Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Siena College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Siena is great for students who do not like to be in large classes and especially for students planning to go into business and science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely plan a trip to visit before attending and the winters do get very cold, so a very warm coat and boats will be necessary!

    Bang for the buck

    Siena is a bit expensive, due to it being a private school with a very small amount of students, but I feel it's worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very nice and there is always something to do! They have activities scheduled every week and there are lots of clubs that you can join.

    Am learning a lot

    I love learning in classes where there are 20 to 30 students in each class, opposed to being a lecture hall that seems overwhelming.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students interested in a small tight knit school. If you want a home away from home, Siena is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can apply early, don't hesitate. I did the early action application and was the accepted in November of my senior year.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students at Siena receive some type of financial aid. It is definitely not a cheap school, but for the education you are getting, it is worth it. Siena makes paying for college on my own possible through scholarships and financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Siena is a beautiful campus. It's small; making the walk from one building to another across campus under ten minutes. The students are all trying to get the college experience. Mostly everyone puts academics first, but we work hard to play hard. Plus being in Albany, allows us to have a nightlife. But there is also a lot to do on campus if you prefer not to leave.

    Am learning a lot

    My teachers are all focused on helping to do anything to get you to succeed. If you put in the effort, you get so much back. I've found that my teachers have so much knowledge and such a passion to pass it on to their students. The class sizes are similar to high school, with each class typically having under 30 students.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students that are looking for a small college. Siena offers a variety of different majors, which creates a diverse atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming freshmen should attend the club fairs at the beginning of the year and get involved. There are many opportunities to get involved on campus and it is important to take advantage of them.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive and the merit scholarships don't provide a lot of money, at least not compared to some of the other schools I applied to. However, Siena's quality of education is worth the money. You gain a wealth of knowledge that can help you later in life.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful. The students are all friendly and welcoming.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and many of my classes are discussion oriented, which provides you with the opportunity to examine topics from different perspectives. There are no large lectures.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for people that like a close community, they like to be in a small class with people, they like to be noticed by professors when they do hard work. It is a great school, a lot of events going on on the actual campus, as well has many off campus events planned (usually at least once a week, on the weekends).

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, visit the college, talk to people that go there, meet with the admissions office, get yourself known on the campus. You want to make sure you like the campus, and the environment. If you can, do an over night/ shadow someone, so you get the college feel.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities to get money from the school. On the website you can see the different types of Endowments, and getting your financial aid in sooner is better, the sooner you get it in the more chances of getting more money. A very large percentage of students here get financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here is nice, and it is really easy to make friends. Your classes are small, so you make friendships with people in your classes. I like how the campus is small enough where you can get to your class in five minutes of leaving a building.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small, my largest class is 35 students or so. Since the classes are so small, the professor knows your name very quickly. The professors are required to have 5 hours of office hours a week, so they are very accessible and you can always email them with questions.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well, Siena has a great biology department so biology students would have a great time. Also, because it is a liberal arts school, undecided majors may have a great time here. Students at Siena are friendly, welcoming, and determined.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may think college is like high school all over again, but that is not true. Be prepared to work hard to get good grades and be ready to do homework that may take hours.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, being a private school, Siena can get expensive. However, the school offers lots of scholarships and financial aid to help the students go to Siena without worrying about an expensive cost. Siena staff are always willing to work with you to help you with more aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is an extremely welcoming and friendly environment. People are always holding doors for one another and smiling at everyone. The kind atmosphere makes it a great place to be. There are tons of clubs and activities to join which enables students to make friends easier and to have lots of fun. There is always something to do and people around to help you with anything you may need.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are about the same size as in my high school, about 30 people per class. Science laboratory classes are even smaller which allows for more hands-on work and more time in classes with the professors. All of the teachers have office hours so that you can get any extra help you need and they have flexible schedules so that you can come in when you are free.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sadly, partiers. The school really does party a lot. If you intended on doing performing arts, Siena's not for you. Foy Hall, the performing arts building, is in the worst condition of anything on campus, but the science buildings- WOAH. Roger Bacon and Morell are the science buildings. Science majors have twenty four hour access to these buildings and trust me, you'll appreciate it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors here are helpful, but not intrusive. If you need help ask. It's really worth it. You'll find, if you talk to them outside of class, a lot of the professors are very funny, friendly, and will continue to be a network for you after you finish their class.

