Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shawnee State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is dedicated to getting a better education, enjoys being around good, decent people, and who is passionate about school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know your Academic advisor. They are a great tool to have and have helped me so much!

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee is one of the least expensive schools in Ohio. So not only am I getting a fantastic education, but I'm not breaking the bank to do so. For two semesters there I've only had to take out $2,500 in loans, plus they offer some amazing scholarships!

    Am enjoying being here

    Shawnee State is an amazing school. The campus is absolutely beautiful and the people here are amazing. The professors and all of the people in charge of the school are all wonderful people who care about you succeeding. They are willing to work with you if you have a problem and guide you to the best solution. Not only that but the students as a whole are decent people with good hearts, and are willing to help one another.

    Am learning a lot

    Shawnee has taught me so much. Not only about my major and the classes I'm in, but about myself as a person. I'm constantly being pushed to my limit and my professors have guided me to succeed and didn't stop until I had. I feel as though they are really preparing me for the field of work I'm wanting to go into instead of throwing useless information at me.

  • 08/30/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great University for students that like to learn quickly but still have fun. Also, this is a great college for students that like small classes, with one-on-one opportunities with proffessors.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I would like to tell students is that you really should stick to you classes. Try not to get caught up in partying and things like that, there are plenty of clubs and activities to keep yourself busy.

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee State University encourages students to use their financial aid office. They are open from 9:00 am-5:00 pm.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed attending Shawnee State University very much. The campus is absolutely beautiful, and there are many activitities to keep yourself occupied.

    Did learn a lot

    I did learn many new thing's while attending Shawnee State University. This University has a wide variety of majors to choose from and also a wide variety of recreational activities.

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Gaming arts, shy, students who dont like big campuses, students with great financial need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your GPA up as far as you can chase they have scholarships for students with ceertain GPA and Test scores on ACT and SAT.

    Bang for the buck

    With paying under 20,000 a year for shawnee it is amazing that you can go to school for less but still get the same quality.

    Am enjoying being here

    It gives you the college life but not the huge college campus, you feel comfortable here.

    Am learning a lot

    The Nursing program for shawnee state is absoultely fantastic.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their security is amazing, if you are in trouble there is always someone close by to help

    Greek Life

    Their greek life is amazing, full of awesome and helpful people!

    Clubs and Activities

    I love their selection of clubs, and it isn't hard at all to start up a new one if they don't already have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can go here! It is amazing, everyone fits in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like to always touch the Lion Statue in front of Massie Hall for good luck before tests.

    What to do for fun

    Going for walks is always fun and theres always some kind of activity going on around campus. It never gets boring here.

    Food and Dining

    They always have amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm style is awesome. They are like apartments and they are huge. So everyone is able to have personal space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are amazing and so are the professors. They are always making sure that you understand everything and help you when its needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared. Go to class and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State University is an amazing school. They have all kinds of different opportunities for everyone. Also if you ever need help there is always someone close by.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shawnee State University takes campus safety very seriously. Security calmly and quietly patrol the area 24 hours a day to ensure the safety of it's students and it's campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shawnee State University offers a wide variety of academic and extracurricular clubs and activities. From basketball to ballet, theater to environmental science, SSU has something of interest for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    As stated above, Shawnee State University is tailor-made for every type of student, be it the academic, the artist, the teacher, or the student that isn't quite sure what direction he/she is headed. There's something here for each of you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For those of you with a broader sense of imagination and creativity, Shawnee State University welcomes students on campus to explore the fun and excitement of group activities and games such as LARP (live action role-play), midnight hide and seek marathons, and more. For the students that are more involved in charity and community awareness, SSU hosts campus Help for the Homeless camp-outs. Students from every section of life band together in ragtag, self-constructed shelters to bring awareness to homelessness and hunger in Southern Ohio, as well as around the globe.

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee State University has low tuition rates and an outstanding academic program. Hands down, SSU is the most inexpensive four-year accredited university I've had the pleasure of attending.

    What to do for fun

    Port City Pub is a favorite among students and locals alike. Whether you're in the mood for a bowl of hot, homemade Irish Potato Soup or a night spent karaoking with friends to some of the greatest hits, this Irish pub is the best dig in town. It offers a fantastic menu of Irish classics as well as Poetry Open Mic Night for the soulful writers, Tuesday Night Quiz Bowl for the academics, and Third Thursday for the musicians that just want to pour their heart out on stage.

