Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Simpson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Simpson is a very small school. It is great for small town kids or students who just like the intimate setting in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking at Simpson, be sure to visit campus. Look at the dorms, buildings, and eat in the dinning hall. Get a feel for what an average day at Simpson is like. Apply, even if you don't think you can afford it, you will be surprised at the amount of aid you can get. Also, try out the facebook roommate selection. I found my roommate that way, trust me, it's a lot less of a headache.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, Simpson is exspensive. Get as much financial aid as possible. Overall though, your education is worth it. I have a relationship with all of my professors, and who could really say that going to a public college? The dinning hall food is not the best, but other than that it is a beautiful campus with great dorms!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love living at Simpson. Most of the students are within four hours of their homes. Luckily, I am only 20 minutes away. I love this because I am close enough to home to see my friends, but I don't have to stay at school. There are normally enough things to do on campus between forum events, CAB activities, and sporting events. You just have to get out and do things.

    Am learning a lot

    The best thing about Simpson is the relationships you can have with the professors. The biggest class I was in this past semester had 35 students in it. Having small class sizes makes discussions easier, but, on the downside, professors know when you're missing. They care about you, and expect you to take their classes seriously.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that is willing to step up and be great. Simpson offers many opportunities and if you are willing to put yourself out there, you can only be set up for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend stopping by during Private College Week for the tour and if you decided to really make a commitment to Simpson, befriend your destination leader during your personal tour. They will be a great help for EVERYTHING during your school year.

    Bang for the buck

    The freshman dorms aren't the greatest, but they are a good environment to live in for your first year. They are very user friendly and are located in central campus so all of your classes are easy to find, as well as the food!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is almost always something to do, whether it is on campus or around the town. The location is also great because it is so close to Des Moines. I also enjoy the size of the campus because I don't have to walk all over the town to get from class to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I will be a sophomore at Simpson this year and I find the environment to be very learner friendly. The professors are always willing to help when I don't understand something, and the student services are great, too.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security are remarkable they protect the students and are very responsible in their work. Their isn't much to worry about being in a small town in Iowa so the campus site is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is small but overall it helps you network yourself after college. We have a couple of frats which are SAE, ATO and Kapppa. All these frats host different events to better the campus which is an exiting feat.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are the fratenities, intamurals which is very popular on the campus and sports events to attend. There are also activities on campus such as the talent show and comedians who attend the college but the activities are interesting and entertaining.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the type of students who want a quiet enviornment to focus on their studies but also have a great college experience in a small social enviornment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition called stand around where you begin to walk around campus and meet others where you participate in numerous events which our entertaining. There is Homecoming as well which is also eventful.

    Bang for the buck

    This school promotes all the sporting events and gives away gifts which will suprise any student.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend their is a party of some sort or there are events in the beginning of school which the school promotes which are interesting but in the middle of the year it's usually parties on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food served at Simpson College isn't quite pleasurable. The food sometimes isn't up to par but some days the food is quite impressive but most of the time I don't recommend the food on most days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is remarkable. They have a freshman dorm and a sophmore dorm for both classes but the upper classes which are the Junior and Seniors get to live in apartment like dorms which get you ready for the real world after college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work is difficult to an extent and their is a lot of time spent in the library but at the end of four years the time spent in the library is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Simpson College an opprutunity they give you an excellent opprutunity to excel in their school work. If you are looking for a party school this isn't the school to pursue but this school will give you a quality education and 98% of students find an job after college which are the benefits of attending a private college.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is a prestigous college in a small town called Indianola. It is a quiet friendly enviornment town which gives students the opprutunity to excell at their work. It may be a non party school but it's tremendous academically.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Three sororities and four fraternities

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walk to end the isms

    What to do for fun

    Dances, bingo, sports games, opera performances, theatre performances, creative u (paint and do crafty things), yoga, and intramurals

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the theatre and music scholarships. You get money just for participating.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus and lots of activities. You have the option to design your own major. They have great may term options.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music, Forensics, Teaching, Liberal Arts, Theatre,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs. Zombies games

    Bang for the buck

    Four dollar movies on the weekends, and an activity every single night.

    What to do for fun

    The theatre department and musical department always have an event happening just around the corner. They have a lot of intramurals, and several clubs and teams to join.

    Food and Dining

    The fries are incredible and are probably their best known food. They keep a variety of food, from pastas, to salads, to dessert, to cucumber water. They are adding a Starbucks and another food restaurant to campus. The meal plans are not very customizable, however.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are much nicer than any other college I have visited. The floors are carpeted, the building is air conditioned, the school provides the lofting bunk beds, and the rooms are spacious. There are bathrooms located very close to the rooms. The wash and dryer are in the dorm buildings, and their use is free.

