Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Shaw University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go by what people say, go to the Shaw yourself and see if its the best place for you.

  • 01/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    any college is what you make it. so go in with a positive attitude.

    Bang for the buck

    any college is costly but its worth it.

    Did enjoy being here

    its honestly what you make it. me personally, didn't care much for my surroundings.

    Did learn a lot

    classes are a nice size and working without the professors are helpful. they have a tutoring center in case you need extra attention.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police walking around to keep everyone around in check.

    Bang for the buck

    This college may be a little bit costly but it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do around the campus such as going walking around downtown Raleigh or playing basketball on the outside court.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is also a McDonald's right there near the campus if you chose not to eat the campus food.

    Dorm Life

    There are Residence Assistants on every floor if there are any questions. Make sure you bring everything you need to carry on your day. Don't forget anything coming into the dorms you always wanna be prepared.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes aren't that large so that each student can be attended to if help is needed or required.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your a friendly person and like making new friends this HBCU is for you. Come prepared to learn because there are many different things being taught.

    In three sentences

    The University has a great campus and is very secure. All staff members of Shaw University are very friendly and are always willing to help if needed.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    don't eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    i am not a student on campus. i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i think that the teachers sometimes forget that we;re students(older) and can't advance as fast as the younger and require to many papers when the subject has not been taught like it should.

    Tips for prospective students

    always make sure that all of your class will be offered at the same site.

    In three sentences

    shaw is a good school but i am looking to attend school for chaplan which requires other schooling at another school.i want to be able to attend the same school for everything..

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I believe I will, i've attend CCCC and i am ready to transfer before receiving 64 transfer hr credits and I know Shaw will accept 12 I believe and I'm happy if so because I am ready for the university experience I have been passionate to attend Shaw and NC State. I chose to attend Shaw to begin with :)

    Will learn a lot

    I feel like I will be able to grow, connect and prosper through a close grounded university I've reviewed as well as recieved good feed back to attend this university.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is not a safe environment, the doors are always open for anybody to walk in and no id checks are consistent, all types of people come in and out the dorms and weapon safety is no concern here.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am not the party type i have seen to much in clubs, mostly when a party goes on near our school someone either gets in a fight or ends up shot,

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to leave home and have fun all there life will fit them well at this university.

    What to do for fun

    i don't do anything for fun i stay in my room and try to study so i would be able to better myself in passing my classes so transferring will be easy

    Food and Dining

    the food is not the best, i happened to get sick and puked more than once.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is not peaceful, their is always something going on day and night, people continue to make noise and distract others.

    Academic Rigor

    the work here is not as challenging when you apply yourself you can do anything, when you slack off and continue to be lazy that's when the work can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    i wouldn't suggest anyone go to this school, its hard to concentrate in class, and it is hard to go through a pieceful day with students.

    In three sentences

    it is a decent school to attend to but, my intended goals are not going to be met at this university. shaw university is not the school for me, i am trying to transfer the best way i can. shaw university is a long founded foundation of history but, i am not the type of person that intends to stay here.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many society's and organizations to join. the school is surrounded by nice eatery's and also shops. everything you need is only a few blocks away.

    Food and Dining

    food is great, there are cafe's for coffee, and even a place that sells fine dining food.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate Shaw a 4

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is the key to sucess and also studying

    In three sentences

    Shaw university is a diverse school. Shaw university has excellent instructors. Shaw univesity strives on excellence.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The office of student affairs is always puting together something to keep us entertained and there are alot of social clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good during breakfast dinner is sometimes good, but i enjoy lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are cozy, and could be a little more clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Shaw is a very good in the academic area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared in every sense. Come into school with yours eyes wide open.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Shaw university on a scale of 1-10 , an 8.5. Shaw university is a good school but could be better in numerous areas. But I've enjoyed my stay so far.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shaw campus is as safe as any other university. Again, being an off campus student, I don't hear of all the safety issues.