    Food and Dining

    Check out the Bear's Den for all the delicious cooking you can expect from home. From cheeseburgers to chicken and dumplings, SSU offers a variety of delightful goodies for even the pickiest of students. If you find yourself craving something a little more refined, head down to Market Street Cafe and sip one of their freshly made Strawberry-Banana Smoothies or gorge yourself on a healthy cafe sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can feel confining and claustrophobic, but at Shawnee State University they take pride in making sure the students have exceptional living space and adequate privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be fast-paced at times, but it's rarely overwhelming. Both professors and student tutors are always on hand and more than willing to help educate and improve your academic studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come equipped with an open-mind and a taste for adventure because Shawnee State University has something for each brand of student. Whether it be Fine Arts, Nursing and Medicine, Education, or Business Management, SSU has a club and a purpose for each of you.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State University has a small, hometown appeal full of students and staff that pride themselves on delivering a big-city educational experience. SSU is a small campus situated on the Ohio River that offers exceptional courses, dedicated staff, and plenty of extracurricular activities to satisfy any student's appetite for adventure and excellence. A safe and welcoming environment, Shawnee State University fits the educational and enjoyable criteria of both students and parents alike.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security goes around in there cars, looking at vehicles, and watching out for people. There are poles out around the campus that have a blue light on it. If you feel threatened, just go to it and press the button or call security and they will walk you back to your dorm or where ever you would like to go. They are very nice, sweet, and will do anything for you if you ask them too.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and two fraternities right now. We are working on getting another fraternity. The fraternity that we are working on getting is going to be a clean one. It is were they will not drink or do anything bad. You have to pay dues to be in the Greek Life. Some the people that I know that is in it like it. To be in it is easy, it is not like what you see on TV. You do not get messed with. You are welcomed in with arms opened, and you have fun with your brothers or sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    About two weeks into school we have many tables set up for clubs. We have over thirty clubs at our school. Many people sign up to be in the clubs. If you want to make up a club or a activity of any type you have to get it to go through the school. The kids have a great time in the clubs. Depending on the clubs they will meet up to two times a week.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into clubs and very active then this school is really good for you. I have not heard of another school to be this active. I have many friends at other schools and I do not here as much about the clubs as I do here. I know we might not have all the sports like other schools but we sure do have the clubs. We do not have a football team, lacrosse team, or a track team that has sprinter. The track team is working on the sprinters though. We welcome students of all types. We have a great gaming program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To be truly honest I have not heard of many unusual traditions or locations. In the UC there are gamers that like to sit in there and play games all the time when they do not have class. If they do not play in the UC they play in someones dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    The coffee shop is amazing. They have amazing coffee and smoothies! They have little treats you can buy and I hear that they are really good. The book store has very good deals. You can buy hoodies, shirts, and pants. There are very many more things that you can buy in there and for really good deals.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that you can do for fun. There are many clubs that you can join. If you do not want to join a club then you can just get to know some people that live in your dorms. You can play ball on the grass in the front yard, go play on the turf when the soccer players are not playing there, you can go running on the wall, go to the gym and work out, or even go fish on the river. There are many more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good on certain days. They have pizza, burgers, salads, subs, and soup every day. They have a main course at lunch and dinner every day that is different. For breakfast they have different things every day. They do have eggs and cereal for sure. If you do not want to go to any of the meals you can get a simply to go meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. If you are not the type of person that likes people you can get your own room, but there will be three others in the same dorm with you. There are many types of dorms. There are the campus view dorms. They consist of two rooms with up to three people in each room with two bathrooms or there is the one dorms with four separate rooms. There is Bridge View, Tanner, and two other dorms. They all have a kitchens, living areas, and bathrooms with showers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small just like a high school. Most classes do not have more than thirty students in them. The teachers can work one on one with students that do not understand things. You get to pick your own classes at the time you want them, so you can pick the best time that suits you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college if you have problems with anything. The school has anything you can possibly need. It has writing facilities, tutoring in anything you need, and advisers that will help you if you need it with your classes. The teachers are very understandable on just about everything! Just do not come here and except not to come to class and not do your work. You will not pass your classes. You have to go to your classes and do your work or else you will not pass. Just be ready to come and have fun.

    In three sentences

    I like it here at Shawnee State University. It has very helpful resources, and the people here are very nice. If you need anything they will help you with anything or find anything.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    People who reside on the campus of Shawnee can join in on campus activities that goes on. Some campus activities include dances, charitable events, and club activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Shawnee is delicious. Shawnee State food and dining will let you choose from a variety of foods that you would like to eat. The food and dining there is healthy and safe to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Shawnee is fantastic. You will be able to meet new people. You will also be able to make lots of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Shawnee are always consistant with their students. They will always help you whenever you need it. They are also very informative on where to reach them whenever people need to ak them questions outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective students should always be prepared and organized for classes. They should always think of other people that they reside with while they are in Shawnee, becuse they will never know if the people that they meet will become their best friends. Any prospective students should also be consistant with time management when it comes to their studies an class work.

    In three sentences

    I have had many great experiences here at Shawnee State University. The people that resides in the Shawnee Campus quarters are out going, and Shawnee is a fun place to be. Shawnee State is the best place to be at if you want to go to a college that will help you with your finances.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus just feels like a safe place. Students are given emergency and non-emergency numbers for the security building and are encouraged to call for anything from emergencies to getting a ride to class at night. The campus also has the standard security speakers or phones on the main walk, in the parking lot, and in most of the buildings.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and a fraternity on campus, though a new fraternity chapter may be coming to SSU soon. I don't have much knowledge beyond that.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great but focused on gaming. Though programming is my passion, I also wanted to continue playing the trumpet while at school. SSU has a pep band and the city orchestra directed by one of the professors, but that's about it. Still, there are plenty of things to do on campus and I never find myself bored. Holidays are always fun because the university usually has a week of activities planned for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Shawnee State definitely caters to gamers. With each 12-room dorm building getting their own wi-fi access point and plenty of game-friendly computer labs, including an Alienware lab, available on campus, Shawnee State seeks to meet gamers' needs. For people who may have found it hard to find other gamers in the past, fear no more. There are tons of people ready to start playing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs. Zombies is a big deal on campus, and it's common to see groups of Nerf-gun-wielding and zombified students prowling the campus past midnight.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Shawnee State is relatively low, coming in at just over $10,000 for my first semester including housing, meal plans, and fees, so it's a great value.

