Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seattle University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 out of 33 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SU is great for students who are Passionate: if you know what you are interested in and Seattle U provides a program in it, they will be very helpful in directing and giving you opportunities to expand. Directed: Students who are driven, actually want to be at college (aren't there just because they're supposed to be) and have goals will find a great resource in the school. Mature: SU spends a lot of time babying students who have honestly had too much provided to them. Students who enter as adults (in mindset/behavior, not age) will flourish and be independent, leaders, and develop great connections with the great faculty and staff there. Unconventional: Students who are questioning, challenge the status quo, and desire something other than the typical go to college to make a lot of money path will find encouragement at SU. Seattle University roots its education in opposition to any kind of oppression and will encourage you to pursue whatever you are passionate about regardless of its social acceptability. SU helps to make its students thinkers and challengers to confront the issues of the world, rather than be complacent.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Apply for the Sullivan Scholarship (competition to select 9 students to award full-rides to in each incoming class). -Apply for PLENTY of outside scholarships. Though SU gives generous grants, they have few supplementary scholarships available until students are Juniors. Without outside scholarships, SU would have still been out of reach for me even with their assistance. -Find a job early, preferably before even moving to Seattle. You will be hurting if you wait until Winter Quarter to work.

    Bang for the buck

    I know of only one student whose parents literally write him at $12,000 check each quarter for him to attend. Seattle U is very generous in its aid packages. Most students who are very middle-of-the-road as far as criteria for scholarships get around $15,000 in GRANTS from SU (money that does not need to be paid back). Furthermore SU has a huge excess of work-study jobs so these are very easy to find if you get on the search early on. Though SU has not been EASY for me to afford, it has been much more so for me than it would have been at any other private college. In fact, it was cheaper for me than the public University of Washington was.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a complicated question so I will address it in two separate areas: socially and academically. Socially, I have not had a very great time at Seattle University. Because it is a private Jesuit college, there is a very large population of students from very privileged backgrounds. Being peers with people from wealthy families who went to private school their entire lives is frustrating because their views of what the reality of life is is very limited. Many of them don't work in college (and many more hadn't ever worked before) and for many of these same people school is not their priority. Seattle University students are very caught up in being glamorous rather than focusing on their own growth and benefiting from the great opportunities Seattle U has to offer. Academically, SU has been great, as described above. The reason I have rated this area as 4 stars is because I believe that, though the social situation at SU is not what I would have wanted, for college academics trump whatever the attitudes and experiences of the students are. In encouraging me to pursue my passion of Social Work, connecting me with the community, and further opening my mind, SU has exceeded my expectations.

    Am learning a lot

    Excellent Academics. My first year here helped me to grow a great deal intellectually, personally, and spiritually. The core (required classes for all undergrads) may seem too extensive but, believe me, they truly do help to create in you a balanced and well rounded person. Plus you will be opened up to new ideas that you would have never otherwise explored.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -homosexual or questioning -Indie and urban style -Liberals -Eco-friendly -people who can tolerate athletics sharing the school. We are going Division 1!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have seen the campus and attended some classes before you commit. My room mate didn't and was really surprised when she showed up on move-in day. Make sure you have enough money on your meal plan Ask current students what they like and dislike about the school Don't be afraid to pry all over campus on your visit. You won't stick out, and just ask if you get lost. Everyone is very willing to help you out.

    Bang for the buck

    The small class sizes make it all worth it. Plus, the housing and classrooms are great. With the exception of the Administration building, they are up to date and look really professional. Friends who visit my dorm are always jealous of how nice they are and that we have a sink in the room. On-campus housing is awesome!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at SU. Your professors actually know who you are and go out of their way to make themselves available. They will often give out their home phone number. If you desire small class sizes, this is the place for you. I have never had a class of more than 30. Socially, SU is a little different. Imagine every outsider at your high school who didn't quite fit in. That is 90% of the student population. The other 10% are student athletes. As a Conservative, the extremely left-wing atmosphere has taken some getting used to. If you are like me, either be an athlete or make friends with them fast if you want to be around normal people. SU parties are small but it is worth it because everyone there is your best friend. If you are seeking a more intense, underage nightlife, University of Washington is right down the street. Ladies will have no problems getting into frat parties but guy might want to establish some connections. Regardless of friends, the city is a fabulous location. You can never be done exploring. It is a one of a kind place for work and play.

    Am learning a lot

    The low rating is only because I am in the Mateo Ricci program for humanities. My core, which substitutes the normal core, is philosophy based. Although some philosophy classes are challenging due to written assignments, they are all opinion based. As long as you can support your opinion in an intelligent manner, it isn't difficult. I am still taking some pre-req classes for the business school, which I really enjoy. These classes are challenging and support the business school's reputation as the best in the state. I would recommend all the professors I have had for all 4 of those classes.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one who... Wants to be a part of a community wants to be MORE than just a number at a University enjoys the city life is looking for a great, and I mean GREAT college experience P.S...If your thinking I don't know if i should be going to a Catholic College THINK AGAIN! I'm not religious, and I have yet to feel uncomfortable at Seattle University. They are not going to try to convert you. Only ask you to try new things, take advantage of all opportunities, and learn with an open heart.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the school if you can! You will learn a lot more from being here than looking at the school through your computer screen. Take a campus tour, and talk to some of the student you see on campus. Most of them will be more than happy to talk to you and share there experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle University is an expensive school, but they are also very generous with financial awards. Try to get as many scholarships as you can. If you are planning to stay on campus remember that the university offers FREE Room and Board if you decide to become a Resident Assistant after spending at least One year in the dorms. Also remember that scholarships are not limited to high school senior and that there is always a scholarship you qualify for.

    Am enjoying being here

    They have encouraged me to step outside my box and go some things i may not have even tried. i have gone to a few basket ball games, 2 plays at the Seattle Rep Theatre, 3 museum visits and some public readings at Town Hall. The campus is beautiful! There isn't a spot on campus that isn't designed for the student. Some of my favorite places are the ones I discovered while walking through the smaller parks. There are many places to study as well. After next year the New University library will be completed, not to say that the current library isn't a wonderful resources, because it is. You are sure to like all of the people. I am a commuter student, and even though i am not living in the dorms i have met a lot of people through the collegia program, which offers places for commuting students to study, have lunch, or just hang out.

    Am learning a lot

    It is EASY to learn in a school that has--at the most--32 students in each class. ALL of my teachers were more than willing to help me with homework, essays, and any other questions i may have has As long as you are willing to do the work (which is mostly reading and a few essays) you will get a lot out of your college experience at Seattle University. There are several places to study and more than enough places to help you succeed in college, such as the Writing Center in the library and the Learning Center in Loyola (the Learning Center has a tutor for almost EVERY subject). No matter what you weakness, Seattle University will do it's best to get you through college!

  • 02/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for direction. If you are passionate about a topic/cause. Ready to learn and take action. SU is not great if you want to sit there like a lump. You want city environment and lots to do. Eager to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Come check out campus. 2. Do a tour--and ask questions. 3. Talk to students--ask for what they like and dislike. 4. Listen--students will tell you honestly what they think. 5. Talk to a professor or two. They are all very approachable. 6. If you can sit in on a class in your program of study. I have seen other students do this, and it can give you an idea of what the work level is like. 7. Look around--SU is by far the most goregous campus I have ever been on.

