Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Sewanee-The University of the South Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who: * enjoy smaller classes * like being outdoors and away from the city (we are so far away from a mall!) * enjoy a challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up the grades, but also get involved a couple of activities. Those always look good on applications. Don't stress too much about finances because those tend to fall in line rather easily. I didn't think I'd ever be able to pay for this school, but I've found I only need to pay about $1200 total this year. Oh, and buy your books online if you can - especially people going into Humanities!! It is so much cheaper! Learn how to study and manage time beforehand. I say this from experience. Keep on top of homework, and make it your priority. There is so much reading that has to be done, and it takes longer than expected!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the tuition is extremely high, but I am certainly getting my money's worth. All of the teachers I have had so far have been extremely helpful both in and out of class, and they clearly have a passion for the subjects they teach, which definitely helps me learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here! The students I have met are all extremely friendly and welcoming. I have already met tons of students who share the same interests as I do. I never thought I'd find someone who I wanted to be roommates with for next year so quickly! She and I get along amazingly well, and we've only known each other for about a semester! The campus itself is beautiful and, though I have yet to actually get out and explore it, my friends all love the hikes. Believe it or not, I love just sitting and talking with my teachers. I have always enjoyed talking with adults and my teachers from high school, so it naturally carried over into college. I am a terribly shy person at first, but with my teachers here, I've found I can be extremely relaxed and open with them. They listen and understand, and they are more than willing to help with problems unrelated to academics. Plus, they are just cool people to hang out with!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here challenge me greatly. In high school I got A's with little to no studying, especially my freshman and sophomore years. This is only my first semester here and I only have one A the last time I checked (everything else is a B, though!). I've learned how to manage my time better and how to study better (still needs work, though). The classes themselves are fun and engaging, and I am learning about myself as well as about the course material.

  • 11/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be a part of an excellent academic community, Sewanee will be good for you. If you want to be in small classes where your professor knows you by name, Sewanee will be good for you. If you love nature, Sewanee will be good for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be turned off of Sewanee if you're not into partying- all of my friends save one don't party, and if you don't want to party, you won't be alienated for it. Also be aware that Sewanee is very academically oriented- you will have to put time into your classes, and because it's not a huge school, you can't just skip classes whenever you want to. Also be prepared to do a lot of walking =).

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say, Sewanee is VERY expensive. It's not the most expensive school out there, but the tuition is pretty high. I love everything about Sewanee, from the classes available to the professors that teach them. I love the campus as well, and I like almost every student I've met here. Although paying the tuition is stressful, I really do think that it's worth it to be here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Sewanee, to the point where I can't imagine myself at any other school. I have a great group of friends and a lot of really great opportunities available here, not to mention access to nature that most schools that I visited were really lacking.

    Am learning a lot

    It's hard to say if I'm learning a lot here because of the differences between high school and college academics, but I can say that I enjoy learning a lot more here, and feel much more motivated learning here than I did in high school.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -dedicated students who are also interested in having an active social life

    Tips for prospective students

    Sewanee is remote and the weather can be cold and wet-bring good boots and don't plan on shopping on the weekends!

    Bang for the buck

    Sewanee is a stretch as far as tuition. They do offer a quality education, however.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sewanee is all about community. There are so many ways to get involved if you look for them. Once you do, you become a part of web of people that care about you and want you to succeed. Sewanee's small class size facilitates this, allowing you to develop close relationships with faculty members. Sewanee graduates return again and again to The Mountain because this sense of community draws them back.

    Am learning a lot

    As a rising sophomore, I can look back and say I learned a lot my freshman year. Humanities was a good choice for me because it allowed me to see the connectivity among history, art, literature, and music.

  • 09/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who fits in the phrase work hard, play hard Outdoorsy types People who enjoy being away from the city, but within an hour of it (Chattanooga and Murfreesboro are both an hour away in either direction) Those interesting in English/Language and science programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for an overnight visit. It is crucial to spend the night to get the true feeling of Sewanee. Also, don't discount the price until you apply, because you will most likely get financial aid of some sort.

    Bang for the buck

    It's hard to comment on this. It just depends on what kind of scholarship or loan you receive. At face value, Sewanee is very expensive, but it is also generous with its academic scholarships, which is what I received. For me, I am receiving my money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    Nearly everyone is friendly, and there are many different activities to become involved in. Every week, there are free classic movies, sober activities, and clubs to participate in. A large amount of students are involved in Greek life, and there are a myriad of parties throughout the week to attend, if that is the kind of thing you enjoy. In all, the food is very good compared to other college food I have had, the people are willing to chat, the professors can help you outside of class, and the location is beautiful (although the weather is completely spastic. If you come here, you will learn the meaning of the mythic Sewanee fog).

