Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Shelton State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Determined. Hopeful. Studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies. Get involved with the school: its a great school with a lot of great people. Ask for help whenever you need it: someone will always be there to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Shelton State is a very nice school but also affordable. There are many scholarships available to apply for. One being the ambassadors program which is a way to become really involved in the school and community.

    Am enjoying being here

    Shelton State Community College is a wonderful and successful school! All of the administration know what they are doing and do it very well. The counselors are very personal if you need them to be and are always quick to respond to you or get with you whenever you need them to. It is a very large community college but the atmosphere and the people make it feel like home. I have thoroughly enjoyed being a student at Shelton State.

    Am learning a lot

    At Shelton State the teachers are very effective with their teaching. If you have any questions they give plenty of time to sit down with you and explain what you need to know. It is obvious they care about the future of their students.

  • 02/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for studious, dedicated students. Also good for those who like small class sizes and smaller campuses. Its harder to get lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared for class and be ready to learn. If you need help do not be afraid to ask all the teachers and staff are ready and willing to help with anything you need.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the costs at other schools, I am satisfied with the amount I am paying for this class at Shelton. You pay per credit hour along with books and other fees so it is a LOT less expensive. I believe that the quality of teaching makes it all worth it end the end because you learn what you came to learn so you do not feel like you wasted time or money but like you got what you paid for.

    Am enjoying being here

    My teacher is very laid-back and she is there to help us and make sure we actually UNDERSTAND the material. She has plenty of resources posted to her online website that further illustrate what she teaches in class and helps to make things even more simple for us. The students here are all nice and friendly and willing to help each other which makes Shelton a comfortable learning environment.

    Am learning a lot

    At this point, I am only taking one course because I do not qualify for financial aid but I am learning more at faster pace than I ever have. I am taking Math 112-06 (Pre-calculus Algebra) and I am catching on much more quickly and easily than I did to the same material in high school and the new material does not seem as daunting.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. it is gated and there are security officers always on campus, not that they are ever needed. shelton is full of students that were raised with good old fashioned southern hospitality.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few clubs, but they don't get too much attention, at least not that i've noticed. and since the college doesn't have dorms, it can be lacking in activities.

    Great for these types of students

    it is great for all types of students. last semester i was enrolled in night classes and the majority of my classmates were parents that had families and worked full time, some were even grandparents. shelton offers classes specifically for people over the age of 55, so everyone will fit in here.

    Bang for the buck

    shelton state is very cheap compared to other places, which is why i guess they don't take student loans. when paying for class, you definitely gain unlimited resources to aid you in your classes!

    What to do for fun

    shelton state has a great theater program that always either has something great playing or will have something soon. they also have pretty good sports teams that usually have a game going on every week.

    Food and Dining

    i haven't eaten in the cafeteria, yet. the vending machines are always nice, though!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, although there are many apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm sure there are challenging courses, but as far as freshman classes, they're a piece of cake! the teachers will work with you with anything you need. and like i mentioned, you have access to free tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest waiting until the first day of class to buy books, because even though shelton's website tells you that you need one, a lot of teachers never or rarely use one! i also would apply for every scholarship possible because they do not accept student loans that aren't through fafsa.

    In three sentences

    overall shelton is a great school, but i just want the whole college experience, which you can't get a shelton since there are no dorms. the teachers are great, and i after a semester i am just now in a class that is semi-challenging. all of the employees are extremely helpful. oh, and shelton offers free printing and free tutoring!

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Shelton is only $1600 for full time you can not beat that.

    What to do for fun

    Shelton has a lot of fun stuff they have dance class,weight lifting,woodworking,theater,art classes, and more. the life out side of Shelton bunch of restaurants and game days are the best

    Food and Dining

    They have a bunch of vending machines and a small cafeteria. The food is well sorted and good.

    Dorm Life

    Community college but the life in Tuscaloosa is great. Housing is fairly cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the best teachers there energetic and funny even in English. Could more of a variety of teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the compass test and do your best cause they will put you in really low classes that will not transfer to university. Do your registration early, even though it is a community college it has about 3,000 plus students and a small admin office.

    In three sentences

    Great school for students not ready for university yet, student to teacher ratio is awesome. The layout of the school makes it very easy to navigate. University Alabama feeds right out of Shelton State Community

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. Security is really good and really nice.

    What to do for fun

    Dance and going to see the plays are always fun to go to.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm here, but if you live close it is an awesome short drive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not extremly hard, but it depends on the teacher you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay focus and do your best. Trust your heart and follow it. If you feel a small college is where you should be then go for it. Shelton is a good place to start.