    Bang for the buck

    It can't be denied, Siena's expensive, but you do get a good education and you do meet some very wonderful professors. My advice, if you can get a scholarship for some portion of the tuition, Siena's worth it. If you're paying full-price, I don't know if I'd advise you to enroll. There are a lot of really cool on campus programs like early primer movies and casino nights- and Sienafest! If you don't know what Sienafest is, look online for pictures. Live concert (this year Jay Sean), parties, and a carnival all in one weekend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm not saying that you won't enjoy the school, but it's a very specific atmosphere. On weekends there are a LOT of parties, and it can get pretty hectic. As a freshman you don't get to have your car on campus, and since I'm not into partying it took a lot away from my freshman year. When I could get off campus it was great. Being so close to Albany provides you with a lot of great opportunities. There are poetry readings and live performances going on in the area all the time. This also wouldn't be complete without me mentioning Frank's. Frank's is a greasy little restaurant walking distance from the college. Not many of the students know about it, but I've met some of my favorite people there.

    Am learning a lot

    If I had to give you one reason why Siena is a good school, this would be it. The variety of available classes is amazing for such a small school. Last semester I took Eastern European Literature and it was wonderful. There are classes like Literature of the fantastic and modern dance. The teachers are very knowledgeable about their subjects and are usually very helpful and receptive to you individual needs (As long as you get to know them).

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    siena is located in the safest city in the nation, and there are always public safety officers on duty.

    Greek Life

    there are no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everyone!

    What to do for fun

    there are a ton of on campus activities, clubs, organizations, and buses to a local mall and shopping center.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good, but gets repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms aren't the best or the worst.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes can be tough, especially the sciences, but professors are easy to talk to

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your high school grades up, and siena gives great scholarships.

    In three sentences

    siena is great! there are a ton of on campus activities and the whole campus has a nice community feeling. professors are always willing to help as well.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is everywhere, but not overwhelming. They are there if you need help, but not overly intrusive. There is a great balance. They'll give you a ride to the other side of campus in the rain...great people and extremely helpful.

    Greek Life

    There is a business fraternity on campus, but it is for networking. Siena doesn't have greek life, but you don't really need it. There is such a close community that the entire school feels like one frat/sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about anything. Many people say Siena is lacking music but the music program is coming back...the Siena College Chorus just completed its first successful year, and there is an audition-based a cappella choir that will be starting next year. If Siena is missing a certain club, you can also start it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get the most out of their college experience...both academic and socially!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Blessing of the Brains before finals each semester- the friars have a short ceremony and bless each student individually for wisdom and right judgement. It's a great confidence booster! Afterwards there is a huge (and free) breakfast to fuel up for a long night of studying!

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome financial aid for those who deserve/need it. Tuition has also been reduced already for each student because of alumni donations.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus everyday! There is transportation off campus on Fridays and Saturdays too. There is something for everybody.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls on campus, one on each side. There are always different options, there are only issues if you're a picky eater. There is a wrap shop and a sub shop on campus, however, so chances are you will find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not nearly as bad as people say. Most people are respectful, and the RAs and RDs maintain order in the buildings well.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the professor and your major, but overall, Siena is very fair. Most professors expect you to try and progress in their courses- that is more important that getting an A on every assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Being well-rounded is more important than a perfect GPA 2. Don't worry about being undeclared- it doesn't matter the first two years anyway 3. Get to know the campus culture before picking a school 4. Go with your gut- money and status aren't everything. Go where you are going to be happy!

    In three sentences

    Siena is an amazing school! Everyone is very welcoming, most of the professors are clear and knowledgeable about their subject, and there are many things to do on and off campus. Awesome school for anyone who both works and plays hard.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes small schools

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit it and see what you like.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little expensivee, but I'm sure I'll love it

    Will enjoy being here

    I'v stayed overnight and it's sick

    Will learn a lot

    I'm sure i will learn because of the environment.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I worried a lot about being able to pay for college, but even after being accepted late (due to wait list), I still received a generous amount financial aid which means that Siena College is willing to work with you.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope I enjoy attending school here, with such helpful staff, the entire process becomes incredibly easier.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to learn a lot, and with Siena's small classes, it is a lot easier to maintain focus on school.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend club fairs and other events

    Food and Dining

    better than average

    Dorm Life

    i commuter

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved!

