Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Simpson University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are many different types at this school; to come to this school requires a statement of faith, though certainly there are those here who are not truly Christian. With everyone wanting to be your friend and wanting to sit with you at lunch, it is difficult to avoid finding people you fit in with. I think anyone can fit in here but those who will truly thrive are the optimistic, outgoing, highly-motivated people who aren't afraid to ask questions and interract with the teachers yet also are okay with being swarmed with people every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Apply early; I have full tuition covered currently and I even missed the early registration date. You can probably almost get a full ride if you qualify for early registration. 2) Visit the school; there is an event called Genesis weekend and it is a lot of fun and will help you get a much better grasp of the nearly unbelievable school atmosphere. 3) Genuinely try and care about your studies while you're there; it's hard not to learn something while you're their but if you actually put effort into it there is a mind-boggling storehouse of information and experience to gain from.

    Bang for the buck

    You're pretty much guaranteed some sort of scholarship when you come here. You have a 80 - 90% chance of getting full tuition and Room & Board isn't too much more to worry about. I missed a few scholarships because of how late I applied but if you apply early you have so much more scholarship availability than if you miss early registration.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are all very sweet and genuinely concerned about you and your life. The resources to grow in your faith here are clearly present and an encouraging atmosphere makes it fun rather than feeling like a duty. The other students are very welcoming; they treat you like family as soon as you're out of your car orientation day. The students help each other out to try to make sure no one gets left behind.

    Academic Rigor

    Though the teachers may not be Nobel Prize winners, all the teachers are still very knowledgeable; my teacher, whom I have for my political science classes, used to be an attorney. My other professors, whether for General Ed or for my major (Social Science), all are very involved in my life. They bring opportunities to me before I even ask them for any. They have truly helped my growth both as a student and as a Christian. They enjoy their job and excel at it; you have to try hard to not learn anything from this school. A fountain of knowledge is at your fingertips and the teachers care about trying to relate to you on a personal level.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools - you're a name, not a number. Students desiring to grow in their walk with God - you'll be challenged to grow daily. Students who like community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. There's a scholarship for applying early! Come visit campus. Meeting tons of people from Simpson is what confirmed for me that Simpson is where I wanted to go to school.

    Bang for the buck

    Simpson isn't the cheapest school, but it's well worth the price you pay. They offer lots of financial aid too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small community here at Simpson. The student body is like a giant family, everyone is encouraging and friendly. The campus is small but beautiful.

    Am learning a lot

    Class sizes at Simpson are much smaller than at large public universities, which allows for more personalized, individual help from professors. The professors here are genuinely interested in what they teach, and they want you to gain a passion for what you learn, too.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has everything I'm looking for-teachers who care, classes that sound amazing, and focuses on community involvement. Visiting the campus made me feel like I was already a part of the student body. Anyone looking for that should definitely apply here!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is getting better, but its still cafeteria food. It has its good days and bad days. One of the problems we had with the cafeteria was having the same food over and over again that many of us got fed up with it.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone respects each other, honors boundaries and pays attention in being intentfull in all that is said and done.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great balance between keeping a good pace and making sure students get the material. Good amount of assignments ranging from group activities, research papers and creative interpretations/ presentations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early. Don't need to worry about getting into classes as there is plenty of room.

    In three sentences

    Love it. Although it is a smaller, private and christian school it has a lot to offer on and off campus. Love the professors and people that work at the University.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety patrols throughout the campus, day and night, and the women are given whisltes to carry on their keychains. Our part of Redding is relatively crime-free.

    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a pond that has a couple of bench-swings around it. It has ducks, fishing (catch and release), and no swimming. The campus itself has many trees, different flowers, and a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very high-quality, but it is also very pricey. Being a private school, the cost of attendance is in the $30,000/year range, but the financial aid office is very helpful in trying to get you the best finacial aid package possible. The professors are amazing and try to explain the coursework in a way that you understand. Almost all of the professors also try to incorporate the Christian faith into their classes, and it is amazing to me that we can pray at the start of class everyday. The housing is fairly modern, the class material is up-to-date, and the school is in the process of designing a new Science and Nursing building. The campus is pretty small, but we have room to grow. The ASB just finished remodeling a room to use as a weight room, which is now open to all students.