    Academic Rigor

    The college works hard on keeping the students active on campus. They give everyone so much school pride and school spirit. The assemblies are made to be so fun, as well as preparations for assemblies and games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call the school for any question. They are always very willing to help, and they are very clear with their answers and recommendations. Attend the scholarship weekends. I went and had a blast, and received quite a bit of scholarship money from it.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is an incredibly welcoming facility. The campus is kept very lovely and clean, and the faculty members and teachers are kind, and quick to help. The students I have met are all ecstatic about attending this school.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice security!

    Clubs and Activities

    Soo many to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind spending a little more for the smaller classes and more personalized learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome school all over!

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of intramurals!

    Food and Dining

    College food always gets old after the first couple weeks.. Meals from home always seem so much better once you've started college.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun, they have a lot of activities to do!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good place, with a great education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early! It's never too early to begin searching for colleges that will fit your needs!

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not a time of day or place that I would not feel safe walking to, even alone. Campus Security will also escort you if at any time you do not feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life on campus, but is not like larger schools. The sororities and fraternities are much smaller in numbers and this allows for tighter bonds and more leadership position opportunities. They are actively creating philanthropic events which benefit the community as well as their philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to be a part of at Simpson College! There is religious life community, political groups, residence's life, and major groups to name only a few. There are also many leadership positions in classes that students can apply for such as Teacher's Assistants or Supplemental Instruction Leader.

    Great for these types of students

    Simpson is a great school for those interested in the arts. There is a new performing arts center that hosts the opera each year and is supported widely by the community. The Athletic Training program at Simpson is very competitive, with knowledgeable teachers, and many hands-on-experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are very personable and the small class sizes allow for easy learning. Resources are easily obtainable and there are many free programs that the school provides, such as tutoring. There is free laundry and cheap parking fees. To top it off, there will be a new campus center opening October 2012 that has new dining options along with frozen yogurt.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Campus Activity Board that provides many activities throughout the year such as BINGO, dances, pottery painting, comedians, and random events. We also have fitness classes offered at a fitness cent ,such as step and zumba. These are all free for Simpson students. Simpson students also get a discount at the local movie theater. At homecoming each year, we have Yell Like Hell, which is a very large stomp/dance competition. It really brings the whole college together for the night.

    Food and Dining

    Pfieffer Dinning Hall was remodeled over the summer and resulted in a variety of food options. There is a buffet line, pizza station, subway like sandwich station, and a chef who makes a personalized version of the dish of the day.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorm rooms are decently sized, well kept, and centrally located on campus. Upperclassmen dorms are suite-like. Student's keep their doors open when they want company and many other's stop by for a study break. Dorms are usually quiet during the week and occasionally are louder on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very personable and the staff is always looking in the student's best interest. Professors are very open to working with students one-on-one and always have their door open.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you tour campus! There are a lot of opportunities at Simpson as there are at other colleges, but at Simpson there is a tighter community. Be sure that you take into consideration that Simpson is a small college.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is home away from home. The small town community and the college work together to give students the best opportunities possible. Resources are easily accessible and the education gained here is excellent.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've not had much experience with the security guys but they are really good at giving tickets out.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at Simpson is different from any other Greek Life you'll find. The pledges are all very nice, but Greek Life is still expensive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, all the clubs conflict with each other and it sucks.

    Great for these types of students

    -Greek Life kids -Athletes

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson is a pretty pricey college, but they help a lot in the financial aid area. It would not be worth attending at all without financial help.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, all the clubs conflict with each other so it's a drag when you want to be involved. Everyone leaves on the weekends, so there's not much to do but hang out at the Frat houses.

    Food and Dining

    Even with the opening of the brand spanking new Kent Center, the dining is awful. There is no variety and everything manages to lack flavor no matter what it is. Not only that, but there is always a long wait when you want to eat. I shouldn't have to wait 30 minutes to buy a bowl of soup and a cookie for 13 dollars.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm's are awful, there is nothing good about them. You do not have to pay for laundry which is cool, I guess. People will disrespect your area and every harass you via your white board. Fun! The bathrooms are pretty dirty and the water pressure is awful.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are high school level, in my opinion. Every class is so easy that I don't have to do my work and I still pass with flying colors. If you want a challenge, go some where else. The professors here are really nice though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to feel like you're still in high school for another four years than Simpson is a great place for you. Keep in mind that you will have to-- it's a requirement-- take classes you have no interest in because of their academic program. Make sure you learn everything you can before you attend or you will waste a year of your life here like I did.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is lacking in the College Experience I was hoping for when I applied to be a student, there is nothing College about it. 75% of their students, including me, go home every weekend because there are no activities to do on the weekends and the food here is mediocre at it's best. The only good thing about Simpson is the campus is small, so walking to class isn't a big deal.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very secure walking across campus alone at night. Security is always willing to answer questions. They have people on call to drive you somewhere in a golf cart if you feel uncomfortable.

