Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shorter University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who like a smaller Christian environment where the faculty really take an interest in your life.

    Bang for the buck

    Middle of the road really. It is not bad if you live in Georgia.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you don't mind a small campus, it is nice. I prefer a larger student population.

    Will learn a lot

    It depends on what you are studying. If it is Journalism, no it is no different than my high school experience. If it is Musical Theater, well that's a horse of a different color! If you don't mind a very small school environment, their MT program is great. Packed full of great teachers. However, just like at most high schools, they place priority on sports, and definitely NOT Musical Theater as their facilities for Performing Arts, for example, are way below par. They only have one tiny black box theater on campus, in the basement of a really old building!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun at shorter university i like to go laser tagging with my friends. i also like to bowl or play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    the food at shorter is the only down side of the school. the food is not as good as it looks. it also isn't as healthy as i think it should be.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at shorter are a little in poor condition. the dorms are livable but just a little smelly. my resident hall might not be as good as i see in movies but the people i live with make up for it.

    Academic Rigor

    shorter univesity has an rigorous lesson plan. the professors keep us students busy with school work. the work load is some what a lot but it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    a major tip needed for college is time management. what you do on your free time is very important.

    In three sentences

    shorter university is a very small campus, which i really like. i also feel that there are a lot of kind and nice people here at shorter univesity. if i were to rate my school it would defiantly be 8 out of 10.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If there are any problems on campus, those who ensure campus are quick to take action.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of greek life, but they always have events going on, such as big/little week, crush parties, etc...

    Clubs and Activities

    We have sports, music, theater, sororities and fraternities, and ongoing campus fun.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities going on around campus. Whether sports, clubs, and even the occasional concert and play there is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is like any school: sometimes you will enjoy what they are serving, and sometimes you won't. They do, however, always have a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the biggest or the nicest, but I found that if you are truly involved in a sport, club, or any extra curricular activity, you will not be spending much time in your dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    The Shorter professors will challenge you, but they are never too busy to help you better understand the areas with which you might be struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a school where God is put first, then this is the school for you. You will definitely see yourself grow in faith while fellowshipping with other Christians.

    In three sentences

    Shorter Unicersity provides a superb Christian atmosphere which I absolutely love. It is also the perfect size; not too big to where you would get lost, and not too small to where you are constantly meeting new people. At Shorter I feel like I am being challenged both academically and spiritually which will make me a stronger student as well as a stronger Christian.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing and like to be involved

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like being involved and a small city life you'll love it here. There is a lot of churches and young people programs that are around that many people go to.

    Bang for the buck

    Shorter has many academic scholarships that are available to incoming freshmen. You can also do work study in many different departments this is helpful with paying because tuition is expensive without aid.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed the how close I became with all the students at Shorter. It's a pretty small school so your around the same all the time. I also played a sport which really helped with getting to know people. Everyone at Shorter that enjoys it is involved in the school someway somehow. If you go here and aren't involved you probably won't enjoy it.

    Did learn a lot

    I wasn't really ready to go to a huge school just yet that being said if you like small class size and really knowing your professors then you'll really like it here. My major was biology so the classes were pretty hard but being able to ask my professors anything really helped my learning experience.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at this university. The police are always visible. I give it a 5 star rating

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    This university has acdemic and beta clubs. I give it a 4 star rating

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who a serious about getting a great education and their religion is very important to them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't live on campus so I don't know

    Bang for the buck

    This university allows adults who want to go back to school but have to work doing the afternoon to take classes at night at campus or online. I give it a 5 star rating

    What to do for fun

    This university has a lot of things to do for fun like; football, basketball, and baseball games. This university have a club like academic team.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school so I don't know how the food or dining is. I give it a 4 star rating

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I don't know how dorm life is. I give it a 4 star rating

    Academic Rigor

    This university has a great reputation for getting the most out of it students academically. I give it a 5 star rating

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students who attend this university are to get to know you advisor, to ask for help from your professor when you need help, and keep looking for ways to earned free money.