    What to do for fun

    SSU has many clubs, many of which are related to gaming. There's a gaming gladiators club which sometimes holds large competitions for Super Smash Bros. and other games. There's also the Dungeon Dwellers club which is dedicated to tabletop games, Dungeons and Dragons in particular. The most popular club is Zed, which is all about surviving a zombie apocalypse. Twice a year, the Zed club holds a Humans vs. Zombies game where everyone runs around campus and tries to survive as more and more students are turned into zombies. Other clubs include the Minecraft Club and Comic Book Club. The campus also has a small game room with two pool tables, a swimming pool, and a few computer labs in which students can play games. The university holds many fun events, which is good because Portsmouth is a small town and there's not a whole lot to do outside of campus. The local theater does, however, hold 4th Friday Movie nights, which allows anyone with a student ID to go to the theater at midnight and pay $3 for popcorn, a drink, and a movie.

    Food and Dining

    SSU has a cafeteria, and the full meal plan comes to 19 meals a week (breakfast lunch and dinner on weekdays and brunch and dinner on the weekends). The cafeteria has a decent variety of food and good staff. Every day pizza, burgers, wraps/subs, and a salad bar are available, while other entrees, soups, and desserts change daily. The eating area is large and never gets overcrowded. If you are in a hurry, you can use one meal to get a to-go bag, which included a drink, entree, and two sides or a side and dessert. There's also Jazzman's Cafe, where students can buy coffee and treats.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Shawnee State are great. Currently I live in a dorm with 4 other people. We're split into two fairly large bedrooms, two in one and three in the other. We also have two bathrooms, a living room, and a full kitchen with a stove/oven and full-sized fridge. The building has its own laundry facility, though it does cost a dollar to wash or dry. The size of the dorm is incredible and with all the included furniture, we hardly had to bring any furniture of our own.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough but the professors are fair. I've definitely been challenged this year, but the thrill of learning so many things makes the hard work worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shawnee State is a great school for game design and programming, but the small size means that the other programs in areas such as music are lacking. Live on campus if possible, as the school has great dorms and not a lot of parking space for commuters.

    In three sentences

    This is a great university for anyone who is interested in making video games. Shawnee State attracts many gaming enthusiasts and offers accredited degrees in both programming and design. The small school size means one-on-one learning and many fun campus-wide events.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shawnee State University has a 24-hour security presence on campus, staffed with officers screened and trained in personnel and property protection. The security officers are not police officers with law enforcement arresting authority, however the University has a close working relationship with the Portsmouth Police Department, located one block west of the campus. The Department of Public Safety may also refer certain crimes for investigation to the State Highway Patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a Club or Organization for You! Whether in the Dungeons Crawlers or the Student Catholic Association, there's a club or organization for you. Join an existing club or start your own! The possibilities are endless. Shawnee State encourages students to make their education complete by getting involved. Students who get involved enjoy their college experience and are more successful after graduation.

    Great for these types of students

    Multicultural Student Affairs (MSA) is an office that seeks to bring issues of cultural diversity to the foreground of campus convesation through educational programs and services. MSA is in the division of Student Affairs, existing primarily to serve all students as they question their personal and collective notions of race, ethnicity, sexuality, ability, and culture. In addition, MSA encourages students to utilize campus resources to improve their academic standing and to take part in leadership development programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost is important when choosing an institution. Shawnee State provides one of the best educational values in Ohio and beyond. Our tuition is among the lowest in the state and is matched and exceeded by our students’ academic opportunities, challenges, and potential return on their investment

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities contributes to learning, development, and retention by providing opportunities for involvement, leadership, and empowerment through a wide variety of organizations and programs. These experiences nurture campus pride and student success to advance an inclusive and equitable community

    Food and Dining

    SSU Food & Dining is state of the art. Many different choices daily, hours meet my schedule. Good is good, and offers a variety of healthy choices

    Dorm Life

    We are committed to assisting our residents in being outstanding students both academically and socially. The housing experience offers many opportunities to grow through its educational and social programming experience. University Housing offers a wide-range of activities both in the residence halls and campus wide. Our housing community has grown to nearly a thousand students finding our apartment style housing to be clean, safe, close to campus and fun. University Housing recognizes the importance of gaining knowledge, strengthening values, and cultural enrichment of lives. We strives to offer an unbeatable experience through our housing program and believe every student should live in our campus apartments to gain the true college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    3.0 first semester, Nursing Major

    Tips for prospective students

    Shawnee’s student-focused faculty, small class sizes and commitment to developing the entire student means everyone has a chance to stand out — in academics, campus life and anywhere else your talents and interests lead you. Get involved with activities that interest you, and do not give up!

    In three sentences

    It’s a place where professors know you by name, and where you can make a name for yourself

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus has its own security, the school security recently became their own part of the police department, and they are always patrolling. also, there are blue buttons scattered around campus for people to push when they feel unsafe and want to contact security.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things for students to do. if they are active, they can go to the gym, pool, courts, and more. there is also a game room with pool tables and a ping-pong table. students who enjoy watching games would like to support the school team in any sport. shawnee is also by the river. some might like to go fish or just enjoy the view. also, there are movie theaters and bowling alleys. all the activities listed above are free and easily accessible. (except for the movies and bowling, but students get a discount and they are close to campus). there is something to do for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    shawnee state university has a bear's den. students set up a meal plan at the beginning of the year, and they just swipe their student i.d. and head into the buffet style cafeteria, or can choose a meal to go. there is also a cafe inside of the university center.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms make students feel at home. there are many dorms to choose from, so students can choose how many people they want to live with, and can even choose their roommate. dorm life is great if you are willing to get along with others and live with others that you may not know well.

