Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Skyline College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    skyline college is great for student who do not have a plan for what the would like to be in life.with the great counseling and services they will help you find a career or a major that you will actually enjoy doing.skyline is also good for student s looking for part time learning opportunities in multiple things.

    Tips for prospective students

    a good tip for prospective students is to stay in touch with building 1.this is the building that provides answers to any type of question you.it also gives information on transfer programs ,information on financial aid,etc. this building is also good for you because it provides student with the health center in which you can receive numerous types of help and recommendations regarding your health.

    Bang for the buck

    skyline college is not expensive college.it is a great college to get started fresh from high school if you do not have the money to attend a 4 year college coming of high school.

    Am enjoying being here

    i enjoy being at this school because the location is convenient and we have a beautiful view of the ocean.our campus has a variety of ethnicity groups and programs to offer to you and a great sports program that i enjoy being in.

    Am learning a lot

    i am leanring alot about myself at skyline beacuse it gives me the chance to get to know myself and what type of course i can handle and i also teaches me how to be indepent.i learned how to transition from a high schol student to a productive college student who does not waste her time in class.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Skyline College is a big help to those students who are seeking for financial aid. It is a great campus. Staffs and teachers are very accommodating.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is never too far away. Makes me feel very secure. (Even though someone removed my BMW emblem from my car while I was in class.)

    Great for these types of students

    Students coming from all different backgrounds such as race, economic status, disadvantaged situations or those with learning disabilities.

    In three sentences

    Great school with awesome teachers. Diverse- sort of. However, good place to learn and acquire pre-req's for transfer to UC or CSU.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I'd suggest you stay in the area for a couple of days to become accustomed to the weather and also to walk around campus to get a feel of the life there. It is also helpful to become acquainted with bus/Bart routes if that is your transportation- it can get tricky!

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is of a very high priority for all staff and students and the campus security are very friendly and eager to help any student in trouble.

    Greek Life

    greek life is an exemplary club that honors those student alumni with through their hard work and dedication through out their skyline progression and abroad.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a multitude of clubs at skyline that can easily be entered as long as you are ready and willing to participate and the information is obtainable through the student aide office.

    Great for these types of students

    the one thing that is great for students are the students who are very easily accessible throughout campus to help you excel in your classes, even by answering some of the simple questions that you may have that range from school to your personal affairs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my favorite study locations are the veteran's lounge and the library because it gives you some real quiet time and minimal disturbance to get a lot of work done.

    Bang for the buck

    the bang for the buck is when you participate in the campus activities and society clubs. it allows students to become involved and learn a lot of things in which the student never even knew existed.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities throughout campus in which students can participate in. you just have to keep your eyes open for those opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is excellent. it may be a bit pricey, but it is worth it even for a budgeting student.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately, there is no dorm life at skyline, but there are financial assistance and scholarship aides in place to help with the living situation as long as you know where to look for them.

    Academic Rigor

    no matter how hard the subject, there are so many help aides throughout the skyline college system to where you will pass as long as you apply yourself and put forth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    obtain as much enhancement in the majors that you are obtaining because the baby boomers are soon-to-be retiring and generation next will be the ones to fill these lucrative positions in the future.

    In three sentences

    skyline college is one of the best community colleges in the san francisco bay area. it is allowing adult students to pursue their dreams of further employment with excellent classes to further enchance academic knowledge for students' careers.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    only outsiders with problems have ever given skyline problems, it's been safe as a warm snuggie since 2005.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa is the club for students with 3.5 gpa or better. graduating ptk students get large scholarships.

    Clubs and Activities

    campus clubs are highly active, with most hobbies being covered, including fandom, sports, veterans environment, christianity,

    Great for these types of students

    if you like instructors who are devoted, this is a good place for you. if you prefer standoffish teachers who just care about test days, this place might be a turn off.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    puente, kabbabayan, astep: these respectively hispanic, phillipino and african american groups have no racial criteria for joining, some come and taste some other cultures. you can get a scholarship for $1000 a year by doing so.