    Greek Life

    Not involved in this, but there are 3 sororities and 4 fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of IM activities ranging from sports to card games. Lots of athletic teams where you don't receive scholarships, but try out and are recruited.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small environment. Like one on one access. Want to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are seals that you are not supposed to step on or it is said that you will fail your next test.

    Bang for the buck

    If you really like it, it is well worth the money. However, it is really expensive

    What to do for fun

    Movie theater, attend Simpson events, Des Moines is only 20 minutes away

    Food and Dining

    Regular dining hall and a new student center with 4 restaurants

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. In a double room you get 2 desk, 2 chairs, 2 dressers, 2 closets, 2 lofted beds, and a bookshelf. Each room has an individual thermostat.

    Academic Rigor

    In comparison to the community college I took classes at while in high school, it is way harder. Lots of reading and papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't have any summer reading assignments. Don't procrastinate - learn time management skills now! Fill out every scholarship you qualify for - even if you don't think you stand a chance of getting it. Be wise when picking a roommate. Don't stress over trying to pick a major right away.

    In three sentences

    It appears to be full of activities when you visit, but in reality it is a suitcase campus, which leaves you with nothing to do on weekends. The small campus makes it easy to get anywhere in 5 minutes. The teachers know you on a first name basis and are willing to help and meet with you out of class.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Simpson's campus is incredibly safe. Indianola is a pretty small Iowa town, so there isn't much crime to begin with. We also have a 24 hour security service that will drive you from building to building if you ever don't feel safe at night, though there's nothing really to worry about.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is wonderful. I'm in a female fraternity ( ;) ), and it is one of the greatest things I've ever done. I love my sisters, and the entire process one takes to go through bidding is long, but totally worth it in the end.

    Clubs and Activities

    Simpson has tons of clubs and activities to do for any sort of person. We have clubs ranging from Comic Book Club to Computer Club, to Religious Life Formation Groups, to Simpson Student Democrats. The clubs are also working on doing more collaborative work with each other, so you're likely to be exposed to many different things on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Simpson College is actually a great place for all sorts of students. Simpson is renowned for its vocal music program, and the rest of the departments are well ordered as well. Simpson is actually a very liberal campus, and stands against many social injustices so there's always a way to be involved with the world around you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal! If you step on the seal in front of College Hall, you'll fail your next test. Oh, and there's also the ghost of Mildred.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson is a great college academically. If you go to Simpson you know you're going to get one of the best educations you could pay for, which is priceless. Unfortunately, the food isn't that good and the tuition is ridiculously expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Simpson College is in Indianola which is a pretty sleepy town, but we're about fifteen minutes from Des Moines which is fantastic. We have the venues nearby, but none of the traffic. Simpson is quiet at night, which is great for sleep, but it also leads to a lot of people going home on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Simpson has multiple on campus venues for food because the Kent center was built and some restaurants moved in. The trouble with the food in the Kent Center though is that it is ridiculously expensive; you don't get your money's worth. The other option is Pfeiffer Dining Hall, which is all you can eat, but they decided to close it on the weekends and sometimes the food isn't the most tasteful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Simpson is pretty laid back. At the beginning of the year in the freshman dorms we had meetings to get to know each other, but that all stopped when a lot of people switched rooms, floors, and even buildings! Greek life also took a lot of people so the dorms aren't actually all that active, which is nice for studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Simpson has a wide variety of classes, and thus, Simpson has a wide range of difficulty for classes. Advisors will make sure that no student attempts to take a 300 level class their first year, but students are also free to take the classes they feel they're ready for if they have the prerequisites. I absolutely love the challenges the classes give me at Simpson because I know I'm not paying for a bad education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I have for prospective students would be to not be afraid of talking to the professors. The professors aren't like high school teachers. They will help you with absolutely anything and will take as much time out of the day as needed to make sure that you succeed to the best of your ability.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is an amazing campus where I have grown immensely. I absolutely love Simpson, and others do too, though no college is perfect. It's a beautiful place to be.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever feel unsafe by walking alone, are given campus security numbers so they will come and pick you up. If you ever need help talking about personal things, SARA, a club hotline here at Simpson, is always ready to help you tlak.

    Greek Life

    At Simpson, there are three houses for the girls, and four for the boys. The students part of Greek Life get others involved at Simpson by hosting bomb fires, or a beginning of there dance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs on Simpson campus. So many that it is impossible to name every single one. A few however, are clubs such as Spanish club, parenting club, math or science club, and so many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, Simpson is a great school for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition led by the students, is to not step on the seals around campus. The myth goes If you step on one, you will fail your next test. If you watch students pass by the seals, they always manage to walk around them.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson has helped me find myself. By that I mean, I found who I truly am. I am someone who loves to talk and new people. If I were to have chosen another school over Simpson, I may not have known that about myself. I would have been left with my same group of friends from high school, who have moved out of state, or all around the country; In simpler terms, I would not have made any new friends if it weren't for my choosing of Simpson.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, going to the football games, or being involved in the activities on campus. Things like Greek Life, or intermural sports is a great place to start.

