Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seton Hill University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/29/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything about this school seems worth the $36,000 a year, except the dorms. I expected a private school to have much nicer dorms than just the standard ones, especially now since more schools are building new dorms so everyone can have a suite dorm. However, to get a nice dorm you either need to get into the honors dorms or wait to be an upperclassman.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone at the school lives in a small atmosphere which enhances the closeness of the students. Everyone is so nice and friendly.

    Will learn a lot

    The student to teacher ratio is about 16:1. You will have more of an opportunity to have one on one learning experience. Also there are no teaching assistants or student teachers, they are all professionals.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music, art, theatre, psychology, English

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people when and if you come visit. Take a tour of the buildings and performing and visual arts centers, both inside and out. Look to see if the school will fit your major well and if you feel that you will get a good, hands on education here. You'll know if the school is right for you once you've seen it.

    Bang for the buck

    Seton Hill isn't exactly cheap, but the students here are given many opportunities to further their education using the best resources around like computer labs, some of which are open 24/7, projectors in every classroom, and more. It is an older school, so the buildings and dorms here are old, but I think that the older buildings give the school a much more cozy feel. My one friend lives in a dorm with hardwood floors, and it feels a lot like a home.

    Am enjoying being here

    Seton Hill has hit me as a friendly school from the start. Everyone here is so nice and it's really easy to make friends! The faculty is great; they try to get to know you as a person and are always willing to help you with any of your schoolwork as long as you are willing to work hard. I feel very at home in my dorm, I live with some pretty amazing people and it's always fun to be there!

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a graphic design major at Seton Hill University and I am given the opportunity to use a wide variety of resources here. There is a Macintosh computer lab for the graphic design students with the Adobe Suite on each computer. I am learning a ton about Photoshop in my digital imaging class! I also have a theatre technology minor and am part of the color guard with the marching band. The new Performing Arts Center is amazing and has a ton of wonderful working space for both the theatre and music programs.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creatives who haven't had a chance to really do the genres they want to do in undergrad. People with a need to write who want to explore their genres and learn more than you can from a book. People who have stories to tell and just need to learn how to get them out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you really want to write popular fiction--it's incredibly worth it, but it isn't a cakewalk. You can't be lazy. If you want to write more literary things, it's probably not for you, either, since the focus is in Fantasy, Scifi, Romance, Horror and Thriller.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's fun, being able to do what I most want to do, and the program is meant to be engaging and enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    The Writing Popular Fiction Graduate Degree is amazing. Small enough for a really good one-on-one feel with the teachers, incredibly supportive, and more packed with information than I have ever seen in a school.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    seton hill invited performers to campus to entertain students.

    Food and Dining

    the food is the absolute best! there is so much to choose from!

    Dorm Life

    the resident halls are very clean and friendly. the small student ratio fosters unity among the students. everybody knows everybody and residents like to help each other out.

    Academic Rigor

    things move pretty quickly at seton hill but they have tutors and other addition help should you fall behind. some of the science courses are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to have a clear idea about what you want to major in. seton hill is very expensive and being undecided there is costly

    In three sentences

    seton hill is a small campus that caters to one on one student/faculty collaboration. it can get kinda quiet and boring at times but the special attention students receive makes it worth checking out. they do make a big deal out of attendance though...

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus does a great job with the safety of its students, there hasn't been a time where i haven't not felt safe.

    Greek Life

    We dont have a Greek Life, but we are begining to get them around now which should be interesting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activites to get involved in while attending shu.

    Great for these types of students

    Shu is great for students that like small classroom settings

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always the fun in looking for the unground tunnels that lead from St. Vincent to Shu from the old days.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends, random trips to Pittsburg, and chilling on Sully Lawn are always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has its days were I wonder, but thats with all places you attend. It has its ups and downs but for the most part the food is always good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms just depend on who you room with and others around you. I haven't had a great dorm life because of old roommates, but it has been getting better.

    Academic Rigor

    The studies here can be hard if you dont study, but if you do and study alot you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small class sizes, know everyone, and being away from a town but close enough to walk down a hill than you are set, if not do not go here.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill is a great place to learn, make friends and grow as a person. IF you are in a jam with Rez Life than dont except them to make good choices they might screw you over. Other stuff members are great and friendly

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt more safe.