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are all very challenging, and you must set aside large amounts of time to thoroughly learn all of the concepts presented in class. Compared to high school, for me, the workload is comparable, but I am only taking the usual four classes a semester, so I must go more in-depth into each. The professors always have office hours, or are happy to schedule an appointment to talk about schoolwork, and there are tutoring sessions offered for some of the common subjects, so the work is hard, but it's not impossible to have good grades.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    we live on 13,000 acres, so if you like being outdoors, this is the place to visit. also, nashville is 2 hours away, chattanooga is 45 minutes, atlanta is 2 hours, murfreesboro is 3. there's plenty of stuff to do on campus and off.

    Food and Dining

    mcclurg has good food that is available to students for up to 8 meals a day. the many restaurants in sewanee and monteagle are all very good. meal plan's inclusivity is a major plus.

    Dorm Life

    all of the dorms are very nice, divided into living-learning communities where you're living with like-minded students and networking with professors who teach in your expressed areas of interest. because it is such a small school, you form very close bonds with nearly everyone you meet. we are very much a family.

    Academic Rigor

    a difficult course load that requires self-discipline and time management. we work very hard, but we play just as hard, and if you can make yourself get what you need to do done, you'll have a great time.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit campus, and you'll feel whether or not you belong here. i can't stress enough how important a campus visit is - it's the only way to really get to know the school.

    In three sentences

    sewanee is a beautiful place that becomes a home away from home for every student that attends. we are a family, and we pride ourselves on academic rigor, active students and campus life, and plenty of opportunities to make your mark on the world. we thrive on the best and the brightest, and if you give us your all, we will give it right back and then some. this place will make you who you were meant to be.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Overachievers, scientists, English and history buffs, and musicians.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early!

    Bang for the buck

    They just lowered tuition by 10% to make it more affordable for everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    What a fabulous location. The campus is beautiful and there is never a lack of things to do, whatever your idea of fun is.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is definitely for a person who wants a challenge. My instructors are always available for extra help or just to visit about an interesting topic.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police that patrol 24 hours a day. They are really helpful.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is both interesting and challenging.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are pretty fun, if you are open to try the things offered.

    Great for these types of students

    All students willing to work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gowns add a sense of tradition and academic excellence.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are fun, so is visiting surrounding schools.

    Food and Dining

    McClurg is pretty descent on certain days and nights. They have these special days where they have birthday cake, smoothies, coffee, etc, that are rally exciting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty descent, get a good roommate and it can be the best living situation.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be difficult, if you are not prepared to go beyond what is asked of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work, for good grades. Meet with professors for both academics and just to talk, they appreciate that.

    In three sentences

    This school is beautiful beyond words. The students are offered a rigorous course of study from some of the best professors in the country. Overall, the best school for me!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sewanee is full of traditions; if you earn a certain gpa, you get gowned. Students are praised for maintaining the spirit, traditions, and ideals of The University of the South.

    Bang for the buck

    You're bound to find a job with a Sewanee degree. Also, the alumni connection is very strong and they are always willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    Sewanee is beautiful and the nature is meant to be enjoyed; the students frequently go on hikes, for example. Greek life is prominent on campus, with 80% of the students being associated with a fraternity or sorority.

    Food and Dining

    McClurg has a wide variety of food, including a home line, vegan line, pizza, salad bar, deli, burgers, and cereal all day.

    Dorm Life

    Sewanee's close-knit community feel is apparent in the dormitories as well. They are all clean and beautiful, and walking distance to central campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but achievable; the professors have very flexible office hours and are very willing to help. I am in each of my professors' offices at least once a week!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged. The school places heavy emphasis on writing, so you really strengthen your writing skills throughout your time on the Domain.

    In three sentences

    A community of engaging, intriguing, passionate students on the pursuit of educating themselves and others around them. A truly remarkable place in terms of academia, social life, and aesthetic and internal beauty. It's a wonderful place to be.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in English literature or environmental majors will love Sewanee. English is the largest major, and environmental studies is the fastest growing major. The university domain is huge, so majors like forestry and geology have great hands-on opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students who maintain a certain GPA wear academic gowns to class. If you become a gownsman, wearing your gown (as well as walking around Sewanee's gothic architecture) will make you feel as though you're at Hogwarts!

    What to do for fun

    For the outdoorsy type, there's hiking and caving and camping. Fraternities and sororities are a big part of campus life. There are also lots of outreach and volunteer opportunities. Swimming in the lake is always fun, and there is usually some sort of fun activity going on during the weekend.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can apply test optional at Sewanee. If you think your ACT and SAT scores don't accurately reflect your ability as a student, you don't have to submit them. Sewanee classes include a lot of writing, so be prepared to write a lot of papers. There are plenty of things to do, but keep in mind that the campus is slightly isolated, so you have to drive a bit to go into a city.