    Tips for prospective students

    students should be social and make friends, as well as keep up with their grades to have the best experience at shawnee.

    In three sentences

    shawnee state university is great for people who like being in small classes. the teachers care about your education and will work with each student separately. the housing is also very welcoming and makes you feel as if you are at home.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    someone who likes small campuses, rural areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    small town, close to the ohio river

    What to do for fun

    not a lot to do.

    Dorm Life

    live at home, don't know about this

    Tips for prospective students

    if accepted, go there the first year and give it a try.

    In three sentences

    shawnee state university has been a really good fit for me because of ease of use, class size and small campus.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't had a problem so far and i haven't really heard of any major issues. basically anything that goes down probably happens more in portsmouth than it does on campus.

    Greek Life

    yes! there are currently two sororities (theta phi alpha and delta phi epsilon) and one fraternity (tau kappa epsilon) on campus. the members of greek life are also very involved in other aspects of the campus and also with charity events.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus for whatever you would like to involve yourself in!

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is looking for a small campus but still looking to be involved and boost their resume and get a great education, shawnee is a good choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the first thing that comes to my mind is hvz, humans vs. zombies. whoever signed up to join the event goes around campus for the weekend and has a battle of tag with nerf guns, very amusing really!

    Bang for the buck

    full meal plan, good campus housing, nice university center, and plenty events to keep you busy. i believe my money is being well spent at shawnee.

    What to do for fun

    there are usually events planned every week around the campus that any student can attend, there are also many sports to go and watch. there is a movie theater, and a couple bowling alleys in portsmouth. can't say much for entertainment in the town, but i can keep myself busy on campus at any time during the day.

    Food and Dining

    don't get me wrong, i have no problem with sodexo, but i really do get tired of having to choose from basically almost the same thing every single day. i like some variety in my life!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms have a very nice set up, 2 to 3 people to a room at the most and 2 bathrooms in each dorm with a kitchen and living room. one problem i have though is that the walls are quite thin...

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at shawnee will challenge you and allow you to grow as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't make your whole life about school. you're in college now and have an opportunity to reach out and meet new people and experience new things. shawnee is a great place to seize that opportunity and develop friendships, leadership skills, and experience needed for the future! but also know not to overwork yourself and agree to do so much you stress yourself out and it is hard to keep up with your studies. find a good balance.

    In three sentences

    shawnee is a very calm and small campus, but has plenty of events and organizations to keep any student involved. the class sizes are small and become more individualized once you get into the higher studies classes. the dorms are set up really nice and you can usually get your free time or quite time whenever you want.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not apart of one.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to go to a smaller college.

    What to do for fun

    i run and hang out with friends for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your work!

    In three sentences

    it is in a nice town with beautiful paintings everywhere! the dorms on campus are the nicest dorms i have ever seen in a college. the student to teacher ratio is good too.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitively a cheap college with good majors.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I learn here, though just like every school some teachers don't care to teach. But most of them want you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the clubs, they are great!

    In three sentences

    I love how small the school is. I believe we just hit 5,000 students, this makes class more hands on and you get to know your professors. It's a great college.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always maintaining a high presence and runs regular drills and has let us know on several occasions that they have prevented assaults on campus or let us know to travel in groups during suspicious times.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is considerably cheaper than all the others in the area by 10,000 dollars or more! It's definitely a great place to come and get your GEP program out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned earlier, there are plenty of clubs that try and get the student body active and have a lot of fun. There is also a gaming area offered and free Wi-Fi offered to all of us. What more could we want?

    Food and Dining

    There are really good cafe's and lounge areas offered in the main building. They are exceptional to hang out in after a long day of classes and places to find friends and such.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems very fun because the student activities and clubs seem to be always doing something year round. There is always something to do on campus so you will not be bored and can live a good college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far have all been very much harder than any I have taken in High School. Be prepared for a true test when coming to Shawnee.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a very good student that will actually sit down and study and Shawnee you are bound to get A's in all of their classes offered. I do encourage to ask around about some of the teachers though. Some of them can be very tough and almost expect too much of their students.

    In three sentences

    A very good school but needs some better activities to draw in more classes which would in turn make the transfer rate lower. The school gets a lot of grief because of it's high acceptance rate, but then again it is a relatively young school only celebrating its' 25 year mark at the start of the school year. Overall I foresee that the school can eventually become a very prestigious one with a good name.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have officers that go around campus and the dorm rooms. Also there is always a number to call if anything bad happens.

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee has a pretty descent tuituon rate. It does not have a certain majors that some people may want, but it is a good place to get your basics taken care of.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty restaurants to eat at and there is a movie theater that gives student discounts. Shawnee State University has a pool and recreation center that is also fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is usually pretty good. It is a buffet style so there is a little bit of everything.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not for everyone. Sometimes it can be too overwhelming and it may be easier for you to commute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes wisely and don't overwhelm yourself by taking too many courses.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State University has helpful staff to make sure every student gets the classes he/she needs in order to graduate. The teachers at Shawnee want students to succeed and they help students in any way they can. Shawnee is a good choice for high school seniors to consider.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would stay away from dark corners at night if you get too far away from campus. Close to campus, the campus security patrols at all times, watching the campus and surrounding area of the city.

