Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Simmons College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! Simmons has a very diverse population and opportunities for you to express all your extracurricular interests. And, if you can't find what you're looking for, you can start your own club or organization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Simmons! You will feel welcome right away. Plan an overnight visit with a current student, and definitely try to sit in on a class.

    Bang for the buck

    Simmons College is equipped with the most up-to-date technology in all of it's computer labs and its newly-renovated library. Students will find everything they need here, including a gym, great food, student lounges and fun clubs and activities. One of the great values of Simmons College is that accepted students can enroll in classes in five other colleges that belong to the Colleges of the Fenway Consortium.

    Am enjoying being here

    My classes at Simmons have proved to be exciting and stimulating, and there are also a lot of social opportunities at Simmons. This includes frequent events such as plays, movie nights, sporting events, city outings, special guests and more. Not to mention, Simmons is located in Boston, one of our nation's best college towns. The city is full of great dining, night life, music, museums and parks. There is something to do for every interest and every budget.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Simmons is great for a person who is looking for a small liberal arts college that provides a great amount for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on campus and take a tour or even spend the night with a current Simmons student to get the feel of the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    Simmons College is in the perfect location because it is in a city without feeling as though it is in a city. There are tons of opportunities to expand oneself at Simmons.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my classes have been instructed by extremely knowledgeable professors and they are always available for outside questions.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The all female classes make concentrating in class easier. It also makes the dorms very home-like and warm. We understand that we need a certain level of testosterone so there are always opportunities to get off campus and meet guys from the surrounding schools. (Tufts, Northeastern, Harvard, Berklee) Simmons is great for any girl who want to meet and learn with other ambitious women. Why overlook a school designed specifically to help women achieve?

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and attend the prospective students days. They are geared toward introducing the school and the surrounding area. Half the battle when choosing a school is determining where you want to live and what you want to be doing in you free time. These days will lure you in to the area and from there it is clear how many opportunities there are to get off campus. I suggest applying to the honors program to anyone who has the academic standings required.

    Bang for the buck

    Application was free when I applied. Most students also received generous scholarship. Being a member of the honors program I also receive an annual book stipend and the program pays for outings and nights in. I suggest taking advantage of the minor activities fee because the funds are used towards pizza nights, movie viewings, bake offs and more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found that meeting people here is easy. The students are warm and welcoming. I have joined several academic liaisons and social organizations and the upperclassmen I have met through the programs want me to feel comfortable. They answer any questions I have and request to meet for meals often. I have found that I am never alone because there are so many opportunities to stay occupied.

    Am learning a lot

    I just completed my first semester at Simmons and found the transition very smooth. My first set of classes provided an easy transition from high school to college level learning because there are opportunities for help through study groups and tutors, the teachers really get to know you and the student atmosphere is enthusiastic. We all want one another to succeed.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As I said, this school caters to it's science students much more than it's arts. This school is best for those going into Computer Science, Math, Biology, Nursing, or something similar. It's also fairly good for English students, and decent for Communications. However, if you want to go into Art, Language or Music, these courses are offered, but it's better if you look somewhere else. As a side note, this school does cater to Nursing students, sometimes to the detriment of other majors. Finals, classes, even buildings will and can be re-purposed at any time to make room for Nursing classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak up. About anything. The teachers are generally even-handed, and won't judge you too harshly for anything you say so long as it isn't too offensive. The most common reason a class stagnates is because people won't talk, or because the same few students keep talking. Talk to someone. Everyone is nervous, and the best way to make a social group is to just find someone and talk to them. You don't have to stay within your grade or major either. None of my closest friends study what I do, and it'll help when you're filling out class modes. Don't go in if you're still indecisive or unsure of what you want in a major. It might be better for you if you try out a couple of majors in a less expensive school first, and after a point there's only so much wiggle room you have if you change your mind. Although there are art programs and Simmons claims to be a school for Arts and Sciences, the truth is it's primarily focused on science. The art classes are still fairly scientific, and generally sub-par compared to what a more art-oriented school would offer.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, and you will need financial aid, but the classes are very good, and very thorough. The only way you won't learn something is if you're not paying attention. Many of the classes are hands-on, especially in the science departments, where they have several long labs that apply what you've learned in class.

    Am enjoying being here

    As with most places, there are good and there are bad people. You have to pick and choose your friends, as not all the girls attending the school are friendly. But there's a wide variety of folks so you're guaranteed to find a social group, even if you're a wallflower. The location is ideal, and both campuses are within walking distance of public transportation, the Landmark Center, and the Museum of Fine Arts. The academic campus even neighbors the Isabella Gardener Museum. Anything you could possibly need is no more than a T rideor a walk away.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are very helpful, and more than willing to answer questions in or out of class. A number of them will go out of their way to help you. When I was struggling in Calculus, my teacher pulled some strings to get me a tutor that would help, and another teacher went so far as to install a particular program on a few computers so I could finish a project I was working on at the time.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is on the clock 24/7 even on holidays. there are here for whatever needs you may have. our gates to our residence campus is locked promptly by 11pm and all of our buildings are secured by a id check to get in.

    Greek Life

    their is a greek life through colleges of the fenway (cof) and also through neighboring schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to do at simmons. the lgbtq community is well known as well as our hillel group. every day an email is sent out about all the activities going on in campus that week or day. it could be from a hall tea to a well known speaker. there are always activities to do at night such as karaoke night, bingo for groceries or hosting events for watching our city's amazing sports teams dominant.

