffee/tea at Motley anytime, any day)

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Claremont Village-- dining, shopping, etc. A lot of parks around-- natural greenery and such.

    Food and Dining

    Average.

    Dorm Life

    If you're straight, it's convenient not to have guys around to distract you. (Of course, you'll see them in classes and whatnot.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid slacking off during senior year or during the summer. This doesn't necessarily mean reading dull, monotonous books that are incomprehensible to you. Find what you enjoy and dive into that subject area.

    In three sentences

    The beauty of the campus is overrated. The convenience of the 5C's will probably save my life. If you're looking for a small campus with large dorms, and aren't worried about the cost, this is a suitable choice for you.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! Campus security is patrolling the grounds at all times and there are a ton of blue light emitting emergency phones everywhere. Scripps is also a very quiet campus, so after all the partying and hullabaloo on other campuses, you can come home to a quiet, clean campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life whatsoever, but there are highly spirited clubs across all the 5 C's and unofficial frats that host weekly parties. Plus, the schools (Pitzer and CMC) provide money for the parties, especially the alcohol part.

    Clubs and Activities

    A 5C club rush is held during the first or second month of school and there are tons of clubs to join, most being very serious and dedicated to their cause. Clubs help students have something to do and explore their campus and the surroundings. Activities are held all the time, whether it be dorm activities or 5 C parties.

    Great for these types of students

    Scripps is great for those truly interested in a liberal arts education full of philosophy, intense reading, critical thinking, essay writing, etc. It's also great for those who feel comfortable with women and women who are trying to figure out their sexuality. The women here are very supportive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Matriculation at the beginning of the year for freshman is a welcoming ceremony, a classy affair under a huge tent with classy food. Also signing the official book as an incoming student is a tradition held inside the Denison library. Other traditions are the Eurotrash party as well as 2 other parties that I cannot recall at the moment.

    Bang for the buck

    The class sizes are definitely the bang for the buck, with classes at Scripps being at most 15-20 students on average. Also the food and course offerings. With these small class sizes though, most are forced to take courses off campus on the other 5 C's campuses, so be prepared to interact with other students from other colleges. Also, sometimes I feel like my tuition is going towards most of the parties, but it's Scripps, so I don't think that's a huge issue.

    What to do for fun

    Claremont isn't much of a happening town. The village is a student favorite for its cute shops, mostly catered to the elderly of the town. Prices aren't student-tailored either, so be prepared to join the zip car program or bring your own car or rely on public transport to go to the nearest Target or shopping mall. For fun, there are parties held literally every week except finals on every campus starting Wednesday nights. The usual parties are PUB (Wednesday nights at Pomona's DOM lounge , an underground room with some DJ spinning some tunes and a keg of beer and Thursdays, CMC's TNC (thursday night club) sometimes open to all 5 c's)

    Food and Dining

    Mallott Commons, Scripps' dining hall, is ok. You tend to get sick of it after a while. It's mostly catered to vegans/vegetarians/allergy people. If you're looking for meat, this isn't the place. The much hyped about cookies also begin to lose their charm. Overall, it's much better than other colleges' food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Scripps have their unique, authentic style with blooming courtyards and old interior fixtures. The common rooms as well as browsing rooms are a sight to see. Some dorms are huge while others are forced doubles, but no worries! Air conditioning only exists in two/three dorms and heating is available in all I believe, but some do not work while others like mine create a sauna like feel. RA's are ok for just general help, but when it goes to personal issues, I suggest students take it straight to the hall director, because RA's are students as well and do not have time to deal with personal issues (from my experience). Also, automatic roommate pairing first semester of freshman year is pretty off, they pair you with your opposite (only bad part) and trying to switch rooms/roommates is ind of a hassle with the whole chain of command you have to go through, especially the Assosciate Dean of Students, who isn't much of a fan favorite.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here are difficult, I am not going to lie. Competition does exist between peers, but it is friendly competition. The CORE classes are basically the liberal arts driven courses and require a lot of philosophical thinking, critical thinking, and a lot of essay writing as well as reading. If you are a science major like me, then the Keck Science building will be your new home. Overall, the consortium style education give you a chance to try courses at the other 5 C's and even the option to create your own major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to highlight your contributions to your community as well as all of the extra-curricular activities you have participated in. Scripps admission loves to see uniqueness and not just the commonly done things. Also emphasize your passion for liberal arts and why you have chosen to attend a hidden gem like Scripps and especially, why a women's college.

