Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sheridan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They offer many courses here. They have Psychology programs, Crime investigation programs, even Video game design and programming classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definetly check Sheridan College in Wyoming, it is amazing. It also has a great view of the Rocky Mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very cheap compared to the other colleges I checked out. They also offer many scholarships to first time students there.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here was extremely friendly and fun. I was kind of scared since it was my first year of college and I didn't know anyone. But the college had many student nights were we would get together and play fun games and get to know each other. I also mad lots of new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    The classroom sizes for all the classes I took had at most 20 students in them at one time. The smaller sized classes really helped me learn more and connect with my proffesors more too.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students whose first priority is affordability.

    Bang for the buck

    i chose gillette (sheridan) college because of its low tuition.

    Food and Dining

    there is only one hot food item per meal.

    Dorm Life

    very, very small college with limited activities.

    Academic Rigor

    gillette college is a two year college and doesn't offer advanced degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your financial aid doesn't cover the total cost of a full-time course load, you can have a half-time course load. it may take longer to graduate, but you're not paying anything out of your own pocket. also, you have more time to study and to work so you can pay all your bills.

    In three sentences

    i am attending the gillette campus of sheridan college, and chose this college because it has the most affordable tuition that i have found. also, i loved the concept of a one year certificate program that gives me the training i need to obtain a career. gillette college has new buildings with state of the art classrooms.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many types of classes are offered at Sheridan College. There are computer application programs, education careers, criminal justice programs, and also online classes in every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sheridan College is a great place to start off your college career. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Make a date and check out the college.

    Bang for the buck

    The education provided is of high quality. The student resources around campus are free and tutors are also provided at no charge. I did not have to pay a fortune for a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small yet placed in a gorgeous spot. I enjoy the view of the mountains. The dorm rooms are kept up and the staff is always friendly. I feel at home here because the people are so welcoming. There are student activities almost every weekend which helped me make new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Classroom sizes are small and manageable. This enables professors to take advantage of one-on-one learning. There are many resources around campus which help when having difficulty in a class. Professors are patient when a student does not understand a concept and are therefore willing to work with the student outside of class. I was able to connect and create a relationship with my professors and also the other students in my classes.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are three wonderful campus police here. one of them lives on the college.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    rodeo and i dont know anymore

    Great for these types of students

    its great for anyone like culinary arts, nursing, dental, management, welding, agriculture, diesel mechanics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is none that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm having a great time here. it just a fun place to be.

    What to do for fun

    you can do intramural sports, movies on thursday, and other stuff to do

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is great on college. but the college cafeteria is ruff.

    Dorm Life

    the ar's are pretty relaxed. everyone gets along in are dorms. its like we are one big family

    Academic Rigor

    it works for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    get a pursonal tour of the college

    In three sentences

    i injoy sheridan college a lot of student activities just a great school general.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    every saturday the school puts on an event that is free for students to attend. they also offer a free movie every thursday, along with intramural sports along with free admission to the sporting events hosted at the school.

    Food and Dining

    the on campus cafe is very convenient for students that have class during cafeteria hours, when you get bored of cafeteria food, or when you have no money. the food itself in the cafeteria could use work, but it gets you by.

    Dorm Life

    i would prefer living on campus than off. having the social aspects of it help people adjust to going to school. it is easier to go to classes when you are in walking distance of classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here are great and usually very good with working with kids.

    Tips for prospective students

    sheridan offers things for students to do on weekends and others days during the week. i like the small campus because everything is closer and you can't get lost, easily.

    In three sentences

    i love the community surroundings of the school. sheridan itself is a beautiful town and a fun place to be. the on campus living sites are very nice and have a feeling of comfort.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour campus security that live on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    SC After Dark is a great club and they put on awesome activities. My favorite is Casino Night.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, activities and a lot of people. SC After Dark does things like dances, Halloween activities like a real life Clue game, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Sheridan could be much better! And that's an understatement.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are desent, a little small but cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    There is much expected from the students but nothing unreasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering Sheridan College you've found the college for you! The facautly is great, they're nice and understanding. You'll most likely never have a problem.

    In three sentences

    Sheridan College is a great start for college and furthering your education. The school is wonderful and the town is beautiful. There are plenty of things to keep you busy and the academics are grand.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its all in one building. Very small.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know what kinds of clubs and activities they have yet.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a great tec program and a great way to get a two year degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is small. All at one location.

    Bang for the buck

    Very well priced per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the park. They have music in the park. Lots of art shows.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the food and dinning.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe they have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Few programs to choose from. It is a very small college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an advisor right away.

    In three sentences

    It has good programs. Great staff. Its easy to get the information you need.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problem with campus safety. I feel safe at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved in National Society of Leadership and Success. There is also basketball teams, and rodeo.

    What to do for fun

    This college has something going every week. Once a month they have free movie night.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten the food there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough and practical.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is if you are not sure about what you want to major in or which school you would like to go to, try a community college first.

    In three sentences

    I really like this college. Staff and the instructors are amazing. It has been a nice transition for me.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria where the food is incorporated into the cost of dorm living. There is also two different little food shops.... on a little restaurant and a coffee bar.