    In three sentences

    Sewanee is a small liberal arts college, so people interested in the liberal arts or looking for a small campus, this is the perfect school for you. Lots of on-campus opportunities for activities. The professors and students are generally very friendly and helpful.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    While more than 70 percent of the student body belongs to a Greek organization, your level of participation is entirely at your discretion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    From the Order of the townsmen for those who have proven their academic prowess, to the tapping of the car roof when leaving the Domain (to summon your Sewanee angel), Sewanee's long-standing traditions are both unique and beloved.

    What to do for fun

    While there are no shortage of parties on the weekends, Sewanee offers so much more, from free movie nights to hiking to white-water rafting, there is truly something to interest everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become familiar with the Admissions and Financial Aid offices early; those who work there will be more than happy to answer any questions or address any concerns you may have before,, during, and after the application process.

    In three sentences

    Sewanee exemplifies the best in all areas of college life. Sewanee's academic reputation is unparalleled, and its small size allows for the dynamic interaction of a close-knit community. It is a place of higher education in the best sense.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safest. Campus Police at night are roaming and you should never feel at harm's way

    Greek Life

    over 70% of the students pledge for Greek Letters

    Clubs and Activities

    With over 100 student organizations, 20+ Greek organizations, 700 leadership opportunities, a variety of club sports and over 20 varsity sports programs in addition to PE courses and an intramural program. Students have many opportunities to engage, to learn and to lead.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in Tennessee; Who love to do OUTING events; Who love a tight-knit community; Diversity; Freedom; Nature; Photographers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Green's View is interesting in many ways. Just be careful on the edge.

    Bang for the buck

    Its quite expensive, so keep them grades up and turn in fafsa and parent information in early.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, Frats, Sorors, all that jazz ; but can be boring all at the same time. Whatever floats your boat.

    Food and Dining

    It good and bad. Average but its unlimited so it is what it is. Plus, you receive Tiger Bucks for other locations on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the best, if not the best, dorms in the liberal arts college circuit. They are building a new dorm for freshman as we speak. Some dorms could improve, but they all are a work in progress.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are a step above AP and IB classes. If you do well in those classes and have a good study habit, you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourselves for your senior year. Take tough classes and mature quickly. Sewanee can eat you alive if you are not prepared.

    In three sentences

    The community based approach that the University of the South makes, is fantastic. 13,000 acres of open opportunities. The fun awaits your arrival.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Aside from the occasional mishap, I feel completely safe at Sewanee, at 3am as much as I do at 2pm. Sewanee's police force is also the police force for the town (of Sewanee). They do a good job of interacting with the community and students. As a testament to Sewanee's safety, people will often leave their computers in the library while going other places, demonstrating the strength of trust and honor at the University.

    Greek Life

    Greek life plays a large role at Sewanee. Roughly 75% of students are involved in a fraternity or sorority. Although this may seem intimidating at first, the fraternities hold events that are open to the entire school on a consistent basis. There is not an ounce of exclusivity in regards to Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sewanee provides great opportunities for joining and creating clubs, both with official funding and without. These clubs range from the musically-oriented to the ethnically-oriented.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, Engaged, Dedicated, Loyal and Intelligent students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sewanee is FULL of traditions! The most obvious one is the Order of the Gownsmen: All students who achieve a particular GPA or who have an important role (such as residential proctor, student government member or honor council member) are expected to wear a long gown to classes and particular functions.

    Bang for the buck

    Sewanee is one of the most unique colleges in the United States and there are many who are willing to attest to that. The price is on the upper side of the spectrum, with tuition around $45,000. This being said, the Vice-Chancellor (our version of the President) has made active decisions to freeze tuition for all four years for incoming students and recently lowered tuition by 10% in contrast to a consistent rise in tuition at other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Much of Sewanee is centered around Greek Life. However, the parties are almost always open (and inclusive). This attitude is consistent with the general culture of Sewanee, as many who are not affiliated with a Greek organization still have an easy time hanging out at Fraternities (parties or not) throughout the weekend. There are non-alcohol-related activities sponsored by the University, as well.

    Food and Dining

    While some would argue that the dining hall does not provide fantastic food, I would argue that it is immensely better than the options at many other schools. As with any school, the key is to eat from several different food lines to combine meals. It is possible to eat healthily and I find myself (a non-vegan) eating in the vegan line frequently due to its consistently tasty options.