    Bang for the buck

    skyline is affordable and a great deal for your money, and has tons of financial aid in the beginning of the semester. scholarships are available for applications in february, don't miss out.

    What to do for fun

    skyline has two hiking trails. almost all sports are covered including combat courses. building 4, home of the beautiful cosmetology students, crackles with constant excitement!

    Food and Dining

    skyline's cafeteria is good enough to buy from every day, the food is cooked right in front of you, and mexican is a well done specialty. the new cafe is great as well.

    Dorm Life

    skyline has no dorms, this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    people have been shocked by the cluster of actual professors who used to teach the same curriculum at larger universities. take your classes seriously and do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    you are rewarded for trying new things. take night classes, seriously. park in lot 2 and enjoy the walk up the stairs, it's good for you.

    In three sentences

    a highly diverse student body. a supportive team administration flush with community support. a scenic historically important campus.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    skyline college is save and it provide security for take care.

    Greek Life

    honor students graduate with lot of honer and it is very essay to get in to honor program if you have high gpa almost 3.5 or high.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activates are provided for skyline college students such as: eops, trio, sports and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    the faculty stuff fine and student achieve pretty essay.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    skyline college has spark point and it provide a scholarship.

    Bang for the buck

    skyline college has financial aid program. and also it provide many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    for fun i have joined the trio club and found it pretty much cool. i am getting assisted from trio counselors + i have the opportunity to apply for $1000 scholarship which is wonderful.

    Food and Dining

    skyline college has a big cafeteria and it is neat and clean. it provide lots of food for all students. it has enough tables and chairs for students.

    Dorm Life

    skyline college is a community college and it doesn't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the counselors are giving good advice to students to complete their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    i am taking advantage in skyline college.

    In three sentences

    skyline college is great and it's building are in good condition. i found it pretty much essay.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Puente program is the transformation of my educational studies. I love this program because I learned how underrepresented Latinos are in this society, especially females. It encouraged me to dig deeper into my education and go to unlikely measures. Unlikely measures meaning a Latina heading out to a stereotypical white man position as a homicide detective.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other community colleges in the area I feel as though economically, Skyline is by far the best. Not only are the unit prices reasonable but the information given and professors are well worth the buck. They let you know whats real and help you throughout the way to get to your goal.

    What to do for fun

    What students do for fun on campus is create events that will be entertaining for everybody. For example the lyricist events that we have allows students in the music major to come out and express their feelings through lyrics. We also have monthly heritage month. For example this month, February, is National African American Heritage month.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided at Skyline College is decent. It fills you right up for the next class. We also have a Starbucks-like cafe that provides students that dose of energy for early mornings. The dining area is very social and a chill spot.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately we do not have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor in Skyline College is fair. The reason being is because of the stress dealing with either getting your GE requirements caught up or simply completing your last class to graduate. It is difficult at the moment but not impossible to overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I have for prospective students is attend class and focus. The money you put in for the courses you take took hard work to make. Use it wisely to stay focus and soak up all the knowledge being thrown out. You will need it in order to not only pass your classes but get to your educational goal.

    In three sentences

    Skyline College offers a great amount of financial assistance to students in right about every category. Its professors are focused on getting you to your certification/degree graduation or get you to transfer. It is an amazing diverse community college that feels like home to everybody.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can join the many clubs they have on this campus, or you can hang out with friends at the computer labs or study rooms.

    Food and Dining

    i haven't really purchased food on campus but it seems like they do serve good food, whether it is vegetarian or not.

    Dorm Life

    skyline college is a community college, which doesn't include on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    again the teachers and faculty are very helpful in this campus and the counselors give very good advice as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the resources on the campus because it will definitely help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    skyline college has a very involved faculty. the faculty is always there to help whenever you need it. skyline is definitely a nice campus to get involved in.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit and security available at all times. Escort to car available and the teachers are also alert for suspicious activity. Text messaging to students for anything unusual on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many different clubs on campus and something for everyone. Lots of student activities available in the student center

    Bang for the buck

    Great opportunity with a lot of help for students- just ask!

