Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Solano Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whoever still needs time to plan out their future, or to stall themselves from big tuition bills. Most likely, you'll just be doing GE classes, and those are pretty much the same anywhere. If you don't mind trading in some clout for extra savings, this is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd say to be open and make friends. Community college is meant for 2-years, and 2-years just really isn't enough time to make connections gradually. Especially since the students come from all over the place. Speak up, join a club or two, make some connections and friends. I've been advised to join the Student Government- you get free parking, priority registration and you plan events, of course. Also, schedule an appointment with a counselor, register for classes and submit your FinAid papers ASAP! It's very hard to get an appointment or the classes you want if you do it last minute, and the FinAid office always has a long line and can take a long time to process things, especially since their hours have been cut.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously, a community college is much, MUCH more cheaper than a 4-year university. The teachers make sure you learn, not memorize, and there are free tutors if needed. With the budget cuts, however, it may be difficult to find a class you need at a good time. Cost per unit is also expected to rise.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm shy and a little bit of a loner, so I don't expect much socializing. The place exceeds my expectations for a community college, and the students here are all chill and doing their own thing. From my experience, they're also very nice and open to new people. And the clubs are always doing some kind of yummy sale! Only thing that bothers me is lack of sidewalks for walkers and the student service center.

    Am learning a lot

    I have not learned a lot academically, given that I took many AP classes in High School. However, the teachers I have had so far are very good at their job- they're all wonderfully passionate about their subject. The bulk of my learning comes from the actual experience of being a college student and an adult. I've learned more about the real world, making connections, etc.

  • 09/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants an education but can't attend a 4-year college should try Solano.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as possible, classes fill up quick. Make sure to do the research yourself or speak with a counselor before you register. It's easy to plan out your classes well in advance to ensure you either get your degree, make your transfer requirements, or do both within two years but it's also very easy to stay at Solano for up to five without transferring. Be careful!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college. It costs less than car insurance.

    Did enjoy being here

    Seeing as Solano is my only college experience thus far, it's hard to compare enjoyment of this college with others that I've never attended. Despite this, I'd say that Solano Community College is a fun college to attend; I'd much rather have been there than not.

    Did learn a lot

    While it may have just been a two year institution, the level of knowledge most professors have in their field makes this school a very good place to start. I say most because there a few professors that make you question the validity of their degrees, but overall Solano was a positive learning experience for me.

  • 11/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Solano is great for students that want to get their GE done for an affordable price. Also, Solano is great for students wanting to get into a Biology or science related field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Solano, make sure that you see a counselor as soon as possible. Also, apply for Financial Aid well in advance (as close to Jan. 1 is possible). Research your professors so that your class experience can be better. Most of all, stay on track! Try to take classes that you know will definitely transfer if you're looking to transfer. If needed, make more than one counselor appointment. Ask other students about scholarships you can apply for.

    Bang for the buck

    Given that Solano is a community college, Solano is much cheaper than a 4 year institution. Solano is very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Solano Community College has encouraging professors, great science programs, and a beautiful campus. So far, my experience thus far with professors has been better than not. Teachers in all areas, including English, Speech, and Math, equip students to succeed by asking thought provoking questions and applying real life applications. In addition, the science programs at Solano prepare students for the future by having students use lab equipment and techniques that are also used for genetics and forensics. Also, Solano has a beautiful campus. The campus is well kept because the trees are trimmed and the grass is cut on a regular basis. Even more, the clock tower in the middle of the campus seems to give Solano a traditional feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Solano Community College is great because of personable teachers, challenging academics, and small class sizes. At Solano, teachers recognize your face and know your name because the teachers at Solano for the most part are willing to sit down with you, talk with you, and do what it takes to make you succeed. Furthermore, the academics are challenging--especially in science majors. As a biology major, I have found my science classes and teachers tough, but fair. The teachers for biology and chemistry make the classroom environment friendly by encouraging the asking of questions and telling science jokes. Last but not least, the class sizes are small. Many colleges are so enormous that students get lost in the shuffle. However, at Solano, there's anywhere from 15-30 students per classroom. This gives any student in a classroom an opportunity to learn each classmate's name or even an opportunity to make a new friend.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Solano Community College is a great school to go to while you're still in high school! I took class at SCC all throughout my high school years and this allowed me to graduate a year early. It helps make the high school-college transition a lot easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering attending Solano, I would suggest taking a course or two just to see how you like it. The degree of goodness for the faculty varies with each department. However, if you are planning to take a lot of science course, the professors are really knowledgeable about the information and really know how to teach students.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's tuition, though it has increased since I first started attending, is still pretty low compared to the universities. The low tuition costs helps students establish an academic foundation before transferring to the more expensive four-year schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall, the campus is pretty clean and is continually kept in check the maintenance crew. There is a newly remodeled dining area, adjacent to the cafeteria, for students to enjoy their lunches. The school also recently refurbished our gym, so that is nice and new as well. Our admissions building is the only two-story building on the campus and it provides students with a singular hot-spot to meet all of their needs in regards to paperwork issues. The campus is nicely organized, with easy access to directions, information, and activities for current and prospective students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a nursing major at Solano, though I am not applying to their nursing program, and their science department is fantastic! I have learned so much through the materials provided by the school, studious classmates with the same determination as me, and a faculty dedicated to giving you the tools necessary to prepare you for future education opportunities. Along with this, there are many other resources available to students, such as study rooms, math tutoring lab, access to databases, etc.

  • 03/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Solano is a great place where you can perfect your academic career before you head off to those four year state colleges. You are able to stay close to home and still get the education you need before transferring. As a great plus, the theater puts on these amazing musicals and plays for all to see!

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you qualify for financial aid there is a good chance you won't have to worry about tuition or books...without financial aid, I couldn't afford college so I am SO glad that I qualify.

    Am enjoying being here

    The beautiful campus, wonderful journalism program, and ease of access make this college particularly enjoyable to me.

    Am learning a lot

    Although budget cuts have narrowed down the number of classes available at the college, there are many teachers who invest themselves in their students and their futures and genuinely care. I have taken classes with a number of great teachers here.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good but expensive food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early!

    In three sentences

    small school, great for local students. has a friendly atmosphere.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems fine for me during day classes

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    French Club

    Great for these types of students

    home schoolers, high school who want a challenge, and anyone who lives in the area and want a better opportunity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    I went to French Club activities and took lots of Photo Classes.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure what this means? I will graduate Soalno Jr College this May with 5 AA Degrees. I studied my graduating, transfer courses, and all the classes I needed also for my high school requirements. I have attended since the 7th grade and I will receive my high school diploma this June. I am only 17 years old. I feel good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study the catalog and schedule like it was the Bible. Get to those teacher office hours , even if you aren't sure you need them.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending here while attending high school (home schooling) and they are really good to home schoolers. They help in everyway to reach your goals. My goal was graduate high school and a jr college at the same time and I will this year.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police that patrol the campus daily. However, there have been some incidents where students had their computers stolen from them while they were using them on the campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure how Greek life is at SCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a vast number of clubs to join at Solano Community College. There are also a number of activites to participate in weekly, which are posted on the school's website page.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a variety of students at SCC from every ethnic background. Everyone is easy to get along with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid is available for those who qualify. The courses are fairly cheap and the teaching staff provides quality education.

    What to do for fun

    There are activites and clubs to join. School athletic teams to join or support by going to their games. Theater events to watch fellow students perform.

    Food and Dining

    There is a newly remodeled cafeteria with a wide variety of food. There are also a number of restaurants within a close proximity of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but any student can succeed with the right attitude and work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should constantly check their college email accounts for updates, important school messages, emails from teachers, and account information.

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College(SCC) has a very helpful staff that really cares about the education of its students. There's a wide variety of majors and trades to study at SCC. The library has plenty of computers, space, and resources to aid students in their academic quest of greatness.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be careful, always lock your car doors! a lot of people steal!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an AB540 club that supports students who cannot afford college and do not qualify for financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Participate in club events, always read the flyers that are posted thru the hall ways

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't that great. make sure you bring a lunch so you can save money

    Dorm Life

    No dorms =(

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are great! always make sure you arrive to class on time. Make sure you know what classes transfer to a four year college! 1-49 transfer to a UC 1-99 transfer to a CSU follow IGETC and make sure your out of community college in two years! don't let anyone tell you it is not possible because it it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Networking is key! join clubs and make sure you apply for scholarships! Get to know financial aid because they can help you go to college for free, always try to stay updated with whats going on in campus because you'll definetely miss an event. For Example, a survivor from the Holocaust came and spoke to the college about her experience, it was such an emotional and touching event that everyone should participate in! and they're are professors willing to be your mentors!

    In three sentences

    First college I have attended too and the Puente Program is AWESOME! Make sure you ask for Miss. Abla Christianson if you need to speak to a counselor and ask about the Puente Program! it is a program where you meet great individuals and they guide you through community college, give you advice of what professors to take, what classes tranfer, and definetely check out the professor at ratermyprofessor.com before taking their class!

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police circling the campus sometimes.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Asian-American Club, Nursing Seminars, and Safety Seminars etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to go to school, but can't afford a four-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a sculpture like medal frame piece in front of the art building. It is very cool!!

    Bang for the buck

    Quality classes for a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs, and things to do around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that serves pretty good sushi.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard, and actually prepares students for what they will expect in four year colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, and read the book. It is nothing like high school, nobody will tell you to do your work it is all up to you at this point.

    In three sentences

    Very good teachers that really care for their students, and won't them to learn. The teachers will go out of their way for their students. The staff is very friendly and efficient in getting grades and document to students.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Vacaville campus has a very friendly Campus Cop and he reassures any one who talk to him that he has their back. Also the Fairfield campus has Campus Cops, along with all the schools having numerous safety stations you can run to should you need assistance.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they offer clubs and different activities I just have never seen/been to any.

    Great for these types of students

    Solano is good for the student who lives in Solano County and wants to get their associates degree and transfer. Also it is good for the student who has a busy schedule because they offer numerous night classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as I know there are none.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Solano has a good bang for the buck, considering the locations they offer I'm happy to be a student there.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities on the main campus to get involved in, but other than that there really isn't anything to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I've never had the food on the main campus. The satellite campuses have no food besides vending machines with makes it difficult for people who are at school all day to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Solano.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor classes are challenging. I've had extremely lenient professors and I've also had professors who take their job serious and you know you're going to learn every time you go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with a counselor as soon as possible to get an education plan so your not left in the dust, and scrambling to find classes at the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Solano is a good school, I would say its better than people make it out to be. The campuses are nice and easy to navigate, and for the most part the teachers enjoy their jobs. The only thing I don't enjoy about going to Solano is the limited amount of classes offered.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school has campus security at all of their campus' and they are very thorough with their work.

    Greek Life

    Solano does offer a few sorrorities and fraternities which I've heard are fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have various clubs at the main campus and you can also create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if you want to save money before you head off to a four year college and is also great if you don't know what your major is yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that every penny that I've spent here has been worth it. The college is pretty and the teachers are so nice and understanding.

    What to do for fun

    Solano offers multiple sports and clubs mostly at their main campus in Fairfield.

    Food and Dining

    The school has vending machines and a wide variety of food in their cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Solano Community College does not offer dorms but they do have local apartments that are fairly inexpensive for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is known for its excellence with assisting students to the next level and helping them find their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to create an account on there website www.solano.edu and also take their assessment testing to put you into the right classes for your level.

    In three sentences

    Solano offers great education for a low price. I recommend anyone to go to school here. The staff here are so good at helping out students with counseling, financial aid, transferring options, and so much more.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is very little crime around the school campus and to ensure the safety of students police consistently monitor the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs available to all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the moment there are no unusual traditions or locations on campus that come to mind.

    What to do for fun

    Although there are no recreational activity centers, with a creative mind one can still enjoy their time playing sport or other games in the fields, browsing the internet on one of the library computers, joining a club, or by simply hanging out with friends in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food to choose from at Solano Community College and is sold at a relativity low price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Solano Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Solano Community College offers both accurate and knowledgeable information.

    Tips for prospective students

    I greatly encourage one to become familiar with the teachers and programs offered at the school. Also, When seeking help in the counseling department of Solano not only is it recommended that prier to an appointment one does their own research, but also is fully prepared with specific questions to benefit most from the help of the councilors.

    In three sentences

    I find Solano Community College to be a great place for one to begin their journey in higher education. There are numerous outstanding professors that are willing to help their students succeed. Overall I rate Solano Community College at an A- .

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is currently campus police, but I would have liked to see them walking around more often. A couple of theft incidents took place during my time there, and a couple of reported weapon incidents that both proved untrue. Budget cuts were reportedly going to cut campus police - don't let that happen!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for many types of interests/personalities.

    Great for these types of students

    Local and undecided on their major(s).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outside of the cafeteria, there is a fenced in area that also can be reached from the inside of the Nurse's office. There is typically no one in there, and a few friends and I would often have lunch in there undisturbed.

    Bang for the buck

    If you actively seek scholarships, you can get most of your education here paid for. I paid for very little out of pocket and I graduated with three AA degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately there is not a lot of campus pride. Turnouts for sporting events are inconsistent, and sometimes people can get a little out of control and profane. The curriculum for dance classes and other physical education classes is not too difficult, and often can be fun and low-stress.

    Food and Dining

    A decent selection of all kinds of foods, including breakfast, lunch, and even potential dinner options. The salad bar is tasty and cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    A handful of instructors are great and will push you to your full potential, but unfortunately others also have been somewhat lax on some areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare everything early! Check classes and times prior to registering and have back-ups as well. Take your education seriously, as many colleges are becoming impacted and your achievements there will be crucial to future acceptances to colleges. Meet with a counselor prior to each semester of classes. My personal favorite is Amy Gaylor.

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a great place to get your feet wet when it comes to finding an area that you are interested in or passionate about. Contrary to popular belief, each area of study has some great instructors who are invested in each student's academic success. Unfortunately, budget cuts have made class sizes large and have cut the summer session, as well as cutting the theatre program.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With cutbacks we don't have a fully staffed police force, but I've never not felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved in several clubs on campus and we stay busy!

    Bang for the buck

    I value my education that I've recieved thus far.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of events on campus, you just have to look in the school's paper or the ASSC newletter or even online!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is so-so, but there's a bunch of fast food places close by if you're really hungry.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my teachers should really be teaching at the 4 year level. They really do care about your education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out ratemyprofessor.com before you pick your classes, it'll save you a headache when you start!

    In three sentences

    If you're looking to cut costs of attending a 4 year, starting at at CC will help you. It's a great school for high school students who've just graduated as well as non-traditional students.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing about the campus that I do know, if their is an issue that needs to be addressed. It surely is handled in a professional manner by the campus police. I definitely know all students are in a safe and secure environment.

    Greek Life

    To be honest, I do not understand what Greek Life is, however, I am very sure they are no different than the rest of the population. We all have the same desire to be a success when graduation is all over with.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college had fund raising campaigns for the students to raise money for a good cause. Additionally, the college has baseball, football, and soccer teams that are open for all students and outsiders are allowed to come and enjoy the games.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, it would be grat for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I used to spend a lot of time in the Math Lab because if it wasn't for the help of other students I would not have passed. I even got to meet so many new friends that had the same goals as I did and that was very amazing in it self.We just wanted to have a nice career.

    Bang for the buck

    While attending Solano I also was nominated as Valedictorian for my graduating class. Although, I did not win, the experience of getting in front of a panel of 12 staff members to choose my fate was one one the best and fun times of my life.

    What to do for fun

    I have fun by going to the library and reading a books or attending the theater their at the college. I enjoyed watching all the new talent.

    Food and Dining

    I really love the food and dining at Solano because they provided a variety of food choices, especially healthy foods. The prices were defiately affordable and reasonable. Also, they provided a big size cafeteria where students can come and enjoy the safe environment with their peers. I never had an issue with seating nor problems with overcrowding.

    Dorm Life

    I never had Dorm Life so I do not know anything about it.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning atmosphere is a safe and secure environment that will allow a student to progress. The materials that are used are easy to understand. Therefore, it makes learning very understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students if they decide to attend Solano they would never regret not one moment, because what they will learn will only open doors of freedom by reaching their maximum potential. That will be beneficial to a higher education of learning.

    In three sentences

    During my years at this fine college I really found out who I really wanted to be when I grew up. Through the positive instruction of my Professors I was able to overcome my disabilities and reach onto the other side, Therefore, I received two A.A. degrees and getting ready to transfer to a University of my choice.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Solano is really boring to me. There's not a lot of students. but this is my first year so maybe things will get fun. if not, I'll be looking for a school with bigger campus and more students.

    What to do for fun

    tennis, swimming, theatre.. there's a Mall in the city and plenty of parks

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is small and very limited

    Academic Rigor

    The business and science programs are good

    Tips for prospective students

    Register classes really early. Don't depend on counselors; they act like they have better things to do

    In three sentences

    Solano is a pretty good school. Average academics. Nice sized campus.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe we have a hole task force dedicated to our school

    Clubs and Activities

    to many to count

    Great for these types of students

    adventures

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is three different locations all in different cities to choose from

    Bang for the buck

    no bang.

    What to do for fun

    it all depends on your hobie. i like cars lucky they offer a nice program

    Food and Dining

    better than what i expected

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very stern

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a good school to start at if you live in the area

    In three sentences

    solano is a small with teachers that honestly care about they students. you have teachers that look at it as a job, but it seems solano's staff really takes the time to work with you

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I really don't know. I spend my time studying. There is the mall and other places to go do stuff but should this be your priority?

    Food and Dining

    Its not cooking school. You will find plenty of places of eat but is this really that important to you?

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes I hear a common complaint of how classes are difficult. I guess these students forgot this is not grade school. There is a difference between a hard class because you are learning a lot and a hard class because the teacher is terrible. My experience is that of the prior.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ignore a class just because someone tells you the teacher is difficult. It is often here that you learn the most. I have had one or two very bad teachers but they seem to be the minority.

    In three sentences

    Solano is a geat college for those just exiting high school as well anyone looking to get back into school. It is a college full of real people, some who are passionate and some that are there just to be there. I love most of the teachers and have also met some really great students.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school seems like it is in the middle of nowhere.

    What to do for fun

    The extra-curricular activities are limited due to budget cuts.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is for those who need an extra push. Try your best and take advantage of a the resources available to you.

    In three sentences

    SCC is a college for those straight out of high school and unprepared for a 4 year college. It is an extention of high school. There are definite oppotunities to succeed.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Scandia is 5 minutes away! of library

    Food and Dining

    Affordable food and good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life for me

    Academic Rigor

    hard work on every class pays off

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get best spots in class!

    In three sentences

    The most greenest college. The best anatomy lab and biotechnology lab. The friendliest people.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Only one great cafe on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend class, regularly. It is very easy to become complacent because and skip out on class. But if you always attend, it is much easier to get and maintain a high GPA for transfer. Also, register early because it is difficult to add some of the high-demand classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to attend school. Excellent instructors and convenient scheduling for non-traditional adult students. I have done very well there.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bird room is where students usually study for science classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for BOGG and buy textbooks online, not in the bookstore!

    What to do for fun

    There are activities such as clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for BOGG/fee waiver and financial aid, it will help a lot! Also, register for classes as soon as your registration hits because classes fill up fast. Don't be too scared to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a good school if you are not ready to go straight to a four-year college after high school. Many places to study, such as the library, math lab, bird room, etc. Courses offered each year are decreasing while fees are increasing.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and teams

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is very challenging at times but I'd rather be challenged than sail smoothly through a course

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say try to tale as many college prep classes as possible . I didn't and even though I have good grades it would've prepared me mentally for what to expect at the college level

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is good because it has program for the incoming freshman where we can go on field trips and get to know each other as well as learn

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Solano is a great school! I love how affordable it is so I can take the same classes needed at a 4 year school but for a much cheaper price. The campus is very well kept and I really like how the classes are small in student size so it isn't to overwhelming.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops at Solano College are really nice and support you when you are having car trouble, etc. The campus is generally safe, but I would still be cautious because the area is noÂ?t too good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities at Solano College. Make sure to go to Club Promo day to check them all out. Most clubs are noÃ?Â?t too competitive so taking a leadership role is highly recommended. There are also many fundraiser events and plays that are very enjoyable and help the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students especially those who want to save money before they transfer to a 4-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bird room is a study room in the science building that is filled with different bird models which is fun to check out.

    Bang for the buck

    Solano College is very inexpensive compared to 4-year universities!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do near Solano College. Scandia is very close by to play miniature golf with friends as well as the Westfield Mall which includes a movie theater. There are also beautiful wineries you can go to. The area in general is beautiful for a bike ride or a run.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat around Solano College. They do have a cafeteria which is not too bad, but only five to ten minutes away there are fast food restaurants such as CarlÃ?Â?s Jr., and Straw Hat Pizza. There are bake sales near the cafeteria to support fellow students as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus housing. Students typically commute from their homes.

    Academic Rigor

    Solano College has small classes which were very beneficial to ask help from teachers and even get letters of recommendations. Although the classwork is noÃ?Â?t as hard as UC schools, it can still be challenging. Most teachers try their best to prepare you for future schools or jobs. Office hours or the tutoring center are great resources if help is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The counselors are noÃ?Â?t that good so make sure you come prepared. Look through the course catalog and check out assist.org which is a website to show you the equivalent course work of Solano to another school. If you are a science or math major visit the MESA advisor. Also keep your eyes open for available scholarships! There is one application for multiple scholarships, but it is for students with a relatively high GPA. Students majoring in the sciences or math should apply for the MESA Program. This program includes free tutors, tours to other colleges, scholarships, and even internships.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers and great opportunities to take advantage of at Solano College. The classwork difficulty is average, but teachers are generally available to help you at office hours, after class, etc. There are small classes and Solano College is much cheaper than a 4-year school.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No accidents that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very great school overall.!

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of job recruiters and always have student meetings and events.!

    Food and Dining

    Great food for cheap prices:)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms lol

    Academic Rigor

    Great.!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and keep your mind and eyes on the prize.! Don't get discouraged, everyone I trying to better themselves one way or another.

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a great school.! It's transfer rate is pretty high and it has some awesome teachers that are always willing to help. I have been going to this school trying to pursue my career to have a better life and am glad I chose this school to be part of my path to success.!

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At the main campus, the food is decent with a fairly decent array of options for a small community college. There's a microwave available for if you want to bring a microwave meal and there's always the fast food, which is across the overpass from the campus, along with a Safeway down the road. I don't know about the other campuses' food arrangements.

    Dorm Life

    What dorm life? There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies from professor to professor. Most teachers' rigor varies from around 2.5 to 4.5, although some teachers are more relaxed or more strict than the others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for papers to be lost by administration if you fax them in; try to always get them in by hand. Always use ratemyprofessors.com to check before signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    Solano is your typical community college with the typical motley crew of awesome, mediocre, and not really wanting to be there people, among others who fall into other not as easy to define categories. The teachers who are any good want to help you succeed and thus are available to help you. In all, SCC is a pretty decent community college to attend, priced more reasonably by a few bucks than Napa Valley, and spread over several campuses for ease of access to the students.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's nice couches in the library, and a computer lab with free wifi.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Solano doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are easy if you read the book, do the homework, and show up to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com!

    In three sentences

    My experience is about half good and half bad. When you get a good teacher, who cares and is approachable, it is very good, you learn a lot and are interested in the subjects. Overall, it's been fine.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chill and party

    Food and Dining

    not much food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms=(

    Academic Rigor

    just do whats best for your life

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard!

    In three sentences

    this is a great school. i love going there. but however, i want to transfer.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Fairfield but there is a movie theater and mall. Hanging out with friends seems to be the best choice. If you are mobile San Francisco is about 40 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on campus cafeteria and vending machines. Being that we are America, there are tons of local places to eat in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class, in my opinion. The higher up you go on the academic ladder the harder the curriculum is going to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about what others are doing. Just worry about yourself. Do your work and study hard. The curriculum may get tough, but it is all worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    For a Junior College it's not that bad. The small class sizes are beneficial. Most teachers are more willing to work with students. If you stay focus you'll do just fine.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always close by due to the small campus size. There are emergency phones and buttons scattered around campus as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the price per unit has gone up in the last 2 years it is still much cheaper than attending a 4 year institution.

    What to do for fun

    The athletic department is rather large and offers tons of fun extracurricular activities such as dance, Pilate's, and fencing.

    Food and Dining

    Their kitchen is more than equipped with enough food for those college munchies.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this institution.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is very flexible to fit your personal needs as far as offering classes that you nee, when you need them. The only hard part is finding out which classes transfer to 4 year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very early in you college career, talk to a counselor about classes needed to finish to graduate. Rent your textbooks either online or at the campus bookstore. Accept the free help from the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very easily navigated. The faculty and staff are always knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The class sizes are relatively small.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but not high quality like you will find at a university.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms provided for students at all.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes to chose from, but the highest degree you can receive is an Associates degree.

    In three sentences

    I personally give Solano Community College 7 out of 10. The school is a good way for one to easy their way into the college life style, still providing free decision making for adults and reasonable costs. However, the campus and it's bathroom can be much cleaner. Also, the highest degree that you can receive from Solano is an Associates degree.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe at school, even in the parking lot at night. Security cameras were just installed in the parking lot to increase safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several academic clubs and also some groups for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need flexibility.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The theater is great with several plays being performed during the academic year.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education for the price of classes. Books are often available for cheap prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities students can join.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with good food offerings and plenty of seating for you and your friends. Cafeteria is a great place to study with a group.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very fun and engaging while others are hard work that take time to do well in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for mutiple classes and find out what interests you. Take advantage of the great teachers who are willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Friendly and helpful teachers who want you to do your best. Good atmosphere among students. Always working towards bettering programs and overall school.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe walking around campus. There is always staff or campus police patrolling around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs at Solano, but they don't seem as organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided majors, students getting back into school again

    Bang for the buck

    Recently, prices have been increasing in all areas... but what isn't these days?

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of outside space to hang out. Some students bring instruments to play on the grassy areas or just sit on one of the many benches to socialize with other students.

    Food and Dining

    There a bunch of things to choose from considering this is a small campus ranging from smaller snacks to all foods of different cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    This also depends on your professor, but for the most part, the Solano Community College Staff grade like any other state or university level college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan from the beginning to end of your enrollment on what classes you want to take and your goals. Schedule appointments with counselors often so you don't stray off track. Don't slack off just because it is a community college.

    In three sentences

    It is in a great location and has a beautiful open campus. A perfect place to go for a stepping stone towards a higher education to a university or state college. It has very helpful and encouraging staff.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who work crazy schedules, people with children (the childcare is wonderful AND super affordable), and anyone on a limited budget.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the main reason to attend! If you are a lower-income student, you can actually make money attending and save it to put towards furthering your education after your two years there.

    What to do for fun

    The area is fantastic. There are unlimited opportunities for things to do. You're 30 minutes or less from Napa and less than an hour from both San Francisco and Sacramento.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is both delicious and affordable!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers work very hard to make the courses challenging and rewarding for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy the parking pass! It is way cheaper by the end of the semester than buying a parking ticket each day. The cafeteria is great, their small fry was heaped over the top of the serving container!

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a good entry-level school to get your general education requirements. If you plan to get a bachelor's degree or higher from CSU or UC, check them out. They're vastly more affordable and have transfer agreements with both schools.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have met some of our Solano Community College campus police and they seem to be sincere and caring. Their presence is constant and when I am entering class or leaving campus, I have always felt like they were willing to survey the parking area and prevent any problems from occuring.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of Greek Life at Solano Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on at main campus in Fairfield. I've personally used the Vacaville extention campus and on-line courses for the majority of my college experience here, and these extention campuses do not seem to have as much immersion with clubs and activities as the main campus supports. It's all up to you, the student, how involved you want to become with your journey.

    Great for these types of students

    Many Solano Community College students are working toward transfering to a university, but there are also vocational students, students seeking to expand general knowledge in a subject that they enjoy such as; art, home economics, mechanics, photography, computer skills and fashion to name a few! I believe that Solano Community College can fulfill most students needs at very reasonable prices!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Solano Community College has one main campus in Fairfield, California, an extention Vallejo, one in Vacaville as well as Travis Air Force Base! Another great location to consider is in the privacy of your own home! You can take a multitude of on-line courses and work on your essays in your pjs!

    Bang for the buck

    The Jelly Belly tour is free and you get a small sample bag at the end of the tour, which is a nice break and sugar rush that some may need for mid-term studying! Lagoon Valley Park has great trails that one can hike as well as a huge gaggle of geese that are happy to receive day old bread! Parking is 3$ but there are outside options to park for free!

    What to do for fun

    Solano County is chalk full of fun things to do! There are various movie theathers, bowling alleys, parks and public pools. One can also enjoy touring the Jelly Belly Factory and the Budweiser plant for free! Scandia Family Fun Center and multiple city events are also great sources for cheap entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    The Solano Community College main campus has a dining facility which offers typical cafeteria style food options. The extention campuses only offer select vending services such as; various drinks, snack items and recently they've installed some fresh food vending options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Solano Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    In my personal experience, I have attended Solano Community College with the intent to transfer, which means that I have attended mostly University transferable courses. These classes challenged my intellect and provided a great opportunity for my acedemic growth. My professors were clear with their expectations and willing to offer assistance when I needed help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide early on which path you want to take regarding; vocational education, associates degree or transfer oportunities. Communicate often with a skilled counselor and use the education plan that is developed for your path. Follow your personal guidelines for accomplishing your goals and NEVER give up!

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College has convenient campus locations, knowledgeable professors, and decent tuition fees. I feel like Solano Community College has prepared me for attending University and reaching for my next level of education. I would recommend Solano Community College to any student that is trying to obtain vocational skills, their Associates Degree or prepare for transfer to an upper level University!

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do near the college. Its mainly just a go to class and leave college.

    Food and Dining

    They have a decent cafeteria but there is a lot of local fast food and restaurants near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Good link with the professors to get better grades. You start to learn to be proactive on communication with other students and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a Junior College before you go to a 4 year. It is cheaper and you get a glimpse at college life before paying a lot of money for it. Make sure you check some of the professors on ratemyprofessor.com.

    In three sentences

    Is a good Junior College to get your College Degree going. The teachers vary from really good to really bad. So do you do diligence on ratemyprofessor.com but overall you will get a good look at what a college life will look like.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't think there is much to do for fun, again it is up to you. although you will meet a lot of new friends and together you will experience new things, good things. I think that there are some field trips that are posted on the school bulletin for those interested.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is average size, the food is served hot and prepared on the spot. The staff in the cafeteria are very friendly individuals and the food is delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    I put academic rigor at a five, because I do believe it is up to the individual to seek the resources and make use of them. It is in our responsibility the end results that we get here at school. I have given and continue to give it my all, because I want to achieve my goals and be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every school is different, and you create your own college experience. Here no one will babysit you, you have to push yourself harder and harder each time. just know that behind your every steep you have the help and the support within the walls of Solano Community College.

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a small college town that contributes to the education of many in Solano County. It is determined to help it's students in their success, counselors give their best to help students achieve their potential. The staff is wonderful and teacher are dedicated and love their job.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes are definitely worth the money, because you get the same tuition while paying a fraction of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    The classes are small with about 20 students in each, so it is very easy to make friends and communicate.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria on the main campus, the other campuses have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, while being relaxed, stick with the regular college standards. The teachers are also very friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    File a FAFSA, so it will help cover the rather cheap tuition costs.

    In three sentences

    Solano is very accomodating, with several campuses spread out in the area. It's very cheap too, since it is a community college. A bonus would be to attend summer classes while still enrolled in high school, so you can get in free.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While it is a smoke-free campus, it saddens me that the rule is not enforced. There are still some students smoking on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is great, but it can be better. Choices are limited, but the price range allows you to spend wisely.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm currently.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very smooth and many teachers really do help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid if you can not afford the educational expenses. Also, spend it wisely if you do qualify. As for the staff, before signing up for classes, register, and simply drop after the first day of class if you don't like the teachers. I recommend people to drop their classes if in the first day you or your teacher are not interested in the subject.

    In three sentences

    This campus is very diverse and open. Many teachers are excellent, while the others are not very compassionate about their jobs. I would recommend this school to anyone who do not plan on attending universities.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Solano offers such a variety of classes at an affordable price and has plenty of staff that is willing to help students obtain financial aid if needed.

    What to do for fun

    Attend Sporting events, join on campus clubs, participate in the on campus activities that student government puts on (frisbee/grass volleyball).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty wide selection. It is a little bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Solano Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but definitely passable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out ratemyprofessor.com! It has proven to be quite accurate. If you know a friend that you are going to school with, try to take similar classes so you can share books. Create good relationships with your professors, it's better to be a teachers pet than go unnoticed.

    In three sentences

    The courses are challenging enough to prepare you for the next level, and classes should not be underestimate, some prove to be quite difficult. All professors have office hours that allow for extra help, as well as centers like the MAC (Math Activity Center) that provide a teacher for assistance with homework/assignments. If interested in athletics, all teams have developed a great community and get along really well, attending each others games and supporting each other is regular, and all athletes have a strong support system from not only their own coach, but all coaches on staff.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. The campus police aren't your typical jerk cops, they are easy to talk to and willing to help if asked. If you get a citation they're willing to help you appeal it if its reasonable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something cool about the campus that it has a large clock in the center which helps students know the time just incase they might run late. They have a daycare for those who need help finding a babysitter.

    What to do for fun

    If your an athlete, you can join the sports teams. If your into clubs get into one, you'll meet new people that you can relate to. There is a lobby where students can socialize with others and hang out. There are fields to play soccer, football, volleyball, run around if you're bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is ok, its mostly lunch that is served. They have a snack shop which offers a great variety from fruits to microwavable food. The pricing is fair but if your looking towards something cheap, there are fast-food restaurants across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Currently Solano doesn't offer dorms or at least which I know of..

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this a 3 star rating because the work is basically average, it only depends what professor you choose that determines that amount of work you do. Overall its do-able if you put time into the work. Just don't procrastinate! ha

    Tips for prospective students

    If one wants to succeed in Solano, all you have to do is show up and do the work. If you're planning on transferring to a UC or CSU talk to a counselor to help you get put on the right track. Make sure to take at least one summer class because it helps speed up the transferring process by completing more units.

    In three sentences

    Solano offers a great amount of degrees from technical to professional. This college is useful as a stepping stone to other major schools because it offers a good amount of transferable classes to UCs and CSUs. The people, teachers, and environment is calm and relaxed.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs to join here at Solano Community college as well as sports! One of the popular club is the cat club, where cats on the campus are gathered to be neutered at the expenses of fundraising and donations! There are food arrangements are also made for the little cute cats!.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in almost each building, yet there is one big cafeteria were one can get sandwiches, burritos, salad, drinks and much more!

    Dorm Life

    This community college does not have a dorm. However there are apartments available for students that plan to go to Solano that are not in far distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of our professors that teach in Solano Community College come from prestigious schools such as from the University of Davis, San Franscico and many more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out the MESA program and make use of the library. There is also free tutoring available!

    In three sentences

    Solano Community College is a great school to get your AA, offers many certificates and degree, and prepares future transfer students to do well at there four year schools!

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students who want to stay close to home while pursuing their general education, good for military families stationed at Travis AFB, good for students who need to bring up their GPA from another college before transferring to a 4 year institution, good for students who can handle the stress of unhelpful faculty, and lastly good for students who can not afford the tuition of a UC school.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten here, but I know they serve food!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for some counselors and admission staff at the Fairfield and Vacaville campuses to be unhelpful and make mistakes on things like transcripts and degree processing. Use ratemyprofessor.com to find the best professors. There are some really great educators here!

    In three sentences

    I've learned a lot from every face to face teacher I've had. Unorganized and incompetent office staff have delayed multiple time sensitive issues. This school is good if you're trying to stay close to home or save a little on tuition.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This school is primarily just a transferring stepping stone. There are no activities in the surrounding area and nothing on campus that would offer any types of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Below average

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Basic

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn what food options you have in your surrounding because their options for eating are limited.

    In three sentences

    Solano has a vast amount of different genres. Being more of a tech based school, if you are interested in advancing in studies that involve certain fields within tech based careers, SCC would be a great choice. If you are just interested in pursuing your base courses and moving to another college, it is suitable as well.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has clubs and functions out by the clock tower a lot of the times! Live music is played a lot more often during the spring/ summer months

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good! Its a bit pricey, but definitely worth the wait for a yummy grilled cheese sandwich on rye bread and curly fries!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is so involved in their studies and teachers are very hands on! I like it a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to wait in line for student services! If you are paying for your classes don't do it on a Friday, you can no longer pay on fridays

    In three sentences

    Over all staff and students are very educationally oriented. I would have to give them 3 out of 5 stars though because the buildings are so old that the heating system no longer works. Large enough campus to start remodeling, hopefully its soon!

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They have a nursing program and an emt/paramedic program.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the school clubs and activities and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor right away and keep talking to them atleast once a year to stay updated and get helpful tips and advice on your classes and how to get to your goals.

    In three sentences

    The counselors are very helpful. They take the time to help you with your learning and career path. The campus is also pretty clean for a school.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been an increase in the presence of Campus Security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. The Student Development office is a great place to go and find out about the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    In need of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    We have Solano Daze where students come out and participate in different activities. There is also a Car Show hosted by the Autobody Club.

    Food and Dining

    Not the healthiest choice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging. Tutoring is available for those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour around campus. A great way to know the latest news on campus is by attending the weekly meeting of the Associated Students of Solano College (ASSC) in building 1400, every Tuesday.

    In three sentences

    I have learned to enjoy my time here at SCC. As a student representative in the student governing body, I have seen a lot of improvement in academics as well as student life. There is a lot more to come for this school, but we are on the right path.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is usually pretty safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Solano Community College is affordable, convenient, and a smart-choice for economy-minded students.

    What to do for fun

    Recreational activities in Solano County are varied including movies, theaters (on and off-campus), visiting the local farmer's markets (ex. Suisun, Fairfield, Green Valley, and Vallejo), visiting the local wineries (ex. Suisun, Napa, Sonoma, and Calistoga areas), Suisun Kroc Center recreational activities, bicycling, local hiking (ex.Rush Ranch), fishing near the Suisun Marsh and Grizzly Island, Fourth of July celebrations, day trips to San Francisco and/or the Napa Valley, and an abundance of local restaurants and cultural cuisines. These are just the tip of the iceberg of fun activities available to Solano Community College students and the local community.

    Food and Dining

    Solano Community College offers a cafeteria with a variety of excellent food choices such as sandwiches, burgers, fries, and salads. The surrounding area has a variety of restaurants that ranges from the typical fast food to various cultural cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life does not exist. SCC does not offer dormitories. Students usually either commute to the campus from their family homes and/or apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of technical challenge, engagement and/or difficulty of Solano Community College courses can vary greatly depending on the type and content (ex. natural, physical and biological sciences, math, philosophy, english, etc.) and the students goals, perspectives, academic plans and major. Academic rigor may be subjective: What one student may consider a fun and enjoyable subject/course, another student may consider confusing and/or challenging. This stresses the importance for a student to open him/herself to researching a variety of careers, majors, and campuses offering those major(s) of interest - keeping them in mind when meshing them with personal interests, aptitude, and skill sets.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students: 1. Do not be afraid to ask for advise and help from your family (parents), high school or college counselor(s), and/or mentors (trusted teachers) - they are there to help. 2. Research all of your alternatives (majors, campuses) and leave yourself open to the possibilities - your high school/college counselor and college career/transfer center is a great place to start your research. 3. Research financial aid options (ex. Board of Governors Grant, FAFSA, local/national scholarships , grants, prizes, work study, etc.) - college financial aid offices can assist with your search. Also, do not overlook any scholarships offered through local clubs or chapters, your or your parents' employer, or local organizations. 4. Make an academic plan (ex. General Breadth or IGETC core course requirements, SAT/ACT scores, courses within your chosen major) that includes the number and type of courses you will attempt and complete for each semester and check off each one as you complete them. These steps can be used to create a measurable and achievable plan to attain your academic goals. I hope this helps.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I have found Solano Community College to be an excellent 2-year institution that offers a good variety of Associate degree programs to their campus community - giving them the opportunity to either achieve career skills, personal enrichment and growth, or prepare for transfer to a 4-year CSU or University. While SCC offers traditional, in-person courses, many of the core General Breadth (CSU system requirements) and/or IGETC (UC system requirements) are offered and can be completed Online - personally, this has been a more economical and affordable alternative (ex. commute, meals, schedule arrangements). In keeping with enriching their students academic success, I learned that Solano Community College also offers, in partnership with Sonoma State University, a B.A. Liberal Arts degree.