    Great for these types of students

    simmons is welcoming to all kinds of students. there is a wide range of different students that attend simmons. simmons is known for their library science major and their health science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i would say being 5 blocks away from fenway park is a pretty unusual location near our campus! also there are nice locations on top of our main college building, management building, and library that have awesome views and places to eat. they are hidden gems about the school.

    Bang for the buck

    simmons is great for setting up students with successful futures because of their great opportunities through internship. simmons is also located in the heart of the hospital district in boston. so if you're looking into the health science field you know that a great opportunity is just around the corner. simmons is partnered with harvard medical school and the hospitals located across the street.

    What to do for fun

    there is non-stop things to do for fun at simmons. a big perk to simmons is how accessible everything is from the school. boston is an amazing city with so much history, culture, museums, festivals, restaurants, sports venues, and outdoor activities! anything you can think of there is! even when you have a tight budget just being able to walk around and see all the different areas of boston is fun and being a student is a huge plus. there are many student discounts that we can take advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    simmons dining is very user friendly and willing to adjust and offer whatever we prefer. there is a great selection for vegans, vegetarians and we have a gluten free section. both of our dining halls are self serve and will go out of their way to give you what you need.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at simmons is above average of normal dorm living. there are nine different dorms all suited with lounges, kitchens, big screen tvs, and other amnesties. simmons quad is a great place to hang out and do whatever. it's our oasis in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic course load is top notch here at simmons college. your professors expect the best from you but are willing to work with you and your schedule to achieve success in their course. professors know you by name and are beyond helpful and great possible references for later job opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    simmons is a stepping stone to your successful future. they are willing to help you in every way possible with the many different opportunities that surround our school. our professors are constantly in the news for their research in their field.

    In three sentences

    simmons college is a prestigious all women's college with a tight knit community in a large city. simmons is your first stop to success! they set you up for not only your major but for becoming a powerful woman in the work field.

  • 08/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont bring too much the, I took way too much things with me that i never used.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much to do and learn there and if someone doesn't take the time and effort to find things to do it's their own fault. There are so many wonder things that Simmons offers.

    Am enjoying being here

    Love the people and the class rooms not to big and at the same time not to small.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Communications student and I love everything about it. The teachers are great and the environment is amazing. Plus there is always help to be found in the Comm-Labs.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say anyone! Being a liberal arts school, you have a lot of options to find the perfect major or minor. Simmons is also a diverse school and offers a lot of different clubs for anyone to join. If you like sports, Simmons has many teams that are always welcoming new teammates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the accepted students day! It's a great way to meet other students you may be in classes with and meet some of the professors. Also come take a campus tour or plan an overnight to get a good feel for the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Simmons really has a lot to offer and a lot of resources. When Simmons isn't offering the class you need, you can take a class at any of the other schools in the College of the Fenway consortium, which is extremely helpful. The career education center is also there to help you determine the type of career you want to pursue or even help with building your resume. The faculty, staff, and professors at Simmons really want to make sure you are getting the bang for your buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being in Boston! It's such a great city full of excitement! Being on a small campus makes me forget that I'm living in a big city. There's always so much you can do! Being at Simmons gives you a great learning environment and a city full of resources.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have been extremely helpful and I have learned a lot from them. The professors are always there for help and they truly want to help you master the material. They also are always available outside of classes to discuss the course or even answer questions about majors and careers.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Simmons is great for strong, independent women who don't mind being in a classroom with other intelligent women. It is also a great place if you are not the biggest party goer and just want to relax and watch movies or stay in on the weekend. Simmons is small and has a great community, so if you want to meet and stay close to as many people as you can, Simmons is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to definitely plan financially! College is so expensive and you don't realize it until you start taking out loans. Scholarships are a great way to pay for college because you don't have to pay them back. However, it takes a lot of research and time but it's worth it! Talking to your financial aid adviser is also important because they can give you tips. Also, buy a planner. There is a lot more free time in college and staying busy will help you beat procrastination.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Simmons is very expensive, you can definitely tell what you're spending your money on. There are computers and printers everywhere around campus for use. The classrooms are so nice and have smart boards and computers in them. The desks and chairs are comfy. Whenever there is a problem in the residence halls, it always gets fixed and as fast as possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    Simmons is located in Boston, MA and it is awesome! The residence campus is a short walk away from the academic campus. Also, there are so many other schools around that you can always find something to do and meet new people. Being in Boston is great because you never get bored and don't have to go to a party every night.

    Am learning a lot

    Simmons professors are so knowledgeable and they always share interesting information that deals with the course. I have learned more in the first semester than a year of high school!

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is smacked right in the city of Boston and so you can do whatever Boston offers! Shopping, sightseeing, swimming, ice-skating, scenic walks, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Bartol Hall is buffet style, not the healthiest or tastiest stuff around. The food at the Fens dining area is pay per item style and offers varieties for the meat eaters, vegetarians, and even vegan.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are small and I think lock down time starts around 11pm or so. Some dorm buildings are old and need renovations. There are always security walking around, which makes me feel safe. The food at Bartol Hall is buffet style, not the healthiest or tastiest stuff around. The food at the Fens dining area is pay per item style and offers varieties for the meat eaters, vegetarians, and even vegan. Night life is fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are full of work and professors expect you to work non-stop! Many of the professors have taught at other schools, like Boston College, Boston University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Harvard University. So your education is on par with some of the most top schools. Feel proud!

    Tips for prospective students

    The graduate school is coed so you will find men there. Simmons is a part of the Colleges of the Fenway so we have connections with 5 other colleges in the surrounding area, offering students opportunities to take classes in other schools, and great block parties! Commuters students get their own lounge room, equipped with seating areas, cabinets, fridges, and microwaves.