    Greek Life

    Three sorority/fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, one for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are from small towns and communities and those who like tight knit groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans versus Zombies 2 times a year ^_^

    Bang for the buck

    Good quality, affordable, worth the expense. I'm only a freshman and I've learned so much.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Programming Board and the on campus clubs try to make it as fun as possible, but outside of that there aren't many nearby options for recreation.

    Food and Dining

    There are two on campus dining areas to choose from, a buffet style cafeteria and a cafe. The food is edible, but if you don't like it there are plenty of restaurants nearby and there is a Kroger close so you can cook your own food.

    Dorm Life

    Nice apartment style dorms, with kitchen, and 2 bathrooms and bedrooms in each apartment. Very spacious and with a variety of buildings to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Be ready to put in effort, but the courses all start with the basics so anyone can follow the curriculum, so long as they wanna learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus, and space out trips home, so that you can have the full university experience.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State University is a relatively small open enrollment university with a welcoming air. The class sizes are great, even for GEP math and English courses that are normally large classes at most colleges. Shawnee State University has an affordable tuition and a lovely campus.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and Police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball. Baseball. Cheerleading, Soccer, Baseball, Intermurals, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerveouse about being in a big college campus. If you like one on one action with teachers you would love shawnee.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Portsmouth is not the best town but campus is very secluded and not too many crimes go on besides petty theft.

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee is very inexpensive. Living on campus is the expensive part of the bill. However it is still very inexpensive and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Not much in a small town to do. Becoming involved with activities on campus makes it a lot more interesting. The school clubs try to put on event for everyone a couple times a month to keep them busy.

    Food and Dining

    Shawnee has a buffet style cafeteria. I loved it as a freshmen but after a couple years it has became very repetitive. They do have an on campus cafe and a to go dinner place as well.

    Dorm Life

    Shawnee offers beautil apparetement style housing for everyone. They come with a full kitchen and some even have a washer and dryer in the apartment. There are also Laundry Facilities next to all the buildings without them in the apartment. They come with the bed, dresser,desk,kitchen table, couch,chair, tables. and more.

    Academic Rigor

    As a health science student I have very high expectations of my professors. They expect nothing but the best from us and they prepare us for a successful future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shawnee is a small school and the trick to becoming a great student and having a good college experience is meeting new people and becoming active on campus. Shawnee offers so many opportunities to do that.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State is a small university. Students receive undivided attention. Shawnee is a great college with a beautiful campus.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are good but the cafeteria hours are not available after 7 on weekdays and Saturday and Sunday they are 11am-6pm.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice. Mostly two to a room but they do have single rooms.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. The people here are pretty friendly to others. The class sizes are usually small, so teachers can actually help you.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    you can start any club you want that they don't have

    Bang for the buck

    Good price. Lots of one on one help.

    What to do for fun

    You can join many clubs and organizations. there are many small shops around to walk to and browse.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food with many healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Clean dorms with lots of room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee has great people and a great environment. There is something for everyone at the school. Everyday there is an activity to do.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around! You're always safe! Every time I see a problem, not long after it is taken care of by one of the amazing policemen on duty! As for other safety concerns, the fire alarms may be aggravating some times, but the minute they go off the Portsmouth fire department is here! There will be NO chance of a fire!

    Greek Life

    DPhiE is the sorority I belong to and I love it! Become Greek has been the best decision I have made this year! I love all my sisters and love the opportunities Greek life offers students to become involved! I highly recommend others to rush!

    Clubs and Activities

    Zombie club was a huge deal to me at the club fair in the UC! I was beyond excited to join! When I did I was even more excited! I love the club, the people, and the discussions we have! And even more important I cannot wait for HVZ! It's human vs. Zombies! Who wouldn't love that! It's an epic nerf gun war! This year is going to be awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Shy student's that want to go to a smaller school, and looking for the chance to become involved and fit in!

    What to do for fun

    I have joined ZED club, book club, and a sorority. I am very active with them and spend most my spare time having fun with them!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the den can sometimes get boring, for they tend to have a lot of the same things often. But the taste and service are good!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome, as long as you dont get stuck with someone you don't get along with. Luckily I didn't have that problem!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing! They are there for you to help you in anyway they can!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need a tutor, get one! Become involved, but don't take on more than you can handle! Meet with your teachers during their office hours, you will get the help you need!

    In three sentences

    Shawnee's campus offers a lot of different opportunities to become involved. The campus also offers plenty of extra help for student's struggling in classes. Tutoring at Shawnee has really helped me in class.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is supposed to he the best bang for your buck school in Ohio, so yes this school gets the 5 stars from me!

    Will enjoy being here

    Even though it is a very small school, I think I would feel good going there. The only problem is that they do not have much in terms of sports and music. I'm not a sports fan, but a football team would be nice. I love music, so that may be a problem. Their dorms rock, so that is cool.

    Will learn a lot

    So I got accepted at Shawnee State Univeristy. I do like the school and they have an animation and computer game program that is excellent and I believe their academic staff is very qualified and you get real personal attention and small classes.