    Bang for the buck

    OK so it can be expensive to attend a first tier, private university. However, SU gives many scholarships and grants. Apply to them. All of them. If it weren't for the scholarships I would not be able to attend, but SU offered me a much better aid package then UW. I do have some loans, but it will work out to be less then what it took getting my AA. There are lots of work study opportunites, and within walking distance there are lots of businesses. So if you need to you can find something. It is worth checking into, both aid and jobs. SU has a great finacial aid office and career center where they will go out of their way to help you. So don't hesitate to ask.

    Am enjoying being here

    No, I would say I love it! I have lived n Seattle for ten years before attending SU, and not a city person. Through SU I am actually starting to love being in Seattle. I have gone to some basketball games, a fashion show, two concerts, and other activities. I am a member in several clubs and find new people to meet and hang with almost daily. I am a commuter student and enjoy the collegia. It is a great place to chill between classes, study, or visit with new friends. I have found new places in Seattle to try and explore through friends on campus. SU has actually made city living fun for a non-city person, a major achievement. I'm having more fun than my friends that are going to U of Washington.

    Am learning a lot

    I would have given 5 stars to this question, but I am an older student and have studied a lot on my own before attending. Even with that I am having a blast in my classes. The business courses have been wonderful. If you do the work--homework, read--you will have few problems. Professors go out of their way to be helpful and make assignments topical. They often bring in articles, web info, etc that relates to what you are covering. All professors are major accessible. Home phone numbers and extra office hours are common, even for core courses. Learning Center, and other resources are available if you need help in any topic.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seattle U's location is great because it is in the city, but the city is also alive. There is crime, just like in any other city. However, Seattle U has it's own public safety department complete with officers (some students and others non-student). Overall, its a pretty safe environment on campus. I've been attending school here for two years now, and I haven't had any major brushes with criminals, and I commute back and forth to school everyday.

    What to do for fun

    Washington in general is great only because there are lots of outdoor activities to take part in (although not so fun to do so when it is raining). Seattle U's campus is on capital/first hill, which is great because there are lots of different businesses around to shop/eat/play. The campus itself has a brand new gym and library that are also fun to go to because they offer sort of out of the box things like workout dance classes, recreational activities (like hiking/rafting...off campus of course), and a media department of the library that you can record music in (so I've heard).

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It's from BON APPETITE, and tastes sort of like the chef's apprentice's food rather then the chef himself. Expensive, though, if you live off campus like I do and don't have a meal plan. Most students on meal plans usually have left over money and have their friends dine with them the last week of the quarter to use up all of the rest of their plan money (because it doesn't roll over).

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off campus, which is a whole other ball game. But I've heard from other classmates and friends that the dorms are pretty laid back. The students here are not the students gone wild that you see with larger universities. More students here are hard workers, and it's evident around the campus and the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard for me, I won't deny or try to sugar coat anything. I have friends currently taking the nurse program, and they study night and day. The academics here are challenging, but usually teach you things you want to learn, and will be able to use in the furture. Just choose your classes wisely!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip number one: if you are from places like California, Texas, Hawaii, Florida (like me) or any other place in which the hot climate never really changes, be prepared for a culture shock when you hit Washington. There's a reason why they call it the Seattle Freeze. Tip number two: choose your classes wisely. If you choose a class with a hard or boring professor, or even one you think you won't mesh with, GET OUT. Your GPA WILL suffer. You need to pick classes and a major/minor that you are truely interested, invested, and excited about. Don't try to make it work because I've tried that, and it is almost impossible to fake enthusiam and interest in an academic setting.

    In three sentences

    It is challenging, to say the least. A jesuit school, that tries not to impress upon people it's own regilious background (however ethics and theology courses are required in the CORE studies). Overall a good, well-rounded school.

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this university is great for someone who wants to be a part of a smaller community but at the same time a part of something that is much bigger. If you want to be more than just a number at a school, come to Seattle University. All of my professors know me by name and the largest class I've had was 28 people and the smallest was 12.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard! You only take three classes a quarter, but that's because they are all five credits which means that they are a larger workload than most other schools. All of my classes have been amazing so far though and all of the professors are incredibly accessible for students to talk to.

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle University is very expensive, but I have to say that it's worth it. It is a great education, and an amazing experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here so much. It's amazing because you are in the middle of this huge city, but when you are on campus you feel like you are a part of a smaller community and family. Everyone smiles and acknowledges each other on campus. There are always activities that are being put on by SU that are actually really fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I have intellectually grown SO much here. I had always heard that college was extremely difficult and people just had tons of homework but never really learned anything. This isn't the case. I have learned so much and I am only in my second quarter here. Don't be surprised if your professors give you their phone number so you can reach them at anytime.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Business/Nursing/Pre-Law -Liberal -LGBTQ -Sports Fans (College or Professional)

    Tips for prospective students

    Though Seattle U is a Catholic/Jesuit school don't let that scare you. The school can be as religious as you make it and it can be any religion you want. The school makes a big deal about diversity and does a good job of offering alternatives to not only religious clubs and sermons, but race, gender, and sexual orientation as well.

    Bang for the buck

    At times I wonder where all my tuition money is going. I am often frustrated by the large number of students on such a small campus and the lack of areas to study and the overcrowed food areas. However, it is nice to see the campus being updated and expanding and I like knowing that I am beign a part of a campus changing for the better.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met my best friends here. There is so much going on around campus and being so close to down town helps keep social lives versatile. It's nice to have a small campus in a large city becasue I feel like the city is an extension of campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Though there is a very long core program where students are required to take classes that have nothing to do with their major (I'm an art major and I had to take a chemistry class) there are times where I've been able to use what I've learned in my core classes in my major classes. Once you start your major classes, advisors and professors are very helpful and only want to see you succeed.

  • 05/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take the first quarter to get used to the college environment then get involved in a club by the end of your first quarter so you can begin expanding your network.

    Am learning a lot

    At Seattle University you will not only learn a lot in the classroom but also outside of it. Seattle University has great classes and professors that care about you and do their best to ensure you're learning, you also have to put forth effort to learn of course. Also if you join a student club or get involved in the school you will learn a lot from your fellow classmates and the members of the community in the areas of your interests. It's an excellent school if you wish to learn in and out of the classroom.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are email reports of any issues on or near campus, officers who will walk you to your car or anywhere else on campus if need and they are available and quick to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are events daily. There are too many clubs, plays, concerts and informational/interesting seminars/speakers to list. There are also five collegiums, a game room and an amazing library to hang out in.

    Great for these types of students

    SU is perfect for students who want to live in a big/little city, who like a smaller campus and more personal attention, who want the option to engage in Jesuit tradition/activities, and who are looking for a well-rounded education of the whole person.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the high academic standards, highly educated professors, personal attention, beautiful campus and Seattle location, SU is the best in the Pacific NW!