    In three sentences

    Although some students might miss the fact that it's not a coed school, they'll find that Simmons offer a community like no other. Everyone is crazy nice and there are lounges in every corner! The atmosphere is the best!

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very good school. Campus life seemed vibrant yet safe. Highly recommended!

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone who wants to come to Simmons should come! People are extremely nice and they're always there to help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get to know your professors and classmates as soon as you can. The more comfortable you feel with them, the eaasier it will be asking for help. 2. Try your best in figuring out what the professors want from you. When you do that your classes become a bit easier. 3. Bring rain boots. Trust me, you'll need them. 4. Many of the first year dormitories don't have overhead lighting, so double check if you need to buy lights. 5. The walls are thin, so monitor your noise level in the dormitories . 6. Explore the library. It has so amazing hidden study areas. 7. Apply for work-study jobs early, as early as the summer before.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much to learn, you might not know where to start. Talk to your adviser about classes, and talk with your friends about professors they've had and classes they've taken. Also, if you find out what books you need for classes, see if you can by them online, bring them from home, or borrow them from friends, family or your local library. The prices at the bookstore can be higher than you expect.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! It was the perfect choice. Classes are not to big and not to small. My largest class this semester is of 70 students, but it doesn't feel that large at all. Once you find a club, sport or organization that you like you'll make friends fairly easily. All my friends are part of our new Science Fiction and Fantasy club. Branch out and meet others!

    Am learning a lot

    Where to start... as a double major in English and Information Technology (IT), there is definitely a lot to learn. I really don't know how to explain how much I've learned in my classes. I've loved them all. Subjects range from science to sociology to English to arts administration... there are so many classes to pick from that it seems a little intimidating at first. Take classes in several different areas to see where you feel the most comfortable. God luck!

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Physical Therapy, Nutrition majors. Athletes. Independent women, feminists, women that value themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be self motivated and get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Simmons is pretty expensive but you definitely get an education worth while and it's a school that a lot of jobs like to see on your resume.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's right in the heart of Boston right by Fenway; such a great location! It does kind of stink that it's an all girls school but you get used to it, especially as a nursing major.

    Am learning a lot

    Simmons has a very tough curriculum in which you really have to work for your grades. You can't really skip classes because the classes are fairly small but that only helps you because it forces you to go to class on the days you really don't want to.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    School is way to expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Simmons was a great stater school as a freshman and I really go to know myself over time. Although there are some tough ties they help you get through it. Living in the city is a blast and there is stuff to do all the time. Overall a great experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are on the easier side but everyone is friendly and wants you to succeed. Some teachers are tough and look for you to fail, but overall that is not the case. Stay focused and do the work and you will be fine.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard working, love being challenged, active, never give up halfway, and know how to manage time wisely

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of asking any questions, get to know your professors more. Don't worry if you're undecided major. Actually it's a great chance for you to discover yourself and see what you like to do in your life. Try to take as many different classes as possible to see if you like it or not. Talk to your advisor who can help you a lot. Simmons also offers counselor at Career Center for students. Take advantage of that!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive for me to go here. When I first got my financial letter I thought my dream of going to college in Boston might not become true. Fortunately, I got outside scholarships to help me cover the tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is located in the heart of Boston. It gives students a lot of awesome opportunities to learn and discover themselves. The school itself does not have much interesting activities thou. Most students here are serious in their academic performance. So don't expect you'll see a drinking party every weekend on campus. The school has a really strict alcohol rules. You don't have to worry you don't have anything to do on weekend when you roommate is out. There are a lot places to go, such as North End, BU, Harvard Square, etc., you sure will fine something to do. School works will keep you busy all the time so be ready for that

    Am learning a lot

    Professors and faculties care about students. The classes are challenging, especially for science and nursing major but as long as you study hard and well prepared you're good!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and TALK TO THE CURRENT STUDENTS! they know the real inside scoop and the details the professors and facilty will not tell you.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education, and worth every penny, but it is still very expensive

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes being at an all girls school can cause a little drama amongst friends, but once you find the right people you are home free.

    Am learning a lot

    The education is amazing and the professors really care about your success.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    incredible. public safety is always on cue. you always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    not here!

    Clubs and Activities

    a multitude to choose from, either at simmons itself or other colleges of the fenway.

    Great for these types of students

    the driven, hard working, brilliant women who wish to be something someday.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everything about simmons is special. seriously, if you fall in love with it, you won't be disappointed.

    Bang for the buck

    it's the city, so everything is more expensive. you get what you pay for, though.

    What to do for fun

    it's boston! if you can't find something to do between the sports teams, museums, concert venues, shopping, parks, etc- then what are you doing in the city?!

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent compared to other colleges i've been to. the dining staff is incredible. so helpful and dedicated.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms is cramped, admittedly, but you are living within the city of boston. the whole city is at your fingertips. also, the security is impeccable. you will feel safe at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    simmons is not for the faint of heart. that being said, a large portion of work is expected outside of the classroom. the course load is light if you do not do the reading or assignments. if you dedicate yourself, however, it is challenging but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    dedicate yourself to your studies if you want success. acknowledge that there is time for friends and fun after homework is done. realize that sometimes you have to sacrifice other activities for homework. ask for help when you need it, because that's the faculty's job and they love to help.

    In three sentences

    simmons college has a knowledgeable faculty and multiple resources. the education is challenging but engaging. the college is small enough that everyone is recognizable but within a city such as boston, there is no suffocating isolation feeling.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety if a big issue. we are surrounded by colleges. simmons is part of the fenway 5 so campus security if very important. i have always felt safe in this area but that does not mean i do not take precautions .