    In three sentences

    Scripps is a challenging institution that offers a variety of options through the Claremont Colleges consortium. The campus, dorms, and people are beautiful. Scripps provides the true liberal arts education experience with skilled faculty and many opportunities.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always roaming around in the golf carts looking out for students. I have always felt safe here at Scripps.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many historically significant places on campus. There is a rose garden that blooms beautiful flowers in the spring that students can cut off and place in their rooms.

    Bang for the buck

    Great resources and opportunities at the 5C's.

    What to do for fun

    There is something for everyone to do for fun. On weekends there are a lot of 5C parties and events. If parties aren't your thing, there are many other 5C events that are plenty of fun. Trips into Claremont Village are also popular and really great!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! You have over 5 dining halls to choose from so you never really get bored. Scripps food is one of the best, so you're in good hands!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing and beautiful, but recently, they've been running out of dorm space and have been placing underclassmen into forced doubles and triples (rooms that were originally singles and doubles).

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Scripps are very challenging and it seems that there are no easy A's. That being said, the classes are very rewarding and you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a challenge. Come with an open mind and work hard! Also, make sure you know how to balance school work and fun at the 5C's.

    In three sentences

    Scripps is one of five colleges in a consortium. It has the resources of five schools, which is amazing. It is a challenging school but is padded by a supportive community.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 people found this inaccurate. 18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The illusion of the small town of Claremont makes you feel safe, but there are problems on campus like everywhere. You need to be careful whereever you attend school. You can't fall under the illusion that you are safe anywhere.

    Greek Life

    They don't have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    No one has time.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious and hardworking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No sports. They have dress up dinners and weekly teas.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive and there is very little financial help available. They claim they will help you, but it has been impossible to find a job. Students that are on work study seem to be able to find some assistance, but the financial aid office is useless. I was shocked at how little the man that runs the financial aid department cares. Once he learned I was not a financial aid student and one that had to find a way to pay the tuition myself he had no suggestions. I will have enormous debt when I leave Scripps. All scholarships available on campus are need based. There isn't one scholarship that is available to a students that are not on financial assistance. This has been a HUGE disappointment to my family. We were sure that we would qualify for some financial assistance, we have received ZERO help from the college. Be extremely careful. $57,000 a year is a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    I tutor children who are under served in the community. I also do unpaid research on campus. Hanging out with friends and going into town is about all you have time for.

    Food and Dining

    Over the top GREAT!!! I don't think you will find better. There are options for anyone with special needs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and the options are varied. It has worked out well. The maintence is lacking, but I think that is true everywhere. The cleaning staff leaves a lot to be desired....showers and bathrooms need assistance. Air conditioning and mold seem to be a problem in the older buildings....check this out carefully. The college also leads you to believe you will be housed at Scripps. They over commit to the number of students that apply because the drop out rate is HIGH. Ask a lot of questions. Changing room mates is complicated and a ridiculous process.

    Academic Rigor

    Advanced and appropriate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful. You have to really be sure that the school you apply to within the 5 CMC schools has the classes you are interested in. Don't buy into the line that they give you that taking classes at the five CMC colleges is easy and a great value. It is impossible to get classes at CMC if you attend another school within the group of colleges. It is an illusion. You have to really be aggressive and it is virtually impossible if you are not a Claremont McKenna Student to take classes there. Disappointing for $57,000 a year. The summer does provide opportunities that aren't there in the typical school year.

    In three sentences

    The food is great! The opportunity to do undergraduate research is amazing. The professors and students are top notch. I have met lots of students from the different schools and they are people who want to help change the world for the better.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of fun things to do at Scripps. On nice sunny days, many Scripps students head over to the Tiernan Field House, our gym, to swim, tan, and hang out with friends. Many of us also take a walk to the village to shop in the vintage shops or go eat frozen yoghurt.