    Greek Life

    If I'm not mistaken, Shaw offers 17 different Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    If Shaw doesn't present the club or activities you would like to join, I'm quite sure that community has what you would be interesting in.

    Great for these types of students

    This community in Raleigh is so diverse for all cultures and different groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The are lots of holiday events or different culture events going on all the time in surrounding communities.

    Bang for the buck

    In addition to Shaw, we are surrounded by three of the best universities in the country within a twenty mile radius. University of North Carolina, North Carolina State University and Duke University. If that isn't good enough, there are lots of colleges and universities within a 2 hour driving distance.

    What to do for fun

    From experience.! There are activities going on all the time that students can participate in. Also, we are downtown, so fun stuff to do is always happening.

    Food and Dining

    I'm prior military so I tend to not comment on the food in cafeteria's. There are a variety of choices so each individual have to make the best of the situation.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a off campus non-traditional student and I can't advise students on this matter.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will be challenging at times but don't ever give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good old Historic University that students should have patience at the beginning of their career but they should also expect that things will get better. Enjoy every moment of the college life but never lose focus of the ultimate goal of why you're in college.

    In three sentences

    Being that I'm a non-traditional student. I'm not really engaged in alot of the activities on campus as a regular student would be that lives on campus in the dorms.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I really don't do anything fun.I might go out to eat or shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Shaw U is great. the people are very helpful.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life has been a experience. this is my first time away from home and it different but I really like it.

    Academic Rigor

    Social Work- I want to be able to help people. Some them that it's people who are around that stilll care. Don't mind helping others.

    Tips for prospective students

    I plan to attend this University until I finish.Keep a certain GPA.

    In three sentences

    Shaw is a private University with more hands on. It's in a nice area.The people are very helpful and caring.I've only heard great thing about Shaw.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    plenty of activities on campus

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent Academic Institution with a lot of resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the rules

    In three sentences

    I rate Shaw a 9 on a scale 1-10. I give them this rating because it is an excellent school. In life nothing is perfect so that's why I gave it a 9.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Games

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared.

    In three sentences

    The best. The greatest. Super.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food there is real good eveybody go crazy when they cook chicken.

    Dorm Life

    Its ok chance to meet and live with new people

    Academic Rigor

    teacher are very good & can help students get there education

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus in your work

    In three sentences

    Shaw is a small campus and easy to get around classes. Shaw is located downtown where they have a lott of different events going on each year. Students can travel by busses to get to diferrent places like the mall.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Always great

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out after classes with everyone in the common areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to a big school.

    In three sentences

    Shaw campus is pretty. Admissions is very helpful and nice.Love their cafe food!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shaw University has very good safety.

    What to do for fun

    what to do for fun well there is a park a lot of things down town like a bowling alley game room party i guess go out to eat and just relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining arae is very neat you have different things to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    Door life is fun if it is your first time away from home but after awhile it gets boring then you start to make trips home but enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very good to join a sport team but at the same time you came to college for a degree i just Rather stick to the books.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really a different cultural experience when someone who's a first-generation student comes to college. They're not just entering a school; they're entering an academic, cultural environment that often has a lot of unspoken rules and sets of cultural mores

    In three sentences

    Shaw University is a great university. Shaw University have a very good enviorment to learn. shaw University has won a 5-year grant with University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill to create a Partnership for the Elimination of Health Disparities for minorities

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the whole campus

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    off campus

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. The professors are so helpful. I like this school.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Tuesday the school has a mandatory convictions for the students.

    What to do for fun

    I like to shop and cheer on my spair time.

    Food and Dining

    There are some good days where the food is great, and some that are not.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many different personalities and new people to meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep in mind of why your in school. Stay focused and pay attention.