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of sports, a great gym, spinning classes, yoga.

    Great for these types of students

    you like city life and plenty to do . you lived at home with all sister's !!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the mascot is a shark that is pretty strange !!!

    Bang for the buck

    i was fortunate to receive some scholarships but the cost is not cheap.

    What to do for fun

    i am in boston - just wish i had more money. but as a student we have many discounts so what better place to be. also i love when mom visits then we can go out and shop, site see.

    Food and Dining

    it college food - i like the fact that it is ready and waiting for me but after all it is still institutional food.

    Dorm Life

    the all girl enviroment is much more relaxed and quieter in some ways then a coed dorm. i do not regret that aspect of my decision.

    Academic Rigor

    nursing is not doubt a difficult course of study but if it is truly what you want to do - it can happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework, ask alot of questions and try to spend time in the area or the college if possible. the tours are great but i don't feel they give you the whole picture. you really need to speak directly to someone who is either going there or has attended there. they will hopefully be more honest.

    In three sentences

    i am satisfied with my choice for college. although there was some adjustment to the all girl enviroment i can say i am adjusting and looking forward to the years ahead. the boston area is the best place to attend school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not super strict, but very safe

    Greek Life

    no frats or sororities at simmons, but bu and all other large universities are near by!

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club and activity for everyone. not just saying that!

    Great for these types of students

    social, cultured, liberal, individual, friendly, and outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    decide for yourself

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for, and since simmons is expensive, you are getting a great education. especially in the healthcare fields, simmons is amazing!

    What to do for fun

    roam around boston, and visit other colleges! we are in the heart of it all here in boston!

    Food and Dining

    you are always able to find something to eat

    Dorm Life

    the buildings are nice, and its right in the middle of the city!

    Academic Rigor

    classes are difficult but manageable

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know what you want to do before you go to school, or some sort of idea of the field you want to get into. since school is expensive, you want to make sure every credit can count towards your degree!

    In three sentences

    simmons college is an amazing school aiming to help their students acheive greatness. it is a little pricey, but the financial aid staff works with you through all difficulties. the environment is warm and welcoming, definitley the right college choice!

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to parties and clubs in the city, go exploring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in nursing, this is the place to go!

    In three sentences

    Simmons is very inclusive. You get a very provocative and liberal education here. The community is very close knit.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Boston....the options are endless!!!

    Food and Dining

    I have to say, I am not impressed with the cafeteria food. Inconsistent, but meets the minimum standards. the good thing is there are plently of other alternatives if needed.

    Dorm Life

    If you are open minded and friendly, you will fit in in any dorm setting. Step out of the box and meet people and get involved in activities

    Academic Rigor

    I found Simmons to be very challenging. I have never studied so many hours in my life!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be able to be independent in college. Be organized and proactive. Ask plenty of questions

    In three sentences

    Simmons is located in a perfect spot for college students. The Boston atmosphere is great! Simmons has great opportunities for nursing student clinicals

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always just a call away and answer every time. They're great.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many organizations it's not even funny. Simmons really promotes acceptance and inclusion. So joining any of the clubs is never a bad experience they're so happy to have you. If we don't have a club you can create it. But I'm pretty sure we have anything and everything you could be looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to live in the city. Anybody looking into nursing. You also have the ability to cross register for some classes at any of the five colleges of the fenway. If we don't offer the class, we can find it for you. Obviously, if you are a girl. Someone looking for a very accepting and inclusive environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quadside cafe is open until 1 and until 2 on the weekends. It has amazing food incase you miss dinner or want some late night munchies. Meyers and java are our coffee places, which are amazing. And the fens is another cafe on the academic campus to eat at that has better food than the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    You absolutely get the education that you pay for. I wouldn't be happy going anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless amounts of things to do in the city. Anytime of day you can find something to do. The nightlife for 18+ is so fun. And sometimes just a nice walk around the city is nice. Also the transportation system is very easy to navigate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. If you don't like the food you can eat at any of the five colleges of the fenway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The only bad thing is sometimes we have a lot of fire drills which can be annoying.

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely are getting the education for the money that is paid. You have to work very hard especially as a nursing major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simmons is an amazing college. Don't be turned away because it is an all girls school.

    In three sentences

    Simmons is amazing. The professors are wonderful. The location is beautiful and fun.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to spend money, a few fun things to do would be to go to a Red Sox game. Fenway park is only a 5 minute walk from the dorms, and the atmosphere is great during games! Also, shopping on Newbury street is a fun sunny day activity. If you are looking to spend no money, walking around Boston and going sightseeing is a fun activity. Walking the Freedom Trail is also a must-do if you live in Boston

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall on the academic campus was very good, the salads being my favorite, however, the food on the residential campus was not very appetizing. On the other hand, there were many vegan options and a variety of types of foods, from salad to chicken to pizza.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Simmons College are very clean and interactive. There are always hall meetings where there is an opportunity to meet floor-mates, and lounges on each floor where people can hang out and get to know each other. The bathrooms/showers are the cleanest I've seen in a college setting. The only negative would be uncomfortable beds, however, that can be fixed with a memory foam.

    Academic Rigor

    The only thing that I have had trouble with academically is the switch from high school work to college work. It is definitely do-able, I just however, was not quite ready for the work-load that comes with college. This work-load has to do with mostly any college, not just Simmons.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an interview during the application, this way you will get your foot in the door and will show that you are very interested in going to this college. It shows ambition and the ability to step out of your comfort zone, displaying more dedication and passion for the school.