    In three sentences

    Shelton is a very good school if you do not want to start at a big school. It's small classes enable students to experience college with a high school feeling. It truly is a good college for people wanting to return to college/school and ones who are wanting to start school.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    library and study center

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    come and join us.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school with friendly teacher and student. facilities are good but activities are rare.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study with friends and do homework or more difficult things together.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have not tried the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    There are no doorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The opportunities are there at Shelton, its just up to you to take them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get everything done and turned in on time. If your looking for a place that is not too big or too small, Shelton is the perfect place

    In three sentences

    Shelton State is very resourceful and full of life. All of the faculty and staff is very patient. All of my past and recent instructors work hard to get the students where they need to be.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is ton's to do in tuscaloosa the university of alabama is also located here so there is never a dull moment.

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academic's at shelton are very rigorous but yet we can still go to our professors for help. i truly feel like i am going to succeed in the nursing program at shelton.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend this school to anyone. it is top of the line. you can get help everywhere you go. shelton state's goal is success.

    In three sentences

    i think shelton state is an amazing college. everyone that is staff there is so helpful and you can tell they truly care about the success of the students. i am very grateful to have a community college where each professor can talk to me one on one and make me feel like i will succeed no matter what.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security that will walk you to your car if you have a late evening class, and if you lock your keys in your car, they can help with that.

    Great for these types of students

    Shelton State is great for students fresh out of high school.

    What to do for fun

    I just go to class and back home. I never hang out at school after class or before class.

    Food and Dining

    Shelton State does have food, but I never eat there. I don't have any information on this area.

    Dorm Life

    Shelton State doesn't have a dorm, but there are many affordable apartments near the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help from the counselors and other staff to help make sure you are taking the right classes. If you are having trouble in a class or classes, take advantage of the free tutoring that Shelton State offers.

    In three sentences

    I think Shelton State is a great school for someone that is fresh out of high school that is not ready to leave home yet. The classes are easy to find and the teachers are very helpful. Shelton State offer a lot of great programs that can help you get on the right path to a great career.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    choir

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    College tution is reasonable

    What to do for fun

    Reading, shopping, and sewing

    Food and Dining

    subway down the street

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    respectful

    Tips for prospective students

    study and pay close attention

    In three sentences

    A well rounded college with a wonderful tutoring department. Has a quiet learning environment with educators who care. This college is also very understanding where family is concerned.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events to be involved with on and off campus. There are many different walks such as the walk for breast cancer, the blood drive and other events.

    Food and Dining

    There is an awesome cafe on campus that is reasonably priced and the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've taken at Shelton State are rigorous, but the teachers are very good in teaching the materials where you can understand it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to seek out what degree field one is interested in. Make sure you apply for financial aid. Last but not least, talk to an advisor!

    In three sentences

    Shelton State Community College is a great college for someone who is looking for a small class size and hands on. The tuition is very reasonable and it is in a great location. There are a lot of degree opportunities at this community college.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great here, the parking lot is wrapped around the building so it makes great for the security guards to keep an eye on things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shelton has lots of clubs that you can apply for; something on your mind Shelton probably has it.

    Great for these types of students

    What ever kind of student you are, Shelton could be the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shelton is real close to Bama so there is a lot of intermingling of students which makes great for a social life.

    Bang for the buck

    The Prices for classes are unbelievably awesome. 15 credit hours is around $2000 where as 4 credit hours at the University of Alabama is $2000.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to on campus that's fun but I guess sports would be one thing.

    Food and Dining

    Shelton has the awesome Poppy's Cafe on campus which has all kinds of different choices, but it's the only one on campus, so if you get tired of eating there you would have to go to one of the many close by fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly Shelton doesn't have any dorms on campus but there are a few close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Shelton has just about every class needed for someone looking for their basics. They even have classes like math 238 Differential equations, which is not usually offered at smaller community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afriad to ask anyone for help, the sooner you start the better off you'll be.

    In three sentences

    I think Shelton is one of the best Community Colleges Alabama has to offer. All of the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, we also have a wonderful tutoring system for major core classes. Shelton should be considered when upcoming students are looking for a community college.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shelton has a system called school cast. It's a system that keeps you updated on bad weather or something at school. they send an e-mail, phone call, and text.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can sit in the court yard with friends. It is very beautiful with a clock tower and a pond. Also if you want to attend a basketball game or baseball?softball and cheer on the Bucs!