    Dorm Life

    I can only say what I have heard from other students that lived in the dorms. I was in one once it was very clean and didn't feel really crammed.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student, some of my classes where really easy for me. However other i struggled through. The teachers at this two year college understand that this is a two year college, it is a beginning in a step towards a college degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of all your classes, do not fall behind. The teachers will help you if you as student are trying hard but just cannot succeed!!

    In three sentences

    Sheridan College was a great two year college. As a student I feel comfortable, and secure. I feel like I can succeed!!!!!

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police live on campus right near the dorms.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus to engage in.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional and traditional students most students can have a job and go to school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One very unique place on campus is the golden dome which is the colleges sports complex.

    What to do for fun

    Students can go to movies, go to the mountains, go to the nearby lakes, and maybe go bowling at cloudpeak lanes.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is near dorms but the food is a little ordinary. It is better to choose a meal plan with flex dollars to enjoy the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing, with fairly new rooms, and great proximity to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major and how many credit hours you are taken but is just like university classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for housing early to get the building you want. Also be sure to apply for institutional scholarships early so you can get into the first round.

    In three sentences

    This college has a small town atmosphere and located near the mountains. It also has a great value for such a great two year education. Last the college offers a great support system for their students.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am getting it payed for by the school so...

    Food and Dining

    Only ate once at the cafeteria, was good that time.

    Dorm Life

    Would not be able tell you.

    Academic Rigor

    Just taking Intro classes now.

    In three sentences

    I am dual-enrolled at Sheridan college and am taking half of my senior year classes there, everyone is very welcoming and I am able to get help when I need it.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe

    Great for these types of students

    open minded-courtoeus students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    study at the library/listen to music in halls

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your homework a week before the due date

    In three sentences

    knowledgeable professional courteous

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional or students who need an affordable alternative.

    Bang for the buck

    So affordable!

    Food and Dining

    never eaten here.

    In three sentences

    Being able to do my classes online is really convenient for me because I work full time. The cost is amazingly affordable! And I have learned a lot so far.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a great college to go to if you are not looking to spend a whole lot. Most of the credits that you recieve here will transfer to a different school if you are looking for a higher education.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a lot of trips. Just recently I went on a snowboarding trip which was a lot of fun. There are also several sporting events that happen that you can go watch.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is OK, not the best although it's better than eating at McDonald's everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really tiny and you can hear everything that is going on in the next room.

    Academic Rigor

    Sheridan College offers a lot of different areas of study in which there are professionals from each field working to give you a better education. The teachers are willing to help you learn if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from Wyoming, talk to financial aid and try to get on board with the Hathaway Scholarship. This scholarship will help pay for most of the expenses you will get at Sheridan College and it is state wide.

    In three sentences

    Sheridan College is a great college if you aren't wanting to pay a whole lot for a good education. There are several programs at Sheridan College and activities for every type of person. Although it is a community college, it still has a lot to offer with a great staff and learning experience.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym is inside a golden dome.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of close ski resorts. There is also a lake about 30 minutes south.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I don't live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what classes you need and build your schedule yourself. I told my advisor I needed medical terminology and was put into Anatomy & Physiology.

    In three sentences

    I feel completely independent. The mentors don't really help. I feel like things should have been made simpler for incoming students.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its easy to attend a regular class or even get classes online.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports games to attend, after hours movie nights,and campus clubs to join.

    In three sentences

    All the instructors that I have had so far have all been great. They take the time to answer all questions and offer help when needed. The online classes have been a life saver and allowed me to continue my education.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very well lit and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Gillette campus is a very non-traditional campus. But the students that are traditional age students are usually in the diesel technology or other mechanical programs. The other thing that is a positive note about Gillette college is that they do have an awesome skills team, and an awesome rodeo team as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Gillette is the energy capital of the nation and the cost of living is very high.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything to do for fun in Gillette really.

    Food and Dining

    The food is kind of hit and miss, but usually it is yummy, and they have several choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome, and they are like having your own apartment, but there isn't much of a social life, because everything you need is in your suite.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but you learn a lot if you put the time into your studies that the professors expect you to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gillette campus is a great college and has very good academic programs, but there is not that much to do in Gillette and it is definitely not a college town.

    In three sentences

    Good programs. Very helpful staff. Smaller campus.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. Security is patrolling very often.

    Great for these types of students

    Sheridan has great dental hygiene, diesel, and welding programs, in addition to all the other courses offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Sheridan College is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of fun to do in the mountains: camping, hiking, biking, caving, etc. Sheridan has a wide variety of little shops and great dining areas. Sheridan College has several activities throughout the year: intramural sports, college games, movies, game nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food from the cafeteria kind of sucked but the food in the cafes was really good. This coming year should be better because they will have a new and improved cafeteria and food center.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice. If you have the opportunity to get a loft of villa, they are a great option.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with the people in the business office and financial aid. Also, don't be afraid to get out and do things: get involved with a club or organization, participate in campus activities, become an RA etc.

    In three sentences

    Sheridan College has a beautiful and charming little campus. They have a wide variety of majors and courses to take. The staff are friendly and cost of attending is quite affordable.