    Food and Dining

    Here at Simpson, there are multiple places to enjoy a quick lunch, or sit down for dinner with friends. If you happen to be a picky eater, Simpson has a variety of choices ranging from burgers, to salads, or even a buffet!

    Dorm Life

    Neighbors are always respective to one another. There is always some thing going on in the dorms, from kids studying or hanging out in the lounge, to floor leaders coming up with some fun activity to get everyone closer.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, that is for any college out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Where ever you chose to attend college, make sure you study hard and work on time management.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is a great school to attend if you are going for a small community or a student-teacher connection. The classes range from 15-40 students (and there is always an open spot in class). Simpson provides their students with the education and help needed to make it to their future goals.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely secure on campus. Simpson stays well lit at all hours, and if you ever need a ride anywhere you can just call campus security. They will come pick you up (whether you're on campus or off), and they will take you wherever you ask them to, no questions asked.

    Greek Life

    Rushing at Simpson is a fun experience. There's a sorority/fraternity for everyone who wants to join one, and they stay really involved both on and off campus. I would recommend rushing just to try it. It's fun even if you don't pledge!

    Clubs and Activities

    Simpson may be small, but it is definitely not lacking when it comes to extra-curricular activities! If you want to walk on to a sports team, you can do it here. If you want to join thirty different clubs, go for it! The small size makes Simpson perfect for people who like to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Simpson is great for outgoing, driven students. If you want to succeed, you can make it happen here, and you'll make plenty of friends along the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a ghost who haunts college hall. It's said that she fell and died there way back when. The whole story is on Simpson's website! A tradition on campus is to never step on any of the campus seals. It is said that if you do, you will certainly fail your next exam.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson appears to be pretty expensive, but they hand out plenty of financial aid! It's definitely worth it for the education and preparation for the future that the college gives you.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board at Simpson is always planning fun things for us to do. From dances, to hypnotists, to comedians, to bands, they keep us entertained. Also, there's a nice hiking trail not too far off campus, and Indianola is home to the National Hot-Air Balloon Museum!

    Food and Dining

    For a college, the food is actually pretty good. There are three main places to eat: Pfeifer is buffet style (cheaper, but not as flavorful), ABP is like a sandwich/soup shop (average-priced, and healthy too!), and Tyler's is a grill (a little on the expensive side, and flavorful, but not very healthy). Basically there's something to satisfy any craving you might have.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are about average-sized. The CA's/RA's are all really cool and laid back for the most part. Plus, there's always something going on in the lounges if you get bored. If you want to meet people, just keep your door open and they'll come in.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say Simpson is about average. College classes will be much harder than high school classes no matter where you go, but the professors at Simpson are always available to help you if you just ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    If Simpson is on your college list, come tour the campus! There's no better way to figure out what college is the one for you than going on a visit. Plus, Simpson's campus is really beautiful year round!

    In three sentences

    Simpson is a great place to get your college experience if you're looking for a school that will make you feel important rather than just another number. The faculty are all very friendly and understanding, and the students are the same way. If you're looking for a school that cares about you as an individual, choose Simpson.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your assignments and study.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are a blast!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it would be nice to have more variety.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the time we get along really well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors have high expectations

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid figured out early.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school!

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is never more than five minutes away. There are street lights lighting up every inch of campus, and the small town of Indianola makes you feel completely secure. Other than the random pranks, Simpson is a place where you can feel completely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a ton of activities around campus. Each year, students are given the opportunity of creating new school-sponsored clubs, so if you do not see something you like, then round up your friends and fix it! I don't think you'll run into that problem though, since there is everything from yarn club and comic book club to the radio station and chemistry club along with all of the sports and intramural sports that Simpson offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Simpson is home to a wide variety of students. You would have to want a smaller school and more personalized education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never step on the seal! Stepping on the Simpson seal will make you fail your next test (maybe). Simpson is made almost completely of brick buildings and sidewalks. It gives the campus a cozy feel especially with snow falling in the Iowa winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson is pricey since it is a private school. I think they could use the money in better ways by adding more water fountains or getting more updated dorms. If you choose the right classes, you will get the education that you pay for, but some professors may just let you off a little too easily-- you have to talk to professors themselves to find out.

    What to do for fun

    Indianola is a small town with not much to do. The Simpson Campus Activities Board helps with this a lot. We have hump day has where we have a comedian come one Wednesday a month to perform on campus with no admission fees. CAB also puts on Bingo, dances, and a variety of activities that will keep you entertained. If you are not one to get involved in these and would rather be out clubbing, then Simpson might not be for you since the nearest clubs are at least 25-30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining areas are changing thanks to the new campus center. However, the food still is not that great, and there is not much diversity. Most of the food is american hamburgers, or salad, soup, pastries. The lack of diversity can get pretty tiring.