    Food and Dining

    One thing Scripps students bond about is the amazing food we eat. Scripps has an amazing salad bar, grill, international, and dessert station! I have a made to order omelet every day in Mallot Commons,the dining hall. Imagine having warm freshly baked chocolate chip cookies every night with vanilla ice cream on top! Yes, that is my dessert about four days out of the week. The food I eat here is definitely some of the best!

    Dorm Life

    I think Scripps does a great job at matching people with who they are going to live with for a year, which really helped coming in. I formed great friendships with my sister's roommates as well as my own roommate. I also loved all the dorm bonding activities like decorating your own pumpkin during Halloween. I had a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    I think Scripps is very rigorous, but that is what I love about it. Every class I have taken so far has challenged my way of thinking in a positive way. Teachers encourage you to speak your mind during discussion, and all perspectives are appreciated.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that prospective students spend a day at Scripps to get a feel for the college life. I also suggest going to a class about a subject that interests them.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Scripps College! Everyone is very dedicated to their academics, but they are also very involved. Professors inspire me to work harder, and I love every class despite the rigor.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety are very helpful. They are not looking to get anybody in trouble, they just want to make sure everybody is safe. I think there actual purpose is to contain any debauchery so the actual police don't have to get involved and give bad press to the consortium...works for me! Camp sec with also give you a ride home at any point in the night if you don't feel safe walking home :)

    Greek Life

    No greek life at Scripps. There are a few 'frats' at Pomona, but they are more like clubs than a traditional fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS OF CLUB. Scripps is also really great about planning sponsored outings and activities for students--everything from paddle boarding to going to the L.A. county state fair.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are driven, but also enjoy having a good time. The Claremont Colleges consists of very happy students who want to go far in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Motley is the student-run coffee house on campus. People visit it religiously. Its a great place to study or hang out, and the baristas are awesome. The menu is also KILLER.

    Bang for the buck

    Scripps is pretty pricey, but you definitely get a lot for your money. Even though my education is expensive, I wouldn't trade it for anything. There are lots of options for scholarships too that are worth looking into.

    What to do for fun

    There is a club for anything, and if there isn't--you can make one. Relaxing on campus is also a favorite of students; the sun is almost always out and each campus has its own beautiful and unique style. Being in Southern California also provides a lot of options for your free time. You can go to the beach, go to the city, or go the mountains. Also, the party scene at the 5C's is bumpin!

    Food and Dining

    Great food and so many different options! The mexican food is to die for at any of the dining halls. There are also 7 different dining halls to choose along with other non-dining hall options on each campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are really awesome here at Scripps. Housing is guaranteed, but I have had friends who have been forced to live off campus in an apartment due to lack of space. It is really nice that the majority of students at the Claremont Colleges live on campus because it provides a very communal feel throughout the campuses. Everybody is on campus so there are so many different kinds of on-campus events that have a high attendance because it is convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is expected from a Scripps student. Especially with all the General Education requirements, students need to be able to academically step out of their comfort zone to understand fields they may not be as familiar with. Students are also pushed within their major for high achievements. With that being said, it is also possible to work hard and thrive here while also maintaining a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be a Scripps student, you don't need to be the smartest or best student, you just need to be a well-rounded student. Scripps likes Renaissance women with many talents and that are not afraid to try new things. It is a beautiful campus with a collection of beautiful people, inside and out.

    In three sentences

    Scripps is an incredible institution in an incredible location. I have learned more than I ever expected in the past two years. Being outside LA and also being situated in the consortium are essential parts of the many opportunities offered to a woman as a Scripps student.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our major crime is bike theft, but if you lock your bike or secure it in one of Scripps' swipe-access bike sheds, you should be fine. Campus Safety is open and active 24/7, and they always pick up promptly if you call. Their main concern is your safety, and you can see them patrolling at all hours in their golf carts or white jeeps.

    Greek Life

    We don't have greek life, and I love it that way. I think the social scene is much more open and welcoming than it would be otherwise, and you can meet new people through clubs, classes, and friends.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a number of various types of people who thrive at Scripps College. The common denominator is usually a passion for something, but what that something is ranges throughout the student body, and even within individual students. Someone can say that they're a pre-med science major with a dance or art minor, and it is more common than you would expect. Scripps is a liberal arts college, so students are exposed to a wide variety of topics throughout their 4 years and can discover new passions this way.