    What to do for fun

    Greensburg is a quaint town, but there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The Cove is renovated and open when you're the hungriest!

    Dorm Life

    Honors housing is amazing, and after freshman year anyone can live there!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major. What I like about it is, because it's a liberal arts school, in order to graduate you must take a wide variety of classes involving various subject matter. This aids in becoming a more well-rounded individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. If you're looking for a school where you're not just another number, Seton Hill University is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill has a beautiful campus. Nowhere else will you get the one on one experience with faculty members who actually know your name. Its small size make Seton Hill the most personable school I know of.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great and dependable. We even have blue call boxes on campus to send out local police ASAP!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a plethora of clubs! you name it, we got it! and if we dont its so easy to start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    athletes! - 50% of our students are on a sports team artsy students- we have an awesome theater, dance, design, writing, art, etc programs I would say about 40% of the students are involved with the performing arts at SHU We have great physician assitant, dietetics, doctor of osteopathy, and pharmacy progams here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas on the Hill - they serve us a fancy dinner and decorate our dining hall to the max! Afterwards we have a huge dance in Cecilian hall! Its an absolute blast!

    Bang for the buck

    All walks around campus are 10 min at the most! So there is never a reason to be late for class! The faculty loves what they do and are so helpful when you need them!

    What to do for fun

    Play volleyball, hangout with friends, go to shows that our theater school puts on, mall, movies, parties.. the normal college stuff!

    Food and Dining

    You can always find something to eat between the 5 different food bars at the dining hall and the alternative option at Griffin's Cove that is like our very own sheetz on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year is not the best, but upperclassmen dorms are incredible! Air conditioned only a few years old and suite style living!

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking some of the toughest classes in the science departments and the professors are very knowledgeable and test you hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour and stay overnight to really get to know the campus to see if SHU is right for you.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love it here! There is such a tight knit community between the students, faculty, and community. I definitely found an awesome school with a lot of pride and character.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security around no matter the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas on the Hill, Seton Hill's Christmas celebration, is pretty amazing and not something you want to miss.

    What to do for fun

    The school organizes various activities for students. The community usual has something going on as well. There is also a very large mall and movie theater not far away.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices and options for where to eat are great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the major problem with the school. It's nice that most of them connect to the main building but they are old, have unpredictable heating, very thin walls, plumbing issues, and electrical issues. If you are lucky enough to be in a newer dorm, you have the misfortune of hiking to and from class because the dorms are so far away.

    Academic Rigor

    The course that students are expected to keep up with and the classes themselves guarantee that students will get the most out of their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend touring the campus with a student that has been their for a while. Also, tour the local community because despite it being urban, Greensburg is a fairly small community.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill was an excellent school with a caring staff committed to working with the students. The location was perfect. The major drawback of the school are the dorms.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Different things to do around the Greensburg area but many of the best activities require you to be 21!

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm but do not expect anything luxurious.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major and what classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit before you commit to anything. Spend the night on campus to get a real feel for it, if you can.

    In three sentences

    Positive: I love my teachers and small classrooms. Beautiful campus. Its nice to have small campus but it also has its draw backs. Pittsburgh is only an hour away. Negative: Small campus gets annoying after awhile. Recommend having a vehicle. Social life is not the greatest. Its expensive! Overall, a great school but it is not for everybody!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do at Seton Hill. One thing I enjoyed my freshman year was when the RA's would have floor events. It was always something to look forward too.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to be prepared for college and do not take it as a joke.

    In three sentences

    I rate Seton Hill University an eight. I give the school an eight because it's a small campus and the teachers pay attention to the students. I also like this school because it's a liberal arts university.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have emergency phones outside almost everywhere so it is really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    A butch of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who like the quiet life and good company.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetery about 100 feet of the dorms, but one of the students said you get used to it. Besides, it's full of nuns and holy people so I don't think they will haunt you. :)

    Bang for the buck

    There is an all-you-can-eat option with each meal, plenty of activities and opportunities, plenty of teachers to talk to if you're having trouble, and an exercise center, and a butch of things so I think it's worth the money you pay to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities and clubs for everyone and for almost everything.

