Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Snead State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Snead is great for people who like to be involved, there are plenty of opportunities. Snead is for people who like to know people and be known. It is decently small, but yet there enough people that you can meet someone new every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about the teachers before you sing up for a class. Sometimes the same class will be offered by a teacher who is a lot more fun than the other. I don't suggest buying books on the first day of school, make sure you will actually need the book first. Know where your classes are before you are supposed to be there. Snead's ambassadors are always willing to give tours, so schedule one before you start.

    Bang for the buck

    Snead offers many degrees and classes. The price of tuition is cheaper than a lot of other places and the overall experience is terrific!

    Am enjoying being here

    I started out not wanting to attend Snead because it is a community college. Now that I am attending I don't want to leave! Snead is what you make it. If you get involved and make friends, you will love it!

    Am learning a lot

    What you learn at Snead is what you want to learn at Snead. If you put forth a little bit of effort, there is much to be learned.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who need to take it easy before jumping straight into a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the fact that it's easy get to you, because if you do, your grades will start slipping. Even if you don't feel that you need to, STUDY!!

    Bang for the buck

    You can take all of your basic classes and then go on to your university and its cheaper!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my teachers, they are so energetic and try to make the most out of boring lecture days.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my classes and all of my teachers are super nice and make class really exciting.

  • 06/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to transition to a four year university!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and go to the events that they have! They can be really fun and are a great way to meet friends!

    Bang for the buck

    Snead gives out a good bit of scholarships, therefore when you transfer to your four year university you don't mind spending more money. Even if you don't recieve a scholarship, Snead is very reasonable and is a great school!

    Did enjoy being here

    Snead State is a great school and is a good transition for students not wanting to go straight to a four year college. The school is large enough to were you can pick your friends but is small enough to where you know majority of the people there. Get involved!

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers here are so nice and are very helpfull in any way they can be. They make classes a lot more fun and entertaining more so than other schools. Therefore I did learn a lot!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bachelors degree Students wanting to take basics during first 1-2 years before transfer to a four year college, while saving some money on college expenses and living at home.

    Am learning a lot

    Especially good math teacher, really helped remove the fear of math, was very helpful when had questions.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    get what you earn.

    Tips for prospective students

    give your best to get your best.

    In three sentences

    it is great, exciting, and positive.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on mondays a friend and me love to eat lunch together if the weather is pr omitted outside at the picnic tables.

    What to do for fun

    i am a full time mom when not at school. i love to have that away time and the best place to spend it is at school if not taking care of my little one.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    college is not like high school there is much change. its not about what you wear. it is more about who you are.

    In three sentences

    snead is a great school to start out with before attending a four year college. unlike most two years college snead has a lot to offer in athletics, and academics. teachers are well prepare to answer most of your questions.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals are fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Take Freshwater for History. 2. Join clubs. 3. Get involved. 4. Do not eat the cafe food too much you will get fat.

    In three sentences

    A good first year experience. Big enough to get the college feel, but small enough everyone knows your name. A welcoming enviroment.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Snead always has something going on whether it be some kind of sporting event or a play at the Bevile Center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    Dont live in the dorms but they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are AMAZING,

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help don't hesitate to ask, the staff is more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Snead has helped me become a more productive person, I give this college an A++ for the staff and the vast number of classes they offer.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good well lighted and patrolled

    Greek Life

    none i do not know about this one

    Clubs and Activities

    they have lots of things to do

    Great for these types of students

    ones who cannot afford a major college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    love the new facilities

    Bang for the buck

    good for people who cannot afford a big college

    What to do for fun

    attend sports and theater

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good

    Dorm Life

    did not live in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    good and well thought out

    Tips for prospective students

    research colleges first. do not over load yourself with classes

    In three sentences

    a good college. good campus. good teachers.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety operates on a 24-hour-a-day, providing excellent peace-of-mind to those attending Snead. Also, the campus itself is close more close together than most big universities, making it easier for students to get to and from classes.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at Snead consists of Phi Beta Lands, which invites both males and females to join in. They help with fundraisers in the local community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are LOTS of clubs and organizations at Snead, such as: Fellowship of Christian Athletes; Snead State Ambassadors; History Club; College Bowl; Parson Pit; and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    There is no bias against any students willing to learn. Students are guaranteed no bias to their religion, race/ethnicity, gender, economic status, or sexual orientation. Everyone and anyone is welcomed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure about unusual traditions, but a good location to hang out on the campus is the Student Union Building (SUB). There are lots of opportunities to make new friends, join clubs, play games, and much more!

    Bang for the buck

    Since Snead is a community college, the cost of your college tuition will be lower than the cost of tuition at a large university. The Financial Aid Office at Snead is willing to help anyone needing financial aid. Also, since Boaz is a small town and not a big city, the cost of living is also cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    What to do, what to do? Go to the local Boaz 9 Cinema and catch the latest movie; the bowling alley and have a ball; or go shopping at the many stores and bargain hunting in the outlets. Either way will help you kill time or find that outfit you've always wanted.