    In three sentences

    lots of opportunities

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't really rate it, but there is a lot of campus security that drives around and the campus does feature the blue light phones that you can call for help and these are conveniently located around campus. A tip though, never walk alone at night... yes there is lots of security but some parts of campus do get very dark and it is not recommended to wander alone at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to hang out with friends and have a good time. It is definitely a fun time college for students that live on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The accounting lab. If you are an accounting student, you will live here. It is awesome and really nice to have computers reserved only for your major. You will most likely end up bumping into your classmates while you are there, especially around midterms and finals.

    Bang for the buck

    It really is well known excellent reputation school and for that, it is worth paying. It will look really good on a resume saying you graduated from Siena. Are all the professors as good as they should be? No, which is why I took a star away. I have had a few disappointments; the students shouldn't have to correct the professor and show her how to teach. But other than the select few, the professors are very kind and caring and they want to see you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities at Siena. They are also crazy about their sports so there are always games going on that you can attend to cheer on the Saints!

    Food and Dining

    I only ate there once for an overnight visit and I thought it was pretty good; lots of options. Can't really give a fair rating though because that was a one time deal.

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely a challenging school. I breezed through high school and Hudson Valley and this is a wake up call. You actually have to do all of the work and spend time doing it. Tests? I wouldn't save the studying all for the night/morning before because it is so much harder to do that here. Prepare yourself, it's not impossible but you have to want it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to make your own schedule and really take the time to perfect it. It sounds silly now, but taking the hour or two to make your schedule is much better than having a terrible schedule and regretting it. Talk to people! Try and make a few friends in each class because that way if you need help or just want to have a study buddy you will! And group work is much better when you know who your partners are. And lastly, don't stress too much, because it's really not worth it. Stressing too much is the same as not stressing enough. It won't make you perform better, it will only hinder you and cause many many headaches.

    In three sentences

    Siena is a great school if you plan on living there. Everyone that lives there absolutely loves it and I have yet to hear negativity from them. For commuters on the other hand, it's just a little harder to fit in, but it is definitely possible, it just takes a little more effort =] The hardest part about being a commuter is trying to balance school with work, which makes it difficult to always be on campus for the activities and clubs that they offer.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always on campus. They are the only thing that is open 24/7 on campus. They are super nice and always available to help with whatever you need.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Siena.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at Siena, its insane! There is a club for everything, and if there isn't one that appeals to you, you can start one!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Sienafest every year. We also have Friars that live on campus and can be seen walking around.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to Siena is definitely a good investment. There are so many programs that help with post-graduate, such as programs with Albany Med and Albany Law.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Siena. From Bingo Night to Karaoke, to scavenger hunts, to picnics. The Student Senate and the Events Board definitely know how to put on a good time, and there is never a boring day at Siena.

    Food and Dining

    College food is not gourmet 5-star dining. The food in the dining hall is decent most of the time, and it has something for everyone. There are a lot of vegetarian and vegan options, as well as gluten free options. There is also a sub shop, pizza shop, and a sandwich bar on campus.

    Dorm Life

    To be completely honest, the dorms are not the greatest in the world. But on the other hand, it is college, its not a hotel. The dorms are pretty nice for the most part, and all of the dorms have a huge sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework at Siena is extremely rigorous. It definitely is not a blow-off, slacker, type of place. Siena is serious about its academic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit Siena for the best way to see if you fit in and like it there. Siena has a gorgeous campus and you get to see the majority of student life on a tour. Make sure to ask lots of questions, your tour guides will be more than willing to show you specific things.

    In three sentences

    Siena is literally one of the happiest places on earth. Everyone knows everyone, the professors are friendly and amazing, and there is always a ton of things to do. Siena is a small school, but with a big school feel.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I appreciate the level of security on this campus. It is well lit and well-monitored by camera and staff. You feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    My schedule does not allow me the opportunity to explore any extra-curricular offerings, but there are certainly many.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and well-to-do.

    Bang for the buck

    While I find Siena to be quite expensive, there are many opportunities to curb the cost making it a phenomenal education. For those living or moving to the area, the many Siena alumni make for easy transitioning into the workforce.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located minutes from the capitol which offers a wide variety of activities which will certainly appeal to any individual.