    What to do for fun

    The beach is visible from the top parking lot vista- what more can you ask for??

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria good good and average priced. Coffee bar good too with Starbucks available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the catalog and make a list of questions for your counselor. Check all prerequisites for those classes you want to take.

    In three sentences

    Great classes and teachers who really care to see you succeed. Counselors who take time to assure they are doing the best to accomplish your goals in the best time period for their students.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    What to do for fun

    Definitely join some clubs, go to the learning center, get to know your professors and your surroundings.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. There are a lot of options on what kind of food you'd like to order.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here. It is a Community College. I wish it had a dorm. I would stay there everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on how you will take what you learn. Not only that, but you also need to know if you can handle the professor you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something you should expect is to learn how to pace yourself. Rushing is not always the best option. Take a class that will help you decide on a career if you are an undeclared major.

    In three sentences

    Skyline college is one of the best schools I have ever decided to go to. I have learned so much and I have learned to grow maturely as a woman. This school is the reason why I have decided to become a teacher.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ring the bell , an activity that educates people abput the begginings of hiphop

    What to do for fun

    go to church, movies, hang out with friends, surfinf the net (facebook)

    Food and Dining

    try to eat healthy, i eat an apple after dinner, and try to eat lots fo fruits and vegetables. i also eat burgers once a week

    Dorm Life

    live at house with my parents

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    be constantly using the resources that this collge provides, such as teachers, library, learning center, cafeteria, councelingm tutoring and great schedules

    In three sentences

    very helpful and close to my house

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Didn't try yet

    Tips for prospective students

    I am very disappointed of the skyline college,cause they don't gave me the chance to try myself with ESEL.I went there and the man there couldn't explain me what exam he is giving me,after I take it the counselor told me that I need to take other exam,when I get back the man there didn't want to schedule me, because I have to do it on line and when I tried on line there was some server problem and when I get back on the next day early in the morning the same man told me that I can't place the test because there is no free place for me and I saw that in the test room there was a lot of free computers,so...I guess you guys like to waste the people's time or you just don't like your job!

    In three sentences

    Not organized,wasting my time,no good communication

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many safety and security officers present at all times. Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Some but minimal

    Clubs and Activities

    Wrestling, soccer, baseball, basketball, weight training, volleyball, tennis, and cross country.

    Great for these types of students

    Low budget, hard working students from all walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has its times of being plagued by fog.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Skyline has great deals when it comes to bang for your buck. Classes are charged at the California Community College tuition rate. Books can be sold back to the bookstore or resold to students on your own. Parking is not that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Skyline college is close to the beach, and there are many extracurricular sports and clubs to take part of. Including soccer, wrestling, baseball, basketball, and weight training.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best but could be worst. Do not expect gourmet meals in the cafe area. Locally you can find good food though.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there is no dorm life , all sudents commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging and tough. Have a strong mindset and you will succeed. The campus has many resources where you can find help if needed. Skyline college is a semester based system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that interest you and try to take care of your math and english requirements early on in your academic career.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very helpful. Campus resources are abundant and plentiful. The scenary and location are beautiful and amazing.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    USE AMAZON & other websites to buy your books!

    What to do for fun

    Most people usually go straight home after class for fun. Not a lot of people like to be seen there if they don't have a class.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, our newly remodeled cafeteria makes it feel like a real college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it's a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a jacket! Even if it's hot, leave one in your car because the weather is usually cold, windy &/or foggy.