    What to do for fun

    Simpson offers intramural sports such as indoor soccer, basketball, and volleyball, we have special events throughout the year that sometimes involve the community in Redding, and school sporting events are full of energy and cheering fans. We are only a few minutes away from the Sundial Bridge, the $2 movie theater, bowling, WaterWorks water park, the Shasta Mall, and (farther away) the Shasta Caverns, Whiskeytown Lake, and Burney Falls hiking trails. For fun, many of my friends gather at Dairy Queen for ice cream and board games (open til midnight).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, which is referred to as The Caf is all-you-can-eat buffet-style. The food is pretty good, but can get boring about half-way through the year. The kitchen staff is open to trying new recipes that students request and offer vegan-friendly dishes. We have a salad bar, panini bar, cereal bar, two different hot food counters, an expedition line where the chef cooks your food made-to-order, and a dessert case. We are also only a few minutes from a variety of restaurants and fast-food places.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms! Just about everyone is very friendly and the majority of my closest friends I met in my hall. We get together about once a week for a late-night break from homework with coffee and different activities. We have prayer leaders on each floor that will pray for you whether you need it or not and are great people to turn to for comfort!

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the professors have fairly challenging coursework. However, the professors are more than willing to help you if you just ask. The average GPA is fairly high, although I'm not quite sure exactly what the average is. Academic acheivement is a very high priority of Simpson, so they also offer tutors in just about every subject through the Academic Success Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is for you if you are willing to work hard. Many of the classes will be very difficult if you come with the attitude that you can just slide by with C's. The tuition is costly, so unless you have a small fortune, you can't afford to barely slide by. While the academics are challenging, the atmosphere of the school is amazing. Students gather all over campus to pray for and encourage each other. Chapel attendance is mandatory. Apply early! If you can, do the Early Deposit Program that is due in March. It is only $100 and it gives you priority in financial aid awarding!

    In three sentences

    This is a private Christian university with the focus being on putting missionaries and other educated professionals out into the world to create change. There are only about 1100 students, making this a tight-knit community. We have an excellent faculty that go above and beyond to not only educate their students, but to help guide them in their spiritual life and get to know the students personally and individually.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    Admissions counselors were really helpful at finding scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    Food was a buffet, it was phenomenal!

    Dorm Life

    3 girls dorms, 2 guys dorms, really big emphasis on community.

    Academic Rigor

    I sat in on a New Testament Literature class, It was really interesting!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed the visit, It is a small christian college in a beautiful scenic area. The chapel service was awesome, so many people there love God! The food was delicious

  • 05/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    bible club and chapel

    Tips for prospective students

    Always put God first. Then keep on working hard in school so you could reach your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    I will get a job after I graduated from Simpson University

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, I enjoy going to Simpson University and making new friends.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes, I will learn a lot at Simpson University because God has a plan for me.

  • 03/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The types of students who should attend Simpson are those who are very religious, serious in their study, want to be close to God, want to have a family that gone help you and who want to be push to the high level of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simpson University is not a party school. It's a place for students to study and learned. They help you better off your future and it's a diverse school in the heart eventhough the population of white students is high but they are all friendly and peaceful to you. I enjoy been there at Simpson.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very friendly and diverse environment to all people.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I enjoy been there. It make me feel like i was at home.

    Will learn a lot

    Simpson University is a very friendly christain environment for serious students and a place to learned. My Visit at Simpson University was very encouraging. Students and staffs at Simpson were very friendly and they welcome you with warm and happy welcome. They make you feel part of the community and the school.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who seek to grow in their relationship with God and others. Also, Simpson is for any student who wants an incredible education with sold Christian-based education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek first the kingdom and all these will be added unto you. Seeking God and working hard will benefit any student that attends Simpson. Take advantage of the Chapel services and the opportunities to get to know the staff and students because community is a very important part of life of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The education, the campus, and the student to staff ratio is well worth the money that I am paying to attend this school!

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel priviledged to go to Simpson. The spiritual and encouraging environment has made me feel confident and spurred on to become more like Jesus. The kindness and compassion of the staff and student leaders has truly made my life at Simpson very enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    Going to a college where academic excellence and spiritual growth is top priority has challenged me to grow. The classes offered are taught by very intelligent and inspiring teachers that have expanded my thinking.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and very quick to act. It is a very small campus making access to security easy and the safety of the campus well enforced.

    Greek Life

    I really am not aware of one!

    Clubs and Activities

    Very active campus life! They are always having events, of course they are Christian based, but it is well worth it!

