Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Smith College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated over-achievers, mostly. If you're spending as much as you would be to go to Smith, it's good to get the most out of it. Also, students who can't just major in one thing. I personally am majoring in a science and am also studying art and a foreign language.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is my short summary of Smith -- the best way to get to know about Smith is to visit and talk to students! Academics: Excellent, plenty of options. The open-curriculum is the best part with no core classes. Academic Support: Excellent. There’s a resource for every class and subject, be it a tutor or a professor or both. Career Development: Very good. Plenty of opportunities provided for even first-years to start thinking about life after college. Very strong alumnae network. Aaaah, it’s an all girl’s school!: First off, it’s a women’s college. Second, don’t let that scare you. Smith’s academic reputation far outweighs the lack of the male gender, and there are plenty of guys to be found in the five college area. Food: Good, lots of options. Dining staff is very helpful. Housing: Smith boasts strong house communities and a strong history on Princeton Review’s Dorms Like Palaces list. Extracurricular Activities: Many and varied at Smith, with tons of options at the other five colleges as well. Diversity: Very much harped on by the school, but unfortunately there is a lot of separation among the students simply in the form of who people hang out with. Social Scene: Fair. If you’re not interested in the parties on campus, you can go off campus. Facilities: Fair. Libraries are great, campus center a good place to hang out, gym is nice, features a pool and a climbing wall, sometimes crowded. Art museum and plant house great places to visit on campus. Internet: Fair. Slow but usually reliable. Professors: Excellent. Second-rate teachers are the exception to the rule at Smith. Location: Northampton is a fun town to be in and the other four colleges nearby are great. Campus: Gorgeous. Enough said. Sports: Not much school spirit, but a fair variety of club and varsity sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Smith is pricey, and sometimes with current budget cuts forcing maintenance to be pushed back and and facility hours to be shortened, you do feel a little shortchanged. But if you're taking full advantage of all the academic and extracurricular opportunities that you want, it's worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics at Smith are amazing. There are no core classes and the professors are excellent. If there's something Smith doesn't have, you can easily enroll in a class at one of the other colleges of the Five College Consortium.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women/female-bodied, motivated, academically curious, interested in the sciences, interested in women's studies, opinionated, bold, passionate, driven, eclectic.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit if you can. You'll learn a lot about the campus if you can just walk around by yourself, away from tour groups. -Talk to current students. Most Smithies will tell you everything they like and don't like about the school--we're very opinionated. -Smith has a fairly sizeable and visible LGBTQ population. Sometimes the school does not emphasize this in their admissions propaganda, but it's definitely true and something to be aware of. We take treating everyone with respect very seriously here. -Smith also has a lot of liberals and moderates-- but that doesn't mean that conservatives aren't welcome. Some of us like having someone to argue with. ;) -Some Smith students are men. We have transpeople on campus, and graduate students who are men. -Just because you go to a women's school does NOT mean you won't ever see men. Guys from other schools take classes here, people from town are on campus, there are male teachers, etc. -Some Smithies are non-traditional aged students called Ada Comstock Scholars. They're pretty cool, and bring a unique perspective to whatever they do. Some of them live on campus, and some life off-campus. -Explore NoHo. It's pretty cool. -If you go to Herrell's Ice Cream in NoHo on your birthday, and show them valid ID to prove it really is your birthday, you can get a free sundae. I highly recommend doing this. -There are four housing areas on campus: the Quad, Elm Street, Center Campus, and Green Street. Each has it's own advantages and drawbacks, and certain stereotypes. However, stereotypes are not that accurate, and all of them are nice places to live. Also, housing will probably place you somewhere you'll like, 9 times out of 10. -If you like Smith, apply! We're now test-optional in our admissions policy, so even if your test scores aren't great, if you're a motivated student, go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Smith is expensive, not gonna lie. However, for what you pay (or earn in scholarships and aid), there's quite a bit available. The meal plan is basically an unlimited three meals a day, so you can eat as much as you want (not always a good thing...it's easy to overeat if you're not careful) in any dining hall. You can even go to multiple dining halls during one mealtime--and it's all covered by your room and board. Houses are pretty nice compared to the average college dorm. You can take up to five academic classes per semester (though most people don't take more than four classes at once), and there are a lot of one-credit exercise classes that you can do, which are also absolutely free because they're covered in your tuition. Besides access to four libraries on campus (plus the ability to use your card at any of the 5-College libraries) and the athletic center, you also can use your OneCard to take the bus to any other 5-College school completely free (this is covered by the SGA in your student activities fee). You can take classes at these other schools, join a club there, etc. There's also a 2,000 Praxis internship stipend available to every single student so that you can go get a cool internship sometime during your four years (usually around sophomore year) and be able to afford not getting paid. Basically, Smith has a ton of stuff available to you at little to no extra cost. It's just up to you to take advantage of it.