    What to do for fun

    There are two parks on campus where during warmer days, people get together to play games and sports. The new gym is state-of-the-art and for $30 per month, any student can join and take classes or workout. SU is in the Capital Hill neighborhood where there are lots of cafes, restaurants, shops and nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is huge with many options including a breakfast bar, soup and salad bar and four stations of different ethnic foods. There are also two cafes on campus that serve great coffee, snacks, soups, salads and sandwiches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and take a tour of the campus! The campus is cozy, high-tech and well-situated within the beautiful city of Seattle. The classes are small, so the student to professor ratio is 1:13 and the classes within each major are interesting, challenging and well-worth the effort.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a great option for students interested in International Studies. Because it is a private college, students get more one on one attention and support from well-educated professors. SU offers a wide range of extra-curricular opportunities to further one's education and global awareness.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many programs set up on campus to try to make it as safe as possible. There are blue phones all around the campus to use in the event of an emergency. Public Safety people are always on patrol, have vehicles that can escort you within 6 or 8 blocks of campus, or you can call them to have someone walk with you, and they send out mass emails to all students when there is an incident on or in close proximity of campus to keep students in the loop and give tips to avoid trouble yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a school in the city, a smaller school, and a school that isn't so much of a party atmosphere, Seattle University is the place to be. The Nursing and Law School are very reputable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The area has a lot of great shops, for example, those people who are sweet toothed tend to head down to Molly Moons for some uniquely flavored Ice Cream or Cupcake Royal for unique Cupcakes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's in a great location. About a 5 minute walk to downtown Seattle, so you are in close proximity to shopping and entertainment. If you live in the dorm you might have an awesome view of the city and the water. Its location also allows for easy access to and from if you choose to live off campus and commute.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs you can join centered around ethnicity, hobbies, and major. A lot of the ones for hobbies have some good discounts for grouped students to do activities, for example the OAR club (the Outdoor Recreations Club) has discounts on snowboarding weekend trips.

    Food and Dining

    There is some decent variety and the hours are very reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Seattle University is not a party school. Living in one of the dorms is not going to be like what you see on t.v. But the staff will really work to form a community.

    Academic Rigor

    You aren't going to earn your degree easily here, but you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to work hard and put the time in you aren't going to regret it. The professors are there to help you as long as you ask. And there are plenty of resources for you as well.

    In three sentences

    It is a very expensive school and I believe that it lives up to the saying that you get what you pay for. The small class size allows for more interaction between the students and teachers, as well as student to student. It is also nice to be able to contact the professors directly, in order to get help when needed.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    SU has no fraternities or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    SU is in the middle of the city so you have all the things a normal city would have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay in the Campion dorm. It's too big.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is an excellent school. The professors care about teaching and the subject matter is interesting. I would recommend this school for anyone looking at small schools.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency phones to contact Public Safety and they will escort you to a safe place. There is also a service called the Night Hawk that will pick you up, if you are within 7 blocks at night. All of the residences have a public safety official at night until early morning and they monitor it for intruders.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and they fit every interest and all of them are well managed.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a more intimate education, while being able to experience the city and get to know people better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive and they will bill you for anything.

    What to do for fun

    You can go anywhere in the city and there is so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large variety to what you can choose from and most of it is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There are always activities and events going on and you really get to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are hard, but not to the point that you are destined to fail. You are just going to just have to keep on track and don't fall behind on reading... ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, go here if you want a complete education and meet really great people.

    In three sentences

    This school is very small, so you meet everyone. It is near downtown, so you are able to be very mobile and independent. The classes are also very interesting and fun.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seattle University is honestly great for ANY type of student. The school is what you make of it. SU is great for teaching majors, law majors, nursing majors, business, engineering, art, etc. SU offers any program and it is your job to pursue it and accomplish any goals you have!

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, I would be sure to visit the campus before accepting enrollment. You have to be fully submersed into the atmosphere here at Seattle University to understand the school as a whole.

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle University, yes is very expensive...however..you can get your moneys worth if you know where to look. Seattle University offers a free writing center which offers reviews of papers you have written and also helpful tips. SU also has free tutoring which is very helpful when going into any biology major. SU also has a lot of events that are free where they hand out gear to students as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I truly enjoy being a student here at Seattle University. I enjoy all the other students who come from such diverse backgrounds, as well as all the staff members who challenge you daily to become not only a better student but person. I enjoy the all natural food on campus, the events, and even the dorm rooms.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyday is a challenging yet amazing experience at Seattle University. The students and staff here are so diverse that allows for a truly engaged learning experience. Seattle University is truly dedicated in educating the whole person, to professional formation, and to empowering leaders for a just and humane world. Not only is this the Seattle University Mission Statement, its what Seattle U is all about.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who love being in the center of an urban environment will thrive here. Capitol Hill is a diverse and varied neighborhood that is great for hanging out and exploring. Be prepared to work hard in your classes, but know that professors are reasonable with the amount of work assigned. Come here if you have an inquisitive mind and thrive on class discussions!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else. -Judy Garland People at SU really are themselves, and others respect that. The people who get made fun of the those who are trying to put on a persona that just isn't real.

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to go here, you really want to make sure that you are finically stable enough to go here. It's a great school but money is a hassle. :(

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who maybe didnt start off so well, but have now been very engaged with school and their community.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to apply to, they take a chance with you.

    Bang for the buck

    coming from texas, I wont have to pay out of state tuition.

    Will enjoy being here

    being in capitol hill, its close to everything.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Seattle U, being private, is a very expensive school, but in return you get tons of easily accessible resources to take advantage of to make your educational experience the best it can be.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle U is located in downtown Seattle. There's tons of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of locations on campus to get delicious meals, and the school is dedicated to health and sustainability in their food production and preparation methods.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms, but from spending time in them they seem to be as good as any other dorm situation I've seen at other univeresities

    Academic Rigor

    Core requirements are extensive, and classes can be very challenging, but they're very high in quality.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of how readily available and willing to help the professors here are.

    In three sentences

    A great school which adheres strongly to it's mission to educating the entire person. Their academic programs are challenging and highly rewarding. Profressors at Seattle U are genuinely interested in their students and small class-sizes assure that students get a personalized education.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i noticed that they had a guard at every entrance. it better than nothing.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a club for basically anything that people enjoy doing.

    What to do for fun

    they have many clubs to keep you busy and active for when you want to unwind and realax with friends

    Food and Dining

    when i came in i immediately noticed the smell of cooking, it made me very hungry! it seemed as though they had some of the culinary students making some of the food, which seemed like good experience for those who want to pursue a culinary career.

    Dorm Life

    i will be attending college from home.

    Academic Rigor

    they are very organized and on top of the game.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to go to the school it is great. the many degrees, the fact that they help you in finding a career. they are basically another parent that will help you on every turn. even the cost is great for the many factors that they have. they have several clubs you can join. they try really hard to make sure your experience is the best it possibly can be for college.

    In three sentences

    the building was big for being in the city. the people were nice. it is regionally accredited

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are emergency lights al round campus that you can press and public safety will be contacted. there are escort services at nighttime both by car and by foot. and public safety makes constant rounds.

    Great for these types of students

    gay or lesbian students theater majors nursing majors quirky students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    quadstock is a fun annual event where cool bands come and performs and everyone goes and has lots of fun!

    Food and Dining

    everything here is locally grown and lots of organic food. never had anything moldy or old. many vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    all the halls are new and great. the only downside is the strict public safety. you can;t take the stairs for safety reasons which is kind of inconvenient but these are small downsides to overall great buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    you are given the opportunity to take courses that are very challenging. but it is challenge by choice. there are easier classes but no class is just an easy a. almost every professor cares about your attendance and participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    live in bellarmine hall, it is central to campus and newer. study in the library private rooms or on the 6th floor. give yourself extra time to get to class because the elevators are slow.