    In three sentences

    I think Shorter University is a great college for any student who wants to get a high level degree. This university i believe have prepare me for the career i am going to work in. I highly recommend anybody looking for a good college to attend; to look at shorter university.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent clery report! security always available.

    Great for these types of students

    focused, dilligent, students who appreciate a quiet atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    private school so, it is kinda pricey.

    What to do for fun

    small mall, school games and activities. study, study, study! lol

    Food and Dining

    not much to chose from.

    Dorm Life

    could use some updating.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are much harder than others. plan on learning a lot though. i enjoy the classes that have student involvement more than i do the one or two lecture classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.)plan to study alot! 2.)don't plan on any major trips unless you have friends that take really good notes and are willing to share them. 3.) manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    it's a good school with very smart, concerned, and personable professors. for example, one of our professors invited the entire class over for a meal. who does that? i don't think anyone will ever forget it!

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many things to do!! playing outside in the front circle. going to the library, relaxing on the grass, sitting in fsu.

    Tips for prospective students

    be friends with people you know are your friends and wont distract you when they know you have to study. dont procrastinate that will cost you a handful. and be yourself dont try to change so you can impress others, you are unique for who you and that is what will attract others to you.

    In three sentences

    shorter university is a very nice school. the people in it (most of them) are friendly and are always smiling. the school overall is a fun place to be, there are many things to do.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated campus

    Greek Life

    Phi Mu Alpha, ZTA, Epsilon Sigma, Mu Phi Epsilon

    Clubs and Activities

    Chorus's, chorale, theatre, BCM, SGA

    Great for these types of students

    Any type really except perhaps the most worldly of people. there are policies in place that more liberally inded people would have problems agreeing with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Martha's Cellar is a hangout located under one of the girls dorms. Parties and events are scheduled there year round by our campus fraternities and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education, perhaps a bit expensive but it is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley and a couple of movie theatres around town as well as a variety of good stores to visit. There is also a popular frozen yogurt place called Jandy's close by!

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food could be improved but the food available in certainly palatable

    Dorm Life

    Leaves something to be desired in the quality of the dorms themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    The quality of education is certainly not lacking at this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research on your classes and meet with your academic advisor before solidifying your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Shorter is a great school for a Christian concerned with the content of their education. It has an accessible faculty and small class sizes. The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate!

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports and instrumental sports are great for exercise and fun. Shorter hosts multiple event for students which are free to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay at times but gets old after a couple of weeks.

    Dorm Life

    RAs at shorter are good people who will help in anyway. Some dorms needs improves but dorms are okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Science majors especially have a difficult curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shorter is a baptist private school and has a low student population. The students are friendly. The athletics at shorter are phenomenal and always entertaining.

    In three sentences

    Shorter has a low teacher to student ratio which is great for building relationships with teachers. The students at Shorter are friendly and the campus has a great atmosphere in general. Shorter's faculty definitely makes Shorter a great school.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very amazing because you don't have to worry about anything they will be there 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play soccer for Shorter University and I have lots of fun playing and being with my teammates.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out with my friends and teammates when I am not busy with school stuff because school comes first.

    Food and Dining

    The food and the dinning at Shorter is very good. it will full you up. If you get a unlimited meal plan you could come to the caf when ever want.

    Dorm Life

    Staying in a dorm is so much fun. You get to live in campus and don't have to worry about driving.

    Tips for prospective students

    You always want to interact with other people and join clubs to get involve with the school and students. Play a sport that will motivate you to do great with your grades to keep on playing on the team. Never miss a class because if you do miss class you will miss a lot what happen in the last class.