    Great for these types of students

    Christian based learners

    Bang for the buck

    My husband was transferred here from Texas, where the people are very friendly and easy to get along with. I was nervous that this California school would portray the labeled Californian attitude, but to my surprise, I felt I was back in Texas. Everyone from students, professors, and administration are extremely wonderful and easy to talk to, as well as work with.

    What to do for fun

    They offers plenty of group activities on campus. They are great at providing alternative activities to help the student get relief from their daily studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a University that is academically challenging and spiritually focused, then this University is a great choice. Evaluate the University's programs to see if there is a fit, and come to the campus to see the very welcoming and supportive atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    A very safe, ethical, and academically supportive institution, the focuses not only on education, but the individuals spiritual strength. The environment is very conducive to learning and fellow students are very friendly and supportive as well.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Simpson is under great protection as we are serviced by men who work night and day to keep criminals and unnecessary guests off the campus. Our safety is their priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Campus Activities Board is a student led organization that throws activities for the student body, like the beginning of the year dance hoedown, the Airband competition, Exposure Film Festival, The 5k Resolution run, Nitelife Student Talent show. We also have many clubs from the Math Club which throws board game nights to the Asian Fellowship Club which accepts all members of society, Asian or not.

    Bang for the buck

    Around the town, there are places to play and hangout like the one dollar theater which plays movies that are too new to be on DVD but too old to be in big theaters, we have a shopping mall, a paintball field, laser tag and game center, recreational parks, the Sacramento river and beautiful sundial bridge. We also have a delicious pizzeria that has karaoke. Frozen yogurt shops and Dutch Bros. coffee company are prominent here. A local gym has given us an exclusive student deal, $109.99 i believe for the academic school year. That gym has all your gym necessities for 109.99 dollars for 8 months out of the year.

    What to do for fun

    There's the weight room for the heavy lifters, there's a lot of space to go for jogs and runs, there are basketball courts, inside and outside, the gym is usually free and open for students who want to play volleyball, indoor soccer, basketball. We have grass fields for soccer and football, etc. The library is a great place for reading a good book or a silent board game. We have piano rooms for those who like to tickle the ivories.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Not the greatest, but I cant complain, especially for its size. The expedition, i believe it is called, is where a chef cooks fresh food in front of you. That is my favorite place to go in the cafeteria, but the lines get pretty long. Most of the food I eat, although it's tough finding healthy combinations. The salad and sandwich bars are always open. Usually plenty of variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun. Although there are always going to be some of the young ruffians who enjoy breaking rules or dislike authority. I cant really complain about housing or room arrangements. I love the people I live with like my brothers and the dorm itself is full of men, most of them who are looking for the same thing as yourself, clarity in life choices, God, and a girlfriend. The dormitory is safe, usually clean, and it has cable. Dorm regulations are decent and understandable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are always so kind. They are very knowledgeable of what they are teaching. At times, the studying and the lectures and the reading can seem redundant and/or tiring, it all pays off. The teachers love to challenge you, but they never stray from making class a little bit fun. Bad time management will give you a tougher and unpleasant academic experience, but good time management will allow you to get your work done and allow for a lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good friends and be a good friend. You'll want to be able to count on others as well as be counted on. In college, you're going to learn the be independent and at times be depended on. Surround yourselves with the right people, and you will become the right person. Do not be afraid or intimidated by the people around you; be the first to introduce yourself and break the ice or you'll be left thinking about what relationship could've been. Read your Bible daily. It is good to be in the word as much as you can for through it, you are being fed spiritually.

    In three sentences

    From the get-go, Simpson University provides a welcoming and loving community and continues to do so throughout your college career there. Being a small school, it allows you to make meaningful and long-lasting friendships with students and teachers. Simpson University is beautiful and a lot of care and thought is put into the campus beautification.

  • 05/21/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 6 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BIBLE CLUBS. CHAPEL.

    Tips for prospective students

    PUT GOD FIRST. HAVE FAITH THAT YOU CAN DO IT. REACH THROUGH THE NEXT STEP.

    Bang for the buck

    WHEN I GET A FULL TIME JOB, THEN I WILL GET PAY MORE. IT IS A GREAT OPPORTUNITY.

    Will enjoy being here

    YES. I WILL ENJOY BEING AT SIMPSON UNIVERSITY. I WILL HANG OUT WITH FRIENDS AND TALK TO THEM ABOUT GOD.

