Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Silver Lake College of the Holy Family Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has friendly security employees

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    if there is a club they dont have talk to the student life adviser and they can help set you up

    Great for these types of students

    academic non partying students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its a private catholic college so you can attend church services with the Sisters.

    Bang for the buck

    you most defiantly get what you pay for here

    What to do for fun

    they have events quiet often that we can go to for free, and hang out with friends,

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to ask all the questions you can, make sure they have your major, talk to previous students

    In three sentences

    Silver Lake College is an amazing college with a great faculty that is always willing to help you out no matter what

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an excellent plan in place to keep their students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a whole list of things, including things like a dance team.

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to go into education for sure!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a beautiful school with a good program and lots of things to do...it's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of events...if you check their website, you'll see something going on quite often.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the food there! And the mural on the cafeteria was gorgeous.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone there was very friendly and energetic.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard, they have a very good program there, especially for education.

    In three sentences

    It was a beautiful and friendly school! Everyone there smiled a lot and were very helpful.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sponsored by the Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity.

    What to do for fun

    Frisbee golf, basketball, movie night, soccer, games.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes with many opportunities for presentations, public speaking, and show cases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus, meet the Sisters, have lunch with a few students. Your education at Silver Lake would be just as personal as your visit.

    In three sentences

    Silver Lake is a small college with a big Franciscan heart. It feels like home here.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at Silver Lake is absolutely amazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cross country, soccer, band, and choir? How could you go wrong? think of another club you want..and The ad visors are always up for new ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    At Silver Lake everyone fits in somewhere. Art, Music, and Sports are all offered in wide varieties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Even though it is a catholic college, no ones beliefs are pushed on you. Mass is offered but not mandatory.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Silver Lake College was the best decision I ever made. And I have decided I will graduate from there. The faculty and students are all extremely nice and polite.

    What to do for fun

    Silver Lake Cab always plans tons of awesome activities. Bowling, movie nights, and going to the work out center are just a few of the activities we have all enjoyed.

    Food and Dining

    Every meal there is amazing. Our chef does a wonderful job. There is a wide variety daily and a wonderful salad bar every day at lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new and also very clean. They are well furnished and spacious. As a freshman, you automatically get your own dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small. Most of the time it is no more then 11 students per class.

    In three sentences

    Silver Lake College has very friendly and helpful professors. Along with that, it is a well kept college with very new dorms. Silver Lake has a diverse community or professors and students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe place to be. I gave four stars because everyone should, also, take responsibility for their own safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I live off of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Silver Lake College is a little pricey but for the convenience of close to home and a small campus I am alright with it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of opportunities for fun with different clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus but it does smell delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a person that believes that there is always room for improvements.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to put some time into your grades and future, Silver Lake College and its faculty are there to help you achieve your goals and dreams.

    In three sentences

    I have greatly enjoyed the time that I have spent at Silver Lake College. The professors are very understanding and helpful, as long as you do your part as a student. The campus is small enough and easy to get around.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college for the most part is safe. Students are able to walk to class alone and not be afraid or concerned about their safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that are quite easy to join. Look Ahead Lakers Student Life Sports: basketball, volleyball, cross-country, soccer, dance

    Great for these types of students

    This is a holy community, catholic college.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and club organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food is most of the time delicious.

    Dorm Life

    You are able to have your own privacy and room, or if you choose to live with someone/group that is also a choice.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has many intellectual, gifted, and talented students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy small, quiet, one on one communication, this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    This college offers one on one communication with the professor. It's a small private school, everyone knows everyone. Silver Lake is quiet and helps students focus on their majors or minors.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    mostly work study students.

    Clubs and Activities

    choir, basketball, and volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    quiet reserved students will love this place.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely not worth 35,000 dollars, not much for the students to do not even a gym.

    What to do for fun

    Play on a sports team, that's the most fun you will have.

    Food and Dining

    they only serve each meal for an hour which doesn't give you much time to eat if you have class.Most of all the meals are not good, and you don't have a variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Not a lot of room, students have to be quiet most of the day. Every floor doesn't have a lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    Grading scale is higher than most schools, 90 percent is a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a better option take the better option.

    In three sentences

    Great for early childhood education majors, still growing in other areas. Small not so tight knit community. Willing faculty to help students grow.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Gardening and spend time with my children.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be on the ok side but there is a good varity to choose from and its a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The subjects are easy to learn and there is always someone out there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Our school may be small but we are might in spirit. We have small class sizes and very understanding teachers and staff.

    In three sentences

    Silver Lake College is one of the most friendliest communities in the college atmostphere.