    In three sentences

    Simmons is a very diverse school that focuses on it's students achievements and success. There are always activities and extra curricular activities, such as clubs to join or games to participate in. Simmons does will with helping students transfer from their lives in high school to their lives as a college student in Boston, Massachusetts.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always feel safe. There are always campus police roaming around.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life here but students have so much fun that it doesn't even matter

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do. Anything you can think of...Simmons has it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quadside cafe is awesome! It's a late night hang out spot with food and convience store in case you get hungry at midnight

    What to do for fun

    I am on the executive board for the Black Student Organization, I write poetry, and part of the Gospel Choir at school

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great but hey, what campus food is great?

    Dorm Life

    There is always something to do and the students are so friendly and so much fun

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very challenging here but its worth while! By the time your done, you have gained so much knowledge, its unbelievable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate! Do all of your readings Dedicate at least an hour and a half for each class

    In three sentences

    Simmons is a wonderful place to be. Professors and students are friendly. Students gain a lot by coming here

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pub Safety is great! They're always on both campuses and very easily accessible. They make an effort to connect to students and keep them safe

    Clubs and Activities

    many organizations focused on giving back to the community, many clubs on campus!

    What to do for fun

    You're in Boston! Enjoy the Fenway neighborhood and explore the bustling city around you.

    Food and Dining

    It is a running joke at Simmons that there is a Bartol smell that you get whenever you go there: its true. The food is not terrible, but it is also not as good as it can be.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are very nice, but there is a lack of community on all floors. Students are connected more by year than by halls.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great public safety.

    Greek Life

    Simmons is one big sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    I have kept myself busy with several different clubs ; like minds, the Body Project, Alliance and Hall counsel

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in Nursing the Sciences, Communication and Women and Gender Studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right by the Fenway, lots of attractions near Simmons and things to do in the city.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but you learn so much just being in the environment.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is filled with opportunities and the city is your playground.

    Food and Dining

    Good food for a cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of things to get involved with on campus, everyone can find their niche.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but my classes were all relatively reasonable and the faculty want to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid of the women's college aspect, great women thrive at Simmons College.

    In three sentences

    Simmons college is a great school. Simmons has provided several networking opportunities for its students. The transition into my first year of college was smooth because of how helpful, welcoming and inclusive Simmons is.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    watch the red sox game, bruin games, shopping at fanuel hall, downtown, get some bubble tea at chinatown

    Food and Dining

    the food there is awesome

    Dorm Life

    bed squeaks

    Tips for prospective students

    do all the work

    In three sentences

    I'd rate it a 5 out of 5. Its a perfect college. I mean even though its an all girl school. It's in the city, plenty of guys. The education is great, professors make sure students get the education they need, friendly people everywhere as well.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel extremely safe on campus. Many security guards can almost always be seen.

    Greek Life

    None offered.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many offered!

    Great for these types of students

    It is certainly not a party school, so I'd recommend studious women apply to Simmons.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is a great school. The only downside in my opinion is the cost. I'm getting a great education, but the astronomical cost does mean I'd only rate it a 4/5.

    What to do for fun

    Simmons offers many things to do most weekends, like sports games to attend, movies that are being played, crafts, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just alright. There are two main dining halls, and one is much better than the other!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright- the upperclassmen housing is of course better.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in the nursing program, and it is definitely tough. But rewarding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge Simmons for being a women's' college! It is so much more than that. Plus, being in Boston, there are many opportunities to meet people!

    In three sentences

    Simmons is a very good school. I enjoy it academically and socially. My only complaint is the cost, though that is unavoidable.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Simmons Public Safety are a bunch of really nice people who work really hard to keep you safe. One thing that I really liked about Simmons when I first visited was that the residential campus is closed in by a fence which gets locked every night at ten or eleven pm, and after that point, you have to enter and exit the campus by the front security office by scanning your student ID. Not only that, but to get into any of the residential buildings, you need to scan your ID, and you can only get into YOUR hall after a certain time of evening. Another thing is that if you have to travel between the res campus and academic campus at night, you can walk right through the campus of our neighboring college, Emmanuel, so if you leave Simmons Public Safety domain, you enter Emmanuel Public Safety, which makes you feel extra safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Simmons has a ton of clubs and sports that you can do. At the beginning of each semester, there's something called a Connections Carnival where all of the organizations table and hand out information and free stuff, so that's a great place to find out about clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition we have that's literally 100 years old is Mayday where they wake everyone up banging pots and pans down the hallways at 7 in the morning, and then there's a Mayday dance outside, and it's pretty cute. As for locations, on the top of the management building, you can sit up there and the view is so beautiful. It's a great place to read or talk to your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little expensive, but if you really need it, they help you out with your financial aid, and I personally feel like I love Simmons so much that I would pay a zillion dollars to go here.

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned before, the RHA plans a lot of fun stuff on the residential campus for us to do, and, not to mention, Simmons is right in Boston. We're right down the street from Fenway Park, and Ace Tickets sometimes sells day-of tickets for like, 25 bucks. Plus, there's tons of other stuff to do. You're not ever going to be bored here. Even when I'm broke, you can buy a two dollar coffee and take a walk through the Commons and down by the harbor.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a picky eater, dining can be difficult, but one could say that about any college dining hall. On the residential campus, the dining hall is a buffet that changes up its options every day, but they always have cereal, bagels and bread, and a fresh salad bar. They also have a gluten free section and they cater to vegetarians and vegans very well (which comes from a reliable source, considering I am a vegan). Sometimes if there's going to be a long weekend where the dining hall will be closed, or if it's getting toward the end of the semester, they'll start slacking and repeating meals, but that's only on occasion. I'm not a picky eater and I love our dining hall. The dining on the academic campus isn't buffet-style and they're not as good, in my opinion, but it's OKAY for when you have a late class or something.