    In three sentences

    seattle u is a unique and beautiful school.everyone here is helpful and kind and genuinely interested in your success and well being. it is in the heart of the most beautiful city so you are given overwhelming opportunities to have an incredible and fulfilling college life.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    off campus, safety is a concern just because we are located in the center of downtown seattle. however, once you are on campus, you are guarded by 24/7 security. if you are really concerned, the university offers a day course on precautionary methods and general safety tips for the city.

    Greek Life

    there are a few greek life communities, however it is limited.

    Clubs and Activities

    basically, if you can think of it, we have it! and if we don't, just walk up to the assu and you can start it. the possibilities are literally endless.

    Great for these types of students

    all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every department has, not only their own study groups, but their own club. this is a great opportunity to make connections with other students and faculty that can really help you in your future.

    Bang for the buck

    college is expensive, i know, but the opportunities that seattle university gives is well worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    the fitness center offers an array of outdoor activities as well as a seemingly endless list of campus activities every week. if you want to get away for a while, the city is no more than a block away!

    Food and Dining

    only local and organic food is made on campus, and the options are seemingly endless. any time between 8am to 12pm you can find good, healthy food, which is great for a college student.

    Dorm Life

    everyone at seattle university is very open and kind.

    Academic Rigor

    this is an extremely challenging university, academically speaking. however, you should not be scared, because the teachers are more than willing to help you at every step if you ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    contact the school as soon as you decide you may want to apply. the more you talk to them, the more they are willing to help you get in.

    In three sentences

    seattle university is a great school with many opportunities. unlike other schools, the teachers and advisers here give you great help and one-on-one time to ensure that you will graduate with the best resume. i feel like i made the right choice in choosing seattle university.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Seattle U campus is extremely safe, especially in such an urban location. The Knight Hawk is an especially nice service that drives students around in a 6 block radius in the late night hours.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club fair at the beginning of the year so that you can become involved in whatever interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    Just about any student can find their place on campus, they just have to look into what they want out of their experience and plan accordingly.

    Bang for the buck

    In my personal experience the school is way overpriced for what I have recieved.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things to do in Seattle, unfortunately many things can be expensive. You just have to look things up and go explore.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING food, not at all like the typical college food. The on-campus food service is constantly improving what they do so that the food they produce is better for you and better for the environment. The only drawback is the required meal plans for certain years, the food is also really pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Very cramped living. Students signed up for doubles and the majority ended up in efficiency triples. Different buildings offer different ammenities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are no more difficult than something you took in high school. But as you take harder classes the work-load also increases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become engaged in your community immediately, it's the best way to make new friends and enjoy your time.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a great school for people who want to focus on their academics. There are professors who aren't amazing, but as you take more challenging courses they typically become better. Of course, there are always issues with the bureaucracy of the school.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in a major urban area, Seattle University addresses public safety very well. The Campus Police have many avenues of keeping the public safe and informed, and I feel very safe here.

    Great for these types of students

    Urban; eco-friendly; focused; fun-loving; outside the norm

    Bang for the buck

    A private school education can be very expensive, but Seattle University hasn't been overly so. Also, I feel that the quality of the classes more than makes up for it.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoyed just strolling the campus, meeting up with friends at Starbucks or Subway across from campus, or drinks at Jimmy's on the corner of Madison & Broadway.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. Many health-conscious choices. The campus banned the sale of bottled water on-campus, making it eco-friendly, too!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I didn't partake of this, but many of my friends had positive experiences with this. Living in Seattle, the heart of the urban sprawl - very exciting!

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in a graduate program and have found it rigorous but fair. It is indicative of the field, after all, and what better way to be tested for the real world?

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a bus pass! Ditch your car. If you aren't a commuter student, your car will be a hassle, looking for parking. On-campus housing is spendy but convenient.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is full of hardworking enthusiastic professors who breathe life into dry material. It houses some truly fantastic minds, students and staff, and allow many opportunities for its students to succeed. It has been a great experience attending this school.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a fairly safe place and the university has good on campus security.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, but you can get over to the University of Washington for that easily.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or organization for just about anything, which is surprising for a smaller school. If you don't find what you are looking for, you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    -liberal students -community-minded students -LGBT -service-minded students

    Bang for the buck

    While the school is expensive, you get an amazing experience for the money. More than worth it.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is fairly good, although a little restricted sometimes. If you get bored with that, you can go off campus easily.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice compared to others, although it may be a little difficult coming and going after dark.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very strong. There are a lot of courses to choose from and a wide range of academic programs to choose from as well. The professors expect a lot from you, but you can expect just as much from them most of the time. Students come away with something after most courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't need to know exactly what you want to do in order to attend Seattle University. The professors and advisers understand that each student is still searching for their calling and are very helpful in digging out each individual's strengths and skills for a valuable and strong education.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a Jesuit Catholic school which attempts to mold students into leaders for a just and humaneworld. Through learning in and out of the classroom, students are taught the ways in which they may have a positive impact on the world. The education you receive at Seattle University provides the skills necessary to work in ways that go beyond the salary and into the deeper goals of your future profession, whatever that may be.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, not a very social/ party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several secret locations around campus, such as gardens and study rooms. Radio Station provides a free show every friday from local and well known artists.

    What to do for fun

    Located in Capitol Hill where there are great places to eat and hang out at in walking distance. Downtown is only 5 minutes away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply if interested in nursing or business & economics, don't expect much out of smaller departments like Communications, Journalism, and Arts.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a safe open campus despite being located near the downtown area. Provides a great program in Nursing as well as Business and Economics. Has a diverse student population.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety officers patrol campus 24/7

    Greek Life

    There are several that are run entirely by the student body. Not as strong as other schools because it is a small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A plethora of clubs from dance to public speaking.

    Great for these types of students

    It is the most diverse university in the state.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is quadstock, which is a on-campus concert. Every year in May, the school has four or five bands come play for an entire Saturday. Bands that have come in the past have been Nirvana, Dan Deacon, The Thermals, Del the Funkee Homosapien, and Mayor Hawthorne.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the faculty have P.H.D.'s in the subject they are teaching. Smaller class sizes allow for a more personal relationship between faculty and students.

    What to do for fun

    How can I begin? Theaters, museums, concert halls. If you prefer the outdoors, there are tons of ski areas around, and SU provides trips to all of these Mtns. In addition, the school offers backpacking trips, kayaking, and bicycling. As for myself, I enjoy going to concerts, because Seattle is one of the best cities to see live music. Also, there are music and film festivals which are some of the largest in the country. It is hard to be bored in this city.

    Food and Dining

    Incredible food. Very fresh, with a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    If you live in a dorm with two or more people, you are in for a prison cell experience, but it can create a relationship that will last for years.

    Academic Rigor

    High academic standards which can be a little frightening at first, but as long as you stay focused, you will excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to write good essays in high school, and read as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Very quaint, peaceful little campus in the heart of downtown Seattle. Diverse student body and an excellent faculty. Perfect school for those who want a city experience in their education.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is amazing and always available. We even have a van that takes student to and from places at night just to ensure their safety.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much of a Greek life, but the University of Washington allows our school to join their Greek row.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for absolutely any and everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to just hangout have a good time and get the things done that they need to. Its not a party school so as long as you are ok with that then you will love it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are way too many to list.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit expensive for such a small school.