    Dorm Life

    Sewanee has a diverse set of dorms (and few off campus housing options) that provide a student with the opportunity to live in heavily populated confines or the opposite, large dorms, small dorms, fraternity housing, themed housing. The dorms are currently in a stage of renovation and new dorms are being constructed as we speak.

    Academic Rigor

    The introductory courses for Sewanee (on the whole) aren't terribly difficult, but many majors have upper courses that are filled with academic rigor. Despite this, the professors interact with the students in a sympathetic and engaging manner, and are usually held in high esteem.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to visit Sewanee in order to truly understand what you are becoming a part of, community, academics and engagement in other respects. There are certain expectations of the students in regards to participation and the university does not thrive unless the students live up to these expectations.

    In three sentences

    Sewanee is filled with a wonderful sense of community, one that is found is few other schools. The outdoor environment complements it spectacularly, providing infinite opportunities for hiking, climbing, running and most importantly, exploring. While these are the most positive aspects of such a unique place, Sewanee also has a thriving social/party culture which, depending on the person, can be a huge incentive to apply or remain at the school, or exactly the opposite.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DON'T STEP ON THE SEAL IN ALL SAINTS!! touching the hood of cars when coming through the gates of Sewanee to capture and release your Sewanee Angel. Let it go though you can't be stingy with your angel it needs to protect someone else.

    Bang for the buck

    YES, Sewanee is worth every penny and for every class that comes in there's a price freeze so never worry about your tuition raising while your there.

    What to do for fun

    NEVER FEAR YOUR STRESSED... GO PARTY!!! Every weekend yes there are many parties to attend and in addition to that there's also hikes, swimming trips, community service etc... to do during the weekends for fun.

    Food and Dining

    McClurg is our Amazing Dining Hall with all kinds of food... The home, vegan, Asian, cereal, pizza, dessert, ice cream, salad, fruit and more bars. There's also little restaurants on campus that are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in Cannon which is a newly renovate dorm and I've lived in others, but the people here in my dorm aren't just hall mates but were family. Were so close we call ourselves the Cannon Cult.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here isn't extremely hard nor is it easy, but it does challenge you in many ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply test optional if your ACT or SAT isn't what you think it should be. Be friendly Don't come to campus complaining about cell service just get AT&T COME TO SEWANEE #YSR

    In three sentences

    Sewanee is the most beautiful schools a person could every possibly attend. The people here are friendly, nice and help. Overall If you don't choose Sewanee ( the school that looks like Hogwarts) then where are you choosing to attend. #YSR

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    greek life is very active

    Great for these types of students

    very outdoorsy students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    campus is on a mountain. great for rock climbing, camping, mountain biking,...

    Bang for the buck

    a lot of outdoors activities,

    What to do for fun

    any kind of outdoors activities.

    Food and Dining

    great food.

    Dorm Life

    great dorms, good roommates

    Academic Rigor

    small faculty staff for sciences

    Tips for prospective students

    great for you if you are looking for literature, social sciences,... not so great for physics and chemistry

    In three sentences

    a great liberal art school. not the best at sciences like Physics and chemistry though.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As far as I'm aware of, if you have an interest, there is a club of some type that is similar on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask your professor for help. Email them, chat after class, go to office hours, do anything you might need to do in order to get the amount of help you need. Also, be friendly to your professors, I'm sure they appreciate that.

    In three sentences

    The campus domain is large and beautiful with gothic architecture and plenty of nature. The people are generally very friendly and approachable, both as staff and students, and most of the professors attempt to help you in any way they can so that as a student you are in a position to do your best.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no a lot of national frats or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    Go to frat houses. Outreach board. A lot of volunteer events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school first.

    In three sentences

    Overall, good school. Sewanee lacks diversity. Academically difficult.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wealthy, party. Not for someone who will have to actually work for a living. Daddy pays your way and you have a nest egg starting out.

    Bang for the buck

    What a waste. This school wants to charge you what the Ivy leagues want to charge but without the benefits or reputation.

    What to do for fun

    Drink, party, drugs. Repeat. Not much else to do if you want to create a healthy lifestyle. Seriously, this school is not big enough to find an alternative.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are generally good and professors are fairly helpful but they pride themselves to lowering grades. Grad schools look at grades and this doesn't prepare you anymore than a State school and reduces your chances of getting in.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a pretty campus chock full of drugs, alcohol and all the parties you want. They say they will cap your tuition but pay close attention to the amount they want you to pay... be extremely cautious of falling into the trap of getting student loans to go here.

    In three sentences

    Sewanee is an overpriced, obnoxious institution that is geared for the wealthy or the financially strapped. This is no place for the middle class. Do not spend good money on a school where you won't get your money back.