Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seattle Community College-North Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students, especially those of Asian descent and those whose major fall in the category of music, art, business, or science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in high school in the areas of math and English so the COMPASS test will place you in a college level math and/or English course rather than pre-college level.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scare apply.

    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great program to choose from, and never been turn down for admission.

    Am learning a lot

    Am in the field of Early Childhood Education and really love my instructor's and wonderful school to attend.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You should come by.

    In three sentences

    NSCC is a great school with great opportunities.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded students. This applies to every college, though. You will see a wide variety of students and you really need to open yourself to get the best experience you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although NSCC is also viewed as the prison college from it's all concrete buildings, the people and the professors there are really what make it a good experience for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Going through community college before transferring to a University is the best thing you can do for yourself. You can save money and you can get through your general education requirements without the vigorous competition in a 500-student class. You have a much closer relationship with your professors.

    Did enjoy being here

    Advising here is great. I've attended a community college by my house and the advisors there are horrible. At NSCC, they actually care and will help you plan for your classes appropriately and in a timely manner. I also met a lot of great people that helped me through my first year.

    Did learn a lot

    Coming from a small town, North Seattle Community College really gave me the opportunity to be exposed with diversity on a larger scale. In the suburbs, it's common to have over half of the students at your community college be high school running start students.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are planing to go to a 4-years college, come to North Seattle and do a 2-years first than you can transfer to a 4-ears college! You won't regret it. It is much cheaper, and you will focus more on your studying based on class size and Q&A with your Professor!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do running start! So when you come to college you don't have to pay a lot because you already got those classes done in high school!

    Bang for the buck

    I got financial aid, so I don't have to pay for my classes! At NSCC, it's really easy to apply for financial aid program and the financial aid staff are really nice and willing to help you if you have any question regarding your tuition!

    Am enjoying being here

    Of course I am enjoy being here. A lot of my friends are here and also I meet a lot of new diversity people. I love classes sizes here and the quite environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Class size here are much, much, much, smaller than University! Also, Professors here have more time to talk and interact with students. That's really great! It make you focus on you studying.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    read!

    In three sentences

    a good place for a diverse group of students to better themselves and their futures.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym with basketball court and running track.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm available

    Tips for prospective students

    Do study ahead.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with great facilities. The teacher are professional and helpful. It is environmentally friendly.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems a bit dark at times, but overall I have come to feel safe at the campus. Students are busy all walking around and there are plenty of windows to where you can see inside classrooms and buildings to make you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Second degree; part-time; full-time; working students, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are a decent challenge, easy transfer credits, and great fellow students. Location is convenient, close off I-5 also.

    What to do for fun

    I have found friends easily at this school. The teachers foster group assignments and team building, so it's easy to make acquaintances and friends, if that is what you are looking for. Plus the students all commute, so everyone is a freshmen and needs to meet new people, in essence.

    Food and Dining

    They have a welcoming break-room near the center of campus, where you can meet up with fellow classmates, pick up easy snacks and coffee, and study in between your classes.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commute campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick out classes you want to take and be prepared before getting to class. The pace of the classes here move quickly and you don't want to get behind. Overall is a great school to take classes coinciding with work if that is what you need.

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Helpful office staff. Teachers are challenging and students seem to care in my classes.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school puts on fun activities pretty often, and the gym has some great drop in fitness classes too.

    Food and Dining

    Large cafeteria with decent food selection every day. I'm vegetarian and my needs are satisfied.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, most of my professors have been pretty good...check out ratemyprofessor dot com before registering for a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the LOFT tutoring center!

    In three sentences

    I like North Seattle CC, the class selection is good every quarter, there are great free tutoring resources, and activities going on often. The cafeteria serves some decent food too.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all types of clubs and activities to do on campus. Talk to student services to find out more info

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    If your taking night classes; know that financial Aid will meet with you if you call ahead and make an appointment.

    In three sentences

    North Seattle is a wonderful experience for adults going back to college. However, the campus is quite old and needs updating. Work source and many other opportunities are available on the campus.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fine. I feel generally safe.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle entertainment abounds.

    Food and Dining

    coffee is great!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the advisors services to steer your path.

    In three sentences

    I'm a mid career changer and have found everyone very helpful. The quality of instruction is excellent. Whether your starting your journey in college or returning there is no better bargain than our community colleges.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It is what it is. Cafeteria food that is pre made or violently expensive for what you're getting.

    Academic Rigor

    I like to be challenged, it's one of the reasons I decided to go to North Seattle. Be prepared to work and learn, remember, this isn't high school. Teachers don't care what your excuses are.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to do well at this school, be prepared to do the work. Most teachers here don't let student slide by by the seat of their pants.

    In three sentences

    North Seattle Community College is known for being challenging and making sure people get the best education for their money in a community college setting.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of leadership and recreational activities but the students have to find the right ones and get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and a lot of options available. They are really known for their wraps.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers here also teach at University of Washington. Don't mistake this school for some stereotypically easy community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It all depends on what fields people are interested. The business program as well as the engineering majors are really strong here.

    In three sentences

    North Seattle Community College is an opportunity to start out new for any students interested in creating a strong foundation. The transfer options are excellent. It is not a college that has a cliques and you can see everyone talking to each other on a normal sunny day.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Weight room, clubs , gym

    Food and Dining

    decent cafe

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors.

    In three sentences

    North Seattle is a welcoming environment in which any student can succeed. The professors are all about teaching and are 100% focused on education. This is a great place to start your college career.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Can't really comment as I don't eat here, but the other people seem to like it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are very hard and that is fine by me

    In three sentences

    I like this school I will give it a 9 of 10. Needs more parking.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to use all the resources available to you and participate in club activities or student government.

    In three sentences

    The professors at North Seattle are extremely helpful and supportive for students that attend school there. The resources available are also very helpful and are easy to access. Advising counselors are very knowledgeable about transferring to major Universities and what classes are necessary to accomplish your goals.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot to do on campus other than attending the special events and joining a club. However Seattle's got great stuff going on, and there's a movie theater and mall right by the school, and buses that will take you to downtown or the U district fairly quickly.

    Food and Dining

    Beware of the serve-yourself cafeteria food. I've had maybe one tasty meal from the cafeteria that came from the buffet while everything else was really bad. However they make excellent sandwiches and burgers and their stir-fries and special event meals are delicious. Same for the pizzas and baked goods.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here all seem to expect a lot, but pay attention and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to slack off just because it's community college. It'll come back to bite you in the buns.

    In three sentences

    North Seattle Community College offers a very wide range of courses and student activities. It's not the prettiest place in Seattle, but it has a great support system for students with advising and tutoring. Additionally, all of the teachers I've had are extremely enthusiastic about what they teach.