    Am enjoying being here

    In the sake of full disclosure, I just really love Smith (and, no, I don't work in the admissions office, so I'm being completely honest here). The campus has a great sense of community. Most people here are pretty friendly, open, and have a variety of interests. You live in a house instead of a dormitory, and the size and style of each house varies, but most houses have a distinct sense of community and special traditions. (For example, my house is on the smaller side with about 70 residents, and we like to do things such as bake in our kitchen, watch certain TV shows in the living room, go apple-picking on Mountain Day, etc.). There's also a lot of different dining options, so if you're a vegetarian, vegan, or just don't like monotony, there's bound to be something on campus you can eat. In terms of student organizations, there are quite a few. If there isn't one that matches your hobby, interest, or cause, you can write up a charter and form a new one. There's a really nice athletic center (all the exercise machines are specifically designed to be comfortable for women!) and also a variety of club and varsity sports, and occasional intramurals where houses form teams and compete against each other (like dodgeball, soccer, and basketball). And, if you get bored on campus, you can always walk downtown to Northampton (aka NoHo) and window-shop, or visit Forbes Library (which is not part of the school), or take the bus to another 5-College School. No school is perfect, but if you're willing to put yourself out there, try something new, meet some new people, and make the most out of what's available, it can be a really fun place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Smith's academics are definitely high-quality. Your classes will most likely be on the smaller side (especially in the humanities--there will be some larger lecture courses in the sciences, but then there are smaller labs and discussions), most professors are easily accessible through office hours, and there's a wealth of support in the form of the Jacobsen Writing Center (which has people who will help you revise your papers), the Quantitative Learning Center (provides support in economics, stats, and other applied forms of math), peer tutoring, etc. Classes at Smith are hard work, but definitely worth it. There will definitely be professors you like and don't like, and classes you love and hate, but part of the process of being a student is figuring that out. If you are willing to put in the effort and sometimes take a little initiative and ask for help if you need it, you will do fine here.

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smith is a haven for type A overachievers, but there's room for the more chill types too!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. A general college app tip...don't put all of your eggs in one basket. Even if you think Smith or some other school is for you, make sure you keep yourself open! 2. VISIT. I recommend Discovery Weekend...get to be someone's prospie and get to know the girl you shadow. 3. Take advantage of the 5 college area! 4. Smith cares about who you are overall -- not just your grades. Show them you're passionate about something because that will really make the difference. 5. You will hear that Smith is full of lesbians...truth: it's only HALF full of lesbians.

    Bang for the buck

    Smith is EXTREMELY expensive. For the most part, students feel like they are getting a bang for their buck. Room and Board covers our very nice dorms (Dorms Like Palaces) and The Board Plan, which includes three meals a day at the 15 or so dining halls on campus. There is also a lot of diversity in our meals, including food for vegans and those who prefer their meals to be gluten'free. Warning: if you really like meat, beware! Also, there are a great many resources on campus, from the CDO (Career Development Office) which will help you put together your resume to our Art, Performing Arts, Science, and general libraries. Not going to lie though...there will be times when I ask myself again, why are we all paying 50k?

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally am not enjoying my overall experience. As someone who is politically conservative, not from the Northeast, a proud Christian, and who has a lot of guy friends, Smith is too much of a change for me, and not in a good way. Although I am very happy with the academics, I find that perhaps there is too much freedom and choice for an indecisive person like myself. I don't feel comfortable as a conservative on campus, or as a Christian in most circumstances. I have gotten used to the female environment but very often I find myself wanting to get away from all the estrogen. I'm from the Midwest and being in New England is neither as exciting or as pleasant as I had imagined it to be. The Northampton area is extremely hippie and bohemian, which some people really like, bust most days I just wish I could walk to Walmart or go home every once in a while. Please don't judge Smith on my personal experience however...but remember that Smith is a very unique experience that is not for everyone, even though the great majority of students I have met here are wonderful people in love with the school.

    Am learning a lot

    Smith's academic program is amazing -- a lot of hard work but extremely worth it. Since there are no distribution requirements (unless you want to go for latin honors, that is), students can take a variety of courses in a variety of academic disciplines without worrying about gen ed. There's so much academic freedom here, from that to the freedom we experience thanks to the honor code (self-scheduled exams).

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. I've never felt in danger. Not even once. I feel safe to walk around after dark when going from the library to my dorm.

    Greek Life

    Personally when you live in a house full of girls, you are basically living in a sorority that you didn't chose to pledge to.

    Great for these types of students

    Over achievers, people who are driven, people who love academics, competitive, and lesbians (we have an accepting community and a large LGBT community)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the night before classes start we have convocation, like any other school, but we usually come in costume. Many people strip down to their underwear and paint themselves. Instead of a stuffy convocation we have a pep rally. We also have Mountain Day which is a random nice day in the fall when the president cancels classes and students picnic on the lawn, go kayaking, apple picking or mountain climbing.

    Bang for the buck

    As a financial aid student, I couldn't ask for better. If I was paying the full tuition I would be a bit disappointed with the quality of the food and the difficulty in finding support services like counseling or resident life staff.

    What to do for fun

    Study. Just kidding. Studying is a big part of campus life as many are here for the academic challenge, but the town on Northampton has a killer night life. I go to student plays, concerts in town, coffee bars and community events. There is also a free bus that can take you to any of the four surrounding colleges in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Great. The food is just okay, but you have unlimited meals and can go to many different dining halls in one meal.

    Dorm Life

    Smith uses the House System which means that students are placed in houses. Much of the social life revolves around the people in your house. If you are placed in a house with people who don't share your interests or values, then chances are you will feel very lonely. There is always the opportunity to change houses, but this can be intimidating because you are entering a different house with a group of students who have already created a strong bond.

