Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seward County Community College and Area Technical School Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is pretty safe, personally i haven't seen any criminal acts being committed. occasionally something is stolen, but the campus security usually catches the culprit.

    Clubs and Activities

    seward has a couple of clubs that students can join such as: sife, halo, pathways, cmc, and sga. those are just a couple of clubs you can join based on your interest.

    Bang for the buck

    ways you can save in college is buying cheap or cutting back on expenses. the college offers scholarships and tuition grants. as long as you have good grades you will most likely receive them cutting your cost of college by a lot.

    What to do for fun

    during the week i generally attend any school activity taking place that given week or play pool in the union. the union is the hang out place for the college it contains computers, pool tables, ping pong tables, and tv's along with a lounge area. on the weekends you can go watch movies or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    the college cafeteria has some really good food and it's affordable. i generally eat lunch there, it costs $4.65 and you can eat all you can. it beats going to mcdonald's that's for sure.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, so i can't really say much. the friends i have that live in the dorms seem to really enjoy living in them. i know there are activities throughout the year for students to get acquainted with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    this really depends on the student. if the student has a desire to learn then the class will not be as difficult as if the student didn't want to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are many tips i can give to you, but the 3 main ones have to be: - go to class/study - be organized/manage your times wisely - be outgoing, there's nothing wrong with making new friends and having fun

    In three sentences

    sccc is a great community college! i like the small class sizes the college has. seward has a great student to teacher connection, as in the teachers really make you feel like they care about your well being, because they do. the college just makes you feel at home it's just a comfortable learning environment.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe and secure. The small town where it is located adds to the safety of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that students can become active in ranging from a current technology club where students get to design and build a computer to sell to clubs for students of Hispanic origin.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is extremely good for beginning students and non-traditional students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many college-wide activities that are fun to be a part of. Throughout the year, there are several cultural fairs. On Halloween, the dorm students put on a haunted house for kids around the community to trick-or-treat safely.

    Food and Dining

    There is an all-you-can eat cafeteria that offers a wide range of food.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't personally stay in the dorms, but I have friends who did who didn't complain about the living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very good as a beginning institution. If you decide to take the more challenging courses such as Calculus III or Chemistry II, there is a good academic challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school accepts just about anyone, but be sure to apply early to qualify for various grants/scholarships.

    In three sentences

    This school has a highly trained educational staff. It also offers a very diverse student culture with exchange students literally from around the world. It is affordable and gives a quality education.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is continuosly patrolled by SCCC/ATS 's own security force so students never have to worry about any unexpected problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs and activities to partake in while your stay at SCCC/ATS. Join a club with friends for even more college fun.

    Great for these types of students

    SCCC/ATS is a community college for virtually any student so come on down and attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Attend the many home games whether it be basketball,baseball,and volleyball they're guaranteed to be fun.

    Bang for the buck

    SCCC/ATS is really affordable and any student can apply for their grant/scholarship so the cost of attending SCCC/ATS is substantially even less.

    What to do for fun

    The student union is the place to hangout with friends. Here you can play games or watch tv with friends anytime. The bookstore is also located within the student union so stop by for refreshments, books, or SCCC/ATS gear.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is located right across the street from the dorms and classes are really close by.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great place to meet new students that will also be attending classes with you.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are there to motivate and ensure that your grades are meeting their expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to speak with your advisors regularly for help with class schedules and degree information they're more than glad to help. Don't be afraid to ask for help there are many students and teachers there to guide you.

    In three sentences

    SCCC/ATS was my first college experience. The teachers are very well suited for teaching many of the subjects found on campus. I would recommend anyone that is interested in attending a community college because SCCC/ATS is a great place to start.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    just holidays

    What to do for fun

    movies, hang out with friends, dances and school activities

    Food and Dining

    splended and fair

    Dorm Life

    its Calm and social

    Academic Rigor

    its great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be prepared and responsible. Stay focused and try hard.

    In three sentences

    SCCC is a great place for me and for my career. Its also close to home. I love SCCC.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe for a student to go here because there are patrols making sure everything is fine

    Food and Dining

    The food here is like a buffet for everyone and they don't run out of food

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been to a dorm but it was a nice place for people to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    Students here have chance to treacherous there goals for there can be a second chance if they wish to go here

    In three sentences

    Seward county community college is a 10 out of 10. Being a student there makes me realize what an amazing future I will have. I have enjoyed my stay there.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Seward County Community College and Area Technical School is a fantastic shool, providing great quality education.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not seen or heard of any real safety issues at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not that many clubs at this school unfortunately.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to college but don't have the finances.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price you pay the quality is above excellent. You can acquire an excellent education for a low price. If you think finances will be an issue then SCCC is a great option.

    What to do for fun

    In the student center you can play ping pong or pool. There is even a swimming pool you can go to during appropriate hours.

    Food and Dining

    I do not regularly eat there. However, the school is extremely close to several fast food franchises. When I do eat at the college the food is generally okay.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but what I can tell form my friends rooms it looks spacious but you will be living close to someone.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not too challenging and depending on your teacher you may not get much homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid because the classes are so small teachers are very likely to help you more.

    In three sentences

    I rate SCCC an 7.5/10 due to a two reasons. It is small and very comfy plus the price is low. However, there is not a wide variety of classes you can take.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Seward is relatively cheap for its tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Join inter-mural sports or just go to the student center to play pool or ping-pong.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great for only $5 a meal. All you can eat at a time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I truly believe that Seward academically prepares it's students for success in their transfer colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though Seward is a Community College, the classes are hard. So don't expect for any of it to be easy. Be social. The more friends you make the better school becomes.

    In three sentences

    Seward has great students-to-teacher ratio. The teachers are all friendly. And the campus is easy to get around.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    They work hard at this college and there is a lot of homework. Just don't be lazy and do the work and you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    I like the campus and the people are so nice! I can't wait to start school in the fall. Everything we need is close to the school, and it's easy to get around the campus.