Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shenandoah University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in the performing arts: musicians (majors range from music performance to music education to music theatre accompaniment to music therapy!), dancers, and actors. These students will get the most bang for their buck I can't really see why any general education student would come to a school that is so expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good pair of walking shoes. The school is nothing huge or spread out, but it is a good walk from the freshman dorms to the business building or the conservatory building, point being you wouldn't want to walk around the whole campus in high heels.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the school is expensive. I will admit that. But I got about half of my tuition covered through THEIR scholarships and financial aid. Other than the school being expensive, you can go to all sorts of wonderful shows for free! All the tickets for the stage performances, the music performances, the dance performances, and the sports games are free to students. With the conservatory alone they host about 300 shows, concerts, recitals a year; you are definitely getting what you paid for when you come here. Also, the schooling is 100% worth it!! I can't see myself fitting in anywhere else, and I just lucked out to get one of the best performing arts schools in the country.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is wonderful. There are so many social events for every major, it is hard to not make friends. I will admit that all of my friends are in the conservatory, but this has more to do with similar interests than it being hard to make friends from the University. All the teachers are so understanding when it comes to getting your work done, especially if you have school related events. I had to tech a show which made me miss some classes and all the teachers were really supporting through that stressful time.

    Am learning a lot

    I go to the Conservatory of Shenandoah University and just from my first semester of Basic Acting, I have learned so much. There are two (at least at this time) different first year acting teachers, both have completely different teaching styles but they are both wonderful. My acting coach helps us and is ready to help us with anything we come across in the Acting world. They also bring in casting agents for the actors at the end of every year. This is extremely helpful to get us all out of the door with jobs in our field.

  • 10/23/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    WORK HARD! if you're doing musical theatre, really work on your audition

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive, but scholarships are out there

    Will enjoy being here

    I LOVE IT

    Will learn a lot

    All staff is amazing! the students are so nice. All the programs are top notch

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shenandoah is an environment that makes you feel like you're at home. It is a small school with a small campus, so if you are looking to party every night, this is not the school for you. If you are looking for a school that will make you achieve your potential, make you employable after graduation, and give you some great friends, then Shenandoah is your best bet. My schedule is nonstop, and my classes are rigorous, but if you are tenacious you can keep up with your studies and practicing what you learn. I have no doubt you will love it here as much as I do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a dream, stick to it. If you are willing to put hard work into making your dream come true, come to Shenandoah. The faculty dedicates itself to making sure you achieve what you desire. Again, this is another case where you control your destiny and need to make sure that you take responsibility for reaching your dreams. Also, make sure faculty knows what you want to achieve! At Shenandoah, they'll do their best to get you there.

    Bang for the buck

    To get your money's worth at Shenandoah (or for any college or business), you can't wait for the value to come to you. You must involve yourself, challenge your abilities, and make connections with everyone you can. I realized early that I am surrounded by extremely talented people. If you want to stand out and better yourself, then you have to audition for EVERYTHING you possibly can, and you have to make sure you are enjoyable to work with. Your reputation starts the moment you move onto campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Unless you have discovered a way to make days longer than 24 hours, I honestly don't think I could enjoy being here any more than I already do. I am so grateful to be attending Shenandoah. Getting involved with campus activities and productions (since I am a musical theatre student) has increased my enjoyment.

    Am learning a lot

    Where do I begin? Every morning, I wake up and do what I love all day. Sure, it's difficult, but I am learning new information by the bucket-load every single day. The faculty cares about each and every one of us, and instructors take the time to get to know each student personally. Faculty are always willing to help me with upcoming auditions or to provide feedback. Faculty members even take the time to sit down with me just to talk about life! I want to learn, and the faculty makes it easy for me to do so.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The SU Conservatory is amazing. Come if you play an instrument, sing, and/or act. Also, there is a Music Production & Recording Tech program here. I've only seen two or three sound majors like this. SU has a strong nursing program too, but I honestly don't know too much about it beyond the info on the school website. SU is perfect for anyone who is interested in keeping God in college. There is a program called JustFaith which is the first of its kind, and the participants love it!

    Tips for prospective students

    SU may not seek you out as much as other schools will, but it's worth the effort to make yourself known to the admission people. ASK about things you want to know, and do your own research to see what there is. Go to at least one of the campus days, and make absolutely sure you understand what is required for your application. (Conservatory people ALL have to audition, even the prospective techies.)

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high compared to other private schools, but that is because of how personalized the experience is. SU does not meet 100% of financial aid needs, but if your EFC is a bit too high this school will probably give you more free aid than most.

    Will enjoy being here

    Campus life looks great. There are some group events, plenty of intramural sports, a fitness center, and LOTS of outings. There will be an opportunity to go hiking, canoeing, or something like that practically every weekend. The college is in Winchester, so there's a mall nearby (and a Walmart for those of us who have no money left.) For those who are interested, spiritual life can be a huge part of campus life. Many ministry and mission activities are available.