    Will learn a lot

    I AM A CHRISTIAN. I WILL LEARN A LOT. GOD HAVE A PERFECT PLAN FOR ME TO GO TO THAT COLLEGE.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With lots of scholarships provided the tuition shouldn't be too steep. However, you have to do something to get the scholarships! =)

    Will enjoy being here

    As it has the majors and programs I'm interested in, I'm sure I would greatly enjoy being here.

    Will learn a lot

    This school looks like it provides high quality classes which I would expect to learn a lot from.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    everybody is very friendly and helpful

    Bang for the buck

    It rates with other Universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I could not image getting my degree from somewhere else. I love it here.

    Am learning a lot

    this is a great university. Professors really care about their students and have a wealth of knowledge.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was fine, but I think they need a little more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in a dorm over night and I felt at home with the guys there. It was a good environment and it was lots of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I attended a music history class and we started singing beautiful songs from hundreds of years ago. The professor was great and even asked my opinion on a subject. It seems like a very hands-on type of college.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place for someone like me who wants to go a small college with an strong Christian environment.The people are nice and the professors helpful. The chapel sessions are awesome and the weather is perfect.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing unsafe ever happens here.

    Greek Life

    *enter bible joke here*

    Clubs and Activities

    Very student oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a paint the rock ceremony, where students get the chance to vandalize a huge rock on campus. Even though it's not an official tradition, the staff tends to turn the other cheek.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Disc Golf! If you're an outdoorsy person, there's ton to do locally. Love it.

    Food and Dining

    School food...

    Dorm Life

    Can't say.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your finances! If you've got a career you like, then school will take care of itsself. However, finances sneak under the radar and before you know it, you may be paying $7,500 a semester. Ouch!

    In three sentences

    Phenominal teachers/subjects, terrible financial aid.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it is a christian based university, so mostly christian students. great foe nursing and political science majors. as well as students interested in theology and missionary work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    close to the Sacramento river and Mt. Shasta many traditions on campus are usually game related, as in they are games the students play with the entire campus throughout the year

    What to do for fun

    there are more than enough activities on campus to participate in. there is also plenty of outdoor activities that anyone can get involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared to learn and grow as a well rounded individual.

    In three sentences

    the area is absolutely beautiful! Not to mention the sense of community both on and off campus with not only the students but also the teachers and staff is just incredible. i would highly recommend Simpson University.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for a person pursuing God and wanting to grow spiritually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are awesome activities such as stick-em, airband, and nightlife.

    Bang for the buck

    The academics are amazing. The teachers are engaging and the students are lively. There are many opportunities as well.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the Sundial bridge, the $2 movie theater, Whiskey town lake, and much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in contact with an administration counselor. They are amazing. They help through all the processes and I suggest visiting here to feel the atmosphere around our school.

    In three sentences

    It is Godly, beautiful, fun and have everything you want in a school.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety officers are fun and friendly and very timely when assistance is needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Simpson consists of those taking Greek as a language for Bible learning. We get to learn a new language and have GREEKENDS.

    Clubs and Activities

    SAC or Social Action Committee is a club that focuses on social justice by spreading awareness and talking about the issues. BSU (black student union), VIDA (hispanic club) and Asian Fellowship are the ethnic clubs on campus that at times team up and throw huge dance parties after big campus events like Airband.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to grow in your relationship with Christ Jesus there are two chapel services offered every week as well as many awesome churches in the area such as Bethel Church (home church of Jesus Culture/Kim Walker/Bill Johnson/Kris Valloton) and CMA churches like The Stirring (Nathan Edwardson) and Neighborhood Church.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clock tower at Simpson plays music during special occasions like Chapel that makes one feel like they are in Harry Potter when they walk by it. Airband and Nite Life are two talent show like events that are really funny and entertaining. Exposure is a film festival that showcases the very talented film makers on campus. We also have other events like Stick 'em which is a campus wide event of tag. Each dorm throws a specific this dorm only exclusive event like Club Irwin or the Blackout.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities to become a student leader and get paid for your leadership position. There are also so many other opportunities for employment on campus and off.

    What to do for fun

    Redding, CA offers a variety of outdoor related opportunities like Mt. Shasta or Lake Whiskey. There are many hot spots in Redding like the Sundial Bridge, restaurants like West Side Pizza and View 202, and events like Love Lounge and The Rooster Party.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf food is not exactly like your mom's home style cooking but it does offer some quality meals.