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus is smaller but it fits my liking being from a small town. It's small enough that it's easy to meet people and run into them again. The school is great for anyone on a budget while still getting the best value for their money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your academic advisers as much as possible. If you're doing a particular program they can help letting you know what classes you need to be taking instead of wasting money on classes you don't need. And don't be afraid to get involved. Being a commuter I didn't automatically get to meet people through living in the dorms but they get commuters involved just as much as residents so take advantage of all activities whether you're a resident or commuter.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the University of Rio Grande (where I was going before Shawnee) is cheaper, Shawnee is the next best place to get the value for your money. URG (A community college) was cheaper but it was not at all as nice as Shawnee. Shawnee is definitely my choice between the two because I know I'm putting my money towards the best education I can get.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a commuter I'm usually at school all day. I spend a lot of my studying time in the Library and elsewhere in the University Center. The Library is always nice and quiet for my study time and in the University Center there is always something going on for students to get involved. I haven't taken the time to get to know many other people because of my busy schedule but it seems like the school takes pride in getting everyone involved. Regardless of the lack of a football team or not, an education isn't about watching football games anyway. The people on campus have been nice up to this point and I've enjoyed it.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors all work with you on whatever it may be. I'm a commuter so being able to get in touch with them through Blackboard and email easily is great. My academic advisers have been excellent compared to where I was going (University of Rio Grande) and they seem to always be there to help. I start the nursing program next semester (Spring 2012) and hearing about how great the program is makes me anxious to start. You do learn a lot through the professors and advisers help.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much that can be done One friday a month there is free movie night

    Food and Dining

    The food is great not one complaint here

    Academic Rigor

    The Staff is great in teaching

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class everyday Get involved in all kinds of sports everyday activities

    In three sentences

    This college is one of the best I have seen. The Faculty is great, You don't get lost in the shuffle.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24-7 Security is available. Their number is posted all around campus in case of emergency. They also have buttons available to push on campus if you need their assistance.

    Great for these types of students

    Medical/Healthcare Students, Business Students, Gaming/Simulation Students, Art Students, Education Students

    Bang for the buck

    When considering the price, I do not think I could attend a better college. There are many different degree's offered and with every class you take you receive the education expected. Many academic scholarships are awarded at this institution. With the increase in admissions, I think this is becoming apparent to students.

    What to do for fun

    Every month a calender is posted with the daily events for that month. Very seldom is there a day where an event is not taking place. They do a great job of offering on campus activities and clubs/organizations for current students. There are also three dances held during the academic school year, which attracts many students. Along with these activities, they also encourage students to attend Shawnee sporting events to support our student athletes.

    Food and Dining

    Recently, Shawnee just opened a new dining area referred to as the Bear's Den. In my opinion they have lots of options to offer to the students. The meal plan prices are a little high, but I'm sure you'll find this at every college you go to. In addition to the great food they have, they are always holding special events for the students. For example, every month they have international food day where they pick a different country and make food from this origin. For on campus events, they are also available to cater.

    Dorm Life

    Shawnee State University has some of the best dorms I have ever visited. Although there are four different types, all have the layout similar to an apartment. In my opinion this makes life easier for students when it comes to studying and doing school work. There are always activities for students living on campus. They make living in a dorm a great experience you'll never forget.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is very hands on and interactive with the students. I have not had a professor yet who does not go above and beyond to meet the requirements each student deserves. The classes are geared towards introducing and teaching material with modern technology, making it easy for students to obtain the information online.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee State University is a great college to attend. The professors are very interactive with each student. This college has many degree's to offer students.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hookah Bar on 2nd Street.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as soon as you can and apply for as many scholarships as possible.

    In three sentences

    From what I can tell so far, this is going to be a great school. Staff and Faculty seem very polite and helpful.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus patrol is weak and very few cameras are inside the actual college buildings. Campus patrol is only made up of four officers. Robberies and the selling of drugs occurs on campus about once a month. At times it is not safe to be on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting a personalized learning experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a PSEO student at Shawnee State University, therefore all classes that I take while I am still in high school are free, along with books, tuition, and any other applicable fees. It is nice to get brand new books for every class at no expense to me. Not only that, but I can also resell the books back when I am finished since they are considered my property.

    What to do for fun

    Many people play Frisbee in-between classes or play hop scotch.

    Food and Dining

    S.S.U. has this neat restaurant on campus known as The Bear's Den with a variety of healthy food to choose from. I'm not too crazy about the place just because I have a preference for different types of food.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are certainly challenged at Shawnee State University. Professors do not simply teach you how to take a test, they allow you to comphrend and absorb the material you are being taught (not memorized).

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your professors, let them know wheter you are struggling in class or are experiencing conflict with the other students. Follow this rule and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    I have overcome both personal and academic challenges thanks to the devoted professor of Shawnee State University. Librarians have also went the extra mile to provide me with resources needed to complete course work. The personal learning experience practiced by Shawnee State University has left me with happy memories and valuable knowledge.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything you want you are in college!

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, but has a great price.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on what dorm you chose.