    Will learn a lot

    SU has a freshman global seminar that requires each freshman to choose one out of a very interesting set of courses that will teach the students things they would otherwise never learn. The idea behind many of the majors at SU is learning how to think for oneself. For example, in my major I will learn how to work with sound equipment, but I will also become adept at understanding and maximizing the value of new technology.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of off campus activities like White Water rafting

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the programs offered at the school

    In three sentences

    A small school with small class sizes in a close knit community

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. There are campus security phones all over campus, so that they can be reached. It is a semi lit campus in some areas. But the main side walkways and paths people use are very lit. Campus police are around the campus 24 hours a day. I have never felt unsafe being on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this school. They do not believe in that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus but most clubs leans towards your major. Some clubs really aren't leaned towards their objective as stated. Always go to interest meetings or contact people who are in the club to get a better understanding and what they stand for. Even though the outreach of getting new members isn't well promoted the campus activities are promoted well. They send out newsletters by email, which everyone receives. They post flyers around campus. They truly want a great turnout. Activities range from free bowling nights, community service activities, sport/football games, and on campus activities; such as humans vs zombies games. There is always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Shenandoah is good for any type of student who just needs a college to go to. Music and conservatory student will benefit most from this university.

    Bang for the buck

    Shenandoah is a great school but it is costly. It does provide free tutoring and MacBook Pros to use to make education process easier while in school. Even if you already have a computer you still pay for the computer given at part of the tuition there is no way around it. Depending on your major the teachers are great as well. Even though it is expensive they do provide opportunities and help to pay for school.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what you make of it. If you live off campus is can be harder be involved in activities provided on campus. Winchester does not have much to do, so that is why you have to make your own fun and establish good friendships along the way. Other wise if you interested in the Club or party life, you might have to head towards Northern Virginia or DC, which is about an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on campus is okay, but it isn't as great as a home cooked meal from your parents. If you don't have a meal plan the food is overly expensive. There are deals with local restaurants that give discounts to students with your student ID.

    Dorm Life

    I can not describe dorm life due to the fact I have lived off campus while attending Shenandoah. I have seen apartment style dorm. It was small but there were two twin beds and two desk with chairs in them which took up the room. They did have a bathroom area for that room but i did not see it. Room made look bigger depending on how it is arranged.

    Academic Rigor

    SU is really into Academics. They want you to keep in contact with your adviser so that you can maintain acceptable grades. The advisers is there to help you in anyway to achieve the needed grades or help. Also the Academic Enrichment Center provides tutors to help with understanding and maintain grades as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a visit to the school - to see how the campus is and decided if this is where you want to attend. Eat and drive around campus - to get a feel of how the school is. Visit on a day while classes are held- so you can see the average size of the classrooms and teacher to student ratio. Also ask students walking around campus what they truly think of Shenandoah. If you already know the major talk with some of the teachers and look at the curriculum and requirements to enter and stay into the program. Also ask any questions you may have. Ask about the clubs for the major and what to do in order to be apart of it. Ask to see a dorm room and varies types of dorm rooms - See the types of the dorm room vs the campus apartments. Then decide if the living conditions are acceptable to your personal standards.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    su is not far from the blue ridge mountains, washington d.c., richmond and others - there is always somewhere to go!

    Food and Dining

    su offers multiple different meal plans for every type of student.

    Dorm Life

    it all depends on the dorm. some are very good, others, not so much.

    Academic Rigor

    if you do the homework and study, you will be fine. too often people fall into the trap of partying and coming to class hungover.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research first - the school offers scholarships, there are multiple programs and bonus options for specific majors.

    In three sentences

    shenandoah university is a school for both the community and for the commuter. located right off i-81 south, shenandoah university offers a wide variety of majors, from music or business, to become a pharmacist. su has something for everyone and you will not be disappointed in their offers.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. su has a safe walk program where security officers will walk you to your dorm/class after dark. several emergency panic buttons throughout campus. students can also sign up for text/email alerts for emergencies/last minute info (delays/snowdays) to be sent directly to their cell phones.

    Greek Life

    su doesn't have a true greek system so there are no sorority or fraternity houses. su does have music, dance, and theatre fraternities as well as greek honors societies for most majors.

    Clubs and Activities

    su offers clubs for just about any interest. intramurals are offered for most sports. there are clubs/honor societies for most majors. as well as community service clubs, interest clubs and cultural clubs. for a complete list visit su.edu/studentlife

    Great for these types of students

    shenandoah is great for students that may need a little more encouragement or one-on-one help from professors. the class sizes are small. i've yet to have a professor who didn't know me personally by the end of the semester. most professors are more than willing to go to any length to help you outside of class or answer questions via e-mail at all hours. su also offers free tutoring for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    midnight wal*mart scavenger hunt at midnight on move in day. apple blossom festival http://www.thebloom.com/

    Bang for the buck

    su is expensive, however the small class sizes and awesome professors make it worth it. the dorms are also pretty decent and are renovated fairly frequently. the only down side is the meal plan is pretty expensive and the food isn't very good. however the area is cheap for students coming from areas like fairfax and dc

    What to do for fun

    campus has events almost every night and every weekend for free take advantage! also find a club you're interested in, there is so many things to do for free.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall isn't very good. there is a wide variety of food but at the cost of quality. the student center has a food court that is a slight step up quality wise but is extremely limited when you are using meal plan points. however most local restaurants have college night (ihop wednesdays 1/2 off, waffle house 10% off all the time, sweet frog 10% off all the time. buffalo wild wings 50 ct wings tuesdays)

    Dorm Life

    dorms are nice, one dorm is renovated every summer to they get re-done ever 5-6 years. i would recommend trying to find a roommate on the facebook page before submitting your housing sheet. they're not that great on matching people that will get along.