    Academic Rigor

    Smith is hard. Sometimes it feels too hard, but when you finish a difficult assignment its almost like you've completed a workout. You feel confident and successful. The professors push you, but they are always willing to go an extra mile to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard and take time to get to know your professors you will find that they are willing to do just about anything to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    An academic challenge that pushes you to perfection. A social challenge that make or break you. A tradition of great women.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Lesbians/Bisexual/ETC -People who aren't obsessed over boys -Passionate about voicing their opinions -Diligent, hardworking students -Students that aren't easily depressed if they're from the west coast or if they're international students -Hipsters, 'Green' people -ANYONE! Even though there's not as much diversity as the school says there is, it's still a very accepting environment to be in. Just be yourself and people will accept you

    Tips for prospective students

    -Request for an interview with an alumni through the Smith.edu site. It was eye-opening and very worth my time. -Come to Discovery Weekend! It is a great time to make friends and also figure out whether or not Smith is for you! I think Discovery Weekend won me over. My host was also amazing and so kind! The people at Smith are generally helpful and very nice. -Don't get tricked by the food they offer you at Discovery Weekend. Most of the food is not as good as what they serve during Discovery Weekend. -APPLY FOR FINANCIAL AID! -Request for a tour around the school -Sit in one or two of the classes at Smith! -Figure out which area you want to live in and where you want to stay away from -Go to Club Fair/Rush where all the clubs come out and advertise for you to join their club. Try to join a smaller club so you can run for a position -Don't forget to hit the gym once in a while because Freshman 15 comes fast! -Do not ignore the great resources you have such as the Career Development Office! They even offer to skype with you to discuss your plans! -If you're pre-med we have a pre-health lunchbag every Friday. Be sure to contact the pre-health advisor to be added on Moodle to this lunchbag group!

    Bang for the buck

    Since this is a private school, it is pretty pricey. However, Smith is known to give general financial aid and there are programs like STRIDE and AEMES that give out scholarships (used to replace work-study) to a certain number of scholars for two years. Most of my friends said that this was one of their biggest driving factors in coming to Smith. The food is sometimes questionable. No doubt, the food is better than a lot of the other campus dining foods. We also have many dining options like vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, and kosher. The food is not always great and the dining hours are not flexible. Sometimes, I question whether the food is worth the money. However, if you look at everything else, it may be more understandable. Smith has houses, not dorms. The houses are for the most part gorgeous and the rooms are bigger than most dorm rooms. We usually get to pick the rooms through a lottery system so it is fair. There are three main divisions: Elm Street, Green Street, and the Quad. Each of these divisions have its ups and downs. I have to say though, many of my friends are jealous of the big room I have compared to the dorm rooms that they live in. Yes, the cost is high, but what you get in return is overall worth it. Don't forget to apply for financial aid though!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really think college is what you make out of it. You can be depressed all the time because you're far from home and you don't have your old high school buddies. Or, you can look at the bright side and enjoy the amazing things that are happening at this school. Northampton is a small, quirky, interesting town. There isn't much to do, but you can always find a place to eat or a few cafes. There's also an urban outfitters and CVS nearby, but that's about it, unless you like hippy clothing or items. Faces is also a cool shop to visit when you are in Northampton. It's a good place to buy posters or other furniture items. One thing that I really enjoyed was Smith To Do every Friday. Every Friday, there is a craft room where you can make something. It's different each Friday. Once I made a scarf and another time I learned how to make origami. It's also a good time to socialize and just relax from a long week. The pond is also a good place to visit or the Botanic Garden. This is a place where you can relax, or you can go kayaking with your friends. Another thing is Friday Tea. This is awesome! We have tea, cookies, and other sweets along with cheese every Friday. It's a good time to relax and get to know your housemates. I didn't have the chance to go to a lot of parties at Smith, but I did go to some. They aren't amazing and if you're going just to see boys, it may not be the best idea since they are mostly shady, but it's fun if you're going to dance with your girls. They have a lot of fun themes as well that you can dress up for. Each houses have cute events as well such as First Year Prom, Senior Banquet, etc. Overall, I really enjoy being here. I thought that I would miss having boys around, and I slightly do, but it doesn't bother me as much as I thought it would!

    Am learning a lot

    The academics at Smith is amazing and above average. The professors are for the most part very helpful and if you don't understand something they are usually available during office hours or after lecture. Even though Smith has relatively small classroom sizes, it can still be intimidating to raise your hand. Don't be afraid to ask for help though because most professors are willing to listen and help. However, be aware that there are some professors that will look down upon you and talk to you degradingly. I truly recommend planning your classes and professors out ahead of time before you register for classes. One tip is to go on ratemyprofessors.com and look at the professors' reviews. This will save you a lot of time and a lot of these reviews are accurate. There are so many resources at Smith, for such a small school. There's the Jacobsen Writing Center if you want your essay corrected (and it's totally free), there's the Career Development Office if you are having a mid-college crisis, there's the Quantitative Learning Center and Burton Hall for student tutors that will go out of their ways to help you on your homework and studying for tests and quizzes, and there's more! You're definitely at a disadvantage if you don't make use of these valuable resources. Professors often hold study sessions or Q&A sessions to clear up any material that wasn't as clear during class. Students here truly engage in the class material and aren't afraid to ask questions. You will almost always walk out of a classroom learning something new and hopefully, you will be challenged here as well!

  • 06/29/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    queer or queer-friendly social activists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Walk the same paths as some of our very prestigious alumni! Do your research online as well as in-person. It means something to go to/have gone to Smith. Women plan their family vacations around reunions, and the alumni network is amazing! If you can, come to an Ivy Day Parade in May-- if that doesn't sum up Smith spirit, I don't know what does!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't ever be afraid to go to the Dean, or Financial Aid, and ask for an appeal of your aid package. I have done it a few times, and each time the staff were accomodating and helpful. There are also funds set up for each student, regardless of economic need (the Smith emergency fund, for example). These resources are largely untapped.

    Did enjoy being here

    The housing system is amazing! The friends that I have made through my house mean more to me than anything. I have been out of school for almost 2 years now, and still keep in close contact with my housemates. You build connections here that really last.