    In three sentences

    Skyline has great teachers that care about your well being, but on the other hand your peers are from all the high schools in this area so it feels like an extention of it. Most people have the same high school mindset, which I could personally care less about because I'm at school for me & not them. Overall, it's a good campus with normal to bad weather that offers direction from teachers & other members of the college staff.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only two officers that cover a campus of 6,000 students. That should give you a hint. Make friends and never walk alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was part of the EOPS and TRIO which helped me pay for my books, graduation gown and give out many grants from $500-$1000

    Great for these types of students

    Serious learners who are determined to start college and take responsibility with their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you join the Skyline College newsroom and participate as a writer, photographer, editor or proof reader, you get raffle tickets for prizes at the end of the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Get your parking permit. You don't want to be stuck at a ticket booth while its windy and rainy.

    What to do for fun

    Ping pong in the cafeteria when its set up, gossip at the fireplace or checkout the Skyline College Jazz band.

    Food and Dining

    The staff knows me because I order a beef hot dog with lettuce, tomatoes, onions, jalapenos. Try it.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is homework, jump on it first and you won't have to procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out what your learning style is and if you have difficulty, get tested. The official and certified report came back with Attention Deficit Disorder. Now I understand why I couldn't absorb lectures, organize and couldn't retain. I gave this information to my doctor and long story short, it has saved me from not graduating. The College gave me extra accommodations and extra time for exams. I was also able to raise my grades and graduate with a associates this year. This school is great to find you financial aid, there is a great learning center, and people are really nice.

    In three sentences

    Skyline college has fantastic professors and administrators. Everyone is friendly and most will go out of their way to assist your learning. I wish they had bachelor programs, but overall a wonderful school.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    It is up on a hill so its quite far from any good food, but worth the drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend!

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. It has alot of programs that are beneficial to me with my situation. It is very organized.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus was recently redesigned and now has more lighting and open areas for parking (No parking garage).

    Great for these types of students

    Student who need to live at home due to money constraints.

    Bang for the buck

    I support the community college system since it is a low cost way to start your education.

    What to do for fun

    I am older so I have 2 girls 19 & 13 who keep me very busy at home. I love to cook and read when I can. My favorite is on line card games as my stress reliever at the end of a busy day.

    Food and Dining

    Skyline has recently upgraded their food and drinks selections which are fresher and more appealing to the palette and eyes.

    Dorm Life

    Skyline does not have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You have the choice to attend classes on campus or online. It allows you the flexability to work and go to school at your convienence. Online courses are harder since you don't have the classroom interaction with other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are just out of high school or returning to college but unsure what direction to go? Consider attending a community college to see if you wish to pursue a college degree. This is a lower cost way to test the waters than a 4 year college since their costs have risen dramatically in recent years.

    In three sentences

    I have returned back to Skyline since I am long term unemployed. I have an AA degree, but I want to update my skills to make me more marketable. I am looking forward to transferring to a 4 year college later.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is particularly great for everyone and all types of students.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here however there are rumors that dorms may be built soon.

    In three sentences

    By far one of the best schools I've been to in my life, almost as great as my middle school years.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are afraid to walk to your car alone at night, you can request a security guard to escort you.

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs that fits your interest or major or explore the surrounding cities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has been remodel and it looks nice

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for community college student

    Academic Rigor

    Science and math can be very challenging depending on the course and how the professor structures the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an transfer/academic counselor as soon as possible to discuss about programs, what classes to take to transfers, and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    A lot of staff members are very informative and approachable when you want to discuss an issues or ask a certain question.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I constantly see security around campus. Cameras also cover the grounds, having parking lots pretty distant, I feel safe walking around.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are ok with cold, and love the ocean, this is a wonderful area to be able to attend college.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are a California resident, tuition is very affordable. The credits for core classes also transfer to nearly every University in the state.

    What to do for fun

    There are many paths to walk, tennis courts, and basketball courts for outdoor activities. They also have classes that are more for experience and having a good time.

    Food and Dining

    A small building with some quick food is available.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a little early in the semester to be sure, but my professors seem to have plenty of experience on the topic they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to the counselors, they are there to lay out a schedule of classes to help you transfer to a UC or State university if you so choose.