    Academic Rigor

    i wouldn't say that its that rigorous of a school because most of the professors truly make their best effort to work with you and help you in any way as long as you also put effort into the class. don't take more classes/ credits than you can handle at once, thats what gets most students in trouble

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school. we have tours most weekdays and weekends, as well as open houses where you can meet with professors, advisors and try out the dining hall. also try to meet with a student and department head of the department you are looking into.

    In three sentences

    shenandoah is a awesome, small, student oriented school. winchester, va is a beautiful area and the city essentially caters to the school. the fact that it is small allows for a wonderful, community like feel.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to jmu. or if you stay on campus you can go to parties but make sure you have a designated driver because you have to drive to all the parties.

    Food and Dining

    food is great but the dinning hours are retarded.

    Dorm Life

    rooms are really big but most people keep their door shut.

    Academic Rigor

    stay on top of your studying and you should do fine. teachers are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused on what is important. understand what shenandoah is and don't go in expecting it to be anymore than that.

    In three sentences

    unless you are serious about sports or conservatory you shouldn't go here. however, if you are dedicated in either of the two then you could have a great opportunity to excel them at shenandoah. small school so nightlife isn't great but you get to know everyone and develop close relationships with most of the students.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    theatre, music, nursing, pharmacy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    apple blossom is the first weekend in may and is the only reason you should go to shenandoah. they give us the friday off from school and there's a giant parade, a carnival, and loads of other activities to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a pretty pricey private school, and they're wasting their money on turning parking lots that are needed into green spaces.

    What to do for fun

    get an xbox or other game console.

    Food and Dining

    dining options are not often open for extended hours, making it difficult for students with very busy schedules to get in and eat before they close. furthermore, the quality of food leaves a lot to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are not the best living situations. they offer no access to kitchens, the internet is slow, and many of them have fallen into bad shape. move off campus as soon as you have the opportunity.

    Academic Rigor

    this school offers no challenge academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're going here, be sure you know what you want to major in. there are not a lot of options if you change your mind.

    In three sentences

    shenandoah university is a small school in the middle of winchester, va. academically, it is not the ideal school for people to attend, however the conservatory and the nursing and pharmacy majors are widely respected.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Get into sports teams whether it's the school team or a recreation sport have a works study job, it's a great way to make money and meet new people

    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes, book worms, and anyone with the drive to further their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We celebrate something called the Apple Blossom, it's celebrated in late April and many parties are thrown, and we even get a few days off from school.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school, it's more expensive than public colleges but you can get more money in loans and grants because it's private.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go bowling, go to parties

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore your options when choosing your college, I love it here but this school is not the right fit for everyone.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small but lovely. The class sizes are small as weel giving each student the time and attention they need to grow. The school spirit is alive and well.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dangerous... campus is intersected by a public park and basketball courts.. numerous stabbings and attacks have been reported there. Often lights are out around campus which makes it so you can't even see the path in front of you. Dorm doors are often left propped open, allowing anyone to go in and out. They do have the blue emergency towers, though. And the campus security phone number is on every student's ID cards.

    Greek Life

    The only greek life here is for honor societies. All two of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very little effort done due to lack of budget. There are next to no activities or clubs for the students that are any good. SU does things like tie-dying on the quad and have 10 shirts out... and ice-cream bar in the caf where they move the ice cream from its normal spot, to the counter right when you walk in.

    Great for these types of students

    PT-students, Nursing students, Conservatory students. People who don't need tutors. (SU may boast free tutoring but don't be decieved- they have very few tutors and limited hours, not many people get tutors)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Apple Blossom Festival every spring! Its a big deal for EVERYONE, but usually just an excuse to get drunk for the students. We get out of classes for a few days and there are parades and carnivals... its a very big deal here.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you're not expecting much, Shenandoah is average. If you are expecting a full out college experience, SU is not the place for you. If you don't mind the lack of.. personality, this is a good place to get focused on school and keep your head in the books.

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding areas are beautiful and SU tries to set up hiking/camping/kayaking trips as much as possible. Other than that, people go home for fun. If you are 21, there are good bars and restaurants on the Walking Mall in downtown. Of course there's also the Apple Blossom Festival!!