    In three sentences

    Shaw University is not a very diverse school, but has a lot of opportunities. The people are welcoming and nice. I feel safe and comfortable.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shaw offered sports. Clubs and restaurant was close by. Location of places to shop was great.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food was good but the menu stayed the same. The location of the dining area was great. The dining area was clean.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was dorm life , it was a challenge for the first year but I did what I needed to do. Doing my second year I moved out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes gives a student the tools to further their education.After completing my first year of school, I decided to continue for my master.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shaw is a HSBC . Which had it up and down sides. I placed my education first and learned to like Shaw and the surrounding area.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not safe at all.

    Greek Life

    COOL!!!

    Great for these types of students

    HOOD STUDENTS who want to get away from school, attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the school sucks. Campus life is cool but when you're back into the dorms it is horrible. If you want to be a success do not attend. Students will not have the same goals as you wether short or long term goals. They are all at competition with dressing, they live off of their refund checks, and it is a bad campus.

    What to do for fun

    Get robbed!!!! LOL just kidding, you can go to clubs, on campus events are cool but they get boring considering that the facilities aren't renovated and look horrible. The only nice buildings on campus are the ICS building, The Castle, T.O.S and Estey Hall, other than that, buildings are horrible!!!! Trust me. Feels a lot like boot camp, therefore, I never participate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. (In quotations) A lot of people complain about the food when they clearly deserve it because they do no work. McDonalds is across the street but that gets old, and gets the student more than the freshman fifteen, it gets you the freshman eighty five.

    Dorm Life

    PRISON: Dorm life SUCKS!!!! Worst than any school ever, worst than prison. I kid you not, (unless you're staying in TOS). The rooms are horrible and really cold when it is cold outside and when it gets hot outside, they turn the heater on. This is by far most the worst place you could live. It is a bunch of criminals who are excepted to Shaw easily and do not focus on school at all, what so ever. People are constantly getting mugged (robbed) if they have anything expensive. Guys here are aggressive as well as the girls; Their favorite line is I'm only here because this is the only school that accepted me. This is not the case. The students are fairly immature and PULL THE FIRE ALARM AT 3AM when I have 9 AM classes, therefore, we have to stand outside at 3AM in the cold until the fire department arrives.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, Shaw University is a great school academically. Academics is well, well, well, I have learned a whole lot this semester and I would love to have my professors next semester, they are willing to help any with situations that may arise. Also, there are a lot of obstacles in your way while you're trying to be a success: haters, campus problems and life problems, which tends to be too much to deal with at once while in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shaw University works on a give a student another chance type of model, therefore, they accept anybody, criminals, hoodlums and all. If you worked hard in high school do not go. If you are trying to attend a college because you had poor grades in High School, then go here. You will easily be accepted. When I first met my room mate, he said he was accepted with a 0.67 GPA, how did you even get out of high school?

    In three sentences

    The cool academic wise. Other than that, Shaw is horrible. Horrible, high school like campus. LIBRARY IS TERRIBLE, no A/C, therefore it is HOT and you will not be able to do work there. No internet in your rooms unless you have your own wifi hot spot. So it's basically like fail!!!

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Shaw University is a little costly...and I do not stay on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus.

    In three sentences

    Shaw Univesity is a great school. I attend the Durham CAPE through Shaw Univesity and the faculty and staff at that location is helpful and they have your best interest at heart. They care about their students.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing for fun on the Wilmington campus

    Food and Dining

    No comment

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus, but I heard it sucks

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for Shaw students and the public keep an eye on your paper work and records.

    In three sentences

    I really like Shaw cape in Wilmington nc. Shaw cape in Wilmington nc have good instructors. I am rating Shaw university a rate 3.5.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is decent you do see security. The tend to respond to situations very quick.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is good. You will see your few greek life around campus they have activities every once in a while.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bears Den

    Bang for the buck

    Shaw University is what you make it. It is like I said a good HBCU. The teachers come to work and do their best to help student learning. If you came here to learn and succeed in life then this would be a good school for you. Sure it has its cons but thats every school.