    What to do for fun

    Thee are endless amounts of things to do for fun, you just have to want to do them. There are a lot of out door activities especially through the school, like skiing or climbing. there are many concerts in the city that feature many big artist. There is great yoga and other exercise related things as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Seattle University is always amazing, sometimes it gets boring but it always tastes great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok. not the Ritz but provides you with anything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    the school is extremely academic, but there are many resources available for students if things get a bit difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan schedules for getting your work done and you stck to them. Never put off work to play, at Seattle University the parties never end, so you won't be missing out if you skip one party.

    In three sentences

    It's a really great school, but the social aspect of the school life can be a bit distracting. There are tons and tons of great resources available for all students and they are extremely accessible. Attending Seattle University is like joining a new family you are welcomed in with open arms, everyone cares about your success, even the students themselves.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities that are offered by the school. Around you are also music venues that offer great nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food options available on campus. You are also in a hip neighborhood which also have a bunch of wonderful restaurants and cafes around you.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in a dorm so I can not leave any feedback about this. They do look really nice though.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very tough although you get a smaller class size than other universities. This allows you to have more face time and questions answered by professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would plan financially as it is expensive and also be prepared to be competitive in nature as you are now within a tougher competition class.

    In three sentences

    Seattle university is a great school that pushes you to succeed in your education and your future careers. They offer services like career services, tutoring, and many types of clubs. They have a wonderful business program that is ranked.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always explore Seattle for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, just expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all extremely small and rather strict.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is challenging, but there is also all the support available to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Seattle University and always submit a FAFSA. You never know how much financial aid the school will be willing to give you.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a small, Jesuit university that promotes the well being of not only its Redhawk community, but also the community that surrounds it. Classes are small, professors care, and students are engaged in active learning. Seattle University is a great school!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive to go here, but luckily they have a good amount of scholarships they give out. Also, you can't really put a price on the environment and community surrounding the school and the city.

    What to do for fun

    You are in Seattle! Concert venues around every corner, great cheap places to eat, thrift stores, big downtown shopping centers, pikes place, the water. Too much to list.

    Food and Dining

    No questions, absolutely fantastic. Many options even for those who have food allergies or vegetarian. The food is always fresh and as much as possible local.

    Dorm Life

    They have great floor activities if your into them, but if your not that is okay too. They have pretty strict rules so don't expect crazy out of control parties going on, unless the RA's are already on their way.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the small class sizes, the teachers get to know you and hold you accountable to doing your best. The school is on a quarter system which creates a fast paced curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to try all of the activities provided by the school because they do a really great job integrating you into the city, community, environment, and spirituality. Also, don't be afraid to venture out by yourself into Seattle! It's a great place to get adventure.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University an oasis in the midst of a bustling city and provides the feel the world and not just a simple college town. SU focuses on human rights and social justice, even among the local community. There is always something to do here.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exploring Capitol Hill and downtown is the best thing to do for fun. There are shops, clubs, restaurants, parks, etc. Seattle University, although not known for its sports, provides fun sporting events that are exciting to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious at Seattle University. The catering company is almost gourmet and you will always find something you like. The cafes and shops provide food all around campus that is satisfying and comforting.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are spacious and inviting, and although the rooms are small, lobbies provide extra space to hang out and relax. The housing and residence life staff is always willing to help with any concerns. Bathrooms are not ideal in the large dorms but are a lot worse at other institutions.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely challenging but well worth the effort. Teachers are there to help you succeed and want to open your mind. There will be a lot of work in most classes but it is all relevant to real life and to your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to come out of your comfort zone if you are shy! Classes are small and many professors encourage your participation. Seek help from resources around campus, whether it be the counseling center, advising services, or tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a unique, tight-knit, and helpful community. The campus is beautiful, green, and comforting, and the people are welcoming, approachable, and compassionate. Classes at Seattle University are challenging but mind-opening, and will provide you with opportunities and insight for the future.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are in Seattle! Close to Canada, and all up and down i-5 there really isn't the need to ask what IS there to do ... but rather what is there NOT to do. :D

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school...visit the school... VISIT THE SCHOOL! I would encourage all students looking into a school to go there and get the best feel for it personally. Don't be afraid to go to YouTube and Facebook to gather more information about the schools you are looking at.

    In three sentences

    This school is the right balance of both in the city (large feel) and out of the city (small learning community feel). The campus is both inviting and secure. I enjoy the people that attend and the people that work at the school, they know how to connect with the students and engage the community.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theft and violence are of very little concern on campus

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can't find a club, it's super easy to gain recognition from Student Government

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't let the Jesuit Catholic label get to you, the University challenges your religion; Jesuit education wants you to sort of find yourself, not convert yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but financial aid rocks!

    What to do for fun

    SU is in the middle of the vibrant Capitol Hill district of Seattle - any time of day, there's always something to do. If you're looking for more, Downtown and UW is a short bus ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Known around the area for the best college food.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls are all well-mantained and fun to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Different professors, different standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid at Seattle University is great! Don't let the cost bring you down!

    In three sentences

    Attending Seattle University as an undergraduate resident is a mind-boggling experience. Living in an urban setting exposes you to different mindsets, while the curriculum challenges the way you see the world.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Public Safety in all buildings and walking around campus at night. They also will escort you up to 8 blocks to be safe. Public Safety checks the dorms multiple times at night to make sure no disturbances are occurring. They do a great job at making the students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many club opportunities on campus and those clubs hold events weekly. And to find out about these events its as simple as checking your email. The school is very good at distributing information.

    Great for these types of students

    City Dwellers Social Butterflies Diverse Accepting of others Interested in Education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a great concert at the end of the year at the center of campus. It is called Quadstock and artists such as Macklemore have played there in the past. Also, the MacLab in the library is a great place to study that many people dont know about.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this school does cost around $50,000 a year they offer great scholarships for incoming freshmen and the education you receive here is fantastic. I cannot express how great the small student to teacher ratio is for understanding material. Also, professors are always willing to help you outside of class during their office hours.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do. The campus is only a 15 minute walk from downtown Seattle. Also it runs parallel to Broadway which is a great street that ranges from tattoo and piercing parlors to great restaurants and shopping centers. There is so much to do for every single person.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Apetit caters all the food for the school. Its all organic and locally grown, which is a huge plus for people afraid of gaining the freshmen 15. There are 4 different campus cafeterias that are spread out and accessible with many options. They also offer great choice for gluten free and vegan.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Campion Hall and its a great building. Our floor is very social, people keep their doors open and we all know each other really well. Also, Campion has the advantage over the other dorms that one, it is the biggest and two, it has the grocery story called The Cave in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to go onto ratemyprofessor.com before signing up for classes and choosing the best teacher for the subject you have to take. The professors move fast since it is the quarter system, so the best teacher is needed!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into what major you want and if Seattle offers this. Also, choose dorms wisely. They all have something the other doesn't and the choice greatly affects your satisfaction and your college experience.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic choice for those seeking a close knit community, great campus and wonderful city. The school has a great student: teacher ratio which helps the student focus and retain more information through interaction. The school offers many volunteer opportunities, internships and involvement in the great city of Seattle.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every corner has a emergency pole. All you have to do is press the button and help will be on your way. There are also shuttles where you can get picked up or dropped off depending on how far you are from campus. Public safety is always walking around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that cater to different people. If you don't like any of these clubs you can also start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the city life, good food, and those who want to get a high end education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a Jesuit university, Catholic masses are offered everyday around noon. Sometimes classes are cancelled due to certain Catholic holidays.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a pricey university but you get what you pay for. You don't have to go far to find help with whatever you need. Occasionally freebies are handed out! I mean who doesn't like free stuff!