    Food and Dining

    Awful hours all around. If I didn't know what plans were in the future, I would give dining one star. The food is prepared by the students usually and is absolutely disgusting. Unless its an open house day. But if you like bad french fries and burnt eggs, you're in luck! There is the Caf (buffet style) and The Grill/Sandella's... all food is sub-par and leaves a lot to be desired. We're always hungry. Plus, you only are given $50 for off campus and even those options are slim.

    Dorm Life

    For the amount we pay, you could NEVER tell by looking at the dorms. Floods, mold (they swear it's only mildew...), snakes, crumbling bathrooms, more mold, outside doors left open (UNSAFE), trash everywhere.. yeah.. not good...

    Academic Rigor

    Like any college, we have everything here. From teachers who barely speak english, to professors who KNOW how to teach and care for their students. I would say that if you are proactive with what you want from them, the academics are good. The advising is not good though.. you need to know for yourself. And if you want to study anywhere other than your room, good luck. There are about two rooms here on campus for students to use. You're better off finding a unicorn than a quiet place to study during or around midterms/finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak up. If there is something you want, someone here can help you get it or do it. If you want something changed, don't wait for it to happen, be proactive and since it's such a small school, it will.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah is full of caring faculty and staff who honestly want you to succeed. For me, personally, I would give SU at 3 out of 5. There are a lot of problems here and most of the time I was wondering where the heck all my money was going... I definitely couldn't see anything nice there.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Diverse

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lot of History

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to feel appreciated, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    The University is small and is a close knit community with support that enables success in the programs offered. The community supports the programs by offering internships, etc. One on One interactive is the receipe for success.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It depends on what type of person you are but going down town with friends is always a great night.

    Food and Dining

    The hours need to be fixed it's a problem for dance majors but the food isn't all that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Great RAs always there when you need them and there always doing things for you for example finals week they bought us pizza and threw a small gathering to get away from studying for some time. The dorms are always being cleaned.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are just as important as your major. Teachers are willing to help you as long as you talk to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school won't let you down. If you plan on being a dance major just be aware that it is a lot of hard work but the teachers will help you through it.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic. The dance department has done nothing but amaze me. Also the campus it's self is just simply beautiful.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus sercurity and they are very active. They are often found walking campus in the wee hours of the morning, or giving tickets. There are several emergency call posts located throughout campus in the event of an emergency. Campus security also offers safe walks, in the event that you need to be escorted to another dorm or your car late at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Shenandoah University is known for it's conservatory. If you hope to expand your musicianship, Shenandoah is the place for you. The focus, is mainly classical music.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located right next to a park, which is a nice commodity. There is a man-made lake with a fountain for fishing, or walking.

    Bang for the buck

    Shenandoah University is a bit on the expensive side. It is a private institution which means that most of the funds come from donations, or student's tuition. There is room for improvement, especially with a price tag as such.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Winchester, VA. There is a mall, and it is in a good location; it's not located too far from major cities. It is equidistant from Washington DC, as it is from Baltimore. It is a little closer to Charlestown and Martinsburg, West Virginia. It is very scenic, so if your love nature and the outdoors it is a perfect place. Student life tries to have activities for students but due to lack of participation and creativity, the activities are often malattended. There are plenty of recitals, performances, shows and such if you are interested in music.

    Food and Dining

    Campus is located near several restaurants and fast food places; there is even a mall across the street. However, if you a strapped for cash, like most college students, then you may want to eat on campus. Campud dining hall food is not the best, but then again it's not to be compared to your home-cooked meal. Shenandoah's manager of dining services does his best to make sure the student's are about to submit their input about what is served and what we would like to see. There are two options for dining on campus, we have a dining hall and also Student Center. The dining hall is for regularly schedule meals and it closes in between those meals. The Brandt Student Center is open all day for students on the go. We have Sandella's, Jazzmans, Simply-to-Go, and 155 Grille. We often see the same entrees on rotation at these places, which can become a little frustrating.

    Dorm Life

    There are several on campus living areas, four of which or only for freshman. There are three upperclassman dorms, three of which aren't directly on campus. One is across the street; the others are considered east campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your area of study, you may find that your course load will vary. Conservatory students are more likely to have more credit hours due to the amount of recitals, rehearsals and performances. Other areas of study tend to stay around the full time (12 credit) course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for more of a city, busy vibe, Shenandoah is not the place for you. If you are looking to be focused on your studies, and surrounded by others who are as well, Shenandoah is a good choice.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah University is a great school for those seeking a very focused, quality education. The scenery is peaceful and serene, and the campus is quaint. Overall, it is a very pleasant school to attend.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capus security is always a phone dial away. There are multiple blue boxes around campus where if you feel threatened or don't want to walk back alone they'll come and walk with you. All dorm buildings are swipe card activiated and doors have locks with keys.

