Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Skidmore College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Skidmore College is great for aspiring artists, musicians, dancers, and actors because it has a terrific arts program. But Skidmore College is also a great institution for future businessmen/businesswomen through its exceptional business program and business project with actual business executives. For future historians, politicians-diplomats, and teachers, Skidmore College has an outstanding government and history department and professors have great connections.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should look forward to challenging work, a great social life, and enhanced critical thinking should they decide to attend Skidmore College. Prospective students, when sending in their application and or doing an interview, need to emphasize their personal responsibility, social responsibility and commitment to social tolerance, open-mindedness, demonstrate a gracious personality, and remain confident. Prospective students should also convey their honesty. Finally, for those, who will need financial aid, they need to work and save their money and search for scholarships because the college life is not cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    Skidmore College is an expensive institution, but people are getting their money’s worth because the education is excellent. According to the college, it costs $63,000 to educate each student, but the tuition is a little over $52,000. There is state of the art technology in business and science building and services are great and well funded. Classes are generally comfortable and small and the environment is well maintained.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most students enjoy being at Skidmore College because they find multiple ways of entertainment, such as going to on or off-campus parties, joining campus groups or clubs, participating in different choirs and acapella groups, socializing in the dining hall or the dorms. Students also enjoy being on campus because of the freedom from direct parental control and the freedom to express their individuality.

    Am learning a lot

    One can learn a great deal at Skidmore College because the classes are designed to enhance critical thinking and social awareness. Students are encouraged to ask many questions in class discussions and in lectures. Most professors assign research projects and ask one of the several librarians to lecture their class on how to properly use the library database to search for sources, instead of using Google for sophisticated, college-level research. Lectures generally consist of 45 students, with small discussion groups. Furthermore, there exists an 8 to 1 student to staff ratio and the staff is almost always available to assist students who have difficulties in a specific subject.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo patrols constantly. The urgent notification system is great at emailing and texting students when something is going on around campus that requires immediate attention. They are all incredibly kind people that don't want to bust people, just want to keep them safe. They allow you to enjoy your college experience, but everyone's safety is their number one concern. I find them to be the most fair people I have ever met, and they are very understanding.

    Greek Life

    None! No hazing, no huge parties. Safe and quiet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Skidmore offers many Division 3 sports. There are clubs for everything. Pride Alliance for the LGBTQ community, BARE, the sex forum, SGA the Student Government Association, Christian Fellowship, Hillel, and so on. There are clubs for everyone. There are also many athletic clubs such as the Running Club as well as intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, introverted and extroverted, athletic, optimistic, those that like small classes, those that like a small city with plenty to do, those that like personal relationships with their professors, those that have no idea what they are looking to do with their lives, members of the LGBTQ community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fun Day happens during the spring and is a day that everyone comes outside and enjoys bounce houses, cotton candy, a BBQ, and bands galore. The pond is a wonferful place to go when you are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful. The Naked Run is amusing to watch and fulfilling to particiapte in.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but well, well worth it! Some of my classes have only 7 students, so I get plenty of one-on-one time with the professors. The professors genuinely care about their students. Their office hours are plentiful and they often like to meet students outside of class for coffee or even to babysit! Everyone is professional. The health services is wonderful. The Skid Shop has almost all of the books and the library has a wide selection of books and movies that are free to rent. The food is also amazing!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join at Skidmore, ranging from the environmental club, to ultimate frisbee, to the running club. There is an on-campus clubhouse where bands play and dances are held many days of the week. There are concerts, shows, and productions happening all around campus. The green is always open for people to play frisbee. There is a pond where people can lounge around and read or do homework. Every year, there are several events that are school-wide and a ton of fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Skidmore is absolutely incredible! The dining hall itself is gorgeous. There are plenty of seats available and the chairs and booths are comfortable. There is a pasta station, pizza, and a diner. There is also a Global Cafe which serves a variety of different food from around the world as well as Emily's Garden, a vegetarian station. The salad bar is extensive as is the sandwich station. There is also a grill for making your own stir fry or omelettes. The staff is very friendly and the hours are great. There are also three other places on campus to get sandwiches, snacks, and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful! There are some that are nicer than others, but the Residential Life staff is amazing and always willing to help however they can. The rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are more private than a typical floor-wide bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more difficult than others. I found that most of the intro classes are easier on the workload, but once you get into advanced classes, they are much smaller, more intimate, and more demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses are challenging, but as long as the classes are well-attended and homework is completed, it is not difficult to succeed. Get to know the professors; they love to have students visit them in their offices and chat outside on the green. Make friends! There are a multitude of clubs, sports, and committees to join at Skidmore and plenty of friends to be made.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore College is the perfect school if you're looking for a small liberal arts college. The classes are small and intimate, the professors brilliant and personable, and the courses are wide-ranging for those who are unsure of what they are interested in. The campus is beautiful and the city of Saratoga is safe and quaint.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always available to your aid. There is a blue light system. Where anywhere on Campus if you should ever feel uncomfortable you can be picked up. Even if you are in town off campus and are in need campus safety is willing to come pick you up. Campus safety is also extremely respectful. There is a no chase policy, as well as the amnesty policy. If you should find yourself in a situation where a friend needs help in an intoxicated instance, as long as you call Campus Safety neither one of you will get in trouble. Campus Safety's first priority is your health and well-being. They will make sure you are taken care of properly.