    Dorm Life

    I love Simmons dorms. Unlike a lot of the other colleges in Boston, we have an actual quad that's closed in by the dorm buildings and you can lay out on it when it's nice outside and do homework or just enjoy the sun. On snow days, we have snowball fights, and it's not unusual to see a snowman out there, even a really badly crafted one; we're not an art school, after all. The actual halls are really nice, as well, and the rooms are nicely sized. The RAs aren't super strict and most of them are actually really nice and friendly. We have floor snacks occasionally and the Residential Housing Association does a lot of stuff for us to keep us entertained.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to put in a lot of work for the classes within your major, but you also get breaks in that you have to fulfill Modes which are what Simmons basically calls their general education requirements. You can pick classes that are really easy and that just boost your GPA, which balances out the work you put in for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the all-women's aspect. You meet guys everywhere, and having classes with only women is actually really refreshing.

    In three sentences

    I felt like I belonged to Simmons College from the first moment I stepped onto that campus and my first year has lived up to the expectations created by that first moment. The students, faculty, and staff are all so welcoming, and the curriculum is very engaging. Simmons is a great place for any woman looking to further her education with an open mind.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Simmons College is a very safe school because it works as a united community to ensure the safety of all the people in the area. I felt very safte during my visits at Simmons College.

    Greek Life

    Yes, Greek Life. Simmons has so much to offer based on your personal interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Take a look at the school on line. Too many to list here.

    Great for these types of students

    Simmons College is great for scholars that are very unique and of different backgrounds that possess academic excellence, personl desire for heath and fitness and a passion for community service work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Simmons has many traditions including but not limited to Culture Day were all cultures come together to celebrate the unique aspects of cultures around the world and how dynamic it is when we all come together.

    What to do for fun

    At Simmons College, there are so many activities you can do that I would not be able to list them all here. I would need to know your interest to answer this question. But, with five other colleges in the immediate area, parks, lakes, jogging area, malls, shopping stores, and restaurants I am sure you will find something to do and some friends to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Simmons is great. They even prepare your own menu if you want. Also, there are many local restaurants. You will find what you love to eat here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Simmons is activity filled and also rigorous for studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Simmons College has excellent academics and sports too. You will not be bored here. Too many things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, visit and get to know folks. If you really want to be there you will.

    In three sentences

    Simmons College is a beautiful female college located on a sunny, woody, busy college town in Boston, MA. It is a personal college that will get to know you on a first name bases. It empowers scholars to problem solve, critically think and face the world's challenges with enthusiam and hope for a great future.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe here. They take safety very serious here. I have never felt as if I was in danger.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply here.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and acitivities to choose from. Great dance team.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for serious students. You need to work here, but it is a well known school. Be prepared for all seasons (snow). Can't be afraid fo the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None known at this point

    Bang for the buck

    Hard to tell at this point, it is an expensive school. But I think you get what you pay for. They do offer some grants.

    What to do for fun

    Hey you are in Boston! Shopping, Fenway park, great places to eat close by...

    Food and Dining

    Good food on campus and you are close by to other options if you get bored of the campus food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close to campus and everyone is very nice here. Again you are in Boston so you are close to everything.

    Academic Rigor

    The Health Sciences program is not easy. But when you graduate you know that you are well prepared for a solid career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study a lot. Take this school seriously. Make use of resources on campus like tutors etc.

    In three sentences

    This is great collegel so far. The courses are hard, but I am learning a lot. The instructors are helpful and the campus is located is Boston, so lots to do when you are not studying.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are on top of things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of options for clubs and activities. There is a liaison for every major.

    Great for these types of students

    If you prefer small schools, intended health care majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shark is our mascot, we have shark weeks to celebrate. And also John Simmons Day.

    Bang for the buck

    I would like to receive this scholarship to afford my tuition next year.

    What to do for fun

    Simmons College is part of College of Fenway. We often have COF Parties. It's in the center of Boston, there are plenty of spots to explore.

    Food and Dining

    They accept feedback and staff are extremely friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Love it! RA's are awesome, work order came pretty quick.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of internship opportunities, advisers and instructors get back to you quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a plan b when you choose your classes, since the seats got filled up pretty quick.

    In three sentences

    Attending Simmons College is one of the best decisions I ever made. Small class ratio, I get to have more attentions compare to big universities. Faculty members are on top of things. Simmons women come together as a community.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at Simmons. The residential dorms are a fenced in community. It's easy to have visitors, but the security guards get to know you by name and will always make sure that your safety is top priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs to choose from! If you like it, you can do it, and there will always be friends to be found that share your interests.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city! Simmons is in the middle of Boston and surrounded by other colleges. There is always something to do, but at the end of the day it's nice to come back to a highly secure dorm like the ones on the Simmons residence campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and there are always healthy and creative options to be had. Just watch out, the icecream bar is always open and really hard to pass up. It's an easy way to gain your freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fantastic! The RAs are friendly and helpful, the students great to live with, and the halls are beautiful. The best part however is how comfortable you feel living with all women.

    Academic Rigor

    Simmons is challenging academically. It is not for women that only wish to float through their college education, but when you leave here you will be educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do take a tour, take part in an overnight visit. Talk to the coaches and professors on campus. Most importantly, however, talk to the students, that is where to find the honest answers.