    Dorm Life

    You will make friends for life here at Simpson. Your friends will become your family and you will learn and grow together. There are many fun dorm events throughout the year and community is built with many other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Like at any university, academic rigor depends on which major you are taking. Simpson offers a range of classes and while some majors require more upper division classes for graduation, the point of higher education is to be educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    In choosing to go to any college or university you should definitely visit the campus first and check out the dorms. Simpson has a beautiful campus and adequate dorm facilities.

    In three sentences

    Simpson University is a Christ focused higher education university. Community is prioritized through on and off campus living through many campus activities and events throughout the year. The professors here are very personal and show deep care and concern for their students.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE campus safety! They work 24/7! They are on call 24/7! the very first day of college as a freshman, you are forced to put their number in your contact list! :) If you are far from your dorm, it is dark, and you are alone, give them a call. They will actually come to you quickly and give you a ride to your dorm! If it is raining, you got groceries, and you are far from your dorm alone, call them! They will come pick you right up! They are very friendly and awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way too many clubs and activities to even start! Come and see for yourself! They have clubs going from Drama Club, Asian Fellowship Club, Black Student Union, Biology Club, Math Club, Running Club, etc. Whenever these clubs have activities, all are welcomed!

    Great for these types of students

    If you have respect for yourself and love for yourself as well as others then this place is great for you! We have a no drinking alcohol policy while you are an enrolled student. :) We also have a no drug policy as well. If you like to feel safe, this is the place! We have campus security working 24/7! :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a forest right behind us. :) It is a small one but I love that part of nature added to my campus! We also have a small little fountain and a small little bridge! There is a story that whom you pass on that bridge will become your husband or wife. Simpson University also has the Ring by Spring tradition! Many Many couples have gotten engaged by spring time in the past at this college! Been happening in the past, still happening now! :)

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers a good amount of work study jobs. If you know someone who already has a job on campus, it would be easier to get a job through your friend's recommendation! But, there are many jobs off campus as well! Just 10 minutes off campus are where all the shops and restaurants are at to apply for!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. For example, climb the rock wall! :) Or go running at the trail nearby! There are also a gym near by as well as a weight/work out room on campus! There's also a bonfire camp right in the middle of campus for approved bonfires for events. There are many annual events held on campus that are a ton of fun to go to!

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic! The chefs here at Simpson University really do their best everyday to feed us students! They take our suggestions and opinions seriously as well! The cafeteria also have many variety of foods and options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful! One experience you wouldn't want to miss! We all live as a community here! There are girls' dorms and boys' dorms. But yes opposite sex dorms do host activities for one another too!

    Academic Rigor

    This college is serious about your education and helping you to get where you want to be! The professors will be tough on you and quite strict but if you get to know them they will become your friends. Though they are strict, they are merciful and kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to strengthen your relationship with God, then COME ON! If you are not a believer, COME ON ANYWAYS! Just make sure you do everything you need to do on time! If you are a hard worker, do not worry about financials because it is well worth it here! They will do everything they can to help you with any financial problems! This is a small college but I love it! The classes are about 40 students MAX! The professors know you by name! :)

    In three sentences

    Simpson University is the safest private christian college I know of with the most caring and most intelligent professors around! They are so graceful and kind! I love the environment of the school and the town!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe place. Out of the town and have great security.

    Greek Life

    NONE.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs including cultural, sports, hobbies, and fellowships.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to strengthen their faith, students who wants to graduate on time, and for those who are looking to have life long relationships and network.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Christian school. So much grace and love from the students, staff and faculty.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very beautiful. Though the school is small there are many people from different parts of the nation and the world. We have many foreign exchange students who makes the school diverse.

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing, hiking, various sport events, kayaking and water adventures at the nearby lake, Mount Shasta and Lassen are only an hour away. Snowboarding, skiing, sledding.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria needs improvement.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay. The dorm life is lively and much more personal because of the size of the student body. But there are no parties.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect good performances from their students and have many programs to help those who are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and meet people. The community can really determine your choose of attending.