    Greek Life

    Skidmore does not have Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs ranging from Planned Parenthood to Pulse (a group that likes to bang on random things rhythmically)

    Great for these types of students

    Creative Quirky Adventurous

    What to do for fun

    Skidmore has so much going on. One can join clubs, or watch clubs perform, go to concerts or dances, spend time in Saratoga Springs, attend an open mic, go to an art show, play humans vs. zombies, or just meet new people. There's something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food choices. The Dining Hall is buffet style. Included in the Dining Hall are many different stations. These include the pizza station (different pizza at all times of day sometimes desert pizza at night), the pasta station (serving different types of pasta dishes), the vegetarian station (including a hot food portion as well as a salad bar), the sandwich station (have custom sandwiches made), a diner (different types of hot food each meal), and a bakery station (filled with different great desserts). There is also a suggestion board for the students to make suggestions to Dining Services.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite spacious and comfortable. Most dorms have window seats with lovely views.

    Academic Rigor

    Skidmore College is academically challenging. The classroom environment is engaging and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Skidmore College values multifaceted individuals. It is not enough to just have good grades. One's extracurricular, leadership, and community involvement are also highly considered in the admission process. Furthermore, Skidmore College admires those with a passion to learn.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore is a place where intelligence is more than regurgitating textbooks. Skidmore College values what the individual has to offer and contribute. Creative thought is emphasized in all aspects of one's educational experience at Skidmore College.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do there job I suppose. They understand that you are college kids just trying to have fun, but they draw the line when it negatively effects your peers.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 80+ clubs to join. There is no doubt something for everyone, and if there is a club you want that doesn't exist, start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, liberal, free-spirited, motivated, stoner, awkward, bro, and really anyone who thinks a small liberal arts college is right for them. What is great is that the school is accepting of all types of people. Of course, Skidmore has its issues, but I think you will find the school does well with social justices issues in comparison to other schools in the nation presently.

    Bang for the buck

    Skidmore is VERY expensive. In the past few years, it has even been named one of the 10 most expensive schools in the country. The school does offer great financial aid to students from very low incomes. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for those from Middle class and above. Because of this, a lot of the student do come from very wealthy families.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do on campus at all times. There are dances, dance performances, A capella shows, comedy shows, and a number of different speakers who come to campus. Skidmore definitely is not a party school, but there are number of weekend parties both on and off campus. Not to mention, there are number of great bars/boutiques/restaurants off Broadway as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great for the most part. If you are a vegan/vegetarian there are TONS of options. Most upper level students live in apartment style housing, so they typically cook their own meals at home.