    In three sentences

    Shorter University is a very nice institution. I love the atmosphere here and love staying in campus. Shorter has great teachers that could teach very well.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can call campus security anytime, they work around the clock. Whether you left your keys inside your room and need them to let you into your dorm or having them escort you to your destination if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    3 sororities with one as Shorter's traditional local: Phi Mu, Zeta Tau Alpha, and Epsilon Sigma. 1 fraternity with consideration of establishing two more: Delta Sigma Phi

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government, FAB, Baptist Collegiate Ministry

    Great for these types of students

    Christian background, looking for small school with small size classes, peaceful environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Celebrate Shorter Day. No school on this day, just recognitions of honor roll students and outstanding students whom have made great accomplishments while at Shorter.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school means costly books.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events conducted by the Fitton Student Center. There's also lots of organizations to join. You can go off campus to to dine or go downtown Rome.

    Food and Dining

    Like most schools, the dining hall will have its great days and its not-so-good days with food.

    Dorm Life

    Residence assistants are friendly and hold hall programs monthly to connect housing residents and make the living experience a fun one.

    Academic Rigor

    Since Shorter is a private institution, it makes sure its students get the most out of their educational experiences. Academics are made sure to challenge the students in preparation for graduate school. There is also senior seminar for all seniors in every major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to have your housing secured. If you have any questions about schoolwork or just want to talk, professors are always in their offices.

    In three sentences

    Shorter is open to everyone. It is a Christian-based institution. The school is a great place to make life-time friends and the faculty are very caring.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards on post.

    Great for these types of students

    The Riverdale campus caters to working adults as well as people who have been out of school for a long time.

    What to do for fun

    They do have newsletters informing students about upcoming events.

    Food and Dining

    The break room is small; however, their are restaurants in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with an advisor to see what credits will transfer. Also, make sure your credits will go towards your program of studies.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very knowledgeable. The school enforcing APA writing style. Also, you will know what courses to take because you have a schedule to follow.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a Farley safe campus and the head of security is a very nice woman. Too bad she quit.

    Greek Life

    There are few selections and most of their time is spent gossiping about the other fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only clubs that receive any attention are Christian clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Baptist, conservative, naive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shorter has the oldest indoor pool in the world. It's usually too hot to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay an arm and a leg for a poorer education than you would receive at a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is very tame and any Student Life activities are usually boring or cancelled at the last minute. Nothing is well prepared.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't terrible but there is little to no variation. Most food is unhealthy and anyone on a vegetarian diet is forced to eat salad every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are run down and filled with mold. They promise more rooms than are available and many people are left with no where to live. Maintenance issues are ignored.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Shorter are so easy it's laughable. You will leae each semester feeling like you learned nothing and graduate feeling unprepared for life and your intended career.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not baptist and extremely conservative, don't go here. I am a very open-minded liberal agnostic and I was treated like a second class citizen.

    In three sentences

    Shorter university bates students with false promises of attention and respect. The school promotes intolerance and ignorance and discourages freedom and creativity. Their recent stance against homosexuality has divided the school and caused stress ad pain for most students.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a gated school. The campus safety officers are always patrolling around. They are friendly and are there if you need anything.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is always something going on: a sporting event, a fundraiser, games in the courtyards. Rome is a good place to live too. Lots of restuarants and events hosted in town.

    Food and Dining

    Good variety and all freshly cooked.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms. Not far from the classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will require you to work, and if you do, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard and take advantage of the office hours and student services offered, you will pass. Everything will fall into place from there.

    In three sentences

    Shorter University offers a great community feel and a strong dedication to education. Each professor is here specifically to help and answer any questions you have, whether in class or one-on-one. There hasn't been a time when a problem emerged that someone wasn't right there, helping to solve it.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is top of the line, there are always someone patrolling the school.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities, but not many.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs to join. The activities, you have to know when they are schedule to attend them.

    Great for these types of students

    I say the school is great for strong baptist students.

    Bang for the buck

    It's somewhat expensive to attend here but your getting good education for what your paying for to attend this baptist school.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do really but to meet new people on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, there are many choices to choose from. There is a meal for anyway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a hit and miss, you have to apply really early to get the nicest dorm on campus. The worst case scenario, you get a dorm full of freshman and shared bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics work is very flexible, there is always time to finish work, even if you play a sport.