    In three sentences

    Very good environment for learning and spiritual growth in Christianity. The Professors are the highlight of the school because they are all very intelligent, personal, and they really about our future. The demographics and wilderness surrounding Simpson is quite remarkable.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great campus safety working around the clock. Most people personally know the officers and junior officers. They are friendly and make you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, unless you choose to learn Biblical Greek or graduate with honors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many clubs, but the activities are many if you choose to become a very social student.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those looking to be Musicians, Nurses, or Theologians.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great education. It is a private school, so it does cost a little bit more, but if you are a transfer Simpson might be perfect for you! I was, and it is.

    What to do for fun

    At Simpson there are many dorm and campus events that happen weekly and monthly. Other than that Redding city is surrounded by mountains and lakes. There is a large amount of fun things to do in the outdoors here in Redding, if that is what you want.

    Food and Dining

    The amount and quality of food that is provided for the money at this school is phenomenal. I've never seen a better meal plan. I have worked for the cafeteria and coffee shop on campus they are both wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be better. I only stayed in the dorm for a year. There is a wonderful community there that will encourage students and help keep a person in check both academically and spiritually if one allows it. It was a great experience, but I choose to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program in which you study. This is a very prestigious school. Any Music degree takes an extremely large amount of work. A Theology, Science or Medical degree also produce very well rounded and extremely knowledgeable students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early before for extra scholarships. If you're a musician, the prestigious music department would love to have you! If you're interested in a spirit filled and ministry department Simpson has a great one. The other programs are great, but I have encountered these the most.

    In three sentences

    Simpson University is an encouraging community of academics who desire to see you thrive in your experience with higher education. Proudly employing some of the best in each field of study offered, this learning institution is quickly expanding its horizons of influence and prestige. Simpson University boasts in a beautiful campus, and an inspiring board of professors and leaders who desire to help students both academically and spiritually.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is available 24/7 and is helpful in all situations. Simpson is a safe enviroment for all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many fun activities that student life organizes for the students such as, intramural sports, talent shows and dances. There also many clubs available to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Simpson University is great for students who prefer a small Christian atmosphere and want to not only gain knowledge in a particular profession, but to also strengthen their lives spiritually.

    What to do for fun

    It is fun to hang out with friends and play ball together on the field. There are also many safe places to run around campus. Most students enjoy going to the lake that is near campus to swim and hang out in the sun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Healthy choices are available such as a salad bar everyday. The cooks/staffs have many positive relationships with students, making the cafeteria a friendly atmosphere to be in.

    Dorm Life

    In the dorm there are many areas that allow room for studying, lounging and socializing. Restrictions on curfew and boy/girl interaction are well controlled. Overall, the dorm is a quiet, fun and clean place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors excel at pushing their students academically and spiritually. Therefore it is important to have a good relationship with a professor/coach so that they may push us beyond our individual limits in order to get better at something. Athletes are given more academic assistance and encouraged to keep a standard GPA in order to be eligible to perform their sport.

    Tips for prospective students

    1-Take as much college credited classes in high school as you can. It will really pay off. 2- Don't buy text books too far in advance. Some professors don't require a text book. 3- Take it easy your first semester. Too many credits your first year can be overwhelming. 4- Get to know your professors. They are extremely helpful. 5- Lastly, set guidelines for yourself. Know your limits because it is easy to carried away and distracted.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a pretty good campus safety department. They are always on watch for anything unsafe. We can call them 24/7 if we ever need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many fun clubs at my school. I am involved in Asian Fellowship. In this club, we sing, pray, play games, do community service, eat food, and so much more! There are also a ton of other clubs (i.e. drama, black student union, Hispanic) . Also, we have the Campus Activity Board (CAB). They put on fun events such as Nite Life, Exposure, Airband, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition that we have on campus in which a couple walks on a bridge and then is apparently destined to get engaged. We also have something called Ring by Spring where students who are in a relationship usually get engaged before spring. I don't like these traditions.

    What to do for fun

    My school is SO fun! There are so many outstanding activities that they put on for us. We have a rock climbing wall that is available for use every Wednesday and Friday. They put on a carnival last semester with tons of games and food. There are volleyball and basketball games to attend. My school is the best!

    Food and Dining

    The food at my school is wonderful. We have a big cafeteria with tons of options. They always mix it up and have different meals. They have a pad thai station where a cook prepares thai noodles just the way you like them, a sundae bar, an omelette station, a salad bar, and so much more! The coffee is wonderful. All of the staff is friendly and cater to our every need. I love the food at my school!