    Food and Dining

    It is great! They have buffets with a salad bar, ice cream, and dessert treats though I'm not sure if they have all of these everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment because I haven't seen the dorms while the students were living in them, but there are no illegal drugs or alcohol so it must be safe.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken my classes yet, but I expect it to be fairly challenging. I think they advise for students to take about 2 hours a week to study for each class they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Greensburg, the location of Seton Hill, is an old city so it's not like Pittsburgh or a big, busy city, but the people here are very nice.

    In three sentences

    It is an old school with very nice people. They also have a great academic program. There is a lot of good things in and about Seton Hill.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seton Hill University offers a number of student services including nonremedial tutoring, placement service, and health service. Seton Hill University also offers campus safety and security services like 24-hour foot and vehicle patrols, late night transport/escort service, 24-hour emergency telephones, lighted pathways/sidewalks, and controlled dormitory access (key, security card, etc). Of the students at Seton Hill University, 50 percent have cars on campus. Alcohol is not permitted for students of legal age at Seton Hill University.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    The most popular majors at Seton Hill University include: Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services; Visual and Performing Arts; Psychology; Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services; and Health Professions and Related Programs. The average freshman retention rate, an indicator of student satisfaction, is 76.2 percent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Underneath the bottom floor is the basement an we sometimes go on ghost hunts, or haunted trails in search of the ghost. An in the admission buildings late at night you can see ghost roaming the halls, or so expected it is just apart of SHU.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much activity and student involvement at Seton Hill. Between the Foam Dance, and the Spring Thing events with speakers from Full House, and Student Activities Council hosting festivals and picnics there is never a dull moment on the hill. Not far down the hill is the Greensburg Community with the Downtown Community just a short distance ice cream and the train station await many students. If were looking for a weekend hot spot or just a moment to take a fresh walk the park is a nice place to venture. The park has received national recognition for its facilities and programs that are designed for use by all people. Extensive stone paved walkways, three fishing decks, as well as modified picnic and play areas are a few of the barrier free facilities available who wouldn't pass up a free hot dog in Twin Lakes on a nice fall or spring day.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria is amazing. We also have flex that we can use other places if were seeking a late night snack.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is seen as having something to offer the community. At the same time, each student accepts the responsibility of integrating lifestyles into that of the whole community so that a satisfactory quality of life is ensured for all. Such integration means compromise on the part of each individual and responsibility on the part of Seton Hill to see that certain rules are maintained for the mutual safety, convenience, and well being of the entire community. New first year students will reside in Havey Hall and Brownlee Hall. Honor students can elect to reside in DeChantal Hall on a first-come first-serve basis.

    Academic Rigor

    Teaching students to think critically is one of our major goals at Seton Hill. In fact, it is part of our mission. And since classes remain small, expect professors to question everything and then push you to find the answers. Here you will learn to make connections between abstract concepts and real world situations. You will solve problems creatively, and examine data analytically. And in the process, you will gain something much more valuable than knowledge. We call it wisdom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seton Hill University prepares students for continuous achievement. Not just in their field of study, but in everything they seek to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill University, founded by the Sisters of Charity in 1885, is a coeducational Catholic liberal arts university in Greensburg, Pennsylvania. Consider in the top 15 schools in the North.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always driving around patrolling the parking lots and there are emergency posts all over campus to call them if you need to. I feel extremely safe. Not to mention that you are up on a hill away from Greensburg.

    Greek Life

    We currently have no Greek Life. There is a group attempting to create one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs around campus and if there isn't one, add it. Get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work hard and succeed will do fine here. The education program is rigorous with the workload, but schools only want the best. The English department is also awesome. They are tough but help you improve.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's Christmas on the Hill Welcome Week Cemetery of Sisters and priests

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive but they do try to help out with scholarships and such. You do get issued a MacBook and an iPad if you are an incoming full time student, and you do use it! For the most part it's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are normally a scheduled activity or two around campus on the weekend. Take advantage of them. If not, find friends and make the fun happen. Have a game night or watch some movies.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options when eating on campus, Lowe Dining Hall or The Cove. Lowe Dining Hall is the traditional and main place to eat. For the most part to food is good, but check the menu outside the hall before you go in. If you don't like the hall or just don't have time go to The Cove. It's an alternative eating place that excepts cash, flex, or the meal plan. It has snack foods and other foods such as hoagies and quesadillas that you can order.

