Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seattle Community College-South Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small College, so it's very friendly and easy to make friends with.

    Greek Life

    As for Greek life at South Seattle, there is Phi Theta Kappa, and it offers fellowship, academic support, leadership training, participation in campus activities, service to the community, and preparation for future careers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are some clubs to join at South Seattle.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a place for those who are trying go back to school. High school students who aren't ready for the University Financial problems

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you want to relax and get some fresh air while studying at the campus, there is a beautifully landscaped rose garden. You may enjoy the scenery, and at the same time it helps prepare your mind, to get you pumped and ready to get back to studying.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school to go to if you want to get a two year degree or just to save your money by taking some of your prerequisite. Classes at South Seattle is much cheaper than those at the Universities, so its great if you want to save money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game center with ping pong tables, pool tables, and video games as well. So you may go there to relax and hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Great Culinary program at this community college. The food here is to die for. The students in the culinary program prepare fresh food, as well as running a small restaurant that is in the college.

    Dorm Life

    South Seattle is a college that is close to your home, so it doesn't require you to dorm, which is very convenient because you don't have to travel far or wake up extra early to catch your class.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college, South Seattle has many rigorous courses such as the Science courses and upper math courses. Overall they provide rigorous courses that are needed for certain degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what classes are required for your major or for your program that you are interested in. If you have any questions make sure to ask an adviser for answers.

    In three sentences

    South Seattle is a great school to get your prerequisite done or to get your associated degree. It provides a welcoming environment for their students. Also it's a great transfer school because most of its courses are exactly the same to the University of Washington.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has a beautiful chinese garden, nice for group get togethers or a peaceful stroll on your own.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have on-campus housing or a housing assistance office.

    Academic Rigor

    The South Seattle Community College instructor's do their best to push the students to display and use their knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tons of help available. large computer lab available. Writing tutoring available as well as math tutoring.

    In three sentences

    A large campus for a Community College. Classes are not very far from each other. A very diverse environment

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I've seen fliers, but never hear anything or see anything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs, you may start your own, but you have to start it within the first week of each quarter i believe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the students find themselves near the clocktower, the RAH, OLY, & UNI buildings, and the area by the south parking lot is practically non-existant unless you have class down there.

    What to do for fun

    Gameroom. There is an event or two sometimes, but it's rare that anything fun is actually happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program is good. They cook the food and they do it well. Theres a place called Bernie's and they are a good place to eat and do homework. There are two places that resemble dining experiences and the culinary program does that. It is a good program and they cook and teach well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are lenient. But overall, it's best to keep to deadlines. Majority of the students on campus work, part-time or full-time. Some have kids. Just different backgrounds and the teacher will adjust and help you to complete your assignments, but you have to pay attention in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Do not think that since it's community college that it will be easy to skate by in classes; it's not. To learn the hard way is what you will experience, but it'll help you when/if you transfer to a university.

    In three sentences

    Not a bad school, but there is so many choices to get you started on a career. They didn't have many choices for me to choose from for my intended major therefore I have nothing to really do here. The teachers are enthusiastic about their classes, and there are good and bad teachers; good luck.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is several vast clubs here to explore and meet the different interests of Seattle.

    Great for these types of students

    You can find your spot from running start through someone returning for enrichment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have almost everything here from aviation to wine tasting and bottling. You need to come check it out for your self.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as schools go if you are looking at staying on budget you can't go wrong with any of the Seattle Community College's.

    What to do for fun

    You can join any of the clubs or intramural sports. They are also just on the South Side of Seattle so you can always jaunt down town for all of the fun festivals there.

    Food and Dining

    Stop by Bernie's for wonder freshly prepared pastries and cakes or that cup of coffee to keep you going.

    Academic Rigor

    Community College but you do have the options to take some more advance classes and to get a Bachelors degree with the on campus connections.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look on the website and come prepared. They have all the forms you need on line along with any of the schedules for applying and scheduling with the advisers.

    In three sentences

    Lots of room to roam, and study or relax between classes.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very helpful. They have been a life saver when I needed a jump start on my car one time. Never had any thefts or issues, nor have I heard about or witnessed any while my attendance at SSCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Used books are always pretty cheap and in decent condition.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library, browse the web with free wifi, go to the game room, and hang out with friends. Theres always plenty of activities to keep you busy, you just have to look around.

    Food and Dining

    The pastry students and culinary arts students make great food in the lunch room. Although a bit pricey at times, it all goes to a good cause in the end.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus. I was lucky enough that I live with my parents at a 5 minute travel time, so for me it was quit convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending school at SSCC campus was a great experience for me. I have been with South since Fall 2010 when I was during my time with the Running Start program provided through my High School.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on classes. Be on time.

    In three sentences

    South Seattle has great counseling and help on getting to the next level. Its a comfortable environment to be in with great people around. Glad to be a student.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go for it! Don't be scared.

    In three sentences

    Everyone was really helpful in helped me get my classes set up.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    South Seattle Community College is a well organized school to students. The staff are very supported and helpful with any issues a student may have. Overall, its been a great experience.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad by any means. If you're hungry, there you go.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent. No dorms to speak of, so students go home after classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The Rigor depends on the classes you take. Since most students are there for an AA degree, it's possible to take 100-level classes, which are fairly easy. The rigor gets more steep the higher level classes you take. But, keep in mind that if you don't like the rigor, you signed up for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obviously try to take classes toward whatever major you have. If you don't have a major yet, take classes of all types. There's a good variety of classes to take here.

