Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Skagit Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great! Especially if you want to stay close to home, save some money but still get a great education! I think anyone who wants to go into Nursing/Health Care, this is the school for you! SVCs Nursing/Health Care program is amazing, and they just built a brand new building for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into the program you want to study in, find out if you will be put on a wait-list so if you do you can ask your counselor to put you on it, and so by the time you start school and get your pre-reqs. done, your name will be on the top. Look for scholarships, there are so many! And definitely ask about financial aid and grants...any bit of money helps!

    Bang for the buck

    SVC is a little bit cheaper than some of the other community colleges I have looked into. SVC is cheaper, and I will also learn a lot more because their Nursing program is well respected...why should I pay more to go to Everett Community College, drive further and learn less than I would at SVC?

    Will enjoy being here

    SVC is a small community college. I will enjoy it because a lot of my friends go their, and all the students at SVC seem so nice and helpful. Its also closer to home, and I can get my RN in 3 years!

    Will learn a lot

    SVC Just built a whole new wing for their Nursing program. SVC is well known for their nursing program, and actually has a wait list to get into!

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students interested in online course work but desire a human connection. While many courses are solely online, most of the instructors are on campus at least for designated office hours and love to see students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to register for online classes as many core classes have gone this route. Take time to get to know the instructors, a vast majority of them know far beyond the scope of their subject and love to have conversations. If you show genuine interest you will go far and be quite happy here.

    Bang for the buck

    Most instructors are eager to go beyond the call of duty to help the students here. A few classes are less than impressive, there has been a boost in the amount of online classes. Though convenient, I prefer to be in a classroom with a live instructor.

    Did enjoy being here

    Most days have been wonderful. There were some terrible losses during budget cuts, but the overall feeling of the college has been positive.

    Did learn a lot

    There have been instructors that have been less than helpful, the vast majority of the instructors here have been wonderful. It has been a great place to learn about my interests and what direction I want to move in.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security at skagit knows how to give out parking tickets, but sadly thats it. i have never seen them do anything but hand out parking tickets.

    Clubs and Activities

    skagit has a basketball team both for girls and boys. also as far as i know they have a girls softball team as well.

    Great for these types of students

    skagit is an amazing school for anyone who is wanting to learn, get a transfer degree, or explore certificates.

    What to do for fun

    at skagit there are poetry readings, which is actually pretty entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    the food at skagit is average but they do have an espresso shop to the left when you walk into the main building. this happens to be very convenient during finals week.

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived in a dorm but as far as i have heard, they are pretty good and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    at skagit valley college, everyday you will learn something new. everybody that attends skagit wants to learn and has the same/similar goals as you which makes it easy to learn and not get distracted by anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    the best tip i can give a student when attending skagit valley college is to not stress yourself out, and when confused on somethings, ask your teacher.

    In three sentences

    skagit valley college is a great opportunity to explore how college life is. the teachers are very helpful and answer any questions that one may have. the class sizes are small which makes it easier to interact with others.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is great. They are always on top of everything.

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    I pay Non-resident and its still way cheaper then most community colleges

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything. Theres a lot going on around here. Just gatta find it :)

    Food and Dining

    They need to have more choices then the book store.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study.

    In three sentences

    The college has a great atmosphere. Every member of the faculty goes out of their way to help you succeed. All around a great small college with a lot of opportunities to excel in your intended major.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great instructors and a lots of courses to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Attend basketball games, participate in the activities held through out the year.

    Dorm Life

    does not apply specifically to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all student groups and new student orientations.

    In three sentences

    A great learning environment, with helpful counselors and instructors. Skagit has lots of student activities that are open to all students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in nursing this college is great for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have an amazing Nursing program that allows you to get your bachelors in nursing through UW Bothell.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley college has amazing programs that can help you get a degree in something that you enjoy.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is very good. They are always on call, and are there almost immediately when called. They are also very friendly, and are definitely dedicated to their job.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college, there are quite a few clubs. There is a wide range of campus activities. However, I think there could be more.

    Great for these types of students

    Skagit Valley College has a great mix of students from all ethnicities. There are many Asian students that attend the school.