    Bang for the buck

    Scripps offers merit scholarships, in addition to need-based financial aid, and now all applicants are considered for these scholarships. I am a James E. Scripps scholar, and the New Generation scholarship is an incredibly generous opportunity for first-generation college students.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much going on at the 5C's (the 5 Claremont Colleges) that you can't possibly do everything you would like to. From instructional dance nights (from Ballroom to Beyonce) to DJ'd parties in the parking garage, there are social events for every taste. One of the great aspects of being part of the consortium is the expanded social scene (yes, you can meet men), so it doesn't feel too small or too big. It can also be fun to explore the different social scenes at each of the other four colleges. The Claremont Village is just a short walk away, and a great college town. There are some thrift shops and small stores in town, but with a car, you can get to the three large shopping malls in the area, or you can take the metro into LA. The Student Activities Office also runs regular (free!) trips to the beach, and heavily discounted trips to Disneyland and shows at the Pantages Theater.

    Food and Dining

    Students at Scripps have access to all 7 dining halls (plus a handful of cafes, coffee shops, and snack places) of the Claremont Consortium, and because the various schools have to pay each other when their students eat elsewhere, there is an economic competition between the schools to have the best food. The students reap the benefits. Steak, sushi, salmon, stir-fry, custom pasta, smoothies... we really eat well here. The dining halls also make an effort to provide vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, and allergy-free options, and to label any potential hazards (nuts, shellfish, etc) in the foods.

    Dorm Life

    Our residence hallsare beautiful and really comfortable places to live. I love that people generally respect the quiet hours (10:00pm on school nights, 1:00 am on weekends) so that you can get some sleep, but there are always activities, study groups, cooking, and other things going on during the day.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't give Scripps 5/5 because (like anywhere), there are some courses which are easier than others. However, there are many, many courses which will push you out of your comfort zone, but if you're interested in the subject, you'll be happy to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scripps has a holistic admissions process, so show them what you're passionate about!

    In three sentences

    I can't imagine being anywhere else. From the great weather, food, and facilities to the enthusiastic and available professors, Scripps understands that healthy, happy students are better students. My time so far has been engaging and filled with opportunities.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I stay at the library until it closes at 1am and walk to my dorm on the other end of campus. I've never felt unsafe at the 5Cs, and campus safety officers/blue lights are everywhere. If I left my backpack and a plate of muffins on the kitchen table in my dorm, I'd be more worried about the muffins.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Such a huge variety! Across the 5C's, there's really something for everyone. People here unicycle, bake challah, surf, snowboard--basically anything you could imagine.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, passionate about gender equality (equal pay for equal work!), collaborative. Self-motivated. Scripps is especially perfect for someone who likes the idea of a supportive network of women, but isn't necessarily sure about women's colleges and worries she'd be giving up some aspect of a typical college experience. One of the best ways I can describe Scripps is that it gives you the best of both worlds. it's like living in a women's dorm on a co-ed campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Take a look at the Graffiti Wall and cut roses from the Rose garden at the northern end of campus. There's Sunday night snack, Tuesday night snack, and Wednesday Tea (whoever thinks girls don't eat as much as guys has yet to visit a women's college).

    What to do for fun

    Most parties happen off campus. This is how Scripps dorms stay beautiful, quiet, and clean. Scripps does have a lot of other fun, non-party events on-campus though, and we hear about them from a weekly email that SAS (Scripps Associated Students) sends to every student. A lot of students are involved in a cappella and ballroom dancing, and intramural sports are pretty popular (Scripps has innertube water polo and Quidditch, alongside the more traditional options). Twice a year, there's a massive, 5C game of Humans versus Zombies.

    Food and Dining

    Students can have meals at any of the 5C dining halls. There are seven across the campuses, so lots of choices. The menus are all posted online. There are also smaller grab-and-go types of places--I think one or two on each campus. Scripps's Motley Coffeehouse is an amazing place to study, work, and relax. It has the perfect college-coffeehouse vibe--exposed brick walls, a stage at the front for student performances, plenty of comfy chairs and sofas, and a super-friendly student staff. My favorite drink is a chai tea latte with honey.