    Dorm Life

    It's a dorm. Living on campus is what you as the student make of it. I lived in Brownlee Hall as a freshman. I am now a resident in Main Complex... I live by myself and love it! Most of the dorms here are community bathrooms and showers but it's really not that bad, I promise. Having people to talk to in the hall makes it a lot better as well. A bunch of people just hang out in the common area at different times. Most of the times the RAs are fantastic as well. They are normally willing to help with whatever they can.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes I wonder why we meet in class because of the insane amount of work outside of class that goes with the curriculum, but it's definitely interesting. The most challenging part of the classes is maintaining your work outside of class. Have some fun but know when it's time to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities around campus, no matter how many times you have heard it been said. Talk to people because without making friends on campus it can be a lonely place, just like any other college/university. Do you work. Procrastination is not a trend that you want to start early with all the work. Most majors will have a massive amount of work during the first week of class. Stay on top of things!!

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus with a lot to offer students. The class load is rigorous and totally worth it. It is a smaller school, but it makes it easier to meet people. You can make it from Brownlee residence hall to Lowe Dining Hall in 6 minutes, which is most of the campus!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around, and it makes me feel safer.

    Greek Life

    I do not think we have any on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for a lot of different interests

    Great for these types of students

    liberal arts majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a catholic university, so there is a chapel, crucifixes, and statues of mary all around the campus. Nuns live here too

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They constantly have activities to do on the weekends, and walmart trips every tuesday. The dorms have some of their own activities too.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food, with lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the rest of the dorms, but the one I'm in has no air conditioning. The bathrooms are communal, but all in all, the place is clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, yet manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. If you go into music, you have to be dedicated. Be prepared to look at things in a different light than what you're used to.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. I am a music therapy student, and I think that the classes are suited to my needs. The technology advantage helps to switch time from computer labs, to time spent other places, getting the same amount of work done

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Art Music Medical

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a rumor of a underground tunnel system that spreads out underneath the whole campus.

    What to do for fun

    You are right in the middle of the city of greensburg. There are restaurants, bars, ice cream parlors, and tons of shops. There is always something going on on campus too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check seton hill out. It is an amazing place; everything about it is calm and easy.

    In three sentences

    It has the most beautiful campus. You get new macbooks and ipads. It has very friendly teachers.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and various stations to push buttons for help. The staff and other students seem to be very helpful if anyone needs help.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about greek life. I commute so I am not sure about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for every person on campus. There are clubs for your majors, and there are activities varying from sports to playing xbox.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't fall behind in your work, do all of your work when it is assigned. The work can pile up fast. Create a good relationship with your professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is very involved in historical events through out the Catholic religion. There are many opportunities to learn about the Hallacost.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be pricey to go to school at Seton Hill, but it is well worth it. I have a great support system who is willing to help with anything you need on or off campus. There is a 95% job placement after graduation and no other college does that.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs to join to stay on top of the fun on campus. There are many sports teams to be involved with or just go to the games. The drama department often puts on performances or trips planned to see performances else where.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is good and has a good variety. The food is not priced too high. There are vending machines throughout the campus, but many times they are not working or are out of products.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms, but many students do. The students complain that the dorms need updated. Other then that I have never heard anything else regarding the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are key to success at Seton Hill University. There is a ton of support for the students and many ways to receive help if you are having any problems. There is a 95% job placement for graduated students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every form of financial aid you can get. It can be expensive to attend, but well worth the money. The professors are very helpful and will go out of their way to help you.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill University's staff is very supportive and will go out of there way for your success. The curriculum is strict but can be accomplished. I have not been disappointed in anything yet.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It seems very interesting!

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. They us well and you're able to make any kind of request for a meal that you may want.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay for the most part. If you like people, you'll love having a roommate. The residence life department first matches you up with a person that compares to the short survey that they make you take before you move into your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here at Seton Hill look forward to your assignments being on time and if not, points are taken or sometimes they won't except work at all. So you never want to put yourself in that kind of situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who want to attend Seton Hill, I suggest that you stay on top of your school work because assignment points add up. You always want to do your best in assignments so you can the best possible grade for your work. Also make friends and join groups. It makes the college experience a lot easier when you have someone to share it with.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill was a great choice for me. It's not too far from home and it's a small campus. The staff is great and takes learning very seriously. Not only is the staff great, but so are the students that attend Seton Hill also.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really safe, all buildings are card lock cased.