    Dorm Life

    Like most dorms, Simpson's dorms are small. It is nice to be able to walk anywhere on campus from your room in less than five minutes. However, you cannot move off campus until your senior year, and upper-classmen housing is pretty close quarters for four people.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying is an important part of school, but we tend to do a lot more projects and hands-on activity than most schools do. Being a small school, you have the time and capabilities to do fun activities during classes that help you learn. The fun activities tend to help you grasp the difficult concepts that you will learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax and be yourself. Check out our new Kent Campus Center which is filled with yummy food for your meal plan! Meet with the professors and find which ones you can talk to the best- having a good adviser is crucial! Last, do not sweat not know what you want to do, everyone changes their major, and you will not be alone when you say you've changed it at least five times your freshman year.

    In three sentences

    A small school with a beautiful campus which is a great place to get individual attention. Teachers are cooperative and excited to help you understand the material. Getting to know people is easy since everyone is so friendly and the school is so small.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe here

    Greek Life

    They seem pretty into themselves and are very family like

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of different organizations on campus. From artsy to comic books to rugby

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone to be honest, anyone who is looking to be social

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal, you will fail your next test without a doubt. A lot of creepy spooky stuff on campus late at night, especially the crawl spaces in the freshmen dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    If I could do it again, I would make the same choice in coming here. BUT cost keeps increasing and the scholarships and grants don't, what's up with that?

    What to do for fun

    There are usually plenty to do on campus on the weekends. Movies, bingo, craft projects, comedians, could use more live entertainment. Sporting events are fun to go to and the plays are always good. Intramurals are a must

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food in the dining hall is questionable on what it even is. Breakfast is always amazing though. The lines in the student center can be ridiculous depending on when you go to eat, hope you like waiting.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen and sophomore dorms have been great. Some of the upperclassmen apartments look a little dumpy and could use work, such as more lighting and cleaner in general.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be very challenging so don't get behind or if you have questions speak with your professor right away

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible

    In three sentences

    Very welcoming to all in coming and new students. It is easy to settle in and feel like home. The smaller size means more attention from professors which in the end helps the learning process.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Indianola, IA, enough said.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is the best part about Simpson. Only way to have fun and have an experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs do not do much activities.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are scared of larger schools.

    What to do for fun

    Bingo. There are many other events but hardly anyone goes to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved during high school to stand out.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is small which is both good and bad. You can have great relationships with your professors. However, many students go home during the weekends.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Des Moines. There you have it. There is nothing to do in Indianola. Seriously. For fun, at night time, when my friends and got bored, we would go to the park and swing and stargaze. Which I mean, is totally fun, but come on..

    Food and Dining

    This past year, the Kent Center opened up on campus. That means that there are now three whole places to eat on campus (woo woo!). You've got the Pfiffer Dining Hall which is your cliche cafeteria style place. The food isn't too bad and they change it up quite a bit. Plus, it's a buffet! So you see a lot of the football players stuffing their faces here. Then, in the Kent Center, there is ABP and Tyler's. ABP (Au Bon Pain) is basically a sandwich and soup joint. It's pretty delicious. It is set up like Subway (you can get what you want on a sandwich) and then they have soups that change constantly as well as pastries. Yum! Tyler's is a grill. They have all of the delicious greecy food your heart desires. Everyone tries to eat healthy, but some nights, you just NEED hamburger and fries!

    Dorm Life

    Ah.. Freshman dorms. They really aren't that bad. As long as it's a week day. Freshmen tend to get a little loud on the weekends; so, if you have anything important to do then, I would suggest going to the library. Other than that, the cleaning ladies are really nice and take care of the place.

    Academic Rigor

    If you were that kid in high school who did not have to study for anything and still got great grades (as I was), get ready for a wake up call. Regardless of what school you go to, college is a whole other ball game. Make sure that you realize that if you need to go to a study group, meet with a professor, or get a tutor, that that does NOT make you dumb. Some people were just never challenged enough that they needed to learn how to study. Here's a million dollar tip: Don't try to make it through this on your own. There are a hundred resources for you. USE THEM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in something! I was not involved in much my first year at Simpson and it can get very boring, very fast. However, the classes are pretty demanding so it is very easy to spend most of your time holed up in the library or in your dorm room.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is a small college in a small town. If you are from a big city or are aching for the big city life, then this may not be the college for you. However, I am personally from a big city and have found that a break in a small town like Indianola is nice. But for those days when you are eager to see a little more than what Indianola has to offer, Des Moines is only about 15 minutes away.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always there for you. They're less than two minutes away with the police only five. You've got a problem? They'll fix it.

    Greek Life

    Gotta go Greek? The Greek Life on Campus is one of the Best I've seen, each Fraternity and Sorority is full of lively dwellers who take pride in their group.