    Greek Life

    There are sorieties and fraternities but it's not a huge greek life. There aren't seperate houses for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple Blossom Festival. A huge festival the last week of school. It's the second largest city run event in the US. The town shuts down for the Friday and everyone is out and in the streets all weekend. Something I strongly recommend going to.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do. Go to the park, go downtown, go to the mall, the movies. You name it, they have it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty bad. As a picky eater there is not much to eat on any given day. they have a consistency of burgers and fries on a daily basis for lunch and dinner, but that's not very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms can be hard to live in. With little control over the air/heat and the size of each room it can be a hard year. I lived in Racey and I felt like I was living on top of my roommate. The sophomore dorms are 3x bigger and better in the renovated hotel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let silly things hold you back from having a good time but, know when to buckle down a study. Stay on every weekend available, that's where you'll meet your true friends. Don't stress yourself out too much.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah is a beautiful campus, along with warm welcoming people. It has small class sizes for easy teacher-student interaction and the president of the school teaches a freshman seminar class. Everywhere you go you can hear the wonderful sounds of the conservatory.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is amazing. There is several spots on campus where there is emergency buttons in case of any emergency and there is constantly police or guards surrounding the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a bunch of activities, just depends what you're into.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bunch of activities on campus, and on the weekends. There a whole lot of sport games and theatres that are always going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes food is alright, sometimes it's horrible it just depends what day it is!

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your rooming situation, it will determine your dorm life. The RA's are amazing and always helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are more willing to help than others. You have to reach out to them first, otherwise you will receive no help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not your average party school, you have to stay on top of your school and accept the fact that the school is small.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice school, teachers are extremely nice and care for your grades and give you one on one attention. The only downside to this school is the dorm quality. Other than that, everything is super!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do! We are right in the middle of a city so there is many shopping and eating opportunities. As well as movies, putt putt, dinosaur land and plenty more.

    Food and Dining

    It is not your Mother's homemade cooking, but it is pretty good. There is a variety for you to choose from in the Cafeteria and Food Court. Also, you have flex dollars to eat in restaurants throughout Winchester.

    Academic Rigor

    Shenandoah wants you to be successful, but wants you to work hard and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! You can learn a lot by a college visit and you can actually picture yourself here.

    In three sentences

    A small school that really cares about you. Professors and staff know you by name and are here to make sure that you succeed. Shenandoah is a perfect place for you to succeed in all that you hope to achieve.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safest place I've been to. Safer than the White House.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, studious, and focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very quiet campus, lots of places to snooze.

    Bang for the buck

    Nice outlet mall 15 min away!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply well before the deadline. Be responsive in replying to the staff's email.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah University is absolutely the right choice for me because of the welcoming environment. The staff and faculty are friendly, supportive, efficient, and knowledgable. My classmates are competent and intelligent.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great security guards.

    Bang for the buck

    You get you moneys worth with the smaller classroom and all of your teachers know you personally, to give good recommendations for you future jobs or schools.

    What to do for fun

    They have many activities they do throughout the year for students, the most recent was human Vs. zombies.

    Food and Dining

    I usually dont eat on campus, i hear that the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. Heard they are nice, some have pools.

    Academic Rigor

    The have many choices to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all of your finanical aid paperwork due quiklt as possible.

    In three sentences

    I think Shenandoah ia a great college for the students that like the smaller classrooms. you get the teacher to student relationship more than other universities. It is also in a very beautiful area.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency Blue Boxes all over our small campus which will dial into the SU security office. It will ring three times before dialing directly into the Winchester police department.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities at SU that are Conservatory-based.

    Bang for the buck

    Shenandoah University is however, a private Division III school and very expensive to go to. Yes, this means no athletic scholarships, BUT this also means that there are plenty of opportunities for grants, academic scholarships, and loans students can receive. There are also opportunities for Work Study where students can work on-campus doing things like swipe cards at the cafeteria for minimum wage, just like a real job. Most of the students at SU are involved in Work Study

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun at SU and in Winchester, VA! The school offers various activities for students at discount rates including white water rafting, beach trips, movies, hiking, paintball, lazertag, and much more! Washington DC is less than 2 hours away and Skyline Drive is a beautiful place to tour on a weekend! It is also easy to join a club and get involved with other things through Spiritual Life, Athletics, and Academics.

    Food and Dining

    SU has our very own catering service, Sodexo. They provide our cafeteria food and take time in preparing special holiday dinners for us as well. We also have The Grill (burgers, french fries, chicken fingers, etc), Sandella's (panini's, soups, pizza, etc), and Jazmine's (coffee hut, to-go foods). The cafeteria hours are not that flexible especially for athletes and Conservatory students so to cover for this each student receives $50 to spend at designated restaurants and eateries around Winchester each semester.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other colleges I've visited, the dorms here are very high-end. Freshman and Sophomores are required to live on campus but the Freshman dorms can vary from average to huge dorm rooms! The sophomores have their own designated dorms which were previously Inns and motels so you can only imagine having that nice bathroom to yourself and your roommate!

    Academic Rigor

    Shenandoah has many different programs a student can enter depending on their major. Conservatory students have a very busy schedule, but it is also very specific to what job they want to hold. SU also has a School of Nursing where a few of the classes are held off campus, but plenty of athletes are also involved in this program so it's not impossible if you would like to do both!