    Academic Rigor

    Very knowledgeable

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not live in campus view building it is too much money.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great environment. The professors are very knowledgeable. The tuition is the right price at Shawnee.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The school seems to have a variety of activities for all students. Even a hip hop dance team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't too sure about going too a big university or small. Shawnee isn't huge but isn't tiny either.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are apartment style so their bigger than your typical college dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics seem too be on point. Not too many majors too choose from. But from what I am told they're in the process of expanding.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The pole's set up around for safety on campus are numerous. If something is wrong, or you need help a big red button is all you need to locate and you will be all set.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an aspiring video game technician or wanting to go into the medical field this is a great school for you. This is their two biggest programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their is a part of the grassy lawn on campus that is cursed for underclassmen. If a freshman walks across it students claim the perpetrator wont graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money. Many students cant find schools were they receive a decent education and can stay in a dorm for less that sixteen-thousand a year but at Shawnee State that's their staple.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small but there is usually a nice selection of entertainment options on campus, and if you don't drive but enjoy walking there is a movie theater and BW3's in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is boring. The first couple days its awesome but then you realize the buffet-style dining selection is very limited. The healthy food options are meager to say the least, but if you enjoy pizza and hamburgers the urge to eat here will consume you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms provide optimal space and furniture. Also an astounding dorm feature is that there is twenty-four hour weekend visitations. They're apartment style dorms so a kitchen is also provided.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do a minimum of three hours of studying a day you could at least make an B, but if you do not invest any time then you will most likely fail. So I rank it about a three.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard from the very begging. Don't get a bad exam grade that you will spend all quarter making up for. Get a meal plan. Save up. If you want to go here I advise saving money because jobs are scarce around campus if you do not drive so having money will be a necessity.

    In three sentences

    Difficult Developing Diligent

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    love all the available classes, offered, and the housing plans but what extras do they have??? band choir etc...

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly on shift and there are boxes around campus with buttons to push if you need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    I participated in Dance Crew but there are many different types of clubs and activities to do. Check your e-mail! Humans Vs. Zombies is my personal favorite! Do it!

    Great for these types of students

    Many different clubs on campus. You just have to take the time to look.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Noggins on Thursday nights is College Night! It just depends on the night whether or not it is fun. The same goes for Columbia.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, I enjoyed just going to someone elses room. We could go to the gym, swim, or go outside somewhere and play football, soccer, etc. Additionally, a lot of students enjoy walking or running on the flood wall. On nights out, I would go to Noggins ( a bar and club) or Columbia (another bar and club).

    Food and Dining

    It depends on the meal. They offer a variety in buffet style. The school has designated meal times and those are the best times to go and eat, but they have certain things that are offered all day. Additionally, the school offers to-go meals which you can get and take back to your room to eat in there or later on.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in the Campus View buildings and I thought they were amazing! They are like a small apartment. I stayed in a two bedroom, two bath room. We had a kitchen and living room. The school supplies you with essential living room and bedroom furnishing. It is your job to bring anything else you need or desire for your room.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on how much you study. If you spend time outside of class studying, you should do fine in the class. In addition, free tutors are available and I have had friends who have benefited greatly from them,

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip would be to set up meetings with potential advisors in the program you intend to major in. They can be extremely helpful in answering any of your questions on what you should do to get ready and get accepted into the program.

    In three sentences

    It is a good size, easy to maneuver campus. The class sizes are small and most teachers are extremely helpful. It is relatively cheap.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    To just hang out with friend in the dorms that really only if you under 21. There are a lot of bars by the school you can go in but not drink.

    Tips for prospective students

    The library is your best friend trust me.

    In three sentences

    The school is small. There small class size. The campus is beautiful.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although Portsmouth is not the most happening town, campus actually does a lot of extra stuff to keep the students busy. Greek Life is always having some kind activity for students. There are also always fundraisers or games going on.

    Food and Dining

    I wish I could have put 3 1/2 stars for this. I don't think the food is bad, but it isn't fine dining either. It gets old after awhile, but all in all it could be worse. The reason I cannot put 4 stars is becuase of the accessiblity of the Bear's Den. The hours can be very inconvient for students with late classes or classes all afternoon. Although there is a to-go selection a lot of the times those sandwiches are days old and just left-overs from the main course a couple of days ago.

    Dorm Life

    I know there are some that may disagree with me, but I LOVE dorm life at Shawnee State. The dorms are like mini homes and it makes me feel independent and it also lets me get to know people without getting to know them TOO well. The dorms are like mini communities and you get to make friends that become so close they are like family.

    Academic Rigor

    I cannot say that every teacher pushes the students to succeed, but I can say that most of them are very strict about being at class. Another thing the school does for academics to push students in the right direction is academic probation. If a student fails a class during the semester they are forced to report to an advisor once a week and get tutoring the next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    A major flaw at Shawnee is the Housing department. It is hard to get attention and things fixed (same with finical aid, but I'm sure that happens every where not exclusively at Shawnee). Try to make sure you housing is the way you want it BEFORE the semester starts; most changes are on a four to six week delay. Another thing to look at for is the Den. The Bear's Den isn't as bad as most students say it is, but there are days when it is probably better to go out. And although the food is okay, the hours are not. If you have class during dinner, you better have a big lunch. The to-go is convinent enough but a sandwich for dinner may not always cut it.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee is small which allows the individual to have the attention they deserve. The dorms are not only fantastic because of their size and privacy but also because the people other students in the dorms make being involved worth it. Lastly, Shawnee is not just a great place to be for an education but to be active in the community and campus.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the foods are well prepared but too much repetion of food

    Dorm Life

    Excellent and less expensive

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    In three sentences

    Shawnee state university is a small school with good condusive atmosphere for studie

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards always patrolling the campus, and there are security boxes posted everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The food in The Bears Den is just like any other cafeteria. They always have a vegetarian choice, which I thought was nice.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different types of dorms. But they don't always have enough room, so sometimes you end up getting tripled up in a double. But there is an resident advisor for each building and they are always willing to help with any maintenance problems.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college some professors are harder than others. But for the most part they are willing to work with you if you need help. There is also a success center where you can get help on any subject. There are also math and writing labs which are always open, and there are always people in there willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you want to do before attending or you'll end up being here a lot longer then your intend to.