    What to do for fun

    Seattle University is in the heart of downtown Seattle and right next door to Capitol Hill. Everything is pretty much walking distance. A few blocks down there are parks and restaurants. You can also take the metro to downtown Seattle where there are malls and other shops. There is also many tourist attractions such as the Space Needle, Pike Place Market and sports stadiums.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing!!! The food is made fresh daily and are local products.

    Dorm Life

    There are Jesuits on every floor. There are three resident houses for freshmen; bellermine, xavier, and champion. Bellermine and champion are the best, xavier is a little older and is an international student resident house. The archbishop Murphy apartments are also offered for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take and your participation in class will determine the academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off in the first quarter of freshman year. Network with other students. This is a given but when you are confused, don't be afraid to go to your professor during office hours.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a Jesuit University that has small class sizes. Professors encourage students to come to their office hours. There are also many resources available to students to assist them in their classes.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety people, while sometime creepy to see walking down your floor at two in the morning, are actually super awesome. They do a great job, especially considering we are in downtown Seattle in a not so great part of town (tip: know what the reputation of the area around the school is, not just the reputation of the school). My favorite story of public safety though is how they helped some friends of mine. There sink wasn't working and they had filled out all the forms and everything but no one came to fix it. They called campus safety and they got it all organized for the schools fixers to come fix it all. If you ever have any problems, besides not getting homework done, campus safety is there to help.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist, there's some buisness greek thing but it's not at all a greek obsessed college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do on campus, at the very beggining of the year they do a club fair and I'm pretty sure that not all of them were there because there are so many. I do guitar club, bioloigy club, and am part of the Redzone Hawksquad which goes to a bunch of the games and yells really loud, we do other stuff but that's a highlight.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library is actually a great place to study, open most nights 'till eleven there's individual study rooms on the forth and fifth floors that are great to actually get some work done, read a book, browse hulu, or generally procrastinate. I found a book there that was over a hundred years old, not just a book behind some shelf you have to order, but a book I could take right off the shelves and hold. While not everyone may like books or the library, that's pretty fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    SU is right on Capitol Hill, so there is so much to do. Just show up and go exploring. Find some friends and walk down to Pike's Place, take a run to the park, or go watch a Sea Hawks game. (Or Redhawks-Go SU!!)

    Food and Dining

    Bon Apetit is the bane of my existance. That's the people who do almost all the food on campus minus a gourmet grilled cheese cart that comes to school twice a week. It's 50% local and most of it is organic, they're great at labeling what has allergens in it and have gluten-free, dairy-free, almost anything free options if you need it, just ask. At high traffic times many of the stands will fill up at the main cafeteria C-street, however, there are plenty of other smaller locations on campus to get food. My favorite is in the law building (which is beutiful by the way) called The Bar. It has coffee and pastries and the like but also some lunch items that they only serve at The Bar. The best part for me, is that I can stop by ther between science classes because it's super close.

    Dorm Life

    Here's the thing about dorm life at SU. It's not just one thing that makes it a 4-star rating, the dorm life depends on the person, the floor, and the dorm. I live in Campion, which is the largest dorm, it's also a little farther from the center of campus, while not the farthest it is separated from the school by a busy road that can take forever to cross when you are in a hurry. I also live on an all-girls floor, which adds a different environment if that's what you are looking for, otherwise all the other floors in all the dorms are co-ed. The big plus for Campion is that it has it's own mini-supermarket in the basement. Make sure to ask around, I picked this dorm because someone suggested it, and I really like it, but you might not, get your own opinion by taking a tour.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it four stars because I'm not crying in a puddle trying to recuperate from finals. But the school is not an easy school, they really want to challenge you, make you think about the topics and spend a considerable amount of time outside of class studying. However, I am in a very difficult major (biology), and so spend more time studying than many of my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing dorms make sure you actually walk around the dorm if possible, there are virtual tours of the room, but not of the whole dorm. Know how much you like to and want to eat. A meal plan is required, I had the smallest one and I still had money left over, however, I have friends that also had the smallest one and ran out of money-if nothing else just try to budget your food spending.

    In three sentences

    SU while in the direct flight path of many planes flying into SEA-TAC is also perfectly located on Capitol Hill. The small campus not only offers great walking to class times but means it's very easy to walk right off and have a good time. Best of all, the professors are wonderful, all of mine were a blast to have in class and were readily available after class.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being in a large city, the crime-rate in the city is notable. However safety on campus is excellent. The University's Public Safety Department works with some of the best security companies in the city to help ensure the effectiveness of their patrols and protection.

    Great for these types of students

    Art enthusiasts, music fans, theater zealots, nerds, geeks, nightlife lovers, community service activists, multi-interest/multi-study students, sports fans

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Seattleite tradition of music festivals, Seattle University has its very own Quadstock each spring featuring popular local bands.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private institution, it is quite expensive. But, given the intimate class sizes, sense of community, and educational opportunities provided, it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Being in Seattle, there is always something entertaining to do, someone cool to see, or somewhere fun to go.

    Food and Dining

    The price of food is understandably high (given the number of local and conscientious food products used) and Bon Appetit, who caters across the entire campus, provides a good variety of dining options.

    Dorm Life

    The community, provided space, and available resources are fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been very pleased with the work I've done at Seattle University. Although, it hasn't been mind-meltingly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Acceptance to Seattle University isn't so much about good grades or high test scores. Being a Jesuit institution, Seattle U is much more impressed with students who have a passion for learning about many subjects and/or bettering the world.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University, being nestled in the heart of the Emerald City, provides much opportunity for students to experience unique and engaging courses of study with class trips to local locations. Also, being a Jesuit institution, it provides students with a well-rounded education, allowing for the study of various subjects of interest. That being said, Seattle University, as a university, provides its students with an education you are not likely to find elsewhere.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very safe, especially when considering how urban SU is.

    Greek Life

    Fortunately, none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots! You will be actively recruited.

    Great for these types of students

    Cosmopolitan student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our chapel is really modern, a nice get-away.

    Bang for the buck

    Quarter system vs semester system really helps to get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of athletic and special clubs. Immersion trips and retreats. Close proximity to the city, Seattle, and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive. Gets boring. Unexciting.

    Dorm Life

    Fun dorm life. Great immersion trips. Food program could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    Approachable Professors. Quarter system better than semester system. Good student advising.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to get involved. Lots of walking. Super close to fun city.

    In three sentences

    Very Welcoming. Easy to get to know everyone. Dedicated Professors.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events in Seattle depending on what you like. Seattle U also has a lot of clubs that are usually only advertised during the fairs, otherwise its hard to tell that there are any club activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Make sure you vary what you eat otherwise the food can become bland after eating it everyday.

    Dorm Life

    What you would expect in a building full of young adults.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics for freshman may or may not be a review of what you had previously done in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick the university that you are most leaning toward. There really is no wrong answer as long as they have what you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    It is a great university if you know what you are wanting to accomplish in college. The school provides a lot of resources for learning including out of class help both with teachers and students. The school is a decent choice considering the other colleges in the area.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good. It is in the middle of an American big city but I feel safe unless it is late , dark and I'm alone off campus. Dorms have great security.