    Tips for prospective students

    Shenandoah students are most likely either in the Conservatory or involved with athletics. If you are interested in any major having to do with the Arts, SU is perfect for you. Our Conservatory program is one of the finest with classes ranging from acting and dace to scenic lighting design. We also have a School of Nursing and a great Physical Therapy program for students! Before choosing a college I was looking for a small school with sports, my major, and a friendly atmosphere. I found out about Shenandoah through my coach and thought it was perfect for me especially after I met a lot of the people involved with the school- they were all friendly and made me feel at home!

    In three sentences

    If you like small schools where the professors really care about you, Shenandoah is a great place to be. It is a Division III school so if you are a prospecting student interested in sports (actually want play time instead of riding the bench at a larger school), come to SU! The faculty and students are all friendly and the networking this school has to offer gets students to where they want to be.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very helpful. They are very accessible.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends. Get involved with clubs. Head downtown. If you are city life person, this place is not for you.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food. It is not my Grandma's but it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It can be difficult learning to live with someone new, but stick it out and communicate. RA's are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Study! Yes, get involved but you have to make your classes a priority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Search out new friends. Sitting in your dorm does not help. Plenty of good people are there for you.

    In three sentences

    SU is a great place to go to college. I have found everyone to be very helpful.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs, and very open to starting your own if you don't find what you're looking for

    Great for these types of students

    Focused on academics, looking for a small college feel, outdoors lovers

    Bang for the buck

    Great school with tons of great opportunities

    What to do for fun

    Outdoors opportunities, go explore DC, bowling, explore DownTown Winchester

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, it's a small school, but don't be fooled - winchester is a big area that's close to a lot of things! If you're looking for a big school atmosphere, though, you won't find it here. There's tons to do, just get involved!

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere for someone who's looking for a small school with friendly people, where you're not just a number. Great diversity in people and plenty of great food choices off campus! Tons and tons of great opportunities!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not aware of any campus safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not aware of all the activities that will be to incoming freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many activities available on campus and most of them are ree!

    What to do for fun

    I've had an opportunity to hike. Great , adventurous new activity.

    Food and Dining

    Went to the dining facility pn orientation day, and the food was great. But I temper my thoughts with the fact since parents were there the foodservice company put their best efforts on display.

    Dorm Life

    Upcoming freshman, have not experienced dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure what this will be like

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes as you tour the campus. Go on a day when classes are in session. Try meet with a professor or a student in your chosen field of study.

    In three sentences

    Its a beautiful campus. The cafeteria at my high school was bigger than the campus cafeteria. Everyone I encountered was nice and hospitable.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe on campus. There are precautions that are taken and put into force to decrease the chance of something happening, such as constant patrol of campus grounds, required student id card for entry into buildings, etc. There are also emergency buttons around campus that you can push where campus security will attend to should you need it, but half the time I don't even think about them or notice that they're there. Campus security is great and easy going, I've made friends with a lot of the officers. Even off campus I feel relatively safe. I can walk across the street to the Walgreens or Sheetz and not feel threatened. However, there are some parts of Winchester, that I would not want to walk alone in, especially at dark. Overall though, I feel that SU is a very safe campus, night or day.

    Greek Life

    I don't know that much about greek life other than there are no true sororities or fraternities, at least not the ones with the huge pillared houses that you normally think of when it comes to that. There are some though that are for academics and performance, or music at well. There are definitely sweatshirts with the greek letters on them, other than that I don't know much of anything about greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join at SU. Only this year, I participated with FCA, racquetball club, and health sciences club. All of which were created this past year or soon before. There is flag football, club soccer, volleyball and basketball. There are also clubs for those who are musically and vocally talented, I not being one of them. There is almost always something going on or a group that you can join that has something you are interested in. What's even better is if there is no club that you would want to join, you can make it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Shenandoah is truly a hodgepodge group of students. As I said earlier, there are so many programs offered that there is no 'cookie cutter' student. I have friends who from school who are very outgoing and active in multiple clubs, sports, and activities and then I also have friends who choose to invest all their time into one specific thing. If I had to say what kind or 'type' of student is great for SU, I'd say one that is willing to new things, new people, and ideas. I've had a female professor from Iran who taught a Global Communications course and a very outgoing white woman who taught aerobics. Even though the two were very different, they taught me to open my eyes to things I hadn't seen before and to even look at certain things with a different perspective. At SU, you just have to be open minded to different people and the way they teach and perceive things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is perfect for Shenandoah as there are so many things that make SU and its location unique. First of all, we offer a program for all students known as GCP, Global Citizen Project. This is a program where any student can apply, by written essay and interview, and have the chance to travel to one of many places that the University chooses. This is a spring break trip, fully paid by the school, that in the past has gone to places such as Ireland, Uganda, and Australia. It's a great opportunity to see parts of the world that often you would never get to see. Another HUGE traditions for Shenandoah, and Winchester in general, is Apple Blossom. The weekend before exams, all of Winchester shuts down. From Thursday to Sunday there are parades, carnivals, and activities that happen all over town. Students are off Friday, and some teachers even don't have class on Thursday! It is Winchester's biggest tourist attraction and brings people in from all over.