    Greek Life

    NONE AT ALL! Alcohol free campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Academically driven

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of Holocaust and Genocide Conferences and Programs due to the Holocaust Center located in the school

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the cost, but it is expensive!

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city of Greensburg!!!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices!

    Dorm Life

    It's little old looking!

    Academic Rigor

    It's a lot of meaningful work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, volunteer cause they will call on you even if you don't! Always do your best and ASK teachers for help! They will more than willingly help you!

    In three sentences

    10 great teachers! great people! great opportunities!

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad ever happens at this school, literally. There may be the occasional drunk girl in a tree but nothing major. This is a secure campus.

    Greek Life

    None, there is a club trying to get greek life on campus which I am apart of called Future Greek Leaders (FGL).

    Clubs and Activities

    Seton Hill always has something going on on campus, the activities council does a good job of making sure you know what is going on and if you want to have a career in organizational planning it's a great opportunity.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-partying students or people that want limited partying in their environment. Great for people that want a secure environment were safety is priority and a non rowdy area. Great for people that are looking into studying abroad or at sea. Great for international students and students looking for diversity. Great for athletic males, because the school is newly co-ed therefore scholarships are available. Great for athletes looking for a secure starting place for DII.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas on the Hill is the big Christmas party at the end of the Fall semester which is like a highschool prom, only you dress in homecoming attire. At dinner professors are the waiters and waitresses and afterwards theres a big dance. After the dance comes the after parties that last till 6am. It's quite a night!

    Bang for the buck

    Given the amount of technology Seton Hill provides, the school is a great value. Academics are great for value as well. Technically Seton Hill is one of the best schools for bang for your buck but when attending you really have to search for it in hidden ways. This is not a flashy school, it's all about education and making it valuable.

    What to do for fun

    Small city, but if you leave the Hill and go down into the city there are shops, the YMCA, bowling, skating rink, Yoga studios, Parks and other quaint activities. Nothing major. If you want to party you're gonna have to go to Pitt. Because there isn't Greek life on campus the campus revolves around sports teams so each teams typically has a house off campus were parties vary between.

    Food and Dining

    Wish it was open later but the dining isn't bad. They take special orders which is good if you're a picky eater like me. You can give them your mom's baked mac recipe and they will make it for you. Holiday dinners are amazing and festive. The cafe looks like the inside of harry potter's hogwarts dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Most freshman live in Brownlee which is the oldest hall on campus. There's a stink bug problem on campus when it's nice out especially in Brownlee Hall. Newest Hall is the most expensive. Living off campus will roughly be the same as paying for a dorm. Halls need renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    Technologically advanced, and above the learning curve and trends. This school really pushes critical thinking but classes are easy to pass if you're just trying to get by. Although if you want to make something our of your education the resources are definitely there, the professors are very accomplished and professional, and course variety is definitely there.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at this school consider if you may transfer because most credits from this school will not transfer to other institutions. This school is in the mountains and on a hill...if you don't like long winters and iffy weather then this isn't an area for you. Consider the nature of people in the area as well, talk to real citizens and not people that are trying to sell you to the school.

    In three sentences

    Expensive private christian school. Beautiful area, school in on top of a huge hill. Good academics and many options for study.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Over paying for an okay education, over paying for horrible dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing to do for fun, honestly.

    Food and Dining

    Lowe dining hall has pretty good food sometimes, but the Cove food is very fattening and causes a lot of students to get sick anytime they eat anything there.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are disgusting, tiny, and infested with stink bugs and the school doesn't do anything about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors with a Dr. before their name aren't the greatest at teaching anything and they always come off as better than you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can commute definitely commute because the freshman dorms are bad. Make sure this is the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill is not as professional as it should be. It is also not very helpful as it should be for the students. Seton Hill is unenjoyable.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can feel safe on campus with the different security measures.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs already organized with the option to create your own at any time.

    Great for these types of students

    Music, Theatre, and Art students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Chapel is interesting at night (haunted). There is also many traditions and memories passed on from student to student.