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining any of the activities will give you a jolt of excitement as each is full of students who are energetic and love what they do.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds - Lots of Books, Active Gameplayers, and other nerds. Jocks - Every Sport is easily accessible, we have lots of sports equipment and the campus is really close to a YMCA. Everybody Else - Everyone's friendly and there's a movie theater nearby =)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you walk around the campus three times, the spirit of the first Headmaster will visit you in your dreams and offer you a wish.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson has very nice small-size classes, free tutoring, and lots of chances for you to visit your Professor. If you don't get an A, it's your fault! So many chances to succeed, Simpson is the path for success.

    What to do for fun

    Take a walk in the park, join a sport, visit the shops in the area, or get online and join an epic adventure.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! Eat all you can, because after you've left, you're going to miss all the fine food.

    Dorm Life

    Fun and exciting - students always have a time to chill.

    Academic Rigor

    Simpson is hard for a reason, and that reason is to make you better in your subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    Smile! College is supposed to be fun. Join Activites - the more you're involved, the more people you will meet, the happier you'll be. Be early for class! If you're late... Teachers will haunt your nightmares.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is one of the greatest colleges in the world! It has everything from friendly students, helpful teachers to a peaceful setting a small home town. Simpson is the place to be for all those students interested in making it real once they get out in whatever major they choose.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Simpson's Greek life is a great experience for students. With Simpson, they can still have the small college experience, with the Greek life. There are I believe 3 fraternity houses and 3 sorority houses. They may not have as many houses as per say, Iowa State, but they still have that small taste of how Greek life may have gone at a bigger school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Simpson offers many opportunities for students to branch out and get involved with Simpson's intramural program. I know when I go to Simpson, I plan on being involved in their DIII sports, as well as their intramural program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I visited Simpson, there was a giant statue on the campus. It was a head to toe model of the famous painting American Gothic by Grant Wood. I asked our tourist what it was for and she said it travels from different schools as a piece of remade American history and to bring attention to the work of famous Iowan painter, Grant Wood.

    Bang for the buck

    A new list by Washington Monthly names Simpson College the 37th Best bang for the buck liberal arts school... in the nation! This is a remarkable achievement considering the size of Simpson College.

    What to do for fun

    Join an intramural or if you can not find the intramural you are looking for, create one!

    Food and Dining

    Like most colleges, Simpson College has a dinning hall with many different options of food.

    Dorm Life

    I took a tour of the dorms at Simpson college and they were well put together. The rooms are big enough to fit two students, the system for getting a roommate sounds very easy, and fits best to your preference of a roommate. There are still fraternity and sorority houses so students can experience a Greek life

    Academic Rigor

    I am unsure of the academic difficulty on Simpson College. I will be sitting in on a class soon to see what it is like in the classroom of a college class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look no further, Simpson is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    The first time I visited Simpson college, I knew it was going to be a fit for me. It may not be a big school, but everyone there is friendly and welcoming to new students. I am excited for my adventures to come at Simpson College.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts Majors

    Food and Dining

    There's the dining hall and then a lot of little places in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I don't really know much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are tough in their grading but the course load isn't too heavy so you have time to dedicate making your work the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books early. They often don't stock enough for the whole class and then you will have to order your and wait. Take advantage of the activities offered outside of classes.

    In three sentences

    The professors will definitely make you work for your grades. The professors have lots of office time where you can see them for just about anything you need. It is a small campus and not at all overwhelming.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Indianola is a very safe neighborhood and no one but students and staff are ever on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Start off each fall with the stand (stumble) around. Great way to get drunk and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but with an academic rigor like this you are definitely getting the education you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and they will give you all kinds of fun. Sporting events. Fraternity and Sorority events.

    Food and Dining

    Tyler's Grille is a great place to get a burger late at night.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman Dorms are small and useless. Sophomores Dorms give you a little more privacy. Juniors and Seniors get apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Even the 100 level courses will keep you busy all semester long.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come in with a girl/boyfriend. Forget about high school (friends, grades, athletics, etc.).

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is a small college that packs a lot of fun in a small area. The campus may be small but the academic rigor will keep you plenty types of worn out. The professors are more than willing to do anything for you because they want to see you succeed.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is Iowa, its one of the safest places I've ever been. (I'm from Texas.) Also if its late at night you can call security and they will give you rides across campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in a sorority but if that's your cup of tea, you'll love it here. It's cult-ish and every proudly wears their letters and dresses to pin once a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is no shortage of things to do on campus, just take your pick. From environmentalist club to appreciating diversity.

    Great for these types of students

    1-You want a decent education without breaking your wallet 2-You don't know what you want to major in. (You may or may not have told your parents that.) 3-You take charge and plan out what you want to do however this changes from time to time. If any of these describe you Simpson is probably a good fit, it allows a lot of flexibility especially if you take charge of your schedule for yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's nothing too weird on this campus: Breakfast at Midnight, the Stand Around.