    What to do for fun

    SVC has many good clubs, and the music and student life puts on many good events.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! We have a coffee bar with awesome baristas, all the great food from the cooking program, and plenty of other stuff. I would definitely recommend SVC's food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life overall seems to be okay. Skagit Valley College is one of the very few community colleges with a dorm. I have not actually stayed in the dorms, but I have friends that have and they rate it as not the best, but okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are not as difficult as I expected they might when I began school here, but as in any school, it really depends on the instructor. I think there is a pretty good balance with many of the instructors, of difficult but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early. I did it as soon as possible and was fine. I had friends who waited longer and they had a very difficult time getting any financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College is great for students in Running Start, or anyone just starting their first time in college. Dedicated and well-learned students may find that some of the classes seem pretty easy, though. It's an excellent place for beginning time in college, and helps you learn what to expect for transferring.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things located by campus including, movies, malls, and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of restaurants and other food places are located close to campus and food on site is not bad.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are offered.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel the rigor is very slim but I came from doing four AP classes in high school my senior year, so someone else may feel very different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that have worked you schedule around you class schedule before the first day it avoids a lot of stress. Only do online class if you feel comfortable in the subject.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College is a great college that works well with its students and prospective students. If you get stuck you just have to ask and they are so willing to help you.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. non violent

    Clubs and Activities

    tennis team! basket ball. baseball

    Great for these types of students

    attractive to liberals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the tennis team gets to travel to Arizona in spring

    Bang for the buck

    education is ok

    What to do for fun

    Play tennis!

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok. I personally don't eat at the college because I can cook healthier

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes have a more advanced rigor that others. It depends what teacher you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible in the spring. Don't procrastonate, Have fun!

    In three sentences

    The campus is just the right size. it is not to small and not too big. The teachers are usually very nice. I have had teachers with good and bad teching skills. Overall a very good college though

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at Skagit Valley College is safe and sound. There is no need to fear in going to the college because it is safe. Nothing bad has happen that has risked the safety of the students. If you don't not feel safe you can always talk with a faculty member to assure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am new at Skagit Valley College,but from what I know there are many clubs and activities and sports students can participate in.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do for fun. You can sit with friends next to the cafe shop inside the college and a cafeteria that is filled with delicious foods and snacks to eat. You can always go outside and walk through the trails.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Skagit Valley College is absolutely and without a doubt delicious. There isn't one time that you pass through the cafeteria and are not tempted to buy any food. Especially the coffee. No one can deny drinking a nice warm coffee on a chilly day.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College is a great college to start out your career. Teachers at Skagit Valley College want you to succeed and are willing to help when it is needed. The atmosphere of Skagit Valley College is calming.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, since the campus is not very big.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 22 clubs to choose from. Calling all colors, Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Club, Radio club, Rainbow Alliance, Welding Society, Human Services, Criminal Justice, Cardinal Newspaper, Environmental Conservation Club, and Automotive Club, just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a veteran or dependent of a veteran, this is the school for you. Skagit Valley College has a full time Veterans Education Center that assists students with their education benefits.

    Bang for the buck

    There is an awesome school bus pass for $15 per academic quarter that will take you anywhere in the Skagit Transit Lines.

    What to do for fun

    There is always the Skagit Valley College track and gym if you are not enrolled in sports. There are 22 clubs in the school you can become a member of, including Calling all Colors, Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Club, Street Dance Club, and Radio club, just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Lunch is very enjoyable with a different menu everyday to include fast food and the plate of the day. There is always a salad bar accompanied by cold subs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will challenge you but not to the point of them becoming impossible to pass. In the event of needing some extra help, there is free tutoring available for most subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not enroll in so many classes that you will not be able to excel in any one of them. Typical student will enroll in three to four classes per quarter. Definitely attend the new comer's briefing to get familiarized with the school.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College gives you all the tools you need to succeed to start a career with two year programs and certificates. You can also save money by pursuing a two year transfer degree and then finish the other two years upon transferring to a four year university. There are three different campuses throughout Skagit County.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe as possible. The security is mainly students and retired. But they are willing to go out of their way to help you, and the campus is pretty secluded

    Greek Life

    Phi theta kappa, and that is the only one to my knowledge. And we don't really have houses, its a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and ways to branch out to find new groups of people.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student really, its a stepping stone in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any traditions, but there is a wonderful Mexican restaurant name La Victoria. It is next to the McDonald/ Chevron and is a little bit of a dive. But it has fantastic food for cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    You actually can get what you pay for, which is a professor who teaches so that you may learn. The majority of Professors put in the work to help you understand their classes.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much on campus, but there is plenty of things to do off campus. And it is in the Pacific NW, so there is plenty of hiking and exploring to do.

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic. The breakfast wraps are phenomenal.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in the dorms. But from other students, it seems like a normal dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the only college I have attended, but I feel that the Professors challenge you to succeed, while giving you tools to do so. They give sources out side of class and have office hours. From how they teach, one learns how to study and excel in College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around. Students are helpful, as well as faculty.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming and willing to help you succeed. This College works hard at being the stepping stone that will take you to a University well prepared and ready for learning.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive and this school offers broad areas to begin your studies compared with other CC.