    Dorm Life

    You will find it very hard to find other colleges with better dorms than Skidmore. No cinder-blocks in site, and you typically will have your own room from Sophomore year forward. I am still friends with a number of people that I met in my dorm freshman year, way back in 2007.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others. For the most part, your upper level classes are more demanding by far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Skidmore does have a relatively low admissions rate, so admission is competitive. There are not necessarily looking for a 4.0 GPA, but they want someone who is well rounded. A 3.3 GPA will get you in if you have volunteer experience, leadership, and fairly good SAT/ACT scores.

    In three sentences

    Personally, my time at Skidmore were the best years I ever had. I was challenged academically, I met incredible people, and I worked with great professors. I could not have asked for a better college experience.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play basketball

    Food and Dining

    amazing!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. however, sometimes the dorms can be loud over the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is very vigorous which will prepare you for your future endeavors.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a small school.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school where creative thought matters. students and faculty alike are challenged to grow. it is an artsy school.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek likfe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons!

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded. Motivated. Not motivated but looking for something to get motivated about!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hunt. You'll know if you go there. If you don't find out, find out.

    What to do for fun

    School events, typical fun college things, theater and music shows on campus, Downtown Saratoga Springs, Lake George and other places to explore.. hiking, rafting, horseback riding -- tons of things!

    Food and Dining

    The dhall is amazing. I miss it.

    Dorm Life

    Loved loved loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    You can challenge yourself and push yourself and strive for excellence. All classes are what you make of them, and the professors won't waist your time if you don't waist theirs.

    In three sentences

    A place to become an amazing person. A place to make the most amazing friends and meet the most amazing people. The best place to start your future, to make it what you want it to be, whatever that is or may become.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    we don't have one! :(

    Clubs and Activities

    over like 80 clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that want to be here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beautiful north woods, the gazebo is amazing. Fun day! The campus is absolutely beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say yet, ask me once I've graduated with a job.

    What to do for fun

    Skidmore offers plenty things to do on campus, music events, seminars, movie nights, etc. Saratoga offers plenty to do downtown. And there's always dorm events.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE dhall, very good food.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed it.

    Academic Rigor

    Intense work, tough graders

    Tips for prospective students

    USE YOUR TIME WISELY. The work is intense but it is definitely do-able, and you'll have plenty help. Talk to everybody. The worst is when you don't talk to someone because you think they'll be mean or your nervous and you realize, the last 2 weeks of school, you could have been good friends.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore is a pretty liberal college with a hippie vibe, most people are very friendly. I love that the curriculum is interdisciplinary, makes for a better, well rounded student. I enjoy the helpful staff and the connections you are offered once graduating.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be advised: Many students are bored here with the social scene and many do transfer because of it. Just make sure to explore your first year and do get involved in the school activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is repeated and it can get boring at times but it is very good compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are big but even though I was put in a triple my freshman year, I do not regret it but there is some room for people to transfer if there is space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great and it is one of the great things about this school. The professors are also great and do challenge you to do your best.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always tons of things going on on campus like movies, club activities, dances, lectures, etc. But if none of that interests you there are also many restaurants downtown, a mall, and a movie theater all 10 minutes away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    I've been to lots of colleges and eaten at their dining halls but none have ever been as good as Skidmore's. They have awesome food, lots of variety, and they are really good about catering to vegetarians, vegans, and those with food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really great, the RA's always plan fun hall events, suite style dorms make it easy to meet people on your floor, and the rooms are all comfortable and pretty spacious. Also every room has a window seat which is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Despite the relaxed atmosphere and active social scene on campus Skidmore is also very academically rigorous. Professors will always expect your best and the good professors will know if you haven't tried hard enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Skidmore you should definitely go to the campus and get to know the community as best you can. You can take a tour, sit in on a class, visit a professor from a specific department to talk to them, and even try to stay overnight with a student. What sold me was when I visited the campus and got an inside look at what it was like to spend time there.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore is a fun, and lively college whose students are diverse in their interests and active within the campus community. The professors are attentive and always open to talking with their students about classes, grades, or anything else that they need help with. As a whole the college is a friendly and welcoming community of people who are willing to support students in their endeavors, whatever they may be.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Skidmore College