    What to do for fun

    Bears Den

    In three sentences

    Shaw University is a great HBCU. The teachers, staff, faculty all care for the students safety and learning here and wants everyone to succeed. The food is good and you can expect something different everyday.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shaw University is located in downtown Raleigh,NC which is known for attractions and entertainment, so there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are three library facilities on the main campus at Shaw University. The James E. Cheek Learning Resources Center is the main campus library at Shaw University. It supports all educational programs for students enrolled at the university.The Curriculum Materials Center Library, built in 1997 and located on the 2nd floor of the Talbert O. Shaw Living Learning Center houses a collection of educational resources that provide curriculum and instructional experiences for elementary (K-12) education students and majors.The Wiggins Library (Divinity School) is housed on the first floor of Leonard Hall (the former Medical School Building) that was renovated in the 1990s. It measures 1,305 square feet and maintains a library collection of reference resources, an African-American reference collection, journals, magazines, newspapers, journals on microfiche and Master of Divinity theses. Students use reference materials for research conducted inside the library

    In three sentences

    Shaw university is a great place for learning, which has helpful resources to help you get everything you need for the real world. With great instructors who care for their students it makes the learning experience fun and challenging at the same time.With their Academic Support services are designed to give students the tools and information they need to succeed and is focused on helping students achieve their highest dream.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else

    In three sentences

    Shaw was ok until they started taking evening classes at cape sites and putting them online. Shaw is expensive. Shaw is getting better at online classes.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang with my teammates when we have free time, but playing sports you normally don't have a lot of free time because you have practice. When your done with practice you be tired and have homework to do. So you mainly would just want to rest on your free day.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good my favorite day is fried chicken wednesdays. The cafe is stepping up more and more each year. Make sure you get your meal cards.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are fine, but I don't like staying in the dorms I prefer off campus. If you stay in the dorms it is best to room with somebody you know if you want the best enjoyment of the dorm. Also if you don't have a friend make sure you room with somebody who has a good personality.

    Academic Rigor

    Shaw is good on academics and also have many degrees you can attempt to get. Shaw also have many places where you can go and get help from tutor's. Teacher's will also stay after and work with students if they need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused and don't get caught up in partying all the time. Also if you need help don't be afraid to talk to your teachers, because you will fall behind if you don't stay on top of your studies.

    In three sentences

    Shaw University is a wonderful HBCU and is very cultural. There is so much you can learn while attending Shaw University. Shaw also have a lot of stars that attended Shaw like Bill Cosby.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police around and the campus does feel really safe.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities around but you have to get out there and really make an effort to join. There isn't greek housing so it's kind of up to you to find the people in the sororities for yourself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like colleges, there are a bunch of clubs you can participate in. You have to get out of your chair and really get on it though.

    Bang for the buck

    I really don't think the school is worth all the money that's being asked of. Considering it's a private school, you would think it would be a little more

    What to do for fun

    It depends on the person but it IS at the heart of downtown. You can easily walk over there to find something fun. If you're looking to go to the mall, you probably need to know someone with a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nice but some people disagree. I tend to stick to eating some stuff I brought from home but other than that, If you have a different kind of lifestyle, there are various options when it comes to food. The dining times are pretty appropriate as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better. I feel like it's very loud at times so I would keep the studying to the library. I've seen a lot of students who love to party and that's only a small fraction of what college is about. If that's all you want to do because you're legal now, don't go to college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are pretty cool and the work is to be expected in high school. At times, I do feel like the work is slightly easier or less challenging but it's not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a bad school but don't just come here because your GPA wasn't the best in high school. College is for students who really want to make the effort to do well. You have to put your best foot forward to maintain a 3.0+.

    In three sentences

    It's an okay school but I honestly haven't seen too many people that are serious about going here. The atmosphere makes me nervous because I feel like hooking up is one of the priorities.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    bad most of the days

    Dorm Life

    no co-ed and randomly have visitations

    In three sentences

    Shaw University is a small college that is private. The area is good for being a HBCU but the school cost a lot of money and it will go up each year. The school has good programs but some majors the school does not have.