    In three sentences

    Great class list for distance learning opportunities. The Financial Aide Office is understaffed. Unable to take proctored exams in Mount Vernon if you are enrolled from the Whidbey Island administration office; same school, but different programs and policies.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security office you can call all the time and they often walk around campus to make sure everything is fine even during night. All over the campus, there are bunch of lights, so you don't have to worry when you have to walk back to dorm or wherever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea about Greek Life because I didn't belong to that club.

    Clubs and Activities

    We've got bunch of clubs on campus like volunteer, dance, and many kinds of sports such as basketball, baseball, and soccer. Some of my friends who are from outside of the US also join those clubs and spend times practicing with their teammates. I would have joined them if I had been good at playing some kind of sports :)

    Great for these types of students

    wanna concentrate on studying and their degree program/ need to save money for some financial reasons/ don't quite like the atmosphere of urban environment

    What to do for fun

    Cook with your roomies or with your friends if you live in dorms! You can share traditional foods from many countries if you get to close to international students! Fish salmons in the river near college in September. (You need license for this though) Play tennis if you like to do some exercise!

    Food and Dining

    They don't offer us much variety of foods at cafeteria, but I used to love their sweets like scone, chocolate cake, and fruits tart. they are so delish and cheap! All the stuff they sell is what the students in culinary arts just make in their morning class, so they are fresh too.

    Dorm Life

    My life at the dorm was so free and comfortable because my roomies were open-minded and nice! (One bad thing I would say about them is they were too messy lol ) I could cook, take shower, watch TV anytime I want and sometimes we chatted for a while. In addition, I made friends with their friends and it is like I always got someone to talk in the living room.

    Academic Rigor

    I am really happy that I chose this college for the first place to start my studying-abroad life. I completed my associate degree smoothly, and had an awesome college life with my friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ideal place to start your college life! also good to start living by yourself apart from your parents for the first time. when you got some problems, you can always ask for help to someone around you.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great environment for studying and is located in a quiet city which has plenty of nature. My teachers are all nice and friendly to everybody including international students like me. The dorm I used to live was pretty cozy because I had my own room and also shared kitchen, bathroom, and living room.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    Bring a sack lunch

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes means more one on one time for the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers at this school really care, use them as much as you need them they will help if you ask.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school with great teachers and advisors. Good location with plenty of things to stay busy. Lots of activities to stay busy

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the pacific northwest trees and the occasional sunshine on campus, outside.

    Food and Dining

    Both the coffee and cafeteria are great!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus here, so I can't fairly rate dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    If you challenge yourself, you will always find there is something new to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college seriously. Simply because it is a community college in a small city does not mean it will not challenge you.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College is an affordable and convenient option for those students who either do not know what they want to do yet, or do not need a four-year degree for their career of choice. In my experience, the professors are excellent. This community college will give you as quality of an education as any of the universities I have looked into.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher's curriculum, teaching style, and your willingness to apply that makes the difficulty. Online classes have proven difficult for those who lack time management skills and organization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those planning to attend Skagit Valley College and transferring should prepare for all the requirements required for the University acceptance. All colleges vary and depending on the school's competitiveness you may need to reach a required level for each college credit's gpa.

    In three sentences

    Great school with easily accessible counseling to help you with your educational goals. For in state transfers, they will make sure that you have all the requirements you need for admissions. Teachers at Whidbey Island campus are hands on and understanding.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very available and helpful. They have walked me to my car when it is dark and I do not feel that it is safe, and have helped me with multiple car issues (lock outs, jump starts, etc.).

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all different kinds of sports, clubs and activities, ranging from art clubs, to cultural clubs and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to stay close to home, and want to be able to transfer to another college, or even just to get a degree to go directly into the field of choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a Scare walk held on campus for Halloween, through the woodsy trails that are available.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are relatively affordable, and they are very educational.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. There is bowling, movies, shopping, a river and lake to swim in, fitness centers, swimming pool, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Since this is a community college, there are not a lot of options for college food, besides the small food vendors that are located throughout the main building (other than vending machines). However, there are many fast food, restaurants, and grocery stores located within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very hospitable and have a wonderful environment. The manager and the staff are kind and reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    Skagit Valley College is very straight forward, and clear, although there can be some communication errors that can occur.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do, whether it be a transfer degree or a technical professional degree in a certain field.

    In three sentences

    Skagit Valley College is a very good community college, that has helped me grow in many ways. This college can be confusing through their advising, however it has increased my knowledge about early childhood education. It has readied me for furthering my education, and I am ready for the next step.