    Did learn a lot

    Smith's professors are amazing-- as intellectuals as well as individuals. I transferred to Smith, and at my previous college, I had never received the same one-on-one attention and dedication from professors as I had while I was at Smith.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus Police are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Cubs and Activities, as well as the option to start your own if the current ones do not suffice.

    Great for these types of students

    Smith will take anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation, Mountain Day, Primal Scream

    Bang for the buck

    Smith will make you a Woman. Or, if you prefer a more non-gendered approach, Smith will make you a strong, capable, independent, intelligent, successful and imaginative individual with an mind wide open to the world.

    What to do for fun

    Relaxing with friends and house community, Downtown Northampton or surrounding shopping district, on campus productions and hobbies, and of course, studying.

    Food and Dining

    30+ Dining halls, with lots of choices

    Dorm Life

    Smith College has a very strong House community that is supportive and helpful for incoming students and current students alike. Stresses community spirit and equality awareness.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can range from very challenging to easy, depending on professors, your study habits and skill sets. It is not possible to coast by at Smith, work is always serious and intense. Nonetheless, help is available when you need it as Smith makes certain that students never want for guidance in academic arenas.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know who you are, and you don't know who you want to be, and you cannot see how you can become anything in the clouded future, go to Smith. Soon you will know yourself, know your passion, and know your path. If you do know who you are, what you want to be and do, go to Smith. Soon you will know a completely new, deeper, more passionate, more successful you than you could ever have imagined.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is a well-rounded, academic and exciting college, that allows Smithies to explore and cultivate their interests while opening doors to the work world. Smithies are driven, enthusiastic students, and the environment at Smith never fails to bring out the best in them. Smith women are known for their presence and influence in the world, something Smith College steadfastly supports.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smith's campus police are incredibly passionate about their work and do an excellent job. You will never feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    None, but you are allowed to rush for UMASS sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a ton of fun clubs. Most of the clubs at Smith College have to do with ethnicity.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wealthy enough to pay for the prestige of Smith College and consider themselves to be outcasts in society come together at Smith College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Julia Child Day is a day where the kitchen staff honors alumni Julia Child in making her recipes for dinner. Mountain Day is one day in the fall where all classes are cancelled. The night before classes everybody dresses up (or doesn't dress) for the annual commencement speeches.

    Bang for the buck

    Smith's Career Development Office is absolutely amazing, they will help you immensely when it comes to internships, full-time jobs, etc. You will have an upper hand to most other post-grad students after your education at Smith because almost every Smith alumni wants a Smith graduate as their employee. But, you really do have to pay for the prestige.

    What to do for fun

    Most students go into town and shop or eat out because the city of Northampton is quite vibrant.

    Food and Dining

    It's a bit annoying that the dining hours for dinner is 5:30-7 and you can't get food after that time. However, the meals are fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    Your house community is the only social life you will have on campus so pick a good one!

    Academic Rigor

    The work (for a first-year) isn't particularly difficult but the professors will expect a lot from the work you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not your typical college at all. If your interested in concentrating on your studies for four years, I highly suggest Smith. If you are looking for a social life that balances out your academic life, Smith isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    Boring yet easy

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, determined to succeed academically. Definitely NOT the place for slacker students or those expecting an easy ride.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not try to be a super student, but concentrate on your studies to excel in your chosen field.

    In three sentences

    An educationally demanding college which continually challenges students to excel. Plenty of student resources for those feeling overwhelmed (commonly experienced among students). Many opportunities for collaborations, internships, and study abroad programs.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have walked back to my house from the library or from wherever at all hours of the night and have felt completely safe. The town of Northampton is very small with no immediate dangers of violent crime. Of course, basic precautions should be taken as they would anywhere else you are, especially at night.

    Greek Life

    No greek organizations are recognized on Smith Campus, but one can join one through the University of Massachusetts, one of the nearby colleges in the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of organizations to match your interests or background. Although there are some holes that can be filled in terms of organizations that reflect the greatest variety of interests, the best thing is that funding is available to start a whole new organization if students want to fill the gap.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for women who want to challenge their comfort zones. Wonderful for women who want life long friends. Excellent for those of us with limited financial resources. Perfect for those who want to challenge the mainstream.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fact that Smith is an all women's college, already offers an unusual experience (not a bad one though). We have many house traditions that vary from house to house. Mountain Day is pretty unusual; it's a free day off and we get to go apple picking in the mountains. Cutter House is the most unusual house; it does not match the campus at all!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Smith is very expensive, but it is well worth it, when you leave with some serious training, life long friends, a strong network and an experience like none other. The resources available make you feel a little better for making such a large investment (just a little!).

    What to do for fun

    Smith College has many on campus organizations that throw events on the weekends. There are also many free and fun activities offered by the SGA. Admittedly, Smith can get a little dry on the weekends, but the 4 colleges near by offers a nice little escape. The developed and free bus system makes it very easy to explore other campuses.

    Food and Dining

    College food can be some of the Worst, but due to Smith's smaller size and housing system, dining offers a nice variety of food options. There are of course one of those nights, but there are usually always great options. Plus basically all houses on campus has a dining hall so some night no travel is necessary.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful housing, with a great variety to choose from. You can be in a small close knit community house, a larger informal house or anything in between. They are actually houses, no dorms at Smith! You may even live off campus if you so choose.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors actually care about their area of studies and work hard to make sure that you learn something. Fortunately, that means real academic training and meaningful work. Unfortunately, that means real a lot of homework (just joking!).