    Food and Dining

    In Boaz, Alabama, there are LOTS of fast food restaurants, such as: McDonald's, KFC, Wendy's, Taco Bell, Krystal, Subway, Sonic, Frizzle's, Daniel's Backyard BBQ and Dale's BBQ. Some dine-in restaurants are: Los Arcos, Garden of China, Pasquale's, Domino's, Pizza Hut, Huddle House, and The Mill Street Deli. I also recommend dining at the SSCC Cafeteria, which provides great home cooking at a reasonable price. A good coffee shop is JaMoka's, which is next to the hospital.

    Dorm Life

    Since I live only five minutes away from the campus, I can only tell you what I have heard about dorm life at Snead State. The dorm life there is nice, but cramped, since 2011 had so many freshmen enrolled (both in and out of state). If you are an in-state student, my suggestion would be to live with your relatives and if you're an out-of-state student, live in the dorms (unless you have relatives living in the state of Alabama as well).

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Snead State is just as big as the big name colleges. With classes that help give you the knowledge for your career and the setting of a small classroom, you get more one-on-one time with your instructor. When you leave Snead, you will have the knowledge needed for your career choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are three tips I would give to prospective students: 1. Be prepared in ALL of your classes (be studious) 2. Get involved in campus life (sports events, clubs, etc.) 3. Make good decisions (DO NOT get involved in the party scene)

    In three sentences

    Snead State is a great college for prospective students because of the staff's endless dedication to make sure we achieve our dreams and finish what we start. If t wasn't for the staff, Snead would just be an empty building. Even though we are college students and fully capable of handling things ourselves, it's great to know that someone still caress about us.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe!

    Greek Life

    I have not clue about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have attended any but I have had friends who love them.

    Great for these types of students

    All types are welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To my knowledge I do not know any, but I have to say that the locations on campus is very neat and clean.

    Bang for the buck

    The money is worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the time the sports are fun to attend.

    Dorm Life

    I have not attended this part of the facility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the history and the accomadations.

    In three sentences

    The facility is very clean and the greens are taken care of daily. I love the atmosphere in the area. The people are friendly.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good chicken fingers and banana pudding.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard. Classes at Snead are a good stepping stone for four year college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the classes are pretty easy, study and prepare for test.

    In three sentences

    Snead State is a very good college to start out at before going to a major school. For students like me, I wasn't ready to go off to a four year school straight out of high school. I am very lucky to have Snead so close to home to attend first.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During the day and at night there are security guards on campus. There has never been a time where I have felt unsafe at Snead, the security is not overbearing though. A student can go and do as they please, but security is there watching out for everyones safety. They do a great job and are really nice.

    Greek Life

    During the day and at night there are security guards on campus. There has never been a time where I have felt unsafe at Snead, the security is not overbearing though. A student can go and do as they please, but security is there watching out for everyones safety. They do a great job and are really nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to get involved with at Snead State. A few clubs that are offered are SGA, PTK, PBL, Snead Campus Ministry, FCA, a latino club, and more. These organizations normally meet at least once a week if not more. I am very involved with Snead Campus Ministry (SCM) and we are currently packing shoeboxes with toys and necessities for children who normally would not receive anything for Christmas.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student fits in here at Snead State Community College. People from all kinds of backgrounds come to Snead. What I loved about Snead when I first came and still to this day was how welcoming everybody was. I never felt out of place at Snead. The color of ones skin, personal beliefs, hairstyle, or anything else is not a factor of being accepted into this college. The walls that each student builds up, become broken down and it is a comfortable environment to learn and grow in.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices at Snead State Community College are very affordable. My tuition cost for the fall semester is only $2,071 for 19 hours. I also received three books to rent for free. I am a part of the Federal TRiO Program at Snead which makes me eligible to receive three books per semester for free. In order to receive these books to rent a person must participate in so many workshops or activities TRiO hosts. Overall the prices are great and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is something always going on at Snead State Community College. Within the town of Boaz there is a movie theatre, bowling alley, and several restaurants. On campus the SGA hosts several dances through out the year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Snead State Community College is amazing. There is always fresh cooked food and a heathy option, there is also a small cafe within the Student Union Building. The food within the cafeteria consists of a buffet bar where students can choose what they would like to eat. In the cafe a student simply places there order and with hardly a wait the food is fresh and ready. There are also meal plans students may get at Snead State Community College but for students like myself, who do not live on campus, a person goes when it is most convenient for them.

    Dorm Life

    I myself do not stay in the dorms, but I have been in the dorms and they are in really good condition. The dorms are not even ten years old and are very close and convenient to classes. They also require a card to get in, which is a great security feature.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty high, the professors are very encouraging though. The classes are smaller here at Snead State Community College, but that just gives more one-on-one student teacher time to help with troubling assignments. There is a wide ranging of classes a student can take at Snead State whether it is online or in class. The bar is set high for all students in order for them to reach their full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come take a campus tour and talk with an advisor before coming to Snead. By doing this a student will be able to grasp the feel of the campus and talk with an advisor to help set up a class schedule. This way they are not in shock on the first day of classes, the campus will feel even more welcoming. Another tip would be to get involved. The more a student is involved now, starting off in college the more opportunities that will follow them as they transfer and search for a job.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Snead State community college has been incredible. I have been able to make numerous friends, be a part of student organizations, and work towards a career while at Snead State Community College. If anyone is looking to go to a community college, I would highly recommend Snead State to them, it will only make a positive impact on their life.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the SUB there are many activities and games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has excellent food. Some days the chicken fingers can be smelled from across the campus. Even outside people from the neighborhood come to eat there for lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience, I have had very good teachers that teach well enough that they classes do not seem as hard as they could otherwise be. I really learned what was necessary and the work was not overly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to get involved and go to the SUB and meet new people. There are 5 teachers that I HIGHLY recommend: Mr. Brewer, Dr. Freshwater, Mrs. Armstrong, Mr. Bates, and Mr. Snyder. All 5 of these make the subject they are teaching more interesting and with all 5 of them it is obvious that they enjoy what they are teaching. There are 2 teachers I suggest trying to ovoid if possible: Mrs. Wigley and Dr. Watts. It is not that either one of them are bad teachers or that they are not good people, because they are both nice. I personally had a hard time getting into the subject matter of the class because the way they did lecture was boring to me.

    In three sentences

    Out of a scale from 1-10 I would give Snead a 7. The teachers are great, the campus is nice, the class sizes are small and that makes for a more intimate setting, and there are plenty of ways to get involve. The only downfall to such a small school is, some basic classes, like Spanish, are not offered in a class setting during the day.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe due to being located in a small town.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life because Snead is a junior college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Snead has a great FCA program, a fantastic theater department, and there is usually some type of sporting event or intramural game going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Snead is great for athletes who want to go somewhere after high school but did not receive offers from major universities. Snead is also great for students who are not ready for the stress of having 300+ students in one class.

    What to do for fun

    If you come from a bigger town, you will be bored with Boaz. There is a movie theater, a few places to go eat, and a bowling alley. Just hanging out with friends is what most people in Boaz do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria used to be amazing, but once the cafeteria got a new owner it was not so great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and there are always activities for the dorm students to participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    If you attend class regularly, you will pass with no problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to transfer after Snead, make sure to check with your future college to see what all classes will transfer before you take them!

    In three sentences

    Snead State Community College is a great place for local students who are not yet ready to leave home to further their education. It is a great transition from high school to a major university. I highly recommend Snead State to any student looking to further their education at a place that is not overwhelming.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    none

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are several but they dont fit into a working students time schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    working, stay at home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everybody hangs out at the SUB. If you already have a solid group of friends. If not..better go to class early.

    Bang for the buck

    My classes didn't cost an arm and a leg, but they weren't cheap either.

    What to do for fun

    fun? At snead? I didn't make a single good friend and the student life is very limited, ESPECIALLY if you have to work and go to school.

    Food and Dining

    never ate at the cafeteria. not even once.

    Dorm Life

    Not many people live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great. But its pretty much the 13th grade

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider all of your options. Its close to home, but its a struggle to deal with. what is more importang

    In three sentences

    Hard to work with and very unorganized. Convenient location. Registration process and online is a confusing mess.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are quite a few options

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SUB is where a lot of people hang out between classes

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the SUB and make new friends, play some ping pong or pool.

    Food and Dining

    not very well

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    most of the teachers are very friendly and work with you outside of class as well if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard just like anywhere else and you should do just fine

    In three sentences

    fun, beautiful, worthwhile

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do around Boaz, Alabama, but this is why the organizations and clubs at school are important. They keep the school and students active.

    Food and Dining

    Snead State is very close to many type of restaurants, and has a great cafeteria right on campus. If you do want to eat off of campus, the most you might have to drive is five minutes.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard from the other students, living on campus is easy-going and can be fun because of the people you meet.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers do not fool around when it comes to teaching. Students will learn because the teachers do care about your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask if you have a question about anything. There will, undoubtedly, be someone to help you.

    In three sentences

    Snead State Community College is an excellent start for people that have yet to choose a career field and those who have. The school is indeed small enough to know your name but big enough for anyone to get the college experience one would hope to get at any college-be it a two year institution or a four year one. The advisors are always happy to help, and all the students feel welcomed. The professors do everything within their power to help as well. Not only do you have help from the faculty and staff; there are fun student organizations to join. Students are happy to start their future at Snead State because they are always encouraged to finish what they start.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go For It!

    In three sentences

    Great School.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The SUB (student union building) is the best place to relax and have fun with friends, while making new friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus and get to know your teachers well.

    In three sentences

    Snead has really great teacher who are willing to help their students. The faculty and students are nice and friendly. The school is easy to navigate and has a beautiful campus.

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the McCain Center computer lab! It is great for studying between classes or during the break!

    In three sentences

    Snead State Community College is rich with history. The teachers here are very helpful and intelligent and the campus life is picking up as well. They even started a couple of Greek Life groups.