    In three sentences

    Simmon is a college for women that truly want to learn. It can be fun, but it is not a party school. It will push you to succeed, you may fall at first, but once you learn to walk here you can fly anywhere.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is pretty bomb. There is always someone on the residence campus. After 10:30, all the gates get closed except for the one by Simmons Hall. You tap into the buildings with your ID card. I have never had a problem with safety. (But remember to lock your doors).

    Greek Life

    Currently, on our campus, there is no Greek Life. However, recently there has been some initiative to start sororities on campus.If you really want to join a sorority/fraternity, there are some intercollegiate groups that reach out to Simmons students. As with everything else here, if you want it, you can find it.

    Clubs and Activities

    You get out of it what you put in. Simmons

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a safe environment. Students that want to create change. Leaders. Those that want to learn. Open minded. Progressive. Diverse. Inclusive. The eccentric. Individuals focused on school.

    Bang for the buck

    Simmons is not cheap. That being said, they do offer lots of opportunities to get financial aid (grants, scholarships, etc). Simmons not only offers a wonderful community in of itself, it grants you access to all of Boston. That experience is wonderful - this city is bustling with life. It is the college town.

    What to do for fun

    Explore BOSTON! Over the winter vacation, I google mapped Simmons and the surrounding area. Nothing of importance is more than 3 miles away, so take a walk! Boston is at your fingertips! There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Hit or Miss for sure. The Fens Cafe on the academic campus is generally much better than Bartol.

    Dorm Life

    Simmons Hall is amazing. The RA's here are very supportive and just plain hilarious. Be friends with your RA. They like you. They want to be friends with you. Just do it.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are fantastic. They definitely expect the best out of you, and are willing to work with you to make sure that you reach your full potential. There are many resources available to make sure that every student has their needs met.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that no never really means no. Keep asking for help and it will come. Honestly, with Simmons you will get whatever you put into it. Don't be afraid to be active. That's the benefit of coming to a smaller school like this. We are all a community. Once you come here, don't be afraid to talk to dining services, professors, anyone. They are all here to make you feel comfortable and they become your second family. They love you and care about you, so remember to extend the same respect to them.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The more you are involved the more you'll be known by staff and students. :)

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Students Biology and Chem Majors Communications Women and Gender Studies

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Spring Semester there is the Carnival held on the Res Campus. In March, Vagina Monologues is performed-AMAZING! Winter there is the Winter Wonderland theme, the dorms are lit up with winter lights. And at the end of the semester one night the dining hall has a themed event opened til 12pm.

    What to do for fun

    Simmons is right by Fenway and your in Boston a small Metro City. You can always find lots of things to do, even free things. You just need to do research and you'll find it. Spring Semester has lots of outdoor activities to do, sight seeing especially.

    Food and Dining

    Bartol Dining Hall, is where you'll eat most of your meals and the staff are always extremely kind and will know you by your name. They'll even remember your favorites.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of activities to do around the res campus and activities offered also.

    Academic Rigor

    Will always challenge you to think more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go out of the box and socialize with new people. Attend a lot of the events and school organizations.

    In three sentences

    Diverse school with multiple options in research, internships, building relationships with your community and professors. You will get a lot of your 4 years here and meet different people from around the world, not just locally. You will always find someone willing to help you if you ask.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are on their game and are very protective of students. They really go at of their way to even teach you how to protect yourself if nobody else is around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are literally a 100 clubs and activties in this school.

    Great for these types of students

    It's really great for anyone especially if you are a student who cares about their studies and what they want to do with their careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well the most unusual thing about Simmons is that it's a women's college.

    What to do for fun

    You are in BOSTON! There are so many things to do! So many opportunities!

    Food and Dining

    It's mixed sometimes the food can be great and sometimes the food is really bad. The Fens Cafeteria is much better than Bartol Hall.

    Dorm Life

    It's hard for me to explain what it is like living on campus because I am a commuter, but from most students have told me it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are incredibly hard, but it's worth it because you really need to be ready for grad school and life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the current students who come to Simmons. They are able to give you an accurate view on what Simmons is really like.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I participate in the Dotson Program which allows me to volunteer, participate in nursing like programs.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria. They also have great cafe for your coffee fix.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, off campus at this time.

    Academic Rigor

    I am about to beginning my classes soon, but from what I heard it is very involved and hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your mentors and your advisors. They have great places to study and use as a student.

    In three sentences

    Simmons College is amazing, They offer assistance for African American students known as the Dotson Program. They offer great nursing programs, including the one I am about to attend for Family Nurse Practitioner.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play a sport... Join a club... or go to Fenway!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend going to visit the campus before completely turning away Simmons. Just because it is an all girls school does not mean you won't like it!

    In three sentences

    Such a beautiful campus and the fact that Brigham and Women's Hospital is just a few blocks away is incredible for any one looking to major in the health professions!

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a great staff of Simmons officers on campus 24/7. They are friendly and always have everyone's best interest at heart. Simmons is surrounded by a gate that locks every day around 11 only leaving the front gate open. After 11pm each student has to go through Simmons hall (where the public safety officers keep on the campus) and tap into either Simmons hall or to access the rest of the campus. Also all throughout the day each hall is locked and students have to use their IDs to tap into each building and students can access other halls even if they do not reside their up until 11pm.