    Food and Dining

    The food court has good food. You can get plates, hamburgers, pizza, salads, or fruit. It's a great place to sit and talk with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Shelton is like any other school; they don't want you to cheat or plagiarize. Other than that Shelton's not very strict. Also they do not like for you to miss much class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up a little earlier than your class for a good parking spot. Also be quick to the lunch line, because it fills up fast. Lastly just study hard and do the work. The teachers are nice and very helpful.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are actual cops on the grounds

    What to do for fun

    Walking outside in courtyard you can find friends to play frisbe or anything really. There is something you can do you just have to find it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good I recommend the bucky with cheese or chicken fingers. The prices are not to bad and the service is fairly fast. The staff is also nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will help you if you do not understand what is going on in the class but the only way for the teacher to know your confused is to speak up. The only stupid question is the one not answered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early that way you get the classes you want and need rather than classes just to stay a full time student.

    In three sentences

    It is cramed at the beginning of each semester but that is normal when students are trying to find all their classes on time. The teachers are nice and when you find a counsler you like and understand stick with him or her. The courtyard is big enough that there could be several different things going on at one time.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a place to start out academically while maintaining a frugal budget then SSCC is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I received my AAS within two years and am utterly thrilled with the entire experience. There was not one semester in which I did not enjoy myself, both academically and socially.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything. You have a choice of both a theater and an art studio on campus and off campus you have bowling and movies. I personally recommend hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Poppy's Grill provides good food at an affordable price and if you decide you are not up for Southern American cooking then there are lovely Chinese and Mexican restaurants right outside the door.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms but there is an apartment complex immediately outside one of the campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are varied and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I can give you is to come to class. Far too often students feel as if they can skip class and still receive credit. This is not true. If you do not attend class and, furthermore, pay attention, then you will have no chance of passing.

    In three sentences

    Shelton State provides a fun and friendly atmosphere while offering a wide array of courses. They remain affordable, even for those of low income, while still nourishing a diversified student body with various clubs and activities. The teachers are passionate about their subject and involve the students so that each day is always exciting.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always in effect during school hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers a range of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Transitioning students from high school to four-year college, Single mothers,full-time working students

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the college is affordable

    What to do for fun

    This college offers a variety of fun activities. There are performing arts, plays, concerts and workshops.

    Academic Rigor

    the college expects each student to attend class and do well especially if you receive financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    At each new school term be prepared for long lines and chaos.

    In three sentences

    So far I have enjoyed my experience at this college. The administrative staff are very helpful and the instructors seem to really care about their students.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Tuscaloosa, there are plenty of things to do for fun. There are always sporting events going on, as well as a movie theater not far from campus.

    Food and Dining

    At Shelton State, we have a cafeteria on campus. It is a decent place to eat, but if you don't care for their food, there are plenty of places to eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Shelton State, unless you attend the fire college. However, there are plenty of apartments close to campus, as well as rental properties.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Shelton State are reasonably challenging. Shelton is one of the most challenging junior colleges in the state of Alabama. However, the professors at Shelton are wonderful. They truly care about you as a student, and will do anything in their power, to help and encourage you on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to apply for the scholarships they offer. There is no reason to pay full tuition at Shelton. They offer so many different scholarship opportunities, including sports teams, theater, choral group, and a scholar bowl team. There are many opportunities, all you have to do is pick one.

    In three sentences

    Shelton State Community College is the perfect place to advance your education. At Shelton State, the professors will challenge you to become the best you can be, and encourage you on your path to a brighter future. Shelton State is the perfect step between high school to the four year school of your choice.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really good.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many.

    Bang for the buck

    The only thing i think is costly is shelton's bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Its ok not the best.

    Dorm Life

    IDK i dont live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to say make sure you register quickly to get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice college. The teachers here are really nice and most of them actually know what they are talking about. If a student needs help the teachers are always willing to help.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    So far i believe the school to be a good school. They seem to be organized and capable to provide me with the proper education.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    gated community

    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like this is a very good school as far as price is concerned.

    What to do for fun

    there seems to be a lot to do around the campus

    Food and Dining

    food is good

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here seem to be very well organized. Teachers seem friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Great tuition price, safe community, organized and friendly people.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful college if you work and have a family. The teachers work with you and make sure you stay on top. Shelton give students like me hope.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and well lit.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities to do at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for students who get overwhelmed with large and packed colleges. Shelton State is just the right fit for these types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college has a building that is dedicated to the arts. It is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Shelton State Community College is an in expensive college but the quality of education that you get here ranks with the more expensive colleges. You actually get more for your money here.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the theater shows that Shelton has.

    Food and Dining

    Shelton has various dining choices.

    Dorm Life

    Shelton State Community College is an off campus college. There are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Shelton State Community College believes in you learning everything you need to know when you get into the real world. Be prepared for a detailed and tailored curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to enjoy your time at Shelton State Community College.

    In three sentences

    Shelton is a great college. It has a great atmosphere and you have such a huge support system.