    Bang for the buck

    This completely depends on what you make of it. Shenandoah offers so many opportunities for students, both on campus, off, and abroad, that are often free and if not at a discounted price. For example, on some Thursday nights students get a discount on bowling. There are trips that students can take, such as tubing, horse back riding, and hiking that you only have to sign up for. Getting your money's worth also applies to classes. SU is private, so it's tuition is much more than that of a public university. However, if you really invest your time and efforts into the classes, get to know the professors, and build relationships with them, I believe it will pay off in the future. The connections you can make just through one person and that relationship you have are incredibly vast.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do is the real question. There is a decent sized and stocked malled within walking distance of campus. There are also other stores not far, five minute drive/15 minute walk such as Target, Old Navy, and Five Below. Downtown Winchester is a great and beautiful place to go walk around and shop. A movie theatre is also a ten minute drive from main campus. There is a park with a large pond right off campus with tons of room to go for a walk or run, have a BBQ, or just sit and talk with friends. Other outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, and even horse back riding are only a thirty minute drive. If you're looking for something a little more exciting Washington DC is about an hour drive and offers clubs, more shopping, and more city life activities.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is definitely one of Shenandoah's downfall. The main dining hall, known as 'the caf,' is about the size of a high school cafeteria. It offers multiple buffets, with a salad bar, pasta and bread, a specialty buffet that changes day to day, and a kind of general 'American food' that changes day to day as well. There is also a soft serve machine and a dessert bar which has the best cookies ever. In the student center, there is also 'the grill' which offers a menu including burgers, fries, chicken tenders, and sandwiches and flatbreads. This is open nearly all day and night and is great to swing by for a snack or a small meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life completely depends on which dormitory you are put into. Some of the buildings have very spacious bedrooms with four rooms sharing one bathroom, known at SU as quad style. Other buildings have somewhat large rooms with two bedrooms joined by one bathroom. A final room style has smaller rooms with hall style bathrooms. My first semester I stayed in a bedroom with a hall bathroom. It was a little inconvenient to have to walk down the hallway at night just to use the bathroom, and to walk out with only a towel around you after a shower. However, it was definitely not as bad as I was expecting it to be. No matter what type of bedroom/bathroom style you're in, make friends with your hall mates. You will need them and will like being able just to pop in their room to hang out or to help you study.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a hard topic to discuss as being a Kinesiology major/Spanish minor is very different than a performing arts or history major. However, to the best of my knowledge there are no majors that are 'easy.' While some classes may differ in reading material, study time, or even necessity of attendance, the overall objective of obtaining your major will require you to work, and work hard. My hardest classes were definitely Gen Bio and Antatomy, both with labs. Classes where there is a large student body require more work outside of class, studying on your own, meeting with the professor, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shenandoah is definitely a divided school at times. We are well known for our conservatory program but we also have competitive athletic teams, Nursing, Occupational and Physical Therapy, and Athletic Training programs. There seems to be tension between a lot of the athletes and the dancers and the conservatory. Coming in, no matter what individual curriculum you will be studying, know that it doesn't matter. Make an effort to meet with all sorts of people; dancers, musicians, football and soccer players, and the business majors. You won't believe the amazing friends you'll make and the connections you'll have for years down the road.

    In three sentences

    SU is an amazing place to be with a small but exciting atmosphere in Winchester. There are plenty of outdoor activities within walking and reasonable driving distance, shopping opportunities, and close to larger cities such as Washington DC, Richmond, and Martinsburg, West Virginia. However more than anything, Shenandoah is a place that I can easily call my home, it's somewhere where I feel at ease and supported.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships as soon as you can. Also, while attending if you need help ask for help, the teacher are wonderful.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah is a wonderful small school. The tuition is very expensive but worth it when you want the one on one with w teacher. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate Shenandoah a 8.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious, hard working, preference small classrooms over large.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apple blossom festival!

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, running, golf, fishing, kayaking, swimming, apple blossom festival, enjoy the scenery, movies, and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classrooms therefore, you get good attention from professors.

    In three sentences

    Discipline, dedicated, hard working school.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities that go on around campus. Student Life keeps you up to date on a weekly basis on events that they are having. You can go into the city of Winchester with your friends and get discounts at The Alamo Drafthouse and numerous restaurants in the Winchester Area. There is a walking mall in downtown Winchester as well as an updated one within walking distance from campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dinning options on campus as well as numerous restaurants around the Winchester area for food. The Allen dining hall is an all you can eat buffet style food. In the dining hall there are numerous options as well as cooked to order food. The food court is the second option on campus and provides students with more of your grilled food and Italian style pizza and wraps.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorm options for incoming freshman. Two of which are suite style living in where it is a bigger room where you share a bathroom with four to eight people. The other two options are community style where the entire floor shares a bathroom and shower. Both options are great options for a first year student. Residential Assistance are there to help you with anything you need as well as any problems you might have.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are small and give you a great opportunity to know your professor and go to them when you need help. Your advisor will help you plan out your schedule while you are attending the University so you obtain your degree on time and understand what you as a student need to do to accomplish this task.