    Greek Life

    Almost non existant and we like it that way

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it. If it's not here they will help you start it.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a smart hardworking regular girl next door type but I have met all kinds. It is a very diverse group. Not a lot of he man types but we do have some athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior streak day. Yes naked.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, private but if you are a good student and active there is scholarship money available.

    What to do for fun

    It is easier to name something that is not available. There is lots of campus like traditional clubs, volunteering etc. Then there is the amazingly diverse city of Seattle. Surrounded by the awe inspiring physical beauty of the Pacific Northwest...what more do you want?

    Food and Dining

    Good, plenty of choice but it's not gourmet dining.

    Dorm Life

    Fun in that amazingly lame but totally fun way that residential life events always are.

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect for me. Hard but the professors want you to succeed and there is plenty of opportunity for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Go to everything you can fit in freshman year, narrow it down sophmore year, lead junior year and enjoy senior year.

    In three sentences

    The best decision I ever made! I love the University and feel it has changed my life. My only regret is that I will graduate and move on!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is so welcoming and its a great way to be meet good friends

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, nature lovers, city lovers, people who like to read. Those who enjoy Seattle-northwest weather

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior streak at the quad.

    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown seattle, capital hill, walk along broadway at night.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING food. Bon appetite does wonders

    Dorm Life

    Love it! Reasonably quite and loud at times. RA's are chill, most people are your floor/building are nice. Mailboxes are confusing...bathrooms are excellent!

    Academic Rigor

    College is tough! Teachers can be difficult graders when they push you because they know and expect you to do better

    Tips for prospective students

    Beautiful campus, take a tour! Doesn't push Catholicism on you even though its a Jesuit institution! Very accepting, great place to be.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers in small classes who do really want to you to succeed. Best food ever. Community is like none elsewhere.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Located in the heart of Capital Hill, it's close to everything. Downtown is only 5 minutes away and theres loads of fund things to do

    Food and Dining

    Everything is locally grown. Big on saving the environment.

    Dorm Life

    So close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are great, most have experience in the field. The material isn't too difficult. Great hands on learning experience

    In three sentences

    Great mind for social justice. Love the small class room settings

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great 24/7 security, and rarely have safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Seattle University has a broad array of clubs and activities. They are something going on everyday.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who learn best with personal attention.

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle University is very expensive, but they offer a lot of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle University is surrounded by Seattle. The waterfront, and pike place market are on its door step, and Capital Hill in its backyard. 24/7 there is life buzzing around campus.

    Food and Dining

    On top of the multiple options on campus for food you are surrounded by the city, so good food is always available.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun! The community in the dorms is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are often time consuming, but I have never learned so much in just a quarters time.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to use all the resources that Seattle University provides. Professors and advisers are two of your best resources, but the student clubs and connections are great too!

    In three sentences

    Seattle University has a strong community and great professors! I have never known professors who want to have a real relationship with you and be with you on your path to success. The students here are also very dedicated and accepting.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    walled in and has check points at major openings to the college, also has a key card for your building and a key for your room.

    Greek Life

    None as far as i saw

    Clubs and Activities

    Highly entertaining and you can create your own if you have enough people and support for your education.

    Great for these types of students

    Psychology, business, and political science majors. there are others but these are the primary majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its a Jesuit campus with Jesuit teaching styles, you can be apart of any religion you want but they house a large christian group.

    Bang for the buck

    not going to lie, it is really expensive and a bit overpriced, but it does match the price you pay with the level of education you want...just barely.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the center of Seattle, one of the centers of the world with fantastic restaurants, shopping districts, and any other thing you could want in this world.

    Food and Dining

    beside the fantastic meals the school provide, your in Seattle go out and enjoy hundreds of varying restaurants with some being the best of the world.

    Dorm Life

    you can be a bit cramped in some areas, but it is largely open and you can have both your privacy and social life without the two intertwining.

    Academic Rigor

    Highly traditional Jesuit style of teaching and interactivity by both the class and teachers who really care. It will be challenging but hey, who goes to college expecting it not to be?

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what type of room you want and that you are willing to pay for this rather expensive college.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic Facility, location in the center of Seattle, WA, highly security savvy and very open to change when necessary. The college values Psychology, my major, and business administration. Finally they follow a form of Jesuit teaching where both the student and teacher teach and debate within the subject of the class.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. There a lot of places to eat on campus and most of it is good. On the weekends most of the places are closed and what is open isn't always good so be prepared for that.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. There isn't that much craziness. There is just enough to have fun and be able to say that it's not completely boring all the time. The dorm rooms are decent sizes and are big enough as long as you don't have a lot of stuff. There are co-ed floor and single sex floor so everyone can be comfortable. The elevators can take forever especially if you live on the 12th floor of Campion like I did.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult but most of them are somehow linked together. Something learned in one class can be connected to something in another class, even for classes that don't seem to be related at all. The classes are small so it is easier to learn and get attention from professors.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown Seattle, go on a hike, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Awesome! Ranked 17th in the nation!

    Dorm Life

    There is always fun things to do!

    Academic Rigor

    You are able to have a social life, but also experience some academic challenges depending on the courses you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying early action will greatly increase your odds of acceptance!

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is located in the heart of downtown Seattle, but has the ability to have a great campus feel. The professors are great and always willing to spend extra time to help their students. There are many different opportunities to get involved in the school.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is #1 at SU seeing as there are many resources for one to keep safe. The Seattle University Public Safety has connections with the Seattle Police Department so that the school is always updated and every student is sure to be safely returned to the school if anything may arise. There are emergency phones located throughout the entire campus to notify Public Safety if anything at all were to go wrong. Late night snack? No problem. Public Safety has the Night Hawk which sends out officers within a 6 block radius of the school to go and pick you up free of charge. Seattle U emphasizes your safety over all else and takes the worry for you so that you can stroll around campus without having to afraid. Not to mention that they do have alerts if anything were to arise sent directly to your phone which is pretty handy.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    For most Americans who favor football, we are undefeated since 1891 when the school was established. Why? We may be just the best team around, or because we don't have a NCAA football team. If you absolutely need to be at a school where they have football, then this may not be the right school for you unless you are okay with Intramural Flag Football. Other than that, Seattle U has many Division I Athletics and it currently holds a wonderful standing with both men and women's basketball team seeing as they are potential competitors that are seen to make it to the finals of the Western Athletic Conference title. Not to mention all the other wonderful Division I sports such as soccer, tennis, swimming, track, rowing, and more! For clubs, there are many clubs established which include the largest club on campus, Hawaii Club. If you're from Hawaii, then you definitely will feel welcomed here seeing as there are so many others that know where you come from and there is a club dedicated to keeping your culture alive. There are also other clubs such ones dealing with art, journalism, honor society, community service, and even music. SU has its own student-run radio station known as KSUB and you can listen from anywhere by just logging on the to their website! The school gives many students wonderful opportunities to do whatever it is that they love. You can even create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for many types of students that like the music scene! This is Seattle and it is very hard to stay away from all the wonderful bands that come up every year. This school is also recognized by President Barrack Obama for being a school of excellent sustainability and Seattle University prides this honor. With this, environmentalists are well encouraged and you will absolutely fall in love with this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A wonderful tradition on campus is that every year the Health and Wellness Crew (HAWC) of Seattle University brings in puppies for a week for students just to play and have fun to relieve all the stress built up from homework, activities, and just everything in general! Puppies are amazing picker-uppers!