    In three sentences

    Extremely helpful administration and financial aid office. Teachers are wonderful and each have a different way of painting the canvas. It also never hurts to be able to see the ocean from your school!

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a cornucopia of clubs and organizations in addition to sports. Serene surroundings allows for exploration.

    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of foods for breakfast, lunch & dinner. A fully functional cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging curriculum that allows students to think critically and exceed in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of all the resources and programs available to you.

    In three sentences

    Skyline is an ideal sized campus. The course have challenging curriculums. The instructors love their profession and are dedicated to helping students succeed.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there everywhere.

    Greek Life

    MESA, and the learning center.

    Clubs and Activities

    SHPE, SACNAS, ASSC, PTK.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the view at the top of building 8.

    Bang for the buck

    very worth coming here as a transfer student because you learn so, much while taking classes, and you save money at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    study, and party with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    campus food is great, but kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    its a community college, so there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    books are, too expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    plan ahead, and meet with counselors on campus. stop by the transfer center.

    In three sentences

    skyline college is a great place to learn, and work. skyline college has great teachers, and staff members. skyline college is great campus, and has friendly students.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are up to date with their security and drills. There hasn't been much crime as well as a escorted service if you get nervous walking to your car late at night after class.

    Greek Life

    Beta Theta Omicron is the only greek chapter at this school. They are very proud, smart and sociable group of people!

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned earlier, this college has a wide range of clubs. From Gay-Straight Alliance to Heart-Wrenchers, to the Ceramic club, they have 41 clubs total for an individual to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    For any type of student! For high-schoolers or retirees, they offer a wide range of classes available to anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Though you have to dig into your wallet, the financial aid are helpful for students in need. Fill out the necessary forms and they will help you out as much as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, watch a play, or see a concert: this college has more activities than most community colleges I have seen. They constantly give events and activities for students to have fun and relax after the daily grind of studying.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are numerous as well as a serving coffee shop that creates licensed Starbucks drinks. The convenient, availability for food is ideal for students looking for a place to sit down eat and study.

    Dorm Life

    It is non-existent. Most who go here are residents of the area and are trying to fulfill requirements to transfer, getting AS or smaller degrees, or taking classes for fun.

    Academic Rigor

    They have no tolerance for cheating, plagiarism and rude behaviors which creates a safe and wholesome environment for younger and older students alike.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many classes fill up quick, so speak to a counselor for help in getting classes.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, community-based environment for any age. This school offers anything from cosmetology to business classes. Anyone from high school to retirement can take classes here.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    MESA and TRIO

    What to do for fun

    you can always register for memberships of different clubs and you get to experience different activities:)

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead before registering to your classes, make sure you get in touch with a counselor to make sure you are in a right path.

    In three sentences

    Skyline College faculty are very helpful. It is a diverse community college, so you meet a lot of friends. The classes offered are great and a great start for someone transferring to a university.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is open to anyone I think. I'm not entirely sure. But I feel like anyone can come in at anytime since it's a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Varied clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of videogame and sports people hangout together in the TV room.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all an ok school to start your college live on.

    What to do for fun

    Some events that happens every other week or so.

    Food and Dining

    Okish

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid, Tutoring, Study, Don't Slack off the usual.

    In three sentences

    Use your RESOURCES

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of school events and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    They have their own Starbucks. Their cafe is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life but the buildings are amazing and beautiful. You really have to explore all the school buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff pushes you and encourages you to do your hardest. They want you to succeed and will offer any help to make you fulfill your academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the Learning Communities that they offer. Join clubs or the student government.

    In three sentences

    The college really tries its hardest to make everybody feel like a community. They host and do a lot of events so the whole student body can enjoy. They really make going to college a fun and new exciting experience.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety, especially when it gets foggy. They can walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always club stuff going on

    Great for these types of students

    Transfers or aa!