    In three sentences

    It's a small college, but that just gives you more one on one time with your professors. It's nice living on campus because you're so close to all of your classes. There are so many clubs to join, and different ways to get involved.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types!

    What to do for fun

    Almost every night has activities! You can did just about anything to do, I've even seen students going down a giant water slide they made on the levey!

    Food and Dining

    I love the bears den! The food is different everyday, and you haven't lived until you've tried the macaroni bar!

    Dorm Life

    I can't actually speak much here since I'm a commuter, but I was really surprised at the quality of the dorms when I visited friends. They have full kitchens in the dorm rooms, something I hadn't seen anywhere else!

    Academic Rigor

    Shawnee has several classes that aren't available else where, such as the Ohio's Natural Heritage class. All of the courses are excellent and prove to push a student to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and look at the campus. For some kids, a small campus isn't what they want. But I can say Shawnee will do its best to provide for you!

    In three sentences

    Shawnee is a small, caring school. They don't care about numbers, but actually want to see you succeed. I have loved every minute of being a student here.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Security is constantly patroling campus and there are security poles everywhere in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Not much in the way of greek life, but there are a few fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities since there is not much to do in town. If you like being in clubs and organizations of all kinds this is a good college for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to be very involved in school organizations and don't like a lot of partying or being in a big city would love this college. Also good for students that come from small towns to get a feel for college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There happens to be a zombie club on campus. I happened to get caught in the middle of a zombie vs humans war of at least 200 or more students the other day. There were lots of nerf guns, face paint, and camouflage involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education at lower than average tuition prices. Also class sizes are great and there is plenty of tutoring help available.

    What to do for fun

    Again unless you are involved in extracurriculars with the college there isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of quaint family owned resteraunts with great food at good prices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are all apartment style and are a lot nicer than most college dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you stay on top of things it isn't too difficult to keep your grades up. Professors will usually help you one on one and there is plenty of tutoring available.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a quiet campus then this is a good college for you. If you like being in the city and having plenty of things to go to, then you might want to look somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    Shawnee is a very nice quiet college campus. It is on the cheaper side of tuition, and class sizes are very small which is nice. However, there is not much to do in town as far as entertainment.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the three years I've attended SSU, I've only heard of a few robberies taking place and those were because the owners of cars left their doors unlocked. There are blue light security boxes all over campus with a large red button so that students who fell unsafe can be walked home or brought to the department of security.

    Greek Life

    I think we have two sororities and two fraternities, however, I'm not a part of any of them so I can't say much about them. I will, however, note that when it's Greek Week, you'll know. The people a part of those groups are down your throat in order to get you to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    The thing about SSU's clubs is that they all have big aspirations, but because of our small student body, not enough students join their club. Therefore, they lack the funding necessary for the club to have fun activities and ultimately to exist as a club much longer.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of groups on campus for different types of people, so I think everyone can fit in at one place or another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a little sidewalk in the front of our Humanities and Science building that juts up a little bit. If you know about it, it's easy to dodge, but it's said that you're not a true student at SSU until you've tripped on that sidewalk.

    Bang for the buck

    Shawnee's known for its low tuition cost so you really do get more for what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Portsmouth as a whole is relatively dull. There are bars and restaurants close to campus, but for the most part, students have to leave town in order to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay at the beginning of the year, but... that's about it. Don't expect to go to the cafeteria and leave feeling full or satisfied. If I had to describe the food at our cafeteria, the Bears' Den, I wouldn't say it's good or bad; it's edible. Most of the employees are very rude as well.

    Dorm Life

    Shawnee's dorms aren't like traditional college dorms. They're more like apartments with the benefit of being on campus. I do like how comfy they can be, and because you're able to decorate as you like (for the most part), you're able to really feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course this depends on the classes you're enrolled in, but for the most part I'd say that the classes at SSU are challenging and satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors and your friends are what's going to keep student attending SSU; in other departments like the office of financial aid, the employees don't know enough about financial aid to be working there. To make things worse, they aren't willing to help students and are quick to get an attitude. The same goes for the majority employees at the cafeteria. So if you want your time at SSU to be as painless as possible, avoid the office of financial aid and the cafeteria as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Due to Shawnee's small size, the faculty and student body are able to get to know one another relatively well. There aren't many options for an athlete looking to play on a team, but SSU does have unique majors and minors such as Game Design and Animation. Whether students attend SSU for two or four years, they'll be amazed by how much they're able to learn for the incredibly low tuition rate.

  • 09/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything you feel like.

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your work.

    In three sentences

    Its a very nice college. Its not very big but its good enough for me. The cost is also very reasonable.