    Tips for prospective students

    This University offers great programs with numerous areas of study. Classroom sizes are small so your professor knows you and you know them. The campus keeps building to improve buildings and create new opportunities for students.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah is a upcoming campus and provides students with numerous opportunities that they want taken advantage of. The university provides community service to Winchester City. Shenandoah makes students feel at home no matter the distance travelled to come here.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, artistic, musical, or nursing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On move-in day for freshman, the university sets up a mock graduation for the freshman so they can get a feel of what it will be like to walk across the stage to accept their diploma four years later. The night before exam week, the university serves a free dinner at 10:00PM for all students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room on campus and a piano in the student center for anyone who wants to play for an audience at any time in the day. There is an arboretum right next to campus that has several walking trails. A movie theater, old walking mall, and many shops are available for students at Shenandoah.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, never be afraid to ask. Even the president, Tracy Fitzsimmons, is always available to talk to.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah University is a beautiful school with friendly students and faculty. There are many different majors ranging from business to conservatory related degrees. The school has a great sense of community and desire for furthering education.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At Shenandoah University there are four dining facilities. One is buffet style dining with many options every night. Some of these options are a sandwich bar, a burger bar, a vegetarian/vegan bar, salad bar, home cooked meal bar, and a pasta bar. There are also two other dining areas that are more like a fast food restaurant. Including these three dining areas there is a coffee shop that serves sandwiches and pastries.

    Dorm Life

    At Shenandoah University freshman and sophomores are required to live on campus at either of the six housing buildings. The dorm room sizes are generous and already have a desk, bed, dresser, wardrobe, and shelving space included. You are aloud to choose your room mate or you may chose to be randomly assigned. Over all, the dorm life experience at Shenandoah University is very a fun enjoyable one.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty here are more than qualified and truly care about their students. Due to the faculty passion and experience students are pushed to their full potential. Shenandoah is the perfect amount of academically rigorous.

    In three sentences

    Shenandoah University is a small university focused on student achievement. This University makes all feel welcome through many opportunities including free hiking trips, movie nights, and bowling. With all of the opportunities offered here, the friendly people, and the beautiful campus, Shenandoah University is an all around amazing schooling experience.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shenandoah has no problems at all with campus security. We have plenty of officers, a safe location, and a small campus. Campus security offers many services to protect students.

    Greek Life

    All greek life on campus is honorary and philanthropy based. You won't find any frat houses or big frat parties, but there is some opportunity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's an opportunity for almost anything. You can always start something yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    ACTORS (especially the musical sort) DANCERS SINGERS MUSICIANS PERFORMERS OF ALL KINDS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So many geese. Also, a historical building right on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your major, it's pretty bangin'. For performing art students Shenandoah will always be the right choice. The list of experienced teachers goes on an on. Science and medical majors are in for something special, too. Brand new facilities and teachers are making Shenandoah much more than a school for the performing arts.

    What to do for fun

    See any number of the school or student run shows going on all through the year. Theatre, music, dance, and more. Go to the gym. Have a picnic on the park-like grounds. Take a swim at the East Campus pool. Zumba. Any of the outdoor trips or city excursions. Enjoy the artist life in the community and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Like most school, the dining situation isn't great. Meals are served buffet style at the dining hall or individually at the Grill and Flatbread Shop. There are always vegetarian options, though they are just as lacking as the typical meals. It's all run by Sodexo, and sometimes they can really give up when it comes to the menu. However, you will find a fully stocked salad and sandwich bar in the dining hall. You can also have a hamburger or omelette cooked at any time of day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are somewhat small and old, but Shenandoah tries hard to make students comfortable. Many of the rooms have been remodeled, and there's the opportunity of getting a single room (for $) after the first year. RAs are fairly friendly and helpful, and there are many opportunities for fun through Res. Life.

    Academic Rigor

    The schedules aren't extremely flexible, but they leave more than enough room. You can test out of several general education classes. Professors know how hard students are working and how much they paid for tuition. Not many teachers are going to fight over grades, and most will give you a lot of leeway. It's not hard to make Dean's List that first year if you don't lag behind. That doesn't mean you won't learn, it just means grades aren't stressed over experience and growth.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an artist: Work hard on your audition piece(s) and really show the school who you are! Don't be afraid, Shenandoah is very kind about auditions. Just give it your best shot and have fun. The worst thing you can do is get scared. If you're looking for an academic major, maybe you should look at a different (less expensive) school. Shenandoah is wonderful, but you pay for the amenities and opportunities. Unless you're dead-set on the school, you should look at cheaper alternatives.

    In three sentences

    Involved Busy Friendly