    Food and Dining

    As a single parent who commutes, I usually bring lunch or only eat light while at the campus. There are multiple offerings and many local establishments nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but from what I have seen, would recommend students to live on-campus if possible.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the academic offeing is unmatched. It is vital to be afforded the opportunity to know your professors and this is easy at Siena. I have already found a bit of a struggle scheduling, but in all fairness, I have tried to keep a three day full-time schedule fitting around family and work.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a non-traditional student, it is a little strange to attend daytime with almost all traditional students. This is definitely a sport-heavy college. Great location as it is close to everything. I urge traditional students to live on campus to enjoy the whole college experience!

    In three sentences

    Siena is a small private college that offers students the ability to know professors and be known by them. Students are not herded into conference rooms of dozens or hundreds of students resulting in a mass produced education. The campus is easy to maneuver and offers all the amenities.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs to choose from. there is something for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    blessing of the brains happens before finals week when the student body gathers together and the friars bless each person before the upcoming week and then after there is a breakfast buffet.

    What to do for fun

    There are always school activities going on during the weekend and throughout the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be willing to meet new people and try new things within the school. Be outgoing.

    In three sentences

    Siena College has such a welcoming community for all students. Teachers value students and are truly there to help them in their future.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is really friendly and polite. They do what they need to do to make sure students are safe. Campus is fairly well lit at night.

    Greek Life

    I am not away of any on campus but there could be.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know where to begin there are so many options..

    Great for these types of students

    Great for dedicated students who are willing to put in the effort to do well. Teachers are extremely helpful. Great for students who want small size classes and going into the business and science fields.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The feast day of St. Francis is celebrated with fireworks and various activities to honor the saints.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it's a private school it is a little costly, but it's worth it. The education is well worth it and the faculty makes sure you are well prepared for whatever you decide to go on to do.

    What to do for fun

    Campus programs has bingo nights where you could win an ipad or tv or xbox, you name it, ree movies just out of theaters every weekend, comedians and hypnotists, and sporting events. Free shuttles are offered every weekend to the mall and Walmart. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls for meals and two little sandwich places for alternatives. Plenty of options and food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    There are always lots of activities going on and the dorm life is comfortable. There aren't many roommate issues and living in the dorms is a great way to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small so there is no need to worry about struggling in any of your classes because the teachers are easily approachable. Some classes might be challenging but there are plenty of resources for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs and sports because there is bound to be something you enjoy. Make sure you visit the school to get a feel for what it's going to be like and don't be afraid to ask random students any questions you might have because they will give you the inside scoop.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and aesthetically pleasing. The class size is small and the teachers and friars are there to help in any way I can. The liberal arts Franciscan foundation really prepares you for life in the real world without forcing religion on you.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really safe here. The Colonie police station is across the street, which is good because it makes campus feel safer. Also, if you ever feel like you are hurt or feel like you are in danger there are blue lights (emergency buttons) all throughout campus. And if you are ever studying late and do not feel safe walking back to your car or dorm room, just call public safety and they will gladly walk back with you. :)

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club here for anyone! From sports, to video games, to theater, student council, cultural based, and religious based clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want to be seen as people and not as a number. There are no real lecture halls on campus. The max number of students per class is 35, and that's for the really popular classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We hold the door open, loll.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so yeah... But you really do learn things here, that you would not learn in any other school. For example, how to be Franciscan.

    What to do for fun

    There's the mall...

    Food and Dining

    It's not the worst, nor the best. Some days are better than others. Also, it's buffet style, so you just swipe once and it's all you can eat. They try to cater to everyone's taste, including vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty cool. The RA's are there to help you, but they are not afraid to write you up.

    Academic Rigor

    Hey, it's school, you come to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Find the place where you feel most comfortable and hit the books! :)

    In three sentences

    Siena is a great school. The professors really care about their students. And everyone holds the door open for others.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is boring, bland and repetitive

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms are not very nice but as you progress in years they become nicer

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range from being very easy to insanely difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look up your teachers and classes and know what you are getting yourself into

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Such a safe town, and safe campus. Colonie is considered one of the safest towns in America.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of opportunities. If there isn't a club for you, start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Party hard, study hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halloween is a fun holiday where students decorate their dorms, and neighborhood kids from all around the Capital Region come trick-or-treating. The best hall wins!

    Bang for the buck

    Siena has a great education for a great price. Cheaper than most other private schools, and they're great with aid!

    What to do for fun

    Albany is filled with great things to do, and there are awesome clubs and activities on campus. A lot of students choose the drinking route, but it's easily avoidable if that isn't your scene.