    Dorm Life

    In my experience the dorms are quiet, beautiful, and clean. Honestly, there's not much more you could ask for from a college living space. Every dorm has a living room (with a piano and fireplace), kitchen, interior courtyard (perfect for private sunbathing/reading), computer lab, and reading room. The best way I've heard the dorms described is that the old dorms have charm, the new dorms have AC. GJW (the newest) has both, and Kimberly has neither. But people still like Kimberly because the most common set up is a single-bathroom-single, where you share a bathroom with only one other person. There's a pretty strict alcohol policy, but a very flexible visitor policy (overnights permitted, four consecutive nights maximum). You clean up after yourself--this includes making your own bed, cleaning the sink in your room if you have one, taking out the trash, and vacuuming your room. Dorm staff will clean the common spaces (common bathrooms, living rooms, etc).

    Academic Rigor

    I came from a tiny, private, independent high school. There were 60 students in my graduating class, and it was very academically-focused. In comparison with my high school experience, Scripps has been a little bit less difficult. But I am balancing my academic life here with a busy extracurricular schedule (two jobs and club leadership), and so the rigor is definitely enough to keep me on my toes. My favorite part about Scripps's academics is that I still have the same close faculty-student relationships that I had at my small high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Consortium has a huge impact on your academic and social experience; embrace the larger 5C community. There is nothing else that can compare in the American educational system. Each of the five schools has such a unique identity, and to have them literally across the street from one another means that Claremont College students have access to a huge pool of resources. That being said, Scripps is very proud of its all-women identity and feminist history. Take the time to explore what being at a women's college, surrounded by four co-ed colleges, is like.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful in an approachable sort of way--each building feels like it could be a (very!) grand home. The students are sharp and hard-working, and the administration is very responsive.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Camp Sec is evreywhere. Blue Light system is all around the campuses for escorts home or in case of emergency. Camp Sec is also there to make sure people are safe not to get people in trouble so they are really nice and helpful.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an enormous amount of clubs and activites at the Claremont Schools. Because Scripps has its own set of Scripps only clubs as well as 5C Clubs are avalable it makes room for a lot of options. Pretty much every club you would ever want is offered somewhere on the Claremont Colleges, and if it isn't it is incredibly easy to start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven motivated women that are looking for opportunities to expand their interests. There is so much to get involved in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the seniors before graduation have a naked brunch in the Margaret Fowler Garden and drink champagne.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many more resources available to you at Scripps that really make it easy to see where your money is going to. The faculty, resources, and quality of life is extrememly amazing at Scripps.

    What to do for fun

    Scripps' social scene is very intertwined with the other 4 Claremont Colleges. We get an email from student government on Thursday that tells us what is going on, on all the 5 Claremont schools that weekend. It includes movie screenings, poetry slams, parties, concerts, etc. All of the events are open to students across the 5 Claremont Colleges so it is really up to you what you want to do and where you want to go. Most people stay on campus for the weekends becuase there is so much to do but it is also easy to get off campus. Claremont the town is super cute and has really good restaurants - it is also only a 7 minute walk away. There is also a metro stop in Claremont that takes you directly to downtown LA where you can find just about anything. Scripps also sponsors off campus trips to the beach, disney land, nearby shopping places, etc so if you don't have a car it's pretty easy to get around as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Scripps is amazing. Because Scripps is part of the Claremont Colleges Consortium you can eat at any of the school's dining halls for any meal. We have a website and app which show you what is being served at each dining hall for every meal so you can pick what looks best for that meal. On Friday's we haev sushi night, on Saturday's we have steak and salmon - so there are really gormet choices which make it so it doesn't feel like dining hall food at all. We also have flex dollars which come with the meal plan that can be used at any eatery around the 5 campuses. So if you miss a meal or want to buy coffee at the Motley Coffee House on Scripps' campus you can use flex dollars. There are tons of vegan, vegetarian, and gluten free options so there is something for everyone!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Scripps are absolute palaces. There are 9 dorms total on campus and 95% of Scripps students live on campus all four years (when they are not abroad). The rooms are spacious and most are connected to balconies or terraces overlooking courtyards or gardens. We have browsing rooms and kitches on every floor as well as each dorm has a living room, a recreation room, and a computer lab. Rooms are pretty big. Seniors and Juniors are pretty much guaranteed a single which is nice. First years have a random roommate based on a questionaire and are often placed in doubles or triples. The triples are meant for three though so they are large enough to hold that many people. In every dorm there are hidden courtyards with fountains that are really cool to explore. Every living room has a fireplace and a piano which can be a lot of fun as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Scripps is very accademically challenging but has incredible resources for help. Teachers expect a lot from you, but also are always willing to help. They have mandatory office hours twice or three times as well and are also all available by appointment. Class sizes are so small (average is 15 students) so teachers know your name and really want you to succeed. There are also free tutors for almost every subject, a writing center, and a langauge lab. The academic environment is not competitive in any way which creates a really good place to learn where everyone feels comfortable and wants to help eachother out rather than compete with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a fan if you're not used to the southern california heat because not all the dorms have AC.