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Smith expecting to be taken out of your comfort zone. Keep your mind open, and take advantage of all of the unique opportunities that Smith has to offer. If you feel overwhelmed, remember, you can go abroad!

    In three sentences

    Smith College is not a traditional college experience. Smith offers many resources and opportunities. Many students either love it or hate it, many have come to deeply appreciate it.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Felt safe here even late at night.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the town, eat out. or stay in, everything is good.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are actually spacious something that is very rare for a college.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes that require all students to be at their top game, worth taking though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour and ask to be take to the bridge to see the lake. Best part of the campus by far the most relaxing

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, full of enticing history and art. Modern with a touch a class that many campuses have lost. Simple and welcoming to all who visit.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smith has a very safe campus. There are emergency call boxes everywhere and campus police is always available. I have personally never felt afraid walking around campus alone at night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everything on campus. Don't try to do too many of them. There are lots of activist groups with environmentalist or social justice goals, like the Divestment Campaign, and other groups for musical talents, like the Ukelele club, as well as sports, like the Quidditch Team, and special interests, like the Science Fiction and Fantasy Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Academics, nerds, geeks, whiz-kids, social activists, environmentalists, LGBTQ kids and non-gender-conforming individuals, athletes, medical students, engineering students, liberal arts students, artistic types, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation is pretty non-traditional on Smith Campus. It tends to involve a lot of drinking, nudity, and rainbow flags. Other fun things include celebrations, a performance halfway through the semester to celebrate LGBTQ pride, primal scream, which is an event that takes place during finals week where everyone runs outside and screams for a few minutes to blow off some anxiety about tests, and winter weekend, which is a house party at the end of the year where everyone gets dressed up and acts fancy for a few hours.

    Bang for the buck

    Smith is really really really expensive. It's hard to afford tuition without some kind of financial aid. But the academic quality makes it worthwhile as well as the opportunities that are available to you here such as the PRAXIS internship and Junior Year Abroad. The financial aid office will work with you if you make them.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots and lots of extracurricular organizations and events happening all around campus all the time. Just keep your eyes and ears open. Downtown Northampton is fun to visit and it's just down the road. There are lots of restaurants and little hippie shops as well as a concert hall. It's also great to take the PVTA and explore other campuses.

    Food and Dining

    The food will be impressive at first and become boring within a month or two. It's good quality and the dining hall staff work really hard. But the menu gets pretty repetitive after awhile and the idea of seasoning usually seems to be something that nobody thought of. Lines get pretty long when there's something good on the menu but it's definitely worth the wait.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies from house to house. The rooms are awesome for the most part. Mostly singles, it's possible to get your own room as a first year, and there are kitchen facilities for student use in every house. I have lived in several different houses, and each community has its own personality and way of doing things. People tend to be very nice and polite and it is easy to make friends, especially with all of the programming that house leaders organize.

    Academic Rigor

    Smith is a very rigorous academic institution and you have to keep a good schedule to keep up. But there are many resources available to you such as professors' office hours and the tutoring centers. Your success boils down to your effort and hard work definitely pays off. You leave the class feeling like you really understand the material if you stick with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important not to overwhelm yourself by taking too many classes or involving yourself in too many extracurricular activities. You will feel a lot of pressure to get involved in as many things as possible, but seriously, don't do it. Pick one or two things that you really are super passionate about and stick to them. Also, double majoring is a bad idea, no matter how many other people are doing it.

    In three sentences

    The college campus is really beautiful with a lot of natural scenery. The students tend to be affluent young women with strenuous academic goals and there is a large LGBTQ presence on campus in addition to other social activism movements. The classes are rigorous regardless of your department but you can always find help if you ask for it.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, independent women. Many students at Smith are very opinionated and involved in their studies and extra curriculars. Smith has so many clubs and activities that everyone can be involved in something they enjoy (a cappella groups, theater, debate, Democrat and Republican groups, sports teams and clubs, religious groups)

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit Smith, you will see the beautiful campus and get a feel for how students interact on campus. You can sit in on a class and see how professors value students opinions and encourage class discussions. You can also stay overnight and get to experience the cozy Smith housing system.

    Bang for the buck

    Smith has a lot of benefits that students learn about upon arrival. There is funding available for unpaid internships, travel during breaks between semesters and many jobs on campus. Smith's career center has a lot of alumni connections and works hard to invite many recruiters and companies to campus for interviews. The resources (library, gym, dormitories, classrooms) are very beautiful and the atmosphere is very collegiate.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy Smith academically and find it is the perfect fit for me. Socially I wish that there was a little more happening on the weekends. Most of Smith parties consist of dancing in the dark. There are movie nights and other activities but I wish there was more variety.

    Am learning a lot

    Smith courses are challenging and open your mind to new ideas and theories. Since coming to Smith I have learned a new language, Italian, and become practically fluent. I have taken courses in Education that have taught me so much about how children learn, what methods are most effective and the importance of the classroom environment. Professors are very supportive of students and are always open for discussions or if you need extra assistance.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've gotten locked out of my room several times and Campus Police are really great at helping out. My friend had a drunken episode and sliced her knee open and campus police was also extremely helpful. They're cool people.

    Greek Life

    I'm not too familiar with Greek life on campus (I haven't really explored that area)

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of stuff to join. Too many to list but we have club fairs often and everyone is willing to talk about whatever they're involved in

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We riot, a lot (playfully) and have full out water balloon fights. We also will have nights where the whole campus will go outside at 10pm and scream (usually around heavy testing periods) Tea is also very fun!