    Food and Dining

    I get sick of the same old food, but they have a wonderful program where you can have your relatives send in awesome recipes that they make at home. The kitchen will try to replicate it for the entire campus!

    Dorm Life

    The community is wonderful, and the people you meet are amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great if you choose to use their resources. If you don't, you're likely not to get as much out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet the students and staff, they will make your visit. They always answer questions quickly and efficiently. If someone can't answer your questions, they will find someone who can!

    In three sentences

    Siena is a wonderful college full of happy, friendly students and staff. The education is amazing, and being a Siena alumni is gold in getting jobs around the area. Overall, beautiful campus with awesome students and staff.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely realiable! There phones located all over campus if any danger comes your way and they will be there within seconds

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a close well knit community, where anyone will be accepted and welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There will never be a dorm someone in front of you will not open. The condos available to Seniors are also something to look forward to!

    Bang for the buck

    Jobs are easily accessible on campus!

    What to do for fun

    There are buses that take students directly into the inner city of Albany! Every weekend there will be exciting trips like to six flags for example. Mostlikely you will be doing work on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is the key to being successful here. Also do not get too caught up on outside activities! Work comes first.

    In three sentences

    Siena is an opening community that starts to feel like a second home. The people that attend Siena are always kind, polite and caring; you are always greeted with a smile.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Keeps campus safe, but sometimes at the expense of the fun of college can be completely overbearing and unnecessary.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and other opportunities to get involved with

    Great for these types of students

    Average people not looking for a culture shock. Pretty undiverse campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BINGO on some nights to win things such as iPads, Flat Screen TV's, ect.

    Bang for the buck

    My tuition has increased since I came in, but they are usually pretty good with financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with other kids from your hall or dorm, intermurals, townhouses on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    SAGA Serra Hall is either really good or you have to stick to what the students refer to as the staple foods, pizza, deli sandwiches, pasta. New Hall has better food.

    Dorm Life

    Safe environments, RA's run programs for meeting people and socializing, very social campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors as a majority, most have the highest degree in their field!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, the sooner you apply the less likely you will be stuck in a triple!

    In three sentences

    A very good business school with some awesome connections with Alumni and companies. Not a huge party school, even though most kids to go out. Very comfortable and safe campus.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety are always around, and easy to get in contact with. They send us emails when there are issues concerning our safety.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Siena.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are really easy to get involved in; they practically beg for people to come to their meetings just to try it out! There are a variety of clubs, so that everyone can find one to be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, but know how to have fun; sociable; studious; independent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Siena Fest, Winter Weekend, Hump Week, Charity Week, and Siblings Weekend are some of the traditional events that happen every year at Siena.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay quite a bit for Siena, but I feel as though I am getting a good education for the price I pay. At times I feel as though I am not getting enough rigor in academics.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs on campus that you can either get involved in or go to their events. The Student Events Board usually does activities for students from Thursday-Sunday. Students can go to sporting events on campus and the men's basketball games at the Time Union Center. Of course, some students can party if that's what they're into. Siena also offers transportation to the nearby shopping center and mall. Students also go into the Albany area where there are plenty of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food can vary in the dining halls from being good to just being alright. The food could have a bit more variety for those who are pickier eaters, like myself. The desserts are always delicious, though. One of the dining halls does a sustainable lunch program on Wednesdays which offers more options. There is also lunch-to-go which is great if you are hungry but don't have time to go to the dining hall for lunch. The on-campus food places that are not involved with the meal plan swipes, but with the bonus dollars are very good. Those places offer a decent variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    The main dorm areas are kept clean and are well maintained. The resident hall staff are so nice and helpful, which makes living in the dorm a lot easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Siena's work load is tough, but definitely doable if you are smart with time management. If you are a biology major, you will never not have work to do. As for the other majors, I think that it could be a little more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack your senior year because transitioning into the work load of Siena can be really tough.

    In three sentences

    Siena is a great college. I definitely feel like Siena makes college a very personal experience. Siena cares about their students.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is so strict but at the same time you feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    What to do for fun

    There are movies played every week. There is karaoke and bingo once a month. On the weekends there is always something to do at the townhouses.

    Food and Dining

    The food grows on you.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Small school so there is a lot of attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academic wise Siena College is a perfect fit for someone who is looking for small classes and a lot of attention. You grow a strong bond with all students due to its small size. Night life wise is very strict but there are ways around it.