    In three sentences

    Scripps is a women's college that fosters an incredibly strong community for learning. It creates a nurting environment that helps women go beyond thier comfort zone and expand what they are interested in. It is impossible not to feel at home at Scripps because of the amazing location, dorms, and food.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see campus safety around campus, although Claremont is a very safe place. You rarely have to worry about Claremont student on Claremont student theft, and so people are very trusting about leaving doors unlocked, computers out at the library, etc. Campus safety is really approachable, and understanding. I've never felt unsafe at the college, but they are happy to drive you home from somewhere if you don't feel safe. We also have the blue light system on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a lot of different clubs and organizations on campus that you can join, and on top of those options because we are part of the consortium it's possible to join clubs at any of the other campuses. There are many clubs between campuses, so the options are endless. It's also very easy to start up a new club if you don't find what you're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a wide variety of women at Scripps, and I think that anyone could flourish here. Scripps students are overwhelmingly passionate about something, but certainly don't fit any overarching stereotype. It's easy to get a sense of how different all Scripps students are when visiting the campus, but that's what makes it such a cool place. Even though everyone is different, everyone has a lot of respect for each other

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wednesady in Seal Court (google it--it's beautiful) we have Tea. This is normally sponsored by a club or resource on campus. There are different kinds of snacks, and drinks for an hour from 3:30-4:30. It's a great time to hang out with your friends, catch up with old classmates, or get a chance to talk to an old or current professor. They are heavily attended, and are a great Scripps tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Being part of the consortium there's always something to do on campus. Whether you're into partying at night, salsa dancing, movie marathons, camping, attending concerts, or hearing a speaker there's always options at one of the five campuses. It's hard to be bored in Claremont.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan at Scripps allows you to eat at all the dining halls at the Claremont Colleges (Pitzer, Harvey Mudd, Claremont Mckenna, and Pomona). This allows you to have a lot of variety in your meals, and there's a website where you can see what is being offered at each dining hall for each meal so you can get whatever looks best to you. Each school tries to attract the most amount of students to their dining hall, and because of this competition the food being served is always delicious. Very vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, and allergy friendly. Lots of organic foods and they try to support locally grown food as well.

    Dorm Life

    The halls on campus are kept meticiously clean, and are beautiful. They aren't all uniform, and each has its own secret gardens, living rooms, and reading rooms that give it a certain personality. All the dorms are mixed between all years, and there are a lot of fun bonding events every month. Many rooms have balconies, and personal sinks. The rooms tend to be spacious. The bathrooms are kept very clean, and most are tiled with marble showers/stalls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely not easy, but if you're willing to work hard it's not impossible to get an A. Obviously, the rigor depends on the courses and your own abilites, but the professors definitely expect a lot from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come tour the college! I know for many students coming out to California can be difficult, but the best way to get a sense of a college is by being on the campus. Scripps is a very beautiful place, that you'll be hard pressed not to fall in love with.

    In three sentences

    Scripps is an incredible place for any type of woman to attend. Everyone is so passionate about a variety of different disciplines. You can't help but be inspired by the people around you.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. They seem to care a lot about rape prevention and such being an all girl's school.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the gym and the pool (yes they have a pool).

    Food and Dining

    Food was pretty delicious. I tried it. Good options for vegetarians + people w/ gluten allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are beautiful. Each hall has its own antiquely decorated hall where you can study. Gorgeous.

    Tips for prospective students

    - campus is gorgeous - extremely liberal and feminist - get involved and talk to girls there - check out the campus