    Bang for the buck

    Slightly expensive but some financial aid is available.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with friends

    Food and Dining

    There are two food service options that are available. The options aren't the best but they are acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    The residences are either new and exciting or the classic old dorms. You get to choose where you live as you become an upperclassman, but the dorms are acceptable and not a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging yet not impossible. Many of the professors are extremely willing to answer questions and help out wherever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the small size of the school discourage you. There are many great opportunities without being a lost name in a crowd. If attending take advantage of all the activities, it's a great way to make friends and connections.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill University has one of the most beautiful campuses around. With a faculty and staff that cares, and many extracurricular opportunities available it is a joy to attend. Small class sizes allow for personalized learning and understanding

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go running, chill with friends, make new friends, and just enjoy your time being their and have fun but still get your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seton hill is a good college for lots of students come to Griffins Day and they will make you want to stay after one day.

    In three sentences

    Seton hill is the great school to go to for a good education. with small classrooms and more one-on-one with your professor. The community is small but everyone makes you feel welcomed and I feel it's a great place to call home.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an extremely safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a non traditional student I still feel comfortable participating in clubs such as project HOPE which is a club that provides social services to the needy of the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any as this is my first semester here.

    What to do for fun

    I am a 42 year old non traditional commuter, thus my idea of fun is much different than those of the traditional student.

    Food and Dining

    As a commuting non traditional student I do not have any experience with the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non traditional student and do not have any dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the university has a very nice atmosphere, from the actual beautiful setting to the people themselves, this is also one of the most academically rigorous universities in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip would be, Don't be weirded out by how overly nice people are, especially if you are transferring from a larger metropolitan area.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill University prides itself as one of the nicest Universities in the country. As a transfer student and mother of three college students who attend state schools, I believe that they are living up to this claim. Both students and faculty/staff are extremely courteous, respectful and just plain nice.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Down town Greensburg!

    Food and Dining

    Cove is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Even though there is no air-conditioning in some of the dorms, the dorms are nice with nice roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do care about your education, and they will always take care of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply ahead of time. Go on a tour. Love it.

    In three sentences

    It is an AMAZING college. The teachers are kind, helpful, and know their students by name. Parking is not the best, but the beauty of the school makes up for it.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that patrol as well as emergency call posts that will allow you to talk to the campus police and they will send someone over to help you. The school is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a Greek life. The school wants all students to feel welcomed and important.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are just too many clubs to list. Some include: Democratic club Republican club Feminist collective Hockey club Dance club Student theatre activities council Math club Spanish club Nutrition club Gay straight alliance

    Great for these types of students

    Seton Hill is great for ALL students. We have great programs that are very intensive and you will definitely leave knowing your craft.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a Catholic school and we observe Kristallnacht since it was so devastating and we want students to feel welcome to participate in their own beliefs. We have so many little secret gardens around campus and they are all so beautiful. It's like finding magic at school.

    Bang for the buck

    Seton Hill is expensive, but they are VERY generous with their financial aid. I have loved my experience here and Know that this is an amazing investment into my future. It is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    We have a program called the Office of a Engagement that tries to have at least a couple activities going on every day. Whether it's a magician, hypnotist, seeing a show at the theatre, or a foam dance party, there is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so good. We have two dining options. One is the main dining hall ,which is called Lowe Hall and is buffet style, where you can either get sandwiches made to order, pizzas, salads, Italian foods, soups, and also the main meal that they are serving in the cafeteria/kitchen area. The other dining option is a Griffin's Cove where you can order pizzas, burgers, chicken, desert, and so much more and they will make it to order. The Cove is most popular when students still have meals left over on their plan and need to use them up.

    Dorm Life

    When applying, you want to choose Havey Hall to live in. It is freshman housing and is very modern. There is also Brownlee Hall which is older, but still nice (it has its own gym!)

    Academic Rigor

    The students here work very hard to make good grades. We hold a convocation for the seniors where they receive scholarships for their academic standings and it is a good majority of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. We have so many clubs to choose from and activities that go on every day. Everyone is eager to make new friends and there is always a place for you.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill is a small, beautiful, castle like, and close-knit school that wants to see its students succeed. The students and faculty are all open minded and supportive of everyone. Do not let the Catholic affiliation run you off, everyone is accepted and nothing is forced on you.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security works around the clock to make sure the students are safe. They can be called at any time to help with a variety of situations, whether it's needing a walk to your car after dark or needing let into your dorm after you lock yourself out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs to choose from. Every student can find something that caters to their tastes.