    In three sentences

    Academic wise Siena College is a perfect fit for someone who is looking for small classes and a lot of attention. You grow a strong bond with all students due to its small size. Night life wise is very strict.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    10 out of 10

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet and ready to learn. Able to enjoy a good time as well

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Siena is a Franciscan community

    Bang for the buck

    Siena College is very expensive and is definitely worth the money

    What to do for fun

    Many on campus events as well as sports

    Food and Dining

    7 out of 10

    Dorm Life

    9 out of 10

    Academic Rigor

    9 out of 10

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard junior and senior year grades are everything and will provide you with scholarship!

    In three sentences

    Siena College is an excellent school to attend for its business and biology programs. Siena also offers a great honors program. Rated at 9 out of 10.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The MAC has alot of things to do with a huge basketball court. They have a gym, and also a pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is alright, its not a meal in a box type dinner. they cook things like steak and actually dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, living on campus is the best way to meet people. As a frshman the dorms are in ok shape. They feel a little small, but as you are there longer you get to choose town houses which are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict when it comes to drinking and smoking. Siena is a smoking free campus which went in effect 2 years ago. Siena cares for the academics and works hard to keep it that way.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is worth going to because you learn alot of what your major is intended for. Only in the first 2 years do you take a decent amount of electives. They work on your highs and lows within the degree to help better you for when you leave.

    In three sentences

    Siena is a decent size college with a beautiful campus. The students are very nice,except if your a commuter then you will have to try to make alot of friends. Teachers are nice for the most part and care for the students.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    activities on campus

    Dorm Life

    Beware of roommates. mine was an absolute crazy person and absolutely terrified of having a boy in the room, even for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of professor's office hours! They want to help!

    In three sentences

    Pub safety does a real good job of being up everybody's asses so if you want to do bad things beware of them, because they're all over campus. Other than that, we have really great food and a great community and I absolutely love going here.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had problems with campus safety. They can be pretty strict about parking though, so make sure you get the appropriate passes from their office.

    Great for these types of students

    Siena is a liberal arts school, so you should appreciate a broad based education. At least half of your coursework will be in a broad range of traditional liberal arts and sciences areas. You'll get to specialize a fair amount but there are better places for an education mostly focused on application. The good news is a liberal arts education will help improve your writing and thinking skills. You'll learn to analyze a wide array of topics. This will help improve the way you think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a friar crossing sign in one of the crosswalks. The older students can also go to the froth and friars events to have a beer and socialize with each other.

    Bang for the buck

    It's fairly cheap for a private school with a good reputation. I received a fairly large merit scholarship for my unusual transfer situation. I believe you can get around $15,000 in scholarships per year if you graduate from a community college and are a member of Phi Theta Kappa.

    What to do for fun

    There's a pool table in the commuter lounge. Siena also has a free shuttle bus to the local shopping areas and I believe you get a free bus pass to ride CDTA. It sounds like they have some parties at the townhouses. Albany is also a short drive away. People tend to go to places on Pearl Street. I'd make the trip up to Saratoga since it's a classier area.

    Food and Dining

    I've found the food to be good at a fair price. The main cafeteria has been the best deal for me. I usually get the pizza. I also order quesadillas a lot at the student union. Those tend to contain a lot of fillings for the money but are often a bit burnt. The refrigerated sandwiches are generally over priced and not very good. Another good place to eat if your on campus is the dining area in the student union basement. I think it's only open after 4 p.m., though. Sometimes I'd take a break from campus by making a short drive to Subway, Burger King, or Hot Harry's. They're surprisingly professional at these locations and the food costs as much or a little less than on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes are fairly mixed. A few had grades mostly based on multiple choice tests. Even those classes tend to have a large writing assignment required, though. The most challenging and educational portions of the classes I've had involved role play. I particularly remember a project in an organizational behavior class. My group spent a great deal of time preparing for the case we were given and ended up finding out during the role play we had made some incorrect assumptions. This tested our ability to think on our feet and matches more closely what would happen in a real world situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    The accounting program is good for more than just accounting. Many of the positions I've been interested in were posted seeking an accounting major. If you're introverted and more interested in business operations, accounting may be the better way to go. If accounting seems boring finance is a good alternative. Siena has the Hickey Financial Center, which contains Bloomburg terminals and a stock ticker. The computer science program also seems like a hidden gem. A lot of bright people were in the programming class I took. A team from Siena participated in some programming contest recently and placed well against some more technically oriented schools. I've found the management majors tend to be offered jobs in sales, human resources, and customer service. Life insurance companies hire many Siena graduates as agents(some are now millionaires). Target hires some operations management trainees from Siena and there are alumni in all sorts of positions, but I'd say look to a different major if none of the previously mentioned positions appeal to you.