    Bang for the buck

    This school may be a Private Institution, but it is purely amazing. Located at the heart of Republic City and with the wonderful atmosphere around it it is very hard not to instantly love this place. You will be able to enjoy all four seasons of the year and find the school does very well to help you celebrate it. The academics are of sole importance because that's what everyone goes to college for, right? Well, Seattle University has a strong connection to all of its Alumnis and upon graduation the school will do its absolute best to help you secure a job and be well on your way.

    What to do for fun

    You could join all the activities that Seattle University has to offer, or just simply go outside and enjoy the city. There are so many places to explore that you can venture off to and possibly find you new favorite spot. Remember, this is Seattle. This city is the center of music and there are always bands playing every single night and it is just a matter of buying tickets and heading out for the concert! It's that simple! There is so much to do within this city that you'd be surprised how overwhelmed you may feel when given all the options.

    Food and Dining

    The food is magnificent. There are so many options of food with consideration of dietary health such as vegan, vegetarian, and so on. For breakfast there is always an omelet station open or a station with the good old bacon, pancakes, sausage, potatoes, and eggs. You could also opt out to make some cereal, makes some toast, or even have some bagels. Fruits are always available and is always made an option. For dinner the services range from pizza, burgers, chinese, sushi, italian, and more! There's also a bistro for coffee and late night bites!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and well kept with custodians maintaining the facilities every single day. Yes, every single day. The dorms have more than enough space and each dorm is capable of keeping outside noises to a minimum. The floor itself can be very social if people choose to do so just by keeping their doors open or even posting or writing things on the door/whiteboard that's provided. The school allows you to personalize your room to your liking and allows for individuality. For people who like to sleep versus the nocturnal people, there are quiet hours which are enforced and implemented so that your dreams stay undisturbed and you remain sleeping in peace.

    Academic Rigor

    This University has a very rigorous program for all major fields. With required core classes and a brand new system reinvented to educating the whole person recently established, Seattle University continually seeks to improve the curriculum and makes it quite evident with this recent change. Each class pushes you and makes you strive for the grade worthy of your efforts. Indeed it is a very tough journey, but what journey isn't? The teachers get to know each of you individually and also finds the methods to teach you to best improve your capacity for learning and succeeding. You will be faced with very critical moments in your academic life here, but teachers and staff are ready to guide you along the way making readily accessible office hours to everyone. You truly receive all of what you put into tuition when you go here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students planning to come to Seattle, if they do not already know the place, should very well make sure to plan for an adventure. Seattle University is at the heart of Seattle and does an amazing job of blending in. Make sure you bring comfortable, warm clothes and have a pair of shoes that you don't mind walking everywhere in. The campus is small enough to get around by walking which eliminates the need for any bikes and boards, but it will indeed benefit you. Freshman 15? Seeing as you walk pretty much everywhere you go you may actually be losing 15. A big tip is to be open to the city around you. The city is absolutely amazing and is less than a mile or two away! You can find all the shopping places you need, so you definitely wouldn't need to bring you entire house with you. Although it may be wonderful here the whether is extremely bipolar. One day it may be sunny, and the next it can rain. One year may have snowfall, and the next Seattle decides not to have a White Christmas. Make sure you love the cold when you come here because you will easily start to feel like cool drafts if you haven't already!

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is by far a University to honor in its dedication to educating the whole student. Life here is extraordinary and the scene here with the music in Seattle and the city life just astounds you and captivates you beyond your belief. Of course this school can seem, like any other, like it is not for everyone, but it does one amazing job at making you question that.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school just got two former cops on the public safety, we're two blocks from a police precinct.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of school clubs but you'll have to seek them out.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need professors to do individual teaching and go through things slowly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the school has senior streak. Very fun watching a bunch of naked people run around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very pricey but you pay for the prestige of the school and the one on one time that the professors provide.

    What to do for fun

    The school is near downtown Seattle and is not too far from UW. The school also sponsors a ton of events for students on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is actually grown on the campus and the school caters to all diets.

    Dorm Life

    Co-ed and plenty of activities that are set up for getting to know lots of people.

    Academic Rigor

    The science majors have it harder than the rest of the majors because the school is on the quarter system. Our nursing program is one of the best and they only except the best, if your grades fall below a c or at a c you're out.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very expensive, either have scholarships ready or find ways to save money.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small and there's plenty of one on one time with the professors. The campus is beautiful. Professors are very helpful with classwork and looking for jobs, and internships.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's seattle, city life to embrace/campus life too

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    People are friendly, facilities are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and outgoing, immerse yourself in clubs and activities, if you're like me and aren't a hipster/EDM lover/apathetic teenager then you should try to find like-minded people because everyone else sucks.

    In three sentences

    The university has good academics that are rigorous and cover a lot. Socially it isn't as great and students are unfriendly to people who don't fit the status quo. Administration is also kind of bad, doesn't do that great of a job, but facilities are fantastic.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities hosted each week that are free around campus. If, however, one wishes to travel a little farther, Seattle University is located in the perfect position to check out museums, art exhibits, and many other great activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options for vegetarians and vegans which is a major plus and almost everything is homemade. It is easy to eat healthy and be environmentally conscious since the school does compost and recycle.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is great. Everyone is extremely friendly and welcoming creating a community based living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The beginning is not as difficult because of all the help available. It does become more rigorous as time passes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible and make sure it is the right choice for you before committing.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is an amazing college focused on the holistic approach to teaching. Although it is a bit pricey, the food, small class sizes, and one-on-one time with your professor is well worth it.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, the city is amazing, and the people are brilliant! A very good school. Near the city.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cherry Street Market which is affectionately nicknamed C-Street is the best place to get a variety of food on campus. It is our main eating area with a bunch of different stations. You can eat pasta, pizza, sushi, burgers, etc. The menu is changed every day so you can enjoy a variety of different foods. There is also a global station that has a lot of ethnic food that I have never heard before, but that taste so good. Also if you are worried that they do not serve rice, but only potatoes because Seattle University is on the mainland, fret not because they have a rice bowl station. If you are vegetarian or vegan there are signs next to the foods that will tell you if they are vegetarian or vegan friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Campion dorm which is the biggest one with 12 floors. Even if it is so big it can feel small because of the Learning Communities. Based on a survey you are placed on a floor with people who answered their surveys similarly so it is easy to get along with people on your own floor because of your shared interests. There are also plenty of dorm activities happening all the time that get you exploring Seattle and getting to know the people on your floor even better.

    Academic Rigor

    In high school I could get straight A's with just the barest amount of studying. In college, however, all that has changed. I have a study desk, a lamp, a drawer full of books, and all the sugary snacks I would need to keep me up all night and I use them all the time. You cannot slack off with the classes here. But just because the classes are hard does not mean you cannot get good grades. The amount of help you get is astonishing. In the library is the tutor center, writing center, and math lab. The professors meet up with you when needed and they even set up their own special study time with tutors that you can attend for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no tips that can help a student prepare for life at college. No matter how prepared you are to face independent life away form your friends and family, rigorous homework that keeps you up late, and new people, tips will not help you. College is something you have to experience and work at constantly. You can prepare your brain for something, but never your heart. The one thing you should remember is to make new mistakes and learn from them, not always make the same mistakes.

    In three sentences

    Seattle University is a Jesuit school that is right in the middle of the city. Just because Seattle University is Jesuit does not mean you have to believe in a certain religion. It just means they pride themselves in helping you become a smart graduate, not just a smart student.