    Tips for prospective students

    Earn high grades and visit the campus. If you play a sport, then I say talk to the school coaches to play for the school.

    In three sentences

    Shorter University is a great school that offers great programs and have awesome teachers, but the students are like your second family. Shorter university is like a second home.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join BCM, join intramural, or find a Bible study. There is much to do around Rome, such as hiking at Berry College or hanging out at a restaurant or bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    The food is rather good, but there does not seem to be a lot of healthy alternatives.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how heavy your schedule is, academic rigor is rather average. Teachers understand if you can not get an assignment in on time or if you can not make it to a class (if you have a valid excuse, of course.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Come during the week so you can get a feel of what a typical day is like. Talk to people and do not hold back questions; people will answer your questions honestly. Ask how you can get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Shorter University has a family atmosphere where people feel connected even if they do not know certain people. There are many group activities available as well as Bible studies and campus jobs. Faculty members are understanding and remember who you are.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my family

    Food and Dining

    Very tasty

    Dorm Life

    I don't know because I live home

    Academic Rigor

    They grade very fairly.

    Tips for prospective students

    They need to be more active with each other

    In three sentences

    It is a very clean school. It has very friendly people there. It also has very good teachers.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the idea of possibly attending Shorter. They have many sports and even offer athletic scholarships.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There arent any

    What to do for fun

    if you play a sport or get active in the school then you will have fun and make the most of your time you will spend at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay but its not like the most amazing thing in the world. Basically its like easting at a cheap restaurant

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and really needed to be updated. They are small. but you will get used once you make the best of it.

    Academic Rigor

    since the classes are small you will be able to ask the teacher questions and get more one-on-one secessions which will make the class work much easier. There are known for there academics so they will load you with a lot of work

    In three sentences

    Its a small private school where everyone knows you. Its an old school with the oldest indoor pool. You will have the feeling of right once you walk around.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shorter University is located in Rome, GA where there are lots of cultural and fun opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    I am a non-tradition online student so this isn't applicable to me.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional online student so this isn't applicable to me.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is rigorous, but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being organized is one of the best tips for any situation.

    In three sentences

    Shorter University has an online program which will allow me to finish my education.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Shorter is a incredible school. They are very prestigous and a great college!

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shorter offers a multitude of free opportunities. All games and theater functions are free, and there are free movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    They selection is not usually satisfactory, nor is the quality. I do appreciate that it is all you care to eat, but not the looks you get from the staff when you take advantage of that. The price is reasonable for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter I don't know much about housing. I do know that girls get a much better set up then guys.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes in the sciences are tough, but they inspire knowledge and learning how to learn. As an AP student; I've found other disciplines are not too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Science classes are quite the challenge, but fun. I suggest that students use the tutorial center (a free service) at least once. Also, take advantage of teacher's open door policy; it shows that you care and they can offer deeper insight into things you don't quite understand.

    In three sentences

    The best thing about Shorter is their community. The teachers and students are all very helpful and respectful. College is a place to make lasting relationships, and Shorter makes that a possibility.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They accept you for the person you are.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join and be apart of Shorter life.

    Great for these types of students

    Believers of God and people who want to learn more about Him.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shorter Blue Christmas is a gathering to sing Christmas songs, hear a scripture, spend time with your friends, and to enjoy hot chocolate.

    Bang for the buck

    I love that the class size is small.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. May it be games in the front circle, FAB sponsored events, or even a fun evening in the game room.

    Food and Dining

    Over the past three years Shorter has taken what students don't like and made changes.

    Dorm Life

    The new girls dorm is great! The elevator is an added plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with the school. Shorter is small and making connections is valuable.

    In three sentences

    Tight community. Small classes and one on one professor time. Great tutoring opportunities.