    Great for these types of students

    Simmons is a place for those who want to broaden their horizons in the sense of friendships, culture, religion, community and/or academically. This institution has an eclectic group of people passing through every day as well as having an eclectic crowd from being in Boston in general. So if you're an outgoing social butterfly or even a shy girl Boston will bring anyone out of their shell.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things to do on and off campus. Simmons makes an effort to always have something going on on campus. Whether it be arts and crafts at quadside (the late night cafe), bingo, or movie/game night. But if staying on campus is not appealing Boston is literally at your finger tips especially being situated right next to Fenway. Red Sox games, bruins, and celtics game are always an option as well as shopping down on Newbury street, feasting at the countless restaurants in or around the area, and the museums scattered around. Anything fun that comes across one's mind Boston has a place for you to do it.

    Food and Dining

    I am going to be completely honest. When it comes to residence campus dining common, Bartol, it is not the best food by any means. Limited food options day after day. But don't let that scare you because on the academic campus there is a wonderful place to eat called The Fens. It is great! Everyone is incredibly sweet and talkative. Always asking how your day is and serving you with a smile on their face. The grill is wonderful as well as the sandwich station, but my favorite would have to be the home cooked meal station where everyday there's something different and delightful. The Fens never disappoints breakfast, lunch or dinner.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life experience has been absolutely amazing. I was blessed to be in a great dorm with an amazing floor and RA starting my freshman year. Every single person that I lived on the floor with I am still great if not best friends with till this very day and have been honored to live with year after year. That's where the sense of community first started for me. Floor snacks is where everyone on the floor got to come together to eat delicious treats, chat about life, do homework, or even get ready for a night out on the town. For 8 months those girls on the floor were my family; sharing clothes, the occasional fights, the countless movie dates and memories made.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic workload is quite rigorous but I find it to be manageable. Excellent planning, organization, and dedication will most definitely get you through each class and semester. Plus it allows for the student to be in charge of their stress load. The less you plan and organize the more stressed one will get as opposed to planning everything out and when it will get done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask every question that comes across your mind because that is how people have succeeded in and out of the classroom. Future students, be yourself whether it be goofy, shy, loud (like myself) because at Simmons there is every type of person and everyone will have something in common. Lastly, get involved in the school's activities, events and groups/clubs because it truly does make your college experience that much better with also broadening your friend group.

    In three sentences

    Simmons college is more than a place to expand one's knowledge, but instead is a sense of community and a sisterhood. Each professor makes it a goal to have their students achieve in the classroom and are comfortable and feel safe enough to ask questions without feeling any type of ridicule. Lastly, for me Simmons has given me a stronger voice as well as a greater sense of self, and for that I am grateful.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore around Boston.

    Food and Dining

    There are many dining options around campus making it easy to grab something to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in a great location and have a very homey feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    Although some classes can be difficult, I find that Simmons is very helpful when it comes to time management and managing your workload. If you need help all you have to do is ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, try joining clubs or organizations that you may not have previously considered. This is a great way to make new friends and find out about new interests.

    In three sentences

    Simmons College has a wonderful learning environment. The students and faculty are all very friendly and helpful. The community is very encouraging and welcoming.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe area and campus security is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and a very involved student community.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to make friends and get a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tea time. All the time. And awesome floor parties!

    Bang for the buck

    Tasty Burger, 2 blocks down from res. campus. Great burgers!

    What to do for fun

    Explore the Fenway area!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food, very health for the most part, and the dinning services are very accommodating and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Great price to live in the heart of Boston.

    Academic Rigor

    Dependents on the department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write good essays! They really do read them. Try to be a well rounded student but on't forget about your academics.

    In three sentences

    Great environment to foster academic and personal development. The staff is wonderful and friendly, as well as the student body. So many clubs and sport opportunities that you won't have time to nit have fun.

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! Our campus feels very safe. We have campus police as well as security.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Simmons

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities! If you can't find something at Simmons you can join an organization at one of the other Colleges of the Fenway.

    Great for these types of students

    Feminists and those eager to learn about and make social change!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a harvest dinner in the fall, and a winter wonderland dinner at the end of fall semester which is catered and has a theme. In the spring semester we have a formal and May Day at the very end of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for scholarships! Simmons is a very very expensive private school. YOu get a lot for what you pay for, as far as classes and professors and students offered, but the price tag is what it is.

    What to do for fun

    EXPLORE! Boston has so much to offer! Just goog;e fun things to do in Boston and go down the list one by one if you have nothing else. The commons is free and there are several free shows and concert offered throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly I do not like the food offered on our residential campus. Our academic campus offers great breakfast and lunch options. However, on Res, our dining hall offers consistently flavorless food and very little variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is NOT a party atmosphere. At all. That type of thing just doesn't really happen on our campus. Students typically leave to go to parties, which is definitely nice because in Boston we are surrounded by about a dozen schools. The dorms are nice and kept clean. The staff and RAs tend to be helpful. The campus activities board offers small acoustic concerts and craft nights on the weekends. Overall, I would say if we weren't in the heart of a major city, it would be boring, safe, but boring. But, since we are in the city it is a perfectly nice oasis and comfortable break from academics.

    Academic Rigor

    Simmons is a competitive school, but the professors are dedicated to giving you the tools you need to succeed. It's definitely more work than high school, which is expected, but I believe that the community of support offered is out of the ordinary and highly beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should absolutely take advantage of the tours that are offered and the admissions events. They were very influential on my decision to be at Simmons. When you're in town you should take some time to walk around the neighborhood. I love Boston, but you have to be sure you enjoy the city and your surroundings before you commit to be there.

    In three sentences

    Simmons features amazing professors dedicated to making your college experience the best it can be. Small classes are conducive to staying engaged and having professors give you the attention you need. Other services the schools offers such as free tutoring for all of your classes and the Career Education Centers are great opportunities to take advantage of.