    In three sentences

    Siena is a liberal arts college with a very strong reputation for its accounting program. The campus is located in a suburban area and is beautiful. The students are predominantly locals and people from Long Island.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take the bus to Albany or anywhere! It's free! Shuttles to the mall too! Sports games!

    Food and Dining

    Saga is... not the best but they occasionally have their good days. Either way it's mass produced food. And New Hall usually has good options, it's a smaller cafe so they make better food.

    Dorm Life

    The older dorms suck. But once you're a junior you have so many really good options and once you're a senior you can live in the townhouses which are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough if all you do is party and not pay attention. You should manage well depending on your determination to pass, oh and which major you're in. Science majors, have fun, the professors try to weed you out the first semester. So pay attention and study hard if you want to make it to Bio II and Chem II.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wear your lanyard around your next in fear of looking like a freshman. Don't use trays in the cafeteria, just don't. And never ever go to a townhouse party alone. But seriously you'll be fine. Siena's super fun and the teachers are cool, they're like normal teachers they live when you stop by their office and chat.

    In three sentences

    Siena College is welcoming and fun. The staff and professors are understanding. Hold open doors for people, for everyone it's an unspoken rule. So many clubs to join, so many chances to make friends. Don't worry about being a loner.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are everywhere, especially on a campus as small as Siena. I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no such thing as Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a decent variety of clubs that you can get involved in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The type that is rich enough to pay the tuition but doesn't have the grades to get into a reputable institution. If you can afford an expensive school and have the grades to get into a name brand school. Do it. Do not go here if you have the grades to get into a good well-known school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Siena has no traditions. Period. Some of the faculty may say Siena has a Franciscan Tradition but that is nonsense. The Friars on campus keep to themselves and avoid students as much as possible. BE ADVISED: SIENA HAS NO SCHOOL SPIRIT WHATSOEVER. So if you're looking for a school that has a lot of school spirit, this is not the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I am in the business program at Siena and have heard good things about employment opportunities for talented people coming out of the business program. This remains to be seen for me. So far I find it quite expensive for its reputation

    What to do for fun

    There are a fair amount of clubs that are available on campus. If you're into sports, there is a decent soccer team, baseball, lacrosse and basketball team.However, Siena isn't a big sports school. If you're into the party scene, this is not really a good choice for you. The townhouses on campus are the main area where parties are held and because the houses are on campus, security is tight and townhouses are very hesitant to let anyone that they do not know into their townhouse. They may let you in if you are a girl that they find attractive but you never know. Some people pay for a cab ride to bars in Albany but that can be very expensive and for 21+ upper classmen.

    Food and Dining

    The food company (Sodexo) serves TERRIBLE FOOD. It is consistently disgusting and there is a rumor that they put a small dose laxatives in the food so that you won't get food poisoning. I'm not sure if that rumor is true or not but I wouldn't be surprised based on the extremely subpar food options. For 3,000 dollars + per semester, I think food should be much better than its current state

    Dorm Life

    The living facilities on this campus are incredibly disgusting. The room that I moved into at the beginning of this year was downright filthy. I have found numerous bugs crawling around the floor and crevices in the room. The floor was visibly dirty and had several spots of some unknown sticky substance. There was a spot on the brick wall that had a stain of an orange-ish/ yellow-ish color with several orange chunk things. I don't know what this stain is and I don't think I want to know what it is. Another problem is the Bathrooms. The communal bathrooms are just horrifying. they are dank, awful smelling, dirty areas that don't seem to have been cleaned in years.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is hit or miss here. Some professors are ridiculously difficult while others are wildly easy. Some professors are great (knowledgeable, helpful, shows care for students, shows passion for their subject, etc.). Whereas, others can be completely the opposite.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give Perspective students is to avoid going to this school. Go for your home state schools that have a reputation. They will be cheaper and ultimately will have an equal if not better educational value.

    In three sentences

    Siena College is nothing more than mediocre. It has a fairly good business program but most other programs are not worth while. This college is wildly over priced for the educational value and reputation of the college.