    What to do for fun

    Most of us go to Walmart =). There are $4 movies every weekend for the late showings. It's better if you have a car because Des Monies is twenty minutes away. If you have a car there's plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    This is one of the worst features at Simpson. The food is poor and normally takes forever for the staff to make. Hopefully this will have improved by the time you get here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here, especially the freshman and seniors ones are awesome. The freshman ones are a decent size, individually temperature controlled with laundry on every floor. They have apartment style living for upper class men which includes a living room and kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Simpson is mediocre at best. Since it is a private college the same class can be very different depending on who is teaching it. So you if you pay attention and pick your teachers right, you can get by doing minimal work. I see it as a flaw in the system.

    Tips for prospective students

    1)If you are going to come to Simpson, learn the names of the buildings; its the only way anyone will know what you are talking about. 2) Ask around about teachers. Because its a private college teachers have a lot of lead-way. Some are reasonable, some refuse to give out good grades. 3) Know how you learn. Take five seconds and google a learning style test. It'll save you a lot of heartache and potentially unless study sessions.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is great if you want a personal education at an affordable price. Scholarships are offered to practically everyone. The facullty is not the best of the best however they will know your name. A good school if you are looking for the cheapest price with a decent product.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Campus Security works to maintain a safe environment for the campus community, while also educating and involving campus members in safety and security issues. SARA - provides 24/7 advocacy services to anyone in need of support and/or assistance due to sexual assault. SARA is a campus organization aimed at creating greater awareness about sexual assault.

    Greek Life

    Fraternity and sorority life can foster the education of the whole person: intellectually, socially, and spiritually. Brotherhood and sisterhood, leadership, philanthropy, and scholarship are but a few of the areas in which the fraternity and sorority community at Simpson aspires to achieve excellence. Greek Brotherhood & Sisterhood: A sense of unity and friendship forms among members of an individual chapter, as well as among everyone in the same chapter across the nation. The bonds of brotherhood and sisterhood are forged throughout the member's active participation in the chapter and last for a lifetime. Leadership: Greeks are highly involved in student leadership positions at Simpson. Membership in Greek organizations provides excellent opportunities to get involved, assume responsibility and develop leadership skills. Philanthropy: Simpson Greeks contribute many hours each semester to philanthropies and service projects. The opportunities you will encounter to give of yourself for the sake of helping others are endless. From children's hospitals to cancer foundations, Simpson Greeks are actively supporting worthy causes. Scholarship: At Simpson, one of the most important aspects of Greek Life is scholarship. Good scholarship is a prerequisite to becoming an initiated member of a Greek organization. Greeks at Simpson have consistently proven their academic abilities by their recognition and involvement in campus honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities for students, both in and out of the classroom. One of the many things we take pride in, is the level of involvement of our students, whether it is in a social or honorary group or through involvement in greek life or through one of the many programs offered by intramurals or religious life. At the end of the spring semester, we had more than 70 groups registered on campus and we are sure that one of those 70 groups will be the match for you. Interesting groups: Comic Book Club - for any student who knows, loves, or has been interested in learning about comics. Members can be interested in any genres: comic, manga, anime, etc. Humans vs. Zombies (HvZ) - a game of tag. All players begin as humans except the few who are chosen to be original zombies. All zombies are the it players; their goal is to tag humans to turn them into zombies. HvZ games on campus are organized once a semester. The Religious Life Community - is a student-led collection of ministries striving to intentionally promote and share a spirit of love with others on campus and beyond. Bible studies, mission trips, retreats, shared meals, worship and prayer are only a few of the opportunities offered to students, encouraging them to engage with one another and develop a sense of abundant life. Simpson's PRIDE - seeks to promote a sense of unity and diversity encompassing the student and faculty bodies, especially as it pertains to the issue of public acceptance of alternative sexual identities. In addition to providing support and community for those of alternative sexualities, PRIDE makes it its mission to reach out to those members of the student and faculty bodies unaccustomed to issues of sexuality, with which many labor in silence and anxiety. WTF - Where's The Fun, they put on Palooza's of all sorts and kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus Day: During the spring semester, classes are cancelled for one day to allow Simpson students and faculty to celebrate Campus Day. Campus Day is a long-standing tradition that encourages everyone to participate in the community service projects both on and off campus. Simpson Seal: Walking on the Simpson seal embedded in the sidewalk outside College Hall is considered bad luck. It's believed those who step on the seal will fail their next test. Countless students sidestep, hop and jump the seal as they walk through campus, especially during finals week. Walking Through the Gates: As the college kicks off the new year each fall, the freshman class walks through the red brick gates in front of College Hall to start their Simpson Experience. In late spring, the senior class ceremoniously marches through the same gates, symbolizing a full circle journey on graduation day. Yell Like Hell: During Homecoming each year, students pack into Field House to show off their Simpson pride during Yell Like Hell pep rally, where campus groups compete fiercely against each other for the best stomp/cheer routine.