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is the way to go now

    What to do for fun

    Chill on campus, get to know people

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is actually pretty good with its sky burritos and great salad bar. Also, a coffee shop that surves starbucks right next to it!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I had were rigorous but taught by good teachers and challenging but not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your counselor early! They are there to help you find the best, cheapest, fastest way to transfer and are extremely knowledgeable!

    In three sentences

    Skyline is a chill College tucked away in a nice residential area in San Mateo. With an amazing view off the western side of campus, and cool people to meet all around, it's a great community college to get your ge's out of the way quickly for transfer. The teachers are good for the classes I had!

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved! Clubs, music, talking to the person next to you, you're halfway between the city and the beach, if you're not having fun you're not paying attention.

    Food and Dining

    Standard cafeteria fare.

    Dorm Life

    Non existent.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses give you a lot of reading but its straight forward if you commit yourself. Very textbook type learning at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sit alone! Get out and talk to people, it's a lot easier to make friends than you think.

    In three sentences

    A commuter school for those serious about technology. Welcoming and not far from Pacifica. An hour away from San Francisco with buses to the BART line.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always securities around.

    Greek Life

    really great.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many fun and interesting clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, smart, potential.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love their multicultural room.

    Bang for the buck

    Has so many programs to help me get then help i need in life.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    nice and clean cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    it would be nice to have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    could improve.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are not going to regret coming here and will enjoy it day by day.

    In three sentences

    Best teachers willing to help students succeed. Wouldn't choose any other junior college. I am lucky to be a student at Skyline college.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Meeting up at the cafe after class to discuss homework, careers, and everything about college and life.

    What to do for fun

    Sit around and hang out with my friends at the many lounges the school provides

    Tips for prospective students

    Find the instructors that best fits your way of learning. Have fun, but do all assignments, and get involved!

    In three sentences

    Skyline College is a great place to meet interesting people and determined individuals, who want to get a higher education. It is also a place where counselors and instructors are available to sit down and talk about academic goals and future careers. Lastly, Skyline is a great place to start college life, and to find the UC or CSU that best fits each student.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard Workers, and dedicated students

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good from what I have heard.

    Academic Rigor

    Work Hard Ever Day

    In three sentences

    Skyline is great. Lots of good opportunities for students. Lots of great class with good teachers.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work hang with friends when I have time

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to study study study

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a uniformed officer patrolling the campus (sometimes with a partner).

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities that can accommodate your particular interests, but the one most intriguing to me was the psychology club, because it incorporated special events and guests that taught me things i would never have learned otherwise.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are still figuring out what direction to take in terms of education can definitely talk to a counselor to see if there are any interests that can be sparked

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many events are promoted at Skyline including, promotions for paint balling, art exhibits, musical and food conventions, and school government activities.

    Bang for the buck

    as any other community college, i believe that it is money well invested if the student invest effort.

    What to do for fun

    When there's a break between classes or time to kill when waiting for a friend's last class or to get picked up, there are multiple lounges, grass areas, fields, and sitting areas spread throughout campus to hang out. There are also a lot of workshops for educational and recreational purposes that can increase the level of educational engagement.

    Food and Dining

    Skyline College has it's own starbucks, which makes it very convientient not only for the students, but also the staff and teachers.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life exists to my knowledge.

    Academic Rigor

    as like every school, effort is required, but teachers are very helpful and will take the time needed to ensure student's comfortability with the topic. My personal interests are in psychology and i found all my psychology classes to be interesting and inspiring. Though presentations, essays, and field trips i learned a lot regarding the brain and its functions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to take the initiative in asking both teachers and counselors questions, because they can't read minds. Help is there, just ask. Financial aid is offered to students who may have difficulties paying for tuition, books, or commute. FAFSA can be completed with assistance if needed.

    In three sentences

    Skyline College is a community college that can address every need that a potential student may encounter, whether psychically or psychologically. Counselors, teacher, and peers create a literal sense of community and belonging for people on their educational mission. Success is put on the table through Skyline College and students both current and future need to grab it.