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good amount of club and activities available for Students at this College.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who desire a close relationship with their professors and a small class room size. Those who would like to pursue a liberal arts education. It is also a good match for students who would like an education outside of a large city but in a moderately popular place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am currently unaware of any unusual traditions or locations on the Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many Colleges in the United States and I believe that Skidmore College is one of those Colleges that Offers a very efficient educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do at this college, but I believe the most fun thing to do there would be to participate in any of the various sports on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have had the opportunity to eat the food at this College when I visited, and I must admit that it is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Given the fact that the dorms are clean, and the students are respectful of each other I would say that the dorm life is exceptional.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have researched Skidmore's Academic is fairly rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Skidmore College offers very good financial aid to those who needs it. Minority students should keep in mind that it is not a very diverse College.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore College is an excellent college for those who are planning on pursuing a liberal arts education. The small campus size allows for a better student-teacher relationship. Skidmore College has a very clean and attractive campus, and the college excels at making its students feel comfortable once they arrive there.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, liberal students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fun Day! Open Mics at Falstaffs are a little known treasure.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great, personalized education, but I think some of the facilities, like the library, should be updated. A lot of the books are outdated.

    What to do for fun

    Go to parties in Scribner, Northwoods, or Hillside. Listen to bands.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets old fast, and you will gain the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it a three because the dorms aren't great, but the on campus apartments are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    It could probably be harder, but I also think I was very prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorm you visit is the worst dorm at the school. The on-campus apartments are wonderful.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. Everyone is really kind and helpful. The professors want you to succeed.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is 24 and one call away

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always fun activities and every year i feel like clubs come up with new and fun events

    Great for these types of students

    We are both an artsy and science school

    Bang for the buck

    Skidmore college is expensive but 55% of our students receive financial aid, so that is an option if you are eligible

    What to do for fun

    There is 3000 + events a year at Skidmore. There is always lots to do and we have many clubs. We put on alot of shows weather its the dancing, singing, or comedy clubs on campus, or Guest that we bring into campus or our theater and Dance department. We also have Campus wide parties and some people do get togethers at their on campus apartments also. We also have 100 + clubs and you petition to start your own if theres something we dont have that you would like to start up. Last year a student started a Red Cross club.

    Food and Dining

    We have our own chefs and the food is good. We are a small school so we have one main dinning hall and if you live in a dorm you get an unlimited meal plan. We also have somewhere else on campus where you can eat and also a cafe and a convenience shop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and I was comfortable with both of my roomates and suite mates.We are aloud to have our own fridge and sophomore year you are allowed to pick your own room or have a single. You can also invite you r friends from home to visit with no problem If there is ever a problem though Reslife is open to hear you out. We also have on campus apartments so that is also an option if you would like to live in a house with a kitchen and your on campus friends

    Academic Rigor

    Skidmore College is academically Rigorous but there is a lot of help offered to students and that includes tutoring, writing center, and time with your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    We have 56 majors but we also have a self determined major so if there is something we dont have that you want you can actually create your own major with the help of a professors using the classes we already offer. I advise you to take a tour at the campus but if you can't try our online virtual tour. I am Latina and I am comfortable at Skidmore. Good Luck

    In three sentences

    Skidmore College is an amazing school.The teacher student ratio is perfect because it allows students to interact better with their professors. I feel comfortable at this school and it gives a lot of opportunities starting your second semester of freshmen year

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't any

    Clubs and Activities

    You can literally find or create a club for just about anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Social students Artsy students Students who want a lot of diversity

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown! They have:clubs, restaurants, nail spas, and a movie theater. There is also a mall. There are also parties on and a little off campus.

    In three sentences

    Skidmore has been the best decision of my life so far. They have everything I need here. An awesome group of students, good food, and awesome dance classes.