    What to do for fun

    Northampton is just a walk away and though it's a very small town it is very dense. Faces and Urban outfitters are my favorite shopping spots. Woodstar cafe is my absolute favorite cafe and Local burger is the best comfort food spot! Also if you don't want to leave campus the green house is a beautiful place to just escape from the world.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite good compared to other schools. We have a very wide variety (Asian, vegan, kosher/halal/gluten free) and the fact that we don't have a meal plan is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Also Julia Child attended smith so we have Julia Child Day around Thanksgiving which is super yummy :)

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms at smith, there are houses. We have very strong house communities which is awesome because you really bond with your housemates. Having that community supporting you really makes Smith feel like a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes at smith have been very very challenging but these classes are probably my greatest accomplishments. They have pushed me in many ways and caused me to grow immensely as a student. Embrace the challenge because it's worth the result.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't allow the all women aspect of the school to make your decision. USE your hosts and ask them tons of questions, and if your host isn't friendly you can knock on somebody else's door and they'd be glad to help. We love having you guys--trust me. Also go to classes! They really give you a feel for Smith's academic setting.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is a place where you're truly free to explore. You are exposed to so much and truly learn something new everyday. The campus has a very strong culture and is unlike any other.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety to get involved in, but some clubs require a high level of participation.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, intelligent, committed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day - classes cancelled in the fall for one day, chosen at random.

    Bang for the buck

    EXPENSIVE, but it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the other nearby-colleges, enjoy the valley.

    Food and Dining

    Smith food often leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Smith strives for an environment that is rich in community.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard, study harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes you enjoy, and bargain with the Financial Aid office.

    In three sentences

    Smith is an academically rigorous places where smart people go. Be prepared for worldly-thinking and great tolerance of all people.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police around. I can walk around at night alone and feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities you can do at smith and they are open to anyone that wants to join, meaning if you wanted to join a Latin's club you do not have to be Hispanic or speak Spanish.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who are open and outgoing but also for those people who are shy and need a place where they can feel comfortable being themselves. This school is great for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do here for fun. Besides the parties on the weekends, there are occasional events, like plays or concerts or different organizations hosting events in particular.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, it depends on the person's taste. I am happy to say I have tried new foods here and enjoyed them.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are called houses here because we are like a family. Everyone is really nice and respectful of quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a big difference between high school and college here. The work is hard but like i said before, there are many places you can go to get help and the teachers offer their time as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to ask questions when you do not know something or feel confused. It is okay not to know everything.

    In three sentences

    Smith is a great environment to learn in. Everyone here is welcoming and will to help with any questions someone may have. Smith also offers many resources to get help on a large range of subjects.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe! Safe! Safe!

    Greek Life

    None! But the housing is modeled after sororities and fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Julia Child Day - As Julia Child graduated from Smith College, we celebrate her successes annually by cooking her famous dishes across campus! Primal Scream - The night before finals at 10pm every student screams out their window for five minutes to get out nerves. It then gets instantly silent again, as the school is back to 24-Hour Quiet Hours to finish out finals week.

    What to do for fun

    Not only is Smith jam-packed with fun and thrilling activities at all times of the day, these is the bustling downtown of Northampton to explore!

    Food and Dining

    Delicious! There are 16 dining halls with different themes and food selections.

    Dorm Life

    Not only does Smith provide exceptional housing, with a majority of rooms being singles, they also supply wondering food with 16 dining halls around campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Smith is challenging and rigorous, but ultimately rewarding with every endeavor satisfying and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the all-woman's-college mentality freak you out! Smith is a wonderful school right in the heart of downtown Northampton with many townies and other Five-College students to befriend.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is prestigious, rigorous and accepting in all ways. It challenges the academic and social aspects of life along with allowing students to discover what excites and motivates them. Not only is the administration supportive and accepting, but the college community as a whole is there for the success of every student.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is the nicest of any campus safety i've seen.

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    There is a house party at least almost every weekend. There are tons of orgs to get involved in, and there are always interesting speakers or other events.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT food. They also let you bring tupperware, and you can eat as much as you want without it affecting your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone lives in houses, and most people live in the same house for most of their Smith career-creating an amazing community.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a high end college--professors challenge you but are super cool and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest and passionate in your essays, and don't turn it down because financial aid can be VERY helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a great liberal environment where learning is a priority, but the overall experience is what is most important. Smithies are known for being bold and empowered, and it is evident everyday.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk on campus at 3 am and I am 95% sure you will be just fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation- right before classes start, all the students and some professors gather in JMG hall. We hear the president and professors speak about the upcoming year. Each house has a theme and you dress as the theme. Each house is basically yelling very loudly trying to show they're the best. Quad Riot- If you live in the quad, each house runs out to the middle of the quad competing with all other houses saying they're the best Mountain Day- The president decides which day by ringing a bell very early in the morning announcing that classes are cancelled that day. The night before mountain day, students usually do quad scream with is just yelling in front of the presidents house saying we want the day off and then jumping in Paradise Pond. There's many more, but I've only been at Smith for one semesteer

    Bang for the buck

    Assuming this means is it worth the money, depending on your package I think Smith is.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs at Smith; too many to count some would say. Also there are controlled parties at Smith which is a stress reliever on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to other schools, I cannot complain.

    Dorm Life

    Each house at Smith creates there own community. With that said you will be apart of a great community within another great community. The people in your house will become your closest friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Smith is tough, but it's not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Do not be afraid to take advantage of resources available. - Do not worry about making friend. I guarantee you will. - Although it will be stressful at times, make sure you have fun!