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life was awful the first year. I opted for a random roommate because of course I didn't know anyone yet. My roommate was HORRIBLE. So my advice for prospective students would be to get to know another prospective student so that you don't get a random roommate. Otherwise, the activities that the resident advisers put on were wonderful. We had a backyard party, movie night, spa night, lake day, clothing exchange, prayer leader meetings, and much more. I loved all the events put on by my dorm!!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes so far have been fairly mild to me. I think that it kind of depends on which major the student chooses. I chose nursing and the classes aren't easy, I'll put it that way.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective students out there, Simpson is a wonderful school for anyone who loves Jesus Christ and is interested in receiving a great education.

    In three sentences

    Simpson is so fun! I love my university. Faith, family, and friends.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is normally something going on on campus. From atheletic events to jazz concerts.

    Food and Dining

    It is cafeteria food so it isn't great but it is decent. Except the one time someone found a worm in their food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but they are very nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult but not outrageous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go hear for a medical degree if you are not going into nursing. Simpson is a Christian school but does not shove it down your throat. Try your hardest in this school because it is difficult.

    In three sentences

    I love Simpson, they are very kind and success oriented. However, I wish they had more options for majors. I want to stay here but they do not have what I want to do.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are big on campus safety. They even have away to get an exscort to your dorm or car so u aren't alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from like history club,music, drama, game day activities and many more. Almost all sports. Also have activities for parents grandparents and siblings on certain times of the year

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Redding California has pond, geese, bridge where a lot of people meet there future mate. Quiet places, walking path commuter lounge coffee place bookstore. You can order a gift from home which could be coffee basket, movie, birthday or just because basket and they all love getting these fun baskets.

    Bang for the buck

    I think its average price for a private college

    What to do for fun

    Many activities and things to choose from. You can do different things daily, weekly, monthly never a dull moment unless you choose not to take part. You get to choose what where and when you want to join in.

    Food and Dining

    Excelent and fair pricing lots to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    It was tough my first semester to balance everything. So u just have to figure 15 units is 15 hours of homework per week and adjust according to your abilities and difficulties of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if the person u ask can't answer the questions then they know who can and will direct u to them. Everyone has a email or number to reach them by.

    In three sentences

    The staff are very helpful kind and carring. They make sure you have everything help with forms and anything else u may need. Nothing is too big or too small they can't find a salution for.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is the best. They will walk with you from your vehicle late at night if you're afraid. They go around campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Food and Dining

    Caf food is okay on certain days such as Quesadilla Monday, Pad Thai Wednesday, and Stir Fry Thursday.

    Dorm Life

    There are two male dorms, three female dorms, and one co-ed dorm (for upperclassmen only). There are a lot of events and activities that the dorms put on. Thompson (male dorm) holds a haunted house that will really make you scream! Cooper (female dorm) and Measell (co-ed dorm) held a garden/tea party and the ladies dressed semi-formal. Dorm life is the best way to get connected to Simpson.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to meet the priority deadline! You can have your first pick of dorm rooms and classes.

    In three sentences

    Simpson University is a private Christian college. Everyone here supports you with your walk with God and they are very friendly. The faculty are very understanding and your professors will know you by name.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great safety crew.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a whole lot. Most activities are run by residence life.

    Great for these types of students

    Ministry, Nursing, Business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is absolutely beautiful to walk at night. Every time it snows campus is crazy with snowball fights, snowmen, and sleds.

    Bang for the buck

    You really have to put your best foot forward and get involved in the city to get the most out of your Simpson experience

    What to do for fun

    We have all of redding and the surrounding area. Camping, hiking, fishing, biking, shopping, frisbee golf, coffee shops, lakes, rivers, and streams.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has taken a radical leap and is improving emensely.

    Dorm Life

    Community is a huge focus at Simpson. We aim to provide the best possible living experience to foster academic, spiritual, personal, and social growth.

    Academic Rigor

    Simpson is not extremely difficult. However, it is not highschool either. It falls somewhere in between highschool and UCLA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the professors seriously. It may be a small university, and there may be ways to get out of assignments or slack off, but if you dedicate yourself wholeheartedly you will earn the respect of your professors and prepare yourself for the future.

    In three sentences

    Simpson holds all the benefits of a small private Christian university. Located in Redding, it may not be all the hype that some college students prefer. However, those seeking higher education, profesional mentorship, and lifetime connections will find Simpson home.