    Bang for the buck

    In fact, 99 percent of Simpson students receive some form of financial aid. Their goal is to make sure financial barriers never keep bright, motivated students from attending Simpson. Simpson offers a variety of merit- and need-based scholarships. Financial assistance also comes in the form of grants, loans and work programs.

    What to do for fun

    Our Campus Activities Board (CAB) is amazing! They're always bringing in comedian's (Hump day Has), musicians for concerts, BINGO, and other exciting activities. There's never a dull week! Plus, they're free to students! Can't beat that!

    Food and Dining

    Although, there is a little variety of food, you can manage it by being creative with your options. But it can get boring after a while. The food isn't as bad a you think, according to students and staff it is way better than a few years ago. And, the food staff is always improving. We have a main dining hall, Pfieffer, where many students eat. Then, in our student center, we have Tyler's Grille, Au Bon Pain, Red Mango, and Millie's (aka Starbucks).

    Dorm Life

    Kresge Hall- the oldest and largest residence hall on the Simpson College campus. It was built in 1949, had an addition completed in 1961, and was newly renovated in 2001. Beginning in Fall 2005, Kresge provides living accommodations for 215 first-year men and women on four floors. While the building is co-ed, it is split into single-sex wings. While mainly comprised of two-person rooms, some triples and quads exist. Each wing has community bath and laundry facilities. The first floor houses the main lounge, Area Coordinator office, SHC apartment and vending area. The basement has the computer room, pool table, exercise equipment, kitchen, laundry facilities, and a lounge area. Located in the heart of campus, Kresge Hall is adjacent to Pfeiffer Dining Hall and near Dunn Library. Kresge Hall is a substance-free building (no smoking, alcohol, etc.) Barker Hall - was built in 1954, renovated in 2002, and had a 76-bed addition completed in Fall 2005. It is located at 603 N Buxton Street. With the addition, Barker Hall will house 189 first-year men and women in a variety of double, triple, and quad rooms on 3 floors. The building in split into 6 single-sex wings, and each wing has community bath facilities . The first floor has a main lounge area, while the lower level houses an additional large lounge space, a laundry and vending area, and a computer room. The hall kitchen is on the second floor. Also located in the heart of campus, Barker Hall is adjacent to Pfeiffer Dining Hall and near Dunn Library. Barker Hall is a substance-free building (no smoking, alcohol, etc.) For our upper division students we offer a variety of housing options in the residence halls, theme houses, Greek houses, and apartment Student staff â?? Each year, Residence Life hires 36 students to be on our staff. The positions are a main resource for our residential students and a key leadership position on campus. Area Councils â?? In the first-year area and Buxton/Picken, there are student councils, which help host activities for the residents in those buildings, as well as provide input on upgrades within those spaces. RHA (Residence Hall Association) â?? RHA is a group of students who focus on providing large-scale events for campus, help guide Residence Life on improvements and upgrades, and represent the residential students. Simpson College stresses living environments that facilitate personal growth, all full-time unmarried students who do not live at home or with immediate relatives are required to live in college residential facilities or Greek housing. Exceptions to this rule are made for seniors, students over the age of 23, and veterans.

    Academic Rigor

    We have unique course requirements which you would know as general education. Rather than having to take two math courses, one science, foreign language, etc. before you are able to work on courses towards your major. This is how Simpson is: your requirements consists of engaged citizenship (art, diversity, global perspectives, etc.) Then within that you have embedded skills (critical thinking, collaborative leadership, oral communication, etc.) What I enjoy about this is that you can take the courses you want and need to for you major/minor(s) and still receive credit for those areas. Also, you get new perspectives on life. All of the professors teach the courses there's no Teaching Assistants. Also, they all have PHDs in whatever they're teaching. Another thing that is beneficial is they have required office hours (10hrs/week) where they want students to come and speak with them about either their courses, plans for the future, or life in general. They are not as scary as you think â?? they're human and understanding if things happen.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, serious about school

    What to do for fun

    With Simpson being in such a small town, there really isn't much to do. There are always parties if you want to find them, but its never too crazy. A lot of people leave for the weekends, but I always seem to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of food options, but they are continuously trying to incorporate more choices into their options. The dining hall is not my favorite, there always seems to be the same thing for every meal. But walmart is a short walk away and the Kent Center has a few other food options that offer a little more variety.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are very spacious and comfortable. They are relatively quiet, and always safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the small class sizes, its not really possible to slack off. Professors give ample opportunities to succeed and will notice if you are falling behind. Simpson is different than big Universities - you can't skip class unnoticed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, talk to an admissions counselor. They are so helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you get all of your questions answered before moving in, and that your transition to college is a smooth one.

    In three sentences

    Simpson College is an all-around great private school that allows for personal connections with professor, plenty of opportunities, and is a great learning environment. The benefits of a small college are so great, and my experience at Simpson has been nothing short of great.