    In three sentences

    On the surface it seems rather bland, but once you being to network and meet new people there will be a hidden depth. It takes a bit of digging to find something awesome, but it exists. Knowing your instructors will be immensely helpful.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Attending a community college is less expensive than a university and other schools targeting adult institutes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't attend school yet, so I can't comment.

    What to do for fun

    I like to watch movies, drag race my motor car with friends, and educate myself with the new and old style of cars.

    Food and Dining

    there is a food court on campus. The food is prepared by students taking culinary arts class. I haven't had the food yet so I am ranking it a 3.

    Academic Rigor

    Was informed of the importance of attending class and how it may affect my learning if I miss even one day of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Research and tour more than one school. Most importantly, ask many questions!

    In three sentences

    I can't say much about the campus because I haven't attended yet, only that the building looks clean and maintained. The staff I encountered were polite and provided much information. Every time I met with someone, I was informed of the next step.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save about 50,000 on their first two years of college.

    What to do for fun

    There a lot of clubs , cultural events and even a few dances.

    Food and Dining

    South has two full service restaraunts, a cafeteria , a cafe & deli and many baked goods are made on campus. Having been to a few other universities and community colleges, I can say we are definately well situated for dining and it is very reasonably priced especially when compared to Universities.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, dorm life isn't a factor.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of variance from instructor to instructor , there are many qaulity instructors however there are some less than challenging instructors .

    Tips for prospective students

    There are lots of opprotunities for students to get leadership experience, but unlike in highschool you have to look for it! Also unlike big four-year universities there are not a lot of fairs or organizations broadcasting these opprotunites.

    In three sentences

    It's a close knit school with passionate, involved isntructors and very supportive staff. It has two full service restaraunts, wine tastings, an arboretum and many vocational programs. It's a good fit for students planning a transfer to a big University, and students looking for a practical vocational degree.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do have a wide array of dining available. Also the culinary students frequently prepare gourmet food for one of the cafeteria's

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or any campus housing facilities here.

    In three sentences

    This college is better than I expected it to be the teachers here are supportive and easily available to talk to anytime. They have online and hybrid classes which are very well put together and I think are easier compared to an in class schedule. I love it here at South Seattle Community College.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Seattle, so plenty. Everything is a short bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Simply average. I don't eat there much.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus...

    Academic Rigor

    It varies widely based on teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected to as many groups as you can. Start networking early. Get to the school early when there is less people in line for services you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a good value school. It has good connections between the other Seattle CC's. Teachers are very accessible.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't encountered any incidents here and would say everyone is pretty safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    The gym is right in front of campus, so that there is a workout place. Kerry park is nearby so it's nice to stroll out for a walk or so.

    Great for these types of students

    Seattle Central is quite diverse and so it's for all types of students!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of places to dine in and out. There is a park right in front of campus, great for walking and just hanging out. Broadway have some bars that you can hang out on happy hours and weekends!

    Food and Dining

    Many restaurants are nearby such as Panera Bread which has free wifi, restaurants (serving sushi, thai food, asian ethics food, etc), yogurt land, starbucks and QFC and many more coming on this Broadway street way!

    Dorm Life

    Unfornately there isn't any dorm on campus...perhaps apartments that are close and nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic scheme is quite competitive since most of the students are international students, which means that they have a very strong academic background and language barrier is the only reason here. But if you study well you can achieve it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and if you're bored, you can play the piano in the Theatre building. There is a brand new computer lab room up on 3rd floor which mainly are iMacs and big screen monitor desktops. Bus routes are very convenient which are minutes away from downtown, which makes commuting a lot easier to go back and forth. I'm a girl coming from West Seattle and taking a bus to school campus...give and take about 45mins.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself is very small, yet it's nice that most mini coffee shops, hospital, restaurants are located nearby which makes it friendly to be at. The student's population is quite diverse and everyone is very friendly and outgoing.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is Drug and weapon free. 24/7 security is available on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things in South Seattle Community College for students entertainment like Pool, T.T etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very tasty delicious, it is prepared by the Cookery students with help of instructors.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorms but I heard its really cheap for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    South Seattle Community College got well experienced and well educated instructors due to which I never find any difficulties in my academic progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly recommend to the students to enroll in South Seattle Community college for their strong base for future degrees.

    In three sentences

    South Seattle community college is one of the unique in community colleges. it offers vast variety of courses and teachers are really well knowledge with great helping nature. They are available all the time to help their students.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hardly does thefts happen

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of them

    Great for these types of students

    respect for diversity, academic astute

    Bang for the buck

    access to aid awesome

    What to do for fun

    A big field, tennis court etc

    Food and Dining

    got bernie's and cafteria run by culinary art department

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    great lectures and labs too

    In three sentences

    fantastic, diversified school with a lot of available resources

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is great and is made by students

    Academic Rigor

    coming straight out of high school south was perfect because it wasn't to rigorous yet it was a challenge.

    In three sentences

    I would rate South Seattle 8 out of ten because they have a wonderful environment and many great services.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have great food. They have the cafeteria which the culinary students cook the food. They also have a deli called Bernie and they have great coffee and yummy food. The Book store also has great snack for on the go food.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms since its a Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always work very hard and the outcome is just great.

    In three sentences

    A great College to attend. Really cares about their students. They have helped me way more than my last College i attended. I am very glad i transferred here to continue with my education.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there isn't much to do. Most people go home or have fun off campus with their friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food there is bleh.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    There are easy 4.0 classes like English. In some classes 4.0s are difficult. Don't go expecting straight 4.0s in every class, or you'll be stressed out in the higher level STEM classes with no social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your two years there. Otherwise, you will waste time, energy, and money taking unneeded classes.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of fields to study. Most teachers are good. There aren't many social activities to do.