    Great for these types of students

    Seton Hill is great for students looking for a great pre-med program. Also they have an amazing art department to help anyone pursuing a career in the art field.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun. The student activities department makes sure that there's something interesting going on, whether its a one time event, or a Seton Hill traditional activity. Also there are several clubs that meet frequently that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great, both at the main dining hall and at the Cove. Meals are always hot and can cater to specific students dietary needs (allergies, strict diets, etc).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great way to meet new people and get used to living on your own. It will take some time to get used to having to share the utilities though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others. So long as you work diligently and manage your time, no class will seem too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and be open to new experiences. Learn to study and do work on your own, as well as find ways to spend free time.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill is a great school. With a variety of majors and a strong art and music department, Seton Hill has something to offer every type of student. Also the dining hall serves great food.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are very dedicated to keeping us safe and even Greensburg Police will make checks up around the hill.

    Greek Life

    There's only one and it's an honors fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of and there's usually a club. If there isn't, you're strongly encouraged to make it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who likes a smaller school, not secluded but just kind of set aside from the city. Hands on learning and one on one time to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a home for many of the elderly nuns just behind campus, as well as a cemetery directly on campus. Can get creepy sometimes but the old campus makes great for the ghost walk each year.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally would never switch schools. It's a little expensive- but hey, it's a private institution and to me, it's DEFINITELY worth it.

    What to do for fun

    It's right in the middle of Greensburg so there's plenty to do around town. On campus there are tons of intramural sports to get into or clubs with various activities. There's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    People say college food is disgusting and you'll be eating Ramen a whole bunch but i don't think i've ever eaten Ramen at school. The food is really good and I know that I look forward to meals there.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms. The suites are beautiful and you meet great people.

    Academic Rigor

    It has to be at least a four, probably edging more on a five. It's tough, they really work you but it's so worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study as much as you can. Literally read everything they tell you to and more. The more effort that you put forth, the better the outcome will be. You'll love it at Seton Hill.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The class sizes are small so there is one on one time to learn. The professors are amazing at what they do.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small family feel university that has small class size and you are not a number but a person. Enjoy a small relaxing environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas on the hill formal dance and dinner. Beautiful Christmas event a must attend

    What to do for fun

    Trips to the mall and downtown movies and concerts on campus athletic events

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and take a tour. You will not be disappointed. Take advantage of work study

    In three sentences

    I love my university. Amazing professors who really care. Community with a home and family feel.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are events going on every single week such as events similar to 'the spring thing', which is a week full of competitive games and fairs, 'Christmas on the Hill' which is our formal dance. And like I said before the student involvement/school spirit is through the roof. Sporting events are going on almost every day.

    Food and Dining

    We have an open food policy where if you have restrictions on what you can eat, the cooks will cook you something else. The cafe workers are always looking for ways to help and better our food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year the dorms are set up in traditional dorms with one other roommate. One dorm is very small but the bathrooms are nicer, where as the other freshman dorm is larger, more home like, with gross bathrooms. After freshman year the dorms are improved immensely. The dorms are set up in suites with 4 or 6 people to a suite.

    Academic Rigor

    As an education major people often ask me if I plan on moving out of Pittsburgh to find a job and my answer is always no. My answer is no because there is not a doubt in my mind that Seton Hill is completely preparing me for the future and the tasks that I will future face. Getting the education majors into the field our freshman year of college helps ensure that we are making the right choice being in our major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with professors before to make sure it is a good fit for you. GET INVOLVED WITH EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING. Do not be afraid to be yourself, the majority of people here are extremely accepting of everyone.

    In three sentences

    Seton Hill is an awesome school, but only if it is a fit for you. It's a small school where everyone knows everything about everyone, however I thrive in this type of environment. For how small our school is, our school spirit is through the roof small school, big hearts, can't lose.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun. One or two parties a weekend, on average. Dry campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Have friends who have cars

    In three sentences

    There are good courses here at Seton Hill. The only problem is the food service and cost of tuition being raised every year.