    In three sentences

    Smith College consists of a wide range of intelligent women from many different backgrounds. The campus is the most welcoming community I have been apart of and attending Smith has instilled a new sense of pride of being a woman. Although this is the most challenged I have been academically, there are many resources available to help each and every student succeed.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Northampton is such a safe place to be. On top of that, public safety is always on top of its game. No matter what time you come back from an academic building, campus safety will always be around. If you don't feel comfortable, or if you are sick, they will even drop you back to your dorm!

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities at Smith because it does not advocate nor support those types of groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    From debate to acapella, Smith offers a lot of extra curricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are artsy, academically driven, creative, and open minded are the students that come to Smith College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Smith convocation is definitely different from many other colleges. Its an experience that you have to have in order to explain it.

    Bang for the buck

    Northampton is a relatively cute town. Although some places might be pricey, there are places near campus that give students really good discounts!

    What to do for fun

    Smith has a variety of options on weekends if you are not into the party scene like Smith-to-do nights, where you can do arts and crafts and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Smith tends to be creative in its dining options from Vegan to Korean night. The hours work well with busy schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm provides a different setting suit for the ones who choose them. Every house it close knit like a family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Smith challenge you and teach you to think critically on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try and apply for an interview when trying to get into Smith College because a lot of girls are trying to get in. Show your creative side when submitting your application because Smith loves individuals that are brilliant and creative.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is an institution that is both a privilege and honor to attend. Its a really great academic driven school that has so much pride in its history and future. Once you arrive, you already feel empowered and believe that you will make a difference in the world.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None. If you're interested in that, though, some schools nearby offer a Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day is a when the president of the school picks a random day in the fall to have classes off and just enjoy the day!

    Bang for the buck

    Smith offers GREAT financial aid if you really need it. It's completely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Northampton! It has a small town atmosphere and may not be for everyone, but it offers a wide variety of activities. Concerts are frequent and art is a big thing in Northampton, too.

    Food and Dining

    There are about 15 dining areas on campus, and they give a variety of foods (vegetarian, vegan, local, etc). Whatever your preference, Smith has it.

    Dorm Life

    Houses, not dorms! The unique housing system at Smith is designed to make students as comfortable as possible. It provides a great community for all students.

    Academic Rigor

    Its academics are similar to those provided by an Ivy League school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that the housing system is something you'd like. Visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is a place for women who want to be empowered. Its challenging academics and amazing campus atmosphere make it unique from other liberal arts/women's schools. Smith is overall a wonderful school in a great location.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From what was told, social life, a party or two are what to expect

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the campus before you make a decision.

    In three sentences

    From what I see about Smith College, it seems to be what my teacher says : a school serious about education. I love the way the campus is built, and the professors there. Obviously, this school should be reviewed by those who are very serious about their education.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Food and Dining

    Smith has a many different dining halls, so if you don't like what is being served, you can go somewhere else. Also, Julia Child Day is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I love my house!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult, but fun! Professors are always willing to help. Stay on top of your reading!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! You can get more financial aid and accepted into super cool programs, the earlier you apply the better!

    In three sentences

    Smith is a liberal women's college in Northampton MA. It's a competitive community of women, ready to take on the world. Come to Smith!

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is sub-par, sometimes it's good; some times you may need to go to the local pizzeria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think I can accurately assess the houses on campus. Every house has it's own personality, so pick wisely!

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is intense. If you don't procastinate, you won't need to pull an all-nighters. Attend every class because there are only 12 weeks in the semester, so it's very hected and the work piles on pretty quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school, extensively. Try your best to make a visit, so you are sure this school is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is a mixed-bag. Their academic program is excellent and the professors make it their priority for you to succeed. It's a very small campus, so there aren't many activities to be involved in. Research this school before you decide to attend because Smith is not for everyone.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always a phone call away. They will even just talk to you if you are walking home really late or don't feel safe, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded people who love new information.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rare books room is very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    The US's college system is dysfunctional in itself, but Smith is very much so worth whatever you are willing to afford.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the rare books room! See what they have to offer. Also, on campus organizations can be fun. If you want to go off campus, poke around on the five college Facebook group to see if there is anything you are interested in going on at one of the other schools.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are usually pretty vast, and there are always fresh fruit and veggies at mealtimes.

    Dorm Life

    There is great house community if you want to be involved in it.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are doing everything right, it should be difficult, but not unmanageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be realistic with yourself and realize that Smith will help you accomplish your goals if you are persistent. If you want something, whether it be scholarship funds, a certain display or whatever, be sure to keep asking until the last possible person says no.

    In three sentences

    Smith has great academic programs, especially within the government and engineering departments. The Smith community is strong and mostly kind. Smith should divest from fossil fuels.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Northampton is a great city, full of clubs, cute coffee shops, and stores catering to the college crowd. In addition, there are four other colleges that can be easily reached by bus, meaning that there are almost an unlimited number of other students to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    One thing that Smith dining does not have is repetition. Each house has a different menu for breakfast lunch and dinner, so even if you don't like what's being served at one dining hall, you can always go to another and get something else. The food here is pretty fantastic as college food goes; many ingredients are local and organic, and the dining halls do a good job providing food for students who eat gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan, and for those observing different religious practices.

    Dorm Life

    Smith dorms are a bit different than most other colleges. Instead of typical dorm buildings, we have houses, which all have different identities and vibes. Houses do a lot of activities as a group and living at Smith really does cultivate a sense of family with the other women you live with.

    Academic Rigor

    Smith is known for its academic rigor, which sets it apart from many other colleges. Smithies place their coursework above all else and easy classes at this university don't exist.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's important to be involved in activities outside of the high school day. Smith emphasizes both academic rigor as well as extracurriculars and community engagement. Of course, grades are important too, because the application process is very competitive. Make sure that your application showcases you as an individual and sets you apart from the thousands of other applicants.

    In three sentences

    Smith College is a place for strong, independent women with a deep desire to learn and to apply what they learn in the classroom to the world outside. It is a place that is full of opportunities if you work to find them, and just going to Smith is an opportunity in and of itself - this college opens doors.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus. If you are feeling unsafe or don't feel comfortable walking across campus alone at night you can call Camus police who will give you a lift

    Greek Life

    Smith doesn't have any sororities but the organization of the campus into smaller houses provides the perks of Greek life like a close knit social group. Houses host parties on the weekends which other smith students and sometimes students from the other 5 college schools attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus and most receive funding from the college which means little or no out of pocket expenses for participating.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven intellectuals and activists.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid and the small class sizes mean more access to professors which helps make the quality of education better than larger universities.

    Food and Dining

    Pluses there are a bunch of dining halls in houses across campus so you never have to walk far for food (or at all if yours is one of the 18 houses with a dining hall located in it) drawbacks include limited variety at each location. Because there are so many small dining halls at any given meal each dining hall has a limited selection. Everyone is on an unlimited meal plan so you can always go dining hall hopping and eat at as many locations in one meal as you want. There is also a convenient dining hall app that you can download and all of the menus are posted online so you can look to see what is being offered at each location. The food itself is generally pretty good and there are accommodation for dietary restrictions (including an entire vegetarian/vegan dining hall which always has AWESOME foo

    Dorm Life

    Almost everyone lives on campus all 4 years. Students are divided into houses which generally have 50-75 students from all 4 class years living together. There is great community in the houses and it gives people a nice chance to get to know people from different class years which doesn't happen as much at other schools. The rooms in general are pretty spacious and There are a lot of singles which is really nice

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was at Smith for a two week summer program, and the campus police came in and gave every student their number in case of emergency. All over campus are little police calling stations, just in case you're walking around campus and someone is following you or anything of the sort. In order to enter any dorms on campus you have to have a swipe card, so only students and faculty can enter the buildings. I felt safe the entire time I was on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Smith has a buffet style dining hall, and most of the ingredients are locally sourced. I did not have a single bad meal in the entirety of my two week stay. Every lunch and dinner has a salad bar, lunch offers soup, and two or three hot entrees are offered. There are options available for vegans, vegetarians, kosher, gluten-free, any sort of dietary restriction there is food available. As for off campus, I did not eat out very much, Bueno y Sano had pretty good food, and the food at Local Burger is divine. Herrells Ice Cream serves the best ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    Smith has residential houses. I was living in Lamont house during the two week program, and I was one of the few people with a roommate. I found living in Lamont pretty comfortable, despite the no air conditioning and 90 F weather at the time. The dining and living room were air conditioned, so after class my friends and I would spend time there, because it was more comfortable. Because there were multiple programs and students from all programs in the houses, we intermixed and everyone, including the TAs/RAs were friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Because I was attending a two week summer program, I didn't have very difficult classes, however, I learned a lot in my experience, and my teachers, TA's, and all lecturers and guest speakers were interesting and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Smith has a beautiful campus just a 5-10 minute walk from Downtown Northampton. Their food is pretty good, house I stayed in was nice, but had no air conditioning. Their field station is one of my favorite place's I've ever been, and the only living building I've experienced.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AMAZING! I have never felt unsafe at Smith, EVER! We have great people working as our pub safe. They are always so friendly and ask how we are doing!

    Greek Life

    none! Smith is not sorority-like.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much one can do: sports teams (basketball, volleyball, even Harry Potter them club) Soccer club is a favorite!

    Great for these types of students

    For any book-loving students looking for a cozy place to read anything!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I always knock on a door before I enter! I love studying by the St. Francis statue. I really love the red room at smith: its carpet is red, the furniture is red, and there is a fire place.

    Bang for the buck

    Books, books, and more books is my answer! You learn to read then read to learn, after all, so the more you consume of books the more knowledge you'll obtain! The Raven bookstore in downtown NoHo is great for those hungry for more book knowledge! Also, smith has free coffee in the global studies center!

    What to do for fun

    I love going to our museum which is the #1 liberal arts museum in the country. I enjoy walking through our safe campus as well as through Northampton. I enjoy going to the movie nights Smith hosts and Smith-to-Do, where I can go relax with friends and do arts and crafts.

    Food and Dining

    We are so privileged that we have so many food options to choose from: 15 dining halls, some open later than others, and have a variety of foods. I really appreciate grab and go and Chapin!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is safe,comfortable, and such a blast! A majority of your friends come from your house. There are so many activities always happening in your house, too, like movie night, the tradition one-Friday-a-month teas, and dances.

    Academic Rigor

    You can't slide your way through Smith; there are too many people rooting for you here to succeed and for you to do the best you can be. All classes, whether an EES course to a chemistry course, is going to have work. Truly what you learn in your classes have long-lasting implications on the rest of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to talk to your professors and tell them your interest, and be more than just the students who comes to class regularly, because they are the best of mentors. Be sure to explore of Smith can offer with study abroad opportunities early. Summers become very valuable components to your academic year for internships, so be sure to make connections with the Lazarus Center and Smith for support.

    In three sentences

    The school is challenging and supportive. At